Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on November 30, 2005, 05:39:14 PM

Title: Sepp Blatter Thread
Post by: Tallman on November 30, 2005, 05:39:14 PM
Blatter sends congratulations
By Shaun Fuentes

FIFA President Sepp Blatter has extended congratulations to this country on its historic qualification for the 2006 World Cup in Germany.

In  a letter sent to TTFF President Oliver Camps this week,  Blatter said he was delighted with the overwhelming reactions caused by the success of the “Soca Warriors” in their 1-0 win over Bahrain in the final half slot playoff match in Manama on November 16, 2005.

“In light of the historic achievement, which ensures that Trinidad and Tobago will make their debut appearance in this competition next year, it is my great pleasure to extend my heartiest congratulations to the entire Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation.

“Please do pass on my best wishes to all the players, to the coach, Leo Beenhakker, and the entire technical staff on this admirable feat,” Blatter stated, adding that he was looking forward to seeing T&T in Germany next year.

Beenhakker was also receiving similar outpours as he attended a World presentation to promote the 2006 FIFA World Cup with other Dutch-born head coaches Marco van Basten (the Netherlands), Guus Hiddink (Australia) and Dick Advocaat (South Korea) in Noordwijk aan Zee, the Netherlands on Tuesday.

The  Executive Committee of CONCACAF in its final meeting for 2005 last week in New York,  also extended its congratulations to Trinidad & Tobago for becoming the fourth CONCACAF team to qualify for the FIFA World Cup Germany 2006.

Reynald Temarii, President of the Oceania Football Confederation, was also among those saying well done.
Title: Blatter blasts big-spending Abramovich
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 19, 2005, 05:30:02 PM

LONDON, Dec 19 (Reuters) - Sepp Blatter, president of world soccer's ruling body FIFA, has criticised Chelsea for spending too much on foreign players.

'If a club can only have five foreigners among their starting 11, then they will have to build on their own youth system,' said Blatter in an interview with FIFA's official 2006 World Cup countdown magazine.

'If Chelsea were forced to have five foreigners then Roman Abramovich could not go on buying the best players across the world for exorbitant fees.

'Chelsea is the example of what should not happen.'

Before last week's FIFA Club World Championship in Japan, Blatter had reiterated his desire for clubs to field at least six homegrown players in order to limit the number of foreigners in their teams.

'The solution is that there should be a minimum,' Blatter told reporters. 'FIFA's idea is we should have at least six players eligible for the national team of the country in which they play.'

European soccer's governing body UEFA had foreign player quotas until 1995 when the Bosman ruling demolished restrictions on the number of overseas players clubs could have.

Blatter said a FIFA taskforce was examining the 'national identity' of clubs to help reverse a trend that could hurt the development of local players.

'The national identity of clubs is very important,' he said. '(But) the regulations of club competitions are not made by FIFA but by the national associations.

'It's up to them and their leagues to limit the entry of foreign players.'

ESPNsoccernet.com: Help | Media Kit | Report a Bug | Contact Us | Site Map | Tools | Jobs at ESPN | Supplier Information | Copyright ©2005 ESPN Internet Ventures. Terms of Use for our Site, Terms of Use for ESPN Motion and Privacy Policy and Safety Information/Your California Privacy Rights are applicable to you. All rights reserved.

Title: Re: Blatter blasts big-spending Abramovich
Post by: SOBRIQUET on December 19, 2005, 08:56:40 PM
What is this Blatter Box's obsession with Chelsea. Chelsea isn't dominating their league more than any other team around the world are. Juventus, Lyon and Barcelona are all leading their respective leagues with as many points as Chelsea. Those 4 teams ALL WON THEIR LEAGUES LAST YEAR as well. Abramovic has done absolutely nothing illegal under the current guidelines of buying players. The man bought a team within days of going into bankrupcy and wanted to make a quick transition to making it a success. What was he supposed to do? Sit back for 10-20 years and build a youth program, while his money going down the drain? Real Madrid are the real fools and the easiest example Blatter Box can look towards to disproove his theory of football that "MONEY MEANS EVERYTHING"!
Post by: MEP on December 19, 2005, 10:29:11 PM
How do they expect the man to launder his money.......
Post by: Solo on December 19, 2005, 10:44:17 PM
When I start making the type of money my good friend Roman is making now I will do the same thing.

I will not only buy a team but also buy the best players available in the world. ;D and I will make Yorke de special adviser to Latas de coach ;D

betta believe dat.
Post by: Trinimassive on December 19, 2005, 10:51:14 PM
The reason why the English league is the most popular league in the world is because they don't have the restrictions the other leagues have. Most countries could turn on the televison and see one of their nationals playing somewhere in England. Most of the other leagues can't really say that.

The PFL is not the best quality football so if they listen to Blatter and have that kinda restrictions they will lose a lot of worldwide viewers who want to at least see one of they own perform.
Post by: Jefferz on December 19, 2005, 10:53:47 PM
well, i jes doh wan football to turn into d NFL and baseball wit all dey riddiculous money slingin. Buh da bitch Abramovich livin in d house meh grampa sell to leave we poor. Dat bastard.  :rotfl:
Post by: Grande on December 19, 2005, 10:57:54 PM
Chelsea are perfectly justified in what they are doing. Mebbe Blatter eh like Abramovich head. I think Chelsea has enough English players as is average for other clubs - Lampard, Wright-Phillips, Terry, Joe Cole...how much Arsenal have?

Chelsea doh really have any 'galactico' players either...Drogba and  Carvalho and dem wasn't no big name players before dey join Chelsea. Is all under the leadership and guidance - altho i doh like Mourinho. That team is a perfect example of football as truly the world's game. Players from all over maximizing their potential .
Post by: marcovbasten on December 20, 2005, 06:23:33 AM
i think

within a few years every team MUST play with 6 players from the home country.

a lot of great players are saying this(pele,cruijff,platini)
and its a great way to improve football as a sport ,and as a country

Post by: andre samuel on December 20, 2005, 06:33:56 AM
Chelsea are perfectly justified in what they are doing. Mebbe Blatter eh like Abramovich head. I think Chelsea has enough English players as is average for other clubs - Lampard, Wright-Phillips, Terry, Joe Cole...how much Arsenal have?

Chelsea doh really have any 'galactico' players either...Drogba and  Carvalho and dem wasn't no big name players before dey join Chelsea. Is all under the leadership and guidance - altho i doh like Mourinho. That team is a perfect example of football as truly the world's game. Players from all over maximizing their potential .

Drogba was the top scorer in France with Marseille, and i think they won the UEFA Cup dat year!

Carvalho was a champions league winner with Porto leading their back line!!

U probably didnt know about them, but they were big name players!!
Post by: JDB on December 20, 2005, 07:24:11 AM
Blatter giving Abramovic criticism is like the drugsman telling the bandit that he "setting a bad example for the youth and them."
Post by: andre samuel on December 20, 2005, 07:31:40 AM
Blatter giving Abramovic criticism is like the drugsman telling the bandit that he "setting a bad example for the youth and them."

Post by: Ponnoxx on December 20, 2005, 07:36:53 AM
 Sepp Blatter don't realize football is a business too...Its an investment the man make...The youth system could only strive from an improved senior team...Abamovich will make back that money in a few years as long as Chelsea keep qualifing for Europe and winning Titles which they capable of doing...When Chelsea win out the season they could then field their youth players unless they looking to break a record
Title: Blatter calls for World Cup boost
Post by: skins on January 18, 2006, 08:50:19 PM
BBC NEWS

Fifa president Sepp Blatter has called for Africa to be given more places at future World Cup finals.
Africa will have five countries at the 2006 finals in Germany kick in June.

"Those with a bigger representation will automatically have a better chance," he told the Confederation of African Football congress in Cairo.

"What must be done? You've to fight on the pitch and I can assure you that we'll continue to fight for a better African representation."

Blatter was talking at the Confederation of African Football Congress that is taking place in Egypt ahead of the African Cup of Nations.

The continent will be hosting the 2010 finals for the first time, in South Africa.

Though Fifa have not finalised whether South Africa will cost the continent a place at 2010 or will add a sixth slot,

Blatter clearly indicated he favoured the latter.

"In 1998, when I was on the way to the Fifa presidency I had... a project in mind to bring the World Cup to Africa. That has now been done."

Blatter said sceptics who had predicted that a World Cup in Africa would generate less money than previous tournaments had been proved wrong and said South Africa would be a bigger success than Germany.

"The market has not been mistaken, it's the prophets who have made a mistake," Blatter said.

"The 2010 World Cup, with most of the contracts that we have reached with television and sponsors, will bring in more money than that of 2006.

"That means that football is an excellent product... that the Fifa World Cup is even bigger because it has a bigger audience than the Olympic Games."

"Every one wants to be there, and thirdly, and for more me the most important thing, it means people have confidence in Africa."

"The whole world will be behind this World Cup.".

Blatter said that extra money would be available for football development programmes, including an initiative to enable young talented African players to have a career on their own continent, rather than move to Europe.

"Obviously, you'll still need a few stars elsewhere in the world, but not the hundreds and thousands who play in the second or third divisions in other countries," he said.

source: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/africa/4624472.stm
Title: Re: Blatter calls for World Cup boost
Post by: Trinimassive on January 18, 2006, 09:03:58 PM
Fire Blatter now...after all he is well hated in many quarters.

Put the Europeans in they will do a better job of looking out for the poorer countries :devil:
Post by: TnTVillan on January 18, 2006, 09:29:45 PM

Put the Europeans in they will do a better job of looking out for the poorer countries :devil:

Bossman Blatter is European he is from Switzerland.
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 18, 2006, 09:32:10 PM
5 is enough for africa.leh blatter relax he dead wood.
Post by: Trinimassive on January 18, 2006, 09:35:20 PM

Bossman Blatter is European he is from Switzerland.

Fuh real.....Damn!!!!! I eh even know that nah :devil:

Wow

Blatter is hated by the Europeans...act like yuh know...cause I know you know that and i know you fully know what I meant
Post by: Trinimassive on January 18, 2006, 09:36:42 PM
5 is enough for africa.leh blatter relax he dead wood.

WHY is 5 enough ???
Post by: Jahyouth on January 18, 2006, 09:48:43 PM
once they eh take no spots from CONCACAF I good
Title: Blatter handed third term
Post by: triniairman on May 31, 2007, 11:25:11 AM
Sepp Blatter has been elected for a third successive term as Fifa president.

The 71-year-old Swiss was unopposed as he was handed a fresh four-year term.

"I accept this mandate and I thank you for your continuing trust in me," he told the Fifa Congress.

"Thank you for your trust and putting me once again at the helm of this institution."

Speaking on a number of issues Blatter insisted that there was no plan to move the 2010 World Cup finals away from South Africa, and he also paid tribute to the four British Home nations for not putting forward John McBeth as their candidate for the vice-presidency.

"The World Cup is staying in Africa, there is absolutely no problem about this," he continued.

"It is staying in South Africa. Plan A is South Africa, Plan B is South Africa, Plan C is South Africa and Plan D is South Africa."

On the decision to replace McBeth with Geoff Thompson following comments made about other associations, he said: "Even today we have racism in football and in this context.

"I would like to congratulate the courageous decision taken by the four British associations not to highlight a member who has recently attacked Caribbean and African nations in declarations which are totally negative and don't correspond to our concept of football."

The congress also introduced Montenegro as the 208th members of Fifa
http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?hlid=469583&CPID=219&clid=&lid=2&title=Blatter+handed+third+term&channel=football_home&
Title: Blatter in public slanging match with FIFPro
Post by: kentsoulman on March 10, 2008, 04:26:31 AM
Blatter and Taylor in slanging match over plans to scrap transfers

Sean Ingle
Friday October 27, 2000

guardian.co.uk

Football's response to the European Commission's plan to abolish transfer fees lies in tatters this evening after Fifa president Sepp Blatter and PFA chief executive Gordon Taylor were involved in an extraordinary public slanging match at a Fifa press conference.
Taylor, who is chairman of the European player's union Fifpro, accused Blatter of having a "hidden agenda" and refusing to listen to the concerns of the players. Blatter retorted with angry shouts that Taylor was refusing to answer his questions.

The spat began when Taylor boycotted a morning meeting of the joint Fifa-Uefa Task Force to discuss the EC's proposal, because he felt the concerns of his members were not being addressed. Instead he sent alternative proposals to the meeting, only for them to be completely ignored.

When Taylor found out about this snub, he immediately left his Zurich hotel for Fifa headquarters. As he arrived Blatter was telling a packed press conference of his "disappointment" at FifPro's action and condemning the Englishman for going back on an agreement to attend the meeting.

On seeing Taylor, Blatter angrily demanded to know why he hadn't turn up.

Taylor responded by claiming that the Task Force was merely trying to tinker with the present transfer system rather than attempt to find a plausible alternative. Disliking what he was hearing, Blatter interrupted, shouting for Taylor to "answer the question."

"We have attended at least a dozen meetings, all of which have ignored the main problem," an angry Taylor replied. "The proposals the Task Force is putting forward are ambiguous and look as though they have been drafted with the hidden agenda of maintaining the status quo."

Taylor added that FifPro will present alternative proposals to the EC next week, possibly on the same day Fifa hand over their documents which will be drafted on Monday afternoon.

Later, Blatter sounded more conciliatory, conceding that Fifa's attempts to address the problems within the current system will not meet with EC approval without the backing of the players.

"I would urge them to talk to us," he pleaded. "To meet without them is like having your body decapitated. We know that we cannot have any new regulations adopted without the backing of the players."

The argument between Fifa and Fifpro centres on what should be done about the movement of players over the age of 23 while they are still under contract.

The Fifa Task Force believes that a biannual transfer window should be set up, with each player limited to just one move a season, signing contracts which in an ideal world would tie them in for a minimum of three years.

However, FifPro are at odds with the whole scheme. Taylor believes players should only be forced to sign one or two-year contracts, with compensation being determined by the length still remaining on the deal and the outstanding salary.

But with European Competitions Commissioner Mario Monti appearing to back down from his threat to end the transfer system altogether, the whole situation has become a confusing shambles.
Title: Blatter wants alternative to shootouts
Post by: dinho on May 25, 2012, 07:33:49 AM
Steuuupss.. Blatter mad or what?? There is probably not a more gripping climax in all of sport than penalty kicks.

Blatter wants alternative to shootouts

http://msn.foxsports.com/foxsoccer/world/story/fifa-president-sepp-blatter-wants-alternative-to-penalty-shootouts-052512

FIFA president Sepp Blatter has asked for ideas on alternatives to penalty shootouts
Share This Story
Updated May 25, 2012 6:55 AM ET

BUDAPEST, Hungary (AP)

FIFA President Sepp Blatter has asked German great Franz Beckenbauer to find an alternative to the ''tragedy'' of penalty shootouts.

Blatter told the FIFA Congress on Friday that football ''loses its essence'' when matches are settled by penalty kicks.

Football ''can be a drama, even a tragedy, when we go to penalty kicks,'' Blatter said. ''Football should not go to one to one, because when football goes to penalty kicks, it loses its essence as a team sport.''

Last Saturday, Chelsea beat Bayern Munich in a shootout to win the Champions League after the German side had dominated a game that finished in a 1-1 draw after extra time.

Beckenbauer, the former Bayern captain and president, heads FIFA's Task Force Football 2014 panel which Blatter created in 2010 to improve football before the next World Cup in Brazil.

''Perhaps Franz Beckenbauer with his Football 2014 group can present us with a solution, if not today then tomorrow.''

The task force has met several teams, but has shown little public interest in scrapping penalty shootouts.

Beckenbauer's task force deputy chairman Kalusha Bwalya also has recent experience of a shootout.

Bwalya, a Zambian playing great, saw his home nation win the Africa Cup of Nations in February on a shootout after drawing 0-0 with Ivory Coast.
Title: Re: Blatter wants alternative to shootouts
Post by: kicker on May 25, 2012, 07:40:58 AM
Dem just vex a english side won lol...

PKs not ideal but it works - good drama and after 120 mins dem fellas can't run anymore anyway....
Post by: Football supporter on May 25, 2012, 07:48:02 AM
I always liked the idea of reducing the number of players during extra time. Start with 10 each, then go to 9 each after 15 minutes. Fitness would really tell then, and if you had a player redcarded, will be even tougher!
Post by: theworm2345 on May 25, 2012, 07:51:54 AM

PKs not ideal but it works - good drama and after 120 mins dem fellas can't run anymore anyway....
Yeah, plus FIFA can't have input in who wins in a shootout.
Post by: dinho on May 25, 2012, 07:55:27 AM
I always liked the idea of reducing the number of players during extra time. Start with 10 each, then go to 9 each after 15 minutes. Fitness would really tell then, and if you had a player redcarded, will be even tougher!

Breds that is just madness..

Less players = more running for players that already exhausted. That will just decrease the likelihood of goals being scored in extra time, plus more men will cramp up and waste time off the clock.
Post by: kicker on May 25, 2012, 08:20:28 AM

Yeah, plus FIFA can't have input in who wins in a shootout.

Why not?  A shootout real easy to rig.
Post by: Touches on May 25, 2012, 08:29:18 AM
Shoot out is the biggest drama you could ever get nuttin toppin dat at that stage of the game.

The jokey mls ting with running from half line one on-one with the goalie was the closest thing to a alternative and dat get scrapped.
Post by: Mose on May 25, 2012, 08:34:48 AM

Breds that is just madness..

Less players = more running for players that already exhausted. That will just decrease the likelihood of goals being scored in extra time, plus more men will cramp up and waste time off the clock.
And increase the likelihood of bad/dangerous fouls/late tackles leading to injuries.

Shoot out is the biggest drama you could ever get nuttin toppin dat at that stage of the game.

The jokey mls ting with running from half line one on-one with the goalie was the closing thing to a alternative and dat get scrapped.

Nah that was NASL. Different league, different time.
Post by: FF on May 25, 2012, 08:40:44 AM

They had it in MLS too... from 1996 to 1999
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 25, 2012, 08:45:40 AM

They had it in MLS too... from 1996 to 1999
Me eh know. Might just be me. But I used to find that more exciting than penalties.
Post by: NUFF on May 25, 2012, 08:47:17 AM
If Blatter wants to keep de essence of Team don't get rid of penalty kicks.  Make all 11 players take part in the shootout.  De only downside is that the game will last longer.
Post by: palos on May 25, 2012, 08:51:52 AM
An alternative could be a points system.

If after extra time scores are tied, the winner is determined by the team that was the most attacking team.

That is determined by a points system.

Say...2 points for shots on goal that are on target

1 point for shots on goal off target

1 point for a corner

1/2 point deducted for each foul

This has the following benefits for the final stages of tournament play:

You no longer have the lottery of penalty kicks
The result of the game is determined by passages of play that typically take place in any game
You reward positive football.  Teams that play counter attack football are still rewarded.
Teams that play not to lose, negative football hoping to steal a win in the end have a disincentive to do so
Matches still end within a particular time frame
Encourages a cleaner game (with the deduction of points for fouls)

It has the following drawbacks:

You lose the sheer drama of penalty kicks.  No one can turn away from the screen when penalty kicks are taken
Potential for an "underdog" result is lessened because they can't simply park the bus and hope to steal a result.
Administration of this system may be complex and confusing especially for fans to keep a tally of points.  However, the advent of massive digital scoreboards at most major stadia would help to alleviate this problem.
Implementation worldwide could be challenging

Post by: dinho on May 25, 2012, 09:02:41 AM
The problem with that points system is that you will likely end up with a pre-determined result going into extra time.

A team could tally their points at the end of full time and realize they have enough shots on goals/corners during the course of the game to see them through, so put 11 players behind the ball in extra time and the game will just peter out into a farce.

Also i don't think a point system properly quantifies what is attacking football to reward it as such. What about teams like Barcelona who hoard possession and dominate games but wait for the right moments to shoot? Do you incentivize all that possession with a statistic or punish it for a lack of clear cut opportunities?

They could come up against a team that sits back and hits on the break and launches aimless shots on goal and end up with a better points tally. So they would have to change their game to suit.

Also, a team could shoot balls aimless on and off target to build up their 'points on goal' stats or run the ball down by the corner flag to earn corners.

Thats my main issue as well with a points system its almost like you telling teams how they should play the game.

Too many scenarios whereby teams can try to exploit the system to rack up points and allow the game to descend into folly. Just imagine the crowd cheering their team on in the last minute to earn one more jokey corner kick as if is Duckworth-Lewis they dealing with. Madness.
Post by: Coop's on May 25, 2012, 09:07:57 AM

If after extra time scores are tied, the winner is determined by the team that was the most attacking team.

1 point for a corner

The result of the game is determined by passages of play that typically take place in any game
You reward positive football.  Teams that play counter attack football are still rewarded.
Teams that play not to lose, negative football hoping to steal a win in the end have a disincentive to do so

You lose the sheer drama of penalty kicks.  No one can turn away from the screen when penalty kicks are taken
Potential for an "underdog" result is lessened because they can't simply park the bus and hope to steal a result.
Administration of this system may be complex and confusing especially for fans to keep a tally of points.  However, the advent of massive digital scoreboards at most major stadia would help to alleviate this problem.

WTF you talking about mister expert on Football?move from here with that shyt eh.
Post by: palos on May 25, 2012, 09:31:09 AM
Also i don't think a point system properly quantifies what is attacking football to reward it as such. What about teams like Barcelona who hoard possession
Barca hoards possession yes..but they also have more shots on goal than their opponents.  The system will reward it.  If the opposition wants to allow them to have possession and not foul them...that's their decision.

The intent is to encourage POSITIVE football.  Not anti football.
Post by: palos on May 25, 2012, 09:32:24 AM

1 point for a corner

WTF you talking about mister expert on Football?move from here with that shyt eh.

:rotfl: :rotfl:  Wham Coop's?  Jack eh send yuh yuh monthly stipend yet?   ;D
Post by: dinho on May 25, 2012, 09:34:02 AM
Also i don't think a point system properly quantifies what is attacking football to reward it as such. What about teams like Barcelona who hoard possession
Barca hoards possession yes..but they also have more shots on goal than their opponents.  The system will reward it.  If the opposition wants to allow them to have possession and not foul them...that's their decision.

That is Baeca, but what about Arsenal? They also regularly hold alot of possession with little end product.

One could argue that as a brand of anti-football as well.

Post by: palos on May 25, 2012, 09:41:07 AM

That is Arsenal, but what about Arsenal? They also regularly hold alot of possession with little end product.

One could argue that as a brand of anti-football as well.

One cocould arguie that if yuh want but you taking more shots at the opponent goal than they take at yours, who really playing anti-footbal?
Post by: Touches on May 25, 2012, 11:26:41 AM
Ehy Ehy Dinho...doh call arsenal name in anti-football.

No Chelsea man could come and talk no anti football talk...

Post by: kicker on May 25, 2012, 11:53:24 AM
That points scene sounding like potential for real controversy!

Teams that "play for penalities" usually do so because they have to - based on their quality or the matchups they usually have no choice but to play cautiously to get a result - and most times the "better" team still wins. This Chelsea run (or Greece's run in the Euros '04) was an anomaly.  On another day, Barca woulda taken their chances and Chelsea woulda lost soundly, and we wouldn't even be having the conversation.

In a purely neutral scenario, yeah it nice to see the more open positive side get rewarded with victory, but lewwe doh pretend that it doh be equally nice and entertaining to see David hold on and scratch and claw to muster up a spirited victory over Goliath... Sometimes yuh hadda just accept that a weaker side with less quality will adopt a pragmatic approach to a game, and only sometimes it will work - if it means PKs then so be it.  It hard to watch "big sides" play "negative" football but in the end teams hadda give themselves the best chance they could to win or get a result - yuh can't punish a team for that. 
Post by: palos on May 25, 2012, 12:10:33 PM
That points scene sounding like potential for real controversy!

It's nothing more than a suggestion to an alternative for penalty kicks to determine the outcome of a game.

It can be debated that it may even be a fairer outcome than penalties...which really is a lottery.  Admittedly, it's a serious psychological test for all involved plus the sheer theatre of it all.  But there's an element of side show to it as well and doesn't SEEM a very fair way to decide a major championship winner.
Post by: kicker on May 25, 2012, 01:00:57 PM
hmmm I dunno.

I think Penalties are 100% fair by definition.  Each team gets 5 tries - no advantage given to either team. PKs might be harsh, but they fair.  The thing about it is, any side could win a PK shootout - people only find it seemingly unfair when their opinion of the better side doh win.

What more fair? 

Yuh play all over a side that park the bus, and they score one fluke goal in regulation and yuh loss...

or

Yuh play all over a side that park the bus, score end up in a draw, match go to PKs and yuh loss...

or

Yuh play all over a side that park the bus, score end up in a draw, match to to PKs and yuh win...

Look at it like that and in my opinion the end result is what determines the perception of fairness - PKs or no PKs.
Post by: palos on May 25, 2012, 01:09:14 PM
hmmm I dunno.

What more fair? 

Yuh play all over a side that park the bus, and they score one fluke goal in regulation and yuh loss...

or

Yuh play all over a side that park the bus, score end up in a draw, match go to PKs and yuh loss...

or

Yuh play all over a side that park the bus, score end up in a draw, match to to PKs and yuh win...

Look at it like that and in my opinion the end result is what determines the perception of fairness - PKs or no PKs.

Scenario 1 is decided in regulation time so neither penalties nor a points system would come into play.

If it had a points system....scenarios 2 and 3 would have been decided by a FAIRER outcome than penalties IMO

At the end of the day, it's merely a suggestion.  Nothing more...nothing less.

Post by: NUFF on May 25, 2012, 01:48:08 PM
I agree with Kicker that penalties are very fair because each team has the same opportunity.  Sometimes teams like Barca and Arsenal become so focused on style of play that they forget the object of the game is to score goals.  Yes some teams might be better in terms of attractiveness of play but at the end of the game the only "better" that counts is which team was better at putting de ball in de net.
Post by: palos on May 25, 2012, 02:57:41 PM
I agree with Kicker that penalties are very fair because each team has the same opportunity.  Sometimes teams like Barca and Arsenal become so focused on style of play that they forget the object of the game is to score goals.  Yes some teams might be better in terms of attractiveness of play but at the end of the game the only "better" that counts is which team was better at putting de ball in de net.

So a team that doesn't take a shot at goal during regulation and extra time but insteadpulls all XI players back hoping for penalties is the "better" team if they "win" the penalty shootout?

We'll agree to disagree here.

Football is entertainment.  PERIOD.  And teams that sacrifice entertainment at the altar of result do the game a disservice in my opinion.

At the VERY LEAST....try to win.  It's why catanaccio was HATED back in the 70's and anti football is no different.  How many people outside of a Greece fan could honestly say they were ENTERTAINED by Greece in Portugal?

If yuh is a minnow playin a giant...at least I could understand why u playin dat way.  But when alleged "BIG" teams adopt the same tactics, it seem cowardly to me.

Even when little T&T played in Germany, they had their critics amongst their own fans.  Why Beenie didn't give Latas more time?  He tied down de players too much and didn't showcase de "trini brand".  How Theobald could play over Latas?  etc etce etc

To each their own.  I like positive football.  If "result" football is all you care about...more power to you.

And that "you" is a collective "you"...not aimed at anyone in particular.
Post by: dinho on May 25, 2012, 03:18:42 PM

So a team that doesn't take a shot at goal during regulation and extra time but insteadpulls all XI players back hoping for penalties is the "better" team if they "win" the penalty shootout?

Football is entertainment.  PERIOD.  And teams that sacrifice entertainment at the altar of result do the game a disservice in my opinion.

At the VERY LEAST....try to win.  It's why catanaccio was HATED back in the 70's and anti football is no different.  How many people outside of a Greece fan could honestly say they were ENTERTAINED by Greece in Portugal?

If yuh is a minnow playin a giant...at least I could understand why u playin dat way.  But when alleged "BIG" teams adopt the same tactics, it seem cowardly to me.

Even when little T&T played in Germany, they had their critics amongst their own fans.  Why Beenie didn't give Latas more time?  He tied down de players too much and didn't showcase de "trini brand".  How Theobald could play over Latas?  etc etce etc

To each their own.  I like positive football.  If "result" football is all you care about...more power to you.

Football is ENTERTAINMENT... Agreed.

But what is entertaining to you might not be entertaining to a next fan. An English or Stoke fan typically frowns on a Spanish or Barcelona brand because they find watching the ball being knocked around 100 times with no attempt on goal to be too indirect and useless for their liking. They favor a more direct approach and they like to see players getting stuck in.

Similarly, an Italian fan finds beauty in a catenaccio brand soaking up pressure with defensive discipline and structure and hitting a team on the counter attack.

A German fan will have little patience for dallying on the ball, beatsing and showboating, but value fast, efficient, effective football. A Brazilian fan on the other hand is not satisfied if their football is missing flair and exhibitions of skill.

ENTERTAINMENT is subjective... Not because you like a certain style of play means that rules should be implemented to incentivize the kind of football you like.

Part of what makes football great is that contrasting styles compete against each other to try to come out on top. Who is to say an Italian brand is worse than a Brazilian brand... A German brand better than a Dutch brand.. An Argentinian brand better than an African brand??? 

At the end of the day, if a team puts XI players behind the ball and you cannot score on them in 120 minutes of normal time, then you were tactically beaten. If you cannot score then you did not do enough to win regardless. Or maybe you were just unlucky.

It is not always the case that the better team wins, that is the beauty of football.

Post by: Mango Chow! on May 25, 2012, 03:39:21 PM
PK's aren't "ideal" but no other option is.  We don't even live in an ideal world so we cannot expect activities that are microcosms of life to have "ideal" endings either.  Short of that, PK's are still the best solution to determining a game winner and all them other options that people want to suggest are either even less ideal than PK's or too damned complicated (like dat crazy-ass "point" system Palos wanna trow up on we lap dey) to make any sense.  Blatter ever played this game?....or is he just on drugs? Taking penalties is the purest form of the sport, almost like the nucleus of an element.  Leave the damned thing just the way it is.   
Post by: palos on May 25, 2012, 04:27:15 PM
Too many scenarios whereby teams can try to exploit the system to rack up points and allow the game to descend into folly. Just imagine the crowd cheering their team on in the last minute to earn one more jokey corner kick as if is Duckworth-Lewis they dealing with. Madness.

At least yuh attackin.  Better that than takin de ball into de corner, takin 3 minutes to come off de field for a sub in de 120th minute, or diving and rolling around on de ground like if yuh break yuh leg, tryin to waste time.

Oh wait....you is a Chelsea man.  My bad  :devil:
Post by: palos on May 25, 2012, 04:30:36 PM
Football is ENTERTAINMENT... Agreed.

But what is entertaining to you might not be entertaining to a next fan. An English or Stoke fan typically frowns on a Spanish or Barcelona brand because they find watching the ball being knocked around 100 times with no attempt on goal to be too indirect and useless for their liking. They favor a more direct approach and they like to see players getting stuck in.

Similarly, an Italian fan finds beauty in a catenaccio brand soaking up pressure with defensive discipline and structure and hitting a team on the counter attack.

A German fan will have little patience for dallying on the ball, beatsing and showboating, but value fast, efficient, effective football. A Brazilian fan on the other hand is not satisfied if their football is missing flair and exhibitions of skill.

ENTERTAINMENT is subjective... Not because you like a certain style of play means that rules should be implemented to incentivize the kind of football you like.

Part of what makes football great is that contrasting styles compete against each other to try to come out on top. Who is to say an Italian brand is worse than a Brazilian brand... A German brand better than a Dutch brand.. An Argentinian brand better than an African brand??? 

At the end of the day, if a team puts XI players behind the ball and you cannot score on them in 120 minutes of normal time, then you were tactically beaten. If you cannot score then you did not do enough to win regardless. Or maybe you were just unlucky.

It is not always the case that the better team wins, that is the beauty of football.

But hoss...if brand is what de topic was yuh definitely have a point. 

But de topic is about possible alternatives to PK's.  I jes say teams that play SOLELY for PK's do a disservice to the essence of the game which is Entertainment.

Wha "brand" is PK's?
Post by: Blue on May 25, 2012, 05:27:35 PM

1 point for a corner

in truth, dis worse dan Duckworth-Lewis, de man hatred have him talkin sh!t a whole week later  :rotfl:

Post by: Coop's on May 25, 2012, 07:06:13 PM
PK's aren't "ideal" but no other option is.  We don't even live in an ideal world so we cannot expect activities that are microcosms of life to have "ideal" endings either.  Short of that, PK's are still the best solution to determining a game winner and all them other options that people want to suggest are either even less ideal than PK's or too damned complicated (like dat crazy-ass "point" system Palos wanna trow up on we lap dey) to make any sense.  Blatter ever played this game?....or is he just on drugs? Taking penalties is the purest form of the sport, almost like the nucleus of an element.  Leave the damned thing just the way it is.   
        :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :salute: :salute:
Post by: Flex on May 25, 2012, 08:08:10 PM
Blatter should think about overturning bad calls/goals etc be refs, like going to the cameras, have the fourth official view a replay of any event and then make such decisions.

Post by: STEUPS!! on May 25, 2012, 08:47:19 PM
So Chelsea win UCL and all of a sudden penalty kicks is a problem? i sure if was barca who won on PK, this thread wouldnt even exist.  ::)

what d hell blatter want to use? a coin toss?  ::)
Post by: NUFF on May 25, 2012, 11:16:41 PM

But Palos, de only thing that counts is results.  For us fans football is entertainment yes.  For the teams playing the game the only thing that counts is the score at the end of the game.  For all the attractive football Barca and Beyern Munich play I guarantee yuh that they would gladly have taken a ugly win instead of a pretty loss.

I'm not supporting de "park de bus" brand by any means.  As a fan of Brazil and Arsenal  I like attractive football but when it comes to my teams I'll take ugly winning over pretty losing any day.
Post by: Brownsugar on May 26, 2012, 02:31:36 AM
Steups!!    Palos still vex Chelsea win......oh and btw Palos, Holland going and win the Euros too with dey "anti football"......
Post by: Blue on May 26, 2012, 03:37:16 AM
A lil stat for the anti-Chelsea brigade....Chelsea have played 13 games in the Champions League since they last failed to score....more than any other team ;)

To paraphrase an old Brazilian footballer.....There is no such thing as an ugly win...."ugly" is not winning  :chilling:
Post by: andre samuel on May 26, 2012, 06:11:27 AM
Its funny how all of a sudden penalty kicks is a problem since the favorites eh wiin!!

Football is a beautiful game, but there isnt one way to play football.  Two teams go out against each other with the task of scoring and preventing goals.  If no one scores, then in my opinion, the teams are still on equal footing. 

You cannot only reward attacking play........because some teams have wonderful defensive strength. 

What is wrong with penalty kicks? Someone please tell me!! Blatter just playing up in his ass!!

And why people fighting down defensive football..........allyuh forget that defensive football brought us one of the greatest moments in our country's history.  If the only way to beat Barca is to park the bus and defend as if your lives depend on it, then so be it.

Some people act as if defending is an easy thing to do.  So unless that "points system" also rewards blocked shots and saves, then it would be heavily biased against defenders and goalkeepers.

That pts system would destroy the art of counter attacking football and never ever give David a chance against Goliath!!

Post by: palos on May 26, 2012, 07:31:41 AM
That pts system would destroy the art of counter attacking football and never ever give David a chance against Goliath!!

How so?  "David" have an entire 120 minutes plus to leggo dem slingshot. 

Counter attacking football is great.  What?  Yuh doh take shots at goal and get corners etc in counter attacking football? 

As an alternative to penalty kicks, a points system would ONLY come into effect in the event teams are deadlocked at the end of extra time

In essence, what you really confirming is that there are teams that go solely into such matches NOT looking to score....but hoping to just get to penalties where they feel maybe they could have a chance.

But it really doh matter.  PK's will be here for the forseeable future.  All I suggested was an alternative. 
Post by: STEUPS!! on May 26, 2012, 07:49:06 AM

How so?  "David" have an entire 120 minutes plus to leggo dem slingshot. 

Counter attacking football is great.  What?  Yuh doh take shots at goal and get corners etc in counter attacking football? 

As an alternative to penalty kicks, a points system would ONLY come into effect in the event teams are deadlocked at the end of extra time

In essence, what you really confirming is that there are teams that go solely into such matches NOT looking to score....but hoping to just get to penalties where they feel maybe they could have a chance.

But it really doh matter.  PK's will be here for the forseeable future.  All I suggested was an alternative. 

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/575125_10150951272290399_1428414048_n.jpg)

^^^^^ I know this bunnin yuh, and it probably makes you sick whenever you see it, but u need to get over it. You, Blatter and everyone else need to get over yourselves. If every team played the same style of football, it would become boring wouldnt it. Toatin feelings is not a good look for you palos  :devil:
Post by: davidephraim on May 26, 2012, 08:10:14 AM

1 point for a corner

So it was you who said that on ESPN forum!  :yellowcard: :yellowcard:
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 26, 2012, 08:32:44 AM
so this "points" system only rewards so-called "attacking" football and nothing else.  What about when my 'keeper make a spectacular save on a shot on target or when (s)he save a penalty, yuh go "deduct" points from the attacking team fuh dat or yuh go include a point system fuh that fuh de defending team? Petr Cech made a point-blank (no pun intended) foot save on robben in the first half then the penalty in Extra Time he doh get rewarded fuh dat?.....Drogba took a long range, speculative shot against Barca from about half line that may or may not have been on target and Valdes used it for camera time in making a diving "save".  How would the points be distributed on that?  Valdes couldn't risk it being off target but he didn't have to dive to save it.  If a shot is taken and it off target (1 point) initially and it swerve back to be on target (2 points), yuh get 3 points fuh dat?  What if it bend, swerve and dip more than once like dem Roberto Carlos and metronaldo specials, hummuch points fuh one ah dem?   ::) Steuwps!!
Post by: fari on May 26, 2012, 10:42:58 AM
talkng bout penalties anybody else taking in de worst penalty shootout ever on fsc right now?
Post by: fari on May 26, 2012, 10:53:02 AM
actually it started off horribly...caught fire in the latter stages and then in sudden death, the keeper for sheffield united missed the last kick...pure drama...blatter want to do away with penalties...he mad or wha?
Post by: Coop's on May 26, 2012, 11:01:22 AM
so this "points" system only rewards so-called "attacking" football and nothing else.  What about when my 'keeper make a spectacular save on a shot on target or when (s)he save a penalty, yuh go "deduct" points from the attacking team fuh dat or yuh go include a point system fuh that fuh de defending team? Petr Cech made a point-blank (no pun intended) foot save on robben in the first half then the penalty in Extra Time he doh get rewarded fuh dat?.....Drogba took a long range, speculative shot against Barca from about half line that may or may not have been on target and Valdes used it for camera time in making a diving "save".  How would the points be distributed on that?  Valdes couldn't risk it being off target but he didn't have to dive to save it.  If a shot is taken and it off target (1 point) initially and it swerve back to be on target (2 points), yuh get 3 points fuh dat?  What if it bend, swerve and dip more than once like dem Roberto Carlos and metronaldo specials, hummuch points fuh one ah dem?   ::) Steuwps!!
         :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Chow look don't kill me here,you have real time on your hands Breds.
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 26, 2012, 11:40:52 AM
         :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Chow look don't kill me here,you have real time on your hands Breds.

Coop's boy, is LIX Palos (and blatter) want!

actually it started off horribly...caught fire in the latter stages and then in sudden death, the keeper for sheffield united missed the last kick...pure drama...blatter want to do away with penalties...he mad or wha?

Speaking of drama, the PK shootout between Chelsea and Bayern was so emblematic....Look at the emotional scale them Bayern players, but Manuel Neuer in particular, must have experienced....as a 'keeper....he watched his team score what must have SURELY been the game winner in the 83rd and probably thought to himself that Cech could have done better, only to concede a goal that he HAD to have felt a little disappointed in letting in himself.....he saved the first penalty and scored Bayern's third....the cameras even zoomed in on Schweinsteiger gesturing triumphantly at the center circle when Neuer scored, this HAD to be their day....only to to watch it all slip away at the hands pf Drogba.  PURE drama!!
Post by: asylumseeker on May 26, 2012, 11:56:15 AM
Any support for the sudden death goal?
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 26, 2012, 11:57:58 AM

Not me, I am not for it at all.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 26, 2012, 12:22:51 PM

Despite coming from the run of play (in contrast to PKs), the sudden death goal delivers sheer anticlimax (sometimes to both sets of fans, especially where one team has been clearly outballing the other yet loses).

There is certainly "something" to having a defined period of play in which any number could play, rather than brax!!! a goal score and iz all over. I like last minute heroics and prowess, and really want to have the challenges and demands of the game imposed right through till the whistle blows on time, rather than on a goal.

When Laurent Blanc beat Jose Luis Chilavert, the result was the result I wanted, yet still I felt that it would have been "just" to see what sort of response (other than a tear-filled, congratulatory handshake) Paraguay had for France.

I agree.
Post by: injunchile on May 26, 2012, 12:26:20 PM
Please Leave well alone. Penalty kicks are considered entertainment value to fans and neutral/ Cant go better than that. The nearest thing is the sudden death.
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 26, 2012, 01:33:55 PM

Despite coming from the run of play (in contrast to PKs), the sudden death goal delivers sheer anticlimax (sometimes to both sets of fans, especially where one team has been clearly outballing the other yet loses).

There is certainly "something" to having a defined period of play in which any number could play, rather than brax!!! a goal score and iz all over. I like last minute heroics and prowess, and really want to have the challenges and demands of the game imposed right through till the whistle blows on time, rather than on a goal.

When Laurent Blanc beat Jose Luis Chilavert, the result was the result I wanted, yet still I felt that it would have been "just" to see what sort of response (other than a tear-filled, congratulatory handshake) Paraguay had for France.

I agree.

aaaaahhhhh boy. 'seeker.  yuh pull the same game outta the hat I was thinkin' 'bout!!  France went on to win a couple more memorable games that came at the hands of sudden death boy.  The one against Italy I was ok with but the one against Portugal was rel wicked.
Post by: Zeppo on May 28, 2012, 06:15:48 AM
Bring back the golden goal.

It should be used during the two 15-minute periods of extra time: if a team scores during that time then game over, they win. If no one scores then so be it, and it goes to PKs.

But after 90 minutes of regular time one goal should settle the entire thing. It rewards attacking football and reduces the possibilities of going to a shootout.
Post by: Jah Gol on May 28, 2012, 07:45:36 AM
Activate 3 more subs after 90 mins and play a sudden death third period of extra time.
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 28, 2012, 07:49:06 AM
Bring back the golden goal.

It should be used during the two 15-minute periods of extra time: if a team scores during that time then game over, they win. If no one scores then so be it, and it goes to PKs.

But after 90 minutes of regular time one goal should settle the entire thing. It rewards attacking football and reduces the possibilities of going to a shootout.

If FIFA saw any practicality in further the use of the "Golden Goal" neither would they have done away with it nor would blatter be (stupidly) looking for any alternatives now.  There has never been any suggested alternative to PK's (nor will there ever be...in the forseeable future) that has made any sense and all this talk of "attacking football" is  :bs: as if "football" is all and only about "attacking".  Regular time, Extra time and PK's all follw a symmetrical structure: both teams have equal time and equal opportunity to win a match using (numerically) equal resources, possibly the reason why the *NFL* changed the structure of it's own Extra Time play.  Anything else, takes away from that structure, including the Golden Goal that feeds the notion that "champions" or "winners" score first
Title: Omert: Sepp Blatters FIFA Organised Crime Family (Part I)
Post by: SWF Reporter on June 03, 2014, 12:15:58 PM
Omert: Sepp Blatters FIFA Organised Crime Family (Part I)
By Andrew Jennings

Wired868 has been authorised to serialise this investigative book

Sweet songs never last too long on broken radios
John Prine, Sam Stone, 1971
As this book is completed, we wait to see if the FBI will indict leading members of Blatters FIFA Family. The investigations by an FBI Organised Crime Squad, based in Federal Plaza, New York, began in 2010 and I have met in London with Special Agents and officials from the Department of Justice.
In March 2013, Reuters reported that Jack Warners son Daryan is a co-operating witness, presumably handing over Daddys offshore bank accounts. There is also said to be interesting video evidence from security cameras at the Bellagio Casino in Las Vegas.
It is likely that Chuck Blazer is also co-operating. The FBI and the IRS became aware in late summer 2011 that Blazer was running his tax avoidance schemes through banks in the Caribbean but nearly three years later he has not yet been indicted.
Will The Belly go to jail? Will Warner and Blatter and more of FIFAs leadership be in adjoining cells?

Foreword by Romario

Most reporters do not have the courage of Andrew Jennings. He has the ability and willingness to put what is true in the pages, the radio, the Internet and television.

Andrew is one of the guys within journalism for which I have 100% respect. For all he has done in the fight against FIFA, in publishing his articles and books.

Glad to know that my work here in Congress has been very positive for which he has provided me with material. I thank you and ask you to keep sending things to me.

Here I am not an Andrew Jennings, but Im Romario!
I have guts like him and a lot of courage.

Romario de Souza Faria
Former player and congressman

Prologue:
(In PalermoLearning about the Mafia)

Palermo, February 1987: We are in an orange grove outside the city, filming a small industrial building. It is deserted now but until recently was a juice pressing plant. According to claims filed with a subsidy department of the European Union, it was the busiest orange juice pressing plant in the world.

The Mob used it to submit massive fraudulent demands for subsidy on orange juice that had never existed. They bribed and intimidated officials to rubber-stamp their claims and stole millions of dollars. The scam ended, the mobsters escaped. But this is Sicily and they are everywhere, watching.

A big black saloon car with black tinted windows pulls up alongside me and my film crew. A bulky man emerges and walks towards me. Gesturing over his shoulder at an invisible but obviously important person behind the tinted windows he announces, sharply, E says you no film ere.

I pretend not to understand, it gives my cameraman time to grab a few more exterior shots of the disused building. As the guys eyes began to bulge with anger I grab his hand, shake it firmly, say arrivederci, and shout to the crew, Time to go!
Read more: http://wired868.com/2014/06/03/omerta-sepp-blatters-fifa-organised-crime-family-part-i/
Title: Re: Omert: Sepp Blatters FIFA Organised Crime Family (Part I)
Post by: Flex on August 15, 2020, 10:20:49 AM
Blatter says untouchable Infantino should face FIFA Ethics probe
Insideworldfootball.com.

August 14 Former FIFA president Sepp Blatter has launched another attack on his successor Gianni Infantino, claiming the present incumbent thinks he is untouchable and should have an ethics inquiry opened against him immediately.

Infantino is facing a criminal probe in Switzerland by a special prosecutor over those infamous multiple meetings with departing Swiss Attorney General Michael Lauber.

Mr Infantino is in a situation where he thinks he is untouchable, Blatter told AFP.

Blatter has long held a grudge against the man who ousted him and says that just as he had to face an ethics investigation, so should Infantino.

FIFAs Ethics Committee, says the ageing Blatter, whose own six-year ban expires next year, should immediately open an investigation and disclose it as they did against me.

Blatter also cast doubt, as many observers have, over the independence of the ethics committee which underwent an overhaul when Infantino took over.  Blatter said the current make-up  is not independent because Infantino has locked the control bodies and this is very worrying.

Title: Re: Sepp Blatter Thread
Post by: Flex on August 29, 2020, 01:50:05 PM
Blatter says keeping Platini out of FIFA was always Infantinos big plot
Insideworldfootball.com.

August 28 Former FIFA president Sepp Blatter, speaking ahead of his Swiss judicial hearing next week says that the whole case was cooked up to prevent former UEFA president Michel Platini taking the FIFA presidency. Blatter is facing charges of suspicion of unfair management and breach of trust regarding a CHF2 million payment to Platini.

Speaking to the Europe1 radio station, Blatter said that the truth behind this case was that it was never about him or the allegations, but was a conspiracy to keep Platini out.

The number 1 target of the plot was Michel Platini, not me, he said. The one who could be dangerous for the current president (Gianni Infantino), who was at UEFA, was not me, because I had made my mandate available.

Although not saying it, Blatter appears to be suggesting the plot was instigated at the secret and undocumented meetings that Infantino had with disgraced Swiss Attorney General Michael Lauber. The first of those meetings was in 2015, before Infantino was elected FIFA president in 2016. That meeting was always believed to be about whether Infantino was under investigation after his name came up in the Panama Papers US tax evasion scandal, regarding a TV rights deal in South America with Hugo and Mariano Jinkis who had been indicted by the US Department of Justice as part of the FIFAGate scandal.

Blatters implication is that the meeting was used to put in play a plan that would nail Platinis football administration coffin shut with the CHF2 million case.

Blatter and Platini were suspended in the winter of 2015 for 90 days after the Swiss prosecutors opened an investigation into the CHF 2 million payment. Blatter was suspended for six years and Michel Platini for four years by FIFA Ethics. Removing Platini from what would have been a shoo-in to the FIFA presidency opened the door for Infantino, Platinis general secretary at UEFA who also said he was only a placeholder for Platini but in reality showed no intention of stepping aside either then or now that Platini has served his ban.

Blatter says that is not worried about the outcome of the court hearing. I am not afraid of anything, the court is not there yet. For the moment we are doing hearings. I should do something very hard to go to jail. Now is not the time to be thinking about going to jail, for the moment I am thinking of enjoying life a little and taking care of football a bit more, he told Europe 1.

While the relationship between Platini and Blatter had become fractious, Blatter said that: Today I would hug him, despite the coronavirus restrictionsI would say bravo Michel now we are in court for the investigations, now we are together. In 2007 we were even more together as I gave you a small step (up) for the presidency of UEFA.

Title: Re: Sepp Blatter Thread
Post by: Flex on December 22, 2020, 05:01:13 PM
FIFA files criminal complaint against Blatter over museum
6:39 AM ET
Associated Press

FIFA has filed a criminal complaint against former president Sepp Blatter over the finances of its loss-making football museum in Zurich.

FIFA said on Tuesday it suspected "criminal mismanagement by FIFA's former management and companies appointed by them" to work on the museum -- long seen as a pet project of Blatter's -- in a renovated and rented city centre building.

The FIFA World Football Museum opened in 2016 after $140 million of FIFA's money was spent refurbishing the 1970s office building to also include 34 rental apartments.

It was intended to open around May 2015, when Blatter won a fifth presidential election, but was delayed until after he left office under pressure from American and Swiss investigations of international football officials.

Blatter committed FIFA to a rental contract with the building's owner, insurance firm Swiss Life, that requires paying $360m through 2045 at above market rates, football's world body said.

FIFA said its criminal complaint was delivered by hand to state prosecutors in Zurich.

"That audit revealed a wide range of suspicious circumstances and management failures, some of which may be criminal in nature and which therefore need to be properly investigated by the relevant authorities," FIFA deputy secretary general for administration Alasdair Bell said in a statement.

The Zurich prosecution office did not immediately respond to a request for comment.

"The allegations are baseless and are vehemently denied," Blatter's lawyer Lorenz Erni said in a statement.

Blatter risks investigation at local level while already a suspect in two criminal proceedings opened by federal prosecutors into how he spent FIFA's money as president.

Those investigations involve FIFA paying $2m to former UEFA president Michel Platini in 2011 and $1m to the Trinidad and Tobago football body -- effectively to disgraced former FIFA vice president Jack Warner -- weeks before the Caribbean islands' general election in 2010.

"Given the massive costs associated with this museum, as well as the general way of working of the previous FIFA management, a forensic audit was conducted in order to find out what really happened here," Bell said.

The museum has made a loss each year including $50m in 2016 that included one-off costs, FIFA said at the time in its financial report.

The most recent FIFA accounts for 2019 show almost $3.5m revenue from the FIFA World Football Museum and $6.3m costs for "investment and expenses." There was a record 161,700 visitors at the Zurich building last year.

In the 2018 accounts, museum revenue was almost $4m against $12m in spending.

The FIFA museum was identified closely with Blatter from the time it was announced in April 2012.

His executive committee had already approved $203m for what was being called "Project Libero," and forecast to attract 300,000 visitors each year.

"It is high time that world football had a meeting place for its millions of fans," Blatter said then of a museum originally to be built underground next to FIFA's headquarters on a wooded hillside above the city.

One year later, the museum plan changed to a FIFA-funded renovation of a modernist building owned by Swiss Life.

FIFA said in a 2013 news release it signed a 40-year rental of "Haus zur Enge." The museum would "occupy the second basement level through to the first floor" with office space and apartments on the upper levels.

"The FIFA museum project is a stroke of luck for Zurich and is a perfect fit for Swiss Life's investment policy," the insurance firm's chairman Rolf Dorig said in the FIFA statement.

When the museum formally opened on Feb. 28, 2016 it was a first public duty for the new FIFA president Gianni Infantino who had been elected two days earlier.

Blatter did not attend the ceremony and had begun serving a ban from footall by FIFA's ethics committee after Swiss authorities revealed the Platini payment in September, 2015. The ban expires in October 2021 when Blatter will be 85.

FIFA said on Tuesday its files on the museum project will be sent to ethics investigators.

RELATED NEWS

Blatter, Platini now suspected of fraud in 5-year FIFA case

GENEVA (AP) Sepp Blatter and Michel Platini are facing a more serious charge of fraud after Swiss federal prosecutors this week intensified a five-year investigation into the pairs past dealings at FIFA.

The open criminal proceedings had been focused on suspected mismanagement and misappropriation, plus an act of forgery by Platini, linked to FIFA paying the French soccer great $2 million with Blatters approval in 2011.

Now the investigation has been widened to include suspected fraud.

It follows the former FIFA and UEFA presidents plus witnesses being questioned in recent weeks in Bern.

(This month), the federal prosecutors office informed the parties that, based on the current investigation it is reassessing part of the proceedings, the Swiss attorney generals office said on Friday, citing the payment to Platini.

Since then both Joseph Blatter and Michel Platini are being investigated on suspicion of fraud, the federal office said in a statement to The Associated Press.

In the Swiss criminal code, fraud seeking personal gain can result in a custodial sentence not exceeding five years or to a monetary penalty.

Charges have yet to be filed in a case opened in 2015 against Blatter, now 84, that was extended six months ago to include Platini. Platini was the UEFA president and a FIFA vice president in January 2011 when he asked to be paid by soccers world body for work done a decade earlier.

The former France captain and coach submitted invoices for uncontracted additional salary as a presidential adviser in Blatters first term, from 1998-2002.

Platini was paid by FIFA with Blatters approval in February 2011.

Both men deny wrongdoing. They have consistently cited a verbal agreement for the money since details of the deal were revealed in September 2015.

Then, Swiss authorities questioned them in a surprise visit to FIFA headquarters in Zurich where its executive committee was meeting.

Both men were provisionally suspended from soccer, then banned, by FIFAs ethics committee. The Court of Arbitration refused to overturn their sanctions on appeal. Blatters six-year ban from soccer runs until next October.

Blatter is also a suspect in a Swiss criminal investigation into a $1 million FIFA loan in 2010 to the Trinidad and Tobago soccer body controlled by now-disgraced former FIFA vice president Jack Warner.

The case ended Platinis campaign to succeed Blatter as FIFA president in an election held in February 2016. With Platini suspended, UEFA put forward its general secretary Gianni Infantino, who won the vote.

Platini, who served a four-year ban, has long said he declared the money on his Swiss tax return. In 2018 he was cleared of suspicion in a letter from the Swiss federal prosecution office.

The investigation was revived when a different prosecutor, Thomas Hildbrand, took charge of some soccer cases. A previous lead prosecutor in FIFA-related work, he left amid turmoil in the department.

Hildbrands name was on the latest letters sent to lawyers on Tuesday, and seen by The AP.