Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on July 03, 2021, 03:39:09 PM

Title: Thread for T&T vs French Guiana (06-Jul-2021)
Post by: Tallman on July 03, 2021, 03:39:09 PM
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs French Guiana preliminary round of the Concacaf Gold Cup game at the DRV PNK Stadium in South Florida on the 6th of July 2021 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:

Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Nicklas Frenderup (Ranheim Il—Denmark), Marvin Phillip (Unattached);

Defenders:

Radanfah Abu Bakr (Unattached), Aubrey David (Deportivo Saprissa—Costa Rica), Justin Garcia (Defence Force), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Neveal Hackshaw (Indy Eleven—USA), Jelani Peters (Pittsburgh Riverhounds—USA), Triston Hodge (Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC—USA), Alvin Jones (Unattached), Ross Russell Jr (Terminix La Horquetta Rangers), Jesse Williams (Unattached);

Midfielders:

Joevin Jones (InterMiami CF—USA), Kevin Molino (Columbus Crew—USA), Hashim Arcia (Defence Force), Khaleem Hyland (Al Batin—Saudi Arabia), Andre Fortune II (Memphis 901 FC—USA), Duane Muckette (Unattached), Michel Poon-Angeron (Unattached), Judah Garcia (Unattached), Molik Khan (Club Sando);

Forwards:

Marcus Joseph (Unattached), Isaiah Lee (Terminix La Horquetta Rangers), Reon Moore (Defence Force), Ryan Telfer (Atletico Ottawa—Canada).

Coach - Angus Eve (TRI).

Montserrat Squad

Goalkeepers

To be updated.

Defenders

To be updated.

Midfielders

To be updated.

Forwards

To be updated.

Coach - Thierry De Neef (FRA)
Title: Re: Thread for T&T vs French Guiana(06-Jul-2021)
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 03, 2021, 04:35:49 PM
French Guyana hasn't played a competitive game since Nov 2019. They will have a few Ligue 2 players in their squad. Majority of their team will be players outside of France.
Post by: pull stones on July 03, 2021, 10:33:53 PM
i hope you guys watched the guadelope bahamas game, i also hope you saw that bahamas used the very same strategy against guada by playing a very low line and flooding the midfield against a good french league 2 team. so all who claimed that we should have beaten them by a huge margin, how can you score multiple goals against a team that concentrates mainly on playing defensively and attack sparingly?
Post by: pull stones on July 03, 2021, 10:45:03 PM
on another note, ian lowe the bahamian goal keeper was introduced to the team for our game, and as we can see he's make the difference between them losing the game by a decent margin as opposed to a blow out.
Post by: lefty on July 03, 2021, 11:05:32 PM
The players wasn't energized to play for TF, I was watching dem game and found his "real time" coaching to be grating at worst highly distracting at best, if ah coach doh have d dressing room it doh make sense.....it was clear dat dem fellas wasn't into TFs approach regardless of Bahamas tactics, nutten I saw during his stint can convince me dat TF was right for we team and he had my support when he first came in......it just wasn't meant to be
Post by: pull stones on July 04, 2021, 12:29:42 AM
The players wasn't energized to play for TF, I was watching dem game and found his "real time" coaching to be grating at worst highly distracting at best, if ah coach doh have d dressing room it doh make sense.....it was clear dat dem fellas wasn't into TFs approach regardless of Bahamas tactics, nutten I saw during his stint can convince me dat TF was right for we team and he had my support when he first came in......it just wasn't meant to be
ok mate point taken.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 04, 2021, 02:06:16 AM
on another note, ian lowe the bahamian goal keeper was introduced to the team for our game, and as we can see he's make the difference between them losing the game by a decent margin as opposed to a blow out.

Yuh sure about that? Did he not play vs Puerto Rico in their 7-0 loss?

Post by: asylumseeker on July 04, 2021, 02:12:39 AM
i hope you guys watched the guadelope bahamas game, i also hope you saw that bahamas used the very same strategy against guada by playing a very low line and flooding the midfield against a good french league 2 team. so all who claimed that we should have beaten them by a huge margin, how can you score multiple goals against a team that concentrates mainly on playing defensively and attack sparingly?

I don't know why you insist on relitigating this. Both matches were "must-win". Guadeloupe won and we didn't. BAH found a way to win. We did not.

Bahamas also modified its team for the Gwada match recognizing it was a "must-win" for them.

The claim was not that BAH should have been pummeled. The claim was that we should have scored at least ONE goal.

Even if we view things from BAH vs TT through a Bahamian lens ("attempt to not lose vs must win") - as was pointed out elsewhere - that view transitioned to "attempt to win" as the match progressed, creating similar conditions as the Gwada match.

Even if we say the stakes are higher in WC qualifying than GC qualifying, then it would have to be posited that the incentive to score would also be higher.

It all comes back to mission accomplished for one team and not for the other team.

Maybe the NC should launch a Commission of Inquiry into why we lost or ppl should just come before the public and confess Truth and Reconciliation style.
Post by: pull stones on July 04, 2021, 03:49:44 AM
well i'm only regurgitating what i heard in the commentary when we played them when they said that a 18 yr old started for them from some university like it was his first cap, maybe i ws miss lead in thinking that he never started before then. whatever the case is bro, they are not leaking goals anymore, who knows why.
Post by: pull stones on July 04, 2021, 03:51:26 AM
angus there's no tape to review mate, cuba pulled out for whatever reason, so you're going in blind. good luck you're going to need it.
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 04, 2021, 03:55:27 AM

I don't know why you insist on relitigating this. Both matches were "must-win". Guadeloupe won and we didn't. BAH found a way to win. We did not.

Bahamas also modified its team for the Gwada match recognizing it was a "must-win" for them.

The claim was not that BAH should have been pummeled. The claim was that we should have scored at least ONE goal.

Even if we view things from BAH vs TT through a Bahamian lens ("attempt to not lose vs must win") - as was pointed out elsewhere - that view transitioned to "attempt to win" as the match progressed, creating similar conditions as the Gwada match.

Even if we say the stakes are higher in WC qualifying than GC qualifying, then it would have to be posited that the incentive to score would also be higher.

It all comes back to mission accomplished for one team and not for the other team.

Maybe the NC should launch a Commission of Inquiry into why we lost or ppl should just come before the public and confess Truth and Reconciliation style.

Asylum, Pullstones right. When we see Bahamas park dat bus on we, we should ah know, dais it..

And in this case, don't expect any team to beat BAH now that they have these "new" tactics. Expect the likes of Mexico, Brazil or Argentina to fall to the "mighty BAH" now that they have become such a powerful force in Football. I watch some of their game, and when I see they touch, they passing, they ball sense, and that they playing in a light blue too, I really thought is Argentina on de field. They hotel workers get big contracts since playing TT.. and man we can't rule them out now. .  :  :rotfl:

Pullstones, yuh still coming with dis chupidness? Come on man. Quit defending yuh ole bloke Fenwick.  Fenwick was complacent and he did not take BAH seriously. Go watch the press conference with him after the BAH game and compare it with Eve's. Fenwick did not have anything to say about the strategy he used to play BAH. No mention of what he was trying to accomplish. Just a lot of hot british air. 

Eve at least explained the game plan. . 6 to 1 against a better team, where key players were missing for us, is enough said. Thank you
Post by: asylumseeker on July 04, 2021, 04:15:50 AM
well i'm only regurgitating what i heard in the commentary when we played them when they said that a 18 yr old started for them from some university like it was his first cap, maybe i ws miss lead in thinking that he never started before then. whatever the case is bro, they are not leaking goals anymore, who knows why.

He is in an amazing position at the start of his college career. Normally we hear of 15 and 16 year olds getting NT call ups as non-GKs. He's only been specialized as a GK for 4 years and look what he has accomplished. His college coaches must be ecstatic. I don't know his height or whether he should be looking at other options, but he has amassed great memories in a short time. Imagine him improving.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 04, 2021, 04:22:24 AM
Most of the observation of FG was supposed to take place yesterday. With the shift in circumstance, the advantage shifted to them in that sense because they have more recent material to work with having seen us play.

They should be stretchable across the park if we adopt the requisite accuracy, urgency, intent and verticality. I was encouraged by our increased accuracy in passing on Friday. However, not sure whether playing with somewhat anchored LB and RB is the remedy for the coming 90 minutes.

Also would like to see 1-2 modifications in the starting XI.

FG will be susceptible to pace (Judah!). Not only have they travelled with some aging contributors, a core of their reinforcements are not attacking players.

Things to be mindful of: the presumptive LB will be a threat on set pieces and has pinpoint fluid deliveries to the usually challenging drop zones in the penalty area. He played a couple cycles at Lens before Bostock did.  Fairly experienced player. Has amassed almost 350 matches in top two tiers, with marginally more in Ligue 1. Good news is he hasn't played much this past season in Ligue 1 (had maybe 300 minutes total across seven matches; so about 3 x 90 match minutes).

If there is space on the flank to be exploited, he will probably take it. But, based on a reliable source, FG planned to use him as a LM rather than LB. Inference/rationale: get him into attacking contributions without having to cover the full length of the pitch and to contest play in an area where creation usually occurs. He is vulnerable to paused balls (stop/pause, freeze, drag line/inside). His ability to recover and aging go hand in hand.

Lugier
Adam
Lescot
Moges
Marigard G
Baal
Vancaeyezeele
Rimane
Evens
Privat
Abelinti

This is what was mooted as to the plan vs Cuba.

There's also a proposed shuffle of personnel if playing 4-3-3 and another variant if they drop to 5 in the back. Will deal with that later.

Post by: gawd on pitch on July 04, 2021, 04:30:57 AM
The odds are on our side. FG hasn't played in 19 months. Not only that, but they did not get a tune up like us before the game. Eve's true test now. I feel much more confident in the team. But let's not get complacent. Treat this game like a final
Post by: Sando prince on July 04, 2021, 07:38:13 AM
The odds are on our side. FG hasn't played in 19 months. Not only that, but they did not get a tune up like us before the game. Eve's true test now. I feel much more confident in the team. But let's not get complacent. Treat this game like a final

:D :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: lefty on July 04, 2021, 08:23:33 AM

:D :D :D :D :D :D

is one game at time given d constant kicks up we ass we get in d last few years, all dem team is test and if we doh pass is no gold cup, d time when we could laff at d notion of FG and Mons being "test" is arguable a full 2 decades in d past.....mostly 'cause we didn' develop or evolve as we should have, but still any game not won yet is ah test dese days
Post by: asylumseeker on July 04, 2021, 09:04:49 AM
We are having difficulty accepting that each match is a test.
Post by: Toussaint on July 04, 2021, 09:25:04 AM
On a different note, I think I would like to remind you guys that all these Gold Cup games are live on PrendeTV. It is an app you can download to your phone, roku, etc. I watched all the GC prelims there. You may want to have this app especially if TT qualifies.
Post by: Sando prince on July 04, 2021, 09:29:48 AM

not just a test but a true test. We are having this difficulty  :D :D

2001 same mentality as 2021 - OLD MAN DINOSAURS MENTALITY :D
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 04, 2021, 12:52:55 PM
I don't think FG will push for goals. They will want to play it very safe and play a defensive minded game as they haven't had any games since Nov 2019. Don't know much about the FG domestic league. But about  1/2 the team is playing there. The other half is playing in France. 20% of that half play in Ligue 1 or 2. The rest play in the equivalent of a league 4,5,6,7.

After watching Guyana and Montserrat, I think relying on foreign borns playing in low level leagues might not always be a benefit to the team. So we shouldn't be too concerned about 5th and 6th division foreign born players..  just my opinion.

For Guyana, their inclusion of the Brits worked against them. I think Guyana's better team is in their home based. This is the first time their squad had this many brits, and they played their worst.
Post by: Tallman on July 04, 2021, 01:06:14 PM
WATCH: After scoring a brace against Montserrat, Reon Moore looks ahead to facing French Guiana

https://www.youtube.com/v/tS40vADAoYc
Post by: ffisback on July 04, 2021, 10:36:38 PM
K Molino is the difference maker on this team if I was T Fenwick I would be livid seeing that he made himself available for A Eve and he is not fully match fit and he did not make himself available for the WC even if he was coming off the bench he could have save TT WC.
Post by: Deeks on July 04, 2021, 11:45:59 PM
K Molino is the difference maker on this team if I was T Fenwick I would be livid seeing that he made himself available for A Eve and he is not fully match fit and he did not make himself available for the WC even if he was coming off the bench he could have save TT WC.

After playing in the last GC against Guyana, I said I will take a half fit Molino on the NT anytime.
Post by: Deeks on July 04, 2021, 11:55:13 PM
I don't think FG will push for goals. They will want to play it very safe and play a defensive minded game as they haven't had any games since Nov 2019. Don't know much about the FG domestic league. But about  1/2 the team is playing there. The other half is playing in France. 20% of that half play in Ligue 1 or 2. The rest play in the equivalent of a league 4,5,6,7.

After watching Guyana and Montserrat, I think relying on foreign borns playing in low level leagues might not always be a benefit to the team. So we shouldn't be too concerned about 5th and 6th division foreign born players..  just my opinion.

For Guyana, their inclusion of the Brits worked against them. I think Guyana's better team is in their home based. This is the first time their squad had this many brits, and they played their worst.

So, FG, Guad, Martinique, PR, VI are departments of France and US respectively. They can bring in players from the mother country. The first 3 can get "better" players because of the higher standard of the French league pyramid. Why should we underestimate FG ? I remeber them beating us in the Oval for a Shell Cup qualifying game. I can remember from the 60s Martinique and Guada were never walkover. Teams from these 3 countries play in the French cup

This from wiki:

The Coupe de France, also known as the Coupe Charles Simon, is the premier knockout cup competition in French football organized by the French Football Federation (FFF). It was first held in 1917 and is open to all amateur and professional football clubs in France, including clubs based in the overseas departments and territories.

So this tells you something about FG. They could beat we arse.
Post by: Tiresais on July 05, 2021, 02:11:02 AM
French Guiana have really progressed - it would be a big mistake to underestimate them, although they have been hit by the current travel restrictions. This is probably the best time to play them in all honesty, as their form isn't great
Post by: pull stones on July 05, 2021, 03:46:10 AM
yuh know I used to think that you’re just another idiot who’s full of himself, but the more you talk I finally realize that you’re not only a very silly man, but you’re also very toxic. maybe you should do some research before you set out to lie to the public. first of all molino was training with fenwick from the start especially when the post season was finished and his team was knocked out in the semi final round of the play off.

Molino, jovin jones and neval hackshaw was all on post season break training with terry’s local squad, then when the usa friendly came up both him and jovin Jones was out of contract and was negotiating with a few teams so they asked to be excused from the friendly, then they were back in training for the World Cup qualifiers for a while then both the USL and mls players went back to their clubs for preseason training where molino suffered a hamstring injury and was ruled out for 6 - 8 weeks in april.

when the last rounds of games came around in June 5th - 8th he was still out and was in very light training, and it was only two weeks ago did he get some playing time for his team of which i certainly doubt if molino played three full games for his club since he’s been back. so stop lying and embellishing the truth, you sick local trinis from the football fraternity would do anything to win an argument just to prove a point wouldn’t you??
Post by: asylumseeker on July 05, 2021, 04:19:39 AM
In the interest of injecting a bit of sobriety into the discussion, by way of reminders.

https://www.youtube.com/v/923kkL31a8g
Abelinti and Privat (see the graphic above)

https://www.youtube.com/v/ZmulfwWF9ok
Marigard, J. x 2.
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 05, 2021, 04:30:05 AM

So, FG, Guad, Martinique, PR, VI are departments of France and US respectively. They can bring in players from the mother country. The first 3 can get "better" players because of the higher standard of the French league pyramid. Why should we underestimate FG ? I remeber them beating us in the Oval for a Shell Cup qualifying game. I can remember from the 60s Martinique and Guada were never walkover. Teams from these 3 countries play in the French cup

This from wiki:

The Coupe de France, also known as the Coupe Charles Simon, is the premier knockout cup competition in French football organized by the French Football Federation (FFF). It was first held in 1917 and is open to all amateur and professional football clubs in France, including clubs based in the overseas departments and territories.

So this tells you something about FG. They could beat we arse.

FG is not that mighty. I'm just saying their lower division players may not be much to worry about. They struggled to get wins in the last CNL. They beat Belize by default. And beat Saint Kitts. Lose to Grenada and Belize. This was with their foreign born.
Sure the foreign born can add a boost. But if 80% are 5th and 6th division players, then it might not be a huge advantage.

Curacao and Suriname, and even Martinique. Have a pool of 1st and 2nd division players.

We seen how Curacao has benefited. And Suriname just got their ducks in a row with getting their foreign born players. They have only scratched the surface with tapping into their foreign born pool. Their foreign born pool is deeper than JAs. With many playing in top flight football in Netherlands.   

Martinique has many too, they haven't tapped into ALL of their foreign born in the same way Curacao has. Patrick Kluivert was the one who spareheaded the campaign to identify foreign born Curacaon players back in 2018. He put boots on the ground to identify them. If Martinique did that, they will have a stronger pool. I will tell you something, IF Martinique had the opportunity to compete for WC qualifying, you would see how deep their foreign born pool is.
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 05, 2021, 04:39:10 AM
In the interest of injecting a bit of sobriety into the discussion, by way of reminders.

https://www.youtube.com/v/923kkL31a8g
Abelinti and Privat (see the graphic above)

https://www.youtube.com/v/ZmulfwWF9ok
Marigard, J. x 2.

Yes they ain't no pushover. They are missing some guys due to travel restrictions. And haven't played together since 2019 November. . Still we can't go in there riding on that for the win. One thing about FG, When they play good, they play very good. And when they play bad, they play very bad.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 05, 2021, 05:01:36 AM
GoP, FG's players may be "foreign-based" but they are overwhelmingly not foreign-born. Aside from Vancaeyezeele (NCAA Division II Player of the Year some seasons back) and the presumptive starting GK, Lugier ... I think everyone else, if not all of them, is born in FG (just as Malouda was).

I wouldn't overstate that case because FG is a losing party if yuh want to go that route ... they are other eligible  very good active players born in FG who are not representing them.
Post by: Flex on July 05, 2021, 04:26:20 PM
Soca Warriors to face French Guiana Tuesday, Cuba out Gold Cup qualifiers
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T Soca Warriors will face French Guiana on Tuesday in their winner-take-all Concacaf Gold Cup preliminary round playoff for the right to join Mexico,El Salvador and Curacao in the Group A main draw.

This after Concacaf in a media release on Saturday (July 3) said that the French Guiana and Cuba match which was carded for Saturday will no longer take place after the Spanish-speaking players failed to travel to the USA.

In the release, Concacaf said it has been in regular communication with the Cuban Football Association regarding their travel to the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup Preliminary Round.

Unfortunately, due to COVID-19 related travel and visa challenges, and the required COVID-19 testing regime, their match against French Guiana will not take place.

Given the current public health situation and the ongoing need for protocols to be adhered to, the health and safety of the participating teams cannot be compromised.

French Guiana will advance to the second round of the Preliminaries and will now face T&T on Tuesday (July 6).

The other two Preliminaries matches for Saturday night will be played as originally scheduled.

Fans that had previously purchased tickets and planned to attend the Cuba vs French Guiana match, scheduled for 7 pm Saturday, will be eligible for a refund. Fans should contact Ticketmaster’s customer service line at 800-653-8000 or return to the DRV PNK Stadium box office if they purchased tickets at the venue. No refunds will be honoured if fans decide to attend the other matches scheduled for Saturday evening.

RELATED NEWS

Trinidad and Tobago coach Angus Eve fostering healthy bond with players.
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (T&T Newsday).

TRINIDAD AND Tobago men’s football team coach Angus Eve has already fostered a healthy working relationship with his players heading into Tuesday’s final Concacaf Gold Cup qualifier against French Guiana.

Eve was installed as coach three weeks ago and had just two weeks to prepare the squad for their opening Gold Cup qualifier against Montserrat on Friday at Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States.

His appointment came on the heels of T&T’s surprising 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifying exit on June 5, under then head coach Terry Fenwick. Fenwick and his assistants Kelvin Jack and Derek King were sacked one week later.

Undeterred and inspired, Eve led the Soca Warriors to a 6-1 triumph over Montserrat and now gears up for his second official match at helm on Tuesday.

A victory against French Guiana on Tuesday guarantees a place for T&T in the Gold Cup group stage which gets underway on Saturday.

Against Montserrat, second half substitute Reon Moore bagged a brace while Kevin Molino, Marcus Joseph, Ryan Telfer and Judah Garcia also got their names on the scoresheet for T&T.

Moore, who made his Gold Cup debut in his fourth cap for the senior team, said Eve has quickly established a connection with the team.

“From day one, the connection between the coach and players was fantastic. He dealt with us on a (mature) level and we have a very good understanding. It’s more like we’re working together and not like somebody’s over your back with a big stick. So the transition is perfect,” said Moore after Friday’s win.

The Defence Force winger added that Eve’s five-day preparation camp – held at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva before the team departed en route to Florida – was short but well-executed.

He added, “It’s a great feeling. It all started from the training camp. The preparation was great and we transferred that into the game and we got the victory. It’s the training camps that we did, the preparation, knowing what the opposition would give, that made the game.”

Although he was not involved in the ill-fated T&T’s World Cup qualifying campaign, Moore said he was confident and “had a point to prove” heading into Friday’s meeting. Against French Guiana, if selected, Moore noted that he wants to build on his performances.

Similarly, Garcia, who scored his first international goal for T&T, was elated. He also showered praises on Eve for his never-say-die attitude and smooth ability to connect with a player.

The 20-year-old midfielder said there was some pressure on him leading up to the match but the coach was able to repress these feelings and get the best out of him on the field.

“The pressure will be there but coming up in the (training) camp with coach Angus was great. We had an excellent camp. From the game that we looked at with the team (Montserrat), we saw their strengths and their weaknesses. I think we focused on it and executed,” he said.

Garcia also credited Eve for his tactical foresight which allowed him to record his first-ever international goal.

On his achievement, Garcia added, “it was great. Something I’ve been dreaming about and wanting to have a long time now. The instructions from coach to me, was to go in behind the defence because they don’t like to run a lot. That’s exactly what I did and that’s how the goal came about.”

Likewise, Eve acknowledged the passion and commitment shown by his team to withstand the pressures of such a topsy-turvy season. This was also his first official game in charge of the the T&T men's team.

The 49-year-old Eve, who is T&T’s most capped player with 117 international appearances, will serve as the national coach until August 31.

“I feel very humbled by the experience. This is a new stage, a new experience for me. I do believe I prepared myself well for it through all the things I would have done. Through the grace of God I kept my composure through it all. I thought the guys really implemented what we did in training,” he said.

The coach added that it was important for the team to get going with a win after the “Terry Fenwick era”. He said the team felt that they had a responsibility to the T&T people to go out and give a good performance; especially after their unsettling World Cup qualifying exit.

Looking ahead to Tuesday’s match, Eve wants the team to maintain its momentum and secure the much-needed three points to affirm a spot in the group stage.

He said that T&T may be without left-back Triston Hodge who suffered a groin injury against Montserrat. Also uncertain is Aubrey David, who was kicked in the chin against Montserrat, which gave way for Molino to open the scoring from the penalty spot. According to Eve, David received nine stitches.

Eve concluded, “Our goal is to first reach the group stage and then we will reboot and replan and go forward again. It’s most important that the job hasn’t ended, it has now begun.”

Post by: Tallman on July 05, 2021, 05:42:46 PM
WATCH: Press conference with Trinidad and Tobago Interim Head Coach Angus Eve and Ryan Telfer ahead of the Concacaf Gold Cup Second Preliminary Round match against French Guiana.

https://www.youtube.com/v/tT1-YZpsF_w
Title: French Guiana hoping to tame resurgent Trinidad and Tobago
Post by: Tallman on July 05, 2021, 06:12:17 PM
French Guiana hoping to tame resurgent Trinidad and Tobago
Concacaf.com

French Guiana will be out to tame resurgent Trinidad and Tobago when the two sides meet in the Second Round of the 2021 Gold Cup Prelims on Tuesday at DRV PNK Stadium in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

The winner will advance to the Gold Cup group stage and slot into Group A along with Mexico, El Salvador and Curacao.

But first things first, a tricky test awaits for both sides.

Tuesday’s contest will mark French Guiana’s first match of the Prelims and their first official match since their group finale in League B of the 2019-20 Concacaf Nations League, a 3-1 win over Saints Kitts and Nevis in November 2019.

Nevertheless, with a team boasting many European-based players, including FW Sloan Privat, who scored one of his country’s two goals in the 2017 Gold Cup, and DFs Kevin Rimane, formerly of Ligue 1 giants Paris Saint-Germain, and Stade Brestois 29’s Ludovic Baal, plus Boulogne GK Simon Lugier, Les Yono Dokos have the pieces in place for a good performance.

While Trinidad and Tobago’s campaign in Concacaf World Cup Qualifying for Qatar 2022 ended in disappointing fashion in the First Round, the Soca Warriors are enjoying a resurgence under Interim Head Coach Angus Eve.

Trinidad and Tobago returned to their high-flying ways in a 6-1 triumph over Montserrat in the First Round of the Prelims, with Kevin Molino, Marcus Joseph and Judah Garcia among the goal-scorers.

A win against French Guiana would provide a massive momentum boost going into the Gold Cup group stage.
Post by: Flex on July 06, 2021, 03:56:54 AM
Wounded Soca Warriors confident against French Guiana.
By Walter Alibey (T&T Newsday).

T&T’s Soca Warriors will be blind and wounded metaphorically, when they head into Moday’s all-important CONCACAF Gold Cup qualifier against French Guiana at the DRV PNK Stadium, in Florida, USA from 4:30 pm knowing anything about their opponents.

National coach Angus Eve’s team could stroll into Group A of the CONCACAF Gold Cup, along with giants Mexico, El Salvador and Curacao, should T&T come out on top in the encounter, but it seems to be an unpredictable task with little to no information known to his technical staff about a team that has no FIFA ranking, as an overseas department of the French Republic.

In fact, in the past 30 years, the French Guianese Mulatto team has entered the Gold Cup just once in 2017, where it was defeated in the group phase, going down 3-0 to Costa Rica and Honduras, and 4-2 to Canada. Otherwise from 1991- to 2021, the French Guianese team has either not entered or did not qualify for the CONCACAF Gold Cup tournament.

French Guiana did participate at the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) or Caribbean Cup level where an encounter with the T&T Soca Warriors in November 2014, landed them at the end of a 4-2 beating.

French Guiana was expected to face Cuba in the preliminary round on Saturday, but with Cuba pulling out of the tournament, due to their inability to travel to the US for not being able to comply with the COVID-19 safety protocols, they earned an automatic spot in today’s the second round.   

At a press conference, yesterday Eve believes that today's opponents could have an advantage over his team, having gotten the chance to see the Soca Warriors play while he did not get that opportunity.

The French Guiana’s entire team currently plays its football at home, with an option to play in French Leagues if they can.

Meanwhile, the Soca Warriors also face the possibility of making changes to their starting team, with defenders Aubrey David and Triston Hodge uncertain due to injuries. 

“They (French Guiana) haven’t played a competitive match for a while, that we could see them. It’s unfortunate Cuba couldn’t make it for one reason or the other, but the roster that they have you could go back and see some of the things that some of their players would have done in the past, but that’s basically it. We’re basically going relatively blind.

“They would have a better idea of what we do because they would have seen our games, so they have an advantage in that regard, but we’re pretty confident in our game and we’re pretty confident of what we’re capable of doing,” Eve explained.

Eve, a last-minute replacement for Terry Fenwick, fired after the T&T team failed to get past the first round of the World Cup Qualifiers, has said they will be taking this game as a final: “Each of the matches matters because they are must-win games. So we have to treat each match as a virtual final because to play the other match you have to play the first one to go into the group stage. The mood in the camp is good, although we have the possibilities that some guys will not be able to play, we just don’t know just yet.

“The medical staff is working on it but at the end of the day, we saw the guys who came off the bench, they were fantastic. We have a squad of players we can trust, so if somebody’s injured, they’re no problem for us to replace them with one of the guys on the roster.”

Meanwhile, Ryan Telfer, the Athletico Ottawa winger has said he will play any role that will help the team pull off a victory in a game that he too considers a virtual final: “As the coach has been re-iterating in the camp, there isn’t going to be a Gold Cup for us if we don’t take this game tomorrow (Monday) as a final.”

Eve’s men are coming off an impressive 6-1 victory over Montserrat which will be a morale booster for them as well.

RELATED NEWS

Eve: Soca Warriors confident ahead of Gold Cup qualifier vs French Guiana
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday).

ANGUS Eve, coach of the T&T men’s football team, acknowledges that he is not totally aware of the capabilities of the French Guiana squad, as both teams square off in their 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup qualification second-round match on Tuesday, from 4.30 pm, at the DRV PNK Stadium, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States.

French Guiana were due to face Cuba on Saturday in their first-round fixture. However, Cuba had to default the game since they were unable to leave Nicaragua for the US due to covid19 related travel and visa challenges.

French Guiana are not a member of FIFA as they are an overseas department of the French Republic. Ironically, their last competitive match was a 3-1 victory over St Kitts/Nevis, in the Concacaf Nations League, on November 17, 2019.

Eve, speaking at a pre-game media conference via Zoom on Monday, said, “They haven’t played a competitive game for a while. It’s unfortunate we couldn’t see them (on Saturday).”

The T&T coach continued, “The roster that they have, we could basically go back and see things that some of the players would have done in the past, but that’s basically it. We’re basically going relatively blind.

“They would have a better idea of what we do because they would have seen our game, so they have an advantage in that regard. We’re pretty confident in our game and what we’re capable of doing.

Two T&T defenders suffered injuries during Friday’s 6-1 trouncing of Montserrat, in a first-round tie. Left-back Tristan Hodge was replaced by Ross Russell Jnr at the half-time break due to a groin strain, while centre-back Aubrey David needed stitches after a cut to his face, from a high boot from defender Nathan Pond.

But Eve said, “We’re still treating with them and they’re pretty much day-to-day. If any changes had to be made, we’ll have to wait until the last moment to see.”

The winners of Tuesday’s qualifier will advance to Group A of the Gold Cup, alongside Mexico, El Salvador and Curacao.

“We have to treat each match as a virtual final,” said the T&T coach. “Each match is equally important. The mood in the camp is really good. The guys who came off the bench were fantastic. We have a squad of players who we trust so if somebody is injured, there is no problem for us to replace them with one of the other guys on the roster.”

Eve shifted Ryan Telfer to the left-wing position and recalled Marcus Joseph to play as the lone striker.

Telfer and Joseph, along with Kevin Molino, scored in the first half of Friday’s game while, in the second half, Reon Moore added a pair and Judah Garcia netted once.

On his team’s attacking prowess, Eve said, “We scored goals from different positions of the park. We don’t have the luxury of a Stern John, Kenwyne Jones or Dwight Yorke.

“We have to use the players that we have and get them to contribute. We got goals from five different players and five different positions.”

Telfer made his T&T debut in 2019 and has played under three coaches – Dennis Lawrence, Terry Fenwick and Eve.

“It’s different coaching styles,” said Telfer. “I played in a similar role with Dennis Lawrence, as a left-winger. With Fenwick, it was more of a centre-forward role. In terms of what (Eve) wants me to do, he wants me to be creative.”

The T&T team had their final training session at the Inter Miami training pitch on Monday morning.

Teams –

TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO: Marvin Phillip, Nicklas Frenderup, Adrian Foncette (goalkeepers); Aubrey David, Jelani Peters, Curtis Gonzales, Radanfah Abu Bakr, Alvin Jones, Justin Garcia, Tristan Hodge, Ross Russell Jnr, Jesse Williams (defenders); Neveal Hackshaw, Hashim Arcia, Khaleem Hyland, Kevin Molino, Judah Garcia, Reon Moore, Andre Fortune II, Duane Muckette (midfielders); Ryan Telfer, Marcus Joseph, Isaiah Lee (strikers).

FRENCH GUIANA: Simon Lugier, Jean-Banuel Petit-Homme, Noha Pulcherie (goalkeepers); Dylan Adam, Ludovic Baal, Gregory Lescot, Gary Marigard, Marvin Torvic, Alain Moges, Teddy Adaoude, Inrick Baal (defenders); Rhudy Evens, Regis Leveille, Thomas Vancaeyezeele, Kevin Rimane, Marc Edwige, Miguel Haabo, Jessy Marigard (midfielders); Arnold Abelinti, Sloan Privat, Alex Eric, Carino Atchaliso, Calvin Soga (strikers).

Post by: Tallman on July 06, 2021, 09:19:28 AM
MATCH PREVIEW: Trinidad and Tobago vs French Guiana

https://www.youtube.com/v/Gu-D6O9Ns1w
Post by: Deeks on July 06, 2021, 10:38:29 AM
Any links or streaming for this game?
Post by: Tiresais on July 06, 2021, 01:37:23 PM
Any links or streaming for this game?

This... I know CONCACAF has streamed a lot of these on Youtube
Post by: Tallman on July 06, 2021, 01:58:14 PM
Trinidad and Tobago's lineup

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E5o1RGtXIAsRVMK?format=jpg&name=medium)

French Guiana's lineup

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E5oyqCiWEAIbeBF?format=jpg&name=medium)

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago: 21.Nicklas Frenderup; 2.Aubrey David, 4.Jelani Peters, 16.Alvin Jones, 19.Ross Russell Jnr; 15.Neveal Hackshaw, 8.Khaleem Hyland (capt), 10.Kevin Molino, 11.Judah Garcia; 9.Marcus Joseph, 7.Ryan Telfer.

Substitutes: 1.Marvin Phillip (GK), 22.Adrian Foncette (GK), 3.Hashim Arcia, 5.Curtis Gonzales, 6.Radanfah Abu Bakr, 17.Justin Garcia, 23.Jesse Williams, 14.Andre Fortune II, 12.Isaiah Lee, 20.Duane Muckette, 13.Reon Moore.

French Guiana: 1.Simon Lugier; 4.Alain Moges, 6.Kevin Rimane, 8.Rhudy Evens, 10.Ludovic Baal (capt), 9.Sloan Privat, 12.Jessy Marigard, 11.Arnold Abelinti, 17.Thomas Vancaeyezeele, 14.Gregory Lescot, 19.Calvin Soga.

Post by: hg495 on July 06, 2021, 02:09:20 PM
YouTube blocked the stream for me last game
Post by: Tallman on July 06, 2021, 02:11:18 PM
WATCH:Angus Eve gives his thoughts just before facing French Guiana.

https://www.youtube.com/v/8d2981KBKU4
Post by: Peong on July 06, 2021, 02:17:08 PM
http://firstrowsportes.com/
Have links

I couldn't get any to work

This one works

http://live.jokerswidget.org/freelivematch/908081014793680.html
Post by: hg495 on July 06, 2021, 02:20:15 PM
Bless ah go check it out because is stress watching big games on de phone
Post by: asylumseeker on July 06, 2021, 02:32:44 PM
Lugier
Baal
Lescot
Moges
Marigard G
Soga
Vancaeyezeele
Rimane
Evens
Privat
Abelinti

I think that is it. Evens may be used on L.
Post by: chinee boi on July 06, 2021, 02:58:46 PM
goal for Molino
Post by: Trini boi on July 06, 2021, 02:58:59 PM
GOOOAALLL!!!
Post by: lefty on July 06, 2021, 03:03:18 PM
http://firstrowsports.be/soccer/trinidad-tobago-french-guyana-krk83a4ab?l=3123485090 works but as I said it ah little involved and yuh need ah ad blocker especially on ah smartphone android in particular, phone go be try to open play store constantly if yuh hitting links instead ah "x"s

edit just stop working
Post by: Tiresais on July 06, 2021, 03:06:19 PM
What team is this? Great play by T&T so far, that first goal was a peach, and I'm not sure that second was offside...
Post by: Tiresais on July 06, 2021, 03:15:15 PM
Easy come... Great finish
Post by: asylumseeker on July 06, 2021, 03:22:31 PM
I am disappointed that replica situations from the video clips above have been replayed during the first half.
Post by: Peong on July 06, 2021, 03:22:42 PM
Oh gyad dat defensive header. Too easy. And Hyland hamstring is a double blow. We have to claw back in front now.
Before they scored I was going to say I didn't like the tempo of the game. Too slow like the game vs Bahamas. Fellas need to pick it up, and don't let the ball drop in the box. We still have it.
Post by: lefty on July 06, 2021, 03:30:42 PM
Oh gyad dat defensive header. Too easy. And Hyland hamstring is a double blow. We have to claw back in front now.
Before they scored I was going to say I didn't like the tempo of the game. Too slow like the game vs Bahamas. Fellas need to pick it up, and don't let the ball drop in the box. We still have it.

seems like d weather not agreeing with we dais d second injury sub of this game
Post by: Sam on July 06, 2021, 03:47:19 PM
Where de f000ck they find number 4 for T&T. Justin Garcia is much better.

If Molino is we best player, we in trouble.

Andre Fortune, lard fadda, send he back home quick.

Justin Garcia and Jesse Williams should be on the field and play Alvin on de wing.

Angus yuh good boy.

Post by: Trini _2026 on July 06, 2021, 03:55:40 PM
Fortune has struggled at this level to much and NOAH powder  cannot even get a run
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 06, 2021, 04:16:52 PM
but wait no comments
Post by: Kingk on July 06, 2021, 04:23:32 PM
Going into penalties either Trinidad is tired or poor tactics
Post by: lefty on July 06, 2021, 04:40:08 PM

but wait no comments

Bamcy was winking now ah could breathe......we win
Post by: Kingk on July 06, 2021, 04:41:22 PM
We win
Post by: lil damo on July 06, 2021, 04:44:02 PM
Happy for the win. Happy for Eve. Proud of the boys. The team will need to add some players to compete as this current mix will struggle without some help.
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 06, 2021, 04:44:23 PM
Heart attack. .

But it shouldn't have come down to this. Congratulations to the team. A lot of work still needs to get done. Mexico awaits..

FG outplayed us. They deserve the win.
Post by: lefty on July 06, 2021, 04:44:34 PM
we looked off d pace and dem early injuries didn' help
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 06, 2021, 04:45:36 PM
Frenderup won the game. He almost save 2. But 1 was all we need.

Must say they look very comfortable taking penalty shots

Post by: lefty on July 06, 2021, 04:47:43 PM
dis is why I said every game is ah test we have to see consistency to claim any ting else
Post by: lefty on July 06, 2021, 04:49:01 PM

not just a test but a true test. We are having this difficulty  :D :D

2001 same mentality as 2021 - OLD MAN DINOSAURS MENTALITY :D

::) ::) ::) reality almost come home, small brain need to stop tryin to wear big brain pants....dey doh fit yuh
Post by: Deeks on July 06, 2021, 04:49:35 PM
Heart attack. .

But it shouldn't have come down to this. Congratulations to the team. A lot of work still needs to get done. Mexico awaits..

Like I said, these guys under the French system. They may not be Div.1, but they can outclass us on any given day. I am almost sure they were playing dead to ketch cobo alive. They were probably training hell hard and ready for well tail. Angus have some work to do. He better get it right. Congrats and good luck.
Post by: maxg on July 06, 2021, 04:57:53 PM
Heart attack. .

Like I said, these guys under the French system. They may not be Div.1, but they can outclass us on any given day. I am almost sure they were playing dead to ketch cobo alive. They were probably training hell hard and ready for well tail. Angus have some work to do. [\b] He better get it right. Congrats and good luck.

Angus alone ?
Post by: lefty on July 06, 2021, 05:04:29 PM
We kept trying to play target man knockdown but had nobody coming up fast enough to get second balls, the few time we did get ah man up, we actually threatened and could have scored, we also missed a runner up front, but d weather could take some blame for that

still though there were some worries thing seen
Post by: Peong on July 06, 2021, 05:07:21 PM
Oh lahd dat was a stress. Frenderup the hero and the boys held their nerve. Not 1 penalty missed
I think we needed Bateau and L Garcia for these games.
We can't afford to have anything less than our full squad anymore.
Post by: chelsealife on July 06, 2021, 05:10:14 PM
A win is a win so I'm taking it. Even if its a sloppy one. Not a good game today by any means but we can only get better. The two injuries and the weather I think really played a part. Reon Moore looks a better player than Lobo tbh and Molino needs to play closer to goal. Peters didn't rly look good today but there's a lot of room for improvement from everyone. Proud still
Post by: vb on July 06, 2021, 05:12:29 PM
http://firstrowsportes.com/
Have links

I couldn't get any to work

This one works

http://live.jokerswidget.org/freelivematch/908081014793680.html

Thanks my regular links let me down today.
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 06, 2021, 05:21:04 PM
Judah and Hyland injury change the pace of the game. The FG goal was a result of losing Hyland.

Our 2nd goal was onside.. ref was crap.

After I see FG score in the 2nd half, O thought that was it.

Post by: gawd on pitch on July 06, 2021, 05:30:43 PM
Haiti getting it done. 2 - 0.
Post by: Peong on July 06, 2021, 05:37:27 PM

In control, 3-0
Post by: lefty on July 06, 2021, 05:38:55 PM

In control, 3-0

haiti looking up to it tournament wise
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 06, 2021, 05:51:42 PM

In control, 3-0

haiti looking up to it tournament wise

Creating chances and taking full advantage of any opportunity. I hope the TT is in the stands watching the game.
Post by: Sando prince on July 06, 2021, 06:09:09 PM
How did we play against today's 'test' against French Guiana? yes French Guiana?  :D

What a mess
Post by: Sando prince on July 06, 2021, 06:11:32 PM
 :D :D that 6-1 Montserrat lil hype means absolutely nothing now. And we only played a team one gear better in French Guiana

listen to what T&T goalkeeper had to say about T&T performance. I applaud the man for being honest. T&T played shit!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WSD7llexjGU

Post by: ABTrini on July 06, 2021, 06:15:45 PM
take it for what it is- sometimes you win ugly and sometimes you lose some unfortunate ones which could have  been within your grasp.
Today we got a result we needed as oppose to  last month when all we needed was a goal. So I simply say congrats and with two matches down and  a little more  details to work with the coach has  accomplished in two games what was set out before him. Next  another test. Got through 'Common Entrance '  not GCE.
 :rotfl: :yellowcard:
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 06, 2021, 06:36:40 PM
:D :D that 6-1 Montserrat lil hype means absolutely nothing now. And we only played a team one gear better in French Guiana

listen to what T&T goalkeeper had to say about T&T performance. I applaud the man for being honest. T&T played shit!

If Frenderup was included by Lawrence, I doubt we would've been in this position.

If we lost the game, I doubt Frenderup would be flying across the Atlantic for future games.

Frenderup now OWNS that spot between the pipes. Phillip and Foncette lucky if they ever play for the NT again.
Post by: lefty on July 06, 2021, 06:43:01 PM
until we see some kinda consistency every game is test......even against ah Sunday league side is ah test, we regress bad over especially over d last 5 or so years, I go into each game with cautious optimism because I understand d shit lane we in 

I ent sure Eve can fix dat cross ball defending in one week because it lookin ah chronic issue, how in d hell do you breaks from a point blank shot with yuh goalie blinded
Post by: Tallman on July 06, 2021, 06:51:17 PM
Match Highlights

https://www.youtube.com/v/TObTeOTbzqM
Post by: Sando prince on July 06, 2021, 07:00:12 PM

If Frenderup was included by Lawrence, I doubt we would've been in this position.

If we lost the game, I doubt Frenderup would be flying across the Atlantic for future games.

Frenderup now OWNS that spot between the pipes. Phillip and Foncette lucky if they ever play for the NT again.

hello there delusional DL fan. Dennis PISS POOR record as coach and the catastrophic impact it had on our football goes way beyond just the goalkeeper position and goalkeeper contribution

Post by: gawd on pitch on July 06, 2021, 07:05:08 PM
The first 30mins belonged to us. The last 55mins were FGs. Too many times we take the lead and then let the team grow in the game.

Despite the outcome I do think if Judah and Khaleem stayed in the game, we would have had a convincing win.

Now Haiti just got it done against Bermuda. Smelled blood and had a meal. Bermuda kept on fighting. But the Haitians showed no complacency with getting it done.
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 06, 2021, 07:08:10 PM

hello there delusional DL fan. Dennis PISS POOR record as coach and the catastrophic impact it had on our football goes way beyond just the goalkeeper position and goalkeeper contribution

Far from a DL fan for coach. Although I would rather have DL over Fenwick. I'm trying to point out of how much better Frenderup is compared to the previous keepers.
Post by: maxg on July 06, 2021, 07:33:31 PM

I hope they keep up their hard work and service cause you never know when they might be needed. Like Shaka and Jack. Supporters could be great or dump on the team, we don’t have to train to talk shit, but all these guys have to show up everyday, work their asses off to face successes or embarrassment and live with their play, good or bad. Thanks for your work guys, now turn it up. Stay healthy, we need you at your best. Good Luck all. Again thanks for the extended run.

Add: wait nah, is Mexico we beating on Saturday, ahready?
Post by: soccerman on July 06, 2021, 08:29:06 PM

I hope they keep up their hard work and service cause you never know when they might be needed. Like Shaka and Jack. Supporters could be great or dump on the team, we don’t have to train to talk shit, but all these guys have to show up everyday, work their asses off to face successes or embarrassment and live with their play, good or bad. Thanks for your work guys, now turn it up. Stay healthy, we need you at your best. Good Luck all. Again thanks for the extended run.

Add: wait nah, is Mexico we beating on Saturday, ahready?
Post by: asylumseeker on July 06, 2021, 08:57:03 PM
Oh lahd dat was a stress. Frenderup the hero and the boys held their nerve. Not 1 penalty missed
I think we needed Bateau and L Garcia for these games.
We can't afford to have anything less than our full squad anymore.

Their absence gave two other players the opportunity to play under pressure and although we at times complicated our fate, hopefully something was learned.

This year has produced some quality penalty battles. Although not all the penalties were fashionable (at would ah bawl if a man had attempted a Panenka and missed; ah only down for that as a neutral!), what matters is getting the job done.

Saturday will come quickly.

Post by: ABTrini on July 06, 2021, 09:29:03 PM
Yuh know Sometimes yuh win ugly then again sometimes  you lose when everyone expected you to win.
But say what we accomplished phase 1 - qualify to group - just needed to  get what we wanted to accomplish.

Under the circumstances- well done- is only two games and the competition ahead is much tougher but we got take the moral victory.
Congrats team - players and coaches- playing against Mexico is what each player should  be dreaming of.
Post by: Peong on July 06, 2021, 09:53:24 PM
Guadeloupe just punch dey ticket. Ah tink they reach 12 penalties
Post by: Deeks on July 06, 2021, 10:26:22 PM
Yuh know Sometimes yuh win ugly then again sometimes  you lose when everyone expected you to win.
But say what we accomplished phase 1 - qualify to group - just needed to  get what we wanted to accomplish.

Under the circumstances- well done- is only two games and the competition ahead is much tougher but we got take the moral victory.
Congrats team - players and coaches- playing against Mexico is what each player should  be dreaming of.

Guada and Guatemala are two good teams. Played end to end football. But one had to go by way of PKs. By the way Arg beat Col. by PKs also. Plenty football yesterday. But congrats to the team.  I don't expect them to beat Mex. I will surprise if they pull off a tie. Mex. has been play football constantly. Going on tours overseas while we stuck at home. They are more than match fit.
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 06, 2021, 11:18:27 PM

Guada and Guatemala are two good teams. Played end to end football. But one had to go by way of PKs. By the way Arg beat Col. by PKs also. Plenty football yesterday. But congrats to the team.  I don't expect them to beat Mex. I will surprise if they pull off a tie. Mex. has been play football constantly. Going on tours overseas while we stuck at home. They are more than match fit.
Is 11 v 11 and things can play out in a game beyond anyone's imagination, will see how it play out on Sunday
Post by: asylumseeker on July 07, 2021, 02:42:54 AM
Ah wonder if having Renato Sanches in Fort Lauderdale for three days would work wonders before Montserrat.

There's a reason that comment was made. I'm certain it will be relevant in the days ahead.

And it was.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 07, 2021, 02:52:39 AM
Strange - No one commented on the Technical team . I thought The Federation had financial problems.
 Why do we need a manager as well as a National Team Director .Let us not ask about the Physiotherapist as well as a massage therapist. Some folks are on a joy ride.

To this point, [some of] the players need a psychologist. That would add immense value. Player psychology is a step beyond the ability to motivate players. Ideally, the psychology should be built into the tactical approach.

After what we witnessed in the Bahamas I hoped never to see any glimmer of that deficiency again, but truth be told, there was an element of it during the 90 minute battle yesterday. Maybe someone will surface to assist. 
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 07, 2021, 04:26:02 AM
Guadeloupe just punch dey ticket. Ah tink they reach 12 penalties

That's right. When last you see a keeper take a penalty kick, then have to run towards the goal to save a spot kick.

Ceballos from Guatemala ended up being the goat. Two penalty shots, none seen the netting. To make matters worse, it was almost a home game for Guatemala. The stands were 99%Guatemalan. Also this is the 3rd consecutive absence from the Gold Cup for Guatemala. They have never been away from the gold cup for 8 years. Wow. And we thought we had it bad.
Post by: frico on July 07, 2021, 08:04:15 AM
I think for this match we should get some credit,having lost the captain and Garcia, also missing his brother, add to that Aubrey David playing with a damaged chin,that wouldn't help him,it would hinder.After hearing so much about these countries playing with overseas players, makes you think they might be better than us,it's not so in many cases,so train and develop your own.In the football history of Trinidad the best years was when we had no foreigners,in the 70s when "we got done up good N proper" by Haiti,and again in the 90s by USA,denied a blatant penalty,no foreigners again.
   I cannot help but praise those penalty takers,it must be the best I have ever seen,I have to say bravo to them and the rest of the team.Some improvement is needed.
Post by: lefty on July 07, 2021, 09:33:19 AM
Jus watched d presser and Eve waş saying that FG was playing so deep we were having difficulty breaking their lines, I was curious as to why we kept třyin to get "in behind"  ah low block and not adapting to try and play through d lines, we I saw enough indication d they have practicing  to play "through d .lines" but wasn't doing dat nearly enough yesterday....because when we trieď to combine to create chances we looked far better.
Post by: soccerman on July 07, 2021, 10:24:20 AM
Well done T&T really happy for the result. In these tournament type games you just have to win and advance, even if it comes ugly.
Now that we won a couple things I was surprized by in the pk shootout:
1) We won the toss and allowed them to shoot first. I'm sure we have our reasons but these days almost all teams who wins the toss tends to shoot first due to the physcological aspect. The pressure tends to be on the team kicking 2nd.
2) Molino our main (maybe best) and experienced kicker went last. What if our 4th kicker missed? Then Molino won't have kicked considering how things went. This was the same mistake Portugal did at a tounament allowing CR7 to go last and he never got the opportunity to kick, needless to say Portugal lost. I watched ARG in the shootout last night, Messi went first, he's not waiting until 5.
Again things worked out in our favor so I can't critize it but I was just suprized at those two decisions. Nevermind me, I think of random stuff at times. Goodluck against Mexico fellas!!!
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 07, 2021, 10:56:16 AM
I think for this match we should get some credit,having lost the captain and Garcia, also missing his brother, add to that Aubrey David playing with a damaged chin,that wouldn't help him,it would hinder.After hearing so much about these countries playing with overseas players, makes you think they might be better than us,it's not so in many cases,so train and develop your own.In the football history of Trinidad the best years was when we had no foreigners,in the 70s when "we got done up good N proper" by Haiti,and again in the 90s by USA,denied a blatant penalty,no foreigners again.
   I cannot help but praise those penalty takers,it must be the best I have ever seen,I have to say bravo to them and the rest of the team.Some improvement is needed.

I was looking at it from that angle too. There are about a good 7 quality guys missing. Fenwick did not do a good job with utilizing them. However Eve did more with less. Key guys missing:

- Bateau
- J Jones
- L Garcia
- Powder
- Phillips
- Hodge

Injuries:

- Hyland
- J Garcia

Now I am not in any way suggesting we are out of the woods. I think the elephant in the room. . Not being able to close the game off, is what needs to be fixed first. We let these teams grow into the game too easy.

Also we lack confidence in taking chances. Muckette is a great player. But too many times he killed the development of a play by turning he back and pushing the ball to someone behind him. He did not take chances with the quick 1s and 2s with Molino. Hyland does that better than Muckette.

FG took advantage of the wing backs. I believe Peters had some difficulty handling the FG player. He filled in for Hodge if I'm correct.

Also we need a player who can hold the ball up. Molino is good at doing that. But we relying on him too much for that. That is why we had to do them long ball over the defense.

Like what you said though, we overcame a lot of adversity. Is now that a sober mind can see that.

One thing I will say, If our second goal was counted, I think we would have won the game easier. It's interesting how a 2 goal lead can kill a teams belief. Depending on the opposition, a 2 goal lead can be deadly for the wrong reason.
Post by: frico on July 07, 2021, 02:08:57 PM
gawd on pitchI wasn't aware that we were missing so many starters,that being the case, we should be able to put up a better show when we have those missing players.I also share your sentiments about Muckette.I still feel Kerron Cummins can be useful for us,hopefully Eve will see the same things that we saw and try to put them right.
Post by: Tallman on July 07, 2021, 02:54:39 PM
WATCH: Post-match comments from Interim Head Coach Angus Eve after Trinidad and Tobago's 8-7 win on penalties over French Guiana.

https://www.youtube.com/v/bc2jOqMVwe8
Post by: Flex on July 07, 2021, 03:34:47 PM
gawd on pitchI wasn't aware that we were missing so many starters,that being the case, we should be able to put up a better show when we have those missing players.I also share your sentiments about Muckette.I still feel Kerron Cummins can be useful for us,hopefully Eve will see the same things that we saw and try to put them right.

Cummings.. (https://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=64643.msg1000402#msg1000402)
Post by: Flex on July 07, 2021, 03:35:10 PM
I thought Reon Moore is an excellent player.

Post by: madness on July 07, 2021, 04:17:38 PM
Muckette is a great player (wow, smh) You guys not easy... I don't agree with the change by substituting Hyland for Muckette. Muckette is not a defensive midfielder. plz look at the game again 
Title: Re: Thread for T&T vs French Guiana (06-Jul-2021)
Post by: lefty on July 07, 2021, 05:16:24 PM
if he was available I would try Bateau for Hyland in CDM he have real B2B qualities
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 07, 2021, 06:47:46 PM
Muckette is a great player (wow, smh) You guys not easy... I don't agree with the change by substituting Hyland for Muckette. Muckette is not a defensive midfielder. plz look at the game again 

Yeah, not like for like, muckette remind me of riquelme...
Post by: Tallman on July 08, 2021, 11:30:57 AM
WATCH: Alvin Jones said the fightback against French Guiana was for the country as Trinidad and Tobago sealed qualification for the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup.

https://www.youtube.com/v/1SyjAzeBfRc
Post by: Tallman on July 08, 2021, 11:59:45 AM
WATCH: Curtis Gonzales reflects on his game winning penalty against French Guiana which sealed Trinidad and Tobago's qualification for the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup.

https://www.youtube.com/v/_pDueJMB2uk
Post by: Tallman on July 08, 2021, 09:00:15 PM
Brotherhood of Warriors: Gonzales, Jones recall how T&T dug deep
T&T Express

DEFENCE FORCE defender Curtis Gonzales believes that a true brotherhood is developing among the Soca Warriors.

Having seen one miss from 15 previous efforts, Gonzales volunteered to face the pressure of taking Trinidad and Tobago’s final spot kick, the one that qualified the team for the 2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

There was never a danger, as Gonzales sent French Guiana’s custodian Simon Lugier the wrong way to give the Soca Warriors a spot in the Gold Cup group stage with a 8-7 penalty kicks victory against very competitive opponents, following a 1-1 draw over 90 minutes. Gonzales, a second half substitute, explained the inspiration that led to him taking the weight of a country on his shoulders for the vital spot kick.

“When I came onto the field, I saw the fight in my brothers’ eyes,” Gonzales said. “I felt it in my heart that I owed this penalty to my country.”

Gonzales, 32, has played for most of his career with Defence Force at right-back, centre-back and occasionally at defensive midfield.

Without cementing a regular place over the years, Gonzales still has 39 national caps, having made his debut in 2012 and has played World Cup qualifiers away to Mexico when Dennis Lawrence used him at defensive midfield and even as a centre back against Costa Rica. Known as “Boyo,” Gonzales believes there is a strong brotherhood growing among the Warriors.

“I must give kudos to the guys for the camaraderie we have right now,” he said. “And I think that brotherhood we have right now going forward can go us great.

“Each and every one of us were on the same (page),” Gonzales said of the fight shown by T&T in the face of adversity caused by key injuries and an increasingly emboldened French Guiana team filed with France-based professionals.

Like Gonzales, Alvin Jones contributed by scoring via the penalty spot and also had a shot which come off the post that led to the opener for Kevin Molino. He too appreciated the resilience of his team-mates.

“I think the guys played their heart out, their heart and soul,” said Jones, who could be seen urging on his teammates during in the game. He said that the Warriors were fatigued in the final 20 minutes having played just four days earlier, with most having played little or no football since March 2020.

“Trinidad football is dying for greatness,” said Jones. “We realised during the game that our legs are gone and we just went in a low block and defended our lives out.”
Post by: Tallman on July 09, 2021, 01:06:27 PM
Molino, Frenderup, David, and Telfer named to Concacaf Gold Cup Prelims Best XI
Concacaf.com

The 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup Prelims are in the books and there were a number of standout individual performances. Here is the Best XI from the First and Second Rounds of the Prelims.

GK Nicklas Frenderup, Trinidad and Tobago – Frenderup allowed just two goals over the two matches and was the hero for the Soca Warriors in their 8-7 penalty shootout win over French Guiana by stopping the decisive penalty that sent Trinidad and Tobago to the group stage.

DF Ronan Hauterville, Guadeloupe – The captain of Les Gwada Boys completed 16 passes against Guatemala and helped keep the high-scoring Chapines at bay. Calmly converted his penalty in Guadeloupe’s 10-9 penalty shootout win.

DF Gerardo Gordillo, Guatemala – The veteran Gordillo completed 91 percent of his passes against Guadeloupe and had a steal in the 4-0 win over Guyana.

DF Aubrey David, Trinidad and Tobago – Suffering a cut that required nine stiches against Montserrat, David pressed on and delivered a top performance against French Guiana, completing 33 passes.

MF Ryan Telfer, Trinidad and Tobago – Telfer was a stable presence for Trinidad and Tobago, completing 67 percent of his passes against French Guiana and scoring versus Montserrat.

MF Derrick Etienne Jr., Haiti – Always a threat on the wings, Etienne was a creative force going forward for Les Grenadiers in both wins and had a goal for himself in the 6-1 win over Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

MF Kevin Molino, Trinidad and Tobago – Molino was the centerpiece of the Trinidad and Tobago attack, scoring a goal in each game and also converting his penalty in the shootout victory over French Guiana.

MF Matthias Phaeton, Guadeloupe – Phaeton was the biggest threat for Guadeloupe and scored a goal in the 2-0 win versus Bahamas, followed by the opener against Guatemala.

FW Frantzdy Pierrot, Haiti – Pierrot was superb for Haiti, scoring a goal in the 6-1 win against Vincy Heat and then a hat trick in just 12 minutes against Bermuda.

FW Duckens Nazon, Haiti – Nazon was right behind his countryman Pierrot in goalscoring exploits, with a pair against Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and a goal against Bermuda. Also helped set up a Pierrot goal against the Gombey Warriors.

FW Nahki Wells, Bermuda – Bermuda may have fallen short of the group stage, but Wells was excellent with a hat trick in the 8-1 win against Barbados and the lone Bermuda goal versus Haiti. Made history by scoring the fastest Gold Cup goal when he tallied 17 seconds into the match against Barbados.
Post by: Tallman on July 10, 2021, 02:59:43 PM
WATCH: SportsMax's Mariah Ramharack speaks with Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Neveal Hackshaw about the team's journey to the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup.

https://www.youtube.com/v/bV2nfMovZ80