Sports => Football => Topic started by: vb on December 05, 2019, 12:34:16 AM

Title: Mucurapo 1978, a team of lore.
Post by: vb on December 05, 2019, 12:34:16 AM

https://vbhoolai.wixsite.com/hail-caribbeansport/mucurapo-1978-trinidad-football
Title: Re: Mucurapo 1978, a team of lore.
Post by: Deeks on December 05, 2019, 02:08:57 AM
Mucurapo Senior Comprehensive, 1978: Glennon Foncette (goalkeeper); Novell Gittens (skipper); Glenroy McKenzie; Kenneth Vincent; Emmerson Dubisson; Philip Thomas (deceased); Randy Glasgow; Ian Clauzel; Eric White; Wendell "Tractor" Belgrave (deceased); Jr. Jones; Garth Wilson; Winston Lane, Anthony Moore and Curtis Riley.

To my misfortunate, I only seen just a brief video of Clauzel. I heard Eric White was a very good player. I am very familiar with Curtis Riley. He went Davis and Elkins. He would come to DC in the summer. He would play for DC Juniors, coached by Trevor Leiba and manged by Gilian Moore.
Very good defender. Could play anywhere in the back, but was very solid at stopper. Read the game very well. Very nice gentleman. He is in Orlando now.
Post by: vb on December 05, 2019, 02:42:01 AM
Mucurapo Senior Comprehensive, 1978: Glennon Foncette (goalkeeper); Novell Gittens (skipper); Glenroy McKenzie; Kenneth Vincent; Emmerson Dubisson; Philip Thomas (deceased); Randy Glasgow; Ian Clauzel; Eric White; Wendell "Tractor" Belgrave (deceased); Jr. Jones; Garth Wilson; Winston Lane, Anthony Moore and Curtis Riley.

To my misfortunate, I only seen just a brief video of Clauzel. I heard Eric White was a very good player. I am very familiar with Curtis Riley. He went Davis and Elkins. He would come to DC in the summer. He would play for DC Juniors, coached by Trevor Leiba and manged by Gilian Moore.
Very good defender. Could play anywhere in the back, but was very solid at stopper. Read the game very well. Very nice gentleman. He is in Orlando now.

I heard White was good and that his older brother Denzil was even better.

Wherever you saw that vid of Cluazel, Is it still around? ;-)
Post by: Deeks on December 05, 2019, 02:54:00 AM

I heard White was good and that his older brother Denzil was even better.

Wherever you saw that video of Cluazel, Is it still around? ;-)

The video is probably with TTT, if it is still there.  And yes I heard Eric's brother Denzil  was great also. He may have played for the national team. I am not sure.
Post by: socalion on December 05, 2019, 01:16:45 PM
Ok  fellow forumites  I just want to add meh two cents about that intercol final between John d and mucurapo @ the oval in 78 , it was classic I cud never forget , de place was buzzing wid excitement as I write now I cud still visualize  de atmosphere  , even though I lost meh money on compre dat day I wasn't vex but I felt for dem compre players , some ah dem had to be lifted off the oval field  was real tears, is like they didn't want to leave de oval after de game , but hear nah , I real enjoy that game the standard ah football was worth every cent and the money ( I lost betting on mucurapo to win ) ah know meh team lost on that day , but they win ah lot fans  with their skills and talent . Hear nah ppl some ah meh pardners and I walk from Belmont to de oval dat day just chatting and prepping for dat game , laughing and talking chit as  we head through de Savannah down to de oval well  boi when we get there , de place was pack outside men was scaling dem oval wall like Olympic hurdles ( laughing ) dem mounted  police was having ah hard time controlling things outside  de oval , some ah allyuh go know wha ah talking bout .!  Dat game I will always remember . Clauzel goal was a classic  . In one smooth motion collecting de ball on he right foot back towards goal turning and hill ting dat ball wid he left foot Daiz all  ah want to say bout that , ok  I guess yuh  all  figure out de rest ... goalllll there yuh have it ladies and gentlemen... Eric white was real trouble . And meh boi dubisson was doing he ting in the middle of de park .  Eric white brother  Denzil white  was a special baller too   .. he was meh team mate at Belmont sec .....am out Daiz meh two cents 
Post by: vb on December 05, 2019, 01:36:53 PM
Ok  fellow forumites  I just want to add meh two cents about that intercol final between John d and mucurapo @ the oval in 78 , it was classic I cud never forget , de place was buzzing wid excitement as I write now I cud still visualize  de atmosphere  , even though I lost meh money on compre dat day I wasn't vex but I felt for dem compre players , some ah dem had to be lifted off the oval field  was real tears, is like they didn't want to leave de oval after de game , but hear nah , I real enjoy that game the standard ah football was worth every cent and the money ( I lost betting on mucurapo to win ) ah know meh team lost on that day , but they win ah lot fans  with their skills and talent . Hear nah ppl some ah meh pardners and I walk from Belmont to de oval dat day just chatting and prepping for dat game , laughing and talking chit as  we head through de Savannah down to de oval well  boi when we get there , de place was pack outside men was scaling dem oval wall like Olympic hurdles ( laughing ) dem mounted  police was having ah hard time controlling things outside  de oval , some ah allyuh go know wha ah talking bout .!  Dat game I will always remember . Clauzel goal was a classic  . In one smooth motion collecting de ball on he right foot back towards goal turning and hill ting dat ball wid he left foot Daiz all  ah want to say bout that , ok  I guess yuh  all  figure out de rest ... goalllll there yuh have it ladies and gentlemen... Eric white was real trouble . And meh boi dubisson was doing he ting in the middle of de park .  Eric white brother  Denzil white  was a special baller too   .. he was meh team mate at Belmont sec .....am out Daiz meh two cents 

Great two cents. Thanks a lot boss!
Post by: socalion on December 05, 2019, 02:43:20 PM
Ur welcome vb....... Ah miss dem days wha ah like was....  it doh matter if is rain or shine as long as  is big game time is through de Savannah and down de road we heading  lots ah chit talk ... Lol  yuh know how it is !  Ah cud recall before I get to know clauzel  ... every time I listening de inter col coverage Is clauzel clauzel clauzel so ah say nah ah hah to see who he is so I decided then and there i going to see de youth play that was in  de league games .... .daiz  Before dey reach the intercol finals ........  I became ah instant fan not just of clauzel but de whole mucurapo team dem fellas was just impressive king , ah ent lying ask anyone who saw dem play! De funny Thing is I knew ppl from  both teams  but I had to pick  no devided loyalty thing yuh had to chose.   it was ah tough ting but yeah  that was it sweet days ah football memories to lay ah lifetime.....
Post by: asylumseeker on December 05, 2019, 03:08:47 PM
So, when did InterCol lose its appeal to neutral fans? Back in de day there were many more neutral fans at matches.
Post by: vb on December 05, 2019, 07:16:46 PM
Ur welcome vb....... Ah miss dem days wha ah like was....  it doh matter if is rain or shine as long as  is big game time is through de Savannah and down de road we heading  lots ah chit talk ... Lol  yuh know how it is !  Ah cud recall before I get to know clauzel  ... every time I listening de inter col coverage Is clauzel clauzel clauzel so ah say nah ah hah to see who he is so I decided then and there i going to see de youth play that was in  de league games .... .daiz  Before dey reach the intercol finals ........  I became ah instant fan not just of clauzel but de whole mucurapo team dem fellas was just impressive king , ah ent lying ask anyone who saw dem play! De funny Thing is I knew ppl from  both teams  but I had to pick  no devided loyalty thing yuh had to chose.   it was ah tough ting but yeah  that was it sweet days ah football memories to lay ah lifetime.....

What grabbed me was Foncette's quotes on the Final. You could feel it when he spoke, the tension and excitement was palpable.
Post by: socalion on December 05, 2019, 08:13:23 PM
Well boss yuh get it  live then ........ Ah telling yuh it was a real nice atmosphere on de day itself,  real vibes all de way to de finish ! Imagine one ah de John d players Harmon Lucas use to live not too from me , ah use pass down he street  and after meh team compre loss ah use to avoid he street like a plague cuz ah know is real talk ah go get . Lol
Post by: Cocorite on December 09, 2019, 09:04:40 PM
The Story of this team is a Movie waiting to be made. Also the story of the Strike Squad. Where are T&T's storytellers? These will help galvanize the nations youths