Sports => Football => Topic started by: FATZ on November 19, 2005, 06:50:08 PM

Title: Who is the world's best free kick specialist???
Post by: FATZ on November 19, 2005, 06:50:08 PM
Someone just quoted one of my posts and said that Beckham is an amazing player and the best free kick taker in the world. I'm wondering if that person is slow, simple or stupid or an ass, a marble or a string or the ass that tried to balance the marble on the string. My choice for best free kick specialist is Pernambucano Juninho of Brazil and Lyon.
Title: Re: Who is the world's best free kick specialist???
Post by: Pointman on November 19, 2005, 06:50:46 PM
Someone just quoted one of my posts and said that Beckham is an amazing player and the best free kick taker in the world. I'm wondering if that person is slow, simple or stupid or an ass, a marble or a string or the ass that tried to balance the marble on the string. My choice for best free kick specialist is Pernambucano Juninho of Brazil and Lyon.

David Beckham.
Post by: palos on November 19, 2005, 06:55:53 PM

Beckham used to be the undisputed best.  Since he went Real, he had to share opportunities with Zidane, Figo & Roberto Carlos so that may be why he has dropped off a notch.

Juninho is amazing and well worthy of the title now.

There used to be a German fella used to play fuh Rangers couple years ago.  A left foot guy.  Hit the ball as hard as anybody I have ever seen.  He used to score from free kick regular.

Ronaldinho right up there as is Andrea Pirlo from Milan.

Have to add Recoba from Inter as well.

Post by: Grande on November 19, 2005, 06:56:18 PM

David Beckham.

Beckham is a good free-kick specialist, but definitely, definitely not the best in the world. I can name at least three better than him.

1. Juninho Pernambucano (Brazil & Lyon) - World's best.
2. Pierre van Hooijdonk (Holland & Fenerbache)
3. Fransisco Arce (Paraguay)
4. Sinisa Mijalovic (Serbia and Montenegro & Inter Milan).
Post by: Jah Gol on November 19, 2005, 06:57:10 PM
A lot of people will say Beckham but if you really watch football and try to be objective you'd see that its Juninho. He gets the ball over the wall most times and if he doesn't score the keeper has to make a save.  Those who say Beckham need to ask themselves "when was the last time Beckham actually scored a freekick? " ::) Juninho is by far and away the best.

After Juninho is a distant Ronaldinho(who has improved greatly this season) and then Riquelme. Sinasa Mihalivic of Inter is very good too.
Post by: Jah Gol on November 19, 2005, 06:59:02 PM

David Beckham.

Beckham is a good free-kick specialist, but definitely, definitely not the best in the world. I can name at least three better than him.

How consistent are your # 2 and 3 picks ?
Post by: Gladman on November 19, 2005, 07:02:41 PM
They r alot of top class free kick takers in the world,Beckham is d most popular while Juninho is d most deadly
Post by: kicker on November 19, 2005, 07:02:57 PM
Allyuh good yes, making such bold statements as if this is a matter of fact....when everybody is just going on personal opinions based on some games and highlights they've seen here and there

like this:

Beckham is as good a free kick taker or better than any of those players that you guys named.........(in my opinion)

What makes Juninho Pernambuco so much better than Beckham at free kicks ? They are both quality dead-ball specialists.........unless you guys have some kinda statistics on how many freekicks these guys convert as a percentage of how much they take.....doh talk like no expert........

Post by: ndookie on November 19, 2005, 07:08:51 PM
Well if you watching stats , Henry not bad at all , on the other hand now , i am the always optimistic  man utd fan so

1) Juninho
2) Giggs/Beckham
3) Javed Mohammed
Post by: triniracketeer on November 19, 2005, 07:17:19 PM
Hadda mention Marcos Asuncao some where in this......he's not de best but one ah dem....now see him jook needles in ah whole stadium in de Sevilla Derby.
Post by: FATZ on November 19, 2005, 07:30:20 PM
Allyuh good yes, making such bold statements as if this is a matter of fact....when everybody is just going on personal opinions based on some games and highlights they've seen here and there

like this:

Beckham is as good a free kick taker or better than any of those players that you guys named.........(in my opinion)

What makes Juninho Pernambuco so much better than Beckham at free kicks ? They are both quality dead-ball specialists.........unless you guys have some kinda statistics on how many freekicks these guys convert as a percentage of how much they take.....doh talk like no expert........

Juninho scored 13 goals last season and i'm 10+ were from free kicks and he could have had more if it weren't for saves by the keepers. Most times, when you see Lyon highlights and you see Juninho scoring, it's from another brilliant free kick, the stats if available will show that he is the best, whether statistically or opinionated.
Post by: marcus on November 19, 2005, 07:32:47 PM
beckham undisputed, he score too many in so many important situations over such a long span....

but marcelinho carioca form corinthians in brazil used to be just as good
Post by: FATZ on November 19, 2005, 07:45:37 PM
beckham undisputed, he score too many in so many important situations over such a long span....

Big people talking here, you should pee and go in yuh bed with that undisputed shit.
Post by: Jumbie on November 19, 2005, 08:03:34 PM

Big people talking here, you should pee and go in yuh bed with that undisputed shit.

How you rag-up the lil man so....  :rotfl:   :rotfl:   :rotfl:

Only recently I've started to see more ball on the tele..before it was mainly the English league I would watch..but today I see Henri squeeze one between the post, the wall and the keeper and it looked boss!..
Post by: marcus on November 19, 2005, 08:08:40 PM

my opinion bredda man.... was your f**kin problem....

i tired ah dealin with f**kers like you sah, it have no winning... so i go leave yuh lil comment alone
Post by: FATZ on November 19, 2005, 08:11:02 PM

How you rag-up the lil man so....  :rotfl:   :rotfl:   :rotfl:

Only recently I've started to see more ball on the tele..before it was mainly the English league I would watch..but today I see Henri squeeze one between the post, the wall and the keeper and it looked boss!..

:rotfl:That's just fatigue and like the man take it to heart yes..... :rotfl:
Anyway, i saw the Henry free kick and it was really good.
Post by: FATZ on November 19, 2005, 08:12:15 PM

my opinion bredda man.... was your f**kin problem....

i tired ah dealin with f**kers like you sah, it have no winning... so i go leave yuh lil comment alone

just as i said, pee and go in yuh bed, if yuh can't take fatigue, stay off the board.
Post by: ribbit on November 19, 2005, 08:15:38 PM

a serbian friend of mine tell me mijalovic scored three times in a game from free kicks. imagine what that keeper thinking to himself.....
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on November 19, 2005, 08:51:01 PM
all yuh retareded or wha

Sinisa Mijalovic
Assuncao
Recoba

wha shit all yuh talking bout Beckham

man
more and more I realise all yuh eh know what all yuh talking bout when it come to football

jt even have man like
Koeman
Stoitchkov

Post by: Jay10 on November 19, 2005, 08:54:05 PM
1-Juninho Permambucano ( almost always scores)
2-Sinisa Mihalovic (wicked left foot)
3- Marcos Asuncao
4-Frank Lampard ( kicks the ball very hard)
5-David Beckham

these guys hit the target regular

Post by: FATZ on November 19, 2005, 09:00:26 PM
all yuh retareded or wha

Sinisa Mijalovic
Assuncao
Recoba

man
more and more I realise all yuh eh know what all yuh talking bout when it come to football

jt even have man like
Koeman
Stoitchkov

I talking about players who actually playing right now but Ronald Koeman was definitely one of the best all time free kick specialist but your list is shit, Juninho is tops right now.
Post by: Jay10 on November 19, 2005, 09:07:46 PM
Goerge Hadji from Turkey was very deadly with that left foot too
Post by: palos on November 19, 2005, 09:17:11 PM

Turkey?

Breds...if is Georgi Hagi yuh talkin bout....he is Romanian padnah

It have a Mustapha Hadji who was a fine player as well (not in Hagi class) but he is Moroccan.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on November 19, 2005, 09:18:12 PM
all yuh retareded or wha

Sinisa Mijalovic
Assuncao
Recoba

man

jt even have man like
Koeman
Stoitchkov

I talking about players who actually playing right now but Ronald Koeman was definitely one of the best all time free kick specialist but your list is shit, Juninho is tops right now.

the 2 men at the tip of the list playing right now
and there is none better
so you talking shit
Post by: FATZ on November 19, 2005, 09:21:09 PM

Turkey?

It have a Mustapha Hadji who was a fine player as well (not in Hagi class) but he is Moroccan.

I don't really big up people like AWATT but this critter needs to be reported to someone for that Hagi post.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on November 19, 2005, 09:28:36 PM

Turkey?

I don't really big up people like AWATT but this critter needs to be reported to someone for that Hagi post.

and men does get vex when we bun out waggonist
men having ah good decent discussion bout free kick takers and ah man go spoil the whole thing

FATZ take win yes I good after that one
Post by: Benchwarmer on November 19, 2005, 09:31:40 PM
Pirlo from AC Milan is very good.....

But then again...... yuh really cant tell unless yuh have some kinda stats.......
yuh could only say who yuh like and what free kicks yuh see and what shock yuh.......

i remember back in the day i use to like Batigol when he was in Italy... some rifle free kicks...........
Post by: Peong on November 19, 2005, 09:46:02 PM

There used to be a German fella used to play fuh Rangers couple years ago.  A left foot guy.  Hit the ball as hard as anybody I have ever seen.  He used to score from free kick regular.

Jorg "The Hammer" Albertz

I see plenty ppl agree Recoba and Mijailovic better than Beckham, when last and how regular these fellas score free kicks?
Yuh think Beckham more limited in gettin to take free kicks than those two? 
They on the same team as Adriano, Figo, and Cruz, not to mention each other, so how many free kicks they really scorin?
What makin allyuh say they better than Beckham?
Somebody asked when last Beckham score one, it was in the Champs League about a month ago.
Post by: trinidad badboy on November 19, 2005, 09:57:43 PM
 Juninho Pernambucano (Brazil & Lyon)  is the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Grande on November 19, 2005, 10:23:54 PM

a serbian friend of mine tell me mijalovic scored three times in a game from free kicks. imagine what that keeper thinking to himself.....

Iz true, Mijalovic once scored a hat-trick of free kicks in one game. Imagine dat nah...
Post by: Warrior till death on November 19, 2005, 10:33:59 PM
1) Dwight Yorke
2) Carlos Edwards
3) Dennis Lawrence
Post by: Jumbie on November 19, 2005, 11:11:32 PM
1) Dwight Yorke
2) Carlos Edwards
3) Dennis Lawrence

is not free drink taker the man ask eh!...  :rotfl:
Post by: Alsalman on November 20, 2005, 12:05:58 AM
Pernambucano Juninho at the moment ... he does not go for the fancy he just powers it in  ;D

then you have Mihalovic ... the man has got a wicked curve offcourse he is like 35-36 now lol but still
Post by: Gladman on November 20, 2005, 01:03:15 AM
Riquelme does have ah wicked curl
Post by: Grande on November 20, 2005, 01:36:54 AM
Rivaldo can make the net bulge on a good day too.  :beermug:
Post by: Feliziano on November 20, 2005, 02:54:18 AM
90's in no particular order:
Hagi
Stoichkov & Balakov
Koeman
Hierro & Michel
Mattheus, Brehme & Albertz
Baggio
Maradona & Batistuta
Branco & Rivaldo
Dragan Stoikovic, Dejan Savicevic, Robert Jarny & Mihailovic
Steve Staunton & Dennis Irvin
Gary Mccallister
Gazza & Pearce

2000-Presently:

Henry, Zidane & Djoarkaeff
Beckham & lampard
Roberto Carlos, Juninho & Ronaldinho.
Raul & hierro
Riise
Ian Harte
Chilavert
Figo & Rui Costa
Totti & del Pierro
Shevchenko
Giggs

these are the people who seem to stick out in my mind..i think Roberto carlos is nothing but a wild horse by the way.

Post by: Grande on November 20, 2005, 03:02:21 AM
I surprised to see Raul on that list, personally I've never seen him hit a free kick successfully...but I dunno.

Roberto Carlos, when he DOES hit it right, is amazing. His FK's are unique -thunderbolts with curve, dip, accuracy.  :beermug:
Post by: onlikecorn on November 20, 2005, 03:46:16 AM
juninho pernambucarno . .. by far. . . his conversion ratio go be de highest . . .i doh even know why keepers does try to save he shots. . . dey does jes humiliate deyself. .. and well i go say beckham is a close second. .  yuh could tell when he goin and score. . .jes watch he face . . yuh does see him pickin which hexagon he goin and kick . .and calculatin trajectory and ting. . . two ah dem real good. . . . zidane is ah nex one who could puh it in de jep ness if he want . . .
Post by: pioneertrini on November 20, 2005, 04:53:06 AM
Juninho by far, but for me in history Ronald Koeman
Post by: troy piloy on November 20, 2005, 05:07:16 AM
Juninho Pernambucano (Brazil & Lyon)  is the best in the world right now,
but you have some others like Pirlo(Ac Milian & Italy) and Marcos Assuncao (Real Betis & Brazil) is really good too.

I think i heard a commentator say during UCL match that Juninho scores over 60% of his free kick that is a hell of a stat.

Troy 8)
Post by: Marcos on November 20, 2005, 07:44:05 AM
i find men eh really callin Nedved
he'z kick a nice deadball too boy
not jus shots but crosses too
Post by: FATZ on November 20, 2005, 08:24:14 AM
Hagi
Stoichkov & Balakov
Koeman
Hierro & Michel
Baggio
Maradona & Batistuta
Branco & Rivaldo
Gary Mccallister
Gazza & Pearce

2000-Presently:

Beckham & lampard
Roberto carlos
Raul & hierro
Riise
Ian Harte
Chilavert
Figo & Rui Costa
Totti & del Pierro
Shevchenko
Giggs

these are the people who seem to stick out in my mind..i think Roberto carlos is nothing but a wild horse by the way.

You called one set of names there from different countries but half of them is waste of time. I have never seen or heard about Raul hitting a deadly free kick, Chilavert more known for scoring penalties as a keeper, he may have scored some free kicks but he doesn't deserve a mention, neither does Riise and you named Carlos as teh only Brazilian when we all know he is a hit and miss, the Brazilian big man free kick taker is Juninho with no contest from anybody else.
Post by: Marcos on November 21, 2005, 01:58:08 PM
No contest?
U saying Ronaldinho cah kick freekicks?
allyuh does make some sweeping statements that kill your credibility
Post by: real madness on November 21, 2005, 02:00:40 PM
1) Juninho
2) Pirlo
Post by: MickeyRat on November 21, 2005, 02:00:52 PM
A few years ago I would say Roberto Carlos, but now it seems Ronaldinho is the hot man.
Post by: Grande on November 21, 2005, 02:03:47 PM
A few years ago I would say Roberto Carlos, but now it seems Ronaldinho is the hot man.

Ronaldinho could do anything anybody want him to do.
Post by: g on November 21, 2005, 02:09:45 PM
Roberto Carlos is intimidating, dat run up could make a man shit he pants in d wall. Anyone remember d pepsi commercial where he had d little brazil yutes trembling in d wall?

Anyways, its Juninho for me today!! but there are a lot of quality dead ball specialists out there, each top team has at least one and some have more.
Post by: naparima on November 21, 2005, 02:30:07 PM
Well if you watching stats , Henry not bad at all , on the other hand now , i am the always optimistic  man utd fan so

1) Juninho
2) Giggs/Beckham
3) Javed Mohammed

#3 -- OH GOD.. i almost choked on meh water here!!!
Post by: FATZ on November 21, 2005, 02:32:48 PM

1) Juninho
2) Giggs/Beckham
3) Javed Mohammed

#3 -- OH GOD.. i almost choked on meh water here!!!

He sounded more like a cricketer :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: real madness on November 21, 2005, 02:36:49 PM
ndookie is kix..ent javed mohammed is de same man who does miss penalty kick against pres?
Post by: Jayerson on November 21, 2005, 02:57:19 PM
1)Junihno
2)Henry
3)Ronaldihno
Post by: triniairman on November 21, 2005, 03:08:15 PM
no question bout it it's beckham man.u f up when they sell him
Post by: vibetrini on November 21, 2005, 03:22:29 PM
I have supported Lazio since 98, and Sinisa Mijalovic used to play with them then until bout 2001 or so and i'll tell u what... dat fella was the best free kick taker i've ever seen, he once scored a hat-trick in 1 game of just taking free kicks... and that was in Serie A

I would rate him the best, almost all his free-kicks make the goalie work, d man dred wit it.
Post by: Feliziano on November 21, 2005, 04:07:46 PM
Hagi
Stoichkov & Balakov
Koeman
Hierro & Michel
Baggio
Maradona & Batistuta
Branco & Rivaldo
Gary Mccallister
Gazza & Pearce

2000-Presently:

Beckham & lampard
Roberto carlos
Raul & hierro
Riise
Ian Harte
Chilavert
Figo & Rui Costa
Totti & del Pierro
Shevchenko
Giggs

You called one set of names there from different countries but half of them is waste of time. I have never seen or heard about Raul hitting a deadly free kick, Chilavert more known for scoring penalties as a keeper, he may have scored some free kicks but he doesn't deserve a mention, neither does Riise and you named Carlos as teh only Brazilian when we all know he is a hit and miss, the Brazilian big man free kick taker is Juninho with no contest from anybody else.

ok it slip meh mind to add Ronaldinho and Juninho..yuh happy now?
btw..just cause 'you' ent see half the men kick a ball doesnt make them a waste of time either.
Post by: TriniCana on November 21, 2005, 04:42:35 PM

Other dan meh mudder...ah go hafta agree with Grande Man on this one...

Rivaldo is de man to beat.
Post by: Pointman on November 21, 2005, 04:44:18 PM

wha?? yuh queen does ball?
Post by: JDB on November 21, 2005, 07:56:59 PM
Hagi
Stoichkov & Balakov
Koeman
Hierro & Michel
Baggio
Maradona & Batistuta
Branco & Rivaldo
Gary Mccallister
Gazza & Pearce

That nineties list missing probably two of the best free kick men of the decade after Maradona, Thomas Haessler and Gianfranco Zola. Both if them used to get a ridiculous amount of spin on the ball. Must be something about short men.
Post by: Feliziano on November 21, 2005, 08:15:26 PM
yeah JDB..meh mind had run on Haesslar but i couldnt remember him taking that many freekicks the times i saw him in action..but ah really forget bout Zola though lol..must be something with the gravity with them short men lol
Post by: Girl Warrior on November 21, 2005, 08:59:16 PM
1. Juninho Pernambucano (dis brazilian could hit a deadly free kick, even a long range shot)
2. Alvaro Recoba
3. David Beckham

Real skill and accuracy in de free kick dept.

Post by: TriniCana on November 21, 2005, 11:57:57 PM

wha?? yuh queen does ball?

Noooo Pointman....she does kick ya ass good.
boy ya does just feel it,and ya know ya ass swell until further notice.
all ya does remember is ya bumsee does jus jump and tremble  ;D

reel impresssive yes
Post by: Warrior till death on December 09, 2005, 06:18:52 AM
1)JUNINHO
2)BECKHAM
3)CARLOS
Post by: FATZ on December 09, 2005, 07:30:36 AM
1)JUNINHO
2)BECKHAM
3)CARLOS

I have to rate Pirlo now, he is becoming a master of the art and forget Carlos and Beckham in the top 3, they miss more than hit.
Post by: Themanfriday on December 09, 2005, 07:38:21 AM
I would say Beckham is the best corner kicker
Post by: boss on December 09, 2005, 08:20:19 AM
Riise

Interesting to note that John Arne Riise has only scored 1 free kick for Liverpool, but because it was such a high-profile screamer against Manchester United, people consider him a free kick specialist.

Nobody mentioned Shevchenko...I know you don't really put him in the free kick category, but I saw him score a few from a dead ball for Milan...He will probably take free kicks for the Ukraine in the WC..
Post by: warmonga on December 09, 2005, 08:39:09 AM
wah gwan boss like yu looking for stars or what??? how yu go ask a question like dat..Like yu neva see Beckham in action or yu trying to pull a quick one on we and see who go bawl out EVE???!!!!!!!!!!!!! yu asking answers dey boss.. But anywey since mi here.....beckham is de man!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
warmonga...
Post by: Slacker on December 09, 2005, 09:07:15 AM
I think that at the moment, Juninho Pernambucano is probably the best. He is an integral part of the Lyon Side and his freekicks as far as i have seen very rarely ever miss their mark, they are either saved, scored or just missed.

Having said that I think that people are being a little harsh on Beckham, granted that he is not the player blessed with the greatest overall gifts but he is deadly with a dead ball at his feet. While he may not have scored for a while I think that this is down to confidence. Beckham in open play may be average but with a dead ball at his feet he is World Class.

I aslo think that Ronaldinho is very underrated when it comes to freekicks. His imagination and guile comes to the fore when he is taking freekicks, His freekick against Ollie Kahn in Germany was breathtaking. De man chip ah freekick into de vee and Khan eh even move, now that is class.

Others would be:
(In no particular Order)

Marcos Asuncao(Betis)
Thierry Henry
Recoba
Mihajlovic
Del Piero
Totti
Rui Costa
Pirlo
Post by: dumpalewie on December 09, 2005, 09:54:57 AM
1) Juninho
2) Pirlo

Everybody else second.

Beckham is excellent but really a marketing prodigy.

Roberto Carlos is a fraud. He score 2 of the most beautiful ever but other than that, nothing to really talk about.
Post by: Marcos on December 09, 2005, 09:59:50 AM
I like dat post there dumps
Post by: kicker on December 09, 2005, 10:50:55 AM
1) Juninho
2) Pirlo

Everybody else second.

Roberto Carlos is a fraud. He score 2 of the most beautiful ever but other than that, nothing to really talk about.

In all fairness to R.Carlos...he is not the traditional free-kick taker. He takes free kicks from distances that most players never shoot from. In any other team, when you get a free kick from 40 yards out, you're expecting a service into the box..............but with R.Carlos, there is a possibility of a shot.........and the chances of scoring a shot from such distance are very small....but with him, there is a chance.....

I wouldn't rate him as one the the world's best free-kick specialists, but I think he adds a dimension to free kicks that no other player does.
Post by: lickslikefire on December 09, 2005, 10:57:59 AM
1) Juninho
2) Pirlo

Everybody else second.

by far the most accurate post in this thread...agree 100% 
Title: World's best free kick takers
Post by: Football supporter on October 28, 2013, 07:43:19 PM
Thought you may all enjoy this look at the best free kick taking team ever assembled!

But I'm sure we'll have our views on those who were not included!

http://www.ftbpro.com/posts/peter.tarrant/350871/the-world-s-best-free-kick-takers-xi
Post by: asylumseeker on October 29, 2013, 12:19:03 AM
... I say we compile a team of best-free kick takers from CURRENT players ... expected Tarrant to focus on that.
Post by: Jah Gol on October 29, 2013, 03:34:18 AM
Right now it is Ronaldinho.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 07, 2014, 01:04:14 PM
The answer is ...these guys: ;D

http://www.youtube.com/v/yHNiamEhdjY

Kyoto Sanga v Yokohama; J-League yesterday.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 07, 2014, 01:08:28 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/bodNmWa2TDo#t=101

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Watch fuh de man on de ground.

Ponte Preta v. Paraná ... goal by Lucio Flavio (not named by Scolari  :devil:).

Incredibly, this game went to PKs ... won 8-7 by Ponte Preta. Also played yesterday.

http://globoesporte.globo.com/futebol/copa-do-brasil/temporeal/06-05-2014/ponte-preta-parana/#topolances

Post by: Tiresais on May 07, 2014, 01:11:58 PM
As a ref I'm surprised he allowed him to lay on teh floor behind a wall - seems like that's an accident waiting to happen and refs are supposed to be ensuring a safe game as well - how easy would it be for a player to come down from his jump onto that guy's face?
Post by: elan on May 07, 2014, 01:36:43 PM
As a ref I'm surprised he allowed him to lay on teh floor behind a wall - seems like that's an accident waiting to happen and refs are supposed to be ensuring a safe game as well - how easy would it be for a player to come down from his jump onto that guy's face?

That should not be allowed. A yellow card actually, like lifting a player to score a header.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 10, 2014, 03:59:33 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/5lPxzxSzq9c&list=UUewT89kVdHrYnrzhgE72wdA