Sports => Football => Topic started by: injunchile on July 27, 2005, 03:08:54 PM

Title: A set of Fatima men on this Forum
Post by: injunchile on July 27, 2005, 03:08:54 PM
Well, I see that you are giving Gally !0,000 a month for three months to win some trophies. Let us see what will happen at the end of the InterCol season. I heard the prevailing logic was - Look what Maureno did with Chelsea, so pass the bread to Gally.
What about the pool of Players, are you going to buy players if you follow the Chelsea model.
Is this a new thrend in Youth Football. If it will bring results,eg- make the switch to international level- To God be the Glory.
Title: Re: A set of Fatima men on this Forum
Post by: palos on July 27, 2005, 03:19:14 PM
Well, I see that you are giving Gally !0,000 a month for three months to win some trophies. Let us see what will happen at the end of the InterCol season. I heard the prevailing logic was - Look what Maureno did with Chelsea, so pass the bread to Gally.
What about the pool of Players, are you going to buy players if you follow the Chelsea model.
Is this a new thrend in Youth Football. If it will bring results,eg- make the switch to international level- To God be the Glory.

No disrespeck Injunchile, but like you doh read or wha?  Yuh eh check wha Tallman & dem was talkin bout re: Pres & Naps?

Buyin players at Colleges level been goin on fuh donkey years.

Gally himself was "bought" from Tranquil to Fatima.

Yuh think Latas "pass" fuh San Fernando Technical?

Post by: kicker on July 27, 2005, 04:04:31 PM
Yes "buying" players has been a practice for some time, but as an ex fatima man, and in defense of fatima, I have to say that the practice was not as popular there as in many colleges (Notably QRC). At least up until I left fatima in '95, on average only 1 or 2 out of 18 players were transferred just to play football. I can even remember years where every player was a Fatima student from form 1.....

Might partly explain why we lost so much haha.....
Post by: Feliziano on July 27, 2005, 08:11:33 PM
Fatima paying money just to avoid the relegation battle  ;D
Post by: Jah Gol on July 27, 2005, 09:01:15 PM
I'm a former QRC student.I left in 2001 and up till then we hardly had any buy men but I think this year we'll see some "foreigners" come in since dem dirty CIC take about 4 men last year.
Post by: Maradona7 on July 27, 2005, 10:01:17 PM
We didn't take 4. 4 of allya players left because QRC is S*#T!!!!!

GO SAINTS!!!! WE WINNING THIS YEAR!!! fatima hahaha!! when last them do something!!
Post by: Tenorsaw on July 28, 2005, 12:41:13 AM
As a former P. Town player ah could tell yuh that even the Pres men started coming to join we when they realized that the guard had changed.  The best players from as far as Mayaro, Point, Fyzo, P. Ville, Vesigny, wanted to be on a top squad.  Importing going on donkey years now.  Avery John never pass for Pres, nor did Mervyn Wright, just to name a few.
Post by: Jahyouth on July 28, 2005, 10:11:05 AM
Yes "buying" players has been a practice for some time, but as an ex fatima man, and in defense of fatima, I have to say that the practice was not as popular there as in many colleges (Notably QRC). At least up until I left fatima in '95, on average only 1 or 2 out of 18 players were transferred just to play football. I can even remember years where every player was a Fatima student from form 1.....

Might partly explain why we lost so much haha.....

Kicker, haul yuh arse.  The king of transfer players has always been CIC.  St. Anthony's recently has taken the title though.  QRC had a period when a few Junior Sec transfers came in (like Hector Sam from Mt. Hope Junior Sec.) but CIC has been the boss of that.  So doh be "notably QRC" nuttin when it come to dat. 

As a matter of fact, if my memory serves me correctly, Fatima started this trend when they brought a man named Creese to play for Fatima from a Junior Sec in the mid-80s.  Any of the older heads know that name? 
Post by: kicker on July 28, 2005, 01:19:05 PM
I know Anthony Creese........that was 88/89......not the mid 80's.......and he ended up barely playing a season.....Sterling Smith (a transfer) played for QRC before that....so I dunno (seriously doubt) if Fatima started the trend, but your example is rubbish....

Anyways, my bad for singling out QRC........If I'm wrong hard luck...I take it back, but I had friends from QRC who gave me that impression......I didn't come up with that on my own......I know for a fact though that Fatima didn't use the football transfer practice very much up until I left..........

later
Post by: UPRISING on July 28, 2005, 01:30:36 PM
Nah Jahyouth, cyar say dat "CIC is de king ah dat" at all..I en know for now but back in de mid to late eighties I would say is a max of 5 / 6 players dat Saints pull...remember CIC will always be a academics first school ...even though they will make allowances for men dat contributing to de team .. yuh still have to show yuh could hande yuh biz in de classroom..

As far as de NORTH colleges go..at least when I was playing....QRC was de boss ah dat!!!!!! FI REAL!

Go Saints!
Post by: JERSEY TRINI on July 28, 2005, 01:48:00 PM
As a former P. Town player ah could tell yuh that even the Pres men started coming to join we when they realized that the guard had changed.  The best players from as far as Mayaro, Point, Fyzo, P. Ville, Vesigny, wanted to be on a top squad.  Importing going on donkey years now.  Avery John never pass for Pres, nor did Mervyn Wright, just to name a few.

Just to clearify your statement there, no men from P.VILLE leave they because they wanted to be on P.Town squad, they leave because of differences between the players and the Manager or the team that's all.  This is from my experiences playing with P.Ville from 95-97.
Post by: slates on July 28, 2005, 01:49:27 PM
Wha? I have to chime in on this one. I went to CIC from 76 to 83. And in the time I was there, I cyah tink about more than 1 player, Arnold Corneal, the goal keeper, who Saints pull in just to play ball and that man had to have the grades because them priests them didn't play dat.

In the mean time, I could mention 2 notable names, G. Rodriguez and Geoffery Lake who Fatima snapped up even while the CIC priests were considering cutting them men some slack to repeat. Rodriguez mash up the North Zone that year.

In them days, QRC was routinely pulling men from Trinity, Trinity was pulling men from Belmont and Tranquil, and Fatima was scavenging them Vale men from Diego Sec,  and Saints.

So all yuh, doh try dat. CIC was all about academics. Now if that change, is a welcome change because we on the bottom for too long.
Post by: vb on July 28, 2005, 02:09:20 PM
If I say everything I have to say about this topic, it would take far too long.

Let me just say that Fatima in my time in the 80s didn't play that game as badly as other schools.

Men who could have benn "allowed" to go to Form VI were simply not.

Sheppard of the mid 80s is a classic example. Imagine yu  have a catch ass squad and u tell the best player apologise to the staff for giving trouble in Form V? Thereality is, the man hardly give any trouble.

It was understood that abt. two men would get into Form VI on Sports, but they had to have the grades. (The only exeception I know of was brian Lara :)

A lot of men regularly joined Fatima after Form One, becz they wrote exams and were allowed in. Most of them never played ball for us.

A man who came in around Form four or five was R. Simmons in the early 80s but he had the grades and got a Schol  to the US.

Graeme Rodriguez said that he went to Fatima becz Saints didn't have the Accounting subjects he wanted in Form VI.

If Fatima wanted to play that game, u know how many students we could score.

One more thing. Ppl talk about a boss 87 Fatima squad Captained by Sean Ramdoo. EVERY name I have ever heard from that squad started in Form One....Hines, Sagar, Ramdoo, Cipriani, Burnette, Rodriguez, Roberts,Baptiste etc.

I personally watch Fatima fu%^$ themselves up...becz priniciple came first.

One year a player was banned from the team by the Staff, becz of misbehaviour. Colin Murray the Coach asked for him to play for the squad..he was a key player and he didn't want the team to suffer...the Principal say no...and Murray resigned.

Read Anil Roberts story about how Murray bench he ass for a key intercol game becz he show up 15 minutes late for the team meeting...as Roberts put it...that end the bigitis he was suffering from right then and there.

I could give other examples...but my point is most schools play that game...but Fatima is one of the least of the detractors...u don't keep ur academic rep. by handing out seats like candy.

By acquiring Gally...they have show how serious they are...without making a mockery of the process.

Peace,
Post by: Jahyouth on July 28, 2005, 02:13:37 PM
Wha? I have to chime in on this one. I went to CIC from 76 to 83.
So all yuh, doh try dat. CIC was all about academics.

Slates yuh out of it too long boy. This is an issue that as you see men is real take serious.  Now let us look at tihis is a more systematic way:

There are different types of transfers:

1 - Into 4th form from Junior Sec

2 - Into 6th form from whereever

3 - Repeat 5th form from whereever

4 - Into other forms (2nd form, 3rd form etc) from other schools (not Junior Secs)

All three have their problems but I think men will say that the worst of all is the repeaters.  I know many a school that takes repeaters from other schools just for football.  That I think is sh!t.  Especially when you know the fellas them not on books.

Coming into a 7 year school from Junior Sec in 4th form is another issue.  Why can't 7 year schools admit Junior Sec students who excel in football?  I eh see nothing wrong with that.  That at least gives the youth a chance to better himself over a period of time academically and otherwise once he applies himself on and off the field.

The into 6th form thing is another issue again.  When men have bare passes and getting into 6th form to play for another 2 years just to build a "bomb squad" that again is sh!t in my opinion.

Now regarding examples, Trinidad too small to call names so I not doing that.  But I could tell you of a few men well who got turned away from QRC because of poor grades and were welcomed with open arms at CIC.  This is early to mid 90s we talking about here.  So cut the "CIC doesn't do that" nonsence.  St.  Anthony's took it to another level when trhey got their 6th form at long last.  In the 80s Sando Tech and John D. used to stockpile players too (to the betterment of T&T football many would say).

So the question is really: Is importing players and using them to represent a school a bad thing?  If so, how much should it be done before it is considered overdoing it?
Post by: UPRISING on July 28, 2005, 02:28:32 PM
Youth,
Allright now yuh makin real sense by posing dat question..at the end of the men leave school and have bills to pay, mouthes fi feed..SO ...student-athletes should be held to an academic standard..end of story..players should not be used in such an exploitive way...while compromising that players' future after-intercol..

Yes we like we football..but there has to be a limit..maybe mandate the number of 'transfers' according to the list of 'transfer types' that you mentioned ..so if yuh have a big player that is not on his books...encourage tutoring .. doh just encourage de youth on de football field..exactly the reason that Trinidad has so much wasted talent....and struggling to put together a national team of merit..that losing to Antigua and St.Kitts etc..
Post by: Touches on July 28, 2005, 02:58:21 PM
There are two sides to the coin.

In a way the transfering of players can only be a good thing. I say this because a player coming in from a jr sec or a 5 year school to a 7yr college has the world of opportunity being created for him.

Firstly the colleges league is the big showcase for these fellas, it can be a transition point to the pfl or a university abroad. But the benefits accrue even off the football field. The player now has the academic environment with which to excel, and they usually get help from teachers and students to keep them up to scratch. Look at it as an extra 2-4 years off the street.

Finally, the player making friends that he would not ordinarily make had he not transfered. This friendship sometimes transpires to a man father who have money handling him with a small wuk or at least the player making connections with those who academically inclined who have friends in high places.

The other side of the coin is that these 7yr schools do not have the alternative subjects that the player may be more interested in.
Some people just doe like books and school work. and I have seen many a good player who transfer in just sit down and waste away the academic opportunity afforded to them.

But remember this is why they have a age limit......Yuh hadda be under 18. Most of the transfers who come in already repeat either common entrance or cxc, so even they playing career in school is usually a 2 years max.

Post by: Feliziano on July 28, 2005, 03:40:28 PM
if we still had them Tech schools involved in Secondary school football, the standard of play and skill of the players woulda been a lot better now. If you look at this way,it woulda been boys coming up against men and to me thats a learning experience.
i woulda also say that since they going to school,they better be trying to learn a trade or something and they shouldnt be allowed to join the senior side in a Pro team.
is true most fellas who get transfered just to play sport didnt make use of the opportunity...maybe if they had come in during form 1 they woulda lost that 'ghetto' mentality they pick up from them junior sec. As Touches say...they had the chance to make real connections to help them out in life.
Post by: slates on July 28, 2005, 04:22:19 PM
So Mr. Jahyouth, I out of it too long? Too long to state what I remember? So tell me nah, what is de cut-off?

I stated what I remember to transpire during de time I was there, at Saints. In the seven years I spent there, is 2 players transfered into Saints to play ball, and both had outstanding grades. You had to have outstanding grades to get into form VI at Siants back in them days. I admit I don't know bout now.

Personally, I don't see no problem with schools pulling in men to play ball. I would just like it to be an even playing field whereby the standards for admission is consistent from one school to the next. That way, CIC, QRC, Fatima, St Anthony's, Presentation, all have the same chances at securing a player BASED ON WHATEVER THE ACADEMIC STANDARDS ARE.
Post by: real madness on July 28, 2005, 08:03:53 PM

You are quite right, Avery and Mervyn Wright did not pass for Pres..but if you look at top players in south since 1986, the majority of then did not pass for the school they gained fame at....Pres stop placing an emphasis on football so players like dwight deleon, vijay samaroo and marvin phillips (all national youth players) went to Princes town.....Marvin went because he had no choice..he was a major problem child and Pres did not want him.
Post by: Coop's on July 28, 2005, 08:39:20 PM
I've never played in the colleges league but supported and followed that Football a lot because i had two brothers that played for St Mary's,Michael and Zachary Cooper.After reading all these post on what goes on with Colleges Football would it be safe to say the Colleges League is a corupt League.
   I always wanted to ask this question i hope someone will be able to answer,over the years i've seen the kind of crowds that attend Colleges Football but always wondered who makes the money and where it goes,who really benifits from it?
Post by: Feliziano on July 28, 2005, 09:18:13 PM
   I always wanted to ask this question i hope someone will be able to answer,over the years i've seen the kind of crowds that attend Colleges Football but always wondered who makes the money and where it goes,who really benifits from it?

surely not the players...all i remember getting was a Cokes and a drops and maybe some cheesepaste after Coca Cola Intercol lol...real nutritious eh lol.

seriously i really can't say where the money went but i would have to guess it went back to the the respective zonal league..but then again you really cant see where they spend that money. Paying referees, Police, Fire & Ambulance services and Skinner Park rental cant really cost that much too.
For all we know 75% of the people in the Park jump de fence lol.
Post by: duscam on July 28, 2005, 10:46:52 PM
Breds, QRC is junior sec united!!!! St. mary's always try to balance some sort of academics with football skill..so they could understand the plays!!!
Post by: duscam on July 28, 2005, 10:58:06 PM
but let me give you my list
Hisham Gomes-Diego sec
Harande Eli-
Lyndon Andrews
Dario Trujullio
Sam Granado
Duane St. Hill-St anthony's
Sean Marshall-belmont champions year before
Marlon Williams-St. Georges
Jughead- from QRC

just in a couple years in my time- but all these fellas had some kinda sense man..
Post by: duscam on July 28, 2005, 11:00:30 PM
in terms of money..prefects used to ninja some of those sales...and i am sure the teacher too...but i remember them games on our grounds ah good 2 to 3 grand..they used to pull in
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 29, 2005, 08:14:08 AM
Steeeps i neva rliked that championship division shit in intercol .I think every secondary school should take part  in the competition secondary schools football need to be restructured badly  forget this promotion and relegation crap.
Post by: duscam on July 29, 2005, 08:18:25 AM
never said the league ws corrupt
Post by: kicker on July 29, 2005, 08:27:50 AM
Not you meh boy.....the main quote was from coops.
Post by: JERSEY TRINI on July 29, 2005, 08:53:18 AM
Steeeps i neva rliked that championship division shit in intercol .I think every secondary school should take part  in the competition secondary schools football need to be restructured badly  forget this promotion and relegation crap.

Tell me why should they stop the promotion and regulation system in college football?  If your team can't make it out of the lower division then you shouldn't be in there with the rest of the teams.  All you are going to do if you do that is bring down the little standard of play that the league has established over the years. 
Post by: Coop's on July 29, 2005, 08:54:54 AM

You say "it's safe to say that the colleges league is a corrupt league". I think it's safe to say that unless you know some deep dark secrets, then you don't know what the hell you're talking about.

With all due respect Sir,i did not mean to upset any one,i did not say the Colleges League is corupt,you are right i don't know that's why i'm asking questions,if you can read you will understand the question i asked,i did not say (it's safe to say)(i said would it be safe to say)there is a difference.
 Â    Any how i understand your post which has cleared up a lot of the negative thoughts i had,i'm only making my judgements on what i'm reading from some of these forumites so there is no need to be abusive.    
Post by: kicker on July 29, 2005, 09:00:18 AM
No worries......I was never offended/upset.....and yes I mis-quoted what you said- my bad, but my point was that I didn't see anything that was previously said that really warranted such a question....especially with a word like corrupt......no hard feelings though, it's all good.

Way to question my ability to read, under the guise of being respectful- that's classy.

I deleted the post, so there is no more record of "abuse". cool ?

respect.
Post by: Jah Gol on July 29, 2005, 09:20:40 AM
Wha? I have to chime in on this one. I went to CIC from 76 to 83. And in the time I was there, I cyah tink about more than 1 player, Arnold Corneal, the goal keeper, who Saints pull in just to play ball and that man had to have the grades because them priests them didn't play dat.

In the mean time, I could mention 2 notable names, G. Rodriguez and Geoffery Lake who Fatima snapped up even while the CIC priests were considering cutting them men some slack to repeat. Rodriguez mash up the North Zone that year.

In them days, QRC was routinely pulling men from Trinity, Trinity was pulling men from Belmont and Tranquil, and Fatima was scavenging them Vale men from Diego Sec,  and Saints.

So all yuh, doh try dat. CIC was all about academics. Now if that change, is a welcome change because we on the bottom for too long.

In recent years St. Anthony's was the king of buying players. I don't know about how QRC was 20 or 30 years ago but I know that in recent years it has not been a practice to buy players.
Post by: Coop's on July 29, 2005, 09:22:21 AM
No worries......I was never offended/upset.....and yes I mis-quoted what you said- my bad, but my point was that I didn't see anything that was previously said that really warranted such a question....especially with a word like corrupt....it's all good though.

Way to question my ability to read though, under the guise of being respectful.

I deleted the post, so there is no more record of "abuse". cool ?

....respect.
Thanks man,i appreciate your handleing of this situation and i respect you for that,i did not mean any harm.It just shows how we can all differ on certain issues,my hope is that we will be able to debate other issues in the future.
Post by: dcs on July 29, 2005, 09:24:33 AM
Where are most of our young players being developed?
Is it still in College's league or has it shifted over to the Jablotehs and W Connections?

I see updates on U-15 competitions and such and while there may be more fan support for the SSFL I'm guessing the club football may be of a higher standard.  Anyone can compare them?
Maybe a SSFL champion vs. Club champion would be a good match if they don't share too many players.
Post by: Tenorsaw on July 29, 2005, 09:40:21 AM
Jersey Trini.  Kevin Barrow left because he wanted to be on a winning team.  That is the reality.  He won the National Intercol title that year with P. Town.
Post by: maxg on July 29, 2005, 10:25:21 AM

In recent years St. Anthony's was the king of buying players. I don't know about how QRC was 20 or 30 years ago but I know that in recent years it has not been a practice to buy players.

Palos already mentioned Gally - i.e. almost 40 yrs ago
I can vouch for QRC - just afterbout 35 yrs ago - Sheldon Gomes, Rolph Clarke(football), Rudy Reid (Track)...
Nb. however, transfer of students already occured, on a non-athletic basis.
I know of some students who were transfered to CIC, Fatima and others simply for academics, and 1 or 2 simply through connection....i.e. a student who failed CE and was at Woodbrook sec. and developed good academic habits, transferred to help the person getting access to better Tools, Labs, Techers or environment.. is it so wrong... In my time QRC wasn't the academically strong instuition it was in the past...Within the school unless you ended p in 2A form in year two. There were not enough teachers to offer a normal full school day. So, many parents with the means transferred there kids to other schools, to try to get their kids the education, amongst other reason...plus some migration issues.
 Which left some places open thus could be filled....so what is the problem in filling with a underpriveledge(relative term) student/athlete...
This occurs everywhere, as far as I am aware....I don't understand, Are people saying this is wrong, and/or unfair?
The only aspect I would find unfair is if a individual played more than say 5 yrs at that level. eg. 4 yrs at Tranquil and 2 yrs at John D...for eg..   

Sorry i made some corrections reload.
Post by: Coop's on July 29, 2005, 10:48:53 AM
My question now is should what goes on with the Colleges League stay the way it is?or should changes be made for the betterment of schools and players?should there be criterias or set rules to work with?because it seems like every one has been doing their own thing for years. 
Post by: JERSEY TRINI on July 29, 2005, 11:08:09 AM
Jersey Trini.  Kevin Barrow left because he wanted to be on a winning team.  That is the reality.  He won the National Intercol title that year with P. Town.

Yeah that's what he told you but in all reality it was the fact that he just couldn't see eye to eye with Critchlow that's why he left my friend and don't try to tell me otherwise because i went there you didn't.
Post by: Tenorsaw on July 29, 2005, 11:22:53 AM
No harsh feelings Jersey Trini.  Either way, he didn't mind joining a good team, regardless of the reason.
Post by: JERSEY TRINI on July 29, 2005, 12:30:52 PM
none felt just trying to clearify something you know...P.ville till i die ;D
Post by: slates on July 29, 2005, 12:32:58 PM
Nothing is wrong with player transferring in the SSFL. There just need to be some kind of concrete, consistent criteria.

Leh mih give all yuh ah lil joke:

Now I was ah lil youth-man when Clauzel dem was gettin on bad eh. And I used to go to all ah Mucurapo games back den. So I used to marvel at how dem girls dem used to get-on over dem men. I was sure dem man was lashin nuff tings.

So when I start playin for Saints (we didn’t have girls back den – ah hear Saints have girls now), I wanted some ah de girl-business like Clauzel dem, and more recently (my playin time) Clint Marcelle dem. So after my first year playin for Saints, I make ah run up in de east to talk to de principal at de Green Machine. Dem time, Green Machine was rippin. Well I talk to de man and he was cool. But yuh wouldn guess what it came down to for de lass say? I had to get de approval of de man, who at de time, was de big playa at Green Machine, initials GP. Can you believe dat shit? I eh lyin? So you tink de man go want any competition?

I had to keep my @$$ at Saints, and scavenge ah lil Francois or Holy Name ting as dey pass outside Saints gate yes. I end up pullin ah lil Holy Name young heart, and incidentally, when I end up in college in NC, de ting was dey too yes. Small world.

Back to de discussion doh... sorry for de strayin...
Post by: maxg on July 29, 2005, 12:43:32 PM
LOL...oh gorm slates   :D...dem was serious moves dey in truth...ah used to envy dem tranquil men just for that...I pass CE from Tranquil to QRC, and much as ah did like the "QRC, we want a Goal' chant...Hormones was itchin to ask for ah transfer back, yes...had to settle for tryin to thief convent gyul from allyuh yes
Post by: palos on July 29, 2005, 12:55:04 PM
LOL...oh gorm slates   :D...dem was serious moves dey in truth...ah used to envy dem tranquil men just for that...I pass CE from Tranquil to QRC, and much as ah did like the "QRC, we want a Goal' chant...Hormones was itchin to ask for ah transfer back, yes...had to settle for tryin to thief convent gyul from allyuh yes

At least allyuh had ting to pick from.  Fatima men had to settle fuh gyul from St Theresa's and Poly from a proximity basis) even doh we wasn't scruntin as all dem convent & bishop's gyul and dem used to run dong Fatima man like if gold was sharin.  (Well sumting was sharin, man was scorin etc....ANYWAY!!)

But as sparse as we surroundins was (i.e. fuh girls school), we didn't have it bad like dem boy from Trinity.  Dem had to settle fuh dem goat and dem by Moka.... ;D ;D
Post by: Peong on July 29, 2005, 01:34:56 PM
Just becuz of de topic name : I AM A FATIMA MAN TOO!!!!

Arright.
Post by: samo on July 29, 2005, 06:35:12 PM
Palos ... How u ruffin up truetrini so??? :D

Fatima all de way... Holy Name was we sister school but I used to check out de convent girls.. Well in de end I marry ah Holy Name girl...
Title: To all FATIMA MEN
Post by: gtokyo on July 29, 2005, 11:12:30 PM
I am trying to contact Lester Aqui.  Went to Fatima late 80`s- mid 1990`s. From Diego.  If anyone knows his email can you please contact me at gcarib@yahoo.ca  ...cheers thanx
Post by: raj on July 30, 2005, 12:26:13 AM
The biggest Fatima transfer of ALL was Brian Lara. He came from San Juan Secondary.

I know he was originally drafted for football and cricket!

Ah know this is a football discussion but you cant deny that was a big transfer.

I also remember that Colin Rocke tried to get into Fatima and he was rejected.

This I know bc both Lara and Rocke was from Santa Cruz which is where I'm from.
Title: SLATES/RAJ
Post by: vb on July 30, 2005, 12:43:30 PM
Slates,

I'm aware of who GP is.

My question is did you attempt to join the Greem Machine when GP was a player or when he was Coach.

I can't see Downer or the staff allowing a PLAYER to make that kind of decision.

Raj, I clearly remember Lara as a Form One in the first month of school..ie September.

So when de hell he make dat transfer?

Title: Re: To all FATIMA MEN
Post by: vb on July 30, 2005, 12:45:42 PM
send me an email at fatimaposse@hotmail.com

I'll pass on to those who were in that year....KND I belive was there at that time.

Also what part of Diego boss? We might have padnahs living in the area.

Peace,
Post by: Tenorsaw on July 30, 2005, 06:41:18 PM
Triniman, yuh ever look at some ah dem Senior Division teams?  Boss, not every school is at the level to play Championship Division football.  Sorry.  As much as yuh want inclusion, yuh need to consider the standard of the league.
Post by: palos on July 30, 2005, 06:47:38 PM
Triniman, yuh ever look at some ah dem Senior Division teams?  Boss, not every school is at the level to play Championship Division football.  Sorry.  As much as yuh want inclusion, yuh need to consider the standard of the league.

Wantatriniman is Canadian.  He never see a Colleges League game in he life.  He still vex Birchall get a passport in 2 weeks and he tryin fuh years and eh get none.
Title: Lara transferred to Fatima
Post by: Tallman on July 30, 2005, 07:05:15 PM
Raj, I clearly remember Lara as a Form One in the first month of school..ie September.

In de Brian Lara - Prince of Batsmen (http://www.cricket.net/link_to_database/PLAYERS/WI/L/LARA_BC_04001982/ARTICLES/LARA_BRIAN-BROWNING_FEB93) article, Lara states:
"My first school was St. Josephs Roman Catholic primary. Then I went to San Juan Secondary. There was no cricket there, though, so after one year I moved on to Fatima College where I did play cricket."

It is also mentioned in Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brian_Lara).
Post by: Sentinel on July 30, 2005, 08:02:39 PM
Nitendo Vinces...original Fatima man mehself...Raj whey you from?....Brian is meh first cousin...and Colin have the most beautiful mom from Santa Cruz!  she was a prospective Ms. Trinidad...Tony Pacheco here!

Luv U T&T!
Post by: truetrini on July 30, 2005, 08:07:51 PM

Fatima all de way... Holy Name was we sister school but I used to check out de convent girls.. Well in de end I marry ah Holy Name girl...

Samo no Fatima man could ruff me up.  NONE!

I never had problems getting St. Joseph's, Holy Name, and Providence Girls, and St Francois girls, and dem girls from Bisjops was more orless reserved for Trinity men...nuff said! . hell I even horn two CIC man and 3 QRC men...ah never had to take any girl from Fatima men as dey never had any girls.
Post by: palos on July 30, 2005, 08:24:06 PM

Samo no Fatima man could ruff me up.  NONE!

I never had problems getting St. Joseph's, Holy Name, and Providence Girls, and St Francois girls, and dem girls from Bisjops was more orless reserved for Trinity men...nuff said! . hell I even horn two CIC man and 3 QRC men...ah never had to take any girl from Fatima men as dey never had any girls.

Toot yuh own horn sah.  Matter of fact...as a Trinity man I eh surprised because allyuh mus be had nuff practice "tootin allyuh horns" seein dat is only goat allyuh had to deal wit up dey... ;D
Post by: truetrini on July 30, 2005, 09:04:58 PM
No we were known as HORNer men,,you know why too.

Doh blame all Trinity man fuh heartache yuh suffer as ah youth.....I am sure I was not responsible fuh taking YOUR girl!

As for tooting meh horn, dat eh it....ah used to let dem convent girl do dat fuh me!
Title: Re: Lara transferred to Fatima
Post by: vb on July 31, 2005, 03:10:33 AM

In de Brian Lara - Prince of Batsmen (http://www.cricket.net/link_to_database/PLAYERS/WI/L/LARA_BC_04001982/ARTICLES/LARA_BRIAN-BROWNING_FEB93) article, Lara states:
"My first school was St. Josephs Roman Catholic primary. Then I went to San Juan Secondary. There was no cricket there, though, so after one year I moved on to Fatima College where I did play cricket."

It is also mentioned in Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brian_Lara).

All I could tell yuh is what I see with my own eyes.

The man started Form One in Sept. of 1981. He was pointed out to me as a footballer who had played for the U-12 team.

The next year in Jan. I was shocked to see him play A Giants Cricket. Fomr ones don't usually do that, as the team used to be dominated by Form Twos and Threes.

Dat had to be a mighty fast transfer.

Title: Re: To all FATIMA MEN
Post by: Mr Mc on July 31, 2005, 08:48:37 AM
You should have titled that post Looking for Lester Aqui, as I am there was a better chance of it being seen by someone who may know him from D'go but not Fatima

F.A.T.I.M.A. go FATIMA go!!!
83-88
Post by: raj on July 31, 2005, 02:27:35 PM
VB,

Lara came from Cantaro Village which is where I came from as well. So I grew up with the fella and also played football and cricket at the local playground with him( which is now called the Brian Lara Ground). I used to get a ride to school with his father Bunty and both his family and mines has always been close.

He went to Form ONE at San Juan Secondary and then went to Fatima. SO he REDID Form One at Fatima. One of his coaches at Harvard Cricket Club linked him with Fatima.

Therefore, Tallmans research is CORRECT.
Post by: kicker on August 01, 2005, 01:14:29 PM
Yes Tallman is the boss as always..........
Post by: Jahyouth on August 01, 2005, 01:37:52 PM
VB,

He went to Form ONE at San Juan Secondary and then went to Fatima. SO he REDID Form One at Fatima.

Repeat First Form?  Whey sah!  ;D
Post by: vb on August 01, 2005, 01:59:01 PM
VB,

Lara came from Cantaro Village which is where I came from as well. So I grew up with the fella and also played football and cricket at the local playground with him( which is now called the Brian Lara Ground). I used to get a ride to school with his father Bunty and both his family and mines has always been close.

He went to Form ONE at San Juan Secondary and then went to Fatima. SO he REDID Form One at Fatima. One of his coaches at Harvard Cricket Club linked him with Fatima.

Therefore, Tallmans research is CORRECT.

Technıcally I wasn't wrong either. The man started Form One at Fatima. Give me my props too nah.  :)

Ah tell yuh smthng dat was one short 12 year old when he redid Form One. The man play A Giants and wasn't much taller dan de bat.

Raj ah went to school with u for fıve years and ah ddn't even know u used to take ride wıth Lara. :)

Peace'
Post by: whayuhsay on August 01, 2005, 05:14:57 PM
So how much did Harry "nose it all" Ramdass have to do with Lara's success?????

Former Fatima man here, took out Lara's middle stump on one occasion...
Post by: Savannah boy on August 01, 2005, 05:30:50 PM
Raj, dat is a big lie. Colin hates Fatima like you would not believe. He did pass for Saints as his first choice. Yuh trying to say de man chupid or wha. dat is wrong...real wrong.
Post by: raj on August 01, 2005, 08:04:50 PM
VB,

I will always give you props for your comittment to the cause and your excellent work on your site etc
but you should have known the Lara transfer bc investigative journalism is your strength. Do you remember when I had that Grey Galant Station Wagon? We used to ride in together sometimes.

As for Savvannah boys comment , Rocke was by no means a dummy. As a matter of fact he is now an accomplished businessman with a Soccer Training Complex somewhere up north.
He hates Fatima bc he did not het his chance to do A levels there.

Ramdass was an excellent coach who guided Lara but his natural talent and extra practice sessions while in the nets at Harvards and Santa Cruz made him what he is. He always like big men to bowl to him.

I saw Lara faced up to Big Bird Joel Garner in the nets at Queen Parks when he was 16 years old.
Lara was close friends with Bajan Carlysle Best when he played for Windies also. Dem men was grooming him for an eventual entry into Test Cricket.

Hooper also groomed Sarwan in a similar fashion.
Post by: ahlikeit on August 02, 2005, 12:20:35 AM
Jah Youth,
              Anthony Creese went to Woodbrook Sec.  82-87  , he then repeated in Mucurapo 88 and at the end of that season made the all-star Intercol team. He then went to Fatima as an A level student and to play ball, that year I think the season ended early because of this.
Post by: vb on August 02, 2005, 01:17:04 PM
Raj I left Fatima after Form V.
So if u was driving Station wago that was after my time.

BTW I spoke to colin Rocke a couple of yrs ago and he had a lot of respect for Fatima ballers.
As he put ıt, they used to fıght the game hard... He singled out Players like Barney, Ramdoo and Solozano during his time....Solo wasn't the most talented but  he had a never say dıe attitude.

Peace,
Post by: Mr Mc on August 02, 2005, 05:00:32 PM
Since I have nothing else to add to this convo, I see Ramdass last year by the outdoors bar in Movie Town, that man look exactly the same.  Solazano is a big DJ in the DC/MD area Sprang International.  Ramdass give me a 5 once on my report card for French, i still remember the cut arse i get when my muddah see that...
Post by: Savannah boy on August 02, 2005, 06:58:26 PM
Raj, I still disagree. Ah know Colin too well fuh yuh to say sumting like dat. Sky Walker on dis forum sat in class next to de man and still in touch with him. Dem vibes yuh have dey bout Rocke is yuh own.
Post by: raj on August 02, 2005, 07:35:46 PM
Allyuh men is real tears..

The only thing I say negative about Rocke is dat he wanted to play for Fatima and Mervyn Moore turn him down. For the record Colin Rocke was one of the greatest to ever come our of TT that never get his props. His touch was impeccable and if I rememder he ended up playing in Germany for Wolfsburg. I rate him highly having played with him for a youth team. He was a legend and even Pele was quoted as saying that he was one of the best players technically and skillwise he had seen.

No Fatima player was ever as good as Rocke so fuh dem to refuse him was ridiculous. Moore also refused Sheppy and Cipriani  and Larry Williams who all went on to light up Trinity College.
Rocke use to make  big men look silly when he was 14 years old- a man amongst boys

Having not seen Rocke in donkey years VB and Savannah you may be right about me saying he did not like Fatima. Apologies to anyone if my comments upset them.BTW VB What was the name of the two Indians that played for Saints during that time with Rocke , Roach and another fella?/ Dem men was wicked. Do yuh remember them?

VB ..
Post by: Jahyouth on August 03, 2005, 07:48:03 AM
Since I have nothing else to add to this convo, I see Ramdass last year by the outdoors bar in Movie Town, that man look exactly the same.  Solazano is a big DJ in the DC/MD area Sprang International. 

Sprang was a footballer?  :o    hahahahahahahahhaa  Cyah believe that.  I hadda ask him bout that.
Post by: doc on August 03, 2005, 08:02:39 AM
Yeah man, ah tink he even played a little bit wit Juniors in de mid '80's. Loved to fan  ;D
Post by: Mr Mc on August 03, 2005, 09:09:42 AM

No Fatima player was ever as good as Rocke so fuh dem to refuse him was ridiculous. Moore also refused Sheppy and Cipriani  and Larry Williams who all went on to light up Trinity College.
Rocke use to make  big men look silly when he was 14 years old- a man amongst boys

VB ..

Didnt Larry Williams who is now a Lawyer back in Trini, with Blond hair play for Fatima in the late 80s? or is that a different Larry Williams
Post by: samo on August 03, 2005, 09:14:54 AM
YES... Same Larry.. He used to live near me in woodbrook and we went to the same Primary school. He does kick ball in the rehab...
Post by: Mr Mc on August 03, 2005, 09:31:15 AM
Larry with the Dennis Rodman blond hair, when last i saw him.
That guy was crazy, when Shaka catch heself and decide he go dribble down the sideline against Fatima on Saints grounds in 88, Larry come sliding from way across the other side of the field to rest a doubles on him.  Unfortunately he missed Shaka went off the field and hurt himself and had to be carried off.
He was next seen performing a bicycle in a Milo commercial.
Post by: vb on August 03, 2005, 11:12:35 AM
Raj ah cah remember the Indians.

I remember Rocke and Shaka playing together for CIC in 84....the last yr. I watch College ball. However, there was a Dogler from the Vale by the name of Reese. Decent defender.

Talking abt. Larry Willimas, they put he to mark Colin Rocke in an inter col fixture vs. Saints at the Nat. Stad.

Well this was 1984...Barney dat ass and another key player went and get injured...Barney get injured mere hours b4 de game....ah man fall out a mangoe tree on top of him and injure Barney foot...ah typing and laughing at how ridiculous this was.

Anyway depleted Fatima take on de bullers..and everybody come out to watch it.

Poor Larry trying to mark Rocke on a wet turf....de man eat beat like it was de tastiest meal on de planet....he go one way..realize Rocke going the other way...and while he skating in one direction, trying to gear in Rocke direction....Barney make a joke and said the commentators say Larry (in all de wet weather)  look like he  tackling a mirage.

Larry and I wasn't no padahs, but dat day he my sincerest sympathies. Any CFL player who had to mark Rocke had their work cut out for dem but on a wet turf.....well dat would be just pure pull stones.

Larry was still playing ball in 88 and yet still managed to get turned down by Moore?
For What?? To go to school in 1989.....The man started Fatima in 1980.....Ah hope allyuh men have allyuh facts correct.

vb
Post by: Mr Mc on August 03, 2005, 11:29:51 AM
The Larry Williams I talking bout was only like a year or 2 ahead of me, and is now a lawyer in Trini. I left Fatima (and TnT) in 88 so maybe the game was in 87 or 86.
Meh facts straight like a quarter past six on the clock
Post by: samo on August 03, 2005, 02:53:56 PM
LArry entered Fatima in 1980 same year as us. (vb, raj) I not sure when he left, but I left in 85. I know he played football for Fatima, and I think it was the same time as Anil...
Post by: samo on August 03, 2005, 02:59:55 PM
Mr MC... There was a tall fella that used to play in the back for Fatima around 87 88. I was home on vacation and went to see a game in the stadium, he was probably the best player on the team but he was not allowed to play in that game because Ms.. cyah remember her name say he could not play.. I remember Monteil playing in that game.
 Totally different Monteil from the one in rehab, in terms of size. Cause he lorse real weight.
Post by: samo on August 03, 2005, 03:01:47 PM
vb ... You know it real hard to picture men like Larry as a lawyer, but de man who shock me the most and is presently a lawyer is Scotland....
When I was in form 1 I would a vote him most likely to go to jail, now the man is a lawyer and apparently doing well when I last saw him. I glad for him doh.
Post by: kicker on August 03, 2005, 03:09:16 PM
Mr MC... There was a tall fella that used to play in the back for Fatima around 87 88. I was home on vacation and went to see a game in the stadium, he was probably the best player on the team but he was not allowed to play in that game because Ms.. cyah remember her name say he could not play.. I remember Monteil playing in that game.
 Totally different Monteil from the one in rehab, in terms of size. Cause he lorse real weight.

I think you're talking 'bout Lyle Beckles.......it was like in '91.......
Post by: vb on August 03, 2005, 03:40:30 PM
The Larry Williams I talking bout was only like a year or 2 ahead of me, and is now a lawyer in Trini. I left Fatima (and TnT) in 88 so maybe the game was in 87 or 86.
Meh facts straight like a quarter past six on the clock

Well boss ıf ıs 87, 86 or 88 yuh facts straight like de road to Maracas  :)

And YES! we are all talking abt de same Larry.

Yes samo, my sentiments exactly regarding Scotland. But ıf you remember scotland shocked us all by making it to Form Vİ. And de moment he make it there he had calmed down.

I saw hım on Tv last year and de man was bıg no ass. Looking like a bouncer.

Peace,
Post by: raj on August 03, 2005, 07:08:14 PM
Larry Williams went to Trinity for a while and he was a good player that was aggressive. VB I remember that game when Rocke was eating Larry live. With that wild aggression Colin was killing him with the fan and dem touches. The crowd was bawling. As for the Indians from Saints one was Roach and he was based in Diamond Vale Diego.

Larry went to Mercer College in Atlanta and studied law. In 98 for miami carnival I saw him with Verne Wayne Smith drunk at a fete. I was with Sean Anthony and dem fellas hail we out.

Keith Scotland did A levels History and English with me and always wanted to be a lawyer. He got good grades at A level C in History and B in English. He was good at argumentation and to me destined to be a lawyer. In class he was definitely shining.

Both Larry and Scotland now handle cases together in Trinidad. They are both high profile lawyers.

Man is always good to reminise. Dat school was excellent!

Anil Roberts and Dominic Beaubrun was two fellas that were very articulate for their age. Do not forget Wickham who went to MIT and Harvard.
Post by: samo on August 03, 2005, 08:50:46 PM
Thanx Kicker... Is beckles self, I know him and his brother, but ah was sitting at work and could not remember his name at all... I guess age really catch up with me.

Post by: football king on August 04, 2005, 07:31:45 AM
fellas just pop back in. them indians on cic was roach (brother teach spanish in fatima cool teacher) and the other was last name singh even he was the capt

larry a red man right back i can't remember going trinity thought it was fatima right thru think he went away for 1 yr then come back leave cause heywood said no to form 6. i really doh remember larry going tinity cip and barney yeah barney another one of moore great decisions

no diss to anil fellas but how they go let anil back and not barney anil give real trouble think he make jenkins cry all kinda thing. i know the anwer but still weird scene moore and heywood

beckles was a decent player monteil was just downright jokey every time i think of he i remember he uncle ian bain a great baller.

mr moore and mother frog heywood them kill fatima dead from the time pantin leave fatima went down. pantin was a boss principal who loved sports and had tha balance between that and academics just like De V in CIC also had RO playing a major part.  moore had no clue a total goat.

Post by: Mr Mc on August 04, 2005, 07:42:10 AM
Yeah Monteil doh look nothing now like he did back in his Fatima days, for that matter neither do I.
I know we had two real tall men in the back for Fatima in my days, Miguel 'mamba' Burnett and an even taller darker fella from the East who's name escapes me now, he used to run track with me.
Thankfuly most of us have changed from how we was back in school.  I remember Anil was real trouble, getting sliced on his face and flying out for plastic surgery, gettting suspended from school for last day of schoo wildness and having to sit his OLevels in CIC cause he was not allowed back in Fatima.  The man literally drag meh pardna on the ground behind the wall by the grounds over to Mucorapo Comp.
Story I heard about Larry Williams while practicing law in Atlanta, he catch a case as a public defender for a man that get stopped for drunk driving by the police get out his car and point a gun at the police.  Larry get the man off by telling the judge that the man was just trying to hand the gun over to the officers...whey!!!!!
Post by: football king on August 04, 2005, 07:46:20 AM
MC that other defender was Sean Simmons he in Pittsburgh now was a real track star leave fatima sports with all the medals track and field events victor lodorum(spelling) went Seton Hall University
 another good one and had to be the most underrated defender in colleges league history was keith farina nobody ever talk bout tha man but he was flat out good
Post by: Mr Mc on August 04, 2005, 07:53:58 AM
YES Sean Simmons...Seton Hall!!!
oh gosh boy I forget all of that yes, yuh bring back some memories there!!
You belive that when Simmons, Guerra, myself, Hercules and Adrian Bobb were on the Fatima track team (yes we had one) Ato Boldon could not even make a Fatima team!!
Post by: raj on August 04, 2005, 08:41:20 AM
Yeah Keith Farina was definitely one of the most composed defenders and a great tacler of the ball.
My favorites was Lawson Bernard and Dwight Findly ( two short men). But allyuh cannot forget Scott Rodriguez when he leave the GK duties and bc the bound to score FORWARD.

There were some great players who never played for Fatima but went on to play for the Green Machine. Anthony Julien and Anthony Desilva( he uncle taugth Spanish at fatima). Both men was from the east.
Post by: Mr Mc on August 04, 2005, 08:46:15 AM
Anthony DeSilva...good cal dey raj!!
I lived in Arima with him, one of the best, could do anything with a ball, no discipline he still there in the East.
I saw Lawson in D'Vale breakfast fete last carnival, he in the UK, for some reason Mr. Romero did not like him too tuff, and you know if Romero doh like yuh is trouble..dat mean you dont get to study in the AC in the office.

Anybody ever know what became of Keston Wright?
Post by: football king on August 04, 2005, 09:25:55 AM
yeah MC i was in ato yr man used to come 4th and 5th in school sports Bobb was  good athlete byron brown was fast too-then hercules the alte prison officer's chief son was champ field events man.

Raj-scotty used to score but dread he coulda throw away too throw way 10 and score one. and talk about attitude but no where in he brother class.

keston wright talented from macoya went gustine play with nixon team-

fatima in the 80's had good players findlay, lawson, farina, scotty, barney,sean, anil, ramdoo,saga, mamba but then they always had bad luck and and moore and mother frog i tell all yuh them kill we make we lose talented men or give men pressure while cic/qrc  on the other hand always had that support from the administraion and faculty way more than fatima did and a good principal that saw the value in sports.
Post by: Jahyouth on August 04, 2005, 10:10:48 AM
All this Fatima had good players talk.  Like allyuh forget the 7 that QRC put on allyuh in QRC ground in 89?  Lemme (Lemuel Nelson) scored 4 that day.

It was lix in de police van!!!    ;D
Post by: samo on August 04, 2005, 11:41:35 AM
Mr. mc...
What year you entered Fatima??? cause it sounding like we know alot of the same people.. I was there 80-85. with vb, raj, Anil Larry Barney, Sheldon Guerra etc:
Post by: Mr Mc on August 04, 2005, 11:50:13 AM
I entered in 83, same year with Gavin Ottley,Shastri Roberts, Andres Assi, Embrak, Nigel Guerin. Left in 88 after 3 passes and Romero run meh!!
Anil and Sheldon Guerra was ahead of me, as were you.

I know i left in 88 but I refuse to belive we EVER get 7 from QRC ah REFUSE!!!!
Post by: kicker on August 04, 2005, 12:42:01 PM
I entered in 83, same year with Gavin Ottley,Shastri Roberts, Andres Assi, Embrak, Nigel Guerin. Left in 88 after 3 passes and Romero run meh!!
Anil and Sheldon Guerra was ahead of me, as were you.

I know i left in 88 but I refuse to belive we EVER get 7 from QRC ah REFUSE!!!!

QRC hit us (fatima) 8-1 on QRC grounds....I was there....woulda been the 89 season. I was in form 2......we had a real stale side.....real non-footballers on that side, but I'll call no names.
Post by: Mose on August 04, 2005, 12:50:38 PM

Andres Assi? Whatever happen to "Yellow man"? Ah remember seeing him make big men look real small in dat lunch time football league we had going. De 3 men ah remember from dat side was Assi, Branker, and Achille.
Post by: Mr Mc on August 04, 2005, 01:08:24 PM
Assi back home with a big wok, still living in the Vale, still yellow. Achille still home too but I cant be sure cause I does see that man in fete all over the place, NY, MIA & DC.
Mid-Day League where lunch time legends are made!!
Post by: Mose on August 04, 2005, 01:29:55 PM
Achille still home. Dat much ah know fuh sure. But he like to travel. Have fete, will party!!
Post by: samo on August 04, 2005, 01:38:05 PM
which branker is this not Brent????
Also I remember a fella around that time had plenty potential and I am sure he was transfered in> Marvin Raeburn. I think he was playing in some indoor leaue at one time...
Title: Re: Marvin Raeburn
Post by: Tallman on August 04, 2005, 01:48:45 PM
Also I remember a fella around that time had plenty potential and I am sure he was transfered in> Marvin Raeburn. I think he was playing in some indoor leaue at one time...

Is dis de same Marvin Raeburn dat played fuh T&T?
Post by: football king on August 04, 2005, 02:00:02 PM
can't remember any 7 or eight but possible every team does get a cut ass at some point

worst one was when cic give we 5 when all we needed was a draw to win big 7 tha one hurt and them was in i believe 2nd to last place kona kill we but we beat everybody else even win in bago beat BSC boys can't remember the yr
Post by: Jahyouth on August 04, 2005, 02:01:41 PM
Yeah, same Marvin Raeburn.  I played against him as I played for QRC between 90 and 92.  Nice left footer.  One of Fatima's most famous imports.  Curepe Junior Sec I believe.
Post by: Tallman on August 04, 2005, 02:08:21 PM
Yeah, same Marvin Raeburn.  I played against him as I played for QRC between 90 and 92.  Nice left footer.  One of Fatima's most famous imports.  Curepe Junior Sec I believe.

Is this him?

(http://www.geryon.ca/client/metrolions/pages/images/marvin.jpg)
Post by: football king on August 04, 2005, 02:11:04 PM
yeah former national around age with mickey trotman stern dwayne demmin etc
play a league a lil bit then some league in canada and that is about as far as i remember
think alvin get him into fatima but left quick
real solid left foot
Post by: Jahyouth on August 04, 2005, 02:13:46 PM
He was on the same National U-17 team with Avery John, Dwayne Demmin, Kevin Jeffrey, Micket Trotman etc. that was coached by Jimmy Blanc.  Real solid left footer as football king say. 
Title: Re: Marvin Raeburn
Post by: Tallman on August 04, 2005, 02:25:23 PM
yeah former national around age with mickey trotman stern dwayne demmin etc
play a league a lil bit then some league in canada and that is about as far as i remember
think alvin get him into fatima but left quick
real solid left foot

He actually scored a goal for T&T against Finland in de Oval in 1995. He played for Raleigh Flyers and Atlanta Silverbacks in de A-League and for Metro Lions in the Canadian Professional Soccer League. I think he also played for Caledonia AIA.
Post by: real madness on August 04, 2005, 04:35:38 PM
He was on the same National U-17 team with Avery John, Dwayne Demmin, Kevin Jeffrey, Micket Trotman etc. that was coached by Jimmy Blanc.  Real solid left footer as football king say. 

That was a good youth team..one of the best after the the youth team with Latas and the one with Yorke, Nixon, Eve and Sherwood.(in my time).
Post by: UPRISING on August 04, 2005, 05:12:51 PM
Football King, when yuh mention dat 5 dat CIC give allyuh, yuh give mih chills because dat make me remember de HAND dat QRC give we (CIC) on QRC grounds...ah believe it was 89 .. 

de headline in de express de nex day was "CIC get a HAND" 5-0 ..dat QCR side had Shawn Garcia, Ezebe, Alibey and Jeremy Short (checkey)  ... personally my worst game ever in de blue and white stripes ... ah man enuff to say dat Ezebe mash mih up (all kinda beat) out dey on de left flank ... we en make ah note dat day!! 
we get de las laff dat year doh because we was fighting for de las north zone big 7 spot and we beat dem on we grounds 1-0 (Gabre Cummings ...Gally son) net up ...CIC in QRC out ..

memories ... now man jus ole and could only talk in de forum!!!!!!!

Post by: palos on August 04, 2005, 05:19:02 PM
It jes HAD TO BE a Fatima thread to get de record fuh de biggest thread on dis site eh?

Congrats on yuh century dey injunchile.  Raise yuh bat high!!!

Nitendo Vinces in dey tail!!!   ;D
Post by: UPRISING on August 04, 2005, 05:20:11 PM

The only thing I say negative about Rocke is dat he wanted to play for Fatima and Mervyn Moore turn him down. For the record Colin Rocke was one of the greatest to ever come our of TT that never get his props. His touch was impeccable and if I rememder he ended up playing in Germany for Wolfsburg. I rate him highly having played with him for a youth team. He was a legend and even Pele was quoted as saying that he was one of the best players technically and skillwise he had seen.

Having not seen Rocke in donkey years VB and Savannah you may be right about me saying he did not like Fatima. Apologies to anyone if my comments upset them.BTW VB What was the name of the two Indians that played for Saints during that time with Rocke , Roach and another fella?/ Dem men was wicked. Do yuh remember them?

VB ..

I en know if Damien Cooper yuh talking bout as de other Indian (Barry Roach was de other) ...because I en know if Cooper go want men callin him ah indian!!!!!  good player doh one ah CIC better midfielders ..
Post by: JDB on August 05, 2005, 06:32:10 AM
worst one was when cic give we 5 when all we needed was a draw to win big 7 tha one hurt

Not as much as the year when we lost the league on the final day because we draw with Fatima at Serpentine road.

I believe it was 88 (the team with Jason Rocke, Gatt, Henry, 3 Mozes, Bartholo)  and we beat QRC in midweek to take a 1 point lead and with the fags coming up on Saturday we thought the title was won. Only to come and draw on the final day while QRC win. That one hurt.
Post by: Mr Mc on August 05, 2005, 07:41:21 AM
My worst memory is of an own goal scored by Mamba in the National Stadium vs CIC in 87 or 88.  I seem to be the only one that remembers this.  I distinctly remember walking from school to the stadium, my eyes getting big big when ah see all the convent gurl and dem.
Miguel as last stopper unmarked turn towards his own goal and pass the ball back to the keeper directly towards the goal and some how the ball goes past the keeper and into the net!!
SALT!!!
I apologies to all the Saints smallmen i beat up that day :)

somehow I am the only one to recall this game or goal, maybe it was a dream, maybe it was Simmons and not Miguel, Maybe it was QRC and not Saints.....
Post by: Jahyouth on August 05, 2005, 08:00:06 AM
Football King, when yuh mention dat 5 dat CIC give allyuh, yuh give mih chills because dat make me remember de HAND dat QRC give we (CIC) on QRC grounds...ah believe it was 89 .. 

de headline in de express de nex day was "CIC get a HAND" 5-0 ..dat QCR side had Shawn Garcia, Ezebe, Alibey and Jeremy Short (checkey)  ... personally my worst game ever in de blue and white stripes ... ah man enuff to say dat Ezebe mash mih up (all kinda beat) out dey on de left flank ... we en make ah note dat day!! 
we get de las laff dat year doh because we was fighting for de las north zone big 7 spot and we beat dem on we grounds 1-0 (Gabre Cummings ...Gally son) net up ...CIC in QRC out ..

memories ... now man jus ole and could only talk in de forum!!!!!!!

UPRISING, I play in for QRC in that 5-0 game on QRC grounds.  Euzebe had allyuh busy.  Allyuh cry in the pavillion after!  hahahahahaha  them was some days boy.  look how old we sounding now! 
Post by: UPRISING on August 05, 2005, 08:34:46 AM
Youth, anytime I go home and get in any kinda football talk (which is always) with any ah mih brethren, dem men does ask mih "if ah hear from mih fadder" , referring to Euzebe.. after dat 5.

Man ah tell yuh, dat day was de worse ... de 'lowlight' was when a ball switch from QRC left to right ...Zebe ches trap and as ah recovering to get in defensive position ...cap!  den he trap, wait fuh mih to settle ... spanna and he heading to goal ...de crowd went ma wit de spanna, becasue after de cap ah rush een .... ah run him down and tear down de man jersey in de box ...penalty ...ah just turn and walk off de field ...I en even see de red card ...ah just keep walkin...

Oh lawwwwwdddddd! ah swear mih career done after dat ..but is all ah we take beat!

Ah know it have saints men on dis forum dat know what ah talking bout but en go confess, dat we get mash up dat day..

Dat is how de game goes though ...everybody has their day..dat day was Euzebe's for sure..
Post by: vb on August 05, 2005, 09:25:07 AM
Some sweet memories allyuh men brng back dey.

Anil Roberts did CXC in CIC?

Well he did CXC in Fatima wit me...so I am assuming he repeated.

He played for Fatima in Form VI ...so I guess dey let him back in.

But Anil back in those days always had a lil too much mouth for his own good....but then again so did I.. :)...The difference is dat mouth earning him some good money now... ;D

Back in the early 80s..1981 Fatima lost the national Intercol Final 1-0 to the Green Machine.

We could have won the league...but for some reason in the second round,the Coach kept playing with the sub..while the stars looked on...In playing Saints and QRC in the second round...we got 7 from one of them and 6 from the other...so we lost smthng like 7-3 and 6-2...bear in mind we beat both of them in Intercol prior to the second rounds.

Daslivla was a talented footballer and cricketer. He and Beckles should have gone out for the Fatima football team. Dasilva never tried. Beckles just didn't have the guts to take the jamming...but to his credit was a decent allrounder for Fatima in ciricket.

It doesn't surprise me that Dasilva played well for another school.

Farinha was an up and coming star when I was in Fatima. He was a form four on the first eleven side...coming off the bench in 84...Larry was his riding padnah on the bench...But you knew that Farinha would be a future star for Fatima...I wasn't around to see it...but it doesnt' surprise me to hear u guys talk about him that way.

A man who I think could have doen well for Fatima as a Defender...was Bernard abreu..very good and tough...but I dont think he ever made the effort.

Colin Bell had he stuck at it could have been a good keper for Fatima...but again no perseverance.

I'm surprised that Julien became such a good player. Is this the same Julien that was in class with Sheldon Guerra and Raj?? I think he did a Milo Ad in the  newspaper.

Peace,

Post by: raj on August 05, 2005, 11:02:17 AM
VB,

You right it was the same skinny Julien who went on to star for the Green Machine. He earned a track to some US college. Both him and DeSilva went on to play for the Green Machine.

Dem men including mehself could never get a fair look for Fatima. All 3 of us suit up and play against Belmont for a 1st eleven match when Colin Murray players did not register in time. We win 2-1. It was basically a 2nd eleven. We was suprised when Murray ask us to do the wuk.

Julien, DeSilva, Guerra, Hordatt and Beckles played U14 for the Giants B team for a couple of games and  after we say f**k that.

Adrin Alleyne went on to play for the 1st eleven with Derek Gooding also.

Needless to say our class Group 2 used to dominate class league.

While in school I played with Newtown Sports, Alcons and Challengers( all in the east). Right before migrating to the states I began to train with Caledonia.

In the states I was on the Ft Laud strikers developmental squad for 3 months in 88. Got to meet Ardiles from Argentina.

Then football became history and spectator sport when I became a dad.
Post by: Mr Mc on August 05, 2005, 11:19:18 AM
Anil did not attend CIC for his CXC exams, he just had to physically sit in their building to write the exams because of the incident with the other student.
I lived in Santa Rosa Heights with DaSilva (and also the Spanish teacher) and know first hand the skills he had, and we had many talented men around Sheldon Bennet and Mickey Trotman, he just needed a lil guidance.
Did not know Sheldon Guerra played ball, he was a track guy with me.
Post by: vb on August 06, 2005, 03:10:24 AM
Sheldon Guerra was a boss athlete, but like many in his year, his football skills blossomed as the years went by, eg. Cipriani, Mamba and Julien.

I don't know why Dasilva never made a better effort, he could have certainly made the grade, like Mamba he may not have been a First  11 Player in Form V, but with a repeat or Form VI, he would have  been a major player...ala Ciprian and Aldrin Allaine.

Winston Chandler could have been a bigger star, but he got lazy and fat and simply didn't study. To his credit he slimmed down in later years, played for Trintoc and continued to be a major player in the St. James area as he later foucussed on his academics.

BTW raj, you forget the licks allyuh class used to get in the first two years in Fatima.

In form one I think we buss 18 GOALS on allyuh...and ur class had the distinction of losing to a girls team, I think it was a Holy Name class. But as the years ticked by allyuh fellas developed...Guerra, Julien....the really fat black fella.....a next one who also played good cricket (sorry..age, I cant rmmber some of dem names...the faces are in front of me..but the names have escaped me.

Peace,
Post by: raj on August 06, 2005, 01:15:24 PM
On the girls issue, the Spanish teacher Harragin from Saints in his first year arranged a get together day bt Holy Name Convent class and our class. We let them girls win football bc it was the first time for many men to see live bodied females. Real men was touching them up during the game. Dem girls had big tot -tots for dey age. Harragin was a boss teacher bc of this. I doh care about who was winning it was just de tackling and contact that was fun.As for that 18 goals I doh remember that. Ah remember the Fatima Giants team beat St Anthonys 28 goals. Anil score 6 and Chandler score 5. Yuh right bc after Form 2 we will everything bc no men who was playing for de school could play class league. Most of us develop later than others.

De Silva and Julien was still in a class of their own. They could both kick hard and was skillful as hell. Dem men was real good in Form 1 but never fit in with the Fatima system. Both were better than Mamba, Farina etc. Mamba and Farina became  boss players as they got older.

My favorites were Lawson Bernard, Ramdoo and Dwight Findlay. Cipriani was good too but he was a ball hound... bawling for the ball all the time and getting vex like Stern.

Title: Raj
Post by: vb on August 06, 2005, 01:33:32 PM
I'll understand if all dem blows in form one give allyuh amnesia :)

I belive dominic beaubren who harldy used to play ball scored a hat trick..

U are right becz the other class' best players who represented the school coudn't play interclass...ur class with decent players took advantage of this...but by the time allyuh hit form V, some men had seriously develped regardles...ah yess the fat fella...Gibbs...the othe fella was chubby and played A Giants cricket.

Ah believe u about the woman situation...I let enough woman keep de ball as I focussed on the "feel up," at that age...that was real ting yes. But yuh still lose to a girl's team.. ;D....tot tots or not tot tots.

Yes our A Giants rest 28-0 on S. Anthony's and the B team beat them 14-0.
In the A giants game Scotty Rodgrz stopped keeping and scored two or three goals.

Peace,

Post by: football king on August 08, 2005, 07:19:10 AM
anybody remeber a man named joel squires he was skillfull but never get a fair chance 1st 11
had some skillfull men get overlooked by them coaches why ? is a mystery
Post by: samo on August 08, 2005, 07:35:13 AM
Ah remember him he was small but had real skill...
Post by: football king on August 08, 2005, 10:15:00 AM
yeah was on the small side it amazed me how tha man wasn't on the side.  come to think of it murray and marquez was some mad insane people with they selection-make yuh scratch yuh head and wonder sometimes.

gally seem to be fair pick those who deserve it unless they came in from foreign ;)
Post by: raj on August 08, 2005, 06:02:05 PM
Squires was a skinny short dougla from Couva - deep South. He was very skillful and I remember that he played some games for the 1st eleven. De man take Spanish and French at A levels and could speak both fluently. He could kick real hard for a skinny short man. He was wicked in the midday league.
Title: Fatima men
Post by: vb on October 27, 2005, 01:42:21 PM
Keith Scotland on gayelle tv now
Title: Re: Fatima men
Post by: samo on October 27, 2005, 02:29:54 PM
Jeezan...
I remember good old Keith... He is a big lawyer now...I Always thought he might have eneded up on the opposite side of the law....
Post by: kounty on October 27, 2005, 02:41:42 PM
tallman!!!!!!  calling tallman!!!!!!!! ::)
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on October 27, 2005, 02:57:41 PM
a lil before my time
wha era is that??
Post by: vb on October 27, 2005, 04:09:30 PM
If u see how calm and well spoken the man is.

Is hard to believe is the same CRAZY yute from Fatima.

Scotland went from around 1979 to '86

Was a regular on the B football and cricket teams.

I remember one year evry time he hit a good shot for B Colts....in cricket...he would take time out to bow and give kisses to the crowd in the pavillion....the opposition was going crazy.

Peace,
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on October 27, 2005, 04:22:53 PM
If u see how calm and well spoken the man is.

Is hard to believe is the same CRAZY yute from Fatima.

Scotland went from around 1979 to '86

Was a regular on the B football and cricket teams.

I remember one year evry time he hit a good shot for B Colts....in cricket...he would take time out to bow and give kisses to the crowd in the pavillion....the opposition was going crazy.

Peace,

Oh God that is a lil befoe meh time
a lile before I born to
but large up Fatima men everytime
I eh go lie we had we fare shrae of wild men. He eh look like no wild man  at all. The man soft spoken and well articulate, He look like he was in 3-4.
Post by: sguerra on July 26, 2006, 01:03:47 AM
and yet a another fatima man joins the group
holla back
Sheldon Guerra
Post by: vb on July 26, 2006, 09:51:35 AM
holla back
Sheldon Guerra

Yes saddist.....WHAPPENING?

Bhoolai here.

Ah still remember you and Track and Field. Not to mention dem days in Enrique Hines' class.

Welcome...and go here too

http://www.fatimaboys.homestead.com/welcome.html

Post by: samo on July 26, 2006, 10:24:47 AM
Mr Sheldon G himself....
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on July 26, 2006, 12:38:52 PM
all yuh resurrect a thread from exactly a year ago
WOW
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 26, 2006, 12:50:08 PM
holla back
Sheldon Guerra

How yuh bro man?  (Juan), bounce him up one time in Miami carnival a few years ago, but have not run into him since...
Post by: Mr Mc on July 26, 2006, 01:16:38 PM
holla back
Sheldon Guerra

Guerra wha going on dread, is McFarlane!! 
I too bounce up Juan here in Miami, I hear he NY now. 
Last time I hear bout you, you was on a track schol at Ohio State, that was when 1990??
Post by: goodfootball171267 on July 26, 2006, 05:01:02 PM
Saints Squad mid 80's ...
Viera, Lawrence, Henry, LaFoucade, Shaka, Bonaparte, Briggs, Kona, Singh, Weekes, Oliviere, Moze, Regis, Darrahg Moze, Roach, Wilson, Pitchery, Thomas, Cooper, Rocke, King. Anderson (and a few others whose names i can't remember).
But most of these guys were in the main squads from 1984-1987

Post by: vb on July 26, 2006, 05:09:02 PM
Saints Squad mid 80's ...
Viera, Lawrence, Henry, LaFoucade, Shaka, Bonaparte, Briggs, Kona, Singh, Weekes, Oliviere, Moze, Regis, Darrahg Moze, Roach, Wilson, Pitchery, Thomas, Cooper, Rocke, King. Anderson (and a few others whose names i can't remember).
But most of these guys were in the main squads from 1984-1987

Wasn't there also a fella called Thomas? Could be wrong about the name. He used to wicket keep for the school as well. WAs from the Vale.

Post by: goodfootball171267 on July 26, 2006, 05:44:43 PM
Yeah ... Allan Thomas ... his name is there ... not sure about the wicketkeeper thing doh!
Post by: raj on July 27, 2006, 12:24:16 AM
sheldon guerra... fast like a speeding bullet.

Sheldon .. glad to hear from yuh.. hope everything is OK with you and de family.

Curry Joseph
Post by: grskywalker on July 27, 2006, 07:14:31 AM
Yeah ... Allan Thomas ... his name is there ... not sure about the wicketkeeper thing doh!

Allan's a personal buddy of mine, yes he also played cricket and was the wicket keeper, Andre Lawrence was also on that team. Lawrence also played for the first eleven in Saints. You forgot to mention the Hackett brothers, Raymond and Brian. Rene Gonzalves was in defense (GUNZIE)
Post by: samo on July 27, 2006, 01:55:01 PM
I know Raymond and Brian ... They used to be regulars kickin ball in woodbrook, they have another brother Allan.... Nice fellaz
Post by: grskywalker on July 27, 2006, 02:34:31 PM
I know Raymond and Brian ... They used to be regulars kickin ball in woodbrook, they have another brother Allan.... Nice fellaz
You should knw the Wilson brothers as well. We use to call him"Willow" played defense for Saints too!

All yuh remember that beast who played for JOHN D name escaping me right now, the man had tighs like a tree trunk
Post by: ttgapers on July 27, 2006, 02:38:12 PM
yes fellas...allyuh bring back memories...

nintendo vinces...i went fatima from 85-91, repeat 91 at st. anthony's as a cricket import, then went back to fatima in 1992, then flyout.

allyuh callin real names there for real. ato was in my year, spelled in the first eleven cricket team occassionally when i was younger...dem time lara, sagar, scotty etc. was the big men.

but the football talk real bring back memories...those were the good days..

simmons, farina, scotty, ramdoo, etc. etc. damn good times. meh padna supers (superville) used to play for saints in dem times, and it used to be good jokes with the competition...shaka and kona used to play for saints too...

any of allyuh remember the brawl they had in a CIC/Fatima game at serpentine rd.? men get busted on TV flinging bottle etc....i ain't go call no name, but dem fellas was from diego.

that fella keston wright get do in real bad.....politricks in fatima.

give credit where credit is due, harry ramdass, nose and all, is a BOSS. kirk newalho, a BOSS. if it wasn't for dem 2, allyuh might not of ever heard about lara.

i and i born and grow in diamond vale! so bigup the vale men on the board too...

beleive that.

carry on!

ttgapers
Post by: grskywalker on July 27, 2006, 02:42:18 PM

nintendo vinces...i went fatima from 85-91, repeat 91 at st. anthony's as a cricket import, then went back to fatima in 1992, then flyout.

allyuh callin real names there for real. ato was in my year, spelled in the first eleven cricket team occassionally when i was younger...dem time lara, sagar, scotty etc. was the big men.

but the football talk real bring back memories...those were the good days..

simmons, farina, scotty, ramdoo, etc. etc. damn good times. meh padna supers (superville) used to play for saints in dem times, and it used to be good jokes with the competition...shaka and kona used to play for saints too...

any of allyuh remember the brawl they had in a CIC/Fatima game at serpentine rd.? men get busted on TV flinging bottle etc....i ain't go call no name, but dem fellas was from diego.

that fella keston wright get do in real bad.....politricks in fatima.

the biggest show stopper in fatima sports is bullaman Romero.....he keep nuff talented black man down.

give credit where credit is due, harry ramdass, nose and all, is a BOSS. kirk newalho, a BOSS. if it wasn't for dem 2, allyuh might not of ever heard about lara.

i and i born and grow in diamond vale! so bigup the vale men on the board too...

beleive that.

carry on!

ttgapers

I remember that game very well! College leauge had all the drama and excitement like EPL. CIC vs FATIMA was like Arsenal and ManU MEETING
Post by: vb on July 27, 2006, 02:51:00 PM

the biggest show stopper in fatima sports is bullaman Romero.....he keep nuff talented black man down.

beleive that.

carry on!

ttgapers

Breds u make a powerful statement there about Ro.

Ro might have been an ass at times but he was committed to Fatima. and he was always there in the corner of any yute regardless of race who could rep. Fatima in sports.

There was one fellas who had the skills and brains but wouldn't study. Ro used to go up in Belmont and personally pick de man up at home and bring him to school.

To say Ro hold back black man. is a curious statement.

But he wasn't one o dem fellas looking to say "Black is beautiful." and cry down white ppl.

If Ro thought you were a lazy black man with no ambition, he called it like it was.

Post by: ttgapers on July 27, 2006, 03:02:10 PM

beleive that.

carry on!

ttgapers

Breds u make a powerful statement there about Ro.

Ro might have been an ass at times but he was committed to Fatima. and he was always there in the corner of any yute regardless of race who could rep. Fatima in sports.

There was one fellas who had the skills and brains but wouldn't study. Ro used to go up in Belmont and personally pick de man up at home and bring him to school.

To say Ro hold back black man. is a curious statement.

But he wasn't one o dem fellas looking to say "Black is beautiful." and cry down white ppl.

If Ro thought you were a lazy black man with no ambition, he called it like it was.

needless to say this was in FormV, with Ro as dean.

but i digress... give him his credit where it is/was due, but he was not holier thanThou. he had a lot of favourites aka "the RO boys", who had keys to his office...and who could get away with murder in fatima. harry was a fair person and coach to deal with.

ttgapers
Post by: football king on July 27, 2006, 03:07:43 PM
Many times Ro was a idiot saw him do some good and bad things
Harry was cool till he try ban meh from the field, i thought he was on kicks the man was serious
then if we lose a giants game Harry make man gears up and train after the game-tha man was crazy.

The real boss was Clive Pantin,  after he left Fatima lost a few steps with goat like Mr. Moore, Frico, niles, Murray etc. then Heywood talk about idiot she in a class by herself.

Post by: samo on July 27, 2006, 04:13:32 PM
gryswalker... I know the wilsons very well. Richard Fulton,Francis etc:...I saw Richard in Germany.....Another nice family....even doh they were saints fellas  ;D
Post by: FLi ! on July 27, 2006, 05:46:19 PM

Is this him?

(http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h227/triniflyboy/MarvinRaeburn-1.jpg)

This is Raeburn today; he was at the WN Sweat in Regents Park and was the man of the tournament as his side 'East Side Boys' won the tourney. The left foot is still VERY DEADLY!!
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 27, 2006, 06:40:31 PM

Is this him?

This is Raeburn today; he was at the WN Sweat in Regents Park and was the man of the tournament as his side 'East Side Boys' won the tourney. The left foot is still VERY DEADLY!!

Was very deadly indeed, him and young Trotty (also imported) had a good chem. playing together, lots of talent, these fellas could have ascended to even higher heights if they had sig. football aspirations....
Post by: doh_stick on July 27, 2006, 07:06:20 PM

Is this him?

Was very deadly indeed, him and young Trotty (also imported) had a good chem. playing together, lots of talent, these fellas could have ascended to even higher heights if they had sig. football aspirations....

Trotty- RIP
For Marvin- u know what was missing IMHO- discipline-particularly ability to balance school and ball  I eh tink he even sit for CXC yes..
Post by: ttgapers on July 28, 2006, 05:32:38 AM
Many times Ro was a idiot saw him do some good and bad things
Harry was cool till he try ban meh from the field, i thought he was on kicks the man was serious
then if we lose a giants game Harry make man gears up and train after the game-tha man was crazy.

The real boss was Clive Pantin,  after he left Fatima lost a few steps with goat like Mr. Moore, Frico, niles, Murray etc. then Heywood talk about idiot she in a class by herself.

yes horse,

heywood was a next killjoy. she is/was up in canada, very surprised to see me at UWO....that woman. hahah. always good to have the last laugh. there were some who beleived they had to rule with an iron grip, or else they feel like they lost control....

let me bigup my boy, mr. young. now he was the coolest teacher ever pass thru that school.

ttgapers
Post by: cocoapanyol on July 28, 2006, 09:09:44 AM
Let me start out by saying dat I doh nuttin much bout football except when de ball go inside de net.  I know dat is a goal.  Ah join de "nation" because I is ah Trini and ah supporting anything good fuh meh country.

So ah want tuh put een meh possibly ignorant two cents. 

North American universities and colleges taking players from all other schools and countries fuh dat matter to strengthen dey sports programmes.  So what wrong if CIC, Fatima and whoever take from whereever tuh achieve dat goal.  It helping the school and it helping de players.  True..it mean dat de schools wid the best pull going tuh get de best ah de crop but is not so the NBA and de NHL teams does operate?

Hopefully internationally teams will start looking at our players in various sports, de way dey look at other non-North American players and give de youths and dem something tuh work towards.

Ah wrong?

Post by: Mr Fix-it on July 28, 2006, 12:23:37 PM
I'm not a Fatima man, but I had loads of friends from there and not to mention I would help out at Computer Camp to check out the gyuls and dem.  :-*  Anyway, when I was a small man going to school at St. James Sec. I would go to IC games at Fatima and CIC grounds and no know anyone.  I was just there to take in pure football, men battling for pride and old talk the next day.  I think those were some of my best memories of home.

On a unrelated topic, I doh know if you guys remember Ms. Blackman (Computer Teacher) she passes away in a car accident this year(I think a couple of months ago).  Anyway, she was another reason I hung out at Fatima, a real first class teacher and person.
Post by: kicker on July 28, 2006, 06:13:38 PM

On a unrelated topic, I doh know if you guys remember Ms. Blackman (Computer Teacher) she passes away in a car accident this year(I think a couple of months ago).  Anyway, she was another reason I hung out at Fatima, a real first class teacher and person.

Are you serious ? Ms Blackman died ?....sh**.....That was meh form 3 maths teacher...damn, very sad to hear.

Post by: Mr Fix-it on July 28, 2006, 09:20:33 PM

Are you serious ? Ms Blackman died ?....sh**.....That was meh form 3 maths teacher...damn, very sad to hear.

Yeah sad day for everyone that knew her.  My friend in Tampa called me up to let me know.  It was in the express and all that.  She was driving down Mayaro and de car lost fontrol and hit a coconut tree.  Messed up way to go, not to mention she was either going to or coming from teaching a class.  At least she did what she loved and that was teaching  :'(
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on July 28, 2006, 10:30:30 PM

boy my aunt buy her volkswagen and have it up to this day
sorry to hear that
Post by: socachynee on July 29, 2006, 09:32:09 AM
Yes ttgapers,
dat game between CIC and Fatima brought back memories.
de last time de Toronto lime kick ball in Mississauga,
I was olde talkin with jrsams on dis and he remembered it vividly.
but I cannot recall who won

Anyhow I recalled getting there and going thru de gate from de police barracks
a Saints man standing by de gate askin we for $2 each, well there must have been
15 of us and one of him after we give he some olde talk we ent payin to come in
he eventually gave in and took 2 dollars for the gang of us (pursuation by numbers)  ;D

When CIC scored, I sure I heard cornell on an older man radio say "St Marys has just scored a goal and their supports have invaded the pitch"  this is when the 1st and 2nd formers also invade the field after they started with the projectiles (aka softdrink bottles and cans)  man start to burn each odder school flags. Cornell "and Fatima is also running onto the pitch"  followed by the ever so friendly montied police with the loaded horse ready to kick your lights out...

Keston Wright another name to remember from the olde days 1988 form V.

Mr Ramdass with Form 3 group 1.
Mr Joseph giving 3 hour detentions.

Post by: vb on August 02, 2008, 10:21:56 PM
I decide to ressurrect the Fatima thread.

You guys remember Sheldon Cipriani - A Vale Man.

Well Sheldon was on the bomb 1987 Fatima squad with Sean Ramdoo.

The man is a football Coach in the 'STates now.

Director of Coaching in Gainesvill

http://gainesvillesoccer.org/sheldonbio.htm

I remember when he started off in Form One and couldn't even kick a ball. He has come a long way.

Peace,
Post by: dreintel on August 03, 2008, 08:02:13 AM
i is a fatima man and i hadda say fuh de time i was dere(94-99) de tigers were de big players pullers.... dey used to draft in men like de army......a few names from fatima...penco, rodriguez, gibbons..... st anthonys was de real draft side..... i guess dat is why dey win all dem titles in de 90's.......
Post by: raj on August 03, 2008, 08:44:22 AM
Cipriani was a goalkeeper first for the Giants U14 team, then he convert to midfielder,I believe he played for 1st eleven at one time. He was good and always wanted the ball. A little bit of a ball hog that would get upset easy but overall a good player. I think he went to Trinity as with Sheppy and Larry Williams

Good to see him doing well. :D
Post by: injunchile on August 03, 2008, 11:35:49 AM
What a thing- It took a Trinity man to fire up Faima men. Sweet memories or Nostalga.
Post by: vb on August 03, 2008, 12:22:42 PM
What a thing- It took a Trinity man to fire up Faima men. Sweet memories or Nostalga.

Me eh know what de ass u trying to say nah.

Raj, are yu sure, that Sheldon was a GK for U-14? Ah know he had fantasies of bieng a GK, and used to keep for our class at one point.

Yohannes Camps Campins was the U-14 GK. Was Sheldon the GK for the B team. Surely not A.

I know in Form 1V, he was playing outfield for A Colts.

What I remember about Ciprianni was in his younger days, he used to love to dribble and sometimes unnecessarily lose the ball.

But he had decent skills, he literally got better as he got older.

Peace,
Post by: football king on August 03, 2008, 12:32:26 PM
vb u sure? the squad ramdoo capt w scotty and anil up front??  cip was in trinity tha yr i believe
he was decent player as i recall, cool fella also. good to hear the news.
Post by: vb on August 03, 2008, 01:32:07 PM
FK you probably right.

But I remember that when Anil said that we were weak in defense, somebody said he was referring to Cip.

I know he was RB for Fatima in 1985. I had no idea he went to Trinity and I dk what year it was.

So, I'll take ur word for it.

Peace,
Post by: football king on August 03, 2008, 04:09:53 PM
FK you probably right.

But I remember that when Anil said that we were weak in defense, somebody said he was referring to Cip.

I know he was RB for Fatima in 1985. I had no idea he went to Trinity and I dk what year it was.

So, I'll take ur word for it.

Peace,

wing backs on that team were larry and netto
central defenders mamba and farhina
mid-findlay, lawson, ramdoo forget the 4th man but pretty sure it wasn't cip
scotty anil.
i recall Cip playing 1st eleven as a midfielder when i was in form1, was the year fatima teams wear umbro kits from giants right up
Post by: SuperTrini on August 03, 2008, 04:29:38 PM
Between 1992 and 1999...as far as I remember Fatima had no wet footballers...none...zero...1 rankin bad man in the whole institution (doh say Daryll Roberts cause we know he was shit in dey days...thank god for Alcons.) :rotfl:........gettin blow out and tax from Mucurapo Comp...an Mucurapo Jr Sec (both) shifts. ??? :devil:..In addition they would come inTown and look extremely outta place :rotfl:...Taking needles on dey own field and in the stadium during School Football and intercol. :rotfl: But I must admit dey had de wettest SCHOOL DANCE in town. Even den only certain Fatima chi chi man had girls...Other man was commin tru scoopin up they girls. :devil: :rotfl: Just wanted to give my recollection...This might be outta tymin but I  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: vb on August 03, 2008, 05:26:03 PM
It looks like u had wet dream about Fatima and get blank.

Post by: just cool on August 03, 2008, 10:24:59 PM
Between 1992 and 1999...as far as I remember Fatima had no wet footballers...none...zero...1 rankin bad man in the whole institution (doh say Daryll Roberts cause we know he was shit in dey days...thank god for Alcons.) :rotfl:........gettin blow out and tax from Mucurapo Comp...an Mucurapo Jr Sec (both) shifts. ??? :devil:..In addition they would come inTown and look extremely outta place :rotfl:...Taking needles on dey own field and in the stadium during School Football and intercol. :rotfl: But I must admit dey had de wettest SCHOOL DANCE in town. Even den only certain Fatima chi chi man had girls...Other man was commin tru scoopin up they girls. :devil: :rotfl: Just wanted to give my recollection...This might be outta tymin but I  :rotfl: :rotfl:
What yuh does call chi chi man youth ! fellas who speak well and use propper grammar ? i allways hated that about the hood. not BC ppl bring up their children well and encourage them to use proper grammar, and leave off street values mean dey are soft or faggots.

we have to leave off that kinda ancient thinking, that's why the hood have so much lawlessness , BC we does perpetuate too much ignorance and fight down proper behavior and higher learning.  BTW i from the hood!                                         positive.
Post by: vb on April 07, 2011, 11:21:54 AM
Mucurapo, Fatima is your Daddy  ;D ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BUUsQQaddXE&feature=player_embedded

Post by: futbolfan on April 07, 2011, 11:37:57 AM

ah eh know which one was wuss....de water logged field or de men and dem in dey pum pum shorts (including de police). Compre was allll over Fatima in dat game, but as dey say, goals win games, good find... :beermug:
Post by: kicker on April 07, 2011, 11:43:53 AM

ah eh know which one was wuss....de water logged field or de men and dem in dey pum pum shorts (including de police). Compre was allll over Fatima in dat game, but as dey say, goals win games, good find... :beermug:

I cyah get youtube in work but from the description it sounding like the game back in the 80's where Rodriguez equalize in the dregs, then we take it on penalties...Anthony Crease (Compre) had men busy in that game...later he transferred to Fatima lol...
Post by: vb on April 07, 2011, 11:49:32 AM
The game was 1983. Fatima had a very mediocre team.

MSC had seven national player, including many of the U 16s from the 1983 Concacaf tournament. Marcelle, Sutton, Faustin were on this team.

Post by: kicker on April 07, 2011, 11:52:08 AM

MSC had seven national player, including many of the U 16s from the 1983 Concacaf tournament. Marcelle, Sutton, Faustin were on this team.

Ah ok...wrong game then...Was thinking of the intercol semi in '87.
Post by: futbolfan on April 07, 2011, 12:01:07 PM

Yeah dat was de compre side dat had ah bunch of nashesss... After Compre, dem fellas went on to play for Sando Tech.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 07, 2011, 02:14:08 PM
Ouuuuu gooouhhhhd

whey that man pull out that from

Compre had we to hang, Fatima was real lucky that day

real nice find

(http://www.robbyslaughter.com/images/betamax_cassette.jpg)
Post by: D.H.W on April 07, 2011, 03:23:23 PM

(http://forums.electronicarts.co.uk/images/smilies/eek.gif)
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 07, 2011, 06:36:41 PM
Goals win matches, nice find VB.  Funny, most of de Fatima men on dis forum was in diapers when dis game play
Post by: vb on April 08, 2011, 08:08:10 AM
Goals win matches, nice find VB.  Funny, most of de Fatima men on dis forum was in diapers when dis game play

Not me bro. I was at this game  :)

Sitting in the Pavillion  (probably bez of the rain). Funny how some things are remembered. Rivers was a red skin fella and I swear he had a red fro. When I see the GK with black hair, I swear is some odder fatima team. I don't remember rain that day but then it was 27 years ago.

You know back then the short pants was so normal eh. Now understand why women wanted to watch the footballer so. :)

Post by: Dutty on April 08, 2011, 08:17:01 AM
Police and all wearin short pants............and cork hat ;D
Post by: FF on April 08, 2011, 09:42:34 AM
Police and all wearin short pants............and cork hat ;D

wha bout Barry White is the linesman...

Post by: socachynee on May 03, 2011, 10:14:38 AM
nice find memories
Always wondered how Freddy the groundsman use to manage that Fatima pitch.  :beermug:
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 03, 2011, 11:17:09 AM
nice find memories
Always wondered how Freddy the groundsman use to manage that Fatima pitch.  :beermug:

Fuhgeh bout he yes, as yuh sey he name ah remember him now.  Who remember de homeless dread who used to sport a Fatima uniform outside de compound?  Man make news and ting oui
Post by: vb on May 03, 2011, 11:43:59 AM
nice find memories

When I was there in the 80, Freddy get a medal from Fatima for being there for 35 yrs.
Men Faddah who was at Fatima, remember Freddy.

Used to manage that ground by he blasted self and was always cool to lend out equipment or open up the table tennis room.

Post by: socachynee on May 03, 2011, 01:15:15 PM
I think there was a little write up on Freddy in "inside the grey shirt" maybe 1983-1985 issue
Post by: kicker on May 03, 2011, 01:48:26 PM
When I was there in the 80, Freddy get a medal from Fatima for being there for 35 yrs.

That would mean that Freddy was there since the establishment of Fatima in 1945...d@mn. 
Post by: saga pinto on May 03, 2011, 02:30:13 PM
Was it true two fatima form four boys made a video of them giving one another head,it was about two years ago I was told.Wey fatima was always iffy but now they gone clear boi.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on May 03, 2011, 02:46:09 PM
Was it true two fatima form four boys made a video of them giving one another head,it was about two years ago I was told.Wey fatima was always iffy but now they gone clear boi.

Probably. The only thing surprising is only two fatima men in dat and not half the school!
Post by: MEP on May 03, 2011, 03:05:13 PM
dem fatima men have always been insecure.....dais why dey have to start dey own thread
Post by: vb on May 04, 2011, 02:34:26 AM

That would mean that Freddy was there since the establishment of Fatima in 1945...d@mn. 

Tell me with Math skill like dat you didn't go to Fatima  ;)
Post by: kicker on May 04, 2011, 07:28:53 AM

if iz one ting I learned in Fatima is that 45 + 35 = 80 lol...  ;D
Post by: vb on May 04, 2011, 10:43:24 AM

if iz one ting I learned in Fatima is that 45 + 35 = 80 lol...  ;D

MY fault, I meant to say 80s.

Around 83-85.

Post by: Sam on May 04, 2011, 10:46:17 AM
VB and he Fatima bullaman crew.

FART TI MA !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: vb on May 04, 2011, 11:14:09 AM
VB and he Fatima bullaman crew.

FART TI MA !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!