Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on April 20, 2022, 04:54:25 PM

Title: 2022 Concacaf Women's Championship Thread
Post by: Tallman on April 20, 2022, 04:54:25 PM
T&T women drawn in group with Canada, Panama and Costa Rica
T&T Express

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior women’s football team has been drawn in Group B after CONCACAF yesterday conducted the official draw for the 2022 CONCACAF W Championship (CWC).

The tournament is scheduled to be played in Monterrey, Mexico, between July 4-18 and will serve as the qualification tournament to the FIFA Women’s World Cup (FWWC) 2023 while the champions will qualify directly to the 2024 Paris Olympic Games.

The region’s best eight participating national teams were divided into four pots based on the FIFA Women’s Ranking of June 2021. The T&T women are in group alongside Canada, Costa Rica and Panama while Group A consists of the United States, Mexico, Jamaica and Haiti.

After the round-robin group stage play, the top two teams in each group will move on to the semi-finals and will qualify directly to the Women’s World Cup (four teams). Meanwhile, the third-placed teams in each group will qualify for a Women’s World Cup Intercontinental playoff (two teams).

The semi-finals, final and third-place match will be played in a single elimination format, with the champions qualifying for both the 2024 Paris Olympics and the inaugural CONCACAF W Gold Cup, to be held in 2024. The runners-up and third-place teams will also square off in a CONCACAF Olympic play-in series, scheduled for September 2023. The winners of that play-in series will also qualify for the 2024 Paris Olympics and the 2024 CONCACAF W Gold Cup.

The complete match schedule will be announced by CONCACAF in the coming days. T&T reached this stage of the Championship after a late equaliser by Lauryn Hutchinson gave them a 2-2 draw against Guyana last WEEK Tuesday at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Tobago, which was good enough to guarantee that they topped the group and qualified for the next phase.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FQvtHD2WQDYazgY?format=png&name=large)
Title: Re: 2022 Concacaf Women's Championship Thread
Post by: Tallman on April 20, 2022, 04:56:54 PM
Match Schedule.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FQz64gLXsAMXw3V?format=png&name=4096x4096)
Post by: Tallman on April 20, 2022, 04:58:55 PM
“Lions” by Skip Marley featuring Cedella Marley. The ConcacafW Championship's official song.

https://www.youtube.com/v/6raiPaYlNIo
Post by: 1-868 on April 21, 2022, 01:57:58 PM
Kenwyn Jones virtual press conference after the draw

https://youtu.be/qhrpK56M3vs
Post by: Tallman on April 22, 2022, 03:54:57 PM
Kenwyne Jones: Nice draw, Women must buckle down at Concacaf Championship
By Roger Seepersad (T&T Express)

The Trinidad and Tobago senior women’s football team head coach Kenwyne Jones said his side will be hunting wins as they look to make an impression in the 2022 CONCACAF W Championship (CWC) set to be staged in Monterrey, Mexico, between July 4-18.

The tournament will serve as the qualification tournament to the FIFA Women’s World Cup (FWWC) 2023 while the champions will qualify directly to the 2024 Paris Olympic Games.

The region’s best eight participating national teams were divided into four pots based on the FIFA Women’s Ranking of June 2021. The T&T women are in Group B alongside Canada, Costa Rica and Panama while Group A consists of the United States, Mexico, Jamaica and Haiti.

The top two teams in each group after the round robin phase will qualify for the 2023 Women’s World Cup.

Speaking about the draw, Jones described it as “favourable”, but noted that the T&T women will have to “buckle down” and make sure they are prepared for every match as they look to secure a World Cup berth.

“The night of the draw was a fantastic night and I think we were all anxious to see who we would be matched up against in the grouping for the Women’s Championship come July. I think at the end we were kind of pleased with the fellow participants in our group,” Jones told the media yesterday.

“We know that stepping up to this level of CONCACAF qualification, all opponents are going to be tough and you will have biases in terms of who you will rather face and I think in the end, we did get a favourable draw but at the same time we are going to buckle down and prepare for each match of that group stage,” he added.

Asked about facing Canada in the opening match of the tournament on July 5, Jones said: “We know football is a sport that anything can happen on the day. We are not going there to hope for the best.

“Yes, we know we are playing against one of the best teams in the world but I believe in the players and their talents and I do believe we can play football and I have to give them the confidence to do that on the big stage.”

Jones continued: “I am not going in thinking I am going to set up in a certain way that we don’t lose by too many goals..this is about football and being able to have confidence in the way we play and how we announce ourselves at this stage of the competition because if we do not set that type of example, we will continue to have an inferiority complex when it comes to confidence.”

The coach said he had “100 per cent belief in this squad,” adding, “it is not going to be a master plan to park the bus if at all; we are going to try to win matches to secure qualification.”

Jones also believes his squad will be going into the final stage of World Cup qualification on a high following a tense draw against Guyana in Tobago, which he said added a certain quality to the team.

T&T needed a draw against Guyana to advance and they earned a hard-fought come-from-behind 2-2 result.

“I was happy to see that bit of character added to the DNA of the team because it is important for you to have that,” Jones said of the game.

“It added strength to the team; it added character and a necessary piece to the puzzle that we would need going forward because it is a mentality that you want to be able to foster within a team environment that then extends to the national programme,” the T&T coach concluded.

2022 CONCACAF W Championship schedule (T&T matches)

(Kick-off times to be confirmed at a later date and the order of matches is subject to change)

Tuesday, July 5 – Estadio BBVA
Canada vs T&T

Friday, July 8 – Estadio Universitario
T&T vs Costa Rica

Monday, July 11 - Estadio BBVA
Panama vs T&T
Post by: Tallman on April 22, 2022, 03:58:03 PM
SportsMax previews the CONCACAF Women's World Cup Qualifying final round Group B matchups for Trinidad and Tobago  with T&T head coach Kenwyne Jones.

https://www.youtube.com/v/4EjEx_ApqEI
Post by: asylumseeker on April 23, 2022, 05:15:38 AM
SportsMax previews the CONCACAF Women's World Cup Qualifying final round Group B matchups for Trinidad and Tobago  with T&T head coach Kenwyne Jones.

It appears that Kenwyne thinks he - at some point in time - made a clear and definite statement regarding the departure of the former NT captain and the now avid scorer of goals in Turkey, but he has not in actuality been sufficiently definitive. Had he been, the questions would not be persistent several weeks after the precipitating events.

While I understand the balance he has sought to strike, he could have saved himself from the persistence of the questions had a different approach to engaging public comment on the decisions made been taken.

It has arrived to the point that he can identify the pursuit of the line of inquiry BEFORE the inquisition is fully formed. That standing alone is instructive.

What we are left with is - as an astute observer noted - he wants to appear flexible, but solely on his terms. That standing alone is also instructive.

Surely there is a more expansive interpretation of "in the national interest" other than a resolute, entrenched position.
Post by: Tallman on April 23, 2022, 12:22:18 PM
Jones: We need to step up to compete on the big stage
By Roger Seepersad (T&T Express)

While he has seen improvement in the Trinidad and Tobago senior women’s football team since taking over as head coach, Kenwyne Jones assessed that they will have to “step it up a couple of notches” as they head into the 2022 CONCACAF W Championship which is the final stage of qualification for next year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup.

For the CONCACAF W Championship, the T&T women were drawn in a Group B alongside Canada, Costa Rica and Panama while Group A consists of the United States, Mexico, Jamaica and Haiti.

Jones, speaking to the media during a virtual media conference on Thursday, outlined some of his plans in the build-up to the W Championship, which includes practice matches and getting acclimatised to the high altitude of Mexico.

“We know it is World Cup qualification and every match is important. We’ve gotten to stages before where we fell at the final hurdle and hopefully, we’ll be able to go over this hurdle come this tournament, but it starts with the first step and the first training here and it starts with how we go about our training every day to get better, fitter and stronger,” said Jones.

“I think over the six months I have been with the team, they have grown from strength to strength and I applaud that...going into this tournament a lot of things will have to (be) step(ped) up in terms of the support for the team and preparations,” he emphasised.

Asked about the composition of the team for the upcoming assignment, Jones said they will get a chance to see a few more players in training over the next two months and expects the competition for places in the starting line-up to become tighter.

“I think the pool of players are already settled. Whether or not players were available at the times we wanted them to be a part of the camps and qualification games was another story. But we are going to have a few other players who are part of the pool that we are going to see over the next two months or so, before the tournament, and hopefully that will further add to the level of the squad and the competitiveness and then give us a good headache going into the tournament,” the T&T coach explained.

In terms of the team’s preparations, Jones said practice matches will be crucial but will depend on when all the players will be available to come together as a team.

“I think the way we will be able to step up preparations before this tournament is based on when we can get all the players in,” he noted. “I know quite a few of the college players are graduating at the end of the month, so they will filter in sometime in early May. The pro players, a few of them are finishing in early May as well, so we will be able to get the players in as early as possible.

Jones continued: “We have been planning for the long time in terms of what we need to do and how we need to prepare and the sort of things we need to add. Hopefully, with collaboration with the federation, we will be able to have a couple matches. I know locally once we have the squad together, we will have a few training matches and maybe a couple of matches before we go off the Mexico.”

“The thought process is to be in the same altitude probably 10-12 days prior to our first match so we can get acclimatised to the conditions. Then we will go into the tournament with all our analysis of the teams…so I don’t have any worries about what our preparations will be,” Jones added.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 23, 2022, 02:12:14 PM

It appears that Kenwyne thinks he - at some point in time - made a clear and definite statement regarding the departure of the former NT captain and the now avid scorer of goals in Turkey, but he has not in actuality been sufficiently definitive. Had he been, the questions would not be persistent several weeks after the precipitating events.

While I understand the balance he has sought to strike, he could have saved himself from the persistence of the questions had a different approach to engaging public comment on the decisions made been taken.

It has arrived to the point that he can identify the pursuit of the line of inquiry BEFORE the inquisition is fully formed. That standing alone is instructive.

What we are left with is - as an astute observer noted - he wants to appear flexible, but solely on his terms. That standing alone is also instructive.

Surely there is a more expansive interpretation of "in the national interest" other than a resolute, entrenched position.

Yeah, this is unfortunate to say the least.  One wouod think given what KJ himself witnessed as a national player with respect to player selection he would rise above that in the name of national interest.  As tiny as we are we need our best players always...tragic that this story simple recurs with every generation of football...
Post by: ABTrini on April 26, 2022, 11:44:51 AM
Unfortunately this scenario has played out many times before. Remember Samora? oh gosh all the talk of how he could have been a savior and valuable asset leading up to 2006.

Oh gosh doh furget Deleon? and I am sure there have been many others who for what ever reasons have snubbed national selection or have had their own personal stance.

At the end of the day, as fans we have an outsider's view but what happens among players and coaches are a perspective we are not privy to. If a player warrants selection and  if their  philosophy aligns with coach's expectations then it makes for a more compatible meshing of expectations.
 Ultimately, the coach has to make a call as what is most  beneficial for the cohesion and betterment for the team and if a ' star' has to  dimmed, then so be it.
Our football ethos has relied for too long on  having ' start boi' mentality as opposed to  formidable team structures- offense by committee defense by  committee.

Observing and reading about a player of this caliber achieving success would be enticing for anyone to advocate for her inclusion on the national team but if it comes with  a toxicity then do you really want to gamble on  a short term fix  over a long term build?
Modify message
Post by: ABTrini on April 27, 2022, 08:37:26 AM
"Great moments are born from great opportunity, and that's what you have here ladies. That's what you've earned here . One game; if we played them ten times, they might win nine. But not this game, not in Mexico."

Go out , and run with them;  stay with them, and  shut them down because you can. You , have to see yourselves as the greatest women's football team TnT has produced.

You prepared yourselves for this moment to be  players—every one of you, and you were meant to be there . This is your time. Their time is done. It's over. I'm sick and tired of hearing about what a great football team the other countries have  . Screw 'em. This is your time. Now go out there and take it!"

Take this post it in your room read it every day; believe in it and lets turn thoughts into actions and beliefs into a reality. Ah taking meh pension money to travel to Mexico to cheer you on
Post by: Tallman on June 22, 2022, 01:21:12 PM
Kenwyne Jones: Women Warriors have talent to reach World Cup 2023
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (T&T Newsday)

TRINIDAD and Tobago senior women’s football team coach Kenwyne Jones believes his squad possesses the courage and intensity needed to secure a coveted place at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

The Women Warriors enter their final round of World Cup qualifying at the 2022 Concacaf W Championships (CWC), which kicks off in Monterrey, Mexico on July 4.

Locally-based team staff and players leave for Mexico on Thursday morning and await the arrival of their foreign-based teammates later on in the day.

T&T open their campaign against 2020 Tokyo Olympic gold medallists Canada on July 5. Joining them in Group B are Costa Rica and Panama. Group A consists of reigning FIFA Women’s World Cup and CWC champions USA, Mexico, Jamaica and Haiti.

The CWC group stage runs until July 11. At the end of round-robin play, the top two teams from each group will move on to the semi-finals and in doing so, qualify directly for the 2023 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

Meanwhile, the third-placed teams in each group will qualify for a 2023 World Cup intercontinental playoff.

Canada are ranked sixth on the FIFA women’s rankings, Costa Rica 37th, Panama 57th and T&T, a distant 76th, the lowest-ranked team at the CWC.

However, Jones remains confident his team has the depth to make it to the CWC semi-finals and book T&T’s first-ever spot at a Women’s World Cup.

“My goal is for them to qualify. I told the team from day one that I do believe in them one hundred per cent and I believe they will qualify. It’s just about going through the stages, ticking the boxes and working really hard to get there.

“We have the talent to do so. The composition of the squad is wonderful at this point and we’re going to go out and give it our best shot.

“We’re just looking forward to it. I think everyone is at the edge of their seat right now, just wanting to lead, to get through the process, and we’re at that point now. I can say that you will see the best of the ladies because this is sometimes a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity,” he said.

Jones confirmed the team would undergo an eight-day pre-tournament training camp in Mexico. Twenty-five players have made the trip but two will be dropped ahead of the CWC.

At the camp, T&T will play three practice matches, two against a Mexican club and an in-house game. These three games will mirror T&T’s CWC round-robin match schedule to help players acclimatise to gameplay, training and recovery.

Skipper Karyn Forbes, who picked up a small injury in the CWC qualifying round in April, has fully recovered and is raring to go.

For the camp, Jones said, “We’re going out there to acclimatise and work on everything else tactically, get familiar with the surroundings and prepare for the tournament.

“It would give us an opportunity to see different combinations and work tactically on things we would like to put forward for the team during the tournament.”

He also expressed confidence in his wealth of youthful and experienced players on the team.

“Being able to help the ladies on this team, the ones who’ve been here before at this stage of qualification, to realise a dream. We have quite a number of new, young players in the squad that should be on the platform for the next ten years.

“Having them be able to experience something like this at this stage to experience something like this so it will fuel their desire and thirst to continue to represent T&T at this stage.

“I think we’ve done some excellent work so far in being able to integrate new and younger players. You have to be able to blend the squad properly,” he added.

The former national striker believes if T&T qualify for the 2023 World Cup, it would inspire more foreign-based players with T&T lineage to come forward and expand the squad’s player pool.

Jones said the CWC is necessary and integral for how we look at, view and change our level of respect for women’s football.

“I think it’s the best time for us to be able to get to that other level as we know we were close in the past. Hopefully, we get to our end goal and it will then set the chain reaction for what is necessary for grassroots.

“For the future, hopefully, us qualifying, the games that we’ve had up to this point, will help others out there who can represent T&T to want get involved and hopefully the programme will continue in that regard,” he closed.

The CWC semi-finals on July 14 at Estadio Universitario, and the final and third-place match on July 18 at Estadio BBVA, will be played in a single-elimination format, with the champion qualifying for both the 2024 Paris Olympics and the inaugural Concacaf W Gold Cup (CWGC), to be held in 2024.

The runner-up and third-place teams will also square off in a Concacaf Olympic play-in series, scheduled for September 2023. The winner of that play-in series will also qualify for the 2024 Paris Olympics and the 2024 CWGC.

T&T Team for Concacaf W Championships Pre-Tournament Camp

Goalkeepers - Kimika Forbes, Makida Herbert, Klil Keshwar, Tenesha Palmer

Defenders - Rhea Belgrave, Chelsi Jadoo, Shaunalee Govia, Shady Stoute, Victoria Swift, Lauryn Hutchinson

Midfielders - Liana Hinds, Amaya Elis, Asha James, Chelcy Ralph, Karyn Forbes (captain), Kedie Johnson, Sarah De Gannes, Tori Paul

Forwards - Raenah Campbell, Cayla Mc Farlane, Maya Matouk, Maria-Frances Serrant, Edna Konte, Jolie St Louis, Brianna Austin

Staff - Kenwyne Jones (coach), Carlos Edwards (assistant coach), James Baird (goalkeeper coach), Joanne Daniel (manager), Anyl Gopeesingh (doctor), Rejan Chin (rehab specialist), Terry Johnson-Jeremiah (equipment manager), Atiba Downes (strength and conditioning coach), Andre Sooklal (media officer), Alexandria Olton (sport psychologist), Dean Tuitt (trainer), Kylla Charles (massage therapist)

https://www.youtube.com/v/x8PZtC2-tRg
Post by: Toussaint on June 23, 2022, 01:51:25 PM
Wow! Staff = 12? That's interesting. Good luck.
Post by: maxg on June 23, 2022, 07:48:28 PM

Probably volunteers - trip and all-inclusive hotel.. why not ?  ;)
Post by: Deeks on June 23, 2022, 11:54:32 PM

Probably volunteers - trip and all-inclusive hotel.. why not ?  ;)

This tournament is for all the the marbles. Both WC and Olympics. I guess they putting all the resources in this tournament.
Post by: Toussaint on June 26, 2022, 08:01:02 AM
Heads up! I watched Costa Rica dominated and beat Haiti 2-1 last night. They are no joke. Any team that can dominate and beat Haiti with all those high performers playing in France is a real contender. Trinidad will have a tough time versus Costa Rica.

In my opinion, Trinidad will need to beat Panama and fight hard for a point from either Canada or Costa Rica. not an easy task considering Costa Rica's level and Canada being the defending Olympic champion.

Although Group A is the group of death, I believe the Caribbean has a good chance to send another member to the world cup through this group. Haiti and Jamaica will play last. I am hoping that at least one of the two will earn a point from USA or Mexico. A tall task but it happened before. In this scenario, the team with no point should just play its subs and let the other Caribbean team grab the qualification. Central American teams do this all the time. A team is not required to play specific players. Of course, if both teams still have a chance to qualify, it's war!

Post by: Sando prince on June 28, 2022, 05:24:40 AM
What should we expect next week from this Kenwyne Jones coached Women team at CONCACAF Championship? https://tinyurl.com/ysbeukd9

Post by: Tallman on July 04, 2022, 02:51:51 PM
Jones: Trinidad and Tobago 'looking much stronger' ahead of Concacaf Women's Championship

THE TRINIDAD and Tobago women’s football team recorded a win and a loss in their warm-up matches earlier this week ahead of their opening Concacaf W Championship clash against reigning Olympic champions Canada.

The match kicks off on Tuesday from 10 pm (T&T time) at the Estadio BBVA, Guadalupe, Mexico.

On Sunday, the Women Warriors defeated University of Monterrey, Mexico 1-0, courtesy a goal from Tori Paul, but fell 2-0 to Mexican top-flight club CF Monterrey on Thursday.

T&T coach Kenwyne Jones said the warm-ups should have given the team ample time to acclimatise to Mexican conditions ahead of Tuesday’s Group B clash against Canada.

“Like everything else, it’s been up and down. It’s nothing that we haven’t expected.

"It’s our seventh day here and we ended with an exercise. So we expect the players now to be, after the exercise, fully adapted and us looking much stronger going forward into the tournament,” Jones said.

The T&T coach affirmed their second warm-up match was a “tough one for us physically,” playing in hot conditions.

“I think at the time we played, with the heat and everything else – especially in the first half, I think we were a bit slow, a bit sluggish. We picked things up in the second half, which was good to see.

“But all in all, it was a very good exercise for us today and we’re going to recover and get back down to training to get ready for the tournament.”

Also in the group are Costa Rica and Panama. Group A consists of reigning FIFA Women’s World Cup and CWC champions USA, Mexico, Jamaica and Haiti.

Up against FIFA’s number-six-ranked Canada, Jones, the former T&T men's team captain, said it will be an uphill task but the T&T team plans to give it their all.

“We have to make sure that we are on point for every game that we play. Not to mention we’re playing Canada in the first game. We do expect a very tough fight because they’re a very good team. But we are going to get down to business and continue to prepare as we did.

“We will continue to work on team shape, offensively and defensively, what we do in transition, our set pieces like any other coach preparing for the tournament.”

After Tuesday's opener, T&T then play Costa Rica on Friday and Panama on Monday. Both matches start at 7pm (T&T time).

At the end of round-robin play, the top two teams from each group advance to the semifinals and in doing so, qualify directly for the 2023 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

The third-placed teams in each group will qualify for a 2023 World Cup intercontinental playoff.

T&T Final Team

Goalkeepers - Kimika Forbes. Klil Keshwar, Tenesha Palmer

Defenders - Liana Hinds, Rhea Belgrave, Victoria Swift, Chelsi Jadoo, Shaunalee Govia, Shadi Cecily Stoute, Lauryn Hutchinson

Midfielders - Amaya Ellis, Asha James, Chelcy Ralph, Karyn Forbes (captain), Kedie Johnson, Sarah De Gannes, Tori Paul

Forwards - Maya Matouk, Maria-Frances Serrant, Raenah Campbell, Jolie St Louis, Cayla McFarlane, Brianna Austin
Post by: Tallman on July 04, 2022, 03:41:25 PM
Head Coach Kenwyne Jones chats with the media after Trinidad and Tobago Women's final preparation match ahead of the 2022 Concacaf Women's Championship.

https://www.youtube.com/v/smq6EURx9TY

Trinidad and Tobago Women's Assistant Coach Carlos Edwards chats about  adjusting to the environment in Mexico and the preparations for Tuesday's opening Concacaf W clash with Canada.

https://www.youtube.com/v/_u4W2ZRrpM4

Trinidad and Tobago defender Lauryn Hutchinson chats about adjusting to the environment in Mexico and the preparations for Tuesday's opening Concacaf W clash with Canada.

https://www.youtube.com/v/CAHpOq2xVSE
Post by: ABTrini on July 05, 2022, 10:57:00 AM
 Here is a Canadian perspective on how they see their chances: " ah mackoing' dem

https://www.tsn.ca/meaghen-johnson-canada-set-for-concacaf-w-championship-opener-1.1821255 (ftp://www.tsn.ca/meaghen-johnson-canada-set-for-concacaf-w-championship-opener-1.1821255)
Post by: Tallman on July 05, 2022, 04:14:51 PM
Women Warriors shake off challenges ahead of tough Canada clash

AMID several pre-tournament challenges, the Trinidad and Tobago women’s football team is ready to deliver a fearless showing in their opening Concacaf W Championship clash against reigning Olympic champions Canada on Tuesday.

The match kicks off at Estadio BBVA Bancomer in Mexico from 10pm (T&T time).

Kenwyne Jones, Women Warriors head coach, confirmed there were some hiccups in their preparations in Mexico over the past two weeks, which led to some minor injuries and delayed acclimatisation within the team.

However, Jones and captain Karyn Forbes, remain set on delivering a strong performance against Canada and will be brazenly gunning for three points in their Group B opener. “The conditions haven’t been the best. We’ve been training on fields that have been really hard. It contributed to some niggles and injuries. There was a water shortage or problem out here and it’s very humid.

“The amount of time we’ve been out here contributed to some of the injuries that have been happening. We are still going to put out a very good team against Canada and we will have a very good team against Costa Rica and Panama as well,” Jones said during Monday’s pre-match press conference.

T&T play Costa Rica on Friday (7pm) and Panama on Monday (7pm).

At the end of round-robin play, the top two teams from each group advance to the semifinals and in doing so, qualify directly for the 2023 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand. The third-placed teams in each group will qualify for a 2023 World Cup intercontinental playoff. The T&T women played two warm up matches prior, winning 1-0 against University of Monterrey and losing the other 2-0 against top flight Mexican women’s club CF Monterrey.

Although there are injuries within the squad, Jones said the team’s medical staff have been working assiduously to ensure that those selected for the Canada clash are in good form.

He added, “For any team or player, these sort of challenges are ones to relish. It’s how you get to test yourself.

Use teams or players as measuring sticks for yourself and to see how good you can stand a test and what you might need to do to get better. “Football is won on the day and anything can happen. And we’re well prepared to go and stand up to the challenge. It also brings out different elements of character building.”

Jones said players not selected for Tuesday’s opener will have an extra day or two to recover and should be available for the remainder of the tournament.

Similarly, Forbes rued the unexpected hiccups but is focused on the task at hand. Canada are clear favourites and Forbes and Jones have been working overtime to keep the team spirit high.

Forbes said, “We’re going to respect the opponent. It will be 11 versus 11 and we’re here to compete. The girls understand what is at stake. We also understand the magnitude of this competition.

“The team’s mood has been good, it’s for us to keep focused. This competition, and what we want to achieve is not going to be easy. It’s for us to continue to remind each other. Without us being there for each other, we won’t be able to compete.

“One of the things that I’m doing right now is driving that mantra into the girls and helping them to understand that we need to work together, have the right attitude and right mood. So whatever we have going on off the field could be transferred on the field.”

Midfielder Forbes, defenders Rhea Belgrave, Liana Hinds and Lauren Hutchinson, alongside goalkeeper Kimika Forbes are the most experienced players on the team. The quintet was part of this same qualification process in 2014, when T&T missed out on a World Cup spot after losing to Ecuador 1-0 in a sold out crowd at Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo.

Since then, many have left the national set up, including in-form Turkish Super League striker Kennya Cordner, and several local and foreign-based youngsters have joined the team. Forbes however, believes the new talents, combined with their experience, do possess a winnig formuala.

“We want to be able to use some of the senior players to help the other players get caught up with what we’re going to expect. It’s a collective effort. The new players bring a different element to the team. Some of what I saw thus far could be troubling for teams. I’m very excited to see them tomorrow (Tuesday).”

T&T Squad

Goalkeepers - Kimika Forbes. Klil Keshwar, Tenesha Palmer

Defenders - Liana Hinds, Rhea Belgrave, Victoria Swift, Chelsi Jadoo, Shaunalee Govia, Shadi Cecily Stoute, Lauryn Hutchinson

Midfielders - Amaya Ellis, Asha James, Chelcy Ralph, Karyn Forbes (captain), Kedie Johnson, Sarah De Gannes, Tori Paul

Forwards - Maya Matouk, Maria-Frances Serrant, Raenah Campbell, Jolie St Louis, Cayla McFarlane, Brianna Austin

Technical Staff

Kenwyne Jones (coach), Carlos Edwards (assistant coach), James Baird (goalkeeper coach), Joanne Daniel (manager), Anyl Gopeesingh (doctor), Rejan Chin (rehab specialist), Terry Johnson-Jeremiah (equipment manager), Atiba Downes (strength and conditioning coach), Andre Sooklal (Mmedia officer/video analyst), Alexandria Olton (sport psychologist), Dean Tuitt (trainer), Kylla Charles (massage therapist).
Post by: Anbrat on July 05, 2022, 06:08:45 PM
Any links for the game will be appreciated.
Post by: lucky4life on July 05, 2022, 08:01:24 PM
Try this link

http://streambee.to/c/football/women-world-cup-qualification-concacaf/05-07-2022/canada-w-vs-trinidad-and-tobago-w/2/
Post by: Anbrat on July 05, 2022, 08:32:13 PM
Try this link

http://streambee.to/c/football/women-world-cup-qualification-concacaf/05-07-2022/canada-w-vs-trinidad-and-tobago-w/2/
Thank you! Cheers!
Post by: Sando prince on July 05, 2022, 09:48:07 PM

Ah rel glad nobody asking what is the score.  :rotfl:
Post by: Deeks on July 05, 2022, 11:11:12 PM
What was the score ?😁just rubbing it in. I watched the highlights.  Nice white uniform.  I want one of that jersey.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 06, 2022, 03:09:03 AM
Was "superior to Maylee" on display?

To evoke Pato Banton: What was the riot for? Please give me an answer.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 06, 2022, 03:23:24 AM
For yet another tournament in quick succession, I am at a loss to understand why players who are KNOWN goal-scoring/creating/assisting threats are REPEATEDLY left to their own devices unattended.

Post by: asylumseeker on July 06, 2022, 03:32:23 AM
Despite the result, it is evident that the coaching staff put in credible work: there was a rational and coherent tactical order on display. I applaud them for that.

However, the plot was lost in the vulnerable minutes around the substitution when a lot of good work was squandered cheaply and the challenge could have been engaged differently.
Post by: ffisback on July 06, 2022, 07:22:34 AM
This teams needs a #10 player I saw David Nakhid niece she looks like she could play that position but she is not on the team when is T&T going to stop playing this scrappy out dated English football.
Post by: ricop001 on July 06, 2022, 10:51:39 AM
Watch that Canada game, must say we defended well for a long time, however, it looks like we cannot seem to build from the back, or have an clear understanding of what to do went we do possess the ball.  It was disappointing that the lost by 6 goals.  If they had kept it to 1-0 then i would have said we did well.

We never had any attacking attempts, IMO, the we give the ball away every time, because the keeper seem to think its to kick the ball long all the time, and not build from the back.  The keeper did well, but every time she laid on the ground after a save, instead of getting up quickly and start a counter with a throw into the field of play.
The coach needs to give his team a better game plan, or method of building an attack.  We really need to work on first touch and tempo.  it almost seem that the plan, was to only play defense and hope that the keeper can get the ball to the forwards.  That never works.
Post by: MEP on July 06, 2022, 11:02:59 AM
Despite the result, it is evident that the coaching staff put in credible work: there was a rational and coherent tactical order on display. I applaud them for that.

However, the plot was lost in the vulnerable minutes around the substitution when a lot of good work was squandered cheaply and the challenge could have been engaged differently.

I hope you're saying that tongue in cheek. Even though they defended very well until the substitutions there was no plan to counter other than hoof the ball forward. There were times we'd win the ball and the first pass after that was negative as there was no forward option. We needed about 3 or 4 different attacking sequences. Also need a better keeper Kimika made too many basic mistakes.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 06, 2022, 01:19:39 PM

I hope you're saying that tongue in cheek. Even though they defended very well until the substitutions there was no plan to counter other than hoof the ball forward. There were times we'd win the ball and the first pass after that was negative as there was no forward option. We needed about 3 or 4 different attacking sequences. Also need a better keeper Kimika made too many basic mistakes.

Let me start with the last thing first.

Having submitted multiple posts regarding Kimika, I decided not to go there again, although the first thing I came close to querying this morning was succession planning in that position.

I'm surmising she is the best available in the position since she's generally the presumptive starter, but she is neither consistently convincing nor confidence-boosting. There were moments during the match in which her experience emerged, but without a doubt there were several moments in which, despite her stated 42 caps, she delivered inexperience, a lack of leadership and sheer needless chaos. But I didn't want to go there on an individual level because it would have also led me to question Karyn's role as a 90-minute contributor (in the abstract I don't think she is or should be ... but I also get there is an element of a "by-default call" given available personnel). That raises the question of on whose arm should the armband rest.

After ponging Angus for his fraud of a midfield, I was acknowledging that Kenwyne's structure offered something less scandalous and more sustainable in that one could see what work had been put in, particularly in midfield. But, there's no doubt it was incomplete as a project. Although the lack of a systemic idea of how to transition play was glaring, I set a lowered bar for my applause because match after match the men's U-20 coach failed to rectify the midfield lunacy that was consistently being exposed. In my comment, I am also implicitly congratulating Kenwyne for playing with a more sensible arrangement regarding distances between the lines and because he got a fundamental part of the tactical orientation needed for defensive integrity, correct. However, there's no doubt that should have been the beginning of his thought process, not the end.

Before the match, I assessed that our challenge in MF would be similar to that faced by the DR vs the US (U20). Without getting into the technicalities, it was similar (with the exception of late runs from depth) and our posture made Canada work harder than they anticipated. And there was applause for that. Not at all suggesting stellar work, just recognizing a superior delivery to several other recent NTs since March 2020.

In addition to your observation regarding the attacking deficiencies, I also think there should have been more than one focal point of the attack.   

Also, the team lacked an organizing midfielder. You know where that finger is pointing, but people don't seem to have an appetite to lash that battle since the squad is signed, sealed and can't be changed.

Post by: Tallman on July 06, 2022, 04:28:50 PM
Canada dominate.......T&T's Women Warriors beaten 6-0 in Concacaf opener
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

A naive second half performance saw Trinidad and Trinidad and Tobago’s senior women’s national football team concede five goals on the way to a 6-0 defeat against Olympic champions Canada in their CONCACAF Women's Championship opening match on Tuesday night at the Estadio BBVA, in Monterrey, Mexico.

With a bit of luck and a couple of acrobatic stops from goalkeeper Kimika Forbes, the Women Warriors escaped with a 1-0 first half deficit, conceding only Christine Sinclair's header. But they would fold in the dying stages, when conceding five second half goals.

Canada scored through Christine Sinclair (27th minute), Julia Grosso(67th & 78th), Jessie Fleming (84th), Janine Becke (86th) and Jordyn Huitema (91st) and also missed a penalty.

The Caribbean team managed a single attack, with Brittany Jolie St Louis getting a header onto a 71st minute free kick, resulting from a foul on second half substitute Maria-Frances Serrant,  and giving idle Canadian goalkeeper Kailen Sheridan rare work.

T&T head coach Kenwyne Jones seemed to fall for his own hype that his Women Warriors were good enough technically, to put the ball down and play with the Canadians, rather than execute damage control.

Jones' squad might have been better served to try and win free-kicks, and also force the Canadian defenders back with balls over the top. Instead, every ball played up front was played to the feet and easily lost.

The back five comprising keeper Forbes,  Victoria Swift, Rhea Belgrave, Cecily Stoute and Chelsi Jadoo were capable enough, by those in front of them were woeful—especially in the wide positions where Canada found great joy, since T&T were too many times caught out of position.  Central midfielders comprising captain Karyn Forbes, Asha James and Chelsy Ralph delegated work, rather than work themselves and allowed the Canadian over-lappers to stroll into the spaces and overwhelm already hard-pressed defenders. 

With even a two-goal deficit looking a relatively good result, rather than consolidate, the Women Warriors were spread out and played neither good defence nor offence and by the final ten minutes when legs were tired and mental discipline gone, they lost all shape and capitulated. 

By full time, it ended no different than most previous encounters against Canada. Deja Vue indeed, and Jones did no worse than the 2016  meeting between the teams, which also ended 6-0 —with a Women Warriors team containing all the best T&T players of the last decade.

In 2008, Canada also won 6-0 and in 2000 by a 7-1 margin.  Trinidad and Tobago did manage a 1-0 win during a 2010 Olympic qualifier, when former head coach Jamal Shabazz bunkered down and offered little in attack,  except the occasional run forward by striker Kennya Cordner. And five years later, T&T escaped with only a 4-0 drubbing.

Tuesday's result was just more of the same. Except for the Americans, Canada also regularly beat up on all the other CONCACAF teams, including Mexico, Costa Rica, Jamaica, Haiti and Panama.

T&T are back in action on Friday against a faster Costa Rica who defeated Panama 3-0, before a must-win encounter against the more on par Panamanians.

To Jones' credit, his team did show enough to suggest that with some adjustments, his players might actually be able to play against their next two opponents, although Costa Rica will be tough as well.

TEAMS

Trinidad and Tobago (4-2-3-1): 1.Kimika Forbes (GK); 3.Shadi Cecily Stoute, 4.Rhea Belgrave, 8.Victoria Swift, 2.Chelsi Jadoo; 14.Karyn Forbes (captain), 12.Chelcy Ralph (17.Jolie St Louis 62); 11.Raenah Campbell (18.Maria-Frances Serrant 62), 10.Asha James (15.Tori Paul 74), 6.Kedie Johnson (16.Cayla Mc Farlane 74); 9.Brianna Austin.

Unused substitutes: 21.Tenesha Palmer (GK), 22.K’lil Keshwar (GK), 5.Shaunalee Govia, 7.Liana Hinds, 13.Amaya Ellis, 19.Maya Matouk, 20.Lauryn Hutchinson, 23.Sarah De Gannes.

Coach: Kenwyne Jones

Canada (4-3-1-2): 1.Kailen Sheridan (GK); 8.Jayde Riviere (23.Bianca St Georges 72), 3.Kadeisha Buchanan, 14.Vanessa Gilles, 10.Ashley Lawrence (2.Allysha Chapman 59); 17.Jessie Fleming, 11.Desiree Scott (7.Julia Grosso 59), 5.Quinn;  12.Christine Sinclair (captain) (9.Jordyn Huitema 59); 16.Janine Beckie, 6.Deanne Rose (19.Adriana Leon 59).

Unused substitutes: 18.Sabrina D’Angelo (GK), 22.Lysiana Proulx (GK), 4.Shelina Zadorsky, 13.Sophie Schmidt, 15.Nichelle Prince, 20.Cloé Lacasse, 21.Zoe Burns.

Coach: Bev Priestman

Referee: Katia Garcia (Mexico)

VAR official: Francia Gonzales (Mex)

Highlights of Canada vs Trinidad and Tobago (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XNPjXW2yTfw)

Post-match reaction from Kenwyne Jones
https://www.youtube.com/v/mwyQSFX2V9k
Post by: Sando prince on July 06, 2022, 06:16:18 PM

Well we know as a player KJ was very stubborn and could not handle criticism. Hopefully his attitude has changed as a coach
Post by: Sando prince on July 06, 2022, 06:18:17 PM

Also not because Canada is a world class team means T&T could not have played better.

Let me ask a very simple question. How many shots on target did T&T had against Canada goal?

You would be surprise by the answer....or maybe not given the current state of our football
Post by: pull stones on July 07, 2022, 05:01:49 AM
Again we're here throwing out all these analysis and ideas on what we could have done differently, and we never stop to think that the problem just might be bigger than what we anticipate. how many times are we going to do this?

the problem is that we have a serious problem that we don't know that we have a problem, and that's a big big problem in it self. our past has shown us that despite our best efforts we are always vanquished by these north and central americans who is almost guaranteed all the points whenever we match up with them, be it home or way.

and until these monkeys sitting in the seat of these sporting disciplines humble themselves and realize that we need plenty help fixing this problem, then we will always send our children abroad to be embarrassed. you ever really wonder why de leon and zamora refused to represent us? no one wants to be put in such a predicament.

TT football needs plenty plenty help, and since we are an oil rich nation who could more than afford to get the help that we need, i'm still here baffled as to why we wont. oh i forgot, monkeys have huge egos....."we don't need no white man telling us what to do, we got this". pathetic.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 07, 2022, 07:52:27 AM
There is no doubt that at the core the issue is one of fundamentals. It's also one of ignorance: they don't know what they don't know, they doh care what they doh know and the conditions on the ground don't lend themselves to exposing either form of ignorance. So the stage on which the fundamentals and ignorance are exposed are on the regional stage.

Analysis is part of growth and is a benchmark on which others make evaluations. Rendering analysis doesn't mean that there isn't recognition about the fundamentals.

More and more, I tend to think your gloom and doom conclusions are correct (@pull stones). Football can't achieve value until people in football achieve value.

But there's also the risk of a faulty conclusion: I haven't seen enough to suggest KJ is a horrible coach. Some ppl want to jump to that conclusion because it serves their narrative (inexperienced coach with a high value piece of paper --- as if he didn't earn it).
Post by: asylumseeker on July 07, 2022, 01:59:52 PM
Thanks to TTFA media personnel for publishing Bev Priestman's comments post-match, without prompting. Both coaches comments tell a tale of the full script and historically we hadn't been getting that without prompting.
Post by: Tallman on July 07, 2022, 02:21:15 PM
Reboot Time: Women Warriors train guns on Costa Rica tomorrow

What’s done is done. Now, women’s national football team head coach Kenwyne Jones is refocusing on Trinidad and Tobago’s next assignment at the CONCACAF Women’s Championship, when they come up against Costa from 7 p.m. tomorrow in Monterrey, Mexico.

Jones tried his best to mask sombre emotions, following his team’s tournament-opening 6-0 defeat to Olympic champions Canada on Tuesday night. But positive results in their final two preliminary Group B matches can still see the Women Warriors into at least an inter-continental playoff in New Zealand next February, for a chance to capture a berth in the 2023 Women’s World Cup.

“We dust ourselves off,” stated Jones at Tuesday’s post-match conference. “We have two more games to go and (we) definitely try to turn our minds on to the next two games.”

Canada ultimately proved too tough a test for T&T. Twice CONCACAF champions (1998 and 2010) and runners-up five times (1991, ‘94, 2002, ‘06 and ‘18) behind the USA, the Canadian women have won all nine meetings with T&T, outscoring the Caribbean team 40-1. Canada also won 6-0 the last time they met, at the 2016 CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying Championship in Houston.

Jones acknowledged there was no cohesion between his hard-working traditional defenders and the midfield which was too open both on the flanks and down the middle.

“We needed to be closer to Canada in the middle of the park and we paid a price for it,” Jones assessed.

“We were a little bit sluggish in trying to get out the box (penalty area) and kind of keeping our units a little bit tighter. Again, I think it was down to bravery, a little bit... and we needed a little bit more of that (bravery),” Jones stated.

He also felt there was a lack of belief and hesitancy by his team to play forward, even in the brief moments when they had the chance to do so. “If we were able to do that and when we recovered the ball, play a bit, I think the game might have been a little bit tighter than it was,” noted Jones. He added: “But unfortunately enough, the belief of the team kind of went and we kind of got stuck, waiting (at the top) of the 18-yard box -- which was not a good thing.”

Canadian coach Beverly Priestman acknowledged the first half defensive effort made by Trinidad and Tobago and said that the reward came following a quadruple substitution early in the second half when she withdrew both attackers, including veteran superstar Christine Sinclair.

While T&T faded, Priestman felt her new recruits would bring energy to Canada and that the goal would eventually come. “Teams are showing us respect and defending incredibly well and that’s a great test for us, said the Englishwoman. “The group that started earned us the right in the second half to get the goals. We knew that would be the case and hence why I was front-footed on the substitutions,” added Priestman.
Post by: maxg on July 07, 2022, 07:27:40 PM
All of your above post, seeker.  :beermug:
Post by: ffisback on July 08, 2022, 08:54:53 AM
Hati needs to draw with JA to qualify for the WC T&T needs to beat Panama to go to the play offs .
Post by: ABTrini on July 08, 2022, 09:11:11 AM
 You go to war with a slingshot up against cannons- yuh go get your arse  blown up fuh goals doh matter who coaching-

One of the poorest economies in the Caribbean- Haiti looking dat good- tell meh what de fak is  really doing with football development in TnT?
Getting downright embarrassing
Post by: Deeks on July 08, 2022, 09:37:23 AM
You go to war with a slingshot up against cannons- yuh go get your arse  blown up fuh goals doh matter who coaching-

One of the poorest economies in the Caribbean- Haiti looking dat good- tell meh what de fak is  really doing with football development in TnT?

You don't know there are very wealthy Haitians in Haiti, Miami, NY, Montreal, France who support Haitian football, unlike our well to do Trinis. I beg to differ that because they "poor" that they don't have resources for football. Football is in their DNA. Not so in TT.
Post by: maxg on July 08, 2022, 09:55:39 AM

You don't know there are very wealthy Haitians in Haiti, Miami, NY, Montreal, France who support Haitian football, unlike our well to do Trinis. I beg to differ that because they "poor" that they don't have resources for football. Football is in their DNA. Not so in TT.
9 of the 11 starters play in France 1 or 2 division. (France women team currently ranked #1 - in addition to the football culture of the country).
1 of 11 is NCAA. 1 the goalie I think might be in Germany.
As for the Canadians, even higher leagues.
When you’re immersed and surrounded by quality, one’s level naturally improves. Add in a steady and consistent recipe and your product will always be good and sometimes great.
We on the other hand immersed in negative football culture (unless we win), no recipe, suspect admin and cooks, players from vastly inferior leagues - poor soil with very little water, volunteer farmers, community ready to invest and purchase foreign goods. Yet constantly expecting and disappointed in our local product. It’s a wonder we produce anything at all. I applaud the ppl (players and staff) who still keep trying and working with what they have.
Post by: Deeks on July 08, 2022, 10:24:06 AM

9 of the 11 starters play in France 1 or 2 division. (France women team currently ranked #1 - in addition to the football culture of the country).
1 of 11 is NCAA. 1 the goalie I think might be in Germany.
As for the Canadians, even higher leagues.
When you’re immersed and surrounded by quality, one’s level naturally improves. Add in a steady and consistent recipe and your product will always be good and sometimes great.
We on the other hand immersed in negative football culture (unless we win), no recipe, suspect admin and cooks, players from vastly inferior leagues - poor soil with very little water, volunteer farmers, community ready to invest and purchase foreign goods. Yet constantly expecting and disappointed in our local product. It’s a wonder we produce anything at all. I applaud the ppl (players and staff) who still keep trying and working with what they have.

Well You see they are 1, 2, 3 up on we. I watched that Haiti U20 team play,  and there is no you can tell me that the team was not training for sometime. They lost because of the goalkeeper's errors. Plus JA put a very stout defensive effort. And YES the admin. of football is sorely lacking in a very bad way.
Post by: ffisback on July 08, 2022, 10:52:24 AM
What you guys failed to realize is Hati is a football country soccer is the#1 sport in Hati T&T is not a football country they pretend they are a football country but they not .

Hati built there football system after the Brazilian system a style similar to there's they will always play better football than we do in T&T a country with a Latin culture build there football of the English system they will always be a bunch of losers.
Post by: Anbrat on July 08, 2022, 05:14:39 PM
Any links streaming the game would be appreciated. Thanks.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 08, 2022, 05:54:38 PM

Quit while yuh ahead. Spare yourself the train wreck.
Post by: Anbrat on July 08, 2022, 05:57:30 PM

Quit while yuh ahead. Spare yourself the train wreck.
streambee.to  I hear yuh. 3-0 at d half. Another 6? *sigh*
Post by: MEP on July 08, 2022, 07:11:33 PM
So...where to start....so not wanting to sound overly critical...this team was underprepared. The team has talent but a decent coach would have focused and emphasized on the small things and making sure that they are done consistently well... mind you, the intent is not to make this team into a world cup winning team, light years away from that, but into a decent team that can compete well on the international level.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 08, 2022, 10:59:40 PM
We are back to familiar ground for a NT... bottom of a group, 0 points accumulated, woeful goal difference when compared to the other team on 0 points ... and incredulously ... still possessed with the possibility of qualifying - although nothing about the team's play suggests we have what it takes to earn 3 points against Panama.

At this point Panama knows all the things they need to do to chase 6 goals of their own. Even if the technical staff knows what to do to hurt Panama, there is NOTHING about the team's play to suggest there will be execution on the field.

Sadly, Panama is the presumptive favorite when the whistle blows.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 08, 2022, 11:04:20 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/lVPuQiWJNa8

Post-match comments by Kenwyne Jones, head coach.

These comments were more extensive than the first match ... and they didn't even amount to 3 minutes of his content. What the arse is happening with T&T sports media ? We are sport posers.

KJ like yuh realizing yuh bet the family farm on the wrong leadership franchise.
Post by: Sando prince on July 09, 2022, 06:17:23 AM

I cam here this morning to read the usual excuses and lame assessments from the same posters in here after another humiliating defeat.

KJ post match comments have become predictable

Again the team play shiiiittt and the coach we can see has no clue what he is doing.

We like it so https://www.facebook.com/TeamTrinbago/posts/pfbid0TA1qABzncZH9J9MdrgtW4AyG4xtkhC42RVBrPv2QtCwwQR5D3jV4mhn2vLHqNivwl

Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2022, 06:41:39 AM
So...where to start....so not wanting to sound overly critical...this team was underprepared. The team has talent but a decent coach would have focused and emphasized on the small things and making sure that they are done consistently well... mind you, the intent is not to make this team into a world cup winning team, light years away from that, but into a decent team that can compete well on the international level.

Like most TT teams,.this team was underprepared.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 09, 2022, 07:37:19 AM

I cam here this morning to read the usual excuses and lame assessments from the same posters in here after another humiliating defeat.

Again the team play shiiiittt and the coach we can see has no clue what he is doing.

We like it so https://www.facebook.com/TeamTrinbago/posts/pfbid0TA1qABzncZH9J9MdrgtW4AyG4xtkhC42RVBrPv2QtCwwQR5D3jV4mhn2vLHqNivwl

Yuh sure dahis why yuh came here? Or, was it to post a link to the other place?
Post by: Sando prince on July 09, 2022, 10:50:11 AM

Yeah boy ah surree ..ah sure to come back and read you defending more shiit coaching from KJ after next game. Ah sure about that and hopefully the next place have a link about that too

Post by: Tallman on July 09, 2022, 11:32:40 AM
A night to forget for T&T’s Women Soca Warriors
By Colin Murray (T&T Guardian)

Understandably, those of you who stayed up to watch the Women Soca Warriors take on the currently sixth-ranked team in the world—Canada—in the opening group B match of the 2022 CONCACAF Women’s Championship would have been disappointed.

Not only would the result have left you dismayed, but an examination of the match stats, all were in favour of Canada—37 shots to one, with the lonesome shot from T&T being a header from the edge of the penalty area; shots on target: 13 to one; possession: 74 per cent to 26 per cent; passes: 590 to 222; and; corners 8 to 0.

Let us not lose sight of the fact that Canada is ranked 2nd in CONCACAF, just one position behind the United States and, as mentioned, sixth in the world and has some tremendous players in their squad.

Janine Beckie, one of Canada’s forwards, was a nightmare for the T&T defenders. Her movement off the ball, her positional play and her dribbling ability were all exceptional to witness.

In addition, before the match kicked off, Christine Sinclair scored 189 goals in 310 games for Canada and when she scored 2 in January 2020 against St Kitts and Nevis, she set a new international record.

Then, you have a player like Julia Grosso who plies her trade for Serie A club Juventus coming on as a substitute and scoring 2 goals. In a nutshell, this match-up was always going to be an uphill task for the Women Soca Warriors.

Defensively, they did not look as bad for most of the game. Coach Kenwyne Jones was tactically trying to clog the midfield and not give the Canadians room to manoeuvre the ball. For 66 minutes, it worked. Although the Warriors, at that point, were down 1-0, they were fighting to stay in the game.

However, when the second goal was scored, it took the fight out of the team and they crumbled under visible fatigue and subsequently conceded another 4 goals in the final 11 minutes losing 6-0 and ending a miserable, forgettable night for T&T.

Until those final 23 minutes of downfall began when the score was 1-0, T&T’s central defenders Victoria Swift and Rhea Belgrave were excellent.

Time and time again they were clearing balls that were coming from every direction into their box. At the same time, the Canadians were smart; they attacked from wide positions with their full-backs Ashley Lawrence and Jayde Riviere driving forward beyond the likes of Beckie and Deanne Rose and caused problems for the T&T defence.

None of the Soca Warriors midfielders was getting back to assist their wingbacks by marking off the wide players for Canada. As a result, the balls just kept coming into the box with goalkeeper Kimika Forbes having to make some good saves in the first half to keep the score down to just one goal.

Perhaps coach Kenwyne Jones was trying to do damage control before the game started and was hoping to keep the score down to 2 or even three goals because goal difference could play a part at the end of the tournament.

While the team defended well, there was no outlet up front to try and hold the ball and give the midfielders a chance to come forward and create a goal-scoring opportunity. When T&T won possession, they were looking to pass the ball back instead of trying to go forward and that, in itself, created a problem as the Canadians quickly closed them down and when a defender cleared the ball upfield, there was no white shirt for T&T within 15 metres of the ball.

One observation that must have been concerning for any coach was at corner kicks.

Too many times, the Canadians were playing them short and at no time were they closed down by T&T. To be frank, the tactics seemed strange. The other players for the Soca Warriors never got going because they just did not get enough of the ball. Up front, Brianna Austin was like the Lone Ranger and she didn’t even have Tonto for support.

Also noteworthy was the fact that midfielders Raenah Campbell, Asha James and Kedie Johnson were never allowed to get into the game by the tough Canadian outfit.

Broadly speaking, the tournament has started off with a bang. Group A is arguably the toughest group with the likes of Mexico, the USA, Jamaica and Haiti all fighting to make the top 2.

One would have thought it was easy for the USA to be followed by Mexico but what an upset by the Reggae girls defeating Mexico by 1-0 and although they only had 34 per cent of the possession, it’s goals that count and they were able to score through their talented striker Khadija Shaw who is a handful. Despite Jamaica’s Havana Solaun missing a penalty, they were able to hold on for a remarkable victory. They are a confident bunch and may very well qualify for back-to-back Women’s World Cups.

One has to remember that these women have many incentives to play for as this tournament serves as the region’s final round of qualifying for the FIFA Women’s World Cup to be held in Australia and New Zealand in 2023.

The top two teams in each group earn spots in the World Cup automatically. Additionally, the winner of the event will get an automatic berth for the 2024 Olympics in France as well as the 2024 Gold Cup. On the other hand, the two third-place finishers in each group advance to a ten-nation intercontinental playoff in February of 2023 to decide the final three places for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

So, as can be seen, all is not lost. There is still plenty to play for. Next, up is Costa Rica (tomorrow, July 8th at 7 pm) followed by Panama (Monday, July 11th at 7 pm).

Both are good teams but Jones should be confident that if he puts in the hard work before the next game and gets his tactics right the Women Soca Warriors can do it. Costa Rica, in particular, is going to be tough to beat but I am sure he has done his homework and has analysed the strengths and weaknesses of his opponents. If he can make some adjustments to T&T’s attacking formation, who knows? The women may very well make the nation proud.
Post by: Anbrat on July 09, 2022, 12:08:03 PM

Deeks, apart from being under prepared, the team is lacking in adequately skilled players.
Post by: Tallman on July 09, 2022, 12:18:29 PM
World Cup chances dented as Women Warriors lose 4-0 to Costa Rica
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday)

THE TRINIDAD and Tobago Women’s Warriors suffered a 4-0 defeat to Costa Rica which dented their chances of qualifying for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup and the semifinals of the Concacaf Women’s Championship.

The match between T&T and Costa Rica was played at the Estadio Universitario in San Nicolas de los Garza, Mexico, on Friday.

T&T have now lost back-to-back matches to start the tournament and their chances of qualifying for the next round look slim.

T&T’s best chance of qualifying for the 2023 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand is defeating Panama on Monday. If T&T finish third in Group B they will qualify for the inter-confederation playoffs.

After press time on Friday, Canada played Panama in another Group B clash. Canada defeated T&T 6-0 on Tuesday and would have been favourites to defeat Panama.

T&T’s Kedie Johnson got a second yellow card in the 22nd minute for a late tackle which made life difficult for the Women Warriors.

Four minutes before Johnson was sent off Costa Rica opened the scoring. Following a short corner, the ball was played to the unmarked Cristin Granados at the top of the box and she struck the ball in the roof of the net to beat T&T goalkeeper Kimika Forbes.

Before Johnson was sent off Costa Rica had the lion’s share of possession, but after the red card T&T were on the back foot even more.

Forbes did a solid job in goal to keep the score line 1-0.

However in the 33rd minute, Costa Rica doubled their advantage following a Lauryn Hutchinson own goal.

Hutchinson, in attempting to the clear the ball following a corner kick, could only put the ball into her own net.

In the 36th minute, Melissa Herrera almost made it 3-0 with a shot from 18 yards out that just sailed over the crossbar.

Costa Rica continued to press as in the 42nd minute T&T just survived after Forbes made an error.

After Forbes failed to hold on to the ball following a cross, the ball fell to a Costa Rica player but the T&T defence cleared their lines.

Costa Rica had time to find a third goal before the halftime whistle.

Granados scored her second goal when her shot from the top of the 18-yard box deflected off T&T defender Victoria Swift and into the goal.

Against the run of play, Jolie St Louis had an attempt on goal for T&T from a few yards out but her attempt went wide.

In the 48th minute, Costa Rica captain Katherine Alvarado scored the goal of the match to make it 4-0.

Alvarado’s strike from 30 yards out went into the roof of the net.

Costa Rica continued to dominate and create chances in the second half.

Maria Paula Salas and Priscila Chinchilla both got chances on goal. Salas’s effort did not find the target and Chincilla’s attempt in the 63rd minute was easily saved by Forbes.

Forbes had some moments in the match as she came up with a brilliant save in the 66th minute to deny Alvarado.

In the 70th minute, Costa Rica could have gotten a penalty but the Video Assistant Referee agreed it was not a foul by T&T.

TEAMS

Trinidad and Tobago (4-2-3-1): 1.Kimika Forbes (GK); 3.Shadi Cecily Stoute, 4.Rhea Belgrave (13.Amaya Ellis 80), 8.Victoria Swift, 2.Chelsi Jadoo; 14.Karyn Forbes (captain), 20.Lauryn Hutchinson (7.Liana Hinds 50); 18.Maria-Frances Serrant (16.Cayla Mc Farlane 75), 9.Brianna Austin (12.Chelcy Ralph 80), 6.Kedie Johnson [Red card 22]; 17.Jolie St Louis (11.Raenah Campbell 50).

Unused substitutes: 21.Tenesha Palmer (GK), 22.K’lil Keshwar (GK), 5.Shaunalee Govia, 10.Asha James, 15.Tori Paul, 19.Maya Matouk, 23.Sarah De Gannes.

Costa Rica (4-2-3-1): 23.Daniel Solera (GK), 3.María Paula Coto, 20.Fabiola Villalobos, 4.Mariana Benavides, 8.Daniela Cruz; 16.Katherine Alvarado (captain) (21.Viviana Chinchilla 74), 15.Cristin Granados; 7.Melissa Herrera, 11.Raquel Rodríguez (10.Shirley Cruz 61), 14.Priscilla Chinchilla (2.Gabriela Guillén 73); 19.María Paula Salas (9.Carolina Venegas 61).

Unused substitutes: 1.Noelia Bermúdez (GK), 18.Priscilla Tapia (GK), 5.Valeria Del Campo, 6.Carol Sánchez, 12.Lixy Rodríguez, 13.Emilie Valenciano, 17.Michelle Montero, 22.Cristel Sandi.

Coach: Amelia Valverde

Referee: Francia Gonzales (Mexico)

VAR: Katia Garcia (Mexico)
Post by: Deeks on July 09, 2022, 06:08:31 PM

Deeks, apart from being under prepared, the team is lacking in adequately skilled players.

We all knew that for a while now. 
Post by: asylumseeker on July 10, 2022, 01:23:30 AM

Yeah boy ah surree ..ah sure to come back and read you defending more shiit coaching from KJ after next game. Ah sure about that and hopefully the next place have a link about that too

Regardless of who is coaching, regardless of level of play or gender, you CONSISTENTLY pop up days before a match to predict that the football is going to be shambolic and then you reappear after to gloat about it being shambolic and to berate the optimists. We KNOW your playbook. Your playbook doesn't require any critical thinking; it only requires being critical. Which one do you suppose is more challenging?

If you think KJ got EVERYTHING wrong, run with that. More balanced and accurate assessments - supported by the evidence - suggest he got some to several things incorrect. Those positions are hardly a defense of the coach. Of course, one would have to be THINKING critically to distinguish similar from same.

It's easy to say it's shitty, much more challenging to articulate why.

But you might be cutting-edge on one thing ---- SIMILARLY, a coach may see or identify an issue on the field, but he or she may not know how to resolve it during the course of the match.

You always have the option of posting the links without tripping over your agenda. Or, you could tack back to your other shameful modus operandi of disrespecting the elders in the game.
Post by: Deeks on July 10, 2022, 06:16:13 AM
At this moment no team in TT, national, club, male, female is in the position to challenge regional competition far less international competition. We DON't have the talent. As far as coaching is concern, I don't see the situation changing. Who or which coach from abroad will come here when the NC can't even raise money for the national teams PROPER preparations. All of us know that our teams need a longer time to prepare. That is just the friggin fact. Playing Guyana one or two games will not suffice. All the coaching tactics and knowledge you all talking about is rendered null unless when get sufficient time to work with our teams.
Post by: Toussaint on July 10, 2022, 08:58:17 AM
I was secretly hoping that all 3 Caribbean teams would make it to the WC. Somehow, I believe this is still possible.

The situation in Group A is encouraging. With a tie both Haiti and Jamaica will move on, one directly to the WC and the other to the playoffs. Even a Jamaica victory is likely to result in both Caribbean teams moving on. With a Haiti victory, there is a slight chance that Mexico may steal the 3rd position, although unlikely considering that Mexico would have to beat USA. Mission nearly impossible.

The situation is more straightforward in Group B. Trinidad has to beat Panama. That's that! Can this happen? Based on the way both teams have played against the same opponents, Panama clearly has the edge. The Canaleras have been outgunned but they remained competitive generating many opportunities of their own. Panama has not yet scored but they show that they can. Their defense was phenomenal versus Canada.

For Trinidad, there is still a bit of mystery around the team. We know nothing of what the team can do when shifted to attacking mode. Unlike Panama which tried to win its games, Trinidad did not commit to any real attempts to score. It has been all defensive play,  so far. Did KJ know all efforts versus Canada and Costa Rica would be futile and that he needed to focus on this last game? Will there be a surprise tomorrow? Let's hope so.
Post by: Toussaint on July 10, 2022, 09:32:14 AM
By the way, what happened to Alexcia Ali who played for the U20 in 2020? Small but she showed some great skills as a midfielder, a position I think the Trini team may need help with.
Post by: ffisback on July 10, 2022, 10:32:17 AM
By the way, what happened to Alexcia Ali who played for the U20 in 2020? Small but she showed some great skills as a midfielder, a position I think the Trini team may need help with.
The coach's in T&T build there football on power and strength so the technically best players like Alexcia Ali and others are pushed to the side for power strength and athleticism.
Post by: ffisback on July 10, 2022, 10:47:51 AM
Looking at the game the 4 nil score line was flattering for Costa Rica 3  of the goals was off deflections the referee was poor and to be down by 10 players they held on pretty well Panama is beatable but without  a #10 I don't see how they will do it unless they planning on set plays or some type of scramble football to over power Panama in the box.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 10, 2022, 11:13:01 AM
Recent media reports regarding Ali suggest she wasn't fit. If she wasn't fit for the Ascension tournament, she would be a poor contributor on the NT stage. That stated, that doesn't mean that's why she wasn't selected.
Post by: Tallman on July 10, 2022, 03:03:49 PM
Jones questions Women Warriors' drive following 4-0 defeat
By Jelani Peters (T&T Newsday)

HEAD coach of the Trinidad and Tobago senior women’s football team Kenwyne Jones is questioning some of his players' drive to succeed after a 4-0 defeat to Costa Rica in Group B of the 2022 Concacaf Women’s Championships in Mexico, on Friday.

The defeat was T&T’s second on the trot in the tournament after falling 6-0 to Canada.

The top teams in each of the two groups in the Concacaf Championships will qualify for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand. The third-placed teams from each group will advance to the inter-confederation play-offs which will give teams another chance of qualifying for the World Cup.

T&T’s best chance of staying in contention for the 2023 World Cup is finishing third in Group B by defeating Panama on Monday.

Two of the goals T&T conceded against Costa Rica may be considered unlucky as Lauryn Hutchinson scored an own goal in the 33rd minute and in the 44th minute Cristin Granado’s strike got a deflection off TT defender Victoria Swift.

“Unfortunately in this game, you make your own luck. The fact is we just weren’t good enough today,” Jones said.

He asked some of his players to show more commitment. “I am disappointed because I think we are better than that. I know we are better than that and it is becoming repetitive that we are having these lapses and lack of desire between some players sometimes and we have to figure out really and truthfully what the game means to them, what they want to achieve out of it because it seems as if that quite a few of them are just here.

“Like you said on a different day none of those bad luck goals go in, but we did not give ourselves a chance. I think it was the 23rd minute we went down to ten women. At this level, you can’t do that.”

In the 22nd minute, T&T’s Kedie Johnson got a second yellow card and was sent off.

Looking ahead, Jones said, “At this point in time we just came off the field so I am certainly disappointed, frustrated. The players at this point in time have to feel disappointed too I am sure. If they are not something is wrong. Yes we have to turn around pretty quickly (because) the next game is in a couple days time and we have to give our best for that one, but today was an opportunity for us to gain some momentum and we did not do that.”
Post by: Sando prince on July 10, 2022, 07:40:15 PM

How much more preparation than T&T did teams Jamaica, Haiti, Panama had before this Championship? 

Ok then..
Post by: Sando prince on July 10, 2022, 07:42:46 PM
 :rotfl:  Jones again with the same ole same old low energy commentary deflection of blame .
Post by: Deeks on July 10, 2022, 11:08:39 PM

How much more preparation than T&T did teams Jamaica, Haiti, Panama had before this Championship? 

Ok then..

much less than them. There was no local organized  or undercover football for more than a year in TT. Rowley allowed cricket to be played in socalled bubble. Why the hell they could not do that for TT football ?
Post by: Deeks on July 11, 2022, 06:36:54 AM
“Unfortunately in this game, you make your own luck. The fact is we just weren’t good enough today,” Jones said.

He asked some of his players to show more commitment. “I am disappointed because I think we are better than that. I know we are better than that and it is becoming repetitive that we are having these lapses and lack of desire between some players sometimes and we have to figure out really and truthfully what the game means to them, what they want to achieve out of it because it seems as if that quite a few of them are just here.

KJ kind of contradicting himself here. "The fact is we just weren’t good enough today,” is a factor that shows they needed more time.  And the latter part where he questions some of the players desire is a bit harsh. If they lacked desire in the first place, they probably would not have made the team. They have the desire but they just lack the skills, level of stamina and fitness. That is a fact.
Post by: Anbrat on July 11, 2022, 11:04:48 AM
Looking at the game the 4 nil score line was flattering for Costa Rica 3  of the goals was off deflections the referee was poor and to be down by 10 players they held on pretty well Panama is beatable but without  a #10 I don't see how they will do it unless they planning on set plays or some type of scramble football to over power Panama in the box.
You must be commended for your eternal optimism.
Post by: Anbrat on July 11, 2022, 11:07:25 AM

KJ kind of contradicting himself here. "The fact is we just weren’t good enough today,” is a factor that shows they needed more time.  And the latter part where he questions some of the players desire is a bit harsh. If they lacked desire in the first place, they probably would not have made the team. They have the desire but they just lack the skills, level of stamina and fitness. That is a fact.
"They have the desire but they just lack the skills, level of stamina and fitness. That is a fact"............ BINGO!
Post by: Tallman on July 11, 2022, 11:24:03 AM
Women Warriors in must-win Concacaf qualifier against Panama

TRINIDAD AND Tobago must win their final Concacaf W Championships Group B match against Panama on Monday if they are remain within contention of a place at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup, which will be jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand.

The Women Warriors take on Panama at the Estadio Universitario in San Nicolas de los Garza, Mexico and need three points to secure an inter-confederation playoff; T&T’s final chance of securing World Cup qualification.

T&T lost their opening two group B matches against Olympic champions Canada 6-0 and Costa Rica 4-0. Their failure to finish among the top two in the group saw them miss out on automatic World Cup qualification.

They now sit in cellar position and are yet to notch a point at the Concacaf tourney. Panama are also winless. However, a third place finish for either team in the group will affirm an inter-confederation playoff for the World Cup.

Panama though, are currently third having conceded less goals against Canada and Costa Rica compared to T&T.

It’s all to play for, said T&T women’s coach Kenwyne Jones in Sunday’s pre-match press conference.

“The game against Panama should be exciting. Both teams have a lot to play for, the chance to get into the playoffs next year. I think there might be some different tactical options happening but we look forward to the game.”

Experienced player Victoria Swift shared similar sentiments and pointed out that the team must give their all at the final hurdle.

The central defender said, “It’s going to be an exciting match, a must-win, in order for us to still have a chance to qualify. I think of us as a unit and a team, we’re excited and ready to work hard against Panama to get that victory.”

The last time both nations met was in October last year for two international friendlies. Both matches ended in drawn results (0-0 and 1-1).

Swift said their prior results against Panama were disappointing but they now have a chance to make amends, and hold on to a final opportunity securing a World Cup berth.

“We’ve had the opportunity to dust ourselves off and focus on the Panama game going forward. Even though we played them two times, we still have to gout there and play hard, play our hearts out to get that victory.

“It’s a learning experience for a lot of the younger players who have not been able to play on such a big stage. Going forward into this match, the mood is very positive and I think at this point all the players are on the same page,” Swift added.

Jones told reporters he is surprised the team is not delivering what he sees in practice, during competition. He deemed it a “mental problem” with some players.

“I’ve never put pressure on the team for results. It was always based on performance and that is something I will continue to do until the team gets to the time where we can look forward to guaranteeing or have the belief that we’re going to win games outright.

“But now it’s based on performance only and doing the things that we are good at and bring it to the game. Hopefully that starts (on Monday). I do think that improvement happens all the time,” he said.

The former national men’s team skipper continued, “You don’t see results of improvement right away sometimes. And I know we’re in a tournament that, of course, we want results to happen so we can get on to the next stage which would help in us being able to continue improving.”
Post by: asylumseeker on July 11, 2022, 05:40:26 PM
The paint is drying.
Post by: Deeks on July 11, 2022, 05:47:21 PM
1-0 Panama at 45 mins
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 11, 2022, 09:29:30 PM
Bunny is the real deal Bunny Shaw ......... Jamaica back to back WCQ 3-0 now
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 11, 2022, 09:36:03 PM
BTW our women's team eh win a game for  the year ... :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing:
Post by: Toussaint on July 11, 2022, 10:00:28 PM
Congrats to Jamaica beating Haiti 4-0 to grab the automatic berth. The difference tonight? Better coaching staff. The Ja coach correctly identified Haiti’s weaknesses and exploited them! A real beating. Luckily Mexico failed to beat USA. For a momen, the Play-off was at their reach.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 11, 2022, 10:17:04 PM
Not even the blind squirrel could feed itself tonight. Unmitigated disaster. Set up the Commission of Inquiry.

Football played by women in T&T has come off life support and not for the better.
Post by: ffisback on July 12, 2022, 12:03:16 AM
Today T&T try to play the ball out of the back but you can see these players is use to boom kick football the game was pretty even had they had a player like David Nakhid's niece pulling the strings they would have had a better chance of winning the game instead of playing backs and forwards.
Post by: madness on July 12, 2022, 01:58:13 AM
Pls. KJ is not a coach. He still needs to learn more about coaching. I look at the women's games, which are not good—a demonstration of abysmal coaching.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 12, 2022, 05:10:24 AM
This team always had trouble going forward only one shot on goal ...
Post by: ABTrini on July 12, 2022, 09:23:51 AM
  Like  year before when I flew in to see the games at  Halsey Crawford stadium; that was the closest we ever came to qualifying ( American Coach back then...).   I was going to fly down to Mexico to take in these games and provide support- good thing  I  just  spent time camping and  got the same smell from the  outhouse/ latrine  without having to spend all dat money.
 next year....... next time... same sh.... t different pile
Post by: frico on July 12, 2022, 12:22:10 PM
Simply our coaches don't have a bloody clue,that is now plain to see.KJ mentions nothing about our technical deficiencies he has a way of avoiding blame saying "we are better than that",Mr Jones you are not good enough and so is this team,people shouldn't be ashamed to say they are rubbish.
Post by: Tallman on July 12, 2022, 01:57:01 PM
Dream over, Women Warriors go under 1-0 to Panama

COACH KENWYNE JONES got more of the desired effort he asked of his players. But it still was not enough.

Trinidad and Tobago’s women’s football team’s qualification campaign for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup ended with their third defeat at the 2022 CONCACAF Women’s Championship, last night, in Mexico.

The Women Warriors went down 1-0 to Panama, after giving their best attacking show of the tournament. Jones’ squad still had a few of the recurring defensive lapses, and they went unpunished until approaching half-time when Panama scored the only item of the game, through midfielder Marta Cox (43’), the Central American’s most potent player.

T&T had 50 per cent first-half possession, but even so, failed to create enough goal-scoring opportunities, against a Panama team which only needed to draw the match.

T&T had the first salvo in the 17th minute, with Karyn Forbes free-kick appeared set to enter the top corner until goalkeeper Yenith Bailey seemed to pluck the ball out of the net.

Another Forbes run up the right flank also resulted in a low cross towards the first post, but under pressure and at a tight angle, Maria-Frances Serrant did not know what to do with the ball and turned it outside. Serrant was also the focus of a couple of attacks as the Women Warriors tried to penetrate up the right flank, but Serrant either failed to pick out a teammate or delayed too long and lost the initiative.

Panama looked to take control early in the second half, prompting changes from Jones. Asha James and Jolie St Louis coming in to refresh the midfield. Despite the changes, however, it all looked very predictable and regimented.

The players tried to play the Kenwyne Jones way, by stroking the ball around, but with few individual moments of inspiration except those coming from Liana Hinds, Rhea Belgrave when pushing into the midfield, and the hard working Brianna Austin up front.

The T&T defence, comprising the back four and goalkeeper Kimika Forbes, again held their own. But up front, Jones’ charges failed to score a single goal in the tournament. Truth be told, at this stage, Trinidad and Tobago were simply not good enough and elimination at CONCACAF probably only served to avoid likely further embarrassment for the Women Warriors were they to face African, European and even South American teams in the final playoff tournament, which Panama will now contest in New Zealand next February.

A good few minutes before it ended, Jones had already seen the writing on the wall and he decided to give a couple of players their first run in the tournament.

TEAMS

Trinidad and Tobago (4-3-3): 1.Kimika Forbes (GK), 3.Shadi Cecily Stoute, 4.Rhea Belgrave, 8.Victoria Swift, 2.Chelsi Jadoo (23.Sarah De Gannes 88); 14.Karyn Forbes (captain), 7.Liana Hinds, 13.Amaya Ellis (10.Asha James 64); 9.Brianna Austin (16.Cayla Mc Farlane 88), 18.Maria-Frances Serrant (17.Jolie St Louis 77), 11.Raenah Campbell (15.Tori Paul 72).

Unused substitutes: 21.Tenesha Palmer (GK), 22.K’lil Keshwar (GK), 5.Shaunalee Govia, 12.Chelcy Ralph, 19.Maya Matouk, 20.Lauryn Hutchinson.

Panama (3-4-3): 12.Yenith Bailey (GK); 5.Yomira Pinzón, 14.Yerenis De León, 13.Wendy Natis; 3.Carina Baltrip (23.Rosaria Vargas 73), 6.Deysire Salazar, 8.Laura Batista (captain) (19.Lineth Cedeño 35), 2.Hilary Jaén; 10.Marta Cox (vice-captain), 9.Karla Riley (17.Gabriela Villagrand 73), 20.Schiandra Gonzales.

Unused substitutes: 1.Sasha Fabrega (GK), 22.Nadia Ducreux (GK), 7.Kenia Rangel, 11.Shayari Camarena, 15.Maria Guevara, 16.Rebeca Espinosa, 18.Erika Hernandez, 21.Whitney De Obaldia.

Coach: Ignacio Quintana

Referee: Astrid Gramajo (Guatemala)

VAR: Carol Anne Chenard (Canada)
Post by: Anbrat on July 13, 2022, 05:52:28 AM
Pls. KJ is not a coach. He still needs to learn more about coaching. I look at the women's games, which are not good—a demonstration of abysmal coaching.
(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/9ixXiHEaK91JLEu_LHzuR6FxfoLDL7GiPUX7v9cgVDyALywiDy8MGzvp-hxCDNQxqjrAXwxw80ZoHWHB083yVMMjpE9M4wt554DEO9YRYMFmXYUEXdsgSshVVIceyLWYQNkerqzUmRMb0uVkiHoRCme__brP7ok-PKAgiYFq6wPuz3DV6k85y96gkLcebO_GAyclAkH0f5E3EyHPWDWrFen2kjrCZgjDJENLieMbyIVJScwiuOqe4FLQY6bLZ4lbGbkA8KxDZxMYJBXH5BnkdsgUTMMmfdGJC3SNXWmDspatgoHscwVqlChj7LIqq8qhJNW9yWqGg7G4uqc5G_13W_1PsgxqX8ahUClroSWFakTBAaDA80qtIXJzPd2s1z5hz1rh8T4arNxQU94xED0ZtByqSrBXNt0MkS0bU2NHgD-DEI63B35aqxCbSlIc47nifbUO_J76EUDICZ9yx0RCN6rjnUMYQDLKiU1rasi-2fV92WTwWbtLzGNQzOVNiv4DZNRe8y1Yir7V_kCZPpOk2VSmKIDt2bpbTusIWt2gpj74IfZ1mXlXXA8PdkGp09ZrZjbxb7G06XEPiuncblwH7I_6gQgme5n0N1AS7xmPk3xufKN2VfS9W00HcVk2C2OL6oi9c59k4m4YvE0d3lIqCfNjK2pDmzi3snH9c1ZQg2qxbIv2PY2BWy2Pk5QV3B7gWBM8Zj1cWxfloIstajSN1EU-bMlnMrAUrJbZscL7ZYsqdDBLZkGeW5pVljqX7qE=w394-h700-no?authuser=0)(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/n4oCLW52aR0bVsk46lYcXeK5DSsuWFqWGe573fzKeq0DOd0DNGr0AFzBuLTDNerImtwlo2PfrI3yLgB9w0oTU_t_t54ZHaVv23mg5QLM5JYvqj8keHoOYACb5VK74FLeMN_Fut50fM4mUxnsQ36jIGGVay7e6vTGJuri7dc5s0-nhDuIp5bqj4rAMOy8XFVignQj71PpdG8XM0fQ1Plvu5eRBUImqhzswbPY5Fwwv7QlWpDUYniapXeNIKUxLDh5ZocdPjcLH4WdW6Zrmr6oER8DeeEgdAlLrJa-lt6DGtfQC53x23YbqvyOu6rLJo5G9eLFSvkcXQXlGXqzLIHyBOxUICg1_PNSiRIJVf5ilJoQ6K8flnkXKkky-BVbVLWGPhXGUuFgZWjqHNGlZcoOhjJpmvUZtAULnm5DhIf6WK9c78N4eu8vVtG-Iu_ZS5ChzgWQ1VlXjYApimf0dH_9DRSpvtagJ3CY2h8hlhnYR0ADceBQykrd0O0rDpEizbOajuTbcWc5DLLe18-HJJoeo9WplyrJkRn6hAi6GRQ6QNwozNJomScNkrbrvaRNXOHgMt1qta2dosnufRtjAu7V_3vdemjee4MOxPrSz1h_GfRJX1inHf2RvMd1IbN-NnieQfxcjn23GfqqO8WIUpC0xw0hsGkAdtpK8iCMssvJXV_-zAMFTexzICUsxe_6HWqqdbUYn6WUBudq7gIrx3Z0X8rUxLed6FO6-Vjt4leDbGeX-kvXZ6LZer8ueuwbYbw=w394-h700-no?authuser=0)
Post by: ABTrini on July 13, 2022, 08:08:59 AM
  When will we show support for those who  continue to make efforts to share what they have learned back to our shores? Yes sadly a prophet is never honoured in their own country- Witness all the former glory players who have amassed vast international experience and played under a variety of coaches.
Given the opportunity to come home and coached,  we have continued to make them sacrificial lambs in the slaughter house of TnT football_
tried in vain list: Corneal , Lawrence, Latapy, John, Hart, now we jumping on Jones and Edwards- to name a few.
these are players who have proven their worth over time- represented TnT . could we not provide support to let them prove over time what a winning program could look like?
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 13, 2022, 09:26:20 AM
 :applause:
Post by: Sando prince on July 13, 2022, 09:31:02 AM
(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/9ixXiHEaK91JLEu_LHzuR6FxfoLDL7GiPUX7v9cgVDyALywiDy8MGzvp-hxCDNQxqjrAXwxw80ZoHWHB083yVMMjpE9M4wt554DEO9YRYMFmXYUEXdsgSshVVIceyLWYQNkerqzUmRMb0uVkiHoRCme__brP7ok-PKAgiYFq6wPuz3DV6k85y96gkLcebO_GAyclAkH0f5E3EyHPWDWrFen2kjrCZgjDJENLieMbyIVJScwiuOqe4FLQY6bLZ4lbGbkA8KxDZxMYJBXH5BnkdsgUTMMmfdGJC3SNXWmDspatgoHscwVqlChj7LIqq8qhJNW9yWqGg7G4uqc5G_13W_1PsgxqX8ahUClroSWFakTBAaDA80qtIXJzPd2s1z5hz1rh8T4arNxQU94xED0ZtByqSrBXNt0MkS0bU2NHgD-DEI63B35aqxCbSlIc47nifbUO_J76EUDICZ9yx0RCN6rjnUMYQDLKiU1rasi-2fV92WTwWbtLzGNQzOVNiv4DZNRe8y1Yir7V_kCZPpOk2VSmKIDt2bpbTusIWt2gpj74IfZ1mXlXXA8PdkGp09ZrZjbxb7G06XEPiuncblwH7I_6gQgme5n0N1AS7xmPk3xufKN2VfS9W00HcVk2C2OL6oi9c59k4m4YvE0d3lIqCfNjK2pDmzi3snH9c1ZQg2qxbIv2PY2BWy2Pk5QV3B7gWBM8Zj1cWxfloIstajSN1EU-bMlnMrAUrJbZscL7ZYsqdDBLZkGeW5pVljqX7qE=w394-h700-no?authuser=0)(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/n4oCLW52aR0bVsk46lYcXeK5DSsuWFqWGe573fzKeq0DOd0DNGr0AFzBuLTDNerImtwlo2PfrI3yLgB9w0oTU_t_t54ZHaVv23mg5QLM5JYvqj8keHoOYACb5VK74FLeMN_Fut50fM4mUxnsQ36jIGGVay7e6vTGJuri7dc5s0-nhDuIp5bqj4rAMOy8XFVignQj71PpdG8XM0fQ1Plvu5eRBUImqhzswbPY5Fwwv7QlWpDUYniapXeNIKUxLDh5ZocdPjcLH4WdW6Zrmr6oER8DeeEgdAlLrJa-lt6DGtfQC53x23YbqvyOu6rLJo5G9eLFSvkcXQXlGXqzLIHyBOxUICg1_PNSiRIJVf5ilJoQ6K8flnkXKkky-BVbVLWGPhXGUuFgZWjqHNGlZcoOhjJpmvUZtAULnm5DhIf6WK9c78N4eu8vVtG-Iu_ZS5ChzgWQ1VlXjYApimf0dH_9DRSpvtagJ3CY2h8hlhnYR0ADceBQykrd0O0rDpEizbOajuTbcWc5DLLe18-HJJoeo9WplyrJkRn6hAi6GRQ6QNwozNJomScNkrbrvaRNXOHgMt1qta2dosnufRtjAu7V_3vdemjee4MOxPrSz1h_GfRJX1inHf2RvMd1IbN-NnieQfxcjn23GfqqO8WIUpC0xw0hsGkAdtpK8iCMssvJXV_-zAMFTexzICUsxe_6HWqqdbUYn6WUBudq7gIrx3Z0X8rUxLed6FO6-Vjt4leDbGeX-kvXZ6LZer8ueuwbYbw=w394-h700-no?authuser=0)

Let that soak in
Post by: Sando prince on July 13, 2022, 09:33:53 AM
  When will we show support for those who  continue to make efforts to share what they have learned back to our shores? Yes sadly a prophet is never honoured in their own country- Witness all the former glory players who have amassed vast international experience and played under a variety of coaches.
Given the opportunity to come home and coached,  we have continued to make them sacrificial lambs in the slaughter house of TnT football_
tried in vain list: Corneal , Lawrence, Latapy, John, Hart, now we jumping on Jones and Edwards- to name a few.
these are players who have proven their worth over time- represented TnT . could we not provide support to let them prove over time what a winning program could look like?

You don't get a pass for bad and terrible coaching tactics simply because you were a past player.

These past players should develop themselves as coaches before taking or being given assignment as national team coaches.

The opportunity to coach the national team is a
serious one. Not give him ah bligh and see what happens!
Post by: maxg on July 13, 2022, 11:46:52 AM
As there are so many TTians with so much knowledge of the game and coaching requirements and their failures. Here’s a little exercise if one is so interested and dedicated.

List 3 available coaches you would like to interview. What salary and incentives are you willing to offer ?. What are your timelines and expectations? What will be their general duties ? How many scouting trips, training camps and friendly games can your organization afford them ?

Post by: pull stones on July 13, 2022, 12:03:30 PM

You don't get a pass for bad and terrible coaching tactics simply because you were a past player.

These past players should develop themselves as coaches before taking or being given assignment as national team coaches.

The opportunity to coach the national team is a
serious one. Not give him ah bligh and see what happens!
agreed, but it seems like these jokers in trinidad never learn from previous mistakes. we saw it with latapy, lawrence, angus with the U23, and again with the U20, yet we still think giving these former footballers our national team so cheaply will somehow translate into automatic success.

i want to see TT football drop to it's lowest, because it seems like until these baboons realize that they have a serious problem and needs to get to the root of the problem instead of focusing on the leaves and the sour fruits, we will continue to disappoint in these regional tournaments. lets face it, trinis too bloody slack and shameless.
Post by: pull stones on July 13, 2022, 12:11:41 PM
is licks until they get serious. just look at haiti and jamaica, they have less infrastructure and resources yet they are out performing us on every level. all these folks like to spend their money on is feting and a good times, but things to lift our quality of life, no one cares. it's shameful.
Post by: royal on July 13, 2022, 02:35:42 PM
Mexico fire their entire staff, what is T&T doing?  ??? 
Post by: Tallman on July 13, 2022, 02:56:36 PM
Learn from the hurt: Jones wants more pro experience for beaten Women Warriors

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior women’s team and head coach Kenwyne Jones are hurting after a heart-breaking 1-0 loss against Panama which ended their 2023 World Cup qualification journey on Monday.

But Jones said it was not the end of the line for his players, who will need to learn from the experience and come back stronger in future campaigns. He lamented a “moment of miscommunication or indecision” that allowed Panama to get the upper hand in Monday night’s contest in Monterrey, Mexico.

“It was a tough one but I think football is a cruel game...I think that our team were in control of a lot of the game but I think in the first half, that moment of miscommunication or indecision by two of our players coming together there and allowing them that pass outside to be able to get the cross (to eventually score) and from there we were caught reacting,” Jones told the media following the match.

“I think that put us on the backfoot. But in the end, if we were just a little more positive in continuing to move the ball through the midfield and getting in the attack, I think we would have had better chances but it is unfortunate. Of course, not being able to win the game, it hurts. But I think the team needs to take from this experience, learn from it and grow,” he added.

Unlike the other teams in the competition, Jones noted his squad only had an average age of 23 and contained a lot of university-level players.

“The gap between university football and the international level is a huge one. Most of the people we play against are professional players,” the T&T coach observed.

“Hopefully they can continue to grow and more of our players end up playing professionally so that the growth and development or our team and players can continue,” he noted, adding, “In all honesty, in my opinion the campaign could have gone on. I believe we could have won against Panama today.”

Jones continued: “I think we started off really, being able to solve a tactical change they made to their formation. We were dealing with it very well. Of course, when you have moments like this, you are in different emotions but for the team I hope that the building process for them continues to go on.” In terms of the immediate future of the T&T side, Jones said that was up to the administration but he reiterated the need to find and develop players who can go on to the professional level.

“We have to continue to find good players and players we can help mould. We need more players that are on the border of being professionals or are playing professionals. We need to close the gap. We need to get players who are more out there with different experiences and being able to get up to speed of the international game as well,” Jones concluded.
Post by: Tallman on July 13, 2022, 03:18:50 PM
Jones clears up non-selection of YaYa, Cornwall for Women Warriors
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday)

TRINIDAD AND Tobago women’s football team coach Kenwyne Jones has defended the non-selection of attacking players Kennya “YaYa” Cordner and Afiyah Cornwall on the squad, for the Concacaf W Championship in Mexico.

T&T had a dismal showing at the Concacaf W Championship, as they lost all three of their games in Group B – 6-0 to Canada (July 5), 4-0 to Costa Rica (July 8th) and 1-0 to Panama (on Monday).

Canada and Costa Rica qualified automatically for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, while Panama will compete in the 2023 World Cup inter-confederation play-offs in New Zealand.

Both Cordner and Cornwall did not feature in the women’s team for 2022.

The 33-year-old Cordner scored 34 goals in her debut season with Turkish club Fenerbache while Cornwall was one of T&T’s leading lights at the 2020 Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship.

Asked by Wired868 website’s editor Lasana Liburd, during Monday’s post-game presser, about the non-selection of the pair, Jones responded, “I think you know the story of both of them so it’s a bit redundant for you to be asking the question. But for that sake, I'll answer you on the forum.

“Kennya Cordner decided not to play because her teammate (Maylee Attin-Johnson) was not selected anymore. She decided not to play for the country.”

On January 29, during the team’s training session at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva, Jones said, “Nothing was done to Cordner. We do wish her well. I hope that she has all success in the future, but we have to continue.”

At that session, he mentioned, “(Maylee) has done a lot for the women’s game and I personally do wish her well. It is in my remit and our remit to be able to make decisions that is best for the (team). We do thank her for her will, her commitment but, at this point in time, we are going to go in a different direction.”

Attin-Johnson, who was the captain of the T&T team during their failed campaign to qualify for the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Canada, was forthright in her view on the team, after the Panama game.

“My God does not sleep, He only wears pyjamas!!!!” and “A bunch of amateurs with high profile badges”, were some of the comments she posted on social media on Monday.

About Cornwall, Jones said, “She played Under-20 football about two years ago, was in the pool with the previous coach (James Thomas), was sent home for discipline reasons; tried to get into university but was sent home for discipline reasons again.

“In my tenure, I invited her to come to training, I spoke with her parents, to have a conversation with them and the player, and they never showed up. They had no intention of playing for the country, so I think the repeated question of why they weren’t selected needs to stop.”
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2022, 04:05:09 AM

What's the next competitive outing for the WNT?
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2022, 04:15:06 AM
Jones clears up non-selection of YaYa, Cornwall for Women Warriors
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday)

TRINIDAD AND Tobago women’s football team coach Kenwyne Jones has defended the non-selection of attacking players Kennya “YaYa” Cordner and Afiyah Cornwall on the squad, for the Concacaf W Championship in Mexico.

T&T had a dismal showing at the Concacaf W Championship, as they lost all three of their games in Group B – 6-0 to Canada (July 5), 4-0 to Costa Rica (July 8th) and 1-0 to Panama (on Monday).

Canada and Costa Rica qualified automatically for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, while Panama will compete in the 2023 World Cup inter-confederation play-offs in New Zealand.

Both Cordner and Cornwall did not feature in the women’s team for 2022.

The 33-year-old Cordner scored 34 goals in her debut season with Turkish club Fenerbache while Cornwall was one of T&T’s leading lights at the 2020 Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship.

Asked by Wired868 website’s editor Lasana Liburd, during Monday’s post-game presser, about the non-selection of the pair, Jones responded, “I think you know the story of both of them so it’s a bit redundant for you to be asking the question. But for that sake, I'll answer you on the forum.

“Kennya Cordner decided not to play because her teammate (Maylee Attin-Johnson) was not selected anymore. She decided not to play for the country.”

On January 29, during the team’s training session at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva, Jones said, “Nothing was done to Cordner. We do wish her well. I hope that she has all success in the future, but we have to continue.”

At that session, he mentioned, “(Maylee) has done a lot for the women’s game and I personally do wish her well. It is in my remit and our remit to be able to make decisions that is best for the (team). We do thank her for her will, her commitment but, at this point in time, we are going to go in a different direction.”

Attin-Johnson, who was the captain of the T&T team during their failed campaign to qualify for the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Canada, was forthright in her view on the team, after the Panama game.

“My God does not sleep, He only wears pyjamas!!!!” and “A bunch of amateurs with high profile badges”, were some of the comments she posted on social media on Monday.

About Cornwall, Jones said, “She played Under-20 football about two years ago, was in the pool with the previous coach (James Thomas), was sent home for discipline reasons; tried to get into university but was sent home for discipline reasons again.

“In my tenure, I invited her to come to training, I spoke with her parents, to have a conversation with them and the player, and they never showed up. They had no intention of playing for the country, so I think the repeated question of why they weren’t selected needs to stop.”

@NEWSDAY: seems more like Maylee doing the clearing-up of non-selection than KJ.

Incomplete statements constitute clarification, how?

The "pickle" for KJ seems to be how to render a complete statement without muddying himself. Scratch that ... without gehhin DUTTY. As it turns out, he should have realized mud and 'dut' was inevitable.

As I've suggested previously on this forum when he was 'inquisitioned' on SportsMax, this is still a story because he failed to kill it as a story. Iz like a water main buss and your solution is to stand there and stem the flow with your palms: at what point is it viable to walk away dry?

Notice by contrast how forthcoming he was about airing Cornwall's laundry. Dahis VERY instructive.
Post by: Deeks on July 14, 2022, 05:14:36 AM

Mexico fire their entire staff.  We can do the same thing. And we can also fire the entire normalisation committee first. Just saying
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2022, 05:34:33 AM
Yuh cyah fire who yuh didn't hire.
Post by: socalion on July 14, 2022, 06:46:03 AM
Mr kenwyne Jones ah wonder what do you have to say , now that Cornwall and her parent have spoken as it relates to your claim of indiscipline ! Looks like somebody is less than truthful . Could it be you mr Jones ?
Post by: ABTrini on July 14, 2022, 09:31:48 AM
is licks until they get serious. just look at haiti and jamaica, they have less infrastructure and resources yet they are out performing us on every level. all these monkeys like to spend their money on is feting and a good times, but things to lift our quality of life, no one cares. it's shameful.

I find it very offensive that you could refer to people as baboons and monkeys.
Post by: Anbrat on July 14, 2022, 11:05:42 AM

Mexico fire their entire staff.  We can do the same thing. And we can also fire the entire normalization committee first. Just saying
Yes indeed we can fire the entire normalization committee, but then we will be like the cheese, standing alone. No FIFA affiliation, no FIFA subventions, no participation in international competitions under the auspices of FIFA, etc, etc. We will have to revert to the North vs South classic, Jabloteh vs W Connection, Trinidad vs Tobago, perhaps a practice match vs Grenada. Just saying!
Post by: Deeks on July 14, 2022, 12:35:38 PM

Mexico fire their entire staff.  We can do the same thing. And we can also fire the entire normalization committee first. Just saying
Yes indeed we can fire the entire normalization committee, but then we will be like the cheese, standing alone. No FIFA affiliation, no FIFA subventions, no participation in international competitions under the auspices of FIFA, etc, etc. We will have to revert to the North vs South classic, Jabloteh vs W Connection, Trinidad vs Tobago, perhaps a practice match vs Grenada. Just saying!

Okay, so who do you think hire the coach. The TTFA under the auspices of the NC. THe TTFA cannot do anything until they get the go ahead of the NC. THE NC is running our football. When will the NC allow for the next election ?
Post by: ffisback on July 15, 2022, 12:17:33 AM
I agree with a lot of what KJ said the women game has  also gone professional most of the Jamaican team play professional football T&T only had 2 professional players on there team the days of bringing collage players from the U S A to play in international tournaments is over .
Post by: Anbrat on July 15, 2022, 05:17:09 AM

Okay, so who do you think hire the coach. The TTFA under the auspices of the NC. THe TTFA cannot do anything until they get the go ahead of the NC. THE NC is running our football. When will the NC allow for the next election ?
Of course the NC is running our football presently. It is my understanding that the NC will allow for the next election when FIFA's objective of regularizing the affairs (financial & otherwise) of the TTFA is achieved. That could be a long time in coming, so grab your popcorn.
Post by: Deeks on July 15, 2022, 08:36:00 AM

Of course the NC is running our football presently. It is my understanding that the NC will allow for the next election when FIFA's objective of regularizing the affairs (financial & otherwise) of the TTFA is achieved. That could be a long time in coming, so grab your popcorn.

So there you have it. With all the money that flowing in the upper echelons of the society, how the hell the NC can't get money from them to resolve the situation. We have blame all the past TTFA admins. for the inability to get money for football. Now we have the NC with a big money man at the helm and we wallowing in mediocrity for over a year now. I hope they not expecting govt to bail them out.
Post by: ABTrini on July 17, 2022, 12:46:45 PM
  does anyone know when the NC will  restore  governance back to a TTFA board? well guess we eh need ah TTFA  the NC operating like one - ent dat the normal way we does operate. Good of FIFA to rename we football governance as a Normalization.

good to go- One of them appointed find the football el dorado and cric crack  story done