Sports => What about Track & Field => Topic started by: Sam on November 25, 2005, 04:55:33 AM

Title: Paging Ato Boldon !!!!!! aka De Golden Boldon Thread
Post by: Sam on November 25, 2005, 04:55:33 AM
Ah see Ato Boldon onboard now, so let me get de chance to say, welcome pardna...

Ah have a few questions for you...

Ato some quick questions here.
By Sam, with help from Flex.

Whats your thought on that trator Kerron Clement.

Is Mark Findlay any good, the English born who wants to run for T&T.

Is Darrel Bown over-rated or injury killing him.

Are you half Jamaican, if so, why did you choose to run for T&T.

How good is Marc Burns and Jacy Harper.

Is Asafa Powell the real deal or a one hit wonder.

Do you think Fana Ashby and Kelly-Ann Kaylene Baptiste will break any records or capable of doing so.

Whats your take on youths Renny Quow and Jamil James.

Do track get enough support from the government in T&T.

Are you living in T&T now.

What are you planning to do now seeing that you have retired.

If you get the chance to coach our track team would you take that position.

Before you ran for T&T were you ever approached by the US to run for them seeing that you were a resident there.

Why did you retire from track. Was it injury or age, because Frankie Fredricks was pretty old and won Silver.

How come your training pardna Maurice Green became so fast all of a sudden and you were faster at first.

Are you going to Germany to see T&T play.

Seeing that your wife is an American, does she like T&T.

Are you full time now with CMC 3 and where is that station based.

Does Adidas still sponsor you seeing that you dont run anymore.

How did you meet Zidane, I saw a video with you and him.

Do you think T&T will get any Gold in the next Olympics.

Whats your thoughts on the Soca Warriors Online and why did you decide to join us.

I visit your site and you have a section with top 10's, how come FIFA is not on your list seeing that you are a football (soccer) fan.
Title: Re: Paging Ato Boldon !!!!!!
Post by: A.B. on November 25, 2005, 05:32:33 AM
He will be the next WR holder in that event.  He is still very young.  Best thing could have happened was that cut arse in worlds.  It will fire him up.
Mark who?
Darrel Brown is not over-rated he is just finding out what everyone in track knows.  Good/great junior means nothing at senior level.  Next year and 07 will tell if he is the real deal.
Of course I was born in Trinidad.  My mother is Jamaican.
Marc Burns is who my coach wanted, not Darrel.  He thinks that, long term, Marc will be better.  He is seldom wrong, but we will see.  Jacey Harper is a great relay leg when he is in form.
Asafa is the real deal but until he actually wins a medal of some color he will be seen as one who can't run when it counts.  Gatlin is the man until further notice.
Fana will not break any records that matter in my opinion. I have never been as impressed as I was by a young female sprinter since I saw Kelly-Ann in Tobago at Carifta this year....the girl is the only local female I have seen who understands the "drive phase" completely.  If she really masters that she will be our most succesful female sprinter ever.
Quow and James will only be as successful as the programs they are in. College can ruin good athletes sometimes because the coach is about the team and not the individuals.  If you ask me to bet I wouldn't bet that Ian Morris' 44.21 record is in any danger from either of the 2.
Track gets a good deal more support than previously, but given our record we should get the most money.  I cheer for the Warriors but they are #51 in the world.  The 4 x100 relay was #2 this year.  That isn't a bias, it's a fact.
I don't live in TnT but I am there so often people think so.  I live in LA but I am home on a monthly basis, almost.
I plan to do everything I get a chance to, now that I am retired.  That's why in 2005 I have done a little bit of everything.  2006 is going to be the year that even those that have had nothing good to say about me for years are forced to say "ok we have to give him his due".  I am going to put TNT on the map bigger than I ever could when I was running.  I want to be the 2005 Jack Warner. LOL
I will not coach TNT track.  I am not a coach and being a runner previously does not automatically qualify you for that position. 
I retired from track becasue it was no longer fun to be constantly injured. I was never the same physically since the drunk ass hit me on the PBR in 2002. 
Maurice Greene was better than I was at 100m, and when he got to my camp it took a little while but he blossomed past me simply because I was under John Smith before him and once we both were coached by hiim, the difference in ability came out.  Maurice's rise was not sudden at all, to those who know the sport. He made the US 100m World Championship team before he got to John Smith in 1996,  in 1995, at 20! 
I will be in Germany to see them, God-willing.
My ex-wife never particularly liked Trinidad, I don't think.
I am not full time with CNC 3.  I don't want no boss, so if I do something, I have to control it fully - as in the case of the Warriors Bahrain special. 
CNC 3 is on the top floor of the Guardian Newspaper building on lower St Vincent Street.
Adidas is still my sponsor until they are sure I am not coming back for Beijing '08
I was at the WC finals in 98 in Paris and Zidane is with adidas.  I used to be a huge fan of that France team that won in 1998.
We could get gold in swimming or Track and Field, possibly.
I have been coming here for years before but never joined.  Now I have done it.  Some real characters in here which means I will fit in well.
How you could have missed football at #2 on my TOP TEN list is beyond me.

P.S. That is definitely not a few quick questions. :-\

Post by: Sam on November 25, 2005, 05:39:40 AM
Ah revise de questions and them Ato......

Check it out again, thanks...
Post by: andre samuel on November 25, 2005, 05:41:23 AM
Ato Jabari Boldon, i tip my hat to you!

some of my friends told me that u actually reply to each email that u receive and i really didnt believe them cause i assumed that u let people answer them for u.

butr after reading this post, and seeing how u answered every question that our site "bouncer" sam asked except the ones about maurice green and the one about zidane, i am impressed.

by de way, what type of ato boldon memoraldia did u have while u ran?

Post by: fishs on November 25, 2005, 05:44:24 AM
Ato ah read somewhere that you were discovered whilst playing football in the states, ah think it was wing. Is that true?
Post by: andre samuel on November 25, 2005, 05:46:19 AM
And ato, do u think that u were sufficiently rewarded by our government for your achievements?

Wat type of rewards did u receive?

please doh talk bout how "seeing de people happy makes u happy" lol

ah love it!! (big up to brian lara)
Post by: A.B. on November 25, 2005, 05:51:03 AM
Yes I was sufficiently rewarded, and despite my rustiness now (on de video lol) I was 1st team all state in California at forward my senior year of HS which means I was pretty damn good but I went a different route. Who knows what could have happened in the football direction. We will never know.
Post by: dombasil on November 25, 2005, 05:54:45 AM
Whey boy. Dat man should be on the West Indies team. He come out and bowl ah set ah pace at Ato. But Ato you is ah boss, yuh handle it like Lara.
Ah always like yuh fuh yuh straight talk. Nuff respect.
Post by: Coop's on November 25, 2005, 05:58:57 AM
Ato don't worry about about people boy keep your head on,you are a BOSS.
Post by: fishs on November 25, 2005, 06:03:16 AM
Cheers Ato. Ah would ah like tuh see yuh run past man with a ball at yuh foot too.
Post by: TriniItalian on November 25, 2005, 06:26:09 AM
Cheers to Ato i've been going through your website recently, boy i always fighting down talk with my friend bout how without you T&T would never have advanced in terms of track but all those stats on you, you have to be the GOAT forget MG you're a trini and I damned proud of all your accomplishments.(Though personally as you start back training I kinda hoping i'll see you in 2008)
Post by: oconnorg on November 25, 2005, 06:31:33 AM
Wait nah.. De boss man him self...

Ato I alsway defend yuh against detrators.. You are a cool dude with a big heart as far as i can see... You are doing your part to serve your country.. Well Done man.

I sure Ato guh break de News about 2008 rite here.!!
Post by: Sando on November 25, 2005, 06:54:26 AM
Mr Ato himself  :applause:.... even though a few questions wasn't answered, we still say thank you..

Did you know it have a track section here also..

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?board=6.0
Post by: Themanfriday on November 25, 2005, 07:00:27 AM
Yeah ATO you ended my track carrer that never got started. The first year you came to Trini and raced I was one of your victims.(My firt 100m race)  :devil: You raced in mens category and I was there in your heat and when the gun went off I lifted my head to see the smoke coming out your ass :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: But It's all good I can always tell my friends that adore you here in Germany that I raced against you and thats my claim to athletic fame.  

I love what you did for track & field in Trini.

Signed
//ex Trinidad Long & Tripple jump champ//
Was gonna be 100m champ if ATO didn't embarras me :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Sam on November 25, 2005, 07:13:24 AM
Like Ato ride out on we....  :devil:
Post by: Hyperhot J on November 25, 2005, 07:34:54 AM
       Ato keep up the great work that you have done in the past in representing T&T and now being like an ambassador for them! Will the special that aired on CNC 3: "Warriors in Bahrain" be put on a dvd and sold? I live in T&T but I know many of the persons on this site are away and other home-sick trinis abroad really want that special presentation as a memorabilia.

I guess when you go to the WC with the Soca Warriors next year, you will film another special: "The Soca Warriors in the World Cup"? If I there I will point out to you who I am and make sure that me and the other forumites who there make it on that feature too eh. hahaah

Keep up the great work Mr. Boldon, God's speed to you...

J.   ;D
Post by: Hyperhot J on November 25, 2005, 07:38:22 AM
as well Ato... great luck in becoming the Jack Warner of 2005 in 2006. I like that one!!

hahaah.  :D

J.
Title: Ato you make an out dey
Post by: KND on November 25, 2005, 08:13:23 AM
you cant come on this site with your real name, that is what they have screen name for.

you aint see them men start to ask yuh all kind of question.

You aint see Sam done start to ask question bout your Wife, Ex or not Sam and wife come like Gramoxzone and Paraquat not to be mentioned in the same sentence

Next thing man go want your old spikes and training tips and thing.

Better to stay under low

My screen name is KND if them fellas know my real name was Pele you would know the kind of drama I would be in.

Who want me to train the Grandson
Who want Ronaldo Atograph
Who want Ronaldhino Jock Strap

Whole day them men would have been boarding me.

That is why I stay underlow :rotfl: :rotfl:

King Pele aka KND and KND2 ;)
Title: Re: Ato you make an out dey
Post by: Hyperhot J on November 25, 2005, 08:15:42 AM
   KND doh diss yourself, you are KND the good one from the posts from yesteryear. KND 2 is a strange person who eh really sure about what he types.

Keep up your consistent good posts KND, wish we could say the same about your sequel.

J.  ;D
Post by: Ngozi on November 25, 2005, 08:28:10 AM
Yes I was sufficiently rewarded, and despite my rustiness now (on de video lol) I was 1st team all state in California at forward my senior year of HS which means I was pretty damn good but I went a different route. Who knows what could have happened in the football direction. We will never know.

I'm impressed with Ato's forthcomingness (if that's even a word) I still go to his website alot its very interesting and I guess i just like these two sites because I can get people's true opinions and not a revised version...Ato thanks for the support of the warriors and thanks for your efforts on the track scene ....I guess I should ask a thing or two about Marc and Darrel...so this would be it......I think Marc is talented and very determined but what i wanna know is is there anyway for him to improve his start significantly because I think it affects his entire race how slow he gets out or is he one of those athletes destined to have a poor start but a good pickup late in the race like carl lewis and do you think darrel is strong enough physically todo the damage we'd like him to do cuz Ive seen him lose it in the last 40 a few times....thanx and  biggup

ps I watch yuh lil clip look like yuh have a decent lil post up game lol
Post by: Sam on November 25, 2005, 08:31:43 AM
KND doh diss yourself, you are KND the good one from the posts from yesteryear. KND 2 is a strange person who eh really sure about what he types.

Keep up your consistent good posts KND, wish we could say the same about your sequel.

J. ;D

In other words KND stands for "Kids Next Door" see them on Cartoon Network on week days from 7pm....

Ato, that was a few questions, yuh really dont want me to ask more (lol)..... Thanks for de reply..... man like KND like to flap he beak so just ignore them... he still bleching de channa punch he drink last night, he gearing up for Triniman...

Top 10 list....

http://www.atoboldon.com/top10/

I didn't see de FIFA football (soccer) under games thats why I asked, see for yourself, no biggie.... ?
Post by: Cowen on November 25, 2005, 08:34:39 AM
Thanks alot Ato. I love the way no matter what .... u always bigging up your country. I still feel you still have that spark to run still. i hoping i could see you on the track come 2008. If not the 100m i feel the 200m.

I'm not a track expert but i always felt you were better at the longer sprint. Keep the flag flying ....and doh worry ... you know you gonna get some "pong" on this site ...... all ah we is trini.  ;D and we like ah good old talk.

Post by: oconnorg on November 25, 2005, 08:38:44 AM
Thanks alot Ato. I love the way no matter what .... u always bigging up your country. I still feel you still have that spark to run still. i hoping i could see you on the track come 2008. If not the 100m i feel the 200m.

I'm not a track expert but i always felt you were better at the longer sprint. Keep the flag flying ....and doh worry ... you know you gonna get some "pong" on this site ...... all ah we is trini.  ;D and we like ah good old talk.

Talkin Bout pong.. Ato Talk De truth.. it had couple times you pull up during a race.... Was it because you were injured, or yuh expected ah lil licks... TTT(Talk The Truth) We en guh tell no body...  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Tenorsaw on November 25, 2005, 09:02:29 AM
Ato is true class. I true, de man does answre every e-mail.  Ah used to shoot questions on he website and de man used to take the time to answer.  Ato, ah didn't know yuh was ah single man again.  Boss, how yuh keeping all them woman away?  Yuh might need ah pitbull to fend them off.  Yuh say you going to be the next Jack Warner.  Could you elaborate on exactly what type of aspirations you have in the business field.  Just curious.  APpreciate you taking the time to be with us here.  You are a great role model.  Good luck as you return to training. 
Post by: Redditch Valiant on November 25, 2005, 09:06:33 AM

Did you come second, then?  :rotfl:
Post by: naparima on November 25, 2005, 10:23:59 AM
wow~
Ato.. dat is just a BOSS post!!
honest and straightforward!! Why cant all our stars be like that!
And Lara make he double!!
If only we can get Lara to come on here when he have a chance!!!! But yuh know... now that he going to be world record holder... he might be to big for we here!!

But BIG UP to ATO!!
Post by: Preacher on November 25, 2005, 10:40:29 AM
WheEEYYYSSSSS!!!!! real superstars on the site now.....1st Movartman then Feliziano then me now ATO......Ah shure it have real superstars in here hiding..........Whey allyuh...oconnorg ah sure you is a super star too.......whey allyuh......... ;D   :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: rastafari on November 25, 2005, 10:44:42 AM

GOOD TO SEE YOU KNOW ABOUT  FOOTBALL ATO BECASUE I JUST COME UP WITH THIS ONE. HOW ABOUT HELPING DE WARRIORS WITH RUNNING AND SPRINTING.IT WILL BE GOOD TO SEE YOU WORKING WID DEM.
YOU IS AH TRUE WARRIOR.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI
Post by: Redditch Valiant on November 25, 2005, 10:49:36 AM
Great idea!
Post by: oconnorg on November 25, 2005, 10:57:11 AM
WheEEYYYSSSSS!!!!! real superstars on the site now.....1st Movartman then Feliziano then me now ATO......Ah shure it have real superstars in here hiding..........Whey allyuh...oconnorg ah sure you is a super star too.......whey allyuh......... ;D :beermug: :beermug:

You guessed right.. i am a Superstar.... I will give you 3 guesses as to who i am .!  ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Wilson on November 25, 2005, 10:59:07 AM
Ato, much respect.

Other than your great sprinting, I have some great menories of things you did and said...

The way you look so pissed off with Christie when he was false starting (World Champs, in think)

When you said that you could fall out of bed and break 10 seconds for 100m, before you hit the ground

When you said, people talk de talk, now I going to walk de walk in an interview just before 100m final
Post by: morvant on November 25, 2005, 11:04:02 AM
oconnorg keep yuh eyes open all kinda men comming out ah de woodworks now. tickets go start sharing if every ato thread reaching 3 pages and he cyar play football.
Post by: oconnorg on November 25, 2005, 11:06:41 AM
oconnorg keep yuh eyes open all kinda men comming out ah de woodworks now. tickets go start sharing if every ato thread reaching 3 pages and he cyar play football.

Yea for real morvant man
Post by: Milan!!! on November 25, 2005, 11:15:43 AM
aye ato...u is a boss...doh study no one!!!...u represented trinidad large and made us all proud to be a trini....my hat off to u....wish u were still out there burning up the tracks..but as they say alll good things come to an end!!...and thank you fuh putting trinidad on the world map..if was not for u representing trinidad meh arab gyul would not know about trinidad(she say she used to support u!!!.....so thank u..at least she know where trinidad is...i was surprised when i hear she say that yeah)

ATO all de way!!!!
and warriors we mashing up germany!!!!!!
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on November 25, 2005, 11:51:52 AM
Sam bawl he had to ask some question. So I say is one or two questions 
All Sam eh ask is boxers or briefs yes.
Sam ask the man all bout he wife and sundry other personal things.
Yuh good boy Sam.

Ato yuh is ah boss, welcome to the site even through is not football yuh represent TnT to the fullest and yuh special on CNC was good I eh go lie. Some classic clips of them boys. Not to mention yuh went Fatima.

I now get ah Oakley catalogue here and I see yuh in it next to Mark Mcguire and Michael Jordan.

bless up
Post by: Themanfriday on November 25, 2005, 01:22:12 PM

No It was my first 100m race since I was a long jumper. I was so embarassed that I acted out pulling a muscle. I learnt that from watching Ben Johnson  :rotfl:  :rotfl: :rotfl: when he expect a good licking. I was a TrinToc Athlete
Post by: oconnorg on November 25, 2005, 01:29:42 PM

No It was my first 100m race since I was a long jumper. I was so embarassed that I acted out pulling a muscle. I learnt that from watching Ben Johnson  :rotfl:  :rotfl: :rotfl: when he expect a good licking. I was a TrinToc Athlete

WOW... you did that?.. What a punk ... lol  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :devil: :devil:
Post by: Preacher on November 25, 2005, 01:41:13 PM
WheEEYYYSSSSS!!!!! real superstars on the site now.....1st Movartman then Feliziano then me now ATO......Ah shure it have real superstars in here hiding..........Whey allyuh...oconnorg ah sure you is a super star too.......whey allyuh......... ;D :beermug: :beermug:

You guessed right.. i am a Superstar.... I will give you 3 guesses as to who i am .! ;D ;D ;D ;D

Ah go put the secret police on this......yuh think AWATT is the only organization behind the scences or what... :D
Post by: vb on November 25, 2005, 01:53:00 PM
All yuh take it easy on Ato...is only so many questons he could answer.

But I like the idea of him helping out the Warriors with sprinting and conditioning.

Peace,
Post by: Jahyouth on November 25, 2005, 01:53:24 PM
I just hope Ato could take pong... cause yuh know we famous for that in here.

A man tell me Ato DVD coming in a silver paper  ;D
Post by: morvant on November 25, 2005, 01:55:47 PM
I just hope Ato could take pong... cause yuh know we famous for that in here.

A man tell me Ato DVD coming in a silver paper  ;D

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

ah man tell me de paper loking gold but when he check it out it was really bronze ;D
Post by: Mr Mc on November 25, 2005, 01:58:13 PM

I used to run for Abeline and if you pulled up during a race you could not travel home with the rest of the team.
Post by: A.B. on November 25, 2005, 02:05:47 PM
When you said 'Games' I thought you meant real sports not video games. If you look on my Top 10 list...of sports to watch, football is #2 behind track, boss.  What can be said that hasn't been said before about me lol.  

My personal favorite is Rachel Price, who, once when I had just landed and gone to Upper Level at West Mall (the good old days when I could get drunk and be still home in La Riviera in 5 minutes) ah hear Rachel tell this one...

"Ladies I coming out with a new brand of rubbers for all yuh who man does cum too quickly"  It is called the Ato Boldon condoms - when yuh man put this on he GUARANTEED TO COME SECOND!"  I almost dead with laugh.  I don't take myself that seriously where I cyar understand that is a damn funny joke.  

Don't worry about poor me, I console myself with Hollywood actresses and Ferraris so don't feel any pity for me lol.  I'll get over my no gold medal.  That is the last thing on my mind on a daily basis, so is no scene.

Any of all yuh who know me know since I am 18 I have been hearing it all from Trinis, good and bad.  I am the only athlete in history whose world title gets thrown away in the memory banks, so people can remember that I did not win an Olympic Gold medal.  Imagine on the plane we find out Jack Warner and many others never knew I was a world champion.  That is why I love all all yuh but I know when I leave TnT, people appreciate 4 Olympic Medals and a world title without having to mention what I ent win.  "A king is not without honour.....except in his own country."  

As far as pulling up I never pull up in any race to save face. I have the last place and second to last place finishes to prove it.
Post by: morvant on November 25, 2005, 02:09:21 PM
ato yuh iz ah boss boy ;D

yuh show rell maturity there
Post by: Jahyouth on November 25, 2005, 02:11:00 PM
When you said 'Games' I thought you meant real sports not video games. If you look on my Top 10 list...of sports to watch, football is #2 behind track, boss.  What can be said that hasn't been said before about me lol.  

My personal favorite is Rachel Price, who, once when I had just landed and gone to Upper Level at West Mall (the good old days when I could get drunk and be still home in La Riviera in 5 minutes) ah hear Rachel tell this one...

"Ladies I coming out with a new brand of rubbers for all yuh who man does cum too quickly"  It is called the Ato Boldon condoms - when yuh man put this on he GUARANTEED TO COME SECOND!"  I almost dead with laugh.  I don't take myself that seriously where I cyar understand that is a damn funny joke.  

Don't worry about poor me, I console myself with Hollywood actresses and Ferraris so don't feel any pity for me lol.  I'll get over my no gold medal.  That is the last thing on my mind on a daily basis, so is no scene.

Any of all yuh who know me know since I am 18 I have been hearing it all from Trinis, good and bad.  I am the only athlete in history whose world title gets thrown away in the memory banks, so people can remember that I did not win an Olympic Gold medal.  Imagine on the plane we find out Jack Warner and many others never knew I was a world champion.  That is why I love all all yuh but I know when I leave TnT, people appreciate 4 Olympic Medals and a world title without having to mention what I ent win.  "A king is not without honour.....except in his own country."  

As far as pulling up I never pull up in any race to save face. I have the last place and second to last place finishes to prove it.

I like that.  Take yuh pong, laugh and attack same way.  That was the limust test dey.  As a long time man on the board, I give you an official WELCOME.

And the hero talk... you is a hero already brother.  Yuh dun know.  Trinis have short memories in truth, but you alone raise Trini like a jep nest in them days yuh was running.  So big up yuhself.
Post by: andre samuel on November 25, 2005, 02:13:44 PM
Ato, yuh have any idea if those condoms are still being sold? cause ah having some problems wit de madam....lol.

Nice reply ato, but i knew what u did in 1997 in the 200m.  U and maurice make mass.  I was really disappointed when u came fifth in the 100m, but u made it up 1000 times over in the 200m.  U are a hero in my book!

dont worry pal, i one one of de men who smiled with joy when i heard our anthem that day!

Post by: oconnorg on November 25, 2005, 02:30:57 PM
When you said 'Games' I thought you meant real sports not video games. If you look on my Top 10 list...of sports to watch, football is #2 behind track, boss.  What can be said that hasn't been said before about me lol. 

"Ladies I coming out with a new brand of rubbers for all yuh who man does cum too quickly"  It is called the Ato Boldon condoms - when yuh man put this on he GUARANTEED TO COME SECOND!"  I almost dead with laugh.  I don't take myself that seriously where I cyar understand that is a damn funny joke. 

Don't worry about poor me, I console myself with Hollywood actresses and Ferraris so don't feel any pity for me lol.  I'll get over my no gold medal.  That is the last thing on my mind on a daily basis, so is no scene.

Any of all yuh who know me know since I am 18 I have been hearing it all from Trinis, good and bad.  I am the only athlete in history whose world title gets thrown away in the memory banks, so people can remember that I did not win an Olympic Gold medal.  Imagine on the plane we find out Jack Warner and many others never knew I was a world champion.  That is why I love all all yuh but I know when I leave TnT, people appreciate 4 Olympic Medals and a world title without having to mention what I ent win.  "A king is not without honour.....except in his own country." 

Aye man you real Handle yuh self dere man .. I en bothering to pong yuh again.. As I said before.. i have defended you through thick and thin so is no scene.. You are a class act..

I guh make sure and buy you ah beer when ever I see yuh... 

errrr. on second thought i will introduce my self and you can buy de rounds. ! You richer dan me.....

Dem holywood chicks yuh talking bout... Ah could geh one ?..  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: ndookie on November 25, 2005, 02:33:35 PM
forget the chicks oconnorg , get the car , cause the car does wok longer than them  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: FF on November 25, 2005, 02:37:13 PM
forget the chicks oconnorg , get the car , cause the car does wok longer than them  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

ndookie... yuh showing yuh youth dey... but no scene is we duty to educate de young 'uns.....

ndookie. get the chick.... de chick go buy de car...... when de chick gone yuh still ha de car to pull ah next chick and de cycle go start again

arite... ok
Post by: ndookie on November 25, 2005, 02:39:14 PM
boy is hollywood chicks we talkin bout here , they go take back the car and the little i have too , but i like yuh theory , i go put it into place soon ..  :rotfl:
Post by: Flex on November 25, 2005, 02:56:37 PM
Excellent post Ato.....

I also enjoyed your video from Bahrain...
Post by: oconnorg on November 25, 2005, 02:59:09 PM
yea dookie... We guh have to teach yuh de trades......
Post by: Fantastic on November 25, 2005, 03:09:25 PM
Allyuh verify dat is reall Ato allyuh vibesing with? Dat scene with de Ferraris and Hollywood girls ent sound like something Ato would put out in a public forum.  :o
Post by: TriniCana on November 25, 2005, 03:20:59 PM

but wodeyass ah hearing boy.

Look, ah didn't read Ato post but ya know ah hafta answer this one.... steups
and ah find occonorg ya ain't answer this post to dey best of ya ability.
i am ah dissappointed woman

ndookie luv, from ah woman's perspective....this is how we women go look at you when you in your new lexus.  
1. Spot new "young" meat in aluminum
2. Passenger in new aluminum and occasional wink at new meat
3. Driver of new aluminum with happy and satisfied "young" meat in passenger seat
4. Driver with another "young" meat in passenger seat with "1st young" meat in back seat.
5. Driver of new lexus.....

So darling buy your car.....WE WAITING  :devil:
now ah going and read Ato's post.

Post by: Fantastic on November 25, 2005, 03:31:23 PM
Take care yuh ent get throw out on de Beetham( or QEW in Ontario) while yuh young meat speeding off to new conquests. ;D
Post by: TriniCana on November 25, 2005, 03:33:21 PM
Take care yuh ent get throw out on de Beetham( or QEW in Ontario) while yuh young meat speeding off to new conquests. ;D

Fantastic honey, think about it "yoooung" meat"...so ya know what ya just say dere ain't possible.
Man ain't know he head from he foot when ah done with him....like dey others.

G, ya fix ya car yet ?

Post by: ndookie on November 25, 2005, 03:37:21 PM
man , forget it , the twois trouble , and i doh quite understand your terminology , just tell me wha goin on nah  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: BigToe on November 25, 2005, 05:51:42 PM
Sam:

Jeeseanrice. The man ain't even settle on d site properly and you asked him 5,000 questions. You run him from d site.

Post by: greenbottlebaby_7 on November 25, 2005, 08:32:45 PM
ato jus want to say welcome..and sorry i didnt get a pic with u when u can to convent san do but u know how it does b among the rush. but good speech that day...very motivating!
saw u real celebrating man for the warriors. how was it?
Post by: A.B. on November 25, 2005, 08:59:09 PM
The Bahrain Warriors DVD is one step closer to reality - just some legalities to see bout so cross dem fingers...
Post by: Warrior princess on November 25, 2005, 09:12:08 PM
ato jus want to say welcome..and sorry i didnt get a pic with u when u can to convent san do but u know how it does b among the rush. but good speech that day...very motivating!

yea ur speech was  really gud,from d time u started speakin u shut evrybody up-dat doesnt happen so very often in convent-u had evryone's attention...this may be a lil beyond d realm of being made possible but it wud be a really gud idea to hav some of d members of our national team start doin speeches like urs too-they wud definitely hav a major impact..
Post by: StoreBayLimer on November 25, 2005, 09:56:50 PM

Thanks very very much for your posts Ato.   For some time now, I have admired your work on and off the Track,  and to see you  calmly answer all the questions (in a nondismissive manner) further heightens my already positive impression of you.  Thanks!
Post by: Feliziano on November 25, 2005, 11:04:30 PM
Nice post Ato  :beermug:
just wanted to say "Thanks for being a Trini..and representing us to de max"  :cheers:

oh..welcome to the forum also.
Post by: SUPA on November 25, 2005, 11:14:02 PM
When ah see all dem questions, ah really didn't expect Ato tuh answer all ah dem nah, ah taught yuh wud ah duck some ah dem. But bredda yuh answer all ah dem like a real champion, hats off tuh yuh Ato.
Post by: Socaman on November 25, 2005, 11:40:52 PM
Ato you is ah boss dred!!! Glad to see you made de time to answer most of de questions...I was also lucky to meet you a few years ago at de Goodwill games in NY!!!!! you took a few pictures with my sister and wife that my sister still have posted in her room...LOL Grat job on de Bahrain warriors video looking foward to getting the DVD...Keep up the good work breds!!!
Post by: Socaman on November 25, 2005, 11:45:31 PM
alyuh they just show highlights of de Trini -Bah game on GOLTV then they show people jumping up in town....we are on de World Map now....
Post by: madmonn on November 26, 2005, 12:54:49 AM
Hey Ato I want to congratulate you on all you have done for T&T in the field of Athletics.Your achievements have been quite exceptional a multi medallist at both the Olympics and Worlds...you've done it all.Thank you for representing the RED WHITE and BLACK with such excellence.
Post by: A.B. on November 26, 2005, 03:19:54 AM
Thanks.  Ah taking names eh hope all of all yuh have this same appreciation when I spend mih money to put out that DVD and is time to buy :o
Post by: Mr Mc on November 26, 2005, 04:58:21 AM
Whatever happened to
Athletes
Towards
Olympics

I read some time ago it was an organization you were thinking of starting, it sounded like it would have been a great support system for youngsters in Trini to help identify and nuture talent from an early age.
Post by: FATZ on November 26, 2005, 07:51:10 AM
Good day Mr. Ato (if this is really T&Ts Ato Boldon), if it is, congratulations on all your accomplishments. I sell football jerseys and what i would like to get is a link to the T&T kit and/or a factory that produces adidas jerseys. Plain talk bad manners, can you link me with that. If so PM me some info. Thanks in advance.
Post by: Cowen on November 26, 2005, 07:52:05 AM
Thanks. Ah taking names eh hope all of all yuh have this same appreciation when I spend mih money to put out that DVD and is time to buy :o

Put my name at the top of that list .... ah want that DVD bad ... :beermug:
Post by: andre samuel on November 26, 2005, 09:17:09 AM
Thanks.  Ah taking names eh hope all of all yuh have this same appreciation when I spend mih money to put out that DVD and is time to buy :o

Yeah man Ato, bring ting, we go buy!

(and dont worry naparimaoldboy, we ent go need tuh take ah loan! lol)

Post by: Feliziano on November 26, 2005, 09:40:02 AM

boy ah go make an exception just for you..i like what ah see..so ill buy it  :beermug:
ah changing meh ways..ah just 'bought' meh first video game fuh the year a couple weeks back..and i delete all meh piracy tools too lol..no more Kazaa and things like that..Preacher get inside meh head now..ah on the road to redemption now ;)
Post by: ArcaneAndrew on November 26, 2005, 09:45:46 AM
Hello Mr Boldon. :D  Question:  What advice do you have for new up-and-coming track people?  This is my first year training nah, and i see so far that you real down to earth and thing so I thought you would be able to tell me straight up.
Post by: morvant on November 26, 2005, 09:48:09 AM
oconnorg keep yuh eyes open
Post by: Feliziano on November 26, 2005, 09:50:31 AM
oconnorg keep yuh eyes open
allyuh men real jokey yes  :rotfl:
Post by: fari on November 26, 2005, 11:17:05 AM
i know i will buy the dvd for sure, doh study it ato.  years from now when i old and grey i could show the grandchirren how TnT got to their first ever world cup.    priceless
Post by: ndookie on November 26, 2005, 11:27:24 AM
yea man , i go buy that dvd for sure , and if you could stick on a lil bahrain ting ting in there too , i go greatly appreciate that , i know alyuh gone in them bahrain club in the night..  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

When yuh comin naps boy , yuh real blank we dey lol
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on November 26, 2005, 11:29:49 AM

dem ungratefull niggaz

one man go buy the DVD and after that is burn right through

before yuh know it yuh DVD on queen st corner by ah cyart selling rampant rampant
Post by: ndookie on November 26, 2005, 11:40:07 AM

dem ungratefull niggaz

that wasnt necessary , but it true about the pirating..
Post by: ArcaneAndrew on November 26, 2005, 11:51:56 AM
I'll probably borrow the DVD from that fellow Presman, watch it and burn it and give him back    :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: .  He He He He He
Post by: ndookie on November 26, 2005, 11:58:34 AM
can that be classified as waggonism ? lol
Post by: fari on November 26, 2005, 12:07:52 PM
nah, i think that youthman is meh brother so is no scene.
Post by: ndookie on November 26, 2005, 01:06:55 PM
weey , all dem pres man rail up for me  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: canadiantrini on November 26, 2005, 01:35:27 PM
yo whats up ato.
Post by: A.B. on November 26, 2005, 01:52:54 PM
I dont have any link to the gear - adidas sent me mine before the warriors even got theirs to be honest and u notice mine has a number too.  As far as track I won't put track on this forum people come here for football...but on the other side I could answer you.
Post by: Feliziano on November 26, 2005, 01:56:02 PM
Ato..where you are right now?..back home or in LA?
Post by: trinbago on November 26, 2005, 01:57:33 PM
Ato:

What kind of time line are we lookin at for the dvd ?
Post by: ndookie on November 26, 2005, 02:00:59 PM
he in L.A. , lawd , since you come in this forum the Member number raise like jep nest (i tief that from somebody in the forum , cyah remember who) , so how we sharin out ticket now ?

and ato , i still waitin on you to fix me and oconnorg up wit the car an gyul  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: A.B. on November 26, 2005, 02:02:49 PM
For the DVD I think Carnival is a realistic time-frame
Post by: ndookie on November 26, 2005, 02:06:58 PM
oh yeah , i jus remember , thanks for biggin we up on Tech TV in the Boxing Day Call For Help-a-Thon  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Feliziano on November 26, 2005, 02:17:03 PM
oh yeah , i jus remember , thanks for biggin we up on Tech TV in the Boxing Day Call For Help-a-Thon  ;D ;D ;D

yeah i saw that on his website too..didnt realzie Ato was a Techie lol
Post by: A.B. on November 26, 2005, 02:45:54 PM
BY the end of 2006 all yuh go have to look back and say lawd that boy really does be in everything....filmmaker, tech, track, movies, broadcasting...wait for it!
Post by: ArcaneAndrew on November 26, 2005, 03:28:39 PM
Shucks !  :beermug: Fari found out my disguise ... <grumble grubmle>  Hey Big Bro ! :rotfl:
Post by: ß!aCkÒuT on November 26, 2005, 04:46:29 PM
Oh gaud ah find dat allyuh real bombardin d man wit questions ......take allyuh time nah
Post by: ndookie on November 26, 2005, 04:57:03 PM
i saw it live on techtv , and the man was real biggin up trinidad , and he say that trinidad is a 'small' country and any medals he get , is pretty much how much the country gets in track , we go see about that nah  ;D
Post by: ArcaneAndrew on November 26, 2005, 06:41:05 PM
It's not easy to NOT ask questions when there is so high of a celebrity in our midst, especially if he is from Trinidad and Tobago.  I'll ask my questions in the  what about Track and Field section anyway... :devil:
Post by: A.B. on November 26, 2005, 07:28:26 PM
Program is re-airing now on CNC Channel 3 in Trinidad in its 90 min version for those who have not yet seen it. Thanks.  Tomorrow 2:30pm also, then u go have to pay for d DVD
Post by: ndookie on November 26, 2005, 07:32:04 PM
arite alyuh , last rush (for cheapness sake)  :rotfl:
Post by: sweetiepaper on November 26, 2005, 08:02:48 PM
Ato Boy I love how yuh handling yuh stories. but yuh know yuh have to get some picong. A foreigner ask meh the other day about yuh. I said if that man feet could only ketch up to he mouth he woulda have bout 10 world record :rotfl:
Anyway Love yuh still. I does always tell people. 3 people went Fatima - Lara, Ato and me. Nuff respect brother. aye aye yuh en see we finally get an intercol title after all these years boy. And we boy Lara show he is de boss. Is only for me to do something this week.
F.A.T.I.M.A. GO FATIMA GO
Post by: ricky on November 26, 2005, 08:57:56 PM
Ato Boy I love how yuh handling yuh stories. but yuh know yuh have to get some picong. A foreigner ask meh the other day about yuh. I said if that man feet could only ketch up to he mouth he woulda have bout 10 world record :rotfl:

yeah boi when you win d worlds the headline in we paper in edmonton said "Trinidad sprinter finally runs as fast as his mouth" true story
 but is all love ato jus addin to paper man picong  ;D, yuh bring we some real glory.  Much respect
Post by: fishs on November 27, 2005, 04:10:08 AM
Ato, dey ever let yuh bring in de big car?
Post by: A.B. on November 27, 2005, 03:48:44 PM
Yeah my dad has the Rolls Royce. It was always for him.
Post by: Feliziano on November 27, 2005, 04:01:13 PM
aye Ato..since yuh have many skills..how bout making up a chant fuh Germany for we please?  ;D
better yet..get one ah yuh Hollywood friend to give we ah mix lol
Post by: A.B. on November 27, 2005, 04:29:00 PM
That is one I will leave to the experts...I know my strengths
Post by: trinbago on November 27, 2005, 07:47:21 PM
Ato:  Possible next assignment..........

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=8321.msg70008#msg70008
Post by: ladywarrior on November 27, 2005, 07:52:08 PM
 Glad to see that Ato is online with the soca warrior fans!!!

Post by: A.B. on November 27, 2005, 09:25:42 PM
Possible next assignment is to do wha?  Nothing to do with Bahrain I hope....all yuh ent go see my next "assignment" coming - just like all yuh didn't see this one coming....doh try to predict or advise, thanks lol. :P
Post by: davyjenny on November 27, 2005, 10:18:02 PM
Possible next assignment is to do wha?  Nothing to do with Bahrain I hope....all yuh ent go see my next "assignment" coming - just like all yuh didn't see this one coming....doh try to predict or advise, thanks lol. :P

aye ato,like yuh link wid tallman when yuh went bahrain oh wah? never see you on de site before yuh all over de board, real trini2de bone.

keep checking  the site yuh go geh some interesting info. plus it's
ah lot of fun,them men could talk some good s**t on here breds.  ;D
Post by: A.B. on November 28, 2005, 12:01:43 AM
To be honest when people start to send me pics from this site on my site that only know bout American Football I knew it was time to sign up officially
Post by: ndookie on November 28, 2005, 05:08:15 AM
so long u was lapsin ? lol
Post by: Themanfriday on November 28, 2005, 08:35:05 AM
To be honest when people start to send me pics from thsi site on my site that only know bout American Football I knew it was time to sign up officially

Go EAGLES
Post by: dcs on November 28, 2005, 10:34:38 AM
Ato,
You were able to go through College, get your degree AND pursue your track career in the best possible environment...so there wasn't much of a tradeoff with sports vs. education.
You can't really say the same exists for football where going to College to play ball is a tradeoff compared to going Pro (Latapy, Carlos Edwards etc).  Darrel Brown chose to go Pro instead of getting into NCAA but at least he still decided to go to Southern U.  Hope he follows through.

Right now yourself and T&T are reaping the benefits.  I wish more of our atheletes would get the same opportunity you did and would not have to choose between getting an education and pursuing their sporting careers.  No doubt they are still bright fellahs but it may put them in a better position to contribute to the sport, the nation or just have fulfilling careers after they hang up their boots/spikes.  We still have guys like Shaka, Lincoln and Nahkid  :-X , all of whom will probably be key contributors beyond their playing days.

I don't see a solution for football or cricket on the horizon. (Talk is cheap)
They should at least get some short courses on financial management and public speaking (pencil that down eh....yuh cud do consulting wuk ent  :D)

Who knows....maybe one day T&T athletes will be able to pursue their education and careers right here at home but that will take some doing and an attitude adjustment.

So one question at least.
I remember you walking into Fatima when you were still at UCLA with someone and I always wondered who it was.  My guess is it was Jon Drummond....this was back before people used to mob you (~'95) so yuh walk straight in without any horrors.
People always talking bout Maurice being yuh padnah but Drummond look like a real kicks man....almost like a Trini.
Post by: A.B. on November 28, 2005, 10:48:16 AM
Nah Drummond only came to Trinidad in 2002 so it couldn't have been him and it wasn't Maurice back then....
Post by: FLi ! on November 28, 2005, 11:28:30 AM
it's very funny when ppl does get all star struck when they communicating with a celeb...... :rotfl:

"ato ato, remember me from primary school...we had share the Wes Indian Reader  that one time u didn't have urs.......'"  :heehee:
Post by: Mr Mc on November 28, 2005, 12:47:20 PM
it's very funny when ppl does get all star struck when they communicating with a celeb...... :rotfl:

"ato ato, remember me from primary school...we had share the Wes Indian Reader  that one time u didn't have urs.......'"  :heehee:

Ah did lend him a $5 to buy a snow cone and two doubles once, still waiting for it back!!   :waiting: :heehee:
Post by: Pointman on November 28, 2005, 02:22:28 PM
Ay Ato,
Ah jus want to say Thank You for always Bigging up T&T and for representing at the highest level. Sorry about the detractors.
Peace
P.S
How's life in LA?
Post by: greenbottlebaby_7 on November 28, 2005, 07:38:31 PM
hey ato
i think you should encourage some of the players...i know they have busy  schedules...but encourage them to join the site as well at least post their viewpoints on some of the things we talk about at least once a week or something like that...we will appreciate it. looking forward to that DVD...u afraid we all burn the DVD or wha?? you know when it comes to trini football we will buy the original b/c we made history here!
how the movie thing going?
Post by: christiano on November 28, 2005, 08:14:42 PM
Ato , i glad i have this opportunity to say this to you !

I dont think that there are much people in this world that understands the psycology of a Trini mind like you . For years you have done us proud and somhow i think that your future achievements will overcome the already great feats that you have always given us !

see you in Germany !
Post by: A.B. on November 28, 2005, 09:22:35 PM
Movie is in pre production soon. 

I don't know that I would want to be on "trinitrack.com" if I was still running.  Trinis can be very myopic when it comes to sports of all sorts so I am not sure the players woudl necessarily want to come in here to read some of the stuff written about them all the time...not everyone is thick-skinned.

Christiano, if you only knew what I have coming...thanks.
Post by: morvant on November 28, 2005, 09:25:58 PM
eh all who want to ask ato question go on de general discussion board and play allyuh self but this thread goin on fuh years and football stop discuss long time
Post by: trinbago on November 28, 2005, 10:16:26 PM
morvantman.....this tread just like ah tv station.......if yuh dont want to watch it...look at something else...nobody forcin yuh.....some people like to watch certain things....

After all wer are not communists
Post by: Socapro on November 30, 2005, 03:05:45 PM
The Bahrain Warriors DVD is one step closer to reality - just some legalities to see bout so cross dem fingers...

For the DVD I think Carnival is a realistic time-frame

Big-up to you Ato! I hope 'Warriors in Bahrain' DVD can be made available internationally especially in London where I am based!

It will sell! Will also like to get a DVD of our two play-off games (the full match) to mark our historic 1st World Cup Qualification!
Post by: A.B. on November 30, 2005, 04:51:49 PM
Well that one I ent have control of
Post by: truetrini on December 01, 2005, 01:16:32 AM
morvantman.....this tread just like ah tv station.......if yuh dont want to watch it...look at something else...nobody forcin yuh.....some people like to watch certain things....

we may not be commies but we have ah Stalin running tings in we football ent? ;)
Post by: trinbago on December 01, 2005, 02:04:21 AM
"we may not be commies but we have ah Stalin running tings in we football ent? "

lol :rotfl:
Post by: Jefferz on December 06, 2005, 05:55:52 PM

we may not be commies but we have ah Stalin running tings in we football ent? ;)
hahaha Stalin i would gear alittle more to Lenin cuz it only now establish  :D

Ato boy i like d costume of d recent TnT uniform "Ato" on d back... fresh from d sweat shops of cambodia (now dat is communist)  :rotfl:
Post by: Warrior till death on December 08, 2005, 05:52:10 PM
Post by: real-warrior on December 08, 2005, 06:16:55 PM
yea boy ato those weren't no quick questions LOL. ANyway i late ur tape Warriors in Bahrain but i fine u cud hav sed sumthin bout how de Bahrain fella kick the ball out of Jack hand. I eh hear u mention n e thing bout dat
Post by: A.B. on December 13, 2005, 06:33:06 PM
To be honest that is a glaring ommission - which we will try to fix b4 the DVD.  I don't think the cameraman caught it on our tape but you are exactly right!
Post by: A.B. on December 16, 2005, 12:28:28 AM
Measure for measure.
By: Keith Smith (Express).

Speculating idly about sports as men sometimes do (am I being sexist here?) the talk turned to the greatest Trinbagonian sportsman since 1976, the cut-off year chosen simply because it was the year in which Hasely Crawford took a short cut (according to one calypsonian) to 100-metre gold in Montreal, Canada.

That, indeed, was an historic time (10.06), Trinidad and Tobago's first and only Olympic gold medal and that, qualified Crawford for being among the greatest-but the greatest? Perhaps, I should make it clear that it was not one of those rambunctious or rumbunctious Trinidadian arguments, all heat and no light, with men talking in gang and the discussion going nowhere.

No, far from it. It was a civilised chat easy on a Sunday morning only it was Wednesday night after we had heard of Ato Boldon's bagging of yet another medal, making it eight (four "Olympics'' - one silver, three bronze (one of only three men in the whole of Olympic history with four Olympic sprint medals), four "Worlds'' (making him the most medalled (sorry, English teachers, but some of these "Americanisms'' do flow trippingly from the tongue) of our surprisingly many, for such a small country, world class athletes)).

How does eight non-gold international medals, we pondered, stack up against one gold? Does that one world-beating dash stand in a class of its own, given the unexpectedness (to all, with the single exception, perhaps of then Express sports writer, Mervyn Wells) of the victory and the fact that the Olympic sprint is the blue ribbon athletic event of the whole wide world?

Or is there a bigger case to be made for consistency, medal after medal on a continuum, the Boldon boy bringing us to our collective feet not once but time and time again even if he never pulled off that one golden feat that given his other, well, lesser successes, would have ended the best ever sportsman argument right there and then-at least as far as athletics was concerned.

Because, as you'd imagine, looming large in the lavway were the cricket exploits of one Brian Charles Lara (and, yes, Steve, after years of being just plain "Brian Lara'' that "Charles'' there was, well, middled by the media to give a certain weightiness to the name in the wake of the majestic manner of the making of all those runs) and you'd think that all things considered his record run would have then and there ended the discussion as to who is the greatest Trinbagonian sportsman ever.

Except that in considering all things you'd have to consider just how many countries on the planet play cricket as against how many, well, attack athletics. Or to personalise the match-up, when Crawford and Boldon were running they were running against the best athletes culled from a far larger portion of the world than Brian whose batting was against how many really-five, six, seven, eight countries.

So just on the "maths'' alone, you'd think. Ato and Hasely would be put ahead of Brian "Charles''...Only, you'd be thinking wrong because you have to weigh a man's achievements, I think, in the company of his peers and, besides, you'd have to put in the mix, I also think, what we value (Earl Lovelace first put this notion to me) and of all sports cricket is what we value most, which means that, perhaps, just perhaps, Brian's countrymen value his batting accolades more than those gained in, say. athletics and, just to keep up with recent trends, football.

In the end, though, all this kinda speculation is kinda meaningless. I mean, who would want to diminish George Bovell's winning of our sole Olympic swim medal (against all odds again) and I don't know that, with a gun at my head, I'd be able to say that I would trade the wonder of Brian's batting for the creative wizardry I've seen from, say, "Gally'' Cummings with a football at his feet. Or De Leon. Or Steve David. Or Russell Latapy.

Or, coming to think of it, looking back past 1976, the likes of Ralph Legall who, incredibly, was a maestro of so many sports that the thought comes what would he not have been had he concentrated on just one and had he been born at a different time and, indeed, in a different place?

So we talked, as sporting men would, about all these things, the names, well, tripping from the tongue-MacDonald Bailey, Learie Constantine, Edwin Roberts, Sonny Ramadhin, Alvin Corneal, Hugh "Black Panther'' Sealey and Pat Gomez and Lincoln Phillips and Clive Burnett and Jean Mouttet (my long-standing friends, were you to meet them, would tell you I have this annoying habit of going on about goalkeepers), Manny Ramjohn, Rodney Wilkes, Andy Ganteaume, Roger Gibbon (possibly the greatest rider ever on an inadequate bike), so many sportsmen in this tiny land who made and keep making statements big and small, giving generations all this room to walk the talk and, so satisfyingly, to talk the sweetest talk.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_opinion?id=122896340
Post by: Sam on March 15, 2006, 04:49:45 AM
Ato, ent you and Tony Braxton is good friends, whats the latest with her. She ever come to T&T ?

I saw you also have a picture with Chris Tucker, do you know him..

And is the DVD yuh making is the same as the one we saw in Bahrain on your site or will you add more stuff to it.
Post by: A.B. on March 20, 2006, 03:48:32 PM
Toni was my next door neighbor for about 2 years and I have known her for about 11 years now.  Her recording career is kind of in the dumps - she is on Broadway more than she sings lately.

The DVD is a better version of the TV show with stuff added and enhanced and also other things that never made the TV version. Chris and I are good friends for a while too, he too is down the street in my community which I have since moved out of.  HE was supposed to come to TNT for Carnival but cancelled, very late.
www.atoboldon.com/video/Chris%20Tucker.wmv
Post by: morvant on March 20, 2006, 06:20:18 PM
ato i taught you woulda be in island people with me marshall and lara and destra. the four of us was the only celebs in the band
Post by: A.B. on March 21, 2006, 01:47:39 PM
Who Marshall..? He is a celebrity now too?  LOL is Shal you talking about.......steups.
Post by: morvant on March 21, 2006, 02:10:01 PM
nah i didnt like mr montano myself but jah de man could perform better than any artist in the world

and i could say that cause i see almost every star perform already

puff daddy cyar mash up more that montano

give props where props is due ato

2 young 2 soca iz ah menace
Post by: A.B. on March 21, 2006, 10:54:03 PM
I know Machel since we was kicking ball at age 10.  Is Shal Marshall I was there with - with the celebrity thing...is you say MARSHALL when is MACHEL you mean.  Yes he qualifies as a celeb no doubt.
Post by: Peong on June 20, 2007, 11:35:18 AM
I just find this.

Ato Never Scared (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=celnTedKAb4)

Post by: daryn on June 20, 2007, 02:13:35 PM
I just find this.

Ato, yuh let meh down with that one.  I know you have a video with Zizou on your site and ting but I woulda never believe you were actually a Real Madrid fan.
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 20, 2007, 04:39:55 PM
I just find this.

since it already have 50 cent,ato will be two schilling
Post by: Dutty on June 20, 2007, 04:47:08 PM
Carl Lewis was singin better in he video  ;D

but wait, now ah hear dat song look how Bone Crusher career just dead and gone jus so nah
Post by: Sam on July 09, 2009, 11:44:00 AM
Remember this Ato....  :rotfl:
Post by: A.B. on July 09, 2009, 01:53:10 PM
LOL
Post by: dwolfman on July 10, 2009, 03:43:57 PM

Ato, yuh let meh down with that one.  I know you have a video with Zizou on your site and ting but I woulda never believe you were actually a Real Madrid fan.

Ent! Real Madrid, dred!  :devil:

I like how yuh edit the cuss words and dem!  :beermug:
Post by: A.B. on July 11, 2009, 10:59:59 PM
At the time we would cuss freely on that show since it showed in Europe where they put anything on air but good thing since this clip made it all over the world and back - and then got on youtube!
Post by: breezers on July 15, 2009, 11:45:49 PM
Ato dis is ah bit random but shed some light on the roles and expectations of a rabbit in dem long distance races fuh meh please.

All the runnners in d race does kno who is d designated rabbits or wuh???

Also what is a rabbit claim to fame...just being able to compete in the race....ah mean ah realize dey does be setting the pace of the race to suit dey fellow countrymen or d guys who should medal but ah the end of the day dem rabbit eh have no ambition to upset ppl or ??? Cuz i would expect as ah athlete if yuh start off as ah rabbit...eventually yuh should wanna move up in d ranks and become a potent challenger......or is it ah kinda caste system in long distance racing once a rabbit always ah rabbit ???
Post by: A.B. on July 16, 2009, 07:54:30 AM
I know they get paid to take the race "out" in a certain pace so that records are more likely and the good ones can get paid pretty well.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 16, 2009, 10:31:54 AM
Darrel Brown is not over-rated he is just finding out what everyone in track knows.  Good/great junior means nothing at senior level.  Next year and 07 will tell if he is the real deal.

so is he the real deal
Post by: A.B. on July 16, 2009, 10:37:55 AM
Well certainly doesn't look so - '05 seems like a long time ago and in 4 years not even a global final yet alone a non relay medal - of any kind.

if I didn't know the family or this kid i would have written him off a long long time ago like I have, for example, Xavier Carter, but I hold out hope for one season or one glmmer of hope - perhaps this year is it.

:(
Post by: Sam on August 07, 2012, 06:14:14 AM
Big up to Ato for paving the way for T&T runners.

THANK YOU ATO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We need a Ato Boldon Athletic Centre to help develop over athletes.

You need to help because them f00ckers in T&T dont care about nothing.

Help us Ato..... dont just set there on ESPN scracthing your lolo....

Our boys and girls need better training, diet and strength [mentally and physically].

Post by: Tallman on August 07, 2012, 07:00:25 AM

Our boys and girls need better training, diet and strength [mentally and physically].

Yuh know how much ting Ato try ahready? But some ah dem dinosaur fellas in administration does fight him down. So ah tink he fed up. But who knows, he might try again. He have access to de Ansin Sports Complex in Miramar, FL, and at one point he was talking about using dat as some sort of training center for Caribbean athletes.
Post by: Socapro on August 07, 2012, 08:47:54 AM

Yuh know how much ting Ato try ahready? But some ah dem dinosaur fellas in administration does fight him down. So ah tink he fed up. But who knows, he might try again. He have access to de Ansin Sports Complex in Miramar, FL, and at one point he was talking about using dat as some sort of training center for Caribbean athletes.
We need to have something like what is setup at the Ansin Sports Complex in Miramar FL set up at home.

One of the main reasons Jamaica has risen to the top is that their top athletes can now stay at home and be properly nurtured and supported backed with world class coaching and facilities.
Post by: Peong on August 07, 2012, 09:56:27 AM
My yardie acquaintances want to know why Ato not mentioning the caribbean athletes more, besides the medalists, if he fraid he lose his job.
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2012, 10:00:38 AM
USA channel not Caribbean channel, some people forget that
Post by: truetrini on August 07, 2012, 10:05:07 AM
My yardie acquaintances want to know why Ato not mentioning the caribbean athletes more, besides the medalists, if he fraid he lose his job.

Your yardie acquaintances clueless.   The man has a set program, he can and does give praise when he can.

If T&T wants stories on local athletes send a damn camera, a reporter and a camera man and do it.

I heard a big story on Kirani James last night, plus plenty plaudits for Bolt and SAFP, as well as prasies for the athletes from the DR.

Jamaica has a big media contingent there and they not praisingUSA athletes, in fact when Bolt won the tag line was the AMericans are defeated.  lol

Thoses Jamaicans there to cover Jamaican athletes...plain and simple.

We can solve all of this, if some Caribbean tv station buys out my client's contract from NBC and pay more..they will get all the coverage they desire.

Tell dem ah mi say suh
Post by: Peong on August 07, 2012, 10:16:43 AM
Nobody expects whole stories, but outside of the favourites hardly anyone gets a mention.  Since Ato usually has more knowledge of the Caribbean athletes, I can see why people expect him to mention them more. 
I think Ato addressed this on the forum concerning the last Olympics.

On the NBC coverage that I get, sometimes they don't even introduce the whole field before a race, but that might just be the delayed version.  That might be adding to the perception.

What about the other commentator saying that Kirani James had a cocoa pod on his chest?  Ato just sit there without correcting him.  I know Ato was thinking about it. :rotfl:
Post by: FF on August 07, 2012, 10:23:19 AM
Nobody expects whole stories, but outside of the favourites hardly anyone gets a mention.  Since Ato usually has more knowledge of the Caribbean athletes, I can see why people expect him to mention them more. 

On the NBC coverage that I get, sometimes they don't even introduce the whole field before a race, but that might just be the delayed version.  That might be adding to the perception.

What about the other commentator saying that Kirani James had a cocoa pod on his chest?  Ato just sit there without correcting him.  I know Ato was thinking about it. :rotfl:

:rotfl: that self... i cyah believe he ent say nothing

but i was surprised in the kirani james segment they say he grow up defeating athletes from track and field giants Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago ha ha ha i thought it woulda be the Bahamas they say
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 07, 2012, 11:45:15 AM
outside of the favourites hardly anyone gets a mention.
Why should they?
Is not like we care about some random also-ran from Belarus. Why would a US audience care about some random Antiguan who most likely coming 7th?
Post by: Dutty on August 07, 2012, 12:19:03 PM

de man actually say "kah-kayoh pod"...he ketch mih for a few seconds then ah realize he mus be readin from ah paper
Title: Re: Re: Paging Ato Boldon !!!!!!
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2012, 12:22:05 PM

de man actually say "kah-kayoh pod"...he ketch mih for a few seconds then ah realize he mus be readin from ah paper

Seriously? lol hahahahaha.
Post by: Peong on August 07, 2012, 12:39:22 PM
Why should they?
Is not like we care about some random also-ran from Belarus. Why would a US audience care about some random Antiguan who most likely coming 7th?

I talkin about runners not even being introduced on camera at the start of the race.  It could be my coverage so I can't say that they weren't properly introduced in the live nbc coverage. It does make me wonder though.
Title: Re: Re: Paging Ato Boldon !!!!!!
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2012, 12:46:55 PM
Why should they?

I talkin about runners not even being introduced on camera at the start of the race.  It could be my coverage so I can't say that they weren't properly introduced in the live nbc coverage. It does make me wonder though.

Its the coverage, we getting British coverage in Trinidad and some of the races they not showing all the athletes. Not sure who idea was that. I noticed the finals they show everyone.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 07, 2012, 01:01:18 PM
In Germany they are showing the results by announcing the winner and not even listing #2 and #3.
Post by: Peong on August 07, 2012, 01:05:16 PM
In Germany they are showing the results by announcing the winner and not even listing #2 and #3.

Alright that would really drive up a wall.
Post by: weary1969 on August 07, 2012, 01:17:06 PM
Why should they?

Its the coverage, we getting British coverage in Trinidad and some of the races they not showing all the athletes. Not sure who idea was that. I noticed the finals they show everyone.

In d stadium only in the final they calling all the athletes name.
Post by: Blue on August 07, 2012, 01:18:15 PM
Why should they?

Within the stadium, only the noteable athletes are introduced for the 1st round. For semis and finals everyone gets introduced. The cameras are in sync with that.
Post by: Deeks on August 07, 2012, 02:49:02 PM

if he fraid he lose his job.

a big fat YES! ;D
Post by: A.B. on August 07, 2012, 05:24:38 PM
Have no clue what to say to some of what goes on every Olympics in terms of comments directed my way.

Best to just get it all out now so it can stay as reference.

When I am in the booth, there is no passport, and there is no bias based on anything other than performance and story-telling. I go where the story is. I have SOME say in who we show and who we do not, and I do not ever go based on region or country or even who I like personally. We WILL never show 6 and 7 people in a round or semi-final. EVER. Not on US TV where time is at a premium.

The M400m was led with a nice KIRANI JAMES PIECE, A HUGE one. The W100 was led with a SHELLY-ANN FRASER-PRYCE piece, a very good one. W400? SANYA. M100? BLAKE! M200 will be BOLT - see a trend?

I am sorry if for some me not mentioning someone who has a red white and black next to their name in lane 7 in the heats seems highly offensive. THAT IS NOT MY JOB. if they are likely to do well they will get a mention, and I don't miss. I don't ignore someone who then ends up with a medal. Doesn't happen. My job is to tell the story to an audience quickly, and let's be honest, in a race usually the story of contenders revolves around 3 or 4 people. Sometimes more. Even fewer in a first round or semi, obviously

So to anyone who feels I ignore my region or sell out my country or whatever, tough for them. Good luck with that. Go back and look at what Olympic coverage looked like in 1996 or 1992, and get back to me.

I do my job based on making the sport work on US time constraints of TV, which are the tightest of any country because of what airtime costs in the USA. Right now a billion dollars of ad time is projected from these games, which are rating higher than Beijing.

Sometimes I do races that don't even get shown.  Bottom line is, NBC is not some radio station, it is not my job to "BIG UP TNT and DE CARIBBEAN as much as possible" as one guy sent me very angrily on facebook - as though this is some shout out session.  Me, taking basket, from people who don't get what I do or HOW to do it? Nope. People still saying how the 100 in Beijing I ignored Richard Thompson's performance. A man ran 9.69, won by 6 meters and broke the WR and you think the focus is going to be on the other medalists? Really? I am a silver medalist, I know how that goes.

I have been there since '07 and I remain, not because of job security, which I don't worry about - but because I try to do it with some integrity.

I think I have the best job in the world, so if the consequence is that the Caribbean thinks I "sold out", some USA fans think I am ' too pro Caribbean ' and Trinidad thinks I don't "BIG WE up" enough, so be it. Price I'm willing to pay. By definition, everyone saying that shows impartiality.

One thing is for sure. I am not going anywhere.

Thanks to those who send many a kind word. I hate even addressing this stuff because it seems like it's a big deal or it happens often. Really doesn't.
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 07, 2012, 05:49:27 PM
AB you good yes, for the most part for the position you are in and even much lower and being in the public eye w/the TT/JA background, you will not escape such nonsense.  You did not even have to respond, but it shows who you are.  Keep doing what you are doing, the naysayers will continue to bray, that for sure does not stop, no matter what.  The ability to have a thick skin when you are in the public eye helps with each passing day, for some you would have showed too much preference to "your peoples" for others not enough, c'est la vie. 

One thing has changed though, looks like you are using less curl activator  ;D
Post by: FF on August 07, 2012, 06:24:25 PM
but wha bout de nutmeg??  ;D

you doing a good job man :applause:
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2012, 06:43:27 PM
Stueps Ato you wasting yuh time to post. ? This is not the first time or the last i see people accuse him of this. Ato you doing a good job forget them.
Post by: Peong on August 07, 2012, 07:04:27 PM
but wha bout de nutmeg??  ;D

you doing a good job man :applause:

Yeah Ato KNOW he cah answer dat one haha.  Nah I sure that one was a question of whether it was worth it to use the time to correct him or just let it pass.
So they really don't intro each athlete?  I thought that was always done at least for the stadium audience.
Is this new or was this always the case?
Post by: Trinimassive on August 07, 2012, 07:13:08 PM
Ato yuh doing ah DAMN GOOD job

If them fellas want to get BIG UP then do what is necessary to get BIG UP.

Do the homework, do the hard work (this is a cuss word in T&T).

I hear Ato BIG up Jehue since the last Olympics and he didn't even medal, if was some American broadcaster no way Jehue was getting mentioned.

I hear the BIG up put in context but he mentions things that he doesn't have too and the general public wouldn't think twice about...hmmm how come he didn't say this or that.
Our athletes need to perform at a higher level if everybody so concerned that he ent mention them. He doing more than he have to that's for sure.

I applaud Ato. Keep it up.  :applause:
Post by: Deeks on August 07, 2012, 07:28:24 PM
Ato doh worry about them nah. With TT you have to expect the unexpected. Especially in this Olimpics. We were expecting medals, at least bronze from Kelly, George, possibly Jehue,Renny, Jsani and a big performance from Bledman. But look who win a bronze, Lalonde. Not in a million years I was expecting this from him. We on the forum have been following him like everybody, but were not expecting such a pleasant surprise. All the sporting bodies have to make a serious accessment about all the performances. We are seriously deflated after  the Beijing high.

But serious, serious.Ato,  wha you think about Gabby's hair? Will we see lolo in Rio?
Post by: A.B. on August 07, 2012, 07:40:35 PM
Oh yes, the nutmeg.   ;D

I spoke at the Grenada Athlete of the Year awards this year (big shock Kirani won) and had a good time. The speech is on youtube.

I am really looking down at notes and times/world lists etc as they go to the blocks - I don't even watch the actual race I watch the monitor because I have to see what is being shown - so I was more listening than watching. Once I hear Tom say "it", a decision has to be made as to what to do, because the last thing leading to a race is supposed to be "end race set-up" and then silence, so non-race-essential elements are not really a concern. Quickly, I decide to leave it alone. Today all of Grenada cussing me for not correcting Tom. Can't win. Even get held responsible for what I don't say/someone else's mistake. People passionate, I get that.  Again, thick skin.

I trying to wean myself off the activator :D
Post by: Trinimassive on August 07, 2012, 08:13:32 PM
Oh yes, the nutmeg.   ;D

I spoke at the Grenada Athlete of the Year awards this year (big shock Kirani won) and had a good time. The speech is on youtube.

I am really looking down at notes and times/world lists etc as they go to the blocks - I don't even watch the actual race I watch the monitor because I have to see what is being shown - so I was more listening than watching. Once I hear Tom say "it", a decision has to be made as to what to do, because the last thing leading to a race is supposed to be "end race set-up" and then silence, so non-race-essential elements are not really a concern. Quickly, I decide to leave it alone. Today all of Grenada cussing me for not correcting Tom. Can't win. Even get held responsible for what I don't say/someone else's mistake. People passionate, I get that.  Again, thick skin.

I trying to wean myself off the activator :D

Compared to last Olympics for whatever reason you being heard more than seen..... so yuh safe.

Use as much activator as yuh want lol  :beermug:
Post by: Cocorite on August 07, 2012, 09:35:03 PM
I now coming to make a statement and say how impressed I am with Ato's analysis. The man is ACCURATE. Whenever he gives a breakdown and a projection as to what to look for, he is usually on point. Excellent job man.

I was just thinking how we as humans (not only Trinis) quick to criticize and pull down. But when it is time to praise and acknowledge we get quiet. I was guilty of that.

I can't speak for anybody else, but I'd like to say I think Ato is doing a masterful job. Great stuff. :applause: :applause:
Post by: Peong on August 07, 2012, 10:25:47 PM
The M400m was led with a nice KIRANI JAMES PIECE, A HUGE one. The W100 was led with a SHELLY-ANN FRASER-PRYCE piece, a very good one. W400? SANYA. M100? BLAKE! M200 will be BOLT - see a trend?

Were these done due to your input or was it because the Caribbean's success demands attention right now?  It's ok if it wasn't you, if it was you, icing on the cake, those segments were nice.
Thing is Ato, you are one of the most influential West Indians in sports.  The West Indies never had anybody in your position as an NBC commentator. Nobody really knows what is a realistic expectation of you, but I feel like people are listening every time hoping to hear something that indicates that the fella in the booth is one of us.  Of course if it would affect your job performance, don't say a word. 
I just glad you on tv so I could hear you say "Veronica CYEHmpbell-Brown".  :rotfl:
Post by: Bakes on August 07, 2012, 10:50:52 PM
Lemme just add my voice to the chorus of praise... "Kahkay-yo" notwithstanding, even Tom what he name doing a good job.  Thanks to you Trinidad even get a shout when Bob hail we out during the Opening Ceremonies. Yuh cyah please everybody and if yuh try yuh'd end up looking like Mittens... so doh study de criticism too much.
Post by: soccerman on August 07, 2012, 11:10:56 PM
Ato doh worry about them nah. With TT you have to expect the unexpected. Especially in this Olimpics. We were expecting medals, at least bronze from Kelly, George, possibly Jehue,Renny, Jsani and a big performance from Bledman. But look who win a bronze, Lalonde. Not in a million years I was expecting this from him. We on the forum have been following him like everybody, but were not expecting such a pleasant surprise. All the sporting bodies have to make a serious accessment about all the performances. We are seriously deflated after  the Beijing high.

But serious, serious.Ato,  wha you think about Gabby's hair? Will we see lolo in Rio?

:rotfl: Cut Gabby some slack nah man, dias meh girl still. Under all de talk, she go sign ah big deal with some activator company watch and see.

Ato good job brother, keep up the good work
Post by: Conquering Lion on August 08, 2012, 12:11:05 AM
I now coming to make a statement and say how impressed I am with Ato's analysis. The man is ACCURATE. Whenever he gives a breakdown and a projection as to what to look for, he is usually on point. Excellent job man.

I was just thinking how we as humans (not only Trinis) quick to criticize and pull down. But when it is time to praise and acknowledge we get quiet. I was guilty of that.

I can't speak for anybody else, but I'd like to say I think Ato is doing a masterful job. Great stuff. :applause: :applause:

That is the main thing I would give ATO credit for and continues to impress me with the work he is doing. When everyone was saying Jeter, Jeter, I remember him saying saying at the Jamaica trials "Don't sleep on SFP since she looks really good, she seems to be doing what she needs to do and is peaking at the right time".....and the results now speak for themselves. I have even noticed Tom once or twice mention a T&T athlete here there in the race if there is an outside chance....and that never happened before.

Grenadian Cocoa pod nothetheless, and on a side note...... how the fack de 100m final could be shown at 11.15pm US time when it done run since 4.50pm  :frustrated: :bs: :bs:
Post by: A.B. on August 08, 2012, 04:35:13 PM
Thanks for the congrats/kudos. Gabby and I talk on twitter I think she is an exemplary young woman. Just watching to see now since she is the first black girl to win that all around gold medal if the rules will change for her endorsement-wise. This hair thing is ridiculous. Perhaps if she had a weave down to her backside she would be better off?  >:(
Post by: truetrini on August 08, 2012, 06:03:28 PM
She need a Jherri curl...advise she nah
Post by: dwolfman on August 08, 2012, 06:18:25 PM
In the face of excellence, especially when they are already mediocre, it is natural for many to find at least one thing (no matter how mundane) to criticize. If it's not her hair, it is that she speaks about God too much or she didn't put her hand to her heart during the playing of the national anthem...
Post by: D.H.W on August 08, 2012, 06:43:15 PM
Ato the legend! Can we clone him?
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 08, 2012, 08:06:16 PM
Excellent job Ato. You are pretty accurate with your predictions.

As for the coverage, the American coverage will always be bias and in favor of Americans and now Jamaicans. We just need to accept that. And I honestly think that when Trinidad becomes a stronger nation in track, the coverage will not be much different.

For now I guess we can be happy with the progress over the past 10 years in T&T track.   

To put things into perspective...  In 2008 only 3 Trinis made the finals of all the events (2 the same event). This year we have had 5 finalist, all in different events. My yardie friend said she was surprised to see so much Trinis in event finals. If this continues, its just a matter of time before Trinidad officially occupies that third "dark horse" spot in track and field.

One question Ato, will there be any mention of Walcott? Probably the first Caribbean athlete to make it to an Olympic javelin finals?... (For some reason I think there is at least one Cuban who might have made it before). I think thats a big story. Hats off to Walcott. Definitely a record in Trinidad's books.

Post by: Trini1 on August 08, 2012, 08:22:41 PM
Great job Ato you've done us proud and continue to do us proud! Let the hates hate/ let the pressed stay pressed(LOL), you can't please everyone. Ah still vying for the training base at home- you could be like a trini franno- always at war with the powers that be yet leading athletes to success.

For real though looking at the athletes training together at the camp in Cardiff was such a site to behold it was kinda heart warming lol. Imagine that permanently and in Trinidad- I believe they can drive each other to success if that's the case. We've never had so many world class athletes at one time and that's great to see. When they retire I hope they will invest in the future trini track and field stars by becoming coaches and having clubs themselves. Hopefully whoever is halting progress will be dead and gone by then (sorry to say that). I can't stand people who halt potential for greatness because of ulterior motives.
Title: T&T can make 10 event finals and can come home with at least 3 Olympic medals!
Post by: Socapro on August 08, 2012, 08:29:44 PM
@gawd on pitch

So far T&T athletes have made finals in 7 events:-

50m Men Freestyle Swimming but no medal there - Bovell;
100m Women Sprint but no medal there - KAB;
100m Men Sprint but no medal there - RT;
400m Men Hurdles but no medal there - Jehue;
400m Men and bronze medal there - Lalonde;
200m Women Sprint - Hackett but no medal;
Javelin Men - Walcott (Hopefully he can set a new PB in the final on Saturday);

Also expect us to make finals and hopefully medal in:-
Men 4x100m relay (Bronze most likely);
Women 4x100m relay (Bronze most likely);

Will be pleased to make final in Men 4x400m relay but would be surprised if we medal as one of our best 400m sprinters Quow has a hamstring injury.

So that is 10 event finals that our athletes will hopefully make and I am realistically hoping for at least 3 medals most likely all bronze if we perform to the best of our ability in each of the remaining finals we qualify for.  :beermug:
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 08, 2012, 09:50:08 PM
@gawd on pitch

So far T&T athletes have made finals in 7 events:-

50m Men Freestyle Swimming but no medal there - Bovell;
100m Women Sprint but no medal there - KAB;
100m Men Sprint but no medal there - RT;
400m Men Hurdles but no medal there - Jehue;
400m Men and bronze medal there - Lalonde;
200m Women Sprint - Hackett but no medal;
Javelin Men - Walcott (Hopefully he can set a new PB in the final on Saturday);

Also expect us to make finals and hopefully medal in:-
Men 4x100m relay (Bronze most likely);
Women 4x100m relay (Bronze most likely);

Will be pleased to make final in Men 4x400m relay but would be surprised if we medal as one of our best 400m sprinters Quow has a hamstring injury.

So that is 10 event finals that our athletes will hopefully make and I am realistically hoping for at least 3 medals most likely all bronze if we perform to the best of our ability in each of the remaining finals we qualify for.  :beermug:

Dont worry about Quow not being there. He was only a 45.5s runner this season.  Cedenio is guaranteed to run a high 45.s. With Jehue's sub 48, that should equal a 45.5s-45.8s in the 400m flat.

The main contenders in the 4x400 have kind of faded. I mean, we havent seen much of them in the semis or even finals. I think he have a good chance. Some things to think about... that should work in our favor:

- USA had no finalists in the 400m. Tells us that Lashawn Merrit is their US best.. He is not there. Plus the other fill ins (Clement, in particular) does not really look the best. In the end the US will be there, but they are not as strong as they were in the past.

- BAH Probably the most deadliest right now. But they havent really shown up lately. In the end, they will be a contender. I think if we get ahead of them we can pull it off.

- South Africa individually looks a little weak. They had no finalists in the 400m and 400mh and one semi finalist in the 400m. LJ is not the
   same as last year. No sub 45s runners. Their best is a 45.4 runner.

- RUS has two good low 45s runners. Again if we get in front of them, we can do it.

- JAM There best runner Gonzo is looking a little weak nowadays. Hyatt hasnt run sub 45 since trials. They will be ready to run regardless.

- DR Sanchez could probably run a mid 45s. We know the potential of Santos. However, their next best is a 45.7s runner. Cant see them     
   being a contender considering their lack of depth. But they have momentum with the two medals.

- POL No sub 45 runners. Their best is a mid 45 runner. Strong if they get in front of us.

- CUB has a good seasonal best. Best runner is a high 45.8 runner. Thats about it.

-UK With home advantage and a good pool of runners in the 400m and the 400mh .. They are the ones we need to be concerned about.
  They have the potential to pull off a shocker.

I think T&T has a fair chance to get a medal in the 4x400. The field is kind of even this year.

4x400 is all about speed.. And i think T&T has enough speed depth in this event to get a medal.

Post by: truetrini on August 08, 2012, 10:10:14 PM
So you discounting Belgium?  The Borlee brothers were both in the finals.
Post by: Socapro on August 08, 2012, 10:14:15 PM
I think he forgot about Belgium so thanks for reminding him!  ;)
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 08, 2012, 10:22:29 PM
I think he forgot about Belgium so thanks for reminding him!  ;)

Yes.. I am not afraid to admit. I forgot.

BEL Their next best runners after the Borlees are a low 46 400m, and two 400mh. Both of these guys are 50s and 49s 400mh runners. Will be
      a threat depending on the order and if they can get in front of the field.

I think this 4x400 will be one of the most competitive.
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 09, 2012, 08:27:08 AM
With the results of todays 4x400.. Was my assessment in line Soca and Trini?

I really feel we have a good shot of securing a medal. Not saying the medal color as I am remaining optimistic.
Post by: Socapro on August 09, 2012, 08:59:21 AM

I really feel we have a good shot of securing a medal. Not saying the medal color as I am remaining optimistic.
Your assessement was on point! Any better and I would give you Ato's job!  :beermug:
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 09, 2012, 09:02:38 AM

Your assessement was on point! Any better and I would give you Ato's job!  :beermug:

Lol.. Yuh hear that Ato. I sending my resume into NBC HR department. Soca... I using you as a reference. Thanks :rotfl:

On another note... Ato, we need your evaluation and prediction. What are our chances of getting a medal in the 4x400? What does the crystal ball say?
Post by: truetrini on August 09, 2012, 10:44:50 AM
For T&T to medal, we have to really shave time off that National Record.

I don't know how many more sub 45's in Lalonde's legs but boy if he does not get us out to a lead we in trouble.

Lendore has to run a better last leg also, he cannot let men blow past him...Great Britain has a better time in them.  So does Cuba.  Bahamas and the USA faster than US and barring an accident they taking the first two spots.

We have to run the race of our lives to get on the podium.  Impossible?  Nah.... Probable?   Depends on the first two legs.
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 09, 2012, 10:49:44 AM
For T&T to medal, we have to really shave time off that National Record.

I don't know how many more sub 45's in Lalonde's legs but boy if he does not get us out to a lead we in trouble.

Lendore has to run a better last leg also, he cannot let men blow past him...Great Britain has a better time in them.  So does Cuba.  Bahamas and the USA faster than US and barring an accident they taking the first two spots.

We have to run the race of our lives to get on the podium.  Impossible?  Nah.... Probable?   Depends on the first two legs.

Lendore ran a 44.49 split. I think you mean Alleyne-Forte? He ran a 46.13. Get a mid 45s runner, and we under 3:00. Cedenio is the man to do the trick.
Post by: truetrini on August 09, 2012, 11:00:04 AM
yeah yuh right but a man also blew past Lendore  and he had two men in front of him, that must not happen in the finals also.
Post by: STMB on August 09, 2012, 12:58:43 PM
Manteo Mitchell of the US is out, broke his fibula on the first leg but finished miraculously.

The US still has Angelo Taylor a 44.06 man who even when he is not at his best can produce a 44 low leg.

The important thing is for T&T to stay in contact within the top 3/4 teams throughout. If so, anything can play.
Post by: truetrini on August 09, 2012, 01:02:41 PM
USA in deep trouble now
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 09, 2012, 01:07:31 PM
USA in deep trouble now
Manteo Mitchell of the US is out, broke his fibula on the first leg but finished miraculously.

The US still has Angelo Taylor a 44.06 man who even when he is not at his best can produce a 44 low leg.

The important thing is for T&T to stay in contact within the top 3/4 teams throughout. If so, anything can play.

Not sure how it works.. Taylor wasnt named to the relay pool. Come to think about it, neither was Jehue..

USA might have to go with their injured reserve Warriner. He is not 100%
Post by: Peong on August 09, 2012, 08:10:19 PM
Ato skate with Ono as yet?
Post by: D.H.W on August 09, 2012, 09:11:24 PM
Aye serious talk, does Ato have a wax figure like the ones in England? We should have them for our local heroes. I know lara has one. Would love to see a Hasely one. Long after they gone people won't forget them.
Post by: Bakes on August 09, 2012, 10:06:57 PM
Good job on the breakdown of the stride advantage Bolt have on the other runners.  I heard you mention it during the 100 m Final... but the graphic before the 200 just underscore it.  What is Tom Hammond credentials though that he's become NBC's go to man for track?  I find him to be very mediocre, although the stats lab does keep him real informed.  No hate, but they could use better.
Post by: STMB on August 10, 2012, 02:40:51 PM
BTW a few nights ago Ato mentioned that T&T has never won more than 2 Olympic medals at a games.

We did win 3 in 1964 - silver (400), bronze (200), bronze (4x400m)
Post by: Socapro on August 10, 2012, 02:45:37 PM
BTW a few nights ago Ato mentioned that T&T has never won more than 2 Olympic medals at a games.

We did win 3 in 1964 - silver (400), bronze (200), bronze (4x400m)
Good on you refreshing Ato's memory. He does slip up sometimes as he wasn't born yet back in them times!  ;)
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 11, 2012, 01:37:44 PM
Ato, you are doing an excellent job...

History was made today. It was a young man by the name of Keshorn Walcott from Trinidad. This has to be one of the biggest stories of these Olympics. Please give us we time now..

Much respect
Post by: Dumplingdinho on August 11, 2012, 02:31:47 PM
ato doesnt cover field events...the most he could say is (assuming 4x100) was after javelin is that our relay team should be on a high since keshorn won gold.
Post by: soccerman on August 11, 2012, 02:36:59 PM
ato doesnt cover field events...the most he could say is (assuming 4x100) was after javelin is that our relay team should be on a high since keshorn won gold.
He won gold??? Doh fack meh up
Post by: Dumplingdinho on August 11, 2012, 02:38:54 PM

like u in ah different planet.... ;D walcott won gold in d javelin.
Post by: D.H.W on August 11, 2012, 02:39:09 PM

yuh late!  ;D
Post by: soccerman on August 11, 2012, 02:41:25 PM

yuh late!  ;D
I late in trute  ;D....well yes our anthem will be played loud and clear :applause:
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 11, 2012, 02:45:32 PM

yuh late!  ;D

Regardless.. If Keshorn was American or Jamaican.. Trust meh, they mentioning it in some way.
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 11, 2012, 03:55:34 PM
On Twitter, Ato say they'll be showing de javelin and dey have footage of him singing de anthem.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on August 11, 2012, 04:20:48 PM
On Twitter, Ato say they'll be showing de javelin and dey have footage of him singing de anthem.

they always show highlights of the field events,they usually show the top 3 athletes in between the track events.
Post by: STMB on August 11, 2012, 09:53:27 PM
Well this is the first time NBC did not cover an event, and it turns out to be the javelin, no coverage for Keshorn, unless I missed it.
Post by: Cocorite on August 11, 2012, 10:35:21 PM
They just say they will show the Finals of the Javelin on late night program
Post by: Peong on August 11, 2012, 10:38:56 PM

Bro, any idea when?  I watchin whole evening and did not see it.

They showin javelin highlights now so hopefully not too long for the anthem.
Post by: truetrini on August 11, 2012, 11:21:51 PM

Bro, any idea when?  I watchin whole evening and did not see it.

They showin javelin highlights now so hopefully not too long for the anthem.

Just showed it 1.21 am EST lol
Post by: Pointman on August 12, 2012, 12:24:43 PM
Good Job Ato. It was a pleasure watching your coverage of these London Olympics( NBC sucks though...sorry) Well Done homeboy!!!
Post by: Sam on September 10, 2015, 09:14:44 AM
Ato for miniter of sports.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=64854.msg939628#msg939628

Post by: Socapro on September 10, 2015, 09:30:52 AM
I can guarantee you guys that Ato is not interested in that role.
Ato has said that he tried being a politician once in the past and soon realised it is not for him.

Ato is already making his contribution doing exactly what he is doing right now which is coaching, broadcasting and being an IAAF Ambassador.

Look out for our male and female sprinters who are going to be part of Ato's camp from October all doing big things next year and helping to put T&T on the map at the Rio 2016 Olympics.

If any of Ato's athletes end up winning a gold medal at the Olympics then Ato would have made a major contribution and should be given the Order of T&T in recognition.
Post by: Sando prince on September 18, 2015, 09:37:58 PM

https://instagram.com/p/7yhRZoPeo2/ (https://instagram.com/p/7yhRZoPeo2/)

T&T's four-time Olympic medallist and former World 200 metres Champion Ato Boldon visited his old Primary School Newtown Boys' in Port of Spain today. Boldon uploaded a photo of himself with some students from the school with the caption: “At my old Primary School Newtown Boys' in Port of Spain. I never miss a chance to positively influence a young life. So much fun!”
Post by: Sando prince on October 07, 2015, 05:43:30 PM

BEYOND THE TRACK PART I with Ato Boldon

https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/10153685112077996/ (https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/10153685112077996/)

In the first of our two week series in going 'Beyond the Track' with Ato Boldon, Ryan Bachoo looks back to T&T’s World Championships performances in August. We won two medals but largely faltered in the individual medleys.
Post by: Sando prince on October 08, 2015, 12:04:55 AM

https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/10153685112077996/ (https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/10153685112077996/)

In the first of our two week series in going 'Beyond the Track' with Ato Boldon, Ryan Bachoo looks back to T&T’s World Championships performances in August. We won two medals but largely faltered in the individual medleys.

BEYOND THE TRACK PART 2

https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/10153685240752996/ (https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/10153685240752996/)

In this edition of 'Beyond the Track', Ryan Bachoo and Ato Boldon look back on the Olympian's career.
You'd think an Olympic silver medal would be a great accomplishment but it wasn't always met with appreciation.
Post by: Sando prince on October 08, 2015, 07:56:50 PM

BEYOND THE TRACK PART 2

https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/10153685240752996/ (https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/10153685240752996/)

In this edition of 'Beyond the Track', Ryan Bachoo and Ato Boldon look back on the Olympian's career.
You'd think an Olympic silver medal would be a great accomplishment but it wasn't always met with appreciation.

BEYOND THE TRACK PART 3

https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/10153687061432996/ (https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/10153687061432996/)

In this edition of 'Beyond the Track', Ryan Bachoo talked to Ato Boldon about one of our best prospects.
Post by: Trini1 on October 19, 2015, 09:59:18 AM
Good news. Kelly Ann is joining Ato's camp in addition to Richard. I'm sure we will see great improvements in both of them so long as they, like Khalifa has done are able to listen and adhere to Ato's advice/guidance.
Post by: Socapro on October 19, 2015, 03:50:19 PM
Sports Media - A Conversation With Ato Boldon 2015
http://www.youtube.com/v/tD-orCDnZDU
Post by: Socapro on October 28, 2015, 08:54:50 PM

BEYOND THE TRACK PART 2

BEYOND THE TRACK PART 3

https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/10153687061432996/ (https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/10153687061432996/)

In this edition of 'Beyond the Track', Ryan Bachoo talked to Ato Boldon about one of our best prospects.

BEYOND THE TRACK PART 4

Trinidad and Tobago has a rich history at the Olympic games. However one prize still eludes us, an olympic medal for a female.

Ryan Bachoo and Ato Boldon analyzed why we haven’t corrected this in over 50 years of competition.

Click link to view: https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/10153695182577996/

BEYOND THE TRACK PART 5

We’re down to the final week in our "Beyond the Track" series with Ato Boldon.

If you’ve never heard the story of Ato passing on his crown to Richard Thompson then you’re in luck. You’ll hear it from the man himself.

Click link to view: https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/vb.126206357995/10153695268862996/

BEYOND THE TRACK PART 6

In our last edition of 'Beyond the Track' series we told you the story of Ato Boldon passing on his crown to Richard Thompson.

As Boldon gears up to coach Thompson, we find out how he plans to revive Thompson’s career.

Click link to view: https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/vb.126206357995/10153699402762996/

BEYOND THE TRACK PART 7 - JAMAICA'S DOMINATION

Jamaican track athletes are as superior as they come nowadays, but why?

In this edition of 'Beyond the Track', Ryan Bachoo quizzes Ato Boldon as to why Jamaica continues to conquer the world.

Click link to view: https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/vb.126206357995/10153701328622996/

BEYOND THE TRACK PART 8

As we wind down our 'Beyond the Track' series with Ato Boldon, we merge it with our 'Rundown to Rio' series once again.

With nine months to the Olympic Games, Ryan Bachoo was eager to find out what Ato needs to fix before the start.

Click link to view: https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/vb.126206357995/10153702930837996/
Title: More 200s for Thompson, Baptiste, says coach Ato *
Post by: Socapro on October 28, 2015, 09:55:31 PM
More 200s for Thompson, Baptiste, says coach Ato * (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20151019/sports/more-200s-for-thompson-baptiste-says-coach-ato)
By Kwame Laurence, kwame.laurence@trinidadexpress.com
Published on Oct 19, 2015, 8:08 pm AST (T&T Express)

(http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p12/Socapro/Socapro036/Ato%20Bolden%20with%20young%20athletes%20in%20his%20Camp%202015.jpg) (http://s124.photobucket.com/user/Socapro/media/Socapro036/Ato%20Bolden%20with%20young%20athletes%20in%20his%20Camp%202015.jpg.html)
YOUNG CHARGES: Coach Ato Boldon, right, back row, poses with his group of young athletes at Ansin Sports Complex in Miramar, Florida, USA. Standing next to Boldon is 15-year-old Gabriel Serrano. Standing in the front are 17-year-old Sarah Wollaston, left, 10-year-old Samantha Kavanagh and 17-year-old Khalifa St Fort. --Photo courtesy ATO BOLDON

The Ato Boldon training camp is located in Miramar, Florida, USA, but has a distinctly Trinidad and Tobago feel to it. Richard "Torpedo" Thompson is the national record holder in the men's 100 metres at a sizzling 9.82 seconds. Kelly-Ann Baptiste, meanwhile, is the fastest-ever T&T woman, having clocked 10.84 on two occasions.

Both Thompson and Baptiste will be coached by Boldon in the build-up to the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Another T&T athlete, 2015 IAAF World Youth Championship girls' 100m silver medallist Khalifa St Fort is part of the Boldon camp. Sarah Wollaston, who will challenge for a spot on T&T's 2016 Carifta Games team, started training with the quadruple Olympic medallist last week. And American quartermiler Natasha Hastings, who will train twice a month in Florida under Boldon's guidance, is a Trinbagonian of sorts. Her mother, Joanne Gardner-Hastings represented T&T in athletics.
Title: Re: Paging Ato Boldon !!!!!! aka De Golden Boldon Thread
Post by: Socapro on January 28, 2016, 11:06:22 AM
Episode 300: Ato Boldon previews the Olympic year
Posted on January 28, 2016 by houseofrun | Leave a comment

Broadcaster and sprint coach Ato Boldon joins Jason and Kevin to discuss his growing sprint group, who the top challenger to Usain Bolt will be, Allyson Felix’s shot at 200m/400m gold, a hypothetical 300m race between Usain Bolt and Michael Johnson, the Adidas/IAAF partnership and much more!
Then, the guys discuss the Dubai Marathon results, Chris Derrick’s decision to not run the Olympic Trials marathon and compare the careers of Alan Webb, Ryan Hall and Dathan Ritzenhein.

Click to listen: http://www.houseofrun.com/episode-300-ato-boldon-previews-the-olympic-year
Post by: Sando prince on February 12, 2016, 09:40:16 PM

(http://www.trinidadexpress.com/storyimage/TT/20160211/SPORTS/160219937/AR/0/AR-160219937.jpg&MaxW=730&imageversion=Article)

Boldon: T&T can improve on London haul *

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160211/sports/boldon-tt-can-improve-on-london-haul

Quadruple Olympic medallist Ato Boldon says the Trinidad and Tobago track and field team is capable of hauling in even more medals at the Rio Olympics than they achieved at the London Games in 2012.

At the London Olympiad four years ago, T&T placed 47th with one gold through Keshorn Walcott's spectacular throw in the Men's Javelin and three bronze medals claimed by Lalonde Gordon in the 400 metres and the Men's 4x100 relay and Men's 4x400 relay.

Boldon, who coaches Richard Thompson, Kelly Ann Baptiste, Khalifa St Fort and is working with the Women's 4x100m relay squad, is aiming to assist T&T on making the breakthrough for Team TTO's first female Olympic medal.

He is very hopeful.
Post by: Aviator on February 14, 2016, 04:00:34 PM
Monsieur Boldon just made his first mark with the Pro members of his stable. Natasha Hastings just ran a US National record over 300m. Anxiously awaiting Kelly and Richard now.

P.S. Yuh get a B+ for unbias race calling. The excitement did creep through.  ;D
Post by: jusbless on February 15, 2016, 06:21:56 PM
BATON ROUGE, USA - The High Performance Meet here on the weekend (13 Feb) has some world class sprinters.

In men 60m, Zimbabwe´s Gabriel Mvumvure clocked 6.69 to beat Olympic medalist Richard Thompson from Trinidad and Tobago 6.74.

In women's 60m, Jamaican Samantha Henry-Robinson ran 7.27secs to beat Kelly-Ann Baptiste from Trinidad and Tobago 7.35.

Another Jamaican, long jumper Damar Forbes achieved 7.81m for the top spot.

Meanwhile, in Albuquerque, long jumper Jeff Henderson won the 60m during second day of Don Kirby Elite in 6.63 ahead of Emmanuel Matadi also 6.63 and Josh DeLoach 6.67.

In the 400m, Marcus Chambers clocked the fastest time of 46.53. Sasha Wallace for first time in her career broke the 8 seconds in women hurdles with 7.96 win over LaTisha Holden-Palmer 8.14 (but 8.12 in semis).

Hannah Cunliffe won the women 60m in 7.20 PB, Daye Shon Roberson in 53.08 beat world class 400h Georganne Moline 53.12. Jill Camarena-Williams won shot 18.03 (her first indoor meet since 2012) and Oregon clocked 3:31.96 in women relay.
Post by: A.B. on February 15, 2016, 06:57:04 PM
Florida pros are working their way thru indoors. They'll be ready when they need to. Natasha is already on race 5 or 6 of indoors. This was the first for KAB and Richard.
Post by: Aviator on February 16, 2016, 10:19:37 AM
Florida pros are working their way thru indoors. They'll be ready when they need to. Natasha is already on race 5 or 6 of indoors. This was the first for KAB and Richard.
Would it be correct to presume, that based on the date on which they opened up and the quality of the times, that Portland isn't on the table?
Post by: A.B. on February 17, 2016, 12:06:33 AM
Correct. Never was. This is a break-up of 15+ weeks of training hard.
Post by: Aviator on February 17, 2016, 09:46:36 AM
Correct. Never was. This is a break-up of 15+ weeks of training hard.
Figured as much. Looking forward to May!
Post by: A.B. on February 19, 2016, 09:32:28 PM
7.27 heat and 7.20 final for KAB this evening at LSU. I still continue to be completely uninterested in a single thing about my athlete's indoor performance (it's the equivalent of worrying about how a cake tastes after an hour when it has to bake for 5) but I'm happy for her since her PR, which dates back to her LSU days, is 7.13
Post by: Socapro on February 19, 2016, 10:19:35 PM
7.27 heat and 7.20 final for KAB this evening at LSU. I still continue to be completely uninterested in a single thing about my athlete's indoor performance (it's the equivalent of worrying about how a cake tastes after an hour when it has to bake for 5) but I'm happy for her since her PR, which dates back to her LSU days, is 7.13
Post by: Sando prince on March 20, 2016, 03:46:19 PM
Ato wha yuh say beds? I am in total agreement. Do you plan to be there?

"T&T Carifta team manager Dexter Voisin wants T&T track and field legend Ato Boldon to help prepare the junior athletes for the 45th Carifta Games, which takes place from March 26-28 in Grenada"

http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2016-03-18/carifta-manager-wants-ato-inspire-team
Post by: Sando prince on April 05, 2016, 07:01:30 PM

Respect Ato!  :beermug:🇹🇹

https://www.facebook.com/atoboldon/posts/10154138780495152
Post by: Deeks on April 05, 2016, 07:31:22 PM
Good Luck! And God Bless!
Post by: asylumseeker on April 05, 2016, 08:09:56 PM
Heard the event was a success!
Post by: Sando prince on December 28, 2016, 06:49:26 PM

(http://d15h3ts9pue03r.cloudfront.net/wp-content/uploads/2016/12/ato-boldon.jpg?x23406)

T&T Olympian Ato Boldon Named Sports Illustrated’s Best Television Analyst of 2016

FLORIDA, United States, Wednesday December 28, 2016 — The successes of retired Trinidad and Tobago track star Ato Boldon have continued off the track.

Boldon, a four-time Olympic medallist and T&T’s most decorated track athlete of all time, has been named as one of the best television analysts of the year by Sports Illustrated.

The 42-year-old former sprinter, who celebrates his birthday on Friday, and NBC’s Roddy Gaines were named joint best television analysts of the year by Sports Illustrated when it announced its best and worst media awards for 2016.

Read more: http://www.caribbean360.com/news/tt-olympian-ato-bolden-named-sports-illustrateds-best-television-analyst-2016#ixzz4UBSBm7N7

Post by: Deeks on December 28, 2016, 07:09:29 PM
 :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy:
Post by: Swima on December 30, 2016, 07:19:41 AM
While my position makes me biased either way, Ato is way better than Rowdy as an analyst. Even in the swimming community, among Americans, Rowdy has his detractors. I respect Rowdy's research and colour commentary, however, I believe Ato is able to display less bias in his words and emotions, and gives real insight even among the track afficianados where potential upsets are not as apparent, which is a sign of an analyst who is on top of his scouting.

Maybe my position as a swim coach makes Rowdy's scouting less impressive to me, but I follow a good deal of track and field too. For me Ato should have won this outright.
Post by: royal on January 07, 2017, 08:12:33 AM
Ato Boldon - Speaks Athletic Development in T&T & Star Athlete Khalifa St. Fort

http://www.youtube.com/v/bFrdVw1Au8U
Post by: Flex on March 02, 2017, 01:06:58 PM
Boldon’s 200 record intact
By Kwame Laurence (Express).

Ato Boldon’s national indoor men’s 200 metres record is still in the books. Boldon established the 20.35 seconds Trinidad and Tobago standard back in 1997 in Birmingham, England.

Jereem Richards bettered Boldon’s time on Saturday, stopping the clock at 20.34 to strike gold at the Southeastern Conference (SEC) Indoor Track and Field Championships in Tennessee, USA. However, the clocking was produced on the oversized Vanderbilt Multipurpose Facility track, and will therefore not be recognised as a T&T record. The Vanderbilt track is 300 metres, while a standard indoor track is 200 metres.

But though Richards is not the national record holder, and his official personal best is still 20.57 seconds, the 23-year-old University of Alabama student has the distinction of running the fastest-ever indoor 200 on an oversized track. He takes over from American Tyson Gay, whose 20.40 clocking in 2004 was the previous “oversized best”.

Boldon told the Express he expects Richards to eventually erase his T&T indoor 200m record from the books.

“I still think he’s the one to break it, and that he’ll get under 20 (seconds) outdoors. That’s the most depressing stat we have, that no one else is sub-20.”

Boldon also holds the T&T outdoor 200m record—a fast 19.77 seconds run in Stuttgart, Germany, in 1997. Rondel Sorrillo is second on the all-time T&T outdoor 200m list at 20.16.

Richards will be back in action at the March 10-11 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division 1 Indoor Championships, in Texas. With the meet being staged at the Gilliam Indoor Stadium, which features a 200-metre track, Richards will have the opportunity to break Boldon’s 20.35 seconds T&T indoor record.

Post by: Sando prince on October 21, 2019, 05:51:53 PM
Congrats Ato! Saw the news on Team T&T FB page https://tinyurl.com/y4vpekbs

Ato Boldon inducted into Institute for Caribbean Studies' Wall of Fame
Post by: A.B. on October 23, 2019, 12:43:27 AM
Thanks. From June. The institute never contacted me.

Just did their press release.... ???
Post by: Deeks on October 23, 2019, 02:25:26 AM
Congrats!!! :thumbsup:

I do hope, the TF admin. contact you to iron out whatever differences there may be. I don't know. Is long overdue for our women TF get a medal. I do hope they contact you soon. 2020 is right around the corner.
Post by: Flex on April 29, 2020, 09:02:32 AM
Ato voices concern for athletes’ mental state
NARISSA FRASER (NEWSDAY).

FOUR-time T&T Olympic medallist Ato Boldon says while physical training will undoubtedly be affected for athletes who were preparing for the 2020 Olympic Games, he is also concerned about their mental wellness.

Boldon, who is also a sprint coach and NBC sports analyst, was speaking on sports broadcast producer Don Cardona’s Sports in the Making podcast on Thursday. Cardona has worked with companies such as ESPN and NBC Sports.

When discussing the postponement of the Olympics to 2021 because of the covid19 pandemic, Boldon said it was not just the “right” move but “the only move.

“When you see countries like Canada and Australia pull out and say, ‘You know what? No matter if they’re having the Olympics or not, we are not subjecting our athletes to what could be possibly waiting in Tokyo, Japan.’”

Asked how such a change will affect athletes, Boldon said while he had never experienced anything like this during his athletic career, he believes a mental adjustment would have to be made.

“All of them just kinda said, ‘Okay, the work that I would have done since the fall is all pretty much gonna go away’.

“Everybody was laser-focused on being ready for something…I think the limbo is the hardest thing for a lot of these athletes, because Olympic athletes only know one speed, and that is, crank it. And right now, they can’t really crank it, because they’re not trying to be in the best shape of their lives in September. So I think that’s gonna be the hardest part for all of them.”

Cardona likened the situation to a record becoming scratched and disrupting the steady flow of music it once created.

Asked how he would help athletes to get through the next year, Boldon said, “The part that I’m worried about is athletes who would have spent an entire year not being in peak physical condition.

“That, to me, is the bigger situation, where I’m looking at my athlete and saying, ‘Okay, so she didn’t have a complete 2019 (season), and she only had an indoor season in 2020, and then she’s gonna be asked to ramp it up for 2021’. That, to me, is the tougher part.

“A lot of coaches are thinking it but they aren’t saying it. That is the real challenge.”

The two also discussed Boldon’s life, hobbies and athletic career, among other things.