Sports => Football => Topic started by: Trini _2026 on March 19, 2022, 04:15:56 PM

Title: 2022 Courts Caribbean Classic Thread
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 19, 2022, 04:15:56 PM
International football has returned to TnT... :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Trinidad vs Barbados March 25
Title: Re: 2022 Courts Caribbean Classic Thread
Post by: Tallman on March 19, 2022, 04:39:49 PM
Trinidad and Tobago Men to face Barbados and Guyana in Courts Caribbean Classic
TTFA Media

International Men’s Football returns to Port of Spain for the first time since October 2019 when the Courts Caribbean Classic involving the Men’s Senior Teams of Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados and Guyana takes place at the Hasely Crawford Stadium March 25-29.

This country’s national team, led by head coach Angus Eve, will play its first international friendly at home in just over two years against Barbados at HC Stadium on March 25th before taking on Guyana on March 29th. Barbados and Guyana will face each other prior to that on March 27th. All matches will kick off at 7:00pm.

All matches will be accessible to fully vaccinated patrons and the TTFA will announce ticketing details this coming week.

T&T’s last international friendly at home was played on November 11, 2019, A 15-0 win over Anguilla at the Ato Boldon Stadium.
T&T’s previous encounter at the Hasely Crawford Stadium was a 2-0 defeat to Honduras in CONCACAF Nations League qualifying on October 10, 2019.
T&T defeated Guyana 3-0 in a World Cup qualifier in San Cristobal, March 25th, 2021.
T&T defeated Barbados previously 2-0 in a Friendly at the Ato Boldon Stadium on March 10, 2017.

Angus Eve- Head Coach,Trinidad and Tobago

“This is a perfect opportunity for us. This will be the first time I will actually have the majority of the team that I want to have and play the style of football that I actually want to play with them. Unfortunately we still could not get a couple guys because they had club commitments and we rather sacrifice them now and have them for the Nations League. Other than that I think we have gotten the core of the team that we want to work with and will try to express ourselves going forward in these two friendlies.

“These are three past Trinidad and Tobago coaches at the helm. I played with Russell all my life. I worked with Jamaal Shabazz, I played under him and these are two guys who I respect a lot and are doing great things with their teams in the Caribbean. They want to win the games just as we do. They are looking to develop their programmes just as we do. Both teams have a cadre of English-based players. No longer can you just look at the name of the team that you are playing but you also have to look at the calliber of players in the squad. It will not be an easy game for us and that’s what we want.

“We want to re-establish ourselves in the Caribbean and by extension in Concacaf. Also playing at home is massive for us. We would love to actually see the people in the stands and see the team play live. A lot of the fans don’t know the team right now and this is an opportunity for them to see the team and to see the work that we’ve been doing. I would take this opportunity to thank Courts, the Government and the various stakeholders who are coming together to make this series possible.”

Russell Latapy- Head Coach, Barbados

“I think it’s a great opportunity for all three Caribbean nations to play against each other ahead of the Concacaf Nations League. It’s especially good for our team Barbados to have the chance to come up against better ranked and more experienced opposition especially as they will be at home. We will be using this as preparations for the Nations League and looking to continue developing the team.

“Obviously we Barbados would love to have the preparation time as our opponents. Covid19 has hit us really hard and unfortunately our domestic League hasn’t resumed. And we don’t have the financial and administrative support that I’d like but we have a group of players that wants to do well and it’s a pleasure working with these young men and see them grow. It should hopefully be a couple of competitive matches.

Jamaal Shabazz – Head Coach, Guyana

“This series of matches involving Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados and Guyana is vital to having regional and international football back on the pitch. The fact that Unicomer as a corporate entity with regional presence has come aboard to make it into the Courts Caribbean Classic is something very profound.

“For me as Guyanese national team coach, born in Trinidad and Tobago competing against Russell Latapy with Barbados and Angus Eve for Trinidad snd Tobago is very exciting.

While we will battle with each other in these matches in using it as practice for the CONCACAF Nations League, this series brings us up against a common opponent called Covid19. We are happy that the Trinidad and Tobago Government, the Health Minister and the Ministry of Health and the Chief Medical Officer and his hardworking staff have afforded us this opportunity to play. We look forward to these matches and “insha’Allah we intend to be intense and provide exciting football.”
Post by: Tallman on March 19, 2022, 04:41:49 PM
Eve on upcoming International Friendlies vs Barbados and Guyana

https://www.youtube.com/v/vS-5Z69dWWI
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 19, 2022, 05:01:28 PM
Here we go again. Playing the Guyanas and Babardoes'. If we playing the Caribbean teams, we should be focusing on Haiti, Curacao, Suriname and Jamaica.
Post by: Sando prince on March 20, 2022, 03:28:59 PM
Here we go again. Playing the Guyanas and Babardoes'. If we playing the Caribbean teams, we should be focusing on Haiti, Curacao, Suriname and Jamaica.

Can we beat the Guyana or Barbados? What does recent history tell you?
Post by: Deeks on March 20, 2022, 04:22:56 PM

Can we beat the Guyana or Barbados? What does recent history tell you?

Right now beggars can't be choosers. Theses guys just need to play ball. At this time anything will do.
Post by: Sando prince on March 20, 2022, 04:31:18 PM
Why do I feel some in here still have that T&T superiority mentality in Caribbean football? despite the results in recent years which proved we have struggled to beat these same Caribbean teams. We could not even beat Bahamas!

Take allyuh heads out d sand!
Post by: Tallman on March 21, 2022, 12:54:49 PM
Courts Caribbean Classic - Watch the Games on PayPerView

https://www.youtube.com/v/oWHlbomBcnA
Post by: Tallman on March 21, 2022, 02:44:43 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FOZkwjfWQAEQQRw?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: Tallman on March 21, 2022, 06:37:37 PM
Eve selects 24-man roster to face Barbados and Guyana in Courts Caribbean Classic
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Angus Eve today announced a 24-man roster for the upcoming Courts Caribbean Classic Tri-Nation International match series.

The hosts will take on Barbados on Friday from 7:00pm at the Hasely Crawford Stadium before closing off against Guyana on Tuesday March 29th at the same time and venue. Guyana and Barbados will meet on March 27 at the Mucurapo venue from 7pm.

Spearheading Eve’s attack will be Greek-based attacking player Levi Garcia of AEK Athens as he makes his first return to the National side since the 2-0 win over St Kitts Nevis in CONCACAF World Cup qualifying last June. His brother Judah Garcia has also been recalled after last running out in T&T colours during the 2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup qualifiers. Eve has also recalled Moldova-based defender Keston Julien who now has UEFA Champions League and Europa League experience to his name with Sheriff Tiraspol.

Earning a first-time call up is Samory Powder of the University of Detroit Mercy.

“When we looked at the squad, this would have been the first real opportunity to select all of the players that are available and bar some absences because of some personal issues here, club commitments there, basically we got the bulk of players we would have wanted in the squad,” Eve told TTFA Media.

“It’s a major boost for the country to have the likes of Levi Garcia back in the fray. He has not been in the squad since the World Cup qualifiers last year. Also Keston Julien has not been in since the qualifiers. Now we are starting over after having a decent Gold Cup run and trying to rebuild. These guys are experienced but they are young and then we also have a bit more experienced players in the squad such as Marvin Phillip, Radandfah Abu Baker.

“We also have some younger players like goalkeeper Denzil Smith who has been doing really well for himself, Judah Garcia who is out in Europe, Powder who I expect a lot from. We brought back young Nicholas Dillion, a number 9 as you know we are lacking in that area. So I am very excited to be working with the group,” he continued.

“I think it’s a good blend of mid-range aged players, with a couple senior players and players that we have in an age group which can take us through Project 2026 for which I am seeing . We are in good stead from now until that time once we prepare right. These two games are sort of stepping stones to reestablish ourselves in this region because we came out of the World Cup behind Caribbean teams so this is an opportunity for us to test ourselves against two quality Caribbean teams coached by two sons of the soil. I played with Russell for years and learnt a lot of stuff off of him as a player. Jamaal Shabazz has actually coached me at clubs such as Joe Public and Caledonia so it will be interesting to see how the student attacks the both teachers in this series,” Eve added.

The T&T team will have its first training session on Tuesday afternoon at the Hasely Crawford Stadium and will enter a residential training camp earlier in the day.

Tickets, priced at $150 (Covered section) and $100 (Uncovered) will be available to fully vaccinated patrons and available from Tuesday afternoon at The Fan Club (Trincity Mall), Fan Zone (Movietowne Port of Spain, Chaguanas), Legends Sports Bar in Point Fortin, the TTFA head office at Ato Boldon Stadium and on matchdays at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

A live stream will also be avable via pay per view for fans at $5USD per game via tiziq.com
Post by: maxg on March 22, 2022, 11:10:16 AM
Would of liked to get D Phillips and M Joseph, but guess they to far.
Post by: Flex on March 23, 2022, 12:18:51 AM
Eve to use Courts Caribbean Classic as Soca Warriors' rebuilding phase.
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday).

TRINIDAD AND Tobago men’s football team coach Angus Eve plans to use the Courts Caribbean Classic as a rebuilding phase for his squad, as they look ahead to the 2022-2023 Concacaf Nations League.

The 2022-2023 Nations League will kick off with the league phase, which is scheduled to run from June 2-14.

The TT team will be involved in the Courts Caribbean Classic, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo. The TT team will square off against Barbados on Friday and Guyana next Tuesday. Barbados and Guyana will meet each other on Sunday.

In an interview on Tuesday, before the team’s training session at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva, Eve said, “We’re looking to re-establish ourselves in the Caribbean. In the (2022 FIFA) World Cup campaign, we actually lost to Caribbean teams.”

Eve, the former TT captain and midfielder, continued, “It’s a long time now that we haven’t dominated the Caribbean. I believe that when you’re building, you build from the bottom up.”

Two former TT coaches, Jamaal Shabazz and Russell Latapy, will be at the helm of Guyana and Barbados respectively.

“Jamaal Shabazz, we know how experienced he is as a coach, somebody I look up to for a long time,” said Eve. “Russell has a wealth of experience as a player and now he’s imparting that experience as a coach. I think it would be two difficult teams, none of the teams are coming here to lose.”

Eve is pleased that the majority of the foreign-based players, involved with the 24-man squad, have some recent games (albeit at club level) under their belt.

“It’s a good feeling to have the majority of the players actually playing football, because we had to play a lot when the guys were out of season, and not even in pre-season,” said Eve. “This time we can see the guys look a lot leaner and fitter, and I’m happy for that. Hopefully, we can go out there and express ourselves.”

Eve, who replaced Terry Fenwick as TT coach last June, said, “I want to thank Courts for coming on board. We need corporate sponsorship and government sponsorship to get the team back up and running.”

About his squad, he pointed out, “The guys are very enthusiastic, they’re serious, they’re professional and you can only play who is in front of you. We’ll take the games one at a time.”

Watch T&T forward Ryan Telfer looks ahead to Friday's International Friendly vs Barbados (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IuVCPxEUGpQ)

Watch Deportivo Saprissa defender Aubrey David spoke to the Press at training on Tuesday as T&T Senior Men prepare for Friday's Courts Caribbean Classic opener vs Barbados. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OKxRcAxdZzI)

Post by: lefty on March 23, 2022, 06:22:32 PM
just read Latas have pulled out of this will not be managing for the tourney
Post by: Tallman on March 25, 2022, 02:00:59 PM
Courts ‘excited’ to be a part of Caribbean Classic
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday)

`COURTS Trinidad Ltd, which is a member of the Unicomer Group, is excited to be a part of the invitational tri-nation football tournament – the Courts Caribbean Classic – which will take place from Friday until Tuesday.

The tournament will feature hosts T&T, Barbados and Guyana, in a round-robin format, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo.

At the media launch on Thursday, at the Courts MegaStore in San Juan, Shahad Ali, public relations officer of Unicomer (Trinidad) Ltd, said, “The TTFA (T&T Football Association) had approached us with the concept of the Courts Caribbean Classic with these three Caribbean countries. Unicomer Caribbean would have gotten together and decided to give them the sponsorship they needed to make this event happen.”

He continued, “We have a long history with football in Trinidad and Tobago. We have an over 20-year relationship with Caledonia AIA. Courts is a household brand in the Caribbean (and) over the years, we’ve really invested in sport. This is the perfect moment for us to take the opportunity to get these players back on the field. We're very excited to be a part of it.”

Ali said that Courts is yet to decide if to sponsor the invitational tournament on a long-term basis.

“(Concerning) continued support, when the TTFA approaches us with a particular proposal, we’ll take a look at it, we’ll evaluate it and, once it’s something that’s feasible for us, once our resources allow, we’ll usually take up the mantle, especially when it comes to sports in the Caribbean.”

Robert Hadad, chairman of the normalisation committee (which runs the day-to-day affairs of the TTFA), is pleased with the return of international men’s football in T&T.

“Extremely excited,” said Hadad. “I’m looking forward to it, I'm looking forward to the rivalry of Trinidad coaches.

Would there be more T&T teams getting the opportunity to play international games at home, once there is a continued gradual easing of the covid19 restrictions? Hadad replied, “Absolutely yes. I’m hoping we can get well ahead of ourselves. I don’t want to make any promises but, once we can afford it, we can get all the teams, at all levels, playing international games here in Trinidad and Tobago.

“The national women’s team would be playing Guyana in Tobago, at the Dwight Yorke Stadium on the 12th of April,” he added.

Would there be more programmes involved for national teams, on a lengthy basis? Hadad responded, “Because of financial constraints, we would put any team back into training so long as there is a tournament imminent. The futsal is starting now. We've appointed a futsal coach and we’re now in the process of (selecting) a futsal management team.”

The T&T men’s Under-23 futsal team, under the guidance of Paul Decle, will have screening sessions on Saturday and Sunday, at the International School in Westmoorings, from 3-7 pm (each day), for fully vaccinated persons only. The team is set to compete at the 2022 Caribbean Games in Guadeloupe.
Post by: maxg on March 25, 2022, 03:09:24 PM
Game times and links ?
Post by: Fyzoman on March 25, 2022, 04:15:38 PM
"TIZIQ.COM" for $5 USD...it buffered for while but it's coming in great now, they still warming up :wavetowel:
Post by: asylumseeker on March 25, 2022, 05:06:19 PM
"TIZIQ.COM" for $5 USD...it buffered for while but it's coming in great now, they still warming up :wavetowel:

I doh even know if I would pay $5 at de gate.  ;D You are a trooper!!! Good look!
Post by: Thomo on March 25, 2022, 05:55:34 PM
I was hesitant at first but I paid and it's a good stream.
Levi is clearly head and shoulders above the rest of players. Built like a proper athlete. I can see why AEK took a chance on his lil bro Judah too. He's having a decent game. Telfer the usual workhorse and so is fortune. Could do with seeing Hackshaw and Archer in the 2nd half.
Need a better partner in the centre of defence for Aubrey. Moses ain't cutting it, too many misplaced passes.
Could say more but it's definitely a work in progress and a good place to start.
What I'm not happy about is that we weren't even offered a squad list ie starting lineups.
Disgusting oversight imo.
Post by: theworm2345 on March 25, 2022, 06:59:10 PM
I was hesitant at first but I paid and it's a good stream.
Levi is clearly head and shoulders above the rest of players. Built like a proper athlete. I can see why AEK took a chance on his lil bro Judah too. He's having a decent game. Telfer the usual workhorse and so is fortune. Could do with seeing Hackshaw and Archer in the 2nd half.
Need a better partner in the centre of defence for Aubrey. Moses ain't cutting it, too many misplaced passes.
Could say more but it's definitely a work in progress and a good place to start.
What I'm not happy about is that we weren't even offered a squad list ie starting lineups.
Disgusting oversight imo.
I covered the match, here's the Starting XIs, match details, etc
https://globalsportsarchive.com/match/soccer/2022-03-26/trinidad-and-tobago-vs-barbados/2666682/

T&T deserve some credit, but Barbados were truly atrocious.  They did have a normal LW/LB at centre half and their assistant coach in charge, as well as a couple of youngsters, but even that can't excuse the ineptitude of that performance.  The fact their domestic league has been on hiatus for over two years could be part of it too.

Wouldn't say the stream is good value either, decent enough quality but barely any graphics and no replays.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 25, 2022, 10:27:52 PM
The match offered a great opportunity to give inexperience a run out. Why was that not embraced in its totality? For instance, why no D. Smith instead of M. Phillip?
Post by: asylumseeker on March 26, 2022, 03:09:43 AM
What USEFUL conclusions can be drawn from the game?
Post by: Fyzoman on March 26, 2022, 08:08:50 AM

I doh even know if I would pay $5 at de gate.  ;D You are a trooper!!! Good look!
Bredda I don't even fight it anymore, they put meh so  :D
Post by: chelsealife on March 26, 2022, 08:48:07 AM
The match offered a great opportunity to give inexperience a run out. Why was that not embraced in its totality? For instance, why no D. Smith instead of M. Phillip?
I second this. Put him in the firing line so we can see what he can do. We already know what Marvin is capable of. Going forward ranjitsngh needs an opportunity as well
Post by: Tallman on March 26, 2022, 09:30:29 AM
Wouldn't say the stream is good value either, decent enough quality but barely any graphics and no replays.

I concur. Nothing to write home about. And I absolutely hated the banner with the sponsors at the bottom of the screen for long periods of time. Surely there is a better way to do that. At a bare minimum there should be replays.
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 26, 2022, 10:59:55 AM

You see we  keep these guys around and play them to guide the yonger players.
Post by: Flex on March 26, 2022, 11:28:28 AM
Watch Levi looks ahead to Courts Classic opener (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2t0zdMuPwVQ)

Watch Keston Julien relishes return to T&T team (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=909YY7eoz4U)

Post by: Flex on March 26, 2022, 11:33:49 AM
(Teams)

Trinidad and Tobago (4-1-2-3): 1.Marvin Phillip (GK) (captain); 23.Jesse Williams, 3.Kareem Moses, 2.Aubrey David, 16.Keston Julien; 17.Mekeil Williams (15.Neveal Hackshaw 74); 19.Noah Powder (24.Kevon Goddard 84), 8.Andre Fortune II (10.Duane Muckette 65); 7.Ryan Telfer (14.John-Paul Rochford 74), 11.Levi Garcia (9.Nicholas Dillon 65), 13.Judah Garcia (12.Reon Moore 74).

Unused substitutes: 21.Denzil Smith (GK), 4.Leland Archer, 5.Samory Powder, 6.Radanfah Abu Bakr, 18.Triston Hodge, 20.Jabari Mitchell, 25.Justin Sadoo.

Coach: Angus Eve

Barbados (4-1-4-1): 18.Liam Brathwaite (GK); 20.Nicoli Brathwaite, 4.Mario Williams (2.Ricardio Morris 80), 8.Ackeel Applewhaite, 5.Jamaal Watson-Cummins (3.Ramon Manning 46); 6.Jomo Harris; 11.Azarel Croney, 13.Darico King (17.Akeem Hill 46), 10.Hadan Holligan (captain), 7.Nadre Butcher (14.Kevon Lucas 80); 19.Armando Lashley.

Unused substitutes: 1.Kishmar Primus (GK), 15.Lemar Catlyn, 16.Shay Prescod, 12.Honor Bradshaw, 9.Keon Atkins.

Coach: Fitzgerald Carter

Referee: Cecile Hinds

Courts Caribbean Classic

(25 March 2022)

Trinidad and Tobago 9 (Levi Garcia 27, 35, 40, Ryan Telfer 29, 59, Nicholas Dillon 68, 77, Reon Moore 79, John-Paul Rochford 81), Barbados 0 at Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Upcoming fixtures

(27 March 2022)

Guyana v Barbados, 7pm, Hasely Crawford Stadium;

(29 March 2022)

Trinidad and Tobago v Guyana, 7pm, Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Post by: Tallman on March 26, 2022, 03:56:09 PM
WATCH: Post-match comments from Head Coach Angus Eve after Trinidad and Tobago's 9-0 victory over Barbados

https://www.youtube.com/v/dwb212K4wV8
Post by: Tallman on March 26, 2022, 04:59:34 PM
Soca Warriors run riot over Bajans...shut out regional neighbours 9-0 in ‘Classic’ opener
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

AEK ATHENS midfielder Levi Garcia scored a first half hat-trick as Trinidad and Tobago’s senior men’s footballers comprehensively defeated Barbados 9-0 in the opening match of the Courts Caribbean Classic on Friday night at Hasely Crawford Stadium (HCS), Mucurapo.

The team will hope for a repeat performance on Tuesday night when they face Guyana from 7 p.m. at the HCS. All three teams are using the series as preparation for Group B CONCACAF Nations League action in mid-year.

Garcia (27’, 35’ & 40’), Ryan Telfer (29’ & 59’) and Nicholas Dillon (68’ & 77’), Reon Moore (79’) and Jean Paul Rochford (82’) all put in goals, on a night when head-coach Angus Eve was predictably pleased with the team’s enterprising football going forward, but probably still somewhat concerned with a few errant passes and unpunished lapses in midfield and defence.

“If we play to our true potential, we could compete with anyone in the CONCACAF zone,” said Eve. “We just need a little bit more work and a little bit more experience playing together. If we could get that, we will grow from strength to strength. When you get a team to kill, you kill them off. We showed our professionalism,” added Eve. “We could have dropped (our level of play).”

T&T were three goals ahead after just about half-an-hour, having also missed quite a few before the opening goal. Barbados goalkeeper Liam Brathwaite was called into early action, twice defending his goal with point blank saves both Levi Garcia and Telfer in the opening five minutes, while Andre Fortune also volleyed over from close-up soon over.

Eve put plenty attacking power on the field, the likes of Levi Garcia, his younger brother Judah, Telfer, Fortune, Keston Julien and Jesse Williams, all linking well and giving the appreciative crowd much to cheer, when going forward. Eve also gave a holding central midfield role to USA-based Mekeil Williams.

Barbados team manager Kent Hall acknowledged that his team needed to do more work and suffered against good forward transition and the physicality of the T&T footballers. “I think the boys would learn from it,” said Hall. “We have got to take it on the chin.”

Barbados did not have a look at the T&T goal until the 21st minute when T&T captain and goalkeeper Marvin Phillip was at full flight to keep out Mario Williams’ free-kick as it headed to the far corner. Phillip had made two other telling interventions before the first half ended.

Playing direct, route-one football, Barbados had a decent spell midway through the first half, but never the talent resources to exploit the moments when T&T looked less intent and assured.

It was one of those positive moments, when Barbados looked about to score the opening goal, when T&T struck from a quick counter-attack at the other end. Phillip quickly gathered the ball and punted down field to Garcia, who netted from an acute angle after going around the Bajan keeper.

Telfer powerfully put in the second two minutes later after a Fortune square ball, and Telfer’s fancy footwork and through-ball earned Garcia a simple tap past the keeper for his second goal. A powerful downward header gave Garcia his hat-trick and both Fortune and Telfer had further chances to score before the half ended.

“We saw a lot of good things to build on. We have seen the experience of playing abroad. Just a cut above the others,” stated T&T technical director Anton Corneal. “It could have been more goals.”

Coached by Trinidadian Russell Latapy, who did not travel with the team, Barbados looked the more eager to score early in the second half and would have except for central defender Kareem Moses sliding in to keep Hadan Holligan’s shot out of the goal.

T&T would wrap up the game with a few more goals, while Eve withdrew Levi Garcia, and also gave Duane Muckette, former national youth striker Nicholas Dillon, Jean Paul Rochford, Kevon Goddard, Neveal Hackshaw and Reon Moore a run.

Cutting inside, Telfer put a bullet off the crossbar for 5-0 and Dillon was on the field for about two minutes when he had a free look at the Barbados goal and scored for 6-0, before flicking the ball in from close-up for his second goal. Moore’s slashing run into the penalty area yielded an eighth goal.

Former youth team captain Rochford probably left the best for last when cutting in from wide and putting the ball into the roof of the net. The 4,000-5,000 fans who paid to see football left reasonably satisfied and gave the team a standing ovation at the end.

T&T squad

1. Marvin Phillip (GK) (captain); 23. Jesse Williams, 3. Kareem Moses, 2. Aubrey David, 16. Keston Julien; 17. Mekeil Williams (15. Neveal Hackshaw 74); 19. Noah Powder (24. Kevon Goddard 84), 8. Andre Fortune II (10. Duane Muckette 65); 7. Ryan Telfer (14. John-Paul Rochford 74), 11. Levi Garcia (9. Nicholas Dillon 65), 13. Judah Garcia (12. Reon Moore 74). Unused substitutes: 21. Denzil Smith (GK), 4. Leland Archer, 5. Samory Powder, 6. Radanfah Abu Bakr, 18. Triston Hodge, 20. Jabari Mitchell, 25. Justin Sadoo.

Barbados squad

18. Liam Brathwaite (GK); 20. Nicoli Brathwaite, 4. Mario Williams (2. Ricardio Morris 80), 8. Ackeel Applewhaite, 5. Jamaal Watson-Cummins (3. Ramon Manning 46); 6. Jomo Harris; 11. Azarel Croney, 13. Darico King (17. Akeem Hill 46), 10. Hadan Holligan (captain), 7. Nadre Butcher (14. Kevon Lucas 80); 19. Armando Lashley. Unused substitutes: 1. Kishmar Primus (GK), 15. Lemar Catlyn, 16. Shay Prescod, 12. Honor Bradshaw, 9. Keon Atkins.

Coach: Fitzgerald Carter.

Referee: Cecile Hinds

Watch Angus Eve's Post Match Reactions after 9-0 win over Barbados (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dwb212K4wV8)

Watch Levi "loving" first international hattrick feeling (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5_WiL-UaeGw)

Watch JP Rochford talks about his first international goal in T&T win over Barbados (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fqi-3HldDXA)

Watch Telfer : We executed in clinical style (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eRWv3iyJq6U)

WATCH: Highlights of Trinidad and Tobago's 9-0 hammering of Barbados

https://www.youtube.com/v/_ks8-8rv8n8
Post by: asylumseeker on March 27, 2022, 03:09:59 AM
An indication of the poverty of the opponent ... goal #2, proper finish by Telfer, but how often on the international stage has a goal borne fruit from a defender ghosting in from an offside position on a throw? Too easy.

NB: from an offside position vs actually being offside.

Post by: Deeks on March 27, 2022, 03:19:45 AM
I am not reading much into this. Barbados is at the stage were in, when we played the US and got hammered. Barbados was playing competitively for the first 27 mins. After first 2 goals, their defence became porous. We played better because we had overseas players. We need more stiffer opponents.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 27, 2022, 03:25:34 AM
Best goal of the 9: John-Paul Rochford!!! :applause:

Honorable mentions: Telfer, Moore and Garcia.

Post by: asylumseeker on March 27, 2022, 03:27:21 AM
I am not reading much into this. Barbados is at the stage were in, when we played the US and got hammered. Barbados was playing competitively for the first 27 mins. After first 2 goals, their defence became porous. We played better because we had overseas players. We need more stiffer opponents.

Precisely.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 27, 2022, 03:29:54 AM
Might be the level of opposition but Telfer was delivering at a notch above his prior recent showings. However, what's the Columbus Crew 2 reference about? Has he flown ahead of the paperwork in a Luke Singh kinda way?
Post by: Deeks on March 27, 2022, 03:36:13 AM
Might be the level of opposition but Telfer was delivering at a notch above his prior recent showings. However, what's the Columbus Crew 2 reference about? Has he flown ahead of the paperwork in a Luke Singh kinda way?

Columbus Crew 2 ! Maybe he playing for their second team. I don't know.
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 27, 2022, 06:17:10 AM
Yeah, B'dos was poor, no debate there.  That said, we have seen many times TT (as Angus said) play down to the level of the opponent.  It's a WIP, onto the next match and the "true" test will be in the NL matches
Post by: Deeks on March 27, 2022, 07:20:57 PM
I heard Guyana was beating Barbados 3-0 at halftime.
Post by: frico on March 28, 2022, 07:24:34 AM
I heard Guyana was beating Barbados 3-0 at halftime.
Final score Guyana 5 -Bim 0...goals in the 12,37,41,49 and 61 mins.One of the goals was a penalty in the 49th min.Guyana may be a better fight,they do have about 5 players from outside Guyana in quite minor leagues in England,Canada and one player in Portugal...no big deal.I hope we put a proper cutarse pon dem.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 28, 2022, 07:38:15 AM
“We have the local-based players training four days a week in Guyana and the only way to test their level of readiness is to give them that match exposure,” the Guyana coach explained. “[…] This first game we wanted to use the local players […] to measure the work we have done. Against Trinidad and Tobago, we will try to play more of the overseas-based players and try to make it a match.”

Sensible stuff from Coach Shabazz.
Post by: frico on March 28, 2022, 08:02:09 AM
“We have the local-based players training four days a week in Guyana and the only way to test their level of readiness is to give them that match exposure,” the Guyana coach explained. “[…] This first game we wanted to use the local players […] to measure the work we have done. Against Trinidad and Tobago, we will try to play more of the overseas-based players and try to make it a match.”

Sensible stuff from Coach Shabazz.
Leh : Shabaz play big till we shut em dong!!  :) :) :)
Post by: lefty on March 28, 2022, 08:21:25 AM
wish we could play this brave against opposition dat can actually hit back..........advantage ting.....we eh choose d opposition though

.............wonder if Latas was takin ah stand for what he knew would be ah disaster or hiding from it

d latter would be disappointing and ah very trini ting to do.......unfortunately

Post by: Deeks on March 28, 2022, 10:15:50 AM
I don’t know.  But most Caribbean teams had problems with preps. What else he needed.
Post by: lefty on March 28, 2022, 08:01:53 PM
wouldn' lie though d "team goal" dat dillon score 68' gives me hope.....can we dat at higher speed under pressure though ???
Post by: trini_stallion on March 29, 2022, 05:56:10 PM
honestly speaking guys...this Guyana team had me thinking we were playing against the team that gonna win the World Cup in Qatar. They literally have us on the back foot for extended periods, creating more chances, corners etc.. We cant string passes together in the midfield, yet alone getting into the final 3rd...Guyana is dominating us, the only player that making any sort of impact is Levi Garcia and Aubrey David
Post by: trini_stallion on March 29, 2022, 06:17:50 PM
1-0 guyana...penalty
Post by: trini_stallion on March 29, 2022, 07:02:44 PM
Levi had a penalty saved, then the keeper save a header from the corner originating from the penalty, which caused another corner; that Levi scored; 1-1...guyana dominated; we only played decent in the last 15 minutes and created good chances. Doesn't seem like there is good comradery; and I don't understands Eve's tactics in making such late subs with players that was playing level tata; powder being a big one, and I cant remember the other fella name, but he plays in USL, a shortman
Post by: lefty on March 29, 2022, 07:05:27 PM
honestly speaking guys...this Guyana team had me thinking we were playing against the team that gonna win the World Cup in Qatar. They literally have us on the back foot for extended periods, creating more chances, corners etc.. We cant string passes together in the midfield, yet alone getting into the final 3rd...Guyana is dominating us, the only player that making any sort of impact is Levi Garcia and Aubrey David

this is good, the regional teams have to challenge or we jus spinning top in mud.......fed up ah padding GD and feelin good jus to get bent over by CA and NA teams.

this good and it end 1-1 we move
Post by: lefty on March 29, 2022, 07:08:24 PM
Levi had a penalty saved, then the keeper save a header from the corner originating from the penalty, which caused another corner; that Levi scored; 1-1...guyana dominated; we only played decent in the last 15 minutes and created good chances. Doesn't seem like there is good comradery; and I don't understands Eve's tactics in making such late subs with players that was playing level tata; powder being a big one, and I cant remember the other fella name, but he plays in USL, a shortman

getting back sumting after suffering and not playing well for ah long period.........this is good......we move
Post by: Flex on March 30, 2022, 12:04:36 AM
Garcia saves Soca Warriors in the death as Guyana held 1-1.
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday).

IT was a tale of two penalties as Trinidad and Tobago drew 1-1 in Guyana in the final match of the invitational tri-nation series – the Courts Caribbean Classic, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo on Tuesday.

Neil Danns put Guyana ahead with a 58th minute penalty but Levi Garcia equalised in the first minute of added-on time, two minutes after squandering an opportunity to equalise from the penalty spot.

However, T&T claimed the tournament trophy on the basis of a superior goal-difference to Guyana. T&T hammered Barbados 9-0 on Friday while Guyana whipped the Bajans 5-0; T&T had a better goal-difference of plus-four.

It was a tightly-fought affair for most of the match, with a number of hard tackles, as each team cancelled out each other, especially in the middle of the park.

Garcia, again playing in the false-nine role, met a Noah Powder corner but his header went wide, after 14 minutes of play, while Ryan Telfer was the beneficiary of a good pass from Garcia, in the 43rd minute, but his low shot, from the edge of the penalty box, narrowly missed the mark.

Guyana, who were combative but hardly penetrative in the first half, got a chance to open the scoring in the 57th minute, when referee Crystal Sobers awarded a debatable penalty when T&T right-back Jesse Williams appeared to get all ball from a tackle on Trayon Bobb.

And Danns kept his composure to send T&T goalkeeper and captain Marvin Phillip the wrong way, from the spot.

There were numerous substitutions which affected the flow of the match but the tempo changed in the last ten minutes, when T&T tried to level the scores, while Guyana appeared to indulge in a series of time-wasting tactics.

Rochford broke the offside trap, in the 80th minute, and got around Guyana goalie Akel Clarke, but his effort was blocked, off the line, by a retreating Jeremy Garret.

Five minutes later, Garcia picked up a spectacular cross from the right by Nicholas Dillon but his shot was denied by a well-timed block from centre-back Quincy Adams.

Rochford, who injected pace in the T&T attack, got a call in his favour in the 88th minute, when he was upended in the box from Guyana right-back Leo Lovell. But Clarke guessed correctly and went to his right to save Garcia’s effort.

Two minutes later, Garcia made amends as he rose above the defence to head home a corner from Rochford. However, there was a few security officials at the ground, as spectators rushed on to the running track to join in the celebrations.

(Teams)

Trinidad and Tobago (4-2-3-1): 1.Marvin Phillip (GK) (captain); 23.Jesse Williams, 3.Kareem Moses, 2.Aubrey David, 18.Triston Hodge; 24.Kevon Goddard (10.Duane Muckette 68), 15.Neveal Hackshaw (17.Mekeil Williams 63); 12.Judah Garcia (14.John-Paul Rochford 63), 19.Noah Powder (9.Nicholas Dillon 84), 7.Ryan Telfer (13.Reon Moore 46); 11.Levi Garcia.

Unused substitutes: 21.Denzil Smith (GK), 4.Leland Archer, 5.Samory Powder, 6.Radanfah Abu Bakr, 8.Marvin Waldrop, 16.Alvin Jones, 20.Jabari Mitchell, 25.Justin Sadoo.

Guyana (4-4-1-1): 1.Akel Clarke (GK); 2.Leo Lovell, 19.Quincy Adams, 4.Jeremy Garrett, 8.Samuel Cox; 10.Omari Glasgow (11.Kelsey Benjamin 60), 23.Daniel Wilson (captain), 16.Neil Danns  (9.Clive Nobrega 76), 20.Trayon Bobb (5.Shemar Fraser 76); 6.Nathan Moriah-Welch; 17.Tyrell Ondaan (14.Jamanine Beckles 66).

Unused substitutes: 18.Ronaldo Blair (GK), 3.Kevin Layne, 7.Jobe Caesar, 12.Pernell Schultz, 13.Jamal Pereira, 15.Marcus Wilson, 21.Javier George.

Coach: Jamaal Shabazz

Referee: Crystal Sobers

Watch: Jamaal Shabazz's Post Game Reactions after last night's 1-1 draw with Trinidad and Tobago (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lf0E477o_O8)

Watch: Check out Angus Eve's Post-Match reactions after T&T's 1-1 draw with Guyana on Tuesday night (https://www.youtube.com/watch?app=desktop&v=UwtpbWQJfyw&fbclid=IwAR3Cdiu-rQSb5IF7Cpnz27fUsp268YvvKsBxQxbSwhdYhLb8Ga0EH_zdQOY)

Post by: Deeks on March 30, 2022, 04:20:45 AM
Unlike the Barbados game where they score 9 goal, this one was very competitive. This game was a good game for TT, win, draw or loss. It showed we not there yet. We have a lot of work to do. I am glad Guyana had us on the back foot.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 30, 2022, 04:51:03 AM

Doh brakes from calling de man name. Ah feel yuh wanted to put us in de neighborhood without pointing at de house.  Of the starters, these players are in the USL: Williams, Hodge and Hackshaw. If we isolate for height, then ...  yeah, iz dah house right dey. :rotfl:

Shabazz was UP for this game and he didn't hide it. Statement made and he ready to return to Guyana as a hero because the Brazilian would probably have been slapped around and definitely would not have played Danns. :rotfl:

Post by: lefty on March 30, 2022, 07:11:36 AM
Unlike the Barbados game where they score 9 goal, this one was very competitive. This game was a good game for TT, win, draw or loss. It showed we not there yet. We have a lot of work to do. I am glad Guyana had us on the back foot.

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: lefty on March 30, 2022, 07:20:50 AM
full game here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uup3Onj_xyU
Post by: vb on March 30, 2022, 07:22:08 AM
What was the attendance for the game?
Post by: lefty on March 30, 2022, 07:34:26 AM
Guyana did not look bad at all though decent press
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 30, 2022, 08:13:11 AM

what position was he playing powder in ?
Post by: lefty on March 30, 2022, 09:05:39 AM
some more takeaways even though Guyana had us under pressure they could have easily lost this game if wasn't for some last minute defending on ah couple of occasions, d Ref rigid interpretation of d tackle for d Guyana pen was unfortunate dat wasn't ah foul d player was taken in d follow through not d first contact......knew exactly where d pen was going too d taker didn't do much to disguise it.....Levi is ah decent false 9.......Dennis had ah good idea by playing Levi as ah striker, he jus play him as d d wrong type.........False 9 suits Levi a lot more than winger, better fit for his mentality and approach...........even though he a lot less selfish now
Post by: Tallman on March 30, 2022, 12:51:09 PM
Post-match comments from Eve

https://www.youtube.com/v/UwtpbWQJfyw

Post-match comments from Shabazz

https://www.youtube.com/v/Lf0E477o_O8
Post by: Tallman on March 30, 2022, 02:08:11 PM
WATCH: Highlights of Trinidad and Tobago's 🇹🇹 1-1 draw with Guyana 🇬🇾

https://www.youtube.com/v/9ukiZajL_JA
Post by: frico on March 30, 2022, 04:43:17 PM
Judging from the highlights we should have won,first thing,it was never a penalty,it was a great tackle and he even come out with the ball,you couldn't get a cleaner tackle.We had clear cut chances,abou 3 and a couple half chances.This was a good Guyana team and we didn't take them lightly.I see TT getting better,and this is a very encouraging start.
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 31, 2022, 06:17:19 AM
some more takeaways even though Guyana had us under pressure they could have easily lost this game if wasn't for some last minute defending on ah couple of occasions, d Ref rigid interpretation of d tackle for d Guyana pen was unfortunate dat wasn't ah foul d player was taken in d follow through not d first contact......knew exactly where d pen was going too d taker didn't do much to disguise it.....Levi is ah decent false 9.......Dennis had ah good idea by playing Levi as ah striker, he jus play him as d d wrong type.........False 9 suits Levi a lot more than winger, better fit for his mentality and approach...........even though he a lot less selfish now
So why clubs developed & play him as a winger then ?
Post by: Peong on March 31, 2022, 08:00:10 AM
Yeah I not sure what the ref was thinking, they should not have had a penalty, and then Reon Joseph looked like he got fouled in the box, no call, then on our missed penalty the goalie was off his line before the ball was kicked. The officials should have spotted that. Nice to see them persevere and get a late goal
Post by: Brownsugar on March 31, 2022, 09:49:58 AM
So we win a trophy??!!  nice man.... :yawning:
Post by: lefty on March 31, 2022, 12:27:46 PM
So why clubs developed & play him as a winger then ?

um he inverts a lot for his club so it's pretty similar...........he was drifting into wide areas for us in these games, and creating room for others with his inside/out running the dude is not a "traditional" winger in Greece either he does traditional winger things but he is ah wide/inside forward mostly there is ah lil difference

Add: He can also play "for himself" more to our benefit than he would otherwise as a winger......IMHO
Post by: Tallman on April 05, 2022, 05:32:07 PM
Golden opportunity
By Fazeer Mohammed (T&T Express)

It really doesn’t matter whether or not the figure of 10,000 given as the attendance for last Tuesday’s game at the Hasely Crawford Stadium is reasonably accurate.

What matters is that football fans in this country are showing yet again that they are willing to come out in support of the national team notwithstanding all the challenges associated with the governance of the nation’s most popular sport. And this is not just about the present FIFA-imposed “normalisation” period but decades of instability, financial impropriety and other associated bacchanal which have combined to successfully turn generations of would-be supporters completely off from any sort of real connection with the local game.

Of course, it can also be argued that the encouraging turnout for the 1-1 draw with Guyana had more to do with the continuing easing of Covid-19 regulations and therefore many who would not normally have entertained the thought of parting with a blue note (or $150 for the covered stand) for such a game jumped at the opportunity after almost two years of stifling restrictions.

Still, the evidence across several decades is that the average Trinidad and Tobago follower of sport, and in this case football, is no different from his or her counterpart anywhere else in the world. We often lament how fickle and lacking in loyalty we are, and there is a legitimate argument in that direction, but let’s put it this way: if we were to take into account the comparative differences in population sizes and other advantages of scale, would Brazil and England internationals at the Maracana or Wembley be as consistently well attended if the domestic games in those countries were riddled with as much chaos and uncertainty as prevail here?

Look, everyone loves a winner and indeed our bandwagonnist tendencies are well established. There must be something though in the argument which suggests that consistency and stability in the administration of the game and the operationalisation of the sport through a proper zonal and national league structure (all age-groups and both genders), reinforced with an effective communications strategy — especially in this era of such a powerful phenomena as social media — is precisely the type of foundation required to properly harness the sporting, social and commercial potential which football in Trinidad and Tobago surely possesses.

But all of that comes at a cost, which is precisely where we run into a solid concrete wall of suspicion, because unless the government of the day seizes an opportunity to win votes for whichever election is around the corner, which private business do you know of, big or small, will put money in the hands of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association with the confidence that it will go for the intended purpose of establishing a solid bedrock for the sport?

So unless someone or some group of well-meaning persons can gain enough support to actually get into positions of authority and influence in national football (that is a challenge in itself given the politics of the TTFA’s structure), we seem to be locked into this perpetual mode of cynicism brought about by an endemic culture of corruption and outright thievery which we just cannot seem to escape, even as fans show so very occasionally that they are yearning for something to identify with on the football pitch.

Obviously wearing the national colours at senior level and getting to a World Cup finals are the ultimate ambitions. However only a very tiny minority will achieve that. Yes, almost every member nation of FIFA constructs its national programme with an eye to the next World Cup qualification campaign. That is too short-sighted though and quite frankly, too ambitious given our many limitations and challenges.

We need to lift our heads and look toward the horizon, not ignoring the immediate objectives, hopes and dreams of today’s crop of blossoming talents but also not losing sight of the greater objective of making football our truly national game where the net is thrown as wide as possible to harness as much of the talent that is available.

Obviously much of that involvement will be recreational. Not everyone aspires to the highest competitive level, or even any level of competition for that matter. Yet that is also a vital component of any sport, not just football, as an essential element in the social fabric where healthy sporting activity is available and encouraged, especially now as our youngsters are gradually emerging from two years of lockdown and where many, many more have to be dragged away from their addictive devices and urged to take to the open fields of play once again.

A couple thousand more fans turning up for a single game is no new dawn for local football, but a reminder of golden opportunities we continue to squander.