Sports => Football => Topic started by: injunchile on December 05, 2005, 02:40:14 PM

Title: How did Anton become Don Leo's understudy?
Post by: injunchile on December 05, 2005, 02:40:14 PM
Friends- How did Anton Corneal become Leo's understudy ?
1- Was it a TTFF recommendation
2- Was it a Jack Warner directive
3 Did Leo choose Anton.

Now I am not against a local understudying  LEO, actually it is great for T&T football. My Question is how Anton got that cherry.
Title: Re: How did Anton become Don Leo's understudy?
Post by: truetrini on December 05, 2005, 02:54:24 PM
Breds..Anton was recommended by other dan he father

de man have real knowledge adn dis may just be what he needs to take him over de edge and make him a really good coach.

Anton has represented T&T at different levels including the Mens senior team.

He also distinguished himself in college.
Post by: Jahyouth on December 05, 2005, 03:23:45 PM

de man have real knowledge adn dis may just be what he needs to take him over de edge and make him a really good coach.

Truetrini,

so that makes Anton Corneal as a good replacement for Leo Beenhakker when he leaves the Soca Warriors?  All you say there I eh hear nuttin yet to reccomend him as a National Senior Team coach.  And far less, as a National Senior Team coach for a country with an apperance at a World Cup Finals (which we will be come June 2006).

Yuh boy hadda cut he teeth somewhere else bossman.  Not with the Soca Warriors.  Take a St. Vincent, St. Kitts, Haiti or Barbados (or even Panama) to start off with, prove yourself, and then come and talk to us. 

Good coach in your opinion or not, we are not a practice team for him to learn on.  And by learn I mean as a National SENIOR TEAM Coach, not national youth level, club or otherwise.

Come again.
Post by: TrinInfinite on December 05, 2005, 03:32:18 PM
whappen tuh stephan hart? he shoulda been de man tuh get de nod 4 dis, he have more knowledge and expertise than corneal by far
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 05, 2005, 03:33:30 PM

Truetrini,

so that makes Anton Corneal as a good replacement for Leo Beenhakker when he leaves the Soca Warriors?  All you say there I eh hear nuttin yet to reccomend him as a National Senior Team coach.  And far less, as a National Senior Team coach for a country with an apperance at a World Cup Finals (which we will be come June 2006).

Yuh boy hadda cut he teeth somewhere else bossman.  Not with the Soca Warriors.  Take a St. Vincent, St. Kitts, Haiti or Barbados (or even Panama) to start off with, prove yourself, and then come and talk to us.  

Good coach in your opinion or not, we are not a practice team for him to learn on.  And by learn I mean as a National SENIOR TEAM Coach, not national youth level, club or otherwise.

Come again.

Ah want to agree that Anton might not be ready for the senior team job after the World Cup.  I think we should go with one of the asssitants first and allow him to serve as an apprentice for another campaign before we even considering turning the job over to a local coach.  Men ain't realize the organization Beenie bring to this campaign.  Logistics is just as important as coaching, and our local coaches lack that foresight to plan for matches, especially when we travel.  
Post by: futbolfan on December 05, 2005, 03:41:58 PM

Truetrini,

so that makes Anton Corneal as a good replacement for Leo Beenhakker when he leaves the Soca Warriors?  All you say there I eh hear nuttin yet to reccomend him as a National Senior Team coach.  And far less, as a National Senior Team coach for a country with an apperance at a World Cup Finals (which we will be come June 2006).

Yuh boy hadda cut he teeth somewhere else bossman.  Not with the Soca Warriors.  Take a St. Vincent, St. Kitts, Haiti or Barbados (or even Panama) to start off with, prove yourself, and then come and talk to us. 

Good coach in your opinion or not, we are not a practice team for him to learn on.  And by learn I mean as a National SENIOR TEAM Coach, not national youth level, club or otherwise.

Come again.

ha to disagree wid yuh on this one jahyouth....yuh want anton to Take ah wuk wid St. Vincent, St. Kitts, Haiti or Barbados b4 he coach de warriors  ??? ??? yuh mad or what...we cryin dat we doe have nobody local who could coach we team... now dat a foreign coach groomin ah local coach for de wuk...yuh want to sen de local to ah nudder country fuh expeirience....dat doe make sense.... Me eh tink de US did sen arena to coach puerto rico or de virgin islands fuh no experience.....So basically yuh want we bring in ah nudder foreigner fuh de wuk....an when he contract up we go do de same ting....come nah boss yuh eh soundin like an QRC grad atall.. ;D ;D ;D
Post by: truetrini on December 05, 2005, 03:43:41 PM

Truetrini,

Come again.

well I am not sure that the understudy will necessarily be the man taking over the Senior team.  And isn't he being the understudy to learn from beenie man? 

By the way, where did Bruce Arena cut his teeth again?
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 05, 2005, 03:49:51 PM

Enlighten meh here.  He started off at Virginia, then went to DC United.  Is there a gap somewhere, truetrini?  If so, please fill me in.
Post by: Hyperhot J on December 05, 2005, 03:51:18 PM
    I myself was a little shocked when I read that Anton Corneal was supposed to be the Great Leo's little learner. I hope that he learns very well and he is able to contribute and keep our team at the level that it is at now, in the future, we may have to say some prayers for that, but then nothing is impossible. Stephen Hart was the coach of the Canadian National U-20 team up to 2 years ago and he was one of the good posters from back in the days and posted under the name "SH" if I remember correctly.

What going on with him, does he still post on this site? Stephen if you read this call or go down to T&T and links up with Beenie please.

J.  :D
Post by: doc on December 05, 2005, 03:56:30 PM
"...The Special Advisor to the TTFF, announced that following Beenhakker’s decisions, team training camps and clinics will take place in England and Trinidad between now and May 2006. Similar exercises will also take place in the United States once deemed necessary.
Warner said that Beenhakker also thanked assistant coach Theo de Jong for his services and he will now be replaced by another Dutch-born coach while the ex-Real Madrid boss has also requested that youth development officer and former national player Anton Corneal be brought on board to assist from January 2. “He wants him as his understudy so that he can leave a legacy afterwards and we were  quite pleased with that decision of his to have Mr Corneal on board. ” Warner said. ...."

Ah hope this answers the question. ;D ;D
Post by: Jahyouth on December 05, 2005, 04:01:41 PM

Truetrini,

Come again.

ha to disagree wid yuh on this one jahyouth....yuh want anton to Take ah wuk wid St. Vincent, St. Kitts, Haiti or Barbados b4 he coach de warriors  ??? ??? yuh mad or what...we cryin dat we doe have nobody local who could coach we team... now dat a foreign coach groomin ah local coach for de wuk...yuh want to sen de local to ah nudder country fuh expeirience....dat doe make sense.... Me eh tink de US did sen arena to coach puerto rico or de virgin islands fuh no experience.....So basically yuh want we bring in ah nudder foreigner fuh de wuk....an when he contract up we go do de same ting....come nah boss yuh eh soundin like an QRC grad atall.. ;D ;D ;D

I not sounding like a QRC grad?  You sounding like a Stay Home Sec man yuhself with that argument yuh just bring.

Number 1: Who calling for a local coach for the Senior Team?  Mankind calling for the MOST QUALIFIED individual, as well as the person with the most EXPERIENCE, none of which Anton Corneal is.

Number 2: What Trinidad and Tobago owe Anton Corneal to appoint him Senior Team coach over a number of more qualified persons?

Number 3: The Bruce Arena argument is a valid one, but one that is very much NOT the norm in International Football.  There are various levels of National Teams as there are club teams.  In order to make it as a coach at the highest levels you have to work your way up the ladder (or have a famous father like allyuh boy Anton).  To be appointed a coach of a "big time" National team you have to have plenty pedigree.  For a mid level National team, a little less pedigree and experience would do, while low level National teams will tend to take the best person that they can find with the resources that they have.  

That is why I am saying, "Anton yuh want to coach the Soca Warriors?  Show us what you can do at the Senior international level first."  I am sure that as excellent and knowledgable a coach as you say he is, he would have no problem getting the gig at a regional team and honing his skills there.  Or is that too much of a challenge or too much hard work?

By the way, you guys also need to remember that when Arena started as US Coach The Kaiser was also appointed as the US Technical Director.  Not a bad person to learn from as a rookie coach eh?
Post by: vb on December 05, 2005, 04:31:54 PM
I doh like to diss man too much on dis board...but a high quantity of shit is being spoken here.

First of all Anton was one of the top strikers for TT inthe 80s and 90s.

He was a member of the Strike Squd. until one day he and Dexter Skeene buss a cuss on Gally ass in a training Camp in Puerto Rico....and he then experienced a hiatus from the team. :)

He has proven himself with youth team for TT , having to work with extrmely LIMITED  resources.
When we buss a 3-2 victory over Cuba away from home. I didn't hear anybody knocking the Coach.

He is the TD Youth Director for TT. And now has a chance to understudy with one of the best at home.

Go and Coach a shit team from the Caribbean? To do what? To watch dem catch ass and say Anton eh no good.

And who de Hell say dey want him.

Who did Gally Coach b4 the Strike Squad?

Dddn't Najar and Warner work with youth teams b4 the Sr. team.

The man is doing a logical apprenticeship to groom him for the future. It doesnt' mean he'll get the job.

Besides the nomination of SH, ah find man quick to criticise but not offer a nominee.

I think this man getting Thunder ONLY becz Alvin is he faddah.

Peace,

Post by: DeSoWa on December 05, 2005, 04:45:59 PM
Thanks VB ah was going to say the same thing..but let me still add meh 2 cents..like some ppl doh know wha understudy means...the man going to learn from the best...and hopefully carry on the legacy after his departure..but this is in no way a guarantee of getting the coaching job...but at least he will have the experience and knowledge..better fete for our local teams..give de man a chance..let him prove heself.then we could criticize...
Post by: truetrini on December 05, 2005, 04:48:40 PM

Enlighten meh here.  He started off at Virginia, then went to DC United.  Is there a gap somewhere, truetrini?  If so, please fill me in.

so where is de gap in corneal's resume?

excuse me  and then enlighten me
Post by: real madness on December 05, 2005, 04:53:40 PM
Not all coaches work their way up the ladder regarding national teams..scolari only coached club teams b4 taking over Brazil national team. As for Corneal, i was surprised that he was selected but so far beenie hasn't made a bad step yet..so i have no reason to doubt Beenie's choice of Corneal.
Post by: Jahyouth on December 05, 2005, 04:57:49 PM
Not all coaches work their way up the ladder regarding national teams..scolari only coached club teams b4 taking over Brazil national team. As for Corneal, i was surprised that he was selected but so far beenie hasn't made a bad step yet..so i have no reason to doubt Beenie's choice of Corneal.

What club teams Scolari coached?  tell me that?  BIG TEAMS BOSS.  Not no second and third division teams.  That there give him pedigree.  And ah sure he win some titles with them club teams too.
Post by: palos on December 05, 2005, 04:58:02 PM
Anton's blessing & even bigger curse is that he is Alvin son.

I've heard good & bad things about Anton as coach but the good outweight the bad that I HAVE HEARD.

Alvin may very well be behind having his son as the understudy to Beenhakker.  Matter of fact, lest allyuh fuhget, Anton Corneal was one of the names tossed in the ring for the TD job that Lincoln Phillips now holds.  We all know the kinda politricikin dat does be goin on in we football with Alvin right up there as a chief politrickster.

We can only hope that Anton turns out to be the real deal.  His efforts with the youth team were encouraging with limited resources.  However....despite his father's public excuses for his son's failure, (a courtesy he does for no one else), our U 20's were totally outclassed in California during the qualifying for the U20 WC.  Yes, they were woefully short of preparation, but that alone cannot account for the almost grand canyonesque gulf in class that existed between T&T and the other teams in our group at that tournament.

Are there better local candidates?  Perhaps.  I'm sure there are many who can offer different, if not wortiher alternatives.  Let's wish him the best because until things RADICALLY change in T&T football....no amounta bumpin we gum on this board goin to change anyting.  
Post by: truetrini on December 05, 2005, 04:59:08 PM
who should be the understudy if not Anton?

And which T^T national currently has the"pedigree" that you so desire?

I eh see nutten wrong with Corneal excpet that he fadder name Alvin!
Post by: Jahyouth on December 05, 2005, 05:03:21 PM

So why it hadda be a local coach? 

I like what Palos say.  The man could talk the talk...  what happen in California?  tell me that.  We didn't just lose.  We got outclassed and embarassed.  That is who allyuh calling for as the next Senior Team coach?

Just like we went worldwide and look for Beenie, same way when he go we could do that again.  This time around it should hopefully be easier to attract TOP coaching talent than before.
Post by: real madness on December 05, 2005, 05:04:33 PM

What club teams Scolari coached?  tell me that?  BIG TEAMS BOSS.  Not no second and third division teams.  That there give him pedigree.  And ah sure he win some titles with them club teams too.

He coach clubs in Brazil that won but how many Brazilian coaches are respected for their successes in Brazil..i am not scolari is not good..he is very good but my point is he never coached any other international team prior to Brazil and your point is Corneal is not qualified to coach because he has never coached a senior national team.

Since corneal is not good enough according to u..suggest someone for the job.
Post by: truetrini on December 05, 2005, 05:08:47 PM

I like what Palos say.  The man could talk the talk...  what happen in California?  tell me that.  We didn't just lose.  We got outclassed and embarassed.  That is who allyuh calling for as the next Senior Team coach?

Just like we went worldwide and look for Beenie, same way when he go we could do that again.  This time around it should hopefully be easier to attract TOP coaching talent than before.

Why must it be someone foreign?  If we ever want to change the culture at home we have to begin to train locals.  they in turn can train other locals.  Yuh will neer see Cuba getting a foreign coach and their sportsmen seem to do very well in most endeavours.

The current TD feels that we need to develop local coaches so they can do the job first at the grassroots level and then on teh world stage.

so who better than Corneal..give me the shortlist.
Post by: Jahyouth on December 05, 2005, 05:10:12 PM

He coach clubs in Brazil that won but how many Brazilian coaches are respected for their successes in Brazil..i am not scolari is not good..he is very good but my point is he never coached any other international team prior to Brazil and your point is Corneal is not qualified to coach because he has never coached a senior national team.

RealMadness, how many coaches in the world are better than Anton Corneal?  Ok.  Of that number, how many already have coaching jobs?  Ok.  Of those who do not (or will not when we ready for a new coach) who is willing to take the job as Head Coach of Trinidad and Tobago?

That is how you go about getting a coach.  Look at the best people available, who you can get with your resources, and approach them.

Why limit ourselves to this small fry?  You eh see Beenie Resume?  It long like Santa gift list.  That is why we is where we is right now.  Trust me on that one.
Post by: Teflon Don on December 05, 2005, 05:14:19 PM

Ok now for this to happen the Ministry of sports ttff and whoever else it may concern have to fork out money like EVERY other Big sporting nation in the world.
Now this is what i would of liked....if we had enough money to keep beenie man on for 2yrs after the WC i wudda like to see latas be his assistant....I know sum men goin to cuss meh for saying it...BUT i look at it this way...latas will be respected by the players, he is already gaining experience coaching as we speak so it not going to be new to him and finally he will be learning from beenhakker who has proven that he knows what he is doing. I doh have a problem with anton corneal as a person bcuz i doh know him....but i would prefer if he get guidance from beenieman to be YOUTH team coach...let latas handle d senior team. But i will stick by this belief only if all of the above can be put in place ie beenie staying longer, Money to pay latas and beenie etc etc.
Post by: palos on December 05, 2005, 05:15:34 PM
Some people playin moutpiece fuh TD....

Tings dat mek yuh go......steeeeuuuppppeeeesss... ;D
Post by: truetrini on December 05, 2005, 05:20:41 PM

i eh playing no mout piece and de smiley face doh make yuh post any less offensive.

The Td on this very forum amde those comments.

Thank you
Post by: Jahyouth on December 05, 2005, 05:21:36 PM

Why must it be someone foreign?  If we ever want to change the culture at home we have to begin to train locals.  they in turn can train other locals.  Yuh will neer see Cuba getting a foreign coach and their sportsmen seem to do very well in most endeavours.

The current TD feels that we need to develop local coaches so they can do the job first at the grassroots level and then on teh world stage.

so who better than Corneal..give me the shortlist.

You calling Cuba big big.  How much World Cup Cuba ever make?  eh?  

Look: plain talk, bad manners.  Trinidad and Tobago is in fledgling stage in football.  We have a small professional league with questionable quality, poor attendence and only a few years under its belt.  We have a Super League where the majority of men is still mason and carpenter and policeman and ting.  That is the height of our big man football.

Youth football look whey we is: again plain talk, bad manners.  We have a Secondary Schools Football league that producing prima donas with plenty raw talent but poor technical and tactical ability.  When we take the so-called All-Star team from this jokey league we good for 5, 6 and 7 from teams of similar age groups in CONCACAF.

Where from this mess are we getting a world class local coach at this time?  Tell me that.  Eh?

We need the foreign influence to coach our local coaches, just as Beenie is doing with Anton Corneal, but still I do not think that we will have a world class calibar local coach for many years to come.

I am not saying that we do not have good local coaches.  We actually have a few great local coaches.  But is we see Bertille shortcomings in the international arena and he is one of our best, where does that leave the rest?

Until we get there a foreign coach will be our best option for the National Senior Team.
Post by: real madness on December 05, 2005, 05:22:47 PM
So Jahyouth...u believe we should only hire foreign coaches.  U think Jack and de government will spend that kinda money forever on football. U are right about endless coaches better than Anton Corneal but can we afford them.  Anton being an understudy appears as though Beenie trying to groom him to be a good coach..everybody have to start somewhere..most times u start at the bottom and work your way up..anton or no other coach will start great...Beenie wasn't always great.

I think it is agreat idea to have a local understudy..as for the choice of corneal..it looks shady to me but that is just my opinion...i am not in a position to judge who is qualified or not qualified to be the understudy..I will leave that for Leo Beenhakker.

U mention resources...are u planning to pay the salary of a big time coach....we couldn't do it in the past (i.e. rene simoes) and most likely we will not do it in future...Leo is ah one time thing..christmas came early this year but santa is no fool.  Do u think jack will fork out that amount of money again?
Post by: palos on December 05, 2005, 05:23:38 PM

i eh playing no mout piece and de smiley face doh make yuh post any less offensive.

The Td on this very forum amde those comments.

Thank you

So all of a sudden now u sensitive??.....STEEUUUPPPEEESSSS...and no f**kin smiley face wit dah one.
Post by: truetrini on December 05, 2005, 05:28:53 PM
But jahyouth, if we never put a local in the position where he/she can learn from a great, then how do we ever produce a man of quality?

I asked for a shortlist of others you would rather see there than Anton, and all you say is why it ahs to be a local.

That question alone shows why it MUST be a local.

bertille was offered the position to act as Beenis understudy and he refused.

Cuba has produced sporting greats without the benefit of foreign coaches/assistance.

They may have made the world Cup only once, but remember they are a BaseBall loving country first and foremost as well as boxing.

You make mention of the plight of our locally based footballers...more reasons for increasing the standard of coaching in T&T, amybe more will find ways to earn a living overseas.

Who si to say that if the standard of ball increases in T&T that the crowds won't come back?
Post by: Jumbie on December 05, 2005, 05:51:30 PM
Anton's problem..other than who his pops is.. I recall he make every excuse..even blame the players outright after they (youth team) got trashed in the US last year..not once did anyone, including that ass for ah father he has say.. maybe ..just maybe I was outcoached.

Kinda reminds me of "the fellas can't trap a ball"..then ah good coach came in and we in WC now...

Post by: truetrini on December 05, 2005, 05:55:29 PM
Anton's problem..other than who his pops is.. I recall he make every excuse..even blame the players outright after they (youth team) got trashed in the US last year..not once did anyone, including that ass for ah father he has say.. maybe ..just maybe I was outcoached.

Kinda reminds me of "the fellas can't trap a ball"..then ah good coach came in and we in WC now...

I may be mistaken, or maybe I misundersttod your post Jumbie. Bit I think it was Alvin who made all teh excuses and blamed the players' pedigree.  Not Anton???

Am i wrong?
Post by: Jumbie on December 05, 2005, 05:59:21 PM

I may be mistaken, or maybe I misundersttod your post Jumbie. Bit I think it was Alvin who made all teh excuses and blamed the players' pedigree.  Not Anton???

Am i wrong?

Maybe I'm the one that's worng? It's hard to tell the difference from one corneal to the next... I HAVE to ask.. is Anton your school buddy, pumkin vine, horn chile...etc? Or you just like the man as a coach. You seem to defend him with as much passion.. that you blast Mr. Warner.
Post by: dcs on December 05, 2005, 06:02:16 PM
They talked about having Leo doing seminars for our local coaches when he first came but it seems that has been scrapped and this is the alternative?

It really would be a waste if at the end of it all he leaves with all his experience and none is passed on.

It is a good move giving someone who will be around T&T football teams in the future some experience.  Most likely his position as Youth TD would have played a role in the choice AMONGST other things/people.  Choosing someone who will be more than a coach might be the reason.

Anyone know which of the local coaches are doing all the certification programs and looking to develop themselves?  Coaching talent is one thing but it is also a science...especially with the youth.

I didn't see anything where Leo talked about it....only JW's words.
Maybe he not on the seminar and teaching business.

Fervier is the only name I could come up with though I am sure there are many others.  Haven't heard anyone list them out though.   ???
Post by: SUPA on December 05, 2005, 06:09:59 PM
I'm not a fan of Anton, because I was around all ah dem in de coaching school, an meh experience wasn't a nice one. However, I'm no player hater, an do wish him all de best. I'm satisfied with him there, because Beenie made dat choice, an ah have full confidence in de coach. I'm sure Beenie must have seen something in him, dat none of us have seen.
Post by: truetrini on December 05, 2005, 06:10:26 PM

Am i wrong?

Maybe I'm the one that's worng? It's hard to tell the difference from one corneal to the next... I HAVE to ask.. is Anton your school buddy, pumkin vine, horn chile...etc? Or you just like the man as a coach. You seem to defend him with as much passion.. that you blast Mr. Warner.

i am not defending the man at all.  I asked for a short list of names.  He is a local and I believe a local should be the under study thats all.

I also ahppent o think he is a good coach and knows football.

The TD said he was going to establish training for local coaches so i feel that is appropriate.
If you or anyone else can suggest a more worthy nominee..do so.

f**k jack warner.

The seminars for local coaches is going to happen from all appearances DCS...the understudy will serve during the wc and beyond
Post by: Touches on December 05, 2005, 06:11:51 PM
Wha alyuh worrying bout?

Anton just going and hold the fort for 2.5-3 years because the Govnt will not be paying he salary and the TTFF need a coach cheap.
He go get a email once a month from Beenie and he go attend some coaching clinic and beef up he resume.
He was on Total football the other day saying he now come from a big coaching course and he lorse weight cause he was running on the field everyday.

When we reach semifinal rounds again.......because we will be seeded and will not have to play them prelim home and away game, we will do the regular...fire he tail via email or telephone citing he ent ready and bring in Beenhaker againt, Hiddink, Van Basten, Scolari or some other big coach for a few million US to take we to the end of the Hex.

You really feel Anton going and be a TT coach for 4 years right tru to 2010 SA. !! That go only happen when pig fly and cock get teeth.

Post by: morvant on December 05, 2005, 06:13:21 PM
touches have ah good point dey :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Title: Re: Question- How did Anton Become Don LEO understudy
Post by: BigToe on December 05, 2005, 06:13:25 PM

i really shouldnt comment on dis cuz dis man is D son of ALVIN CORNEAL who is in my opnion de understudy of Nahkid cuz d both a dem does make LEVEL trouble... so best i not express how ah go feel fuh d man son...

If you have no opinion regarding this matter, why d ass yuh post then? It's better to keep your mouth shut and let people think you're a fool than to open it and confirm their suspicions.
Post by: BigToe on December 05, 2005, 06:15:19 PM
3 Did Leo choose Anton.

Now I am not against a local understudying  LEO, actually it is great for T&T football. My Question is how Anton got that cherry.

Doh make sense to me. I would like to see someone with more credibility be assigned that position.
Post by: palos on December 05, 2005, 06:29:34 PM
People askin for local names....I'll toss some around.

Stuart Charles - W Connection - St Lucia

James McLean - NE Stars - Guyana

Clayton Morris - T&T Futsal team - T&T

Bertille St Clair - St Clair Coaching School - &T  ;D

Russell Latapy - Falkirk - T&T

Jamal Shabazz - Caledonia AIA Fire - T&T

Terry Fenwick - Jabloteh - England

Crab Connection coach (me eh know who it is but from what I hearin home...dem playin real ball)

Post by: truetrini on December 05, 2005, 06:34:14 PM
yuh name too locals dey.

I mean T&T born and based.

Now ah real like de Latapy name.

He also stated that he wanted to coach..he may be the main man.
Post by: palos on December 05, 2005, 06:36:56 PM
yuh name too locals dey.

Why they have to be T&T born?  If they consistently based in T&T and gettin results...should not that be enough?  Stuart Charles is an excellent example.
Post by: truetrini on December 05, 2005, 06:38:26 PM
yuh name too locals dey.

Why they have to be T&T born?  If they consistently based in T&T and gettin results...should not that be enough?  Stuart Charles is an excellent example.

True, but I eh on de Fenwick  or dat BIG shit hound talibandit Shabazz
Post by: Touches on December 05, 2005, 06:51:14 PM
Palos I not feeling any local coach for TT

why because they shitty........and suffering from not accustommed. The TT team has outgrown all the local coaches and we must look at the big picture.

We are now a WC team, we must maintain this standard and we must get better.

Why should we hamper the development of our football team by giving a local man a wuk if he is incapable of the job.

None of the local coaches are capable because it is more than just tactics that is needed. It is a networking thing you have to have partners in the football world. You have to have people who fear and respect you in the football world. You have to have connections to resources, scouts, tapes etc.

Look at Beenie he tell the Mexicans and them to f**k off in SPanish and we train normal on they field when they try to run us. But previous coaches had we training on field with bottle and goat and gettin manners in a setta small island.

What local coach have any of them things?

What local coach could talk more than 2-3 languages to help with communication when we play our opponents.

The only people who remotley close to that are Latapy,Yorke and Nahkid because they have spent over 15 years in a professional football environment abroad and have played with and among the best. They have the practical skills and experience that the local coaches doe have.

Also there is a thing called respect and ego and we have plenty of it down here. You think a man coaching PFL could tell one of we Starboy strikers how to run, how to turn or tactics when he himself never grace or smell a European training facility. WHy yuh think Najaar was scorned by the players.

We are not experts in the field of football and for us to improve we need to bring in experts to train and coach us. Trying to learn by ourselves has resulted in failure and we tired experience that.

Also look at some of them coaches......one used to run to Hospital in lilleshall each time he reach England.

Another is a terrorist and cyar step foot on US soil as he get lock up in jail they. Given the fact that nearly every team we play in the Hex we had to pass tru Miami, what the point having a coach who cyar travel with the side and is a flight risk.

The next one pelting elbow at man  and have a poor record in his homeland......why yuh feel he snug down here.

TT football has outgrown all these men and its up to the younger coaches  to improve themselves and keep up with football and earn the right to coach a WC team.

The locals ent good enough, and I doe think the TT national WC team is the vehicle that should be used to beef up anybody resume.

Come with the experience, come with the skills and strategy and implement. We ent want no hands on learning by feeling approach.

Yuh musnt send jackass to run horse race.

Post by: BigToe on December 05, 2005, 06:53:42 PM
well yes you have a point that i didnt start off very intelligently however maybe if u wouldnt be a f**kin jumbie and actually read anyone else who posted before you yourself posted you wouldnt have to have anyone else explain to why he is credible especially since touches who is about two posts up from you gave the best put reasoning to it...so doh be so quick to jumbie man yuh jackass

whatever panty man! This have nuttin to do with Touches and his report. Also, try using a punctuation....i cyan understand one flick ya trying to say.

Post by: Touches on December 05, 2005, 07:00:37 PM
Another point to think about.

Of the teams that have qualified for the WC....how many of them using a local coach?

Look at past Wcs and make an assessment.

In concacaf alone only USA use a local before they had Mulitinovich.

Mexico have a Argentine, Costa Rica have a Brazilian born, we have a Dutch.

Jamaica had a Brazilian. Korea had Dutch, England have a Swedish.

The point I am making is that only traditional football superpowers use local coaches. Brazil, italy, germany, Argentina, Holland etc. All these countries have strong traditions and very good domestic leagues. The rest get their coaches from these countries.

Why reinvent the wheel, when it has already been perfected.
Post by: palos on December 05, 2005, 07:06:40 PM
Palos I not feeling any local coach for TT

why because they shitty........and suffering from not accustommed. The TT team has outgrown all the local coaches and we must look at the big picture.

We are now a WC team, we must maintain this standard and we must get better.

Why should we hamper the development of our football team by giving a local man a wuk if he is incapable of the job.

None of the local coaches are capable because it is more than just tactics that is needed. It is a networking thing you have to have partners in the football world. You have to have people who fear and respect you in the football world. You have to have connections to resources, scouts, tapes etc.

Look at Beenie he tell the Mexicans and them to f**k off in SPanish and we train normal on they field when they try to run us. But previous coaches had we training on field with bottle and goat and gettin manners in a setta small island.

What local coach have any of them things?

What local coach could talk more than 2-3 languages to help with communication when we play our opponents.

The only people who remotley close to that are Latapy,Yorke and Nahkid because they have spent over 15 years in a professional football environment abroad and have played with and among the best. They have the practical skills and experience that the local coaches doe have.

Also there is a thing called respect and ego and we have plenty of it down here. You think a man coaching PFL could tell one of we Starboy strikers how to run, how to turn or tactics when he himself never grace or smell a European training facility. WHy yuh think Najaar was scorned by the players.

We are not experts in the field of football and for us to improve we need to bring in experts to train and coach us. Trying to learn by ourselves has resulted in failure and we tired experience that.

Also look at some of them coaches......one used to run to Hospital in lilleshall each time he reach England.

Another is a terrorist and cyar step foot on US soil as he get lock up in jail they. Given the fact that nearly every team we play in the Hex we had to pass tru Miami, what the point having a coach who cyar travel with the side and is a flight risk.

The next one pelting elbow at man  and have a poor record in his homeland......why yuh feel he snug down here.

TT football has outgrown all these men and its up to the younger coaches  to improve themselves and keep up with football and earn the right to coach a WC team.

The locals ent good enough, and I doe think the TT national WC team is the vehicle that should be used to beef up anybody resume.

Come with the experience, come with the skills and strategy and implement. We ent want no hands on learning by feeling approach.

Yuh musnt send jackass to run horse race.

Ah hearin yuh loud & clear bredda Touches.

BUT

I eh know of a nex NAME foreign coach who will come T&T to UNDERSTUDY Beenie fuh 7 months wit de idea of takin over de national team.

What is important to me is that we utilise the opportunity while Beenie is here to garner as much knowledge as we can.  Because we may not YET be ready, doesn't mean that we incapable of bein ready in de future.  I think it is a positive step to have a local based coach (or coaches) work closely with Beenie.  That person needs to be the correct individual for the position because to my mind, it is not just about being the POSSIBLE future coach of T&T, but also, and maybe more importantly, to PASS ON THE KNOWLEDGE GAINED UNDER BEENIE TO OTHER COACHES FOR THE OVERALL DEVELOPMENT OF LOCAL FOOTBALL.

This is where our TD Mr. Phillips will play a crucial role in organizing coaching seminars etc so we can have a structured environment for our football to follow and build upon.

Companies do it all the time.  Four Seasons Hotels opened in Nevis years ago but a condition of the licence given to Four Seasons was that they had to train local managers so that one day, they too could assume the mantle to the benefit of the country at large.  I think it is right and proper that we do so.  The challenge, as it always is, is to get the right personnel for the task.
Post by: Touches on December 05, 2005, 07:14:50 PM
Palos I go pelt one local coach into the mix.........Dion La Foucade. He have the qualifications, he young and he bright.

If a man is good enough to be the Youth Team coach at AC Milan.....then whats TT national side.

But we know why he lorse he under 17 wuk because he ent pick a certain player on he squad.

But in terms of bright prospects he woulda be a good man for the job.
Post by: palos on December 05, 2005, 07:20:52 PM
Palos I go pelt one local coach into the mix.........Dion La Foucade. He have the qualifications, he young and he bright.

If a man is good enough to be the Youth Team coach at AC Milan.....then whats TT national side.

But we know why he lorse he under 17 wuk because he ent pick a certain player on he squad.

I was definitely thinking about Dion but that excellent point you raised about respect from our foreign based pros etc would hold just as much, if not more for him.  It's a difficult situation no doubt.....but who is going to be the right person for the job? 

Myself, I would have chosen Stuart Charles.  He did a decent job with the team when he had them.  Many of our pros already know him having been either under his charge at some point in time or played with him as a player (Yorke, Latas, Shaka etc).  He has consistently done well with W Connection and I don't believe the "respect" issue will be much of a factor in his case.

Failing Stuart Charles, my other choice would have been Latas.  The biggest thing going against Latas right now is that he is currently a member of the squad and it does not seem as if Beenie's philosophy includes a player/coach.  Other than that...Latas would have been as good a candidate as Stuartie for me.

Post by: Coop's on December 05, 2005, 07:34:33 PM
My understanding was that Anton Corneal was the Technical Director for the development of  Youth Football in the country,i guess that would be one of the reasons for him understudying Benie,it does not mean he is going to take over as Coach of the senior team,it's to better prepare him for the position he has.

I've seen the US use a mixture of Local and Foreign coaches over the years and they are quite successfull with it,so no one can tell me it can't work.All i'm hearing about is the Snr team,are we bringing in Foreign coaches you our Youth teams too?because the consensus is that our local coaches are no good,which is something that i will never support,i think if our coaches are exposed to high level Football on a regular basis they will do very well,the mentality will always be Foreign is better.(opinion)

No one pays any attention to our women's team,when are they going to get a foreign Coach,from what i'm seeing like we don't have any Coach that can coach women,Shabazz having a good time with the national team because there is no one to replace him and that going on for years,no one takes on the results when our women plays because we know what to expect.The same person coaches all our Women national teams.  

Post by: palos on December 05, 2005, 07:39:52 PM
No one pays any attention to our women's team,when are they going to get a foreign Coach,from what i'm seeing like we don't have any Coach that can coach women,Shabazz having a good time with the national team because there is no one to replace him and that going on for years,no one takes on the results when our women plays because we know what to expect.The same person coaches all our Women national teams.  

Could it possibly be that not many in T&T are interested in coaching Women's teams?  I really don't know what the situation is home but I have spoken to a few coaches (not in Trini) and their opinion of Women's Football is normally not complimentary.
Post by: Coop's on December 05, 2005, 08:16:46 PM

Could it possibly be that not many in T&T are interested in coaching Women's teams?  I really don't know what the situation is home but I have spoken to a few coaches (not in Trini) and their opinion of Women's Football is normally not complimentary.
The reason why their opinion of women's  Football is normally not complimentary is because their expectations are too high and expect to see the quality of women Football the same as men.

If you want to appreciate women's Football you have to take your expectations down some notches,a lot of coaches have problems with it because you have to understand women Footballers to coach them,i will not get into it but it's a whole different world of Football you are getting yourself into,so you find coaches rather just don't get involved.

I've coached and still do coach a lot of girls and women teams out here and very succesfull with them and i can say i rather coach them any day than men,their main problems are their technical skills and play at a slower pace than men do.       
Post by: gtokyo on December 05, 2005, 08:19:18 PM
I definately SUPPORT Anton as ONE of the UNDERSTUDIES...Having trained underhim in those early days at Carib grounds in Champ Fleur.  I could definately say in Youth Development, he is very communicative.   He is also very motivating...He is not d type guy dat go cry yuh down if yuh do shit..He always looking for you to bring out your best.  Not like another fella like D late Roderick Warner...use to real CRY DOWN MAN for nothing dread.  I still cant understand how he was D national coach of Trinidad.    Anyway as a QRC man...I supporting a FATIMA man....ANTON....vibes it up ;D
Post by: palos on December 05, 2005, 08:30:46 PM
The reason why their opinion of women's  Football is normally not complimentary is because their expectations are too high and expect to see the quality of women Football the same as men.

If you want to appreciate women's Football you have to take your expectations down some notches,a lot of coaches have problems with it because you have to understand women Footballers to coach them,i will not get into it but it's a whole different world of Football you are getting yourself into,so you find coaches rather just don't get involved.

I've coached and still do coach a lot of girls and women teams out here and very succesfull with them and i can say i rather coach them any day than men,their main problems are their technical skills and play at a slower pace than men do.       

Thanx Coop's.  Do you believe our coaches home in general have that mindset you spoke of?  If they don't perhaps it may explain why only Jamal Shabazz is coaching all the women's national teams.  It could also be that those in charge of football in T&T and who decide who coaches who may not have that required mindset.  Maybe a combination of both.

I look at Rene Simoes.  A man who led Jamaica to a world cup berth.  Also a man who had the necessary "mindset" to coach the Brazilian women's football team.  How many Rene Simoes' are there in T&T?  Is it that a coach would coach anyone as long as he/she gets to be employed?  Have you perhaps considered being a coach for T&T women's teams at any level?  Would that be practical for you in terms of where you live now etc?
Post by: Coop's on December 05, 2005, 09:29:28 PM

Thanx Coop's.  Do you believe our coaches home in general have that mindset you spoke of?  If they don't perhaps it may explain why only Jamal Shabazz is coaching all the women's national teams.  It could also be that those in charge of football in T&T and who decide who coaches who may not have that required mindset.  Maybe a combination of both.

I look at Rene Simoes.  A man who led Jamaica to a world cup berth.  Also a man who had the necessary "mindset" to coach the Brazilian women's football team.  How many Rene Simoes' are there in T&T?  Is it that a coach would coach anyone as long as he/she gets to be employed?  Have you perhaps considered being a coach for T&T women's teams at any level?  Would that be practical for you in terms of where you live now etc?
I have been following Women's Football in T&T and then the US since i came here for some time now, especially as i had a daughter on our national team at one time.

The coaches i can remember we had were Roby Greenidge,Dexter Skeene,Anton Corneal and now Jamaal Shabazz.

What you are saying is right our coaches don't have the "mindset"to coach Women's Football in T&T,you just can't employ a coach and say go and coach women if he don't have the experience,it really explains why Jamaal does it all.

I have spoken with Dr Iva Glouden on many occasions concerning Women's Football,at one time our national team was offered to do a week Camp with my Company but it just did not materialise.Her mindset is good but the same problems the men's team does have it's about five times harder for women,she can't do anything without Jack Warner and women Football is not a big priority for the TTFF.

If i have to coach in T&T again i would really like to be involved with Women because i think i have the "mindset" for it.I've cosidered it many times when i look at our national teams play,i coach these girls out here and know what it takes,but Football at home is not encourageing where employment is concern.(Coach) If i'm offered a position at home i'll accept because home is where i want to be.

Post by: davyjenny on December 05, 2005, 09:32:28 PM
doh put all the eggs in one basket.

ttff should have not one but,two understudy coaches.

this board is the best.like andre say.

ah love it.
Post by: dcs on December 05, 2005, 10:03:17 PM
The seminars for local coaches is going to happen from all appearances DCS...the understudy will serve during the wc and beyond
Well that is the best news since qualifying.

I want people to count up how many national teams we have and the number of coaches needed for all those positions.
Then draw up a budget for employing foreign coaches to fill all those positions.

Fact is, local coaches are going to be coaching our players at some of the most crucial age levels.

While there is a certain eye for the game a coach must have...natural affinity for the position based on past experiences, I don't think it's black magic.
If you give people the proper training and exposure they will at the very least be competent.
If yuh check I don't believe Leo was any big time player...he is a student of the game.

I don't know much about Anton Corneal but I'm sure he is no fool and will learn from Leo.  The man is TD for the youth program.  I cud understand arguing for a different person like Fervier but it does not hurt in anyway to have Anton deputising.....unless he just not ready but in that case he should not be Youth TD either.

Now yuh hadda wonder if Nahkid didn't cuss the waitress if he woulda be the Assistant Coach  :thinking:         Nahhh   :shameonyou:
Post by: dutchman on December 05, 2005, 10:52:55 PM
I've read now why & how this has happend.
Theo got replaced with Anton Corneal ?
The TTFF had demanded Leo to bring in now a Trinidadian coach, this with the development of football in T&T in mind. Leo finds the national coach of players under 20 a good candidate so unfortunatly he had to thank Theo for his services. 
Well that's how Don LEo has explained it in dutch press.

so what was the story of another dutchman coming in ?

Voetbal: Beenhakker bedankt assistent De Jong

PORT OF SPAIN (ANP) - Leo Beenhakker heeft Theo de Jong bedankt als assistent-bondscoach van Trinidad en Tobago dat over zeven maanden deelneemt aan de eindronde van het wereldkampioenschap voetbal. De Nederlandse bondscoach neemt in zijn plaats een trainer van Trinidad mee naar Duitsland. Wim Rijsbergen heeft hij wel gehandhaafd in zijn staf. Theo de Jong sprak maandagavond voor de NOS Radio zijn teleurstelling uit over zijn ontslag. ,,Het was wel even slikken'', zei de oud-international, ,,leuk was de mededeling niet. We hadden nog afgesproken dat we met zijn drieën zouden doorgaan als we met het elftal van Trinidad zou winnen van Bahrein.''
Leo Beenhakker legde uit hoe het was gegaan. ,,De bond heeft mij het verzoek gedaan om een van hun eigen coaches in de staf op te nemen met het oog op de ontwikkeling van het voetbal in het land. Die man zou geweldige ervaring op kunnen doen. De coach van het nationale jeugdelftal onder twintig is wel een geschikt iemand. Ik moest daarna een keus maken. Helaas heb ik moeten besluiten Theo de Jong te bedanken.
Post by: arrow on December 05, 2005, 11:08:00 PM
Like Touches said, we have no need to bring a big time foreign coach until 2009 semi-final WCQ rounds so let's just bring back Fervier after the World Cup to handle the senior team through the next set of friendlies, Digicel etc.  In the meantime Anton can digest some good knowledge and tactics from Beenie and then maybe go on to coach U-23 for the 2008 Olympic qualifiers.  I think it would be another fantastic accomplishment for T&T to qualify for our first football Olympics but Jack or Gov't ent paying for no big time foreign coach for this.  Instead of focusing on the failure of the U-17 team, why not let Corneal improve his coaching abilities 100% by learning from Beenie and maybe the results will be much improved next time.
Post by: Jahyouth on December 06, 2005, 02:12:51 AM
I definately SUPPORT Anton as ONE of the UNDERSTUDIES...Having trained underhim in those early days at Carib grounds in Champ Fleur.  I could definately say in Youth Development, he is very communicative.   He is also very motivating...He is not d type guy dat go cry yuh down if yuh do shit..He always looking for you to bring out your best.  Not like another fella like D late Roderick Warner...use to real CRY DOWN MAN for nothing dread.  I still cant understand how he was D national coach of Trinidad.    Anyway as a QRC man...I supporting a FATIMA man....ANTON....vibes it up ;D

gtokyo, what shit yuh talking about Roderick Warner fighting down men?  because yuh was a non player and must be get clout up in PE class?  Steups...

Roderick Warner was one KNOWLEDGEABLE coach brodder man.  Trust me on that one.  I played under many local coaches from schoolboy level to National U-17 level (men like Warner, Jean Lillywhite, "Eggs" Alexis, Jimmy Blanc, Ken Butcher, Grovsner, Hayden Martin, Grayson from Arima) and Warner was as considerably better or better than all of them from a knowledge and experience standpoint.  Communication wise Warner used to have men cracking up as he would use humour to pass messages.  So if yuh is shit expect to get some pong from him, but not in a cry down disrespectful way atall.
Post by: BigToe on December 06, 2005, 02:42:05 AM

I heard that too! A replacement for De Jong's departure.

I can't see Beenie giving in to the demands of the TTFF.
Post by: injunchile on December 06, 2005, 05:52:39 AM
Thank You Jayyouth for being fair and Just. Roderick Warner was a very good coach who was a great motivator.
Post by: fishs on December 06, 2005, 06:05:38 AM
Roderick Warner was the most experienced coach in TT  up to the time of his murder (RIP).
He was a man that said it as he saw it and most importantly he was not afraid of who he said it too.

Anton is quite a likeable man, who like his father is still contributing to the trini game , even with all the detractors.
I am glad he is given this opportunity , because I think he is the brightest of all the young coachs on offer and know that TT will only benefit from.
Post by: spideybuff on December 06, 2005, 06:19:37 AM
I just doh understand how them just throw Clayton Morris off the map so...he shoulda at least be in line for something like this...
Post by: dutchman on December 06, 2005, 06:36:28 AM

I heard that too! A replacement for De Jong's departure.

I can't see Beenie giving in to the demands of the TTFF.

Well I guess quite easy since Beenie always had said that because of a lack of time he had to bring in his own assistents. That the time pressure isn't such an issue anymore.
Theo was a bit emotional on dutch radio, perhaps Tallman or Flex can send him a T&TWarriors.NET shirt ?
If needed setup a paypall account.
I dunno but I think he must have worked hard, he was still part of a dream team..
 & to miss the WC twice first as an assistence of A. Haan in China and now in T&T must be a bit of a blow.

So are we going to send him something or not ?

btw: I really donno the fellow
Post by: Ponnoxx on December 06, 2005, 07:13:20 AM
 Anton is the UNder 20 coach so this is a good thing
Post by: Themanfriday on December 06, 2005, 07:41:50 AM
I agree this way the youth of the nation get the right fundamentals.... Just getting them ready for 2010
Post by: FF on December 06, 2005, 09:19:42 AM

Yeah boy ... steups de man eh pick me yes.... how allyuh find out bout that?? ah was sour!!!

oh wait allyuh talking bout the 2001 side??
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 06, 2005, 09:21:38 AM

/quote]

What club teams Scolari coached?  tell me that?  BIG TEAMS BOSS.  Not no second and third division teams.  That there give him pedigree.  And ah sure he win some titles with them club teams too.

Boss, yuh know the magnitude of coaching Brazil.  Rethink yuh statement.  Brazilian coaches are respected worldwide.  Doh get tie up now.
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 06, 2005, 09:23:56 AM
Roderick Warner was the most experienced coach in TT up to the time of his murder (RIP).
He was a man that said it as he saw it and most importantly he was not afraid of who he said it too.

Anton is quite a likeable man, who like his father is still contributing to the trini game , even with all the detractors.
I am glad he is given this opportunity , because I think he is the brightest of all the young coachs on offer and know that TT will only benefit from.

Ah keep saying Jamaal Shabazz could work well under Beenie.  De man have potential.
Post by: duscam on December 06, 2005, 09:34:33 AM
Fellas,
You all dont realize, but as TNT has now qualified the confusion will now start. It is my opinion, that everyman jack in trinidad football now want "their player" to make the squad. the Corneals and them also have thier personal interests, and as jack warner friends Anton can now lobby for his players to get to play in the world cup. what that would mean for corneal is contracts for players he represents and therefore a big payday. dont get it twisted. trini football like any other industry is mafia and mafia activity usually involves trying to make huge sums of money..ALWAYS at the expense of Trinidad and Tobago. So for a man, who just run some camps in the US and never won or developed any program in the US I find it hard to believe it is for him to carry on a legacy.  And also, if alyuh men know about Alvin Corneal you would know that that move is not in the best interest of Trinidad football cause he would "kill" a players career, if the player did not sign for him to be his agent.
Post by: dutchman on December 06, 2005, 09:44:35 AM
Fellas,
You all dont realize, but as TNT has now qualified the confusion will now start. It is my opinion, that everyman jack in trinidad football now want "their player" to make the squad. the Corneals and them also have thier personal interests, and as jack warner friends Anton can now lobby for his players to get to play in the world cup. what that would mean for corneal is contracts for players he represents and therefore a big payday. dont get it twisted. trini football like any other industry is mafia and mafia activity usually involves trying to make huge sums of money..ALWAYS at the expense of Trinidad and Tobago. So for a man, who just run some camps in the US and never won or developed any program in the US I find it hard to believe it is for him to carry on a legacy.  And also, if alyuh men know about Alvin Corneal you would know that that move is not in the best interest of Trinidad football cause he would "kill" a players career, if the player did not sign for him to be his agent.

I think this is not respecting Don Leo.
He and nobody else will make the team.
1st man is Don Leo
2th man is Wim
..........big gap
Anton

So yes Anton can try to push a certain player but if they see anyone better it would not happen.
I don't think he would really be so stupid to do that.
Post by: duscam on December 06, 2005, 12:16:00 PM
sorry
yuh just forget to main things that always take the forefront in trini

1.politics
2.jack warner.
Post by: football king on December 06, 2005, 01:07:50 PM
Anton is the UNder 20 coach so this is a good thing

this is so true.  the u-20 coach anton, La fu, ron la whoever, should be on the Sr team staff-part time, full time.  U-17 coach should be there also.  We want the younger players to understand the sr team system and set up so it will be easier for them to make the jump.  all the teams should be using the same philosophy, structure.

Now should Anton  Corneal be u-20 coach- boy let me leave that one.  Beenie ok with it so it can't be that bad of a decision-i hope more men get the chance to work under the dutchman.
i like the La fou idea-young and hungry to learn.  he thirsty for knowledge.
Post by: Coop's on December 06, 2005, 03:05:28 PM
Lets make some sense off this thing,what's the criteria for selecting Coaches for our national teams,are they screened,is it qualifications,is it experience,i've always wondered how they come across deciding on who should be Senior or Junior Coach.In my time we did not have to apply it went on track record,i think now it's resume`etc.

I don't really like talking about other Coaches because i'm one myself,but these guys you all talking about,what's their experience and record coaching at the senior level Football.

I know La Foucade coaching his Coaching school from day one,has done every coaching Course there is,has he coached any school,club etc what experience does he have at that level.

Ron Laforest experience player,worked and successfull with schools and clubs,assisted at the international level every national team Coach we had , not sure about qualifications(courses).

Jamal Shabaz the little i know is this, played/coach college,coach club/Snr and Jnr national Womens teams,done every coaching course in T&T,our most experienced Womens Coach.Does not have a good track record.

These guys are some of the best our country has,but they will not be able to make it on there own,they need help,Football is a team game and we need to have a team of our best Coaches working together with Lincoln to improve our Football,the problem with our Coaches is that everybody does their own thing,that might be good for home but will not work in the world of Football today.     
Post by: football king on December 06, 2005, 03:25:19 PM
man i honestly can't remember the last time local coaches come together put their differences aside, unify towards improving TT football.  It would be a lovely thing to see. 

-Alvin don't like BSC
-BSC don't like anybody- he want to be the lone ranger. for him to work with or under anyone is putting the cart in front of the horse.
-Alvin must be pushing anton who guilty by association with his father that no one seems to like(i think alvin a decent coach)  :devil:
-La fou not getting another job while Jack around and Jack is the bossman
this one don't like the other etc blah blah
-For years is bitterness and bad mind amongst SSFL coaches.
all kiinda stupidness going on and our football suffering, everybody need to forget the past and look forward.  maybe forget all them older haeds and bring out a new, young and less stubborn crop.
Post by: Coop's on December 06, 2005, 03:45:13 PM
man i honestly can't remember the last time local coaches come together put their differences aside, unify towards improving TT football.  It would be a lovely thing to see. 

-Alvin don't like BSC
-BSC don't like anybody- he want to be the lone ranger. for him to work with or under anyone is putting the cart in front of the horse.
-Alvin must be pushing anton who guilty by association with his father that no one seems to like(i think alvin a decent coach)  :devil:
-La fou not getting another job while Jack around and Jack is the bossman
this one don't like the other etc blah blah
-For years is bitterness and bad mind amongst SSFL coaches.
all kiinda stupidness going on and our football suffering, everybody need to forget the past and look forward.  maybe forget all them older haeds and bring out a new, young and less stubborn crop.

I totally agree with you,i just don't know what is our problem,no one man could do it i don't care how good he is,Benie brought his own assistants because he can trust them,they will do what he says.

If Lincoln,Benie etc don't get good people around them willing to work with them,they can't be succesfull,the people behind the scenes are very essential to any succesfull Coach,i don't think any other Coach got the support that Benie got which helped quite a lot.
Post by: MATADOR on December 06, 2005, 06:25:22 PM
Fellas,

I enjoy reading the threads and will only contribute when I know facts and not heresay, and also from personal experience. By doing this I add validility to my comments.
I know for a fact that over the years Anton was the Director of Coaching for the PSA Stars in High Point NC, and also conducted several coaches courses as well as developed a few successful programs at the high school and college level throughout the US. The man is and has accomplished a high level of certification in the sport and despite not being one of my favorite players to have worn the RED WHITE and BLACK colors, is by far one of our most qualified coaches. His appointment of national coaching duties was offered to him by Jack Warner himself, and as testament to his ability he was the one to have choosen Beenie.
Anton was selected as Beenie's assistant based on his experience at youth level, his certifications in the coaching field which includes the top level FA license, etc etc and based on Beenie's choosing.
We will have many opportunities for the Clayton Morris, Leonson Lewis, etc etc to demonstrate there level at coaching, for the plan is to build and provide from the younger age groups throughout the country, this will occupy several teams in various districts. Believe me someone will have to conduct the neccessary coaches courses, clinics,  and Anton is a good candidate for such a role.
Post by: gtokyo on December 07, 2005, 02:25:06 AM
JAHYOUTH I found  your post to be full of passion.  I commend you  on that.   As you stated, your experience with Mr.Warner amongst several other coaches in your post was instrumental in your growth and development.  I would even go further to add as your post suggest that Mr.Warner was a mentor of soughts to you.
Having said that, I would like to add that different coaches have different ways of communicating and how they approach situations as I am sure you can vouch.  So just how you have accolades for Mr.Warner, I have for Mr.Corneal.  As the saying goes, different strokes for different folks. With that in mind, I will continue to endorse Mr.Corneal. 
Post by: Jahyouth on December 07, 2005, 10:07:35 AM
JAHYOUTH I found  your post to be full of passion.  I commend you  on that.   As you stated, your experience with Mr.Warner amongst several other coaches in your post was instrumental in your growth and development.  I would even go further to add as your post suggest that Mr.Warner was a mentor of soughts to you.
Having said that, I would like to add that different coaches have different ways of communicating and how they approach situations as I am sure you can vouch.  So just how you have accolades for Mr.Warner, I have for Mr.Corneal.  As the saying goes, different strokes for different folks. With that in mind, I will continue to endorse Mr.Corneal. 

Yes gtokyo my post about Roderick Warner was full of passion.  Why?  Because I (as well as many others on the board as you see with the responses that you got) do not take kindly to people talking badly about others where there is no reason to.  Warner is dead, and died under grusome circumstances.  It was a very untimely death and a great resource of Trinidad football went with him that fateful night.  Say what you want about Roderick, he ALWAYS had the peoples' support.  ALWAYS.  They used to call him "Teach" up in Biche because of his knowledge of the game, and respect in the wider community.  The same, sad to say, cannot be said about Alvin Corneal.  He may have a lot of knowledge of the game, but the respect of the people, the man in the street, is something that he will never have due to his "knowitall better that thou" attitude, favouritism, and playing politricks with football when Trinidad and Tobago deserves much more than that.

So you are fully within your rights to "endorse" Alvin Corneal.  But at the same time, please refrain from tearing down a man who does not deserve it.
Post by: doc on December 07, 2005, 03:37:45 PM

Yes gtokyo my post about Roderick Warner was full of passion.  Why?  Because I (as well as many others on the board as you see with the responses that you got) do not take kindly to people talking badly about others where there is no reason to.  Warner is dead, and died under grusome circumstances.  It was a very untimely death and a great resource of Trinidad football went with him that fateful night.  Say what you want about Roderick, he ALWAYS had the peoples' support.  ALWAYS.  They used to call him "Teach" up in Biche because of his knowledge of the game, and respect in the wider community.  The same, sad to say, cannot be said about Alvin Corneal.  He may have a lot of knowledge of the game, but the respect of the people, the man in the street, is something that he will never have due to his "knowitall better that thou" attitude, favouritism, and playing politricks with football when Trinidad and Tobago deserves much more than that.

So you are fully within your rights to "endorse" Alvin Corneal.  But at the same time, please refrain from tearing down a man who does not deserve it.

Who's right? Different people have different experiences with different coaches. I can't say I know him personally, but some comments he made regarding some players from 'bago had given me a different opinion of him than Jahyouth had. So there would always be these differences in opinion.
Post by: truetrini on December 07, 2005, 05:15:33 PM

Please try to remember we NOT talking about Alvin is Anton..who happens to be fine man too.
Title: July 10th 2006
Post by: MEP on December 10, 2005, 09:58:47 PM
While we are basking and revelling in our fortunes at having made WC 2006 it seems that little thought is being placed as to what happens comes July 10th, 2006. Beenie has indicated that he won't be around after the world cup. Jack Warner has said that he has acheived his goal. The TTFA has made littleheadway into revamping football at home. The only thing they have done is to appoint Anton Corneal Asst. Coach.
Is this indicative of the direction that TnT's football is headed? Is Mr. Corneal being groomed to take over from Mr. Beenhaaker? If he does take over the senior team does he have the competency to coach at that level? After all look how poorly the youth teams he commanded have done.
It seems as if the old boy network that has held TnT's football in the doldrums for all these years is once again rearing its head.
Wha allyuh think?
Post by: TrinInfinite on December 10, 2005, 11:30:46 PM
i agree wit u, SH should have gotten dat post, he is a much better coach, anton is young and dis is good but in all honesty, we have better who could have learned and passed de knowledge to anton afterwards, when he gets more experience, tuh me dis is an old boy ting over again
Post by: trinbago on December 11, 2005, 01:01:57 AM
I am of the opinion that you guys are talking past each other....

First of all...the article says Anton was appointed understudy by request of Beenie.

2nd.....truetrini say that was a good choice......ah think most would agree, including Jayouth we want a local for that position..

Does that mean he will be the next coach ??...hopefully NOT....I hope trutrini  was trying to make this same argument..

3rd.......Jayouth say he should NOT be the next coach of socawarriors which most of we agree with too and should...the reason being exactly of his pedigree........he does NOT necessarily have to coach another regional team to gain experience.....,..after Beenie...he should make it his mission to coach one of the better PFL teams and then possibly our Olympic team.....then move to the gold cup team....and then we could make an assesment for him as a WC coach.....he would have built his resume that way...NOT necessarily thought St Vincent or Antigua.........

Jayouth is correct that he still will not ready when after his mentoring with Beenie.....and ah hope truetrini meant the same thing......what we were agreeing on is he should be the understudy so we have a local who could impart his gained knowledge to the youths and clubs and raise the standrard of we play as well as coaching....

On a side note:  It is interesting to see how truetrini is  usually the first man to speak out about corruptiion, accountabilty and nepotism....but all of ah sudden with Anton is NO PROBLEM....makes you wonder...
Post by: dervaig on December 11, 2005, 08:16:02 AM
Didn't read all the posts in this thread, but here are some facts
about Anton Corneal.

He IS a FIFA certified coach, with an 'A' badge. There are 5 such
coaches in Trinidad?
He currently plys his trade as the TD for one of the biggest
youth clubs in the Southeast U.S. This club has over 3,000 players
at both the rec and competitive levels.
Prior to taking the job as the T&T Under 20 coach, he interviewed
with the Adidas Academy in Bradenton, Florida, and was offered a
job as one of the coach's on staff. He turned down the job because
he is a true 'Trini', and wanted to give back to the youth of Trinidad.

Is Anton qualified to be on the coaching staff of the Senior team?
If he was an American, with his football knowledge, he would be
very active in American youth football, at the National level.
So yes, he is more than qualified, regardless of who is dad is.
Post by: christiano on December 11, 2005, 09:21:24 AM
Its interesting how we make comments on other people and we have no idea of their qualifications. In order to become a coach at this level, there are some pre-requisites . These include reaching (not by talking) but by certification of the different levels of coaching skills that are made available through the various acedemies and workshops that are held throughout the world.

I hear men calling men name who does be talking on TV and the Radio !
Who are the five coaches that have achieved the highest level of coaching that we could have choosen from ...anybody knows ?

Are we seriously educating ourselves about the game ?   
Post by: warmonga on December 11, 2005, 02:23:08 PM
3 Did Leo choose Anton.

de man need a f**king bitch to eat  dats why he call Cornmeal!!!!!!!!
warmonga...
Post by: Jahyouth on December 11, 2005, 07:24:54 PM
about Anton Corneal.

coaches in Trinidad?

But more than qualified for what?  Youth Football?  All I saying is that Anton Corneal could have all the badge and liscense he want, when it comes down to it he does not have sufficient experience at the senior level.  This is not no lil boys you dealing with.  Is big men, and big men with more accolades and international experience than him, so what kind of respect will he have in the camp, in training sessions and on the bench during games?

His name coulda be Anton Brown.  He have to garner HARD EXPERIENCE coaching big men.  Take a job as I mentioned before at a regional national team, or even a PFL team.  All those liscenses are boo when all you have is paper qualifications at senior level.
Post by: NC on December 11, 2005, 08:29:09 PM
about Anton Corneal.

coaches in Trinidad?

He also recently completed and passed with the highest score, Germany highest level football course.

This site has too many emotional responses ... too many opinions based on likes and dislikes ... Racism is based on like and dislikes ... we can use some more reasoned responses.  I am not defending Anton because he can do that himself ... but the fact of the matter is I happen to know that he is one of the most qualified coaches in the country.  He works very hard, and was interviewed and choosen by Don Leo after recommendation by many within the TTFF.
Post by: Sentinel on December 11, 2005, 11:21:57 PM
I welcome youth....and intelligence....haters...will just be haters...brilliant...go Anton

Luv U TandT
Post by: dervaig on December 12, 2005, 08:37:27 AM
J-Youth,

With all due respect, to gain experience you have to start somewhere,
right?
Where better to garner that experience than under a coach who has coached at the highest level.
Yes, coaching at the senior level is different than at all other levels, but he is only assisting, and not yet pulling all the strings. If Beenhakker thinks he is worthy, in time, I am sure he will make a recommendation. If he doesn't think he's worthy, well then ............

If not Corneal, who then? Give me a name of someone with the credentials, and the experience (on and off the field).
Post by: Marky NYC on December 12, 2005, 12:16:44 PM
I played allot of soccer in Trini under many different coaches, and actually trained under Anton for sometime, he is one of the best coaches I have ever played under, somehow he always knows how to take the pressure off and keep you thinking about just playing the game and having fun.

Granted I dont think he has the international experience needed to be the Head coach of the T&T National Team, but like the subject of this post said " Anton become Don Leo's UNDERSTUDY" with his age and the support and experience from big coaches like Leo, I think he can do well, and become a great future prospect for the country, this could be a very good thing for the development of T&T future Soccer.
Post by: Observer on December 12, 2005, 05:37:47 PM
just for the record there is no such thing as a FIFA Certified Coach. Anyone tell yuh dat full ah sh*#.
certification is either by country or standardized by UEFA
Post by: dervaig on December 12, 2005, 07:51:51 PM
You are correct, there is nothing such as a 'FIFA Certified Coach'.
But, you can become a FIFA Licensed Coach.

Anton is a FIFA 'A' Licensed Coach.