Sports => Football => Topic started by: real madness on September 04, 2005, 06:15:52 AM

Title: Beenhakker is ah boss
Post by: real madness on September 04, 2005, 06:15:52 AM
Leo Beenhakker has proven why he is such a big coach.  He is a shrewd tactician and I was very impressed with the changes he made.  I was a bit surprised by his subsitution of Whitley and Spann, but he knew what he was doing.  He kept faith in Stern while 75% of us were calling for Stern to be benched.  He made Kelvin Jack 0ur #1 keeper while most of us were calling for Ince, Hislop and even Tony Warner.

As of now, I can't question Leo's selections (even Cyd Gray..I am sure he had a plan there...just Cyd couldn't execute the plan).  So if Leo start Manning up front with Stern next game and have Panday and Max Richards on the bench, i will not argue....IT IS OBVIOUS LEO KNOWS WHAT HE IS DOING.

Well done Leo!
Title: Has Beenhakker made a significant difference ?
Post by: Warrior till death on September 12, 2005, 10:58:54 AM
Has Beenhakker made a significant difference to  the Warriors' chances of qualification for WC 06?
Title: Re: Poll
Post by: Mr Mc on September 12, 2005, 11:04:06 AM
yuh asking answers!!  ;D
Title: Re: Has Beenhakker made a significant difference ?
Post by: football king on September 12, 2005, 11:20:17 AM
of course now we are 2nd to last instead of being last  :devil:

big difference
Post by: Coop's on September 12, 2005, 11:38:58 AM

big difference
You have made my day with this one.I really have to laugh. 
Post by: andre samuel on September 12, 2005, 11:50:10 AM

big difference

like KND give yuh some of he juice tuh drink??..lol
Post by: Filho on September 12, 2005, 11:57:00 AM
Under BSC we had 2 home games and we got 1 point. Under Beenie we had 2 home games and got 6 points.  Dat is oversimplifying it, but it is enough for me to say Beenie doing a  better job.... significantly better.
Post by: football king on September 12, 2005, 12:10:08 PM
BSC home games vs USA and Crica
beenie home games-Panama and Guatemala

i ain't no guru but i would play pan and guat over usa Crica anyday if i want a win

Post by: football king on September 12, 2005, 12:18:09 PM
Coops you are welcome

seriously though BSC put we in a hole deeper can one can imagine-his fault? hell no
ttff-yes for 1st hiring then not firing tha man. worse case after US game shoulda been gone.
are we world beaters under beenie-heck no!!
are we playing good football -uh no
have we improved-yes but there was not much room to get worse.
Post by: kicker on September 12, 2005, 12:24:18 PM
BSC home games vs USA and Crica
beenie home games-Panama and Guatemala

i ain't no guru but i would play pan and guat over usa Crica anyday if i want a win

Good point Football king

It's a tough question....haven't made my mind up yet. I think the more important question is: Do you think another coach have pulled us out the situation we were in under BSC, and have us in a better position than we are right now in the short space of time ?? (In other words, how much should Beenie be held accountable for in all fairness?)
Post by: arrow on September 12, 2005, 12:28:11 PM
Under BSC we had 2 home games and we got 1 point. Under Beenie we had 2 home games and got 6 points. Dat is oversimplifying it, but it is enough for me to say Beenie doing a better job.... significantly better.

But playing Devil's advocate look at the teams we got those 6 points from, Guatemala and Panama.  Just glance at the standings and you'll see they are much weaker than Costa Rica and USA that we got the 1 point from under BSC.  So Beenie got 6 points from the 2 easiest games out of the 10 we have to play in the entire Hex.  And don't forget we were 5 mins away from losing to Guatemala at home and Beenie had the services of Latapy which BSC didn't have.  Could BSC have taken those same 6 points?  we'll never know

I would say that if you watch the team's performances before and after Beenie, the team has played better football than they did under BSC, but just haven't been able to convert chances into goals.
But then again I think back to those early home games against the USA and Costa Rica and realize that we had a very good chance to at least draw the USA and beat Costa Rica in those games if we had converted some chances (e.g. Tiger vs USA, Nigel Pierre vs Costa Rica)
And just looking at our 2 games against the USA, I realize that we played a much better game against the US under BSC than we did under Beenie (1 shot in 90 mins!) but of course the US is much stronger now than they were in February and we were playing away with 10 men for a half so it's impossible to compare.

I will say this, if Beenie was coaching we would NEVER have lost 5-1 away to Guatemala and that to me is a big difference, BUT we might still have lost 2-1 or something.
So far Beenie has won the 2 games we should have won and lost the 3 games we should have lost, on paper.
SO I think Beenie needs to get us some positive results besides the Panama and Guatemala home games before we can say he really improved our chances of qualifying significantly.  Panama away and Mexico home are the big tests for Beenie as those are 2 close games on paper that we could easily get 0 points from or we could get 6.
Post by: football king on September 12, 2005, 12:40:33 PM
kicker that hole ain't joke deep- we still climbing hopefully not too late.
if beenie do it that will be the coaching job of the century.  real madrid might have to bring him back after this one.

wha beenie do since he in charge give we 6 pts from pan and guat at home after latas come back  -we supposed to get that 6.

2-0 vs mexico-still a loss-0 pts
1-0 vs USA-still a loss-0 pts
on the road we still salting
so not a significant difference
does he have the players necessary ??????? :devil:  

Post by: Tenorsaw on September 12, 2005, 12:42:21 PM
This fella just looking for talk on de forum.  Boss, just look at the quality of play.  Just forget about the points; the quality of play is higher and our opponents have taken notice. 
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 12, 2005, 12:45:57 PM
boss the usa HAD  team together about 2 wks before the game while betille had TNT training from since novemeber playing all kinds of warm up game etc bertille was over looking silvo spann  ,samuel and scotland whitley was not wasting time with bsc. etc

but that game in trinidad bertille should have won hands down

Post by: football king on September 12, 2005, 12:48:45 PM
Beenie blow BSC away hands down no doubt no comparison at all.

This fella just looking for talk on de forum.  Boss, just look at the quality of play.  Just forget about the points; the quality of play is higher and our opponents have taken notice. 
Sorry but i can't forget the pts- in sports i  want to win.

Post by: arrow on September 12, 2005, 12:53:54 PM
If BSC was still there Cornell Glen would be in the squad and Cyd Gray would not
Post by: Marcos on September 12, 2005, 12:54:07 PM
y'all really dunno nuttin if y'all have to ask whether beenie make a difference.
i thought y'all were football men.
Under BSC we would still have 1 pt right now
Post by: dcs on September 12, 2005, 12:57:14 PM

Coop's you saying the team not playing better football?

Or you saying it wasn't worth it?

Post by: kicker on September 12, 2005, 01:10:53 PM

Well the question is about whether or not he's increased our chances of qualification so yes you have to look at the points....(look at the question posed by the poll)

If the question were, "has he improved our standard of play", then you can forget the points....in the context of the poll you're ignoring the important statistic.

That being said, it is very possible to improve the quality of play significantly, and not necessarily improve your chances of qualification significantly........in other words, it's unfair to judge Beenie's merits strictly by how our position has changed in this WCQ campaign.
Post by: palos on September 12, 2005, 01:15:41 PM
T&T versus St Vincent.  Last game to get to the Hex.  Yes....that was the kind of game T&T played REGULARLY under BSC.  Just remember Gold Cup qualification.

By the way....look to the comments of the players if you want an answer to the question posted as the title of the thread.  They all make comments such as:

- The coach knows what he is doing

- We understand what we are being asked to do

- You can see a PLAN with respect to the drills & exercises we do in practice.
Post by: arrow on September 12, 2005, 01:36:14 PM
By the way....look to the comments of the players if you want an answer to the question posted as the title of the thread.  They all make comments such as:

All dat knowledge, understanding and planning and we still giving up sorf early goals and coming 5th in the Hex?
Post by: football king on September 12, 2005, 01:44:11 PM
hey pts don't matter
5th place
but we playing better so all good.  :beermug:
Post by: kicker on September 12, 2005, 02:12:41 PM
hey pts don't matter
5th place
but we playing better so all good.  :beermug:

Hopefully soon to be 4th place..........drink to that  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: football king on September 12, 2005, 02:19:23 PM
kicker-that would be nice and  then maybe in the future we play good ball have a sweet productive youth system, pro league and no more scrambling hoping and all the drama.

one day

Post by: kicker on September 12, 2005, 02:23:47 PM
kicker-that would be nice and  then maybe in the future we play good ball have a sweet productive youth system, pro league and no more scrambling hoping and all the drama.

one day

would be a dream come true.................although a little drama makes the success sweeter.......

but with Trinidad iz more than drama, iz heart-attack.......After that Guatemala game alone, I needed triple bypass surgery........still keeping the faith....
Post by: Marcos on September 12, 2005, 02:50:21 PM

All dat knowledge, understanding and planning and we still giving up sorf early goals and coming 5th in the Hex?

No coach could transform the culture and attitude of a team overnight. The man has been in charge for less than 5 months.
What do you really expect in that time?
You expect him to turn a team that was languishing at the bottom of the table into a compact, world beating unit.
That is impossible. To see his results you have to look at things in relation to how they were in the past.
Are we compact?
No. But we definitely are more compact than before.
Are we world beaters?
At this point no. But we definitely look a lot more capable than we did before.
Beenie is organized and deliberate, and has the team moving in a certain direction.
Under BSC u could clearly see the players were disorganized and just seemed to be getting by on pure individual ability.
We now have something we didn't have before, a structure.
Post by: supporter on September 12, 2005, 03:01:04 PM
wheres the poll response option for 'is this a dotish question'
Post by: palos on September 12, 2005, 03:13:31 PM

To arrow and football king

Under BSC....we would have been mathematically eliminated already.  That much I am sure about.

What were your expectations after a 0-2-1 start to the Hex with 2 games out of the 3 played at home?

Not sure if I truly understand where allyuh comin from.  

Allyuh sayin dat hirin Beenie was a waste of time?

If so, would BSC (or any other coach for that matter) have done a better or comparable job?

Is it that beenie was too expensive anyway and the money spent on him should have been spent elsewhere seein dat we eh makin WC anyway (accordin to alluyuh)?

What exactly is all de lyrics bout 5th in de Hex?

Isn't it better than the last place we came last Hex?

Aren't we already 3 points better than we earned all of last Hex with 2 games still to go, one of which is at home?

Forgive me if I'm wrong...maths was never my strong point...but are we still not in with a very good chance of getting 4th and going to a playoff for a WC spot?

What really is allyuh point?

Post by: JDB on September 12, 2005, 03:15:08 PM
Men obviously arguing for the sake of it since everybody (barring one drunk man) in the poll agreed that Beenie has improved the team.
Post by: kicker on September 12, 2005, 03:22:22 PM
Men obviously arguing fo rthe sake of it since everybody (barring one drunk man) in the poll agreed that Beenie has improved the team.

There's no doubt that Beenie has improved the team.......and no one can argue sensibly in favor of Bertille over Beenie.................but in the context of the question (read carefully).....it IS arguable whether or not he has significantly improved our chances..........

When Bertille left, we were in the dumps........now we still have a fighting chance at making a play-off.......so yes our chances have improved........the question is do you think that our chances have improved significantly under the new coach.........

I think it's a fair question......Beenie came in and had a very very tough job to do.....regardless of how great a coach he is, whether or not he has done his job is still a valid question.
Post by: palos on September 12, 2005, 03:31:39 PM
Men obviously arguing fo rthe sake of it since everybody (barring one drunk man) in the poll agreed that Beenie has improved the team.

There's no doubt that Beenie has improved the team.......and no one can argue sensibly in favor of Bertille over Beenie.................but in the context of the question (read carefully).....it IS arguable whether or not he has significantly improved our chances..........

When Bertille left, we were in the dumps........now we still have a fighting chance at making a play-off.......so yes our chances have improved........the question is do you think that our chances have improved significantly under the new coach.........

I think it's a fair question......Beenie came in and had a very very tough job to do.....regardless of how great a coach he is, whether or not he has done his job is still a valid question.

The fact that with 2 games to go, we're in a very good position to qualify for a playoff is quite SIGNIFICANT in my opinion.  So my answer would be, given where we were when Beenie started...1 point from 3 games...2 of which were at home, a most definite YES!
Post by: arrow on September 12, 2005, 03:44:10 PM
Forgive me if I'm wrong...maths was never my strong point...but are we still not in with a very good chance of getting 4th and going to a playoff for a WC spot?

What really is allyuh point?

Yes I agree with everybody here that Beenie has improved the overall quality of our team's play, structure etc. but that is not the question that was originally asked in this poll/thread.  My point is that so far Beenie has achieved the results that were expected of him...nothing more, nothing less.  Home wins against our two weakest opponents and away losses to our three strongest.
So my point is that it is too early to tell if Beenie has made a significant difference to our chances of qualifying because, points wise, we are in the exact same position as I expected us to be in before he was hired (two wins at home vs our two weakest foes).  If he can pull off an away win against Panama then I can say 100% that he has improved our chances of qualifying because those would be 3 points that I was not counting on getting before he came on board.  That would be enough proof for me, I don't even care that we still need to win 3 or 4 matches in a row to qualify while we are yet to win two consecutive under Beenie.
Post by: kicker on September 12, 2005, 03:46:04 PM

The fact that with 2 games to go, we're in a very good position to qualify for a playoff is quite SIGNIFICANT in my opinion.  So my answer would be, given where we were when Beenie started...1 point from 3 games...2 of which were at home, a most definite YES!

fair enough.........I'm leaning towards agreeing with you........some however would argue that Guate has a big advantage going into these last two games.....so our chances are very slim, and hence have not improved significantly..........it's all a matter of how you see it, and that is whole point of a poll- it's solicits opinions.........so fire bun all de men who cry down the question as stupid, and can't understand how others would see it differently.
Post by: palos on September 12, 2005, 03:46:18 PM
Yes I agree with everybody here that Beenie has improved the overall quality of our team's play, structure etc. but that is not the question that was originally asked in this poll/thread.  My point is that so far Beenie has achieved the results that were expected of him...nothing more, nothing less.  Home wins against our two weakest opponents and away losses to our three strongest.
So my point is that it is too early to tell if Beenie has made a significant difference to our chances of qualifying because, points wise, we are in the exact same position as I expected us to be in before he was hired (two wins at home vs our two weakest foes).  If he can pull off an away win against Panama then I can say 100% that he has improved our chances of qualifying because those would be 3 points that I was not counting on getting before he came on board.  That would be enough proof for me, I don't even care that we still need to win 3 or 4 matches in a row to qualify while we are yet to win two consecutive under Beenie.

How many points at home were you expecting against USA, Costa Rica and Mexico BEFORE the start of the Hex?
Post by: arrow on September 12, 2005, 04:05:05 PM
How many points at home were you expecting against USA, Costa Rica and Mexico BEFORE the start of the Hex?

Before the Hex started based on our past results against those 3 regional powers I expected 4 points max (a home win vs costa rica and a draw home to Mexico considering our last game would be after they qualify).  And I expected a draw on the road to Panama.  And the 2 home wins we got.  11 points I thought could get us 4th as I expected Guatemala to get a few less points against Panama and the USA than they got. 
So again if/when Beenie can get us wins over Panama and Mexico (instead of the draws I expected) then he would have significantly improved our chances of qualifying.
Post by: maxg on September 12, 2005, 04:07:24 PM
agreed...buh yuh know how I cheap...at 800k a mth & a improved talent (latapy,Birchall, whitley to name a few...we better still have some chance), so at least BeenE doing his job, but there was not any doubt of that, was there ? or he wouldn't have been hired by Jack.

Bottom line though is if we don't at least get 4th, then BeenE would have failed...that was his mandate....It not over till it over
Post by: Lower St. John on September 12, 2005, 04:12:26 PM
I will repeat a quote made to me while walking out of the USA vs Trinidad game in Hartford from a respected football mind in Trinbago:

Think of Trinbago football as an experiment (since it is obvious that the decision makers are looking at it in this context also).  On one Table, stir a full glass of water (National team) with a small amount of sugar (player talent) with a rusty nail (BSC).  On the other Table, stir the same glass of water (National team) with the same small amount of sugar (player talent) with a gold spoon (Beenie Man).  Is there a discernible difference in the sweetness of the water (National Team) at the end of the experiment.  The answer is a resounding "NO".  The glass with the gold spoon will have a better appearance but that is about all.

Breaking it down, as a team we are not in the top 3-5 of Concacaf (add Jamaica and Honduras).  Our players are not as good as some folks on this site tend to believe (but one has to be either blind or a die hard to have that belief in the first place).  We may be in the Hex but that is as a result of the semifinal group we found ourselves in.  Plain talk bad manners.

Beenie Man as a result of his technical approach to the game has hidden a lot of our player deficiencies but he is not Mandrake so doh expect magic.  In my humble opinion we are no longer the laughing stock of Concacaf as was evident from our past overall approach to the game and the supposedly higher caliber of players in our ranks (foreign rather than local, which is a joke to me).  As a team, we still funny for days but we are not the walkover as in times past.  Putting it into true context this does not say much really.

The performance on the field has improved, sadly the improvement is not tantamount to improving our position in Concacaf (or the Hex) since the difference between ourselves and the upper echelon in Concacaf is much greater than many on this site want to acknowledge.

Touches recently had a post questioning our national team deserving to be in the World Cup, the fact is qualification is based on being in the top four of the Final Concacaf Hex and right now Beenie Man has brought us to the point that we can say that we are on par with the fourth place team Guatemala but certainly not the top three.  Credit should be given for that fact at least.
Post by: dcs on September 12, 2005, 05:06:53 PM

We are playing better football and that is indisputable...only a few hard headed bias people will say the quality of football is the same.  When is the last time we could say the players alone were the limiting factors which is how it should be?

Have our players gained anything from playing under Leo?
Are all their comments about the improvements meaningless?

Play better football and the results will follow.
Post by: dcs on September 12, 2005, 05:07:14 PM

rusty nail dipped in..........
Post by: palos on September 12, 2005, 05:07:21 PM

Before the Hex started based on our past results against those 3 regional powers I expected 4 points max (a home win vs costa rica and a draw home to Mexico considering our last game would be after they qualify).  And I expected a draw on the road to Panama.  And the 2 home wins we got.  11 points I thought could get us 4th as I expected Guatemala to get a few less points against Panama and the USA than they got. 
So again if/when Beenie can get us wins over Panama and Mexico (instead of the draws I expected) then he would have significantly improved our chances of qualifying.

On the one hand, BEFORE the Hex, you EXPECTED us to get 11 points to get 4th including a home win against Costa Rica.

On the other hand, we now have 7 points and you saying Beenie will SIGNIFICANTLY improve our chances of qualifying ONLY if we beat both Panama & Mexico?

So you revising your EXPECTATIONS to 13 points instead of 11?

Seeing that Beenie began life as TD coach with us on 1 point from 3 games and not 3 points as YOU EXPECTED.....you don't think he has significantly improved our chances already by winning games that we HAD to win?

The fact is.....had we not conceded 5 goals against Guatemala in Guatemala, which many acknowledge would not have happened had Beenie been coach, we would not now be in the position of having to finish ahead of Guatemala to make 4th.

To be honest.....the way THIS team was playing and the "results" we were getting up to before the Panama home game, we are lucky we have not role reversed with Panama.  For that, I say Beenhakker has already SIGNIFICANTLY increased our chances.

Post by: Mr Mc on September 12, 2005, 05:33:45 PM
Beenie has been with the team less than 6 months, if we count the actual face time he has had with the team then we looking at less than 2 months...is it perhaps a lil early to expect SIGNIFICANT improvesments in the team????????
since most of us agree that the team is playing better, maybe a better question is would BSC have been able to get this kind of play out of the players?

I think not!
Post by: morvant on September 12, 2005, 05:38:43 PM
yes i think he's made a difference giving the time he's been in charge. quality of play is up.
Post by: Marcos on September 12, 2005, 05:39:01 PM

fair enough.........I'm leaning towards agreeing with you........some however would argue that Guate has a big advantage going into these last two games.....so our chances are very slim, and hence have not improved significantly..........it's all a matter of how you see it, and that is whole point of a poll- it's solicits opinions.........so fire bun all de men who cry down the question as stupid, and can't understand how others would see it differently.

the question isn't stupid
it is rhetorical
Post by: Touches on September 12, 2005, 06:57:18 PM
For all the men who want to play diplomatic Beenie has done a REAL good job with this side!

We have moved from getting schooled from St Vincent and St kitts to being competitive with Mexico.

ALso lets look at other factors that woulda happen if Bertie were still in charge.

No Whitley

No Latas

No Spann

No Scotland

No Samuel

No Avery

We woulda see Derek King front and center, Nigel Pierre, Angus Eve still as captain, Rougier, Rojas, Tiger and Rahim woulda get more playing time.Cornell might have been there.

We woulda have the same long ball hit and hope that STern do something kinda play.

Beenie has improved the team in terms of defending, off the ball runs, possession, goal scoring opportunities and set plays.

If alyuh think they are still few then in the Bsc era they were non existant.

Also the little things that make a difference Beenie do that Bertie cyar dream off.

He tell the Mexicans to f&8k off and we train on the field NORMAL when they try to run us.

In St Vincent and St Kitts we train on field with goat and bottle and they rough we up.

I see beenie hold a ball, rough up a ball boy, signal to the official and make a important time wasting sub.

Also with Beenie we get something Bertie never get.........a new level of respect, from opponents, commentators and coaches.

Post by: JERSEY TRINI on September 12, 2005, 07:06:48 PM
For all the men who want to play diplomatic Beenie has done a REAL good job with this side!

We have moved from getting schooled from St Vincent and St kitts to being competitive with Mexico.

ALso lets look at other factors that woulda happen if Bertie were still in charge.

No Whitley

No Latas

No Spann

No Scotland

No Samuel

No Avery

We woulda see Derek King front and center, Nigel Pierre, Angus Eve still as captain, Rougier, Rojas, Tiger and Rahim woulda get more playing time.Cornell might have been there.

We woulda have the same long ball hit and hope that STern do something kinda play.

Beenie has improved the team in terms of defending, off the ball runs, possession, goal scoring opportunities and set plays.

Also the little things that make a difference Beenie do that Bertie cyar dream off.

He tell the Mexicans to f&8k off and we train on the field NORMAL when they try to run us.

In St Vincent and St Kitts we train on field with goat and bottle and they rough we up.

I see beenie hold a ball, rough up a ball boy, signal to the official and make a important time wasting sub.

Also with Beenie we get something Bertie never get.........a new level of respect, from opponents, commentators and coaches.

Well said Touches, well said  :applause: :applause: :cheers:
Post by: Tongue on September 12, 2005, 08:24:54 PM
yes! Yes! and YES!....since taking over from Bertile, Don Leo has made a significant difference to the football we playing and increased the chances for the playoffs with Asia. Yuh could hear dis from the players and we in the general public could see it wit we 2 'eye' unless yuh blind. Since taking over, he has been able to bring een men BSC didden want or didden recognise that dey could make a contribution to the team. In the matches played with BSC, none ah we had any idea what de arse was going on, but wit Don Leo we could see structure on the field....Is years we callin for some kinda of structure and now we have it...it came late buh say wha at least we have it...even the players (as one man already put it) know what their roles are...the training sessions making sence...a very professional environment and so on...better yet Don Leo eh moving like Saddam...but having his supporting cast play a role in the daily sessions and knowing how tuh talk tuh people..... now we hearing bout having a scout at opponents games....and video sessions....
All dem kinda ting does make ah difference oui! ah big friggin difference
Post by: pass(10trini) on September 12, 2005, 09:23:19 PM
Latas is de boss....u should change dat flicking name cause my boy doh talk dem kind ah shit........

Tallman . Flex alyuh take dis man off the site nah :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: SHOTTA on September 12, 2005, 09:42:35 PM
it is immaculatly obvious wat leo has dun to the warriors in term of solidifying the defense and scouting new talent whilst bringing out the best in the men he has available as well as tactical awareness
eg subbed on scotland wen we need a goal take him off wen we on top in order to solidify the defense

WHO D HELL SAID NO ON THE POLL?
COME GOOD WIT A REASON
Post by: palos on September 12, 2005, 10:33:21 PM
it is immaculatly obvious wat leo has dun to the warriors in term of solidifying the defense and scouting new talent whilst bringing out the best in the men he has available as well as tactical awareness
eg subbed on scotland wen we need a goal take him off wen we on top in order to solidify the defense

WHO D HELL SAID NO ON THE POLL?
COME GOOD WIT A REASON

Somebody pull a "KND".  Maybe is he self.
Post by: Preacher on September 12, 2005, 11:01:48 PM
Fellas I think the answers is a Yes and a No......Yes he has helped our team but or football in my opinion isn't any better.   
Beenie has the experience to make us look good but like he has said it's really is up to our play.....Translation: it's up to our football/natural game/ players/ability/read etc....

Under BSC this team was showing the same inconsistencies as it's showing now.  Yes we are playing better ball, thanks to a coach that know more or just as much as the oposition.

But our football is still mared by half takcles, poor marking, weak build up , ball lossing, and poor finishing.

Don't get me wrong I think Beenie is the man....But it is easier to play a good game that to produce a good football team.  We can get there if Beenie stay but all Beenie has done is use what was given to him. Big credit to him. You pull Beenie out of this equation now and you'll see we'll be back to sqaure one. 

So yes the team is playing better but there has been no significant change in our football.  It just to early fellas 2-3 games is not enough.
Post by: Marcos on September 12, 2005, 11:56:30 PM

No Whitley

No Latas

No Spann

No Scotland

No Samuel

No Avery

Touches talk like a king there
Post by: fishs on September 13, 2005, 01:04:15 AM
I was in Barbados for the Gold Cup qualifications, and man we look baad.
I know some of you all might of been there and most likely everybody watch it on TV,
but if it was not for a brlliant Eve goal against Barbados we would not have made it to the finals, Barbados who we used to beat like bobolee in the past.
BSC didn't have a clue, I do not know what happened to this man, totally different to the last time he coached TT, if Jack did not fire him after he had take us to wc qualifying rounds and the gold cup semis then I still feel he would have done a much better job than Porterfield. But this is different times and he actually looked senile and lost in Barbados.
Beenie man doh look senile to me.
Post by: Filho on September 13, 2005, 06:54:50 AM
I eh going into all the resasons why I think Beenie significantly improve the team, but for those who argue that the home games against Panama and Guatemala not as difficult as the home games against USA and Costa Rica: On paper you are right,a nd I agree I was simplifying the situation...I doh want to write no essay...BUT
In reality the States didn't train until 2 weeks before the game because the US players was on strike and USA was preparing to come down here with a squad made up of A league men...remember dat.
Costa Rica was playing crap...and lost their first home game against Mexico without even giving a good fight. Even Mexico dog go to CR and win.They had barely scraped into the finals round and their coach got fired after the 0-0 in TnT, they were playing so poorly by their own standards.

I seriousy believe that under Beenie we would at least beat CR. In the end you cyah know for sure but with BSC we colect 5 in Guatee, play sh** everygame, get schooled by St Vincent, get rough up by Jamaica and Cuba in the Digicel and just scrape past Brabados to qualify for the Gold Cup. You want a direct comparison...look at how we play Mexico under the 2 coaches....
Post by: kicker on September 13, 2005, 07:04:19 AM
What a waste of a thread.

the majority of posts on this topic state the obvious- Beenie has improved our level of play.....

However, not many have talked to the actual question posed by the poll......

It's difficult to argue against an opinion that our play has improved.....I think it has improved quite a bit.

But have our chances of qualification significantly improved ?- that still remains up in the air in my opinion.

Under BSC our we were dead last, there was little to no sign of hope or improvement, but it was still early, so you could argue that there was still a chance that we would qualify. Mathematically we were in it. Mathematically we even still had a chance at automatic qualification. We were not knocked out yet.

Right now under Beenie, we have no chance of automatic qualification, and we're still one spot outside of making a play-off. I believe we can do it, but our chances are still relatively slim.

Beenie has done a good job- no doubt but :

this is a direct quote of the question posed by the poll "Has Beenhakker made a significant difference to  the Warriors' chances of qualification for WC 06?"................not whether or not he's improved our standard or play........can we see the difference ?

If we beat Panama next game, we'll have one foot in the door for the play off, and then I could say yes our chances of qualification have significantly improved

Post by: football king on September 13, 2005, 07:27:33 AM
well said kicker and hopefully the answer changes to a yes soon.  :beermug:
Post by: kicker on September 13, 2005, 07:34:51 AM
well said kicker and hopefully the answer changes to a yes soon.  :beermug:

Fingers crossed on one hand......... :beermug: in the next.......

Go Warriors !!
Post by: Filho on September 13, 2005, 07:45:39 AM
I hear you kicker...but I see improved play as directly related to our chances. Since BSC did not get a chance to take us this far you can never really know where we would be with him at the helm at this point...understood. All we have is the hypothetical issue of whether our improved play is directly related to our position. I say yes. I feel that because we are playing better, we probably have more points and probably have a better goal difference than we would have under BSC. There are no solid facts to back it up, but I doh agree you could ignore the possibility our chances have improved significantly due to our perceived improvement in play. You can't use where we stood mathematically under BSC after 3 games because at the beginning of a tournament with 10 games to play you will always be in it mathematically even if you lose the first 3. So you can only answer this question using your perceived notion of a) whether we are playing better b) whether that improved play has potentially gotten us better results. I say yes for both. Under BSC we would be out already in my opinion.
Post by: kicker on September 13, 2005, 08:24:43 AM
You can't use where we stood mathematically under BSC after 3 games because at the beginning of a tournament with 10 games to play you will always be in it mathematically even if you lose the first 3.

Yes you can. If you're talking about chances of qualification, you have to take everything into consideration that determines your chances, and then see how Beenie, was able to act against such to significantly improve those chances. The fact that he came 3 games in, with only 1 point from 2 home games, just makes it more difficult for him to significantly improve our chances.

This issue is not a simple case of Beenie being a good coach. It's about him taking a position at a time when there was alot stacked against him....he could have came in at the last game when we were down and out  and transformed us into Brazil, and still not affected our chances.

I don't see this as Beenie vs Bertille, argument as many have twisted it to be, or else it would not be worth posting......Beenie is better than Bertille full stop.............. and it's way more than if he just improved our absolute level of play......

It's more relative..............eg.The degree to which he would have to improve our level of play to significantly improve our chances after 3 games is greater than if it were after 1 game etc.........

I see it as a Beenie vs. a very difficult situation, where it would be very difficult for any coach to come in and significantly improve our chances.......... and as far as I'm concerned he still has 2 games left to significantly improve our chances.

.....at least that's how I see it.
Post by: Filho on September 13, 2005, 09:02:14 AM
Cool ting.....but that is only one interpretation of a very open question. I believe it can also be answered as a hypothetical question taking into account our perception of where the team is now vs. where it might have been without Beenie...which in this case means, with Bertille. If you assume that BSC would be in charge instead of Beenie then it can be taken as a comparison to where we are with Beenie vs. where we could possibly have been with BSC. Hence the comparisons. Sure there is no objective way to answer this, but to come up with an answer any other way would involve a host of parameters, some of which have nothing to do with Beenie and how he has affected our chances, such as number of games played, number of games remaining, home vs. away games, results of other games. Since I believe that in essence this question was posted for people to opine on how well Beenie has done, then there is more than one way to approach it.
Post by: arrow on September 13, 2005, 09:24:35 AM
Kicker - I read the question of this thread the same way as you and I agree with you it is still to early to say right now.  Nobody here has put forth any argument that he has not improved the level of our play, any blind man can see that.  But results and points wise, Beenie has done nothing more or less than what was expected of him as things stand today.  He has yet to pull off any upsets versus the Concacaf Big 3.  He has yet to win any competitive match away from Trinidad soil.  Only when he achieves one or both of those feats then I will say he has significantly improved our chances of qualifying because if he doesn't we ent going nowhere.
And I agree this is a waste of time thread, people only stating and re-stating the obvious and not answering the initial question which was only posed because we have nothing better to talk about until the next game.
Post by: Cowen on September 13, 2005, 09:26:31 AM
I just keep reading basically the same thing over and over.It obvious the man improve the team ..... who can't see that obviously don't know a thing about football.
Post by: kicker on September 13, 2005, 09:36:23 AM
I think we beat this one to death......

In sum, my original point was that there are different ways to look at it.....if it's just a Beenie vs Bertille argument, then it's a no brainer in my opinion. Bertille was a waste of time. Beenie knows what he's doing.

If it's a question of how well has Beenie done.....I (and nearly all of us) think he's done well to restore hope in this team...

If, as per the actual question, it's about how significantly he's improved our chances (which is more relative to our WCQ situation)......I think he has 1 or 2 more games to go before we can fairly assess him....until then our chances have only improved marginally since he came on board........
Post by: Marcos on September 13, 2005, 09:38:02 AM
What a waste of a thread.

the majority of posts on this topic state the obvious- Beenie has improved our level of play.....

However, not many have talked to the actual question posed by the poll......

It's difficult to argue against an opinion that our play has improved.....I think it has improved quite a bit.

But have our chances of qualification significantly improved ?- that still remains up in the air in my opinion.

Under BSC our we were dead last, there was little to no sign of hope or improvement, but it was still early, so you could argue that there was still a chance that we would qualify. Mathematically we were in it. Mathematically we even still had a chance at automatic qualification. We were not knocked out yet.

Right now under Beenie, we have no chance of automatic qualification, and we're still one spot outside of making a play-off. I believe we can do it, but our chances are still relatively slim.

Beenie has done a good job- no doubt but :

this is a direct quote of the question posed by the poll "Has Beenhakker made a significant difference to  the Warriors' chances of qualification for WC 06?"................not whether or not he's improved our standard or play........can we see the difference ?

If we beat Panama next game, we'll have one foot in the door for the play off, and then I could say yes our chances of qualification have significantly improved

To answer your question directly.
Yes He improved our chances. They went from 0 under BSC to a figure alot greater than that. ( I am not sure of the exact number)
If you want to look at a percentage growth rate 

((any positive number)/0 -1)% = INFINITY
Post by: Filho on September 13, 2005, 10:19:56 AM
chances of qualifying before Beenie=unknown and difficult to quantify since we only played 3 games. however if those 3 results were anything to go by, our chances = 0

chances since Beenie....greater than zero, since we are still in it. A little more quantifiable with 2 games to go, with a possible 2 more after....but I don't know exactly what the probability of qualifying is now.

agree or disagree, that is my logic and i believe there is some merit to it  :D

There are 2 end results 1) qualify 2) not qualify.
I believe that before Beenie the end result would be #2. Since Beenie, we still have a chance at #1. We may argue over how to quantify 'significant' but for me that is a significant difference.

This requires a combo of quantitative analysis and qualitative. Kicker, Arrow, etc are right...some of us leaning too much on the qualitative side, when the question requires us to be more quantitative, but not entirely so since you still need assumptions to come to a conclusion. NOW...we beat this one to death ;D

Kicker....how was de sweat Sunday?
Post by: kicker on September 13, 2005, 10:48:20 AM
Sweat was good.........That league will be competitive...... we lost 2-1......a draw woulda been fair.....

Talk to Greg about some issues with the subsitution rule....
Post by: Marcos on September 13, 2005, 12:02:25 PM
Check it Fihlo.
Look at the Math.
We are infinitely better since Leo came on
haha
Post by: palos on September 13, 2005, 12:34:23 PM
Man make a post hopin to stir debate.  Mission accomplished

Furthermore....man make post provocative knowin full well the responses most have posted.

Now man tryin to be technical talkin bout only gettin points he was expected to get and we eh get no points away from home wit CONCACAF big 3.

Classic case of retreatin when yuh original point get blow up.

Basically man makin dis a exercise in semantics when to me the question is clear.  Is our chances of makin de WC better WITH Beenie or not?

Retreat all yuh want but dat is de real issue here and it done get answer.

Anyting else...yuh jes lookin fuh chat.
Post by: kicker on September 13, 2005, 12:58:59 PM
Man make a post hopin to stir debate.  Mission accomplished

Furthermore....man make post provocative knowin full well the responses most have posted.

Now man tryin to be technical talkin bout only gettin points he was expected to get and we eh get no points away from home wit CONCACAF big 3.

Classic case of retreatin when yuh original point get blow up.

Basically man makin dis a exercise in semantics when to me the question is clear.  Is our chances of makin de WC better WITH Beenie or not?

Retreat all yuh want but dat is de real issue here and it done get answer.

Anyting else...yuh jes lookin fuh chat.

Palos, You say the question is clear, but you totally changed the question.....and if you can't see how, then it's not worth explaining.

Classic case of not paying attention to what people have said, being oblivious to the fact that the question can be interpreted in more than one way, ignoring the vailidity of a different point of view and typing absolute diarrhea after the point has already been beaten to death...........dis forum is truly the best.
Title: Beenie is ah boss
Post by: Jay10 on October 12, 2005, 09:51:03 PM
No disrespect to past tt coaches, but u all see how Cyd gray lookin now?.......ah mean , he still hav ah lil bit to go but he lookin like ah very good wing back. I never thought i would say this but wen he thinks he looks very good. He had all the qualities of a good wingback  EXCEPT the brain.......but it seems that Beenie fix dat 4 d while.

dont know wha appen 2 Spann(he wasnt even on the bench) but I think this was a tactical change. He was sweeping wen the bigmen went up, and he  basically nullified the quick mexican counters.

good job guys
Title: Re: Beenie is ah boss
Post by: g on October 12, 2005, 09:54:49 PM
Spann had two cards
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 12, 2005, 09:55:21 PM
Spann was serving an auto suspension for 2 yellows....
Post by: pass(10trini) on October 12, 2005, 09:57:36 PM
jay wey u was sah ? Spann on ah suspension dred.
Post by: Savannah boy on October 12, 2005, 10:33:25 PM
If he is ah borse, he get ah bad hand when he came on board and now we nearly in de World Cup. He stuck by Stern all de way becz he see something from de man at practice and from his committment.
Title: Bennie Man for Prime Minister Composure is a hell of a thing
Post by: KND2 on October 13, 2005, 07:42:22 AM
First I go have to say Bennie man make me eat me words because I for one was backing Bertile to keep the work.
But Bennie Man show the way how it have to be done.

I for one was panicking when they start to show the Guatemala Scores on TV I was expecting him to make us press the game even more.

When Stern miss the penalty and Jack get string up I start to cuss why these men not pressing the game,
I was expecting Bennie man to throw on 2 forwards one time.

The man stay cool calm and collected.

Stick to the game plan and most of all remain composed.

This composure was refected in the players as none of them really panicked
We played the game at a walking pace which allowed us to not make too many mistakes.

The main reason we here is because of Bennie Man
His composure and clear game plan and decision making is the difference.

Each player on our team knows what they have to do
Each player on our team is capable of doing what Bennie man has asked them to do.

Clear communication
Clear vision.

Even mad man Cyd Grey play good  ;D
Title: Re: Bennie Man for Prime Minister Composure is a hell of a thing
Post by: morvant on October 13, 2005, 07:44:56 AM
i remember when i was in de stadium watching trini play its first match against north east. me and shotta rell cuss beenie and say he aint go last but de man come out of de woodworks dan. congrats :beermug:
Post by: Marcos on October 13, 2005, 07:49:24 AM
Beenie for Prime Minister.
Dwight for President.
Post by: Andre on October 13, 2005, 07:50:38 AM
i thought he was th eman for the job but not a miracle worker. i felt that in the long run we would have to get a result in panama and beat mexico at home. neither was a small feat. given the improvement we have made, i think we will be in germany. this is probably the best i see a t & t team ever play - even in the losses at the US and mexico. imagine if the team played together more often? we would be up there with the US and mexico in concacaf.
Title: I hope men don't doubt Beenhakkerr again
Post by: Ponnoxx on November 16, 2005, 03:10:59 PM
 What do you think about Beenhakker's tactics now?
Title: Re: I hope men don't doubt Beenhakkerr again
Post by: MickeyRat on November 16, 2005, 03:13:09 PM
Brilliant, just Brilliant.   :applause:
Post by: Rotato Poti on November 16, 2005, 03:13:51 PM
bait
Post by: Ponnoxx on November 16, 2005, 03:15:00 PM
 I wonder what will be our group....when will we know?
Post by: Jefferz on November 16, 2005, 03:19:34 PM
I honestly always supported them, or atleast i tried, despite thinking that edwards should do well in strike, i will never ever even think about questioning him again, despite being one of the people that shied away from doing it atol, he has taken a team that had their amazing potential and skill running full blown in the wrong direction. With nearly no real organization, he tought a team in the matter of a few months to play with an organized rythem, he didnt try to dim their attack prone way of playing which was leaving there backline deathly vulnarable, he also supported each and every player on and off the pitch to his fullist as a father figure and instilled the right moral values in a team that was a lost force to be reckons with. That team is now Trinidad and Tobago.
Post by: Tinus on November 16, 2005, 03:22:44 PM
I wonder what will be our group....when will we know?

Finals draw will be on December 9th.
Post by: Behbehman on November 16, 2005, 03:45:39 PM
What do you think about Beenhakker's tactics now?

Wuh is dat I hearing? People doubting Beenieman? Buh wuh the hell is dis breds...nah...ah cyar believe dat! Allyuh eh see wey dat dutchman tek we from? From one point to the World Cup. I eh bashing Bertille...buh he was good for he time...leh he rest off.

We need Beenie more than ever now. 8)
Post by: Arimaman on November 16, 2005, 04:00:10 PM
In Beenieman I trust!!

The man is a brilliant tactician.
Post by: rastafari on November 22, 2005, 10:14:05 AM

YUH DOH FEDUP TALKING SHIT
Post by: greenpea on November 22, 2005, 10:53:41 AM

YUH DOH FEDUP TALKING SHIT

Beenie gave the team,
1) Structure (effective dynamic structure) around the top of the 18 yd box.
2) Definite attacking structure w/i a game plan

What the players do (and are still struggling with) is to play an open game and get goals within the confines of this plan. This is not an easy task given the time constraints especially and the fact that we were pressed to perform well enough to get to the WC.

Make no mistake the reason we have not made the WC before is primarily through coaching and planning weaknesses.....  :chilling:
Title: Re: Beenhakker is ah boss
Post by: trinidad badboy on November 22, 2005, 11:29:30 AM

yessss...

he bring back new life into the squad and change up the team alot to make the best mix work.

and also instill discipline into our team

he is one of the best things done by the TTFA