Sports => Football => Topic started by: Coop's on December 09, 2005, 12:12:20 AM

Title: Sydney FC vs Deportivo Saprissa
Post by: Coop's on December 09, 2005, 12:12:20 AM
The club championship game with Sydney FC will be on Fox Sports,Monday at 5:00 pm.
Title: Re: Sydney FC
Post by: Mose on December 09, 2005, 06:33:33 AM
Actually, I think that will be 5:00am Eastern Time on FSC.
Post by: Warrior till death on December 09, 2005, 06:34:57 AM
allyuh serios?????
 ;D :beermug:
Post by: saga pinto on December 09, 2005, 06:47:35 AM
Yes that's correct 5:00am!
Post by: BigToe on December 09, 2005, 08:03:02 AM

Thank god for TiVo...
Post by: Coop's on December 09, 2005, 09:05:30 AM
Thanks guys for correcting my error.
Post by: Brej on December 09, 2005, 12:38:00 PM
ah cyah wait i hope dem cud put ina good show yes
Post by: Jefferz on December 09, 2005, 03:44:40 PM

meaning... thats what time in Trini?
Post by: Coop's on December 09, 2005, 03:45:55 PM

meaning... thats what time in Trini?
6:00 am
Post by: Jefferz on December 09, 2005, 03:47:14 PM
or scn yea Eastern (US)
Post by: D.H.W on December 09, 2005, 07:30:35 PM
5 am lord i hope i wake up in time :-X
Post by: Brej on December 09, 2005, 09:35:49 PM
AM
wa d ass alya eh say da lol
hada set ma clock den
Post by: Jefferz on December 11, 2005, 06:52:04 PM
6 O CLOCK! WAKE YUH ASS UP TUH WATCH DIS GAME TOMORROW MORNING BRIGHT AND EARLY ON CHANNEL 60 FSC!! GO YORKE!!!
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 11, 2005, 10:19:46 PM
Ah was telling meh girlfriend that I waking upto see that game.  I saw a piece of the first game between AL Ihtad and the Al Ally (hope I have the phonics right), and it was OK.  The players weren't lacking technically.  Should be a nice mini tournament.  Go Liverpool!
Post by: skins on December 11, 2005, 10:42:13 PM
Right now. Fox showing the asian club team vs the african team
Post by: Sentinel on December 12, 2005, 04:22:47 AM
Thanks for the reminder
Post by: Ponnoxx on December 12, 2005, 04:44:45 AM
 Yorkie playing good ;D ...Yorke is a boss midfielder ;D
Post by: oconnorg on December 12, 2005, 05:09:21 AM
Lawd I left 5 mins into the game to come to work.. UPDATES PLEASE>!
Title: Re: Sydney FC - Yorke is a BOSS!
Post by: Solo on December 12, 2005, 05:19:47 AM
I just like de way my captain bossing de game breds. He looks like the fittest man on the pitch playing from end to end. At halftime he was de only man running off de field while odda men just slow-walking. I cant wait for when we meet England in Germany next year, I know Yorke going to put one in them. ;D
Post by: andre samuel on December 12, 2005, 05:21:46 AM
Interesting game!

0-0 half time

Sydney FC is no shit side, they are a very good and very organised team.  They had the better of the first half against the concacaf clubs champions.

Yorke, Japanese star Miura and the #12 on de left looking good.  Yorke playing a really nice midfiled game.

The standard of play is really good and i will be surprised if anyone who saw this game will bad talk the austrailian league considering the fact that this team is second in dat league.

I for one am impressed, cause i used to hear men talk bout how sydney is like ah PFL side and all kinda ting, but after watch thim up to this moment, i am sure that Sydney are at worst a Championship level team !

Post by: oconnorg on December 12, 2005, 05:28:34 AM
Interesting game!

0-0 half time

Sydney FC is no shit side, they are a very good and very organised team.  They had the better of the first half against the concacaf clubs champions.

Yorke, Japanese star Miura and the #12 on de left looking good.  Yorke playing a really nice midfiled game.

The standard of play is really good and i will be surprised if anyone who saw this game will bad talk the austrailian league considering the fact that this team is second in dat league.

I for one am impressed, cause i used to hear men talk bout how sydney is like ah PFL side and all kinda ting, but after watch thim up to this moment, i am sure that Sydney are at worst a Championship level team !

De kinda money they pelting into their league, no way it could be of a low standard... Because of Sydney FC big signings, that RAISE the level  of the entire league cause Other teams will wanna prove them selves.
Post by: oconnorg on December 12, 2005, 05:43:42 AM
DAMN IT..!!
Title: sydney fc vs deportivo sabrissa
Post by: Trini/Sverige on December 12, 2005, 06:03:21 AM
well the match going live now i here i sweden watching with smiles not because they under 1-0 but cus dwight reeeeeellllllll playing ball the man playing like a midfield general he rel stringing passes all over the field the commentator say that he is involved in every attack for sydney.but honestly how he playing there he does not play for tnt( whole game at least) but it will be nice to see him perform like that in  the wc the swedes watching the match are scared.
p.s i already booked my ticket to germany bicthes hahaha
Post by: trinibug on December 12, 2005, 06:04:37 AM
That wasn't no red card!
But it look bad though. Yorke pickiing up the intensity. But Sydney need to start taking shots. They have all the posession, but can't connect with any crosses.
Title: Re: sydney fc vs deportivo sabrissa
Post by: oconnorg on December 12, 2005, 06:09:12 AM
Hey when last you saw a T&T game homie?
Post by: spideybuff on December 12, 2005, 06:09:22 AM
Yeah we could tell that you really in Sweden cause u outta de loop...that's how Yorke plays for us now. Captain leading by example all over the pitch...tha's why we in the World Cup this rounds !
Post by: Trini/Sverige on December 12, 2005, 06:13:20 AM

what shit yuh askiing me

Yeah we could tell that you really in Sweden cause u outta de loop...that's how Yorke plays for us now. Captain leading by example all over the pitch...tha's why we in the World Cup this rounds !

stupid i know thats where he plays i am talking about his work rate and his effectiveness i in sweden but up to date king doh get tie up seen i just saying that if he plays with that amount of heart in the wc we going far what the f&%k i say wrong????
Post by: oconnorg on December 12, 2005, 06:15:48 AM

what shit yuh askiing me

The Shit i am asking you is when last you saw My Dwight Yorke Play For T&T .
Post by: oconnorg on December 12, 2005, 06:16:30 AM
DAMN.. Da is it.. de game dun?
Post by: Trini/Sverige on December 12, 2005, 06:17:40 AM

what shit yuh askiing me

and yuh so dumb yuh ask me again king i saw all the qualifying games yuh azzzz i just say that the man playing wiht reeeeellll heart did i say anything wrong(no) i and said that i wished that he plays like that in the wc too

like allyuh feel i is swede or wah i live here boss, is ah trini to meh bone i know what is the scene blesss
Post by: christiano on December 12, 2005, 06:25:55 AM
No scene ... most importantly whats the latest score ?
Post by: OutsideMan on December 12, 2005, 06:26:42 AM
Game just ended...Sydney lost 1 nil
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on December 12, 2005, 06:43:18 AM
air force one   chill yuhself     u now join d forum   u cah be talkin to A.W.A.T.T members like that cuz u are the  W word here lol   

dat ref did shit an costa ricans are stink     sydney shud have won
Title: Re: Sydney FC vs Deportivo Saprissa
Post by: andre samuel on December 12, 2005, 07:13:06 AM
aye air force one, take it easy!!

nobody ent fighting yuh down, so there is no need for all the hostility!!

De reason why de man ask yuh that is because Yorke has been showing that grit and determination throughout this campaign!!

He has been all over the pitch in this final round and has been leading from the front for a long time now.

What u saw today was exactly how he has been playing for us!

Post by: SydneyFC on December 12, 2005, 07:20:19 AM
Well I couldn't be much more proud of the lads.

Yorke is DA MAN!!  ;) ;D

Honestly towards the end of the game we should have put a midfielder on and pushed Yorke up front to provide us with a good finish we panicked a bit at the end and didn't have a great finisher. Yorke has only been playing in that midfield position for Sydney FC since Kazu arrived - about 4 matches. I don't know if he will move back to a more attacking role now that Kazu will be leaving (he was on a short loan).

Don't forget Sydney FC play Al Ahly the African champions on the 16th of December - you can see another Sydney FC match - hopefully a victory!  ;D

Oh, and as you can see - He IS a good goalkeeper - he just has some bad games every now and again. :rotfl:

p.s. I am going to try and get tickets for the T&T V Sweden game at Dortmund - hopefully I can see some of you lads there. I will be in a Sydney FC YORKE 19 jersey :)

I hope you guys THRASH England  ;D
Post by: saga pinto on December 12, 2005, 07:21:02 AM
My comments on the game:firstly dwight yorke is the best player on sydney fc,secondly there defense is to slow that was the reason why the goal scored,saw a defender from sydney struggling to catch up to ah man from saprissa,last point there strikers lack vision and speed something we have commented on many times on this site.Man of the match is dwight yorke that man is a true professional he's showing heart,passion,and great conditioning he could have played the whole game for sydney by himself.    
Post by: spideybuff on December 12, 2005, 07:21:42 AM

stupid i know thats where he plays i am talking about his work rate and his effectiveness i in sweden but up to date king doh get tie up seen i just saying that if he plays with that amount of heart in the wc we going far what the f&%k i say wrong????

Stupid...if you could read u would see i said HOW not WHERE. Tha's HOW Yorke plays for us now...and I was tryign to be nice and educate a man who clearly out of touch with the reality of Trinidad and Tobago football but going Germany to represent us...steups.
Post by: oconnorg on December 12, 2005, 07:48:26 AM

what shit yuh askiing me

and yuh so dumb yuh ask me again king i saw all the qualifying games yuh azzzz i just say that the man playing wiht reeeeellll heart did i say anything wrong(no) i and said that i wished that he plays like that in the wc too

like allyuh feel i is swede or wah i live here boss, is ah trini to meh bone i know what is the scene blesss

Ok Padnah.. I was not on any kinda disrespectfull thing with you.. i asked you a simple answer and got a rather f**ked up response. . You went tooo far there....  I respect each any every one in here, you just lost my respect....

cheers.!
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 12, 2005, 10:14:12 AM
ah go send allahallyuh to bed without ah damn thing to eat.
Post by: Trini Madness on December 12, 2005, 10:16:08 AM
de blasted ref give deportivo de game. sydney play de better game. de score shoulda been atleast2-1 sydney. dat was rel  :bs:  meh boy yorke play rel good dis mornin. yea i wake up to see de game ;D
Post by: morvant on December 12, 2005, 12:04:26 PM
TICKET

allyuh make meh use meh 2000th post to give this man ah ticket oui ;D
Post by: rippin on December 12, 2005, 12:38:17 PM
Yorke ran a very good game. Excellent distribution. The lil turn he had in the box was nice. I think he should have been converted to a striker. He was travelling the pitch too much and none of the other FC players looked like they posses creativity and finishing ability except Petrovski and he was in and out the game.

Even though FC controlled ball possesion I think Saprissa looked more dangerous when they had their little spurts. Azofeifa  looked very likely to score in my humblest opinion. I supporting the Concacaf team cause they stick to their game plan even when under pressure and looked very composed at times. I think Saprissa tested Sydney's keeper more than Sydney tested Saprissa's. Sydney started off knocking the ball in the first half then started to play long ball for periods in the second. Often faltering at the top of the 18 yard box. When they fnally got back composure late in the second half they looked likely to score. It was just too late.

Saprissa over Liverpool!!!!
Same scenario. An uneventful first half. Then they will turn it up a notch in the second,  score and sit back and absorb pressure.
Post by: Grande on December 12, 2005, 01:11:30 PM
Sydney FC falls but wins fans all over the world
Tuesday, 13 December, 2005 - 2:18AM

Sydney FC well and truly arrived on the world stage tonight but left Nagoya unlucky losers after outplaying Deportivo Saprissa but falling 1-0 in a match that showed Australian football belonged in the elite company of international football.

As well as proving that Sydney FC, and indeed the Hyundai A-League, was worthy of respect on a global stage, several of the Sydney FC players stood tall with stellar performances.

David Carney tore Deportivo Saprissa to pieces in the first half, Sasho Petrovski returned to the form that saw him win a Socceroo call up, Clint Bolton made three world class stage, two of which came when Sydney FC was pushing for a late equalizer, and young defender Mark Milligan proved his star is certainly on the rise.

While those four Australians were outstanding, Dwight Yorke and Kazuyoshi Miura proved their international status with dominant performances.
Sydney FC did everything but score in the first half; dominating possession, creating chances, pressuring the experienced Costa Ricans into error and holding firm in defence. Unfortunately the luck was not with Sydney and they failed to turn dominance into goals.

Ultimately that was what cost them a dream shot at European Champions Liverpool in the semi finals.

Immediately after the half time break, Deportivo Saprissa caught Sydney FC napping and Christian Bolanos scored what was to be the winning goal in the 47th minute by bringing down a searching long ball with his chest and slotting the ball home.

The goal came during the only 15 minute period when Sydney FC looked rattled and Costa Rica controlled proceedings. Even when defender Alvin Ceccoli was controversially sent off in the 81st minute, it was the Australians that looked most likely to score.

Ceccoli was shown a straight red card following some play-acting by the experienced Deportivo Saprissa goalkeeper Jose Porras, who theatrically rolled on the ground after Ceccoli had contested a free ball in the penalty area.

“I feel disappointed with what happened,” Ceccoli said. “I feel as though I have been robbed of finishing the match and playing in the next game without doing anything wrong. If I had hit him I would have copped it on the chin but I don’t think there was anything in it.”

When pressed, Littbarski bit his tongue before quipping: “I think the goalkeeper got up pretty quickly and looked okay straight after.”

It was a harsh finish to the match, and the tournament, for Ceccoli, who had played marvelously well in defence, as he has throughout the A-League.

As indicated yesterday, Sydney FC Coach Pierre Littbarski thrust Andrew Packer into the side in place of the injured Jacob Timpano with Milligan moving into the centre of defence alongside Iain Fyfe.

Littbarski stated he wanted his side to attack Deportivo Saprissa and he was true to his words. Kazu and Petrovski combined brilliantly up front and with Yorke causing trouble in the middle of the park Sydney FC started brightly.

Carney, Yorke and Kazu all had shots on goal within the first five minutes while Bolton was called upon to make a good save from a deflected shot early on.

It was Sydney FC that dominated the tempo of the match and had a great advantage in possession in the first half. However, it was straight after the break that Sydney FC conceded the goal.

Unfortunately, as well as Sydney FC played, the goal was a lesson in the need to stay switched on for 90 minutes at this level. While football-wise, Sydney FC showed they belonged, it was a moment of naivety that cost them. But, that is a lesson that is learned over time.

Sydney FC went into the match hoping for a shot at Liverpool but more than anything else they were anxiously awaiting the verdict on their status in world football at club level. The Europeans and South Americans remain the yard sticks but there is no doubt they pulled alongside the next line, the Central Americans.

“It was disappointing to play so well and come so close but not come away with the win,” said Sydney FC midfielder Steve Corica. “I thought we showed tonight that we belong on this stage and this level of football. In some ways it hurts even more because we know we should have won the game.”

His sentiments were backed up by Littbarski, who was struggling with the emotions of disappointment, frustration and pride as he faced a 100-strong media contingent after the match.

“I think tonight we showed we are as good a team as Deportivo (Saprissa) and we deserve to be at this level,” he said. “I think the two teams were pretty equal, both had some chances, but the difference was they scored a chance with a well taken finish.

“We are proud of what we did and we are happy with the way we represented Sydney FC and Australia. After tonight, we will be determined to re-group and finish with a win in the next match.”

Sydney FC will now take on African Champions Al Ahly in Tokyo on Friday (December 16) in the play off for 5th and 6th place and any thoughts of a dead rubber are buried under the extra $800,000 prizemoney that is on offer for winning that match.

Deportivo Saprissa 1 (Christian Balanos 47) d Sydney FC 0

Post by: Jefferz on December 12, 2005, 01:55:33 PM
Yea Saprissa is disgusting dem men is all stall tactics and good acting, put dem in a costa rican soap opera. STEWPS. RED CARD MY A$$. Yorke played well tho. Sydney definately played miles better than those shitongs!
Post by: gtokyo on December 12, 2005, 09:08:45 PM
Yorke is a BOSS...Is a pity, he couldn’t play more in the strikers role.  I agree that the strikers lacked vision.  Is only so much Yorke could have done in this game. I felt Yorkie was the only playmaker in this game for Sydney.  It must be one of the best games I have seen him play in a club t-shirt in a longtime without having the support that he is used to in the EPL. You could definitely see his class in this game over his teammates.  He just wasn’t getting the support whereby he could have played as a striker.  Sydney played well but you felt that they were lucky to have gone in 0-0 at halftime and it was only a matter of time before Saprissa scored.  I think Sydney gave a good account of themselves.  I was impressed with Carney. I would have liked to see them in the semi-final against Liverpool but I think Saprissa is going to be a very worthy opponent on Thursday. HATS of Dwight..
Post by: StoreBayLimer on December 12, 2005, 10:20:10 PM

An outstanding performance by Yorke!!  Like others,  I also think  that Yorke is the most impressive player on the Sydney FC side eventhough I was hesitant to say so partly because me ain’t want people (fellaz I talk to who don’t even look at the game)  to say I bigging up the man too much.

Sydney FC needs a creative attacker if Yorke  is playing in the midfield.  Kazuyoshi Miura was not that impressive and dropped out of the game for major intervals.  Costa Ricans/Saprissa on the attack is to be feared.  Look at the one time Yorke missed the ball in the midfield, and the  FC defense could not stop the attack.

Post by: fishs on December 12, 2005, 11:49:49 PM
Boy ah going to get real buff here.

Ah leave work early and went to the camp an watch de game (1415).

First half start an yeh Yorke take over, de Jap running hard and fast an going nowhere.
De team (Sydney FC) stringing passes together like nobody business with Yorke pulling the strings, some nice lil back heel an through pass allowing men 50-50 chance on goal.
Saprissa start to get back in de game lil bit but dey passing atrocious !!
Dey had along ball into de area that cause panic in de Sydney defence.

To me the game looking like is ah over 35 game. De pace slow, slow.
Half time result 0-0.
Ah say to mihself Sydney in trouble , dey should ah score at least one goal.

Second half start an yuh could see Saprissa pick up de pace.
Long ball again , man take down neat wid he chest and score with ah right footer.
After dat Saprissa pick up even more pace and real working de ball arouind.
Dey upset Sydney more patient build up from de back game because man getting caught out of position and not in de spaces dey should a be.
De old Jap get couple nice balls wide and waste dem because he trying to star in front de crowd.
Yorke only effective now retrieving de ball from de defence and spreading it wide and sometimes try to find Cani or Kani wide up front.
As the game get older Yorke getting ball and jus hitting an hope into the area. Man get sen off an ting an game over.

What I saw is Yorke being able to collect and control ball den distribute because he was given time and space in de first half because Saprissa like dey was sleeping.
In de second half as dey lift de pace, de control dta Sydney had was over, speed and skill take over.
Yorke whilst working hard show (tuh me ) dat de speed of turn, sight to pass gone and I now concerned about how he will make out in the world cup given that magician also slow down a bit.

Aite  ah taking mih buff now.

De hardest an Dwarika tuh me better start training dey guts out.