Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on July 07, 2021, 03:19:00 PM

Title: Thread for T&T vs El Salvador (14-Jul-2021)
Post by: Flex on July 07, 2021, 03:19:00 PM
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs El Salvador (https://www.espn.com/soccer/match/_/gameId/602713) Concacaf Gold Cup Group A game at the Toyota Stadium in Texas from 7:30pm on the 14th of July 2021 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

Fox Sports 1, FuboTV, TUDN USA, UniMas.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:

Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Nicklas Frenderup (Ranheim Il—Denmark), Marvin Phillip (Unattached);

Defenders:

Radanfah Abu Bakr (Unattached), Aubrey David (Deportivo Saprissa—Costa Rica), Justin Garcia (Defence Force), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Jelani Peters (Pittsburgh Riverhounds—USA), Triston Hodge (Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC—USA), Alvin Jones (Unattached), Ross Russell Jr (Terminix La Horquetta Rangers), Jesse Williams (Unattached), Mekeil Williams (Pittsburgh Riverhounds—USA), Noah Powder (Real Salt Lake—USA);

Midfielders:

Hashim Arcia (Defence Force), Andre Fortune II (Memphis 901 FC—USA), Duane Muckette (Unattached), Molik Khan (Club Sando), Kevin Molino (Columbus Crew—USA), Neveal Hackshaw (Indy Eleven—USA), Khaleem Hyland (Al Batin—Saudi Arabia), Judah Garcia (Unattached);

Forwards:

Marcus Joseph (Unattached), Isaiah Lee (Terminix La Horquetta Rangers), Reon Moore (Defence Force), Ryan Telfer (Atletico Ottawa—Canada).

Coach - Angus Eve (TRI).

El Salvador Squad

Goalkeepers:

Mario Gonzalez (Alianza), Kevin Carabantes (FAS), Oscar Pleitez (Isidro Metapan).

Defenders:

Romulo Villalobos (Municipal Limeno), Roberto Dominguez (Chalatenango), Eriq Zavaleta (Toronto FC), Ronaldo Gomez (Aguila), Alexander Larin (Xelaju), Alexis Renderos (Alianza), Bryan Tamacas (Alianza).

Midfielders:

Isaac Portillo (Alianza), Jairo Henriquez (Chalatenango), Alex Roldan (Seattle Sounders), Amando Moreno (New Mexico United), Darwin Ceren (Houston Dynamo), Narciso Orellana (Alianza).

Forwards:

Joshua Perez (Ibiza), Walmer Martinez (Hartford Athletic), Juan Carlos Portillo (Alianza), Joaquin Rivas (FC Tulsa), David Rugamas (Once Deportivo), Marvin Marquez (Isidro Metapan).

Coach - Hugo Pérez (SLV).

Title: Re: Thread for T&T vs El Salvador (14-Jul-2021)
Post by: Tallman on July 12, 2021, 04:34:52 PM
WATCH: Defender Aubrey David says we have to maintain the momentum.

https://www.youtube.com/v/RIgzBy3trLY
Post by: Tallman on July 13, 2021, 02:44:15 PM
WATCH: Soca Warriors looking ahead to the El Salvador match

https://www.youtube.com/v/vZ9TdRk8Qb8
Post by: Tallman on July 13, 2021, 04:53:27 PM
WATCH: Interim Head Coach Angus Eve and Goalkeeper Nicklas Frenderup answer questions from the media during the Trinidad and Tobago vs El Salvador pre-game press conference.

https://www.youtube.com/v/ppIb6z-RW3c
Post by: asylumseeker on July 13, 2021, 05:22:09 PM
This match is three points for the taking, but with a style of play specific to the Salvadoran proposition.
Post by: Flex on July 14, 2021, 12:40:58 AM
Warriors ready for electric El Salvador.
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian).

Despite the heightened police presence to protect the T&T football team after a gutsy goalless draw with defending champion Mexico on Saturday, the players have all refocused now, ahead of Wednesday's second Group A clash with El Salvador in the CONCACAF Gold Cup at the Toyota Stadium in Texas from 7.30 pm.

Eve, without wanting to give anything away, said in spite of a niggling injury to goalkeeper Marvin Phillip, his players were ready and raring to go. But he could not hide the attention needed to be paid to the well-oiled El Salvadorian machine, following a performance against Guatemala that the 2-0 scoreline failed to do justice to.

"We will take them very seriously. The performance that we saw from them yesterday (Monday), I thought they were even more dynamic than the Mexican team. When I saw the game they played against Guatemala, they were fantastic, the movement off the ball etc, they can come and play a different game against us, now that they have three points because this is tournament football and in tournament football, you play for results."

The El Salvadorians are being coached by Hugo Perez, who was born in El Salvador but represented the United States in world football. In only their first group game, the El Salvadorians have jumped to the top spot in the group and would seal their entry to the next round, should they beat the Soca Warriors on Wednesday.

On the other hand, the Soca Warriors have endured a difficult past couple of days, following a 0-0 tie with the Mexicans, coupled with an unfortunate injury to winger Hirving 'Chucky' Lozano that led to racial chants against them, bottles thrown in their direction to cause harm and threats on their lives, that prompted CONCACAF Gold Cup organisers to ensure 24-hour police presence at their hotel.

A release yesterday stated: "The Frisco Police Department has provided 24-hour presence at the team's hotel since Monday and following a meeting with team management and representatives of the Charge d'affaires and Defence and Military Attache in Washington, Consul Security in Miami and Honorary Consul in Texas, it was agreed that Inspector Peter Fraser, Consul Security will accompany the team for the remainder of its stay in the United States for Gold Cup 2021."

Eve, at a press conference yesterday wished Lozano a speedy recovery on behalf of his team, noting that his team does not play football that way.

Against the Mexicans, Eve employed a counter-attacking strategy that prevented them from scoring, and although he did not give away what approach will be used on Wednesday, he said: "We want to win the game first of all. We have a plan that we will set up. Even if you play a defensive way you would still have an idea of how you're going to win the game. The points are going to be most important, and goal- difference will sort itself out in the end."

Meanwhile, goalkeeper Nicklas Frenderup told the media he believes it will be very close for the teams in the group in the end, but said they are ready for the game against El Salvador. He said, with a strong team, a perfect plan and a strong belief in themselves, he thinks they will win Wednesday's encounter.

RELATED NEWS

Soca Warriors' coach Eve: Every game is a final.
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday).

ANGUS Eve, interim coach of the Trinidad and Tobago men’s football team, says that “every game is a final”, ahead of his squad’s Concacaf Gold Cup Group A encounter against El Salvador on Wednesday, from 7.30 pm (T&T time), at the Toyota Stadium, Frisco, Texas, United States.

T&T were held to a goalless draw by defending champions Mexico on Saturday at the AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas while El Salvador took care of Guatemala 2-0 at the Toyota Stadium on Sunday.

Eve, at Tuesday’s pre-game media conference, held via Zoom, said, “Every game is basically a final. We wanted to be on this stage. We’re back on this stage and we want to go on and produce, and make our country proud to re-establish ourselves in Concacaf.”

The T&T-Mexico game was marred by a couple of incidents where Costa Rican referee Ricardo Montero had to stop play in the second half due to racist chants from the Mexican fans.

And the T&T team (players and technical staff) were subjected to countless threats via social media.

The TT Football Association (TTFA), in a media release on Tuesday, said, “The Frisco police department has provided 24-hour presence at the team’s hotel since Monday.

“It was agreed that Inspector Peter Fraser, Consul Security will accompany the team for the remainder of its stay in the United States.”

About the increased security for the T&T team, Eve refused to give a direct answer “because of security reasons. It’s a bit tense.”

Denmark-born goalkeeper Nicklas Frenderup, who was replaced by veteran Marvin Phillip for Saturday’s game, was also questioned on the issue at Tuesday’s presser.

“It’s not good things but I don’t want to have (my) focus on that,” he responded. “I don’t like what happened to my teammates and myself. We just need to concentrate on (the) game against El Salvador.”

With regards to keeping the players’ focused on Wednesday’s fixture, Eve said, “As much as possible, we want to keep the players’ positive and we’re here to play football. We’re here to rebuild our reputation in the zone and that’s the only thing that we’re focusing on.”

Eve replaced Terry Fenwick a month ago, following T&T’s failed 2022 FIFA World Cup campaign.

“The first thing I wanted to build back was the players’ attitude towards the game, the spirit of the players to play for the jersey,” said Eve. “The intensity of the game, I think, it was too slow previously, with the type of players that we have. I think all off those things are coming together. This project has been only about three weeks so there is a lot of work still to be done.”

According to Frenderup, “We have a new coach. He comes with some new ideas of what we should do on the pitch. He has a plan, and we follow that.”

Also on Wednesday, from 9.30 pm (T&T time), Mexico will square off against Guatemala at Cotton Bowl, Dallas, Texas.

Post by: Tallman on July 14, 2021, 01:11:11 PM
MATCH OFFICIALS

Referee: Selvin BROWN (Honduras)

Assistant Referee 1:  Christian RAMIREZ (Honduras)

Assistant Referee 2:  Roney SALINAS (Honduras)

Fourth Official: Oshane NATION (Jamaica)

VAR: Armando VILLARREAL (USA)

AVAR: David GANTAR (Canada)
Post by: triniairman on July 14, 2021, 02:16:19 PM
Any word on Hyland and Garcia, will they be back for the remainder of the tournament? If not, who will be the players to lead the attack? I’m hoping to see Lee get a start.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2021, 03:48:45 PM
El Salvador's new players and newly brought in match analyst doing their initiations and loosening a bit (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vtn5J6DUQH0) before the match.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2021, 04:05:40 PM
A lil warm-up, back-in-time vibes. Enjoy!

https://www.youtube.com/v/bWNEGqvmLHE
Post by: pull stones on July 14, 2021, 04:10:28 PM
El Salvador's new players and newly brought in match analyst doing their initiations and loosening a bit (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vtn5J6DUQH0) before the match.
i hope they could sing and dance after the game and not cry about the officiating and tactics meted out when angus done with them. these guys only love to win, but when faced the the option of losing they take it very personal, then they start calling names, sending threats and throwing insults ala "black beast" this and "black beast" that, but it's only when they lose, when they win is putha this and putha that. hope they lose and lose shamefully.
Post by: pull stones on July 14, 2021, 04:13:55 PM
good luck to the lads tonight, i pray that they go out and give it their all, i pray that luck favors us and i pray that they all make it through the game without injury and incident and may God bless trinidad and tobago.
Post by: pull stones on July 14, 2021, 04:17:55 PM
A lil warm-up, back-in-time vibes. Enjoy!

https://www.youtube.com/v/bWNEGqvmLHE
i was at this game, zalaya had us in knots, thank God he don't play for them any more.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2021, 04:46:48 PM
El Salvador

González
Larín
Gómez Rodríguez
Zavaleta
Tamacas
Rivas
Orellana
Monterroza
Cerén
  Pérez
Henríquez

Official as to personnel.
Post by: Peong on July 14, 2021, 05:06:57 PM
Lewwe go fellaaaaaas! 
Let's ride this positive wave, go for the win. I pray they did video analysis of the Mexico game so they could cut out those little 1-2 passes in behind. Good luck
Post by: Preacher on July 14, 2021, 05:07:29 PM
Let's go boys.

Any links will be much appreciated.
Post by: Tallman on July 14, 2021, 05:08:15 PM
Trinidad and Tobago Lineup

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E6SlF8sXIAcMTFn?format=jpg&name=medium)

El Salvador Lineup

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E6SmOGoWQAA6ZSH?format=jpg&name=medium)

Teams

T&T: 21.Nicklas Frenderup, 2.Aubrey David, 4.Jelani Peters, 16.Alvin Jones, 11.Noah Powder, 8.Mekeil Williams, 18.Triston Hodge, 15.Neveal Hackshaw, 10.Kevin Molino (capt), 20.Duane Muckette, 7.Ryan Telfer.

El Salvador: 1.Mario Gonzalez, 12.Marvin Monterroza (capt), 13.Alexander Larin, 5.Ronaldo Gomez, 4.Eriq Zavaleta, 6.Narciso Orellana, 7.Darwin Ceren, 8.Joshua Perez, 14.Joaquin Rivas, 17.Jairo Henriquez, 21.Bryan Tamacas.

Post by: Trini _2026 on July 14, 2021, 05:27:00 PM
Marcus Joesph not even starting and isiah lee no strikers eh  peter in holding mid ah he could experiment boy
Post by: Peong on July 14, 2021, 05:37:31 PM
https://www.jokerlivestream.xyz/trinidad-tobago-vs-el-salvador-live-stream-909688.html

Teams

T&T: 21.Nicklas Frenderup, 2.Aubrey David, 4.Jelani Peters, 16.Alvin Jones, 11.Noah Powder, 8.Mekeil Williams, 18.Triston Hodge, 15.Neveal Hackshaw, 10.Kevin Molino (capt), 20.Duane Muckette, 7.Ryan Telfer.

El Salvador: 1.Mario Gonzalez, 12.Marvin Monterroza (capt), 13.Alexander Larin, 5.Ronaldo Gomez, 4.Eriq Zavaleta, 6.Narciso Orellana, 7.Darwin Ceren, 8.Joshua Perez, 14.Joaquin Rivas, 17.Jairo Henriquez, 21.Bryan Tamacas.

Post by: Peong on July 14, 2021, 05:39:04 PM
That was a dumb yellow card to concede. So early for a defender, yuh know the man goin to pass and run, just turn and let him run into yuh back, yuh will get a free kick
Post by: Preacher on July 14, 2021, 05:40:40 PM
Links here atdhe.us
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2021, 05:45:26 PM
That was a dumb yellow card to concede. So early for a defender, yuh know the man goin to pass and run, just turn and let him run into yuh back, yuh will get a free kick

Ent.

We may not have absorbed that the Mexican match is still being played tonight. Perception.
Post by: Sando prince on July 14, 2021, 05:48:31 PM
The links you guys providing is no good
Post by: lil damo on July 14, 2021, 05:48:52 PM
Can someone please post a link
Post by: Controversial on July 14, 2021, 05:49:51 PM
Are we happy with having el Salvador hold possession for such long periods of time?

I mean eve was a player that was very good in the box and could dribble and pass, I dont even know if this team can build an attack from the back
Post by: Sando prince on July 14, 2021, 05:50:39 PM
See if this works for anyone

https://www.fubo.tv/lp/preview/?page_slug=fs1&title=Watch%20CONCACAF%20Gold%20Cup%202021%20on%20FS1&ftv_campaign=USA-SEM-Sports-Soccer-Gold-Cup&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIyszYl-Dj8QIVw66GCh238AJ1EAAYASAAEgLW9PD_BwE
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2021, 05:53:42 PM
Clock-running football
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 14, 2021, 06:01:00 PM
they have us pinned down
Post by: Controversial on July 14, 2021, 06:02:34 PM
Eves tactics have been exposed..

You cant be playing this sit back and defend football, you will lose in the long run... tt should be playing attacking football, not this rubbish

Especially against el Salvador for gods sake.. they are not mexico
Post by: lefty on July 14, 2021, 06:08:37 PM
We need to press dey passing lanes, we shouldn't be trying to get tight, too much divin goin on for dat
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 14, 2021, 06:14:31 PM
This is depressing to watch
Post by: Peong on July 14, 2021, 06:15:43 PM
We definitely need to have someone out wide in attack. This 5 across the back not wukkin
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 14, 2021, 06:18:49 PM
In just two moves .... we under pressure
Post by: Preacher on July 14, 2021, 06:19:09 PM
Hackshaw bun. Transitioning to slow.
Post by: lefty on July 14, 2021, 06:19:26 PM
EL sal doin what we should be trying to do, make it difficult to move d ball
Post by: Controversial on July 14, 2021, 06:20:27 PM
EL sal doin what we should be trying to do, make it difficult to move d ball

I saw them press maybe twice..
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 14, 2021, 06:32:32 PM
Different 2nd half. We getting it done.
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 14, 2021, 06:35:41 PM
During this game the weather conditions is 91 degrees at the moment.
Post by: lefty on July 14, 2021, 06:37:17 PM
Different 2nd half. We getting it done.

should push d Wingbacks up and play more of a 3-4-3 or switch to 4-2-3-1 either way we need more in attack out wide and for god sake press this team very pressable
Post by: lefty on July 14, 2021, 06:57:49 PM
dais how much time we hit d post now, we shoulda start like this
Post by: Preacher on July 14, 2021, 06:58:37 PM
Hitting post is a good and bad sign.  ;D
Post by: lefty on July 14, 2021, 07:00:15 PM
Hitting post is a good and bad sign.  ;D

ent!!!
Post by: lefty on July 14, 2021, 07:02:30 PM
why d fuuck we didn' start like this, Eve got this start wrong
Post by: Preacher on July 14, 2021, 07:06:22 PM
Telfer can't beat 1 guy?   :frustrated:  No striker that can beat 1 guy and shoot?
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 14, 2021, 07:09:07 PM
Hmmm moore not even testing the keeper . he has pace gosh he pick up a yellow now
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 14, 2021, 07:22:31 PM
BS BS BS BS
Post by: Peong on July 14, 2021, 07:24:42 PM
Our defenders hang Fenderup out to dry. Not 1 man follow up, Fenders had to fight off 3 attackers. That play was piss poor.

I don't understand why we start the game so defensive. Commentator was right, we gave away 45 mins and a goal in the first half. If we can't pass the ball through el Sal then what about long ball up for a big man to knock down or flick on. 5 defenders and they staying home meant no support down the wings in the first half.
Post by: triniairman on July 14, 2021, 07:25:13 PM
Don’t know why I waste my time watching this shit team. Coach is a fraud too. Tactical my ass.
Post by: Sam on July 14, 2021, 07:26:16 PM
Angus Eve, you got it wrong this time, He start with 7 defenders against El Salvador....  :rotfl:.

Andre Fortune is no good.

Neveal Hackshaw is a good player but to slow.

The players look tired.

Hope they beat Guatemala and hope Mexico tie tonight.

Post by: lefty on July 14, 2021, 07:29:34 PM
I doh understand why we started this game like dat.....this on Eve, this was very winnable If we did play on d front foot, now is all kinda maths hadda play off to have ah chance
Post by: triniairman on July 14, 2021, 07:32:32 PM
Muckette was invisible, Why is fortune on this team? Molino was playing for El Salvador, Mekiel brain in his foot, Jones like a young old man. Best player was the keeper..
Post by: maxg on July 14, 2021, 07:33:31 PM
Don’t know why I waste my time watching this shit team. Coach is a fraud too. Tactical my ass.
Well, ride out till yuh figure it out nah ! Jeez an ages.. is like some ppl just waiting for a lorse to talk shite.. we World Cup squad woulda get horrors from this team.. like we did in World Cup last game.. doh waste allyuh time man… but y’all keep coming back to have a chance to bump y’all gums.. analyze but support.. shit team? Back yuh best team nah.. damn !
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 14, 2021, 07:34:19 PM
Angus Eve, you got it wrong this time, He start with 7 defenders against El Salvador....  :rotfl:.

Andre Fortune is no good.

Neveal Hackshaw is a good player but to slow.

The players look tired.

Hope they beat Guatemala and hope Mexico tie tonight.

This is a game we must not loose  but he leave marcus joseph and moore on the bench angus experiments to much
Post by: Sando on July 14, 2021, 07:37:26 PM
Molino is a primadonna.

Post by: triniairman on July 14, 2021, 07:41:05 PM
Well, ride out till yuh figure it out nah ! Jeez an ages.. is like some ppl just waiting for a lorse to talk shite.. we World Cup squad woulda get horrors from this team.. like we did in World Cup last game.. doh waste allyuh time man… but y’all keep coming back to have a chance to bump y’all gums.. analyze but support.. shit team? Back yuh best team nah.. damn !
I call it like it is.. This team is shit!! If you want to settle for mediocrity, go ahead.. I said what I said. No wonder they only getting signed in India, and simple fans like you would applaud it. El Salvador beat T&T and I am pissed about that. My Kaka hole El Salvadorian neighbor calling for 100 dollars already lol.. look I venting and I know I’ll be back to support them.. but right now this team is shit in my eyes.
Post by: maxg on July 14, 2021, 08:12:05 PM
I call it like it is.. This team is shit!! If you want to settle for mediocrity, go ahead.. I said what I said. No wonder they only getting signed in India, and simple fans like you would applaud it. El Salvador beat T&T and I am pissed about that. My Kaka hole El Salvadorian neighbor calling for 100 dollars already lol.. look I venting and I know I’ll be back to support them.. but right now this team is shit in my eyes.
mediocrity? No sah. Never, I settle for ppl trying they best. However, if you call what you saying ‘support’, let me tell you, your level of support is shit. Pay the man he money, eh ! He obviously know which team to back.  ::)
Post by: maxg on July 14, 2021, 08:43:40 PM
yup. I was certain Moore and Joseph would have been on top, Telfer in his wing role. Hacksaw & Molino middle, Powder left (4-4-2) Jones or Williams ,  David, Peters, Hodge.

At least he successfully adjusted the 2 nd half, but chasing the game at this level not easy for anybody.
Post by: lil damo on July 14, 2021, 08:48:12 PM
This team needs 3 or 4 quality additions but it isn’t a bad team. Good luck winning anything without an above average natural striker which this team doesn’t have. The midfield needs some help and I thought Phillips from Waterford was a good player that needed to continue to be in the fold. We need a couple of quality midfielders tho. I’m not mad at Eve because he has had only a short time to prepare and doesn’t have 3 of the country’s best players available. I’m actually impressed with Eve so far all things considered.
Post by: lefty on July 14, 2021, 08:55:53 PM
yup. I was certain Moore and Joseph would have been on top, Telfer in his wing role. Hacksaw & Molino middle, Powder left (4-4-2) Jones or Williams ,  David, Peters, Hodge.

At least he successfully adjusted the 2 nd half, but chasing the game at this level not easy for anybody.

that El Salvador team looked unsettle d moment we started cuttin out dey channels and closin dey angles, El sal nor Guat does deal with pressing well, yet dem was pressing we all over d park.....we lose two nil and yuh could still see we coulda get ah result if IF we did come out and play man.....dais what hurtin mih d most......
Post by: maxg on July 14, 2021, 10:22:23 PM

that El Salvador team looked unsettle d moment we started cuttin out dey channels and closin dey angles, El sal nor Guat does deal with pressing well, yet dem was pressing we all over d park.....we lose two nil and yuh could still see we coulda get ah result if IF we did come out and play man.....dais what hurtin mih d most......
it almost look like the boys were over-trained, didn’t have the same energy as previous games. Guessing he didn’t count on dem scoring 1st with a pro-defensive strategy.
Add: Telfer alone has never been enough up top.
Post by: pull stones on July 15, 2021, 12:09:51 AM
as soon as i saw tristin hoges got that yellow and five minutes later stretchered off, i knew right there and then that luck was against us. those two goals that el sal scored were spirit goals, the first one frenderup was too far off his line and the second goal was due to laziness, i saw hackchaw aubrey david and mikel williams all standing up and ball watching on the second goal, they didn't even made an effort to cover the unmarked man who scored, and this is never ever seen at tis level especially with the top teams in concacaf, they don't ever give up easy goals like that.

to sum it up, those guys were tired and they met a well prepared team who taught them a lesson so just congratulate the players and know that we were beaten by a better team, yes and i'll say it again, we were beaten by a better team.

something else that really bothered me with eve is that he chased off poon angeron to bring in players like arcia and fortune, when these guys offers nothing going forward, they don't score and they dont assist, in any way, in fact they struggle tremendously both on offense and defense, how is dre fortune any better than danial phillip or arcia than angeron? IMO mikel williams was pure shite and should not even been in the team as a reserve. anyway thank God this little interim coaching experiment is over.

as for the guys who got the opportunity to shine like reon moore, he has speed and some good skill, but is very unpolished and at this level he will struggle tremendously, he needs to work very hard on his ball handling skills and needs to think better on his feet, but no doubt about it he's a good find, maybe he can earn a contract in the mls or usl to be given a chance to develop properly. don't be sad guys it's all part of tournament football....ypu can't win em all, at the end of the day we got to see our team play, but these lads have very little quality and needs to play consistently on a higher level in order to compete well in concacaf. tough luck warriors.
Post by: pull stones on July 15, 2021, 12:23:52 AM
i'm very puzzled as to why you take off telfer in a must win game losing 1 nil to bring on hashim arcia, does that even make any sense? arcia IMO is even more worthless than willis plaza. it's quite clear that this bloke is out of his league at this level and offers nothing going forward, how is he even better than danial phillip who played all season long with watford?

another one that mas me scratching my head is that you leave MIKEL WILLIAMS ON THE PITCH WHO WAS OBVIOUSLY HAVING A MIGHTMARE OF A GAME, he was turning over the ball quite frequently and stifling the offence every time we had something going forward, and was glaringly obvious that he was toasted. this was angus' game to win but he blew it with his tactics.
Post by: ABTrini on July 15, 2021, 12:28:46 AM
Hey look- given all the circumstances - you hung in there -  could have been 1-1 Or a 0-1 loss

With the way this team is progressing  we may run out of games to getting to our peek.
Goals were soft but this is all learnings here-hold yuh heads up Warriors. The sample size to judge is really small.- four games.
2 W
1 Draw
1 loss
Post by: pull stones on July 15, 2021, 12:38:12 AM
Hey look- given all the circumstances - you hung in there -  could have been 1-1 Or a 0-1 loss

With the way this team is progressing  we may run out of games to getting to our peek.
Goals were soft but this is all learnings here-hold yuh heads up Warriors. The sample size to judge is really small.- four games.
2 W
1 Draw
1 loss
learning mate? nah we were at this way to long for this to be a learning experience. what this is actually telling us is that all these nations in concacaf is getting it together with the exception of trinidad and tobago and before you know it even peurto rico and dominican rep would be passing us by to join the central americans  in the upper ranks.

what we need to do is get to working on a plan to fix that turtle league and build some home grown academies before we are totally left behind. forget these tournaments for now, our main focus should be spend on sending coaches away to study and finding a marketing strategy to make the league lucrative and elevating the level of our play. when we start focusing on building then winning will come naturally, but it's tyime to fix football in TT, the writing is on the wall for all those who have sense to see it.
Post by: Flex on July 15, 2021, 12:39:01 AM
Fighting Warriors tamed 2-0 by El Salvador.
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian).

Despite a battling performance in their second Group A match of the CONCACAF Gold Cup at the Toyota Stadium in Texas on Wednesday night, the T&T Soca Warriors went down 2-0 to the in-form El Salvador and faces not qualifying to the next round of the tournament with one more match to go.

With the result, the Warriors, with just a point from their opening match against Mexico on Saturday, will have to beat Guatemala when the teams meet on Sunday, and hope that the Mexicans lose against El Salvador.

The mathematics in the group show that the El Salvadorians are through to the next round with six points, while Mexico were expected to move to four points in second position in the group, if they triumph over Guatemala, also on Wednesday night.

A defeat for Mexico and a win for T&T in their final matches on Sunday will leave both teams on four points, meaning goal difference will decide on who the second other team to advance from the group will be. Guatemala, on the other hand would only reach three points following losses in their first two matches against El Salvador and now Mexico.

All that, however, could change if Guatemala were able to defeat Mexico.

On Wednesday night, national coach Angus Eve opted to make more than five changes to the team that played against Mexico, as he went after maximum points in the encounter, but El Salvador took early control, particularly in the midfield which masterminded the possession game they enjoyed for most of the evening. And from it came chances aplenty.

T&T too enjoyed periods of little possession in attack but it was the defence that was kept busy all night. In the 26th minute, goalkeeper Nicklas Frenderup spoiled early celebrations for the Central Americans as Jairo Henriquez was set loose on the right side and his centre was met sweetly with a one-time effort from inside the area, but somehow Frenderup, though positioned behind at least two defenders, still saw it quick enough to push it wide.

Frenderup’s troubles were far from over, as the El Salvadorians mounted another sweeping attack down the right flank. But this time they stringed one to Henriquez on top the area. The talented Henriquez first turned skilfully to avoid a challenge of Neveal Hackshaw, and with a slim sight at goal he hit hard and low, beyond the grasp of the T&T custodian for a 1-0 advantage.

T&T sought to settle thereafter by stringing more than five passes together in a display of growing confidence. However, defender Alvin Jones in a period lapse in concentration, gifted the ball to Henriquez in the 46th minute, and it was Frenderup’s acrobatics between the post that prevented the Central Americans from going to the half time interval with a 2-0 lead.

Thereafter, Eve sought to intensify his attack for the equaliser, bringing in striker Marcus Joseph for midfielder Duane Muckette. And it almost reaped dividends in the 66th minute when a speedy Reon Moore stormed down the left flank and his centre found Joseph, who was put off by the onrushing Mario Gonzalez in the El Salvador, to deflect Joseph’s effort against the crossbar before it went to safety.

Later, Moore in the 70th minute got a sight on goal from out wide right, and his thunderous drive from some 30 yards out, was pushed wide by Gonzalez.

El Salvador, for the first time was pegged back from the battling Warriors, who were seeing the writing on the wall. But their fight was all in vain when El Salvador sealed the win in the 90th minute.

From another right-side build-up substitute Amando Moreno unleashed a powerful grounder that eased through the grasp of Frenderup and on to the upright and Walmer Martinez swooped in to fire in the loose ball for the 2-0 victory.

(Teams)

Trinidad and Tobago (5-3-2): 21.Nicklas Frenderup (GK); 16.Alvin Jones, 2.Aubrey David, 8.Mekeil Williams, 4.Jelani Peters (13.Reon Moore 46), 18.Triston Hodge (14.Andre Fortune II 16); 20.Duane Muckette (9.Marcus Joseph 46), 15.Neveal Hackshaw, 11.Noah Powder; 7.Ryan Telfer (3.Hashim Arcia 76), 10.Kevin Molino (captain).

Unused substitutes: 1.Marvin Phillip (GK), 22.Adrian Foncette (GK), 5.Curtis Gonzales, 6.Radanfah Abu Bakr, 12.Isaiah Lee, 17.Justin Garcia, 19.Ross Russell Jr, 23.Jesse Williams.

Coach: Angus Eve

El Salvador (4-1-4-1): 1.Mario Gonzales (GK), 21.Bryan Tamacas (9.Walmer Martinez 88), 4.Eriq Zavaleta, 5.Ronald Gomez, 13.Alexander Larin; 6.Narcisco Orellana; 8.Joshua Perez (11.Juan Portillo 59), 12.Marvin Monterroza (captain) (10.Amando Moreno 59), 7.Darwin Ceren (20.Isaac Portillo 83), 17.Jairo Henriquez (15.Alexander Roldan 68), 14.Joaquin Rivas (23.Marvin Marquez 82).

Unused substitutes: 18.Oscar Pleitez (GK), 22.Kevin Carabantes (GK), 2.Julio Sibrian, 3.Roberto Dominguez, 19.Alexis Montes.

Coach: Hugo Perez

Watch Highlights: Trinidad Tobago 0-2 El Salvador - Gold Cup 2021 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oBHcKsnugbs)

Concacaf Gold Cup Group A Results

(14 July)

Trinidad and Tobago 0, El Salvador 2 (Jairo Henriquez 30, Walmer Martinez 90) at Toyota Stadium, Frisco;

Guatemala 0, Mexico 3 (Rogelio Funes Mori 29, 55, Orbelin Pineda 79) at Cotton Bowl, Dallas.

Post by: frico on July 15, 2021, 02:30:40 AM
O Trinidad,you are poor,very poor.Jamaicans say we talk too much maybe they are right.You Trinidad bring tears to people's eyes,we support you on the grounds of yesteryear,no more I am done with that.I hope all the other facets of life is not so miserable and unhappy for people.I make this as my last post.Mark the date...14-07-21.Not another post. :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :(
Post by: maxg on July 15, 2021, 04:21:55 AM

https://youtu.be/KL9qp0FNEzU

Add: Travel well my school mate, my Brother, my friend. I won’t forget our chats.
Post by: socalion on July 15, 2021, 04:51:48 AM
O Trinidad,you are poor,very poor.Jamaicans say we talk too much maybe they are right.You Trinidad bring tears to people's eyes,we support you on the grounds of yesteryear,no more I am done with that.I hope all the other facets of life is not so miserable and unhappy for people.I make this as my last post.Mark the date...14-07-21.Not another post. :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :(
[/quote] yuh talking chit frico ! Soon enough yuh go be back to post again . This arena too sweet to leave  :D
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 15, 2021, 06:09:28 AM
Ah the elsalvador coach gave us no credit on the game against mexico
Post by: Tallman on July 15, 2021, 07:35:54 AM
WATCH: Extended Highlights of Trinidad and Tobago's 2-0 loss to El Salvador.

https://www.youtube.com/v/XbsUURYbdr4
Post by: Sando prince on July 15, 2021, 08:01:25 AM

I've always said the quality of competition between Caribbean and Central Americans teams is a very wide gap. Beating up French Guiana and Montserrat means nothing when its time to face Central American teams.

See the poor offensive strategy that you can still win against most Caribbean teams because they are just simply worse will NOT work against Central American teams. Every coach for T&T has to understand this, therefore you cannot use Caribbean opposition as any measuring stick when time to face other Concacaf team
Post by: Peong on July 15, 2021, 08:05:01 AM
I notice last night when we try to play it out the back we don't don't look comfortable and a few times the touch from the midfielder coming back was bad, or he had no good angles, or didn't see the angles available and we end up losing the ball on the play. Other times the mid end up passing back to the defender who has to voop the ball to the forwards because there is no viable ground pass
We want to do the modern way of passing it from the back but we were not set up well to do it.
Post by: injunchile on July 15, 2021, 08:14:41 AM
We need some one in the midfield to take the ball and move it forward with Speed . I thought Muckette was the player who can do that but he was invisible in that game. We played better in the second half with Joseph up front . Too little too late.
Post by: injunchile on July 15, 2021, 08:17:36 AM
What is the verdict about Angus Eve. Is he to continue to be part of the rebuilding process?
 I guess the economic factor will determine the way Forward.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 15, 2021, 09:01:27 AM
The proposition we set out with at the start of the match was inappropriate for THIS match. It was an exercise in poor decision-making, all things considered. I wanted to hear Angus' comments on the post-match before rendering a verdict (although I had already formed one) and I didn't find anything he said to be mitigating.

An objective assessment of the tactical posture chosen should point to it being a factor that works against him. I won't say that it is totally disqualifying, but what was proposed was a stellar misreading of the moment, the opportunity and of the opponent.

This match should have been (and was) an easier match to prepare for than the Mexico match and the product delivered did not meet that reality. This was the match on which Angus could have cemented his reputation across CONCACAF and I think he fell short of that as a comprehensive proposition, although he remains respected in the sub-region.

The deficiencies of the match did not merely lie in gifting two goals (per comments attributed to him post-match). There was a fundamental structural problem regarding how the match was framed. And, philosophically, the idea of restoring the faith of the fan base in national football, via the means proposed, was at odds with product quality.

In facing Guatemala, the team is now back to essentially repeating the academic exercise that recently took place versus St. Kitts Nevis ---- barring a monumental adjustment of the historical record between El Salvador and Mexico.

It is left to be seen how much motivation there is in the Salvadoran camp to make the Mexico- El Salvador match another November 6, 1981 (Mexico's version of our November 19, 1989).
I've heard there is motivation. I hope so because I want Angus to right this wrong. To demonstrate that he has absorbed the error. To be successful.
Post by: Peong on July 15, 2021, 09:09:25 AM
All eyes on Eve for the last game. Playing the bottom team should enable him to line up in his preferred formation. Let's see what happens. I could do with a win right about now.
Post by: injunchile on July 15, 2021, 01:29:16 PM
asylumseeker - You are quite a wordsmith. Very Philosophical and words of wisdom.  I like the line that reads philosophically . the idea of restoring the  faith of the fan base in national football via the means proposed was at odds with product quality , was a gem. I liked the fight and passion of the second half that gives me hope for the future. My Question still remains is Angus the man to change our fortunes.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 15, 2021, 01:37:01 PM
Is he the man for the job? We are running out of matches to know for sure. Only one left and the findings are inconclusive at best. He could be.

It is why a few weeks ago, in response to a question posed by Anbrat, I suggested that there could be a renewed interim period.

A word of caution to the NC:

Do NOT commit to engaging the Interim Head Coach on a full-time basis based exclusively on performance/qualification/ tournament progress/ other similar configuration.
On what basis should the Interim Head Coach be engaged?

I'll respond in possibly two parts. One here and the other, if necessary, separately.

The range of requisites and considerations for fulfilling the interim role are exceeded by the range of requisites and considerations for the longer-term position. Progression through the tournament should be a discussion starter, rather than constitute securing of the longer term role. 

Substantive response

The first concern is a durational concern: what period should the interim appointment span. Tied to this is defining the precise objective of the interim appointment and the precise benefit sought.

Proposition 1: The interim period should be narrowly construed and construed as narrowly as pragmatic.

The Gold Cup Preliminary Tournament spans July 2 - July 6. The Gold Cup runs from July 10 - August 1. The absence of an appropriate transitional period between July 6 and July 10 suggests that the interim period should contemplate the Preliminary Tournament and the Gold Cup.

If qualification for the GC does not occur, the start of the identification process for a permanent NT coach would and should be triggered on either July 2 or July 6. If GC qualification occurs, the date on which the longer-term identification process is triggered is dependent on the date of GC exit.

Proposition 2: During the interim period, the selection committee should be engaged in orienting itself with alternative candidates for the FT role. It is not necessary that the interim coach have an interest in the longer-term position or be considered for the longer-term role. Indeed that parameter must be defined, either positively or negatively at the outset. It has to be clear. Regardless, that parallel process should be engaged in as a contingency.

The NT appointment is a multiyear assignment and project, of which we can be beneficiaries due to our early elimination. We are 1.5 years away from the start of the Qatar WC and 3.5 years before the 2026 cycle. That's better than borrowed time.

Proposition 3: The larger quantum of that time we use sensibly the better (tied to Proposition 2).

The GC tournament is a solitary event similar in format to the actual WC and demands many of the management challenges tied to a WC. As such, it is a reasonable template for observation of decision-making. However, the focus of the hire should be on a candidate who can progress the competencies and sophistication of the team in keeping with the modern evolution of the game. That is, beyond results, the hire is charged with transformation. If the hire is not a transformative hire, we would be squandering borrowed time. Ground floor transformation. Transformation of culture. Root and branch transformation.

Twinning continuity in the gig merely on the basis of progression through the tournament would be short-sighted because that would ignore some critical dimensions of the job not implicated during the tournament and ignore concerns that ought not be ignored within the dysfunction of the present football ecosystem.

The FIFA windows for 2021 are August 30-September 8 and October 4-October 13.

Proposition 4: The assignment of the longer-term role should commence during the first of these windows. 

That is an on balance call, a question of interpretation and the subject of cost-benefit analysis.

The alternative assignment of the longer-term role would be the January 2022 window. In which event, there could be more than one interim appointment. That may seem inefficient or counterintuitive, but it yields a prospective benefit. However, as a caveat, in terms of timing, it should be considered that mid-year assignments tend to limit the pool of best qualified candidates. That stated, timing is not an insurmountable hurdle if the identification of the eventual candidate is targeted strategically.
Post by: lefty on July 15, 2021, 03:06:40 PM
D ting is we looked capable when we abandoned dat ultra defensive shluck and went after the game, my feeling is we should have gone for it early and close up early if we had manage to earn ourselves a couple goals and wanted or needed to close up, if fitness was ah concern....but we were left chasing ah game with considerably less gas in d tank because containment measures does burn gas too,

we looked more competent when we tried to actually play, second goal notwithstanding, which might have been mooted had our approach been braver from d look of tings.....it altogether very vexing
Post by: ZANDOLIE on July 15, 2021, 03:13:22 PM

what we need to do is get to working on a plan to fix that turtle league and build some home grown academies before we are totally left behind. forget these tournaments for now, our main focus should be spend on sending coaches away to study and finding a marketing strategy to make the league lucrative and elevating the level of our play. when we start focusing on building then winning will come naturally, but it's tyime to fix football in TT, the writing is on the wall for all those who have sense to see it.

There is a truth we are willfully refusing to face. While we will do ok in the occasional tournament, without substantive change T&T football will keep slowly declining relative to CONCACAF peers  A good NT coach or the rare quality player will only conceal the need for change, thereby making the situation worse.

As far as football is concerned we have a subtle but deeply-held belief we are ‘special/magically endowded because of past achievements. Most concerning is the pervasive belief that we can conjure this ‘specialness out of thin air to aid in victory. It’s laziness and unwillingness to face reality. Like drunk old men babbling on in a rum shop about how good they USED to be. Loud bravado is fueled by silent fear of the future.

IMHO, right now, today, the element that is most separates us from our CFU and Central American peers is razor thin. It’s  aversion to risk. Everyone has ideas on what remedial action should be taken. But no one wants to take the risk, or support/invest in those who do.  To paraphrase, everyone wants to dine on prime-rib football, but no one wants to slaughter the cow.
Post by: Tallman on July 15, 2021, 03:23:03 PM
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago vs El Salvador post-match press conference with Interim Head Coach Angus Eve, midfielder Neveal Hackshaw, and defender Aubrey David.

https://www.youtube.com/v/1dX8lBX2F9Q
Post by: asylumseeker on July 15, 2021, 03:24:16 PM

There is a truth we are willfully refusing to face. While we will do ok in the occasional tournament, without substantive change T&T football will keep slowly declining relative to CONCACAF peers  A good NT coach or the rare quality player will only conceal the need for change, thereby making the situation worse.

As far as football is concerned we have a subtle but deeply-held belief we are ‘special/magically endowded because of past achievements. Most concerning is the pervasive belief that we can conjure this ‘specialness out of thin air to aid in victory. It’s laziness and unwillingness to face reality. Like drunk old men babbling on in a rum shop about how good they USED to be. Loud bravado is fueled by silent fear of the future.

IMHO, right now, today, the element that is most separates us from our CFU and Central American peers is razor thin. It’s  aversion to risk. Everyone has ideas on what remedial action should be taken. But no one wants to take the risk, or support/invest in those who do.  To paraphrase, everyone wants to dine on prime-rib football, but no one wants to slaughter the cow.

Applies perfectly to the match vs El Salvador. Little to no enterprise, no reward.
Post by: Tallman on July 15, 2021, 04:26:23 PM
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago Interim Head Coach Angus Eve speaks with local media after Trinidad and Tobago's 2-0 loss to El Salvador.

https://www.youtube.com/v/8crQwz94gA0
Post by: Deeks on July 15, 2021, 04:29:51 PM
yuh talking chit frico ! Soon enough yuh go be back to post again . This arena too sweet to leave  :D
[/quote]

Frico, how you mean we does talk to too much? Among ourselves, yes we do. And what Jamaica have to do with this. They are a different breed of Caribbean people from the diaspora. Them does boast and talk about their country win lose or draw. Gimme a break with that. if this team come out with one point, I go be disappointed, but I will take. Seeing all the shit they have been thru. and giving the best at this point in time. This is not a very talented team. We know that. They made bread out of stone with Mexico. Last night they failed. They just not ready at this moment. Just accept that fact.
Post by: Tallman on July 15, 2021, 05:33:53 PM
Nicklas Frenderup: We are disappointed but not dispirited. #GoldCup21 #SocaWarriors

https://www.youtube.com/v/CxuVchui6xY
Post by: Deeks on July 16, 2021, 12:14:48 AM
to sum it up, those guys were tired and they met a well prepared team who taught them a lesson so just congratulate the players and know that we were beaten by a better team, yes and i'll say it again, we were beaten by a better team.

Could not have said it any better. Had we started the game as we played in the first part of the 2nd half I would have been thrilled. But these guys are not there. I don't know when they will get there. If the new TTFA/NC does not come up with resources to help Eve or any future coach, I don't see them getting there.
Post by: Deeks on July 16, 2021, 12:24:53 AM
Nicklas Frenderup: We are disappointed but not dispirited. #GoldCup21 #SocaWarriors

https://www.youtube.com/v/CxuVchui6xY

To be honest I am not worried about Nicholas. He was let down by the defense in the 2nd goal. He was a bit of his line for the 1st goal, so what. I honestly don't think we have a goal keeping issue. Our big problem is the rest of the positions. I am not confident when our defense bringing out the ball. Too erratic. Very disappointed in our mid field play. Not creative enough. Molino did not have a good game. Muckette was silent. I will take Telfer and Moore, we can work with them. Lobo Joseph played well when he came on. But he must be consistent. Especially at his age.
Post by: frico on July 16, 2021, 08:16:16 AM
DeeksI said I won't post again but I respect you and a 2 or 3 others.I wasn't planning to offend, but when I said Jamaicans say "we talk too much",I tell them is allyuh who talk too much.I am up against about 5 ah dem.Sometimes I wish TT can ram all the crap that they talk down their throats,when we lose they know and wait for meh.Where are all those ballers that we used to produce,what happen to that culture.When I came to England I played Sunday morning football in Scrubs Lane in Shephers Bush,most of the blokes were Jamaicans,many would ask me "way yuh fram bway",when I replied  Trinidad,they would say,no wonder "yuh so good".I am just pointing out how well the rest of the Caribbean knew about our football culture,we lost our pride or what,I dunno man.I find it's taking too long to get back even close to where were,maybe there's more to it than I know.Regards.
Post by: ABTrini on July 16, 2021, 08:17:08 AM
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago Interim Head Coach Angus Eve speaks with local media after Trinidad and Tobago's 2-0 loss to El Salvador.

https://www.youtube.com/v/8crQwz94gA0

I have generally been pleased with the coach's candid comments on the games so far. However I'm not buying into the comment that El Sal being further ahead in WC qualifications  compared to TNT is a factor. Mexico is in  also further ahead and  ranked in World top 15.
For years our national teams have been plagued with weak defensive structures and players- our Achilles heel. However there seems to be some focus to rectify this. The defensive lapses against El Sal. exposed us here again.
What I'm seeing from this team which is troubling are:
1. A lack of a legitimate striker
2.  No major offensive threat
3. Our offensive build up and attack  except for the Montserrat game is stymied  for the most part.
4. We need some creative flair up front
5 - our midfield trio needs some work- not defensively on the ball not offensively controlling or setting up the attack
Post by: asylumseeker on July 16, 2021, 08:51:38 AM
I have generally been pleased with the coach's candid comments on the games so far. However I'm not buying into the comment that El Sal being further ahead in WC qualifications  compared to TNT is a factor. Mexico is in  also further ahead and  ranked in World top 15.

For years our national teams have been plagued with weak defensive structures and players- our Achilles heel. However there seems to be some focus to rectify this. The defensive lapses against El Sal. exposed us here again.

What I'm seeing from this team which is troubling are:
1. A lack of a legitimate striker
2.  No major offensive threat
3. Our offensive build up and attack  except for the Montserrat game is stymied  for the most part.
4. We need some creative flair up front
5 - our midfield trio needs some work- not defensively on the ball not offensively controlling or setting up the attack

Spot on ABTrini. The WC qualifying octogonal status of ES was immaterial to this venture. The staff may not have drilled down to the core on this. Hugo Perez took charge of ES just over a month before AE took the TT job. To be precise, Perez was named in the last week of April and played his first match at then beginning of June. It is not a consolidated team. It is at the early stage of consolidating. And it's not just the coach that's new.

I sense we let perception magnify reality.
Post by: socalion on July 16, 2021, 10:09:19 AM
DeeksI said I won't post again but I respect you and a 2 or 3 others.I wasn't planning to offend, but when I said Jamaicans say "we talk too much",I tell them is allyuh who talk too much.I am up against about 5 ah dem.Sometimes I wish TT can ram all the crap that they talk down their throats,when we lose they know and wait for meh.Where are all those ballers that we used to produce,what happen to that culture.When I came to England I played Sunday morning football in Scrubs Lane in Shephers Bush,most of the blokes were Jamaicans,many would ask me "way yuh fram bway",when I replied  Trinidad,they would say,no wonder "yuh so good".I am just pointing out how well the rest of the Caribbean knew about our football culture,we lost our pride or what,I dunno man.I find it's taking too long to get back even close to where were,maybe there's more to it than I know.Regards.
Post by: socalion on July 16, 2021, 11:09:40 AM
Frico doh feel no way boss ! Some ah de loudest and more boastful in right here in N/America is non other  than our Jamaican brothers and sisters , dey love talk  , so ah doh take dem on wid  dey  trinis chatter claim !  On another  note ah had put up yuh post just to tease yuh lil bit cause ah thought yuh say yuh wasn't gonna post here no more 😊  !  Dis forum is de best yuh had to come again breds ain't .
Post by: pull stones on July 16, 2021, 02:12:01 PM
You all still sweating this game? come on people we wanted to make the gold cup and we did despite having multiple injuries and absentees of our better players, for instance hyland- jovin- levi- judah- tristin we still performed admirably. in all honesty I think eve got it wrong with poon angeron vs fortune, IMO fortune offers very little in defense and offense while angeron runs like a horse and could also attack and make meaningful passes.

He also got it wrong by introducing mukette instead of Joseph, mukket is the type you introduce to a game as super sub, that’s where he makes the most impact together with moore, but none the less we were beaten by a more prepared team and it’s over for us, there’s no way mexico not beating el salv on Sunday, our only saving grace is if one of those teams were to be disqualified from the competition or covid do usa favor like it did guatemala. but in the mean time let’s enjoy the ride.
Title: Clayton Morris: Fightback must continue
Post by: Tallman on July 16, 2021, 02:48:02 PM
Clayton Morris: Fightback must continue
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

CLAYTON MORRIS, the former national football captain and Futsal coach, thinks Trinidad and Tobago’s 2-0 defeat to a good El Salvador team at the CONCACAF Gold Cup on Wednesday night was unfortunate and a bit of a reality check, following the Soca Warriors’ fighting performance when they drew 0-0 with champions Mexico in their opener.

But Morris is backing the team to bounce back in the next match against Guatemala on Sunday.

“One more game to play in the group, still a very slim chance to qualify for the knockout stage,” stated Morris. “Win, lose or draw in the next game, the fightback must continue on administratively, financially and mentally in order to (keep) improving on this Trinidad and Tobago senior men’s football team‘s Gold Cup momentum.”

Morris believes continued improvement of the Soca Warriors was important to all aspects of football in the country - “to plan and develop a growth mindset in the young upcoming players (boys and girls) for the future.” Morris felt the reality on Wednesday night was that El Salvador had a better preparation for the tournament.

“Unfortunate...TNT lost 2-0 vs El Salvador last night, after one of the better performances (Mexico match) of the four games under the new staff,” he stated.

Because of better preparation, Morris felt El Salvador were better able to execute some of what T&T wanted to do and at faster and more regularly intervals. Consequently, they were able to capitalise where T&T stumbled.

But Morris, who now also serves as president of the second tier Trinidad and Tobago Super League, is backing the national team to rediscover all of the grit showed against Mexico. He felt they attempted to do more than just defend against El Salvador, but paid heavily for their errors, defensively and in attack as well.

“The commitment willingness and discipline of the players individually to combine the three aspects in defence, creativity in midfield and attempts on goal were executed a bit more and with purpose,” added Morris. “Unfortunately a couple defensive errors and two missed scoring opportunities which should’ve been converted at this level of competition (cost the team).”
Title: Soca Warriors - A renewed fighting spirit
Post by: Tallman on July 16, 2021, 04:06:42 PM
Soca Warriors - A renewed fighting spirit
By Colin Murray (T&T Guardian)

In football, it was a Sunday night to remember for T&T football fans as they celebrated their team’s master plan against the Mexicans. I always knew T&T could not go in and fight the Mexicans toe to toe or they would be floored even before the contest really got going. So, the fact that T&T started with 5 at the back and 4 in midfield ultimately stifled their opponents. The Soca Warriors were double-tackling the gifted Mexicans and never gave them the room or allowed them to settle and when they occasionally breached the defence, Marvin Phillip was absolutely brilliant. T&T’s overall defence was excellent and I did say that all the fans can ask for is for their team to play with the right attitude, heart and determination. Well, they got that and more.

Unfortunately, on Wednesday night, T&T went down to El Salvador by two goals to nil but the team can hold their heads high. They did not play particularly well in the first half against the Salvadorians. They did not have the fluency that we have seen in other games and some players seemed to be leg-weary. However, they gave it their all in the second period and were unlucky not to score. But this El Salvador team is a good one and they took their opportunities when they were presented.

As I suggested, it is a tough group as originally Curacao was the fourth team and their football is on the rise. But when they were replaced by Guatemala as a result of some COVID-19 related issues, the Soca Warriors had to get a result against El Salvador. This result, coupled with Mexico’s win against Guatemala on Wednesday night, now makes it impossible for T&T to finish first or an unlikely second in the group as Mexico's final game is against the already qualified El Salvador. For a second-place finish, it would mean T&T must defeat Guatemala and hope that El Salvador does the unthinkable and beat Mexico. I expect El Salvador to rest some of their first-choice players which would make the task even easier for the Mexican players and their band of hooligan supporters who were absolutely disgraceful during and after the T&T match with their overt racism towards the T&T players and fans. It saddens me that racism still manages to rear its ugly head in our beautiful game.

In retrospect, at best, T&T may finish 3rd in the group but more importantly, I can see a light at the end of the tunnel. I believe coach Angus Eve and his staff have done a good job. The players are fighting for him. They are going out onto the field of play with the right attitude and the determination that T&T fans have longed to see in their national team. There is still some ironing out to do but one has to remember that the Soca Warriors went into this tournament without some of their best players and that was the main reason I felt that they were facing an uphill battle to qualify for the quarterfinals from the group stage. What a difference Levi and Judah Garcia would have made as well as skipper Khaleem Hyland and Joevin Jones. Together with some of the younger players, I can see the team’s performance improvement over the next year.

Off the field, the administration needs to give the coaching staff and the players all the support needed so they can take the football to the next level. The fans are begging out for the day when, once again, they can go to the Hasely Crawford Stadium and see the Soca Warriors take on the might of CONCACAF and not only compete against them but be in a position to get a victory. With the proper formula and right attitude, who knows? That day may come much sooner than expected.
Title: Soca Warriors defender David: We have to get back to the drawing board
Post by: Tallman on July 16, 2021, 04:23:59 PM
Soca Warriors defender David: We have to get back to the drawing board
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday)

TRINIDAD AND Tobago defender Aubrey David described as “disappointing” his team’s 2-0 defeat to El Salvador on Wednesday evening, in their second Group A match of the Concacaf Gold Cup.

At the Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas, United States, El Salvador got goals from Jairo Henriquez, in the 30th minute, and Walmer Martinez, in the first minute of second-half stoppage time.

El Salvador lead the group with six points, followed by Mexico (four), T&T (one) and Guatemala (zero).

El Salvador booked a spot into the quarter-final round, while T&T will have to defeat Guatemala on Sunday, and hope for a massive win for El Salvador over Mexico, to finish second in the group, and also advance to the knockout stage.

“It was a disappointing result for us,” said David, during a post-game interview. “It’s not one that we wanted for sure. We went with the aim to get three points and be comfortable in the group.”

David continued, “It didn’t happen that way. I think we could’ve gotten more from the game. It was a complicated game but we played (better) in the second half. We have to get back to the drawing board and look forward to the next game.”

T&T held defending champions Mexico to a goalless draw on Saturday but suffered a serious setback against an El Salvador team coached by former US midfielder Hugo Perez.

Defensive midfielder Neveal Hackshaw said, “We went loose once or twice, and they got a couple of chances. We also had chances, but we didn’t take them.”

Asked about the tactics employed by T&T coach Angus Eve, Hackshaw responded, “We wanted to play in the first half on the break with (captain Kevin) Molino and (Ryan) Telfer. In the second half, we wanted to utilise the wing-backs to get in behind (them).”
Title: Soca Warriors coach Angus Eve encouraged by growth of team
Post by: Tallman on July 16, 2021, 06:05:02 PM
Soca Warriors coach Angus Eve encouraged by growth of team
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday)

INTERIM coach of the Trinidad and Tobago men’s football team Angus Eve said on Thursday morning that he was disappointed by his team’s 2-0 defeat against El Salvador on Wednesday, in their second Concacaf Gold Cup Group A encounter, at the Toyota Stadium, Frisco, Texas, United States.

The result leaves T&T in third spot on the four-team group with one point (following their goalless draw against Mexico last Saturday).

El Salvador guaranteed a place in the last eight, since they have six points from two games, while Mexico are in second place with four points. Mexico whipped Guatemala 3-0 on Wednesday.

The final matches in the group will be contested on Sunday, with T&T facing cellar-placed Guatemala and Mexico opposing El Salvador.

In a Zoom media conference with members of the T&T media, Eve said, “I’m disappointed in the result obviously, but I think a lot of encouragement in the performance of the team, playing against one of the teams who would have qualified proper for the Gold Cup and probably fresher than us.”

The former T&T captain and midfielder continued, “In the first half, it showed. I thought a much-improved performance in the second half but probably we deserved to get a little bit more out of the game. It augurs well for the work we’ve been doing in a very short space of time. It’s encouragement for the future.”

Security around the T&T team in Texas was beefed up after the players and technical staff received death threats and racist attacks, after the Mexico fixture.

“We try to keep them as comfortable as possible,” Eve said. “We had no security when we came here (in the US), except when we were going to the games. Now it’s very visible around them. We have a private detail in the hotel because the threats were that bad.”

The T&T coach continued, “I don’t know if that played a part in the players’ mental, hence the reason why we may have started a bit slow (on Wednesday). It has taken some adjusting to. “If somebody is threatening your life and calling your family back home, it’s unfortunate that this had to happen. We’re not going to make than an excuse for anything.” Eve made seven changes to his starting line-up for the El Salvador game, including recalling regular starters Kevin Molino (captain), fellow midfielder Neveal Hackshaw and goalkeeper Nicklas Frenderup. According to the T&T tactician, “We know that a lot of our players have not been playing for a very long time. We just had three weeks to put this group (of players) together. We knew that against Mexico we had to be resolute, and we were trying to get something out of the game which we did. We know that, in the other games, we’ll want to express ourselves a bit more.”

Eve said his players were quiet and equally disappointed after the 2-0 defeat on Wednesday.

“They believed they gave everything that they had. We can’t fault any of the players for the effort that they had given. The dressing room was quiet, you could hear a pin drop.” Looking ahead to the Guatemala game, Eve said, “We have the same mindset. Coming into this tournament, our particular goal was to try and get into the group stage. Coming out of a failed World Cup campaign, we thought realistically what we had to do is to improve the performances of the team.

“We’re basically using this tournament as a trial for our players,” he added. “To think that we can come and dominate teams who are (still) in the World Cup (qualifiers) and, without the likes of Sheldon Bateau and Levi Garcia, we think, so far, it is a good showing, to keep our ambition realistic. We would try to do something in the next game.”
Post by: Sando prince on July 16, 2021, 07:39:54 PM
So people just beginning to accept we simply just not good enough. Best we can do is beat up mediocre and terrible Caribbean opposition and pack our team in our half against Central American teams to hope for a draw

Is that the future of our football?
Title: No giving up: Eve staying positive despite El Salvador loss
Post by: Tallman on July 16, 2021, 08:22:52 PM
No giving up: Eve staying positive despite El Salvador loss
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

GUATEMALA will be no pushovers, given what they showed in a 3-0 defeat to Mexico at the CONCACAF Gold Cup on Wednesday night. But Trinidad and Tobago head coach Angus Eve is determined that the Soca Warriors end the preliminary round on a high note.

A win over Guatemala on Sunday night will move the Soca Warriors to four points. However, their progression to the next round also depends on the unlikely scenario of group leaders El Salvador knocking a few goals past giants Mexico. Defending champions Mexico hold a 32-5-win record over El Salvador and have won their last seven meetings.

“We not giving up,” Eve declared following his team’s deflating 2-0 loss to El Salvador earlier on Wednesday night.

He also expects a test against Guatemala on Sunday.

“On the Guatemala side of things, they looked a very competent team against Mexico,” Eve told the media yesterday. “They moved the ball well, typical Central American team. ­Mexico did not have their own way with them.

“We are expecting a tough game and we expect to put in a good shift,” Eve said.

Given that his staff only took over the national team just three weeks ago, Eve felt that despite obvious lapses, his players acquitted themselves well against an improving El Salvador, who are still in the last stage of CONCACAF zone qualifying for the Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup.

Yesterday, Eve described a subdued camp where his players were disappointed over the loss.

They are very quiet,” T&T’s head coach said. “They are very disappointed. They believe they gave everything that they had. Many of the guys out there are not playing football consistently. Kevin (Molino) himself got tired down to the end and gave away some passes, but he still gave the effort.”

Eve said it was a credit to his players to even be at the stage where they are right now and having any shot at moving to the quarter-finals.

“This is a new staff and a new team. Most of the players did not play in the World Cup qualifying. We brought this team together in a very short space of time, and we have seen the improvements.

“But,” he added, “it’s a work in progress, and to think that we could come and dominate teams who actually are in the last phase of the World Cup campaign (is unrealistic), without the likes of Sheldon Bateau, Levi (Garcia) and all these other players that we are missing.

“We think that so far it’s a good showing and we want to keep our ambition realistic, but yeah, we will go out and try to do something in the next game,” stated the former national captain.

Eve’s own analysis was that his team was not good enough in the first half against El Salvador but were the better team for most of the second. “The first half we played way too slow. We weren’t moving the ball effectively enough and I thought that we were a bit lethargic,” Eve said of the first half.

“I thought we gave away two soft goals and I thought (in the) second half we were the better team. Unfortunately, we did not take the chances. We had about three good chances.”

Eve demanded that his players improve in the second period.

“We changed the formation of the team so that we could press higher. We put on two flankers with a centre forward, and I thought we gave them a lot more problems with that formation. We probably should have scored. We didn’t, but that’s the way the game goes sometimes.”

T&T goalkeeper Nicklas Frende­rup was left reaching in vain for a low shot to his far corner, after Jairo Henri­quez turned on-rushing USA-based T&T defender Jelani Peters atop the penalty area and scored with a low right-footed shot for 1-0 in the 30th minute.

After surviving an improved second half T&T effort, Walmer Martinez tapped into an open net when scoring El Salvador’s insurance goal in almost farcical fashion in injury time.

With three Mexicans surrounding him, a frenzied sequence saw T&T keeper Frenderup making saves at each of his posts, but not getting the defensive assistance to keep the ball out of his goal.

Eve also paid tribute to El Salvador, who have lost once in eight matches under Hugo Perez, the legendary and creative American midfielder who had 73 caps for his country during the mid-’80s to ’90s.

“Kudos to El Salvador. I think they are a good team, so that augers well for us going forward,” Eve suggested.

Meanwhile, Perez thought T&T were a bit defensive in their ­approach. “I thought Trinidad and Tobago would be a little more offensive, but I realised they were playing with a line of five, like they did against Mexico,” he said. “I never thought they would be that defensive. It is not that Trinidad and Tobago took (over) the ball; we gave them the ball!” Perez said. “We started forcing things that we didn’t have to do. They were just attacking more in the second half.”

Eve did not agree with Perez. He explained having a balanced first-half selection, and said they went even more attacking in the second half.
Post by: Deeks on July 17, 2021, 01:31:34 AM
So people just beginning to accept we simply just not good enough. Best we can do is beat up mediocre and terrible Caribbean opposition and pack our team in our half against Central American teams to hope for a draw

Sando, I old enough to know TT goes thru these phases continuously. 67 Panam Games. 73 Haiti Hex. Italy 1990. Germany 2006. Look at those gaps. It has alway been like that. Until we get people with money and love for the game, it will remain so.
Post by: pull stones on July 17, 2021, 03:32:18 AM

Sando, I old enough to know TT goes thru these phases continuously. 67 Panam Games. 73 Haiti Hex. Italy 1990. Germany 2006. Look at those gaps. It has alway been like that. Until we get people with money and love for the game, it will remain so.
you wanna know what hurts the most in all this? the fact that we have the talent and are naturally gifted with tall fast sturdy children and we simply don’t invest in them or make use of their attributes. on my last trip to trinidad I drove through Port of Spain and the east west corridor and the most shocking thing was to see children still playing sports in the road.

I asked my chaperone if there weren’t any neighborhood play grounds and the answer was an astounding no. So I asked if there are no Philanthropic ventures from the business community to install play grounds and parks in disadvantaged neighborhoods, to which he laughed uncontrollably citing that if I believe I was still in england, he said that if the government didn’t do it then don’t expect anyone else too.

it’s a known fact that the wealthy in that country does not give back towards the growth and social development of the nation, they simply hold on to their wealth and leave every thing to the state to subsidize and then complain the most when we underachieve. TT sports in general will get better when people start caring and investing in the nation’s children, jump high jump low nothing will change until then. Just like a flower garden needs water and caring hands to blossom and flourish, in order for sports to flourish it needs lots of money and lots of caring people to nurture it and that’s a fact, no money no care equals zero success.
Post by: Deeks on July 17, 2021, 06:51:19 AM

you wanna know what hurts the most in all this? the fact that we have the talent and are naturally gifted with tall fast sturdy children and we simply don’t invest in them or make use of their attributes. on my last trip to trinidad I drove through Port of Spain and the east west corridor and the most shocking thing was to see children still playing sports in the road.

I asked my chaperone if there weren’t any neighborhood play grounds and the answer was an astounding no. So I asked if there are no Philanthropic ventures from the business community to install play grounds and parks in disadvantaged neighborhoods, to which he laughed uncontrollably citing that if I believe I was still in england, he said that if the government didn’t do it then don’t expect anyone else too.

it’s a known fact that the wealthy in that country does not give back towards the growth and social development of the nation, they simply hold on to their wealth and leave every thing to the state to subsidize and then complain the most when we underachieve. TT sports in general will get better when people start caring and investing in the nation’s children, jump high jump low nothing will change until then. Just like a flower garden needs water and caring hands to blossom and flourish, in order for sports to flourish it needs lots of money and lots of caring people to nurture it and that’s a fact, no money no care equals zero success.

Again, pull, You on point. When I was growing up I live in various places along the EW corridor. St. Joseph opposite WASA, Tunapuna, Five Rivers, back to Tunapuna, St. Joseph, then EDR. In the 60s and 70s, there were lot of empty spots around. There used to be plenty football and windball cricket on these spots. Many of TT prominent sportsmen honed some of their skills there. Sammy Llewellyn thrived in the Dry River. When I visited some of these place now is house, apartment and business places. We lucky Barataria Oval, Arangues Savannah, St. Joseph Savannah, Constantine Park, Azonville Park, Tacarigua still around. The population has grown and I am not sure if new parks were built with the new housing development.

And on the same vein. I remembered reading an article where Pele said that he bemoan the fact the all the open spaces that were used for recreational uses in the barrios of Santos were all gone or going rapidly. The children had to go further and further away from their homes for recreation.

When I moved to EDR, I hated the f**king place. Is football, cricket, basketball, kite flying on the streets. Specifically mid and upper Quarry street. The closeness and the clutter were unbearable. Eventually I got used to it and loved it. I was going to QRC at that time and had the savannah for myself, even though it was a little walk. But talk about football. All the the fields were filled with teams playing. You stand in the middle of the savannah and make ah 360 and is a carnival of colours during football and rugby season. And it is a festival of white during the the cricket season. That is the things that I reflect on when I want to think of the pleasant things about home. That is my rambling nonsense for this morning. Blessings!
Post by: Sando prince on July 17, 2021, 12:50:39 PM

So are you saying well that is just the way it is and we should just accept it? You saying well we always have been this bad and over ten to fifteen years we will have another short period of success so its ok?

If this is the case and we acknowledge this then we are saying we have failed. And we should not accept this as normal. If we cant change this attitude it will never improve. Older heads like you seem to always be ok and accepting of this mediocre level of success if to call it success at all.

We need to get rid of this old man dinosaur attitude of what we should accept in our sports
Post by: Deeks on July 17, 2021, 05:21:18 PM

So are you saying well that is just the way it is and we should just accept it? You saying well we always have been this bad and over ten to fifteen years we will have another short period of success so its ok?

If this is the case and we acknowledge this then we are saying we have failed. And we should not accept this as normal. If we cant change this attitude it will never improve. Older heads like you seem to always be ok and accepting of this mediocre level of success if to call it success at all.

We need to get rid of this old man dinosaur attitude of what we should accept in our sports

Sando, far from the truth. I bemoan the fact that we are totally unable to follow the 4 year development cycle so that we can have new blood by the time the WC qualifying comes along. We take too long to develop a good team. We need to do better than that. Sometimes is 8, 12 years before we can challenge Mex. and the Central Americans. Right now we should be blooding the U23s and U-20s for the next WC. What you think are on the TTFA drawing board.  F**king zilch. Right we need the govt, the collective business organization to assist TTFA. You think that will, could happen. In you friggin dreams. And with the financial situation in the era of covid make things worse.
Post by: pull stones on July 18, 2021, 12:16:30 AM

Sando, far from the truth. I bemoan the fact that we are totally unable to follow the 4 year development cycle so that we can have new blood by the time the WC qualifying comes along. We take too long to develop a good team. We need to do better than that. Sometimes is 8, 12 years before we can challenge Mex. and the Central Americans. Right now we should be blooding the U23s and U-20s for the next WC. What you think are on the TTFA drawing board.  F**king zilch. Right we need the govt, the collective business organization to assist TTFA. You think that will, could happen. In you friggin dreams. And with the financial situation in the era of covid make things worse.
deeks as long as I’ve been following TT football it’s financial burden was always squarely placed on the ministry’s shoulders. The ttfa ttff or TT whatever they called themselves back then we’re never an independent body generating their own funds to nurture football. as far as I remember maybe carib did a little sponsorship here and there but the bulk of their revenue came from the ministry.

can you imagine there were people getting stinking rich from football in england, but these trinidad bums never once reached out to the English FA for assistance in building their organization? IMO that is beyond shameful, not to mention clueless. trinis truly are a people of marvel and wonder, and I was not being complimentary.
Post by: Deeks on July 18, 2021, 08:23:56 AM

deeks as long as I’ve been following TT football it’s financial burden was always squarely placed on the ministry’s shoulders. The ttfa ttff or TT whatever they called themselves back then we’re never an independent body generating their own funds to nurture football. as far as I remember maybe carib did a little sponsorship here and there but the bulk of their revenue came from the ministry.

can you imagine there were people getting stinking rich from football in england, but these trinidad bums never once reached out to the English FA for assistance in building their organization? IMO that is beyond shameful, not to mention clueless. trinis truly are a people of marvel and wonder, and I was not being complimentary.

Quite true. But the period between 73 to 78, I think Ken Galt was the president of TTFA. He was a Neal&Massey excecutive. He was able to get funds for the 74 WC and CaC games teams and also our youth and the 78 WC teams. The TTFA was running fairly well. When he left the bachanal era of JW started.
Post by: pull stones on July 18, 2021, 12:22:01 PM
are you sure? because according to the history Eric james was president for a long period of time, then he resigned and jack warner too over until after we failed to qualify for the World Cup in 1989, then camps came in after Warner resigned.
Post by: Deeks on July 19, 2021, 09:08:20 AM
are you sure? because according to the history Eric james was president for a long period of time, then he resigned and jack warner too over until after we failed to qualify for the World Cup in 1989, then camps came in after Warner resigned.

Pull Stones, I called around and was told that he did served around that time. Jack was general secretary. I know Eric James had passed. I can't remember who followed him. But it was not Jack. Jack was after Ken
Post by: kounty on July 24, 2021, 05:33:54 PM
Qatar just make it look easy dey.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 24, 2021, 08:45:25 PM
Qatar just make it look easy dey.

Not quite a total walk in the park, but very effective and very entertaining. They doh waste time. Clear intent in possession.

Other lesson for us regarding not discarding foreign-based talent should be that of Rivas (El Salvador). He was a huge contributor in keeping ES in the fight. Bit of a nightmare game for Ceren.