General => Entertainment & Culture Discussion => Topic started by: Themanfriday on December 23, 2005, 08:52:04 AM

Title: Christmas carols, parang, soca parang
Post by: Themanfriday on December 23, 2005, 08:52:04 AM
http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/latin.htm

This makes me so home sick. I love you TRINBAGO Merry Christmas
Title: parang
Post by: warmonga on November 12, 2006, 09:20:15 AM
Lawd a jamming to some serious parang .. this parang riddim from 2001 still gwan wicked!!!!!!!
pass drink man ..pass drinks..pass sips.. is drinks a drinking!!!!!!!!!!
is 17 years mi aint have a trini Xmas!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
war..
Title: Re: parang
Post by: WestCoast on November 12, 2006, 10:32:47 AM
look ya choons here  http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/parang/bring_drinks.htm
http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/parang/drinking_anything.htm

here ah link
http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/latin.htm
Title: Christmas carols, parang, soca parang
Post by: samo on November 23, 2006, 07:54:07 PM
Can anyone tell me the name or who sings the christmas carol that goes something like this...

Laughing children tug at Mr. Santa....

Thanx
S
Title: Re: Can anyone help me with this christmas carol???
Post by: Feliziano on November 23, 2006, 08:16:18 PM
Can anyone tell me the name or who sings the christmas carol that goes something like this...

Laughing children tug at Mr. Santa....

Thanx
S

well ah know was a skinny old man used to sing it
they used to show it between shows or when TTT breakdown lol
Post by: samo on November 23, 2006, 08:20:34 PM
well ah know was a skinny old man used to sing it
they used to show it between shows or when TTT breakdown lol
Post by: Tallman on November 23, 2006, 09:00:59 PM
Ah come across dese lyrics, but ah cyar remember de name of de chune

Laughing children, tug at Mr. Santa
Teddy bears, and dollies singing mama
The fragrance of black fruit cake and red wine,
We'll toast to a special friend of mine

His name is Jesus,
Come little children
Round my Christmas tree,
We'll have a very merry time
We'll sing dance and play
Til the break of New Year's day
We'll listen to the church bell chime.

Christmas presents, come with seasons greetings
There will be such peaceful loving feelings
Such feelings should not come just once a year
To laugh to cherish and to share

There's a light that shines on every flower
And it shines every minute every hour
And it always guides me on my way
This light was born on Christmas day

His name is Jesus
Come little children
Round my Christmas tree
We'll sing dance an play
We'll listen to the church bells chime
Post by: samo on November 24, 2006, 04:41:50 AM
Thanx tallman....
Post by: cocoapanyol on November 25, 2006, 10:21:04 AM
De singer name might be "Kelwyn Hutcheon" but ah not 100 percent sure.  Ah doing some checking.  If ah get confirmation, ah go post it.
Post by: Tallman on November 25, 2006, 11:04:23 AM
It could be Around My Christmas Tree by Lennox Gray
Post by: Organic on November 25, 2006, 11:04:35 AM
De singer name might be "Kelwyn Hutcheon" but ah not 100 percent sure.  Ah doing some checking.  If ah get confirmation, ah go post it.
he did sing alot of x mas carols but i eh think its he who sang this particular one....
Post by: cocoapanyol on November 25, 2006, 05:23:24 PM

Ah tink yuh might be right.
Post by: palos on November 25, 2006, 08:53:35 PM
Ah remember a christmas carol and a christmas carole.  Both a dem was decent.  Have to admit, ah did like christmas carole more doh.
Post by: Feliziano on November 25, 2006, 10:14:05 PM
yes that is the fella
slim old man
Post by: cocoapanyol on November 25, 2006, 10:23:57 PM
I found this site that list Lennox Grey as the singer of "Around my Christmas Tree".  I'm almost sure it's the same tune but unless I hear it, I don't know for sure.

http://web.telia.com/~u31142163/express.html
Post by: samo on November 26, 2006, 07:27:47 PM
Thanx everyone...
Post by: FF on November 28, 2006, 11:55:29 AM
Kelwyn Hutcheon did use to be on TV singing... "oh how i wish I was a child again..."

Who have de lyrics for dat?
Post by: fari on November 28, 2006, 12:41:34 PM
sometimes when i see bills pile up i does wish i was a chile again :D
Post by: Dutty on November 28, 2006, 12:42:52 PM
sometimes when i see bills pile up i does wish i was a chile again :D

:applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: dwolfman on November 29, 2006, 12:08:00 PM
If I used to check this board I would have saved you guys a lot of trouble. I knew Lennox Gray when I was a little boy and he did indeed sing this song. I see him walking around the Savannah from time to time sporting an awful hair cut.

We used to sing this song in primary school for our Christmas Concert.

Title: Re: Can anyone help me with this christmas carol???/kelvin for those in trini
Post by: Organic on December 01, 2006, 04:09:45 AM
Local crooner Kelwyn Hutcheon is having a very busy season with public appearances and the continuing demand for his long-time Christmas CD “Christmas Classics,” as well as the very well received CD, "In The Name of Love."

Hutcheon, has just launched a re-issue of his 1998 CD, “But Beautiful,” in collaboration with Simeon Sandiford of Sanch Electronix.

It is a unique mix of beautiful love songs, with accompaniment by the Felix Roach Jazz Ensemble.

The legendary vocalist has, for the first time, done one of the songs with tenor pan accompaniment; and also a duet with Tricia Lee Kelshall of “Someone To Watch Over Me.”

Hutchenson will be making his 20th appearance on Sunday December 17th at what has become the biggest family Christmas event in this country the annual “Carols By Candlelight” at the President’s Grounds.

Source:-islandevents.com

30/11/2006
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 01, 2006, 11:39:11 AM
when i use to hear dat song it really put mein de xmas spirit as ah lil fella.
Post by: Tongue on December 02, 2006, 09:16:50 AM
yuh
Ah remember a christmas carol and a christmas carole.  Both a dem was decent.  Have to admit, ah did like christmas carole more doh.

yuh is ah real keow yes .... ;D ;D ;D ;D
Title: paramin parang tonight
Post by: ann3boys on December 18, 2006, 05:38:37 AM
hey there  all you back home for the holidays...Paramin is the scene tonight so try and get up there to enjoy the best of Christmas.
ayee!! ;D
Title: Re: paramin parang tonight
Post by: ann3boys on December 18, 2006, 05:43:38 AM
I forgot to say, this will have plenty traffic, and starting is supposed to be 7pm, so get there early
Title: Re: paramin parang tonight
Post by: cocoapanyol on December 18, 2006, 10:53:01 AM
Well enjoy de lime girl and sing two Sereno, Sereno fuh me!!
Title: OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO- AIEEEEEEEEEE
Post by: Organic on December 22, 2006, 10:26:17 AM
The Queen
(http://www.meppublishers.com/online/caribbean-beat/82/images/cb82-1-60_img2_fs.jpg)
Title: Re: OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO- AIEEEEEEEEEE
Post by: WestCoast on December 22, 2006, 10:41:30 AM
take a listen here http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/parang/alegria.htm
and here http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/parang/hoorah_hoorah.htm
and here http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/parang/el_diablo_suerto.htm
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on December 22, 2006, 10:55:11 AM
parang! parang!

Oh LORSE! Ah feel good now...

baila! Cansion papa...yes! Ah miss meh parang dis year boy! :beermug:
Post by: dwolfman on December 22, 2006, 03:56:44 PM
Just today I scanting to some Daisy.
Post by: Crissy D on December 27, 2006, 10:31:10 AM
How yuh does scant tuh parang????
Post by: WestCoast on December 27, 2006, 03:22:57 PM
I just got a copy of both "Christmas Classics" and "In the Name of Love" by Kelwyn Hutcheon from my brother in TnT.
Very good Voice and put me back in de Christmas Spirit.

some samples of Kelwyn Hutcheon's renditions of the Christmas classics.
http://www.trinidadmusicstore.com/Description.asp?catnumber=CR012&virpath=/genre_listing.asp
Post by: kicker on December 28, 2006, 11:32:15 AM
Nice tune...something about it used tuh give me the chills though....
Title: PARANG PARANG PARANG
Post by: zuluwarrior on November 08, 2007, 06:00:00 PM
All ah want for christmas iz money in the bank all ah want from santa  iz money in the bank  money in the bank money in the bank
all i want for christmas iz money in the bank.
Title: Re: PARANG PARANG PARANG
Post by: kaliman2006 on November 09, 2007, 08:17:12 AM
Ditto. Money in the bank is enough to make anyone smile.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on November 09, 2007, 10:56:04 AM
Ah want to get export fuh meh Chrissmass!
Ah want immigration to get vex wid me
Sen meh back to Trini
Here too cole now fuh me
Tell Harper ah commit a crime
Sen meh home to lime!
Ah want to get export fuh meh Chrissmass!
Ah want immigration to get vex wid me!

P'RANG! P'RANG!!
Post by: WestCoast on November 09, 2007, 10:59:31 AM
Queen, go by de airport and shout dat you goin an blow up de fuel lines  :rotfl:

wait hole orn, day might sen ya on an all inclusive to dat Bay in Cuba :devil:
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on November 09, 2007, 11:09:02 AM
nobody have a sense of humour these days boy.
Ah does go troo airports regular and every time ah want to buss a joke ah does hush oui...dem does go fuh dey weapon to shoot people too easy.
Post by: zuluwarrior on November 16, 2007, 03:23:58 PM
Today iz Friday so parang start again . ah feelin to eat ah piece ah meat weather it sour saulty or it sweet   .
Post by: TriniCana on November 17, 2007, 03:50:16 PM
Anybody home going Paramin Parang Fest ???
Take snaps nuh
meh 2nd year ah missing it oui :-\
Post by: warmonga on November 17, 2007, 04:50:29 PM
This is one of my Favorite Xmas chune.. One of my dawgs Ziggy Rankin

http://media.imeem.com/m/W74zzSD2BM/aus=false
( A good ting de wifee don't come here )

War
Post by: zuluwarrior on November 17, 2007, 10:30:13 PM
WAR it have ah new one , this man sayin for christmas all he want iz sen c melia sweet bread ,sen c melia  black cake .sen c melia pastel

that one bad .
Post by: Savannah boy on November 21, 2007, 12:00:14 AM
Man go leave Caura/Lopinot and Maracas/St. Joseph by de Big Tree where some people grandparents could still sing de songs in Spanish to go Paramin?
Post by: warmonga on November 21, 2007, 09:00:43 AM
WAR it have ah new one , this man sayin for christmas all he want iz sen c melia sweet bread ,sen c melia  black cake .sen c melia pastel

that one bad .
oh god man , allyuh send on de chune dem fi mi nuh.. I want to hear sumthin !!!!!!!!!!!!! anybody have the H2o xmas album
Post by: Touches on December 05, 2007, 10:29:14 AM
EHy who have this tune as a MP3.

Share nah
Post by: E-man on December 07, 2007, 10:46:06 PM
This is one of my Favorite Xmas chune.. One of my dawgs Ziggy Rankin

http://media.imeem.com/m/W74zzSD2BM/aus=false
( A good ting de wifee don't come here )

War

some interesting tunes on there:
Chinee Parang http://profile.imeem.com/TPTW3H/music/7Lxo4aDU/d_joseph_chinee_parang/
strange mellow version of Drink a Rum: http://neverlate.imeem.com/music/V6zMNyx6/christmas_drink_a_rum_soca_parangmp3/
Title: POST YUH FAVOURITE Parang/Christmas Chuune!!!
Post by: palos on December 13, 2007, 11:26:22 PM
ONLY SOCKS & DRAWS (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KrHEJiAXBWg)

http://www.youtube.com/v/KrHEJiAXBWg
Title: Re: Mister Santa Claus
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on December 14, 2007, 01:07:34 AM
i been tryin to get this song forever on mp3...first time i saw it cudnt stop laffin
nice find man palos
Post by: Dutty on December 14, 2007, 11:20:05 AM
I real like it...and de roti-kuchela one

Is that a new tune or it out long time?
Post by: warmonga on December 14, 2007, 02:11:04 PM
Moderators can we please lock this thread to the top . so we can all shear videos/MP3'S for the Xmas ..
My contrubution soon come ..
war..
Post by: warmonga on December 14, 2007, 03:25:56 PM
alright peeps am gonna try sumthing here .. I have been sharing music and no one seems to step up to de plate and shear a lttle something . I know everyone have music on there PC . If you wanna shear music all you have to do is jes type in zshare in your web browser and follow instructions.. lets all try hook up some sweet Xmas music.. 
Here is my contrubution.. I do not have permission to share this music but you guys can listen ito t if you like.. DL it is your call..
for your listening pleasure only..
http://www.zshare.net/audio/562474098a07ab/

War...
Post by: warmonga on December 14, 2007, 10:25:54 PM
here i go wid another one dancehall style..
http://www.zshare.net/audio/547111082b6956/
for your listening pleasure ....
(taken from another site)

War
Post by: E-man on December 15, 2007, 09:08:01 PM
A Bob Marley Christmas Medley (http://www.zshare.net/audio/5657097ab18c80/)

A couple from the Brooklyn Tab Choir (de wifey's former choir) in a reggae stylee
Peace on Earth (http://www.zshare.net/audio/56574644080bea/)
First Day of the Son (http://www.zshare.net/audio/5657552c805805/)

Black Cake Mix (http://www.zshare.net/audio/5657583e3b1d3a/)
Post by: warmonga on December 16, 2007, 07:06:54 PM
Thanks for keeping this thread on top Palos.. also good looking with those tracks Eman.. here is some sewwt steel pan Xmas stylee..
http://www.zshare.net/audio/568077431d7696/
For your listening pleasure.
War
Post by: WestCoast on December 16, 2007, 09:25:16 PM
Thanks WAR and EMann for the Downloads
all de best for the Season
Post by: Socaman on December 18, 2007, 09:40:43 AM
Season Greatings...alyuh ah hope this work...

http://rapidshare.com/files/77433729/02_Track_2.zip.html

http://rapidshare.com/files/77434346/08_Track_8.zip.html

Post by: warmonga on December 23, 2007, 03:11:15 PM
Taken from another web site.. but here yu go..

http://www.zshare.net/audio/5855958180ba80/

vybz
http://www.zshare.net/audio/5855972f665e19/

mr vegas
http://www.zshare.net/audio/5856016b09ae1e/

elephantman
http://www.zshare.net/audio/58560170fcf798/

kiprich
http://www.zshare.net/audio/58560422cc49a6/

elephantman(2)
http://www.zshare.net/audio/58560574dddf6b/

vybz
http://www.zshare.net/audio/5856092ca47833/

Post by: E-man on December 24, 2007, 08:41:04 PM
If you're willing to pay

http://trinidadtunes.com/index.php?action=genre&id=2
Title: POST YUH FAVOURITE PARANG CHUUNE !!!
Post by: Sando prince on October 17, 2008, 02:09:15 PM
People is dat time of de season again...Parang time!..For those who dont care much bout parang then allyuh should try and imagine a T&T Christmas season without dem parang classics like "neighbor bring de ham" and "Evaughn"..or  "ah want meh brush"

Myspace users..add http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendid=132027335

To download yuh favourite parang chuunes http://trinidadtunes.com/index.php?action=genre&id=2&Christmas

SW.Net feel free and post allyuh favourite parang chuunes under this thread :)
Title: Re: POST YUH FAVORITE PARANG CHUUNE !!!
Post by: morvant on October 17, 2008, 02:24:00 PM
ah met ah mister

from magarita

and he wanted to take me to dinner ...........

i said dinner would be fine....

but now iz christmas time..............

and my table is well prepared.................................

AH GIVE HIM BREAD AND HAM TOGETHER WITH AH PASTELLLL ;D

Title: Re: POST YUH FAVOURITE PARANG CHUUNE !!!
Post by: FF on October 17, 2008, 02:40:44 PM
Play de Soca Parang - Bindley B

One meh favourite all time tunes ever... not just in parang
Post by: palos on October 17, 2008, 03:32:58 PM
MADAME JEFFREY - SCRUNTER (http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/parang/madame_jeffrey.htm)

SOCA SANTA - MACHEL MONTANO FT DAISY VOISIN (http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/parang/soca_santa.htm)

TRINI CHRISTMAS - SUSAN MAICOO (http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/parang/trini_xmas.htm)
Post by: Sando prince on October 17, 2008, 04:38:58 PM
MADAME JEFFREY - SCRUNTER (http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/parang/madame_jeffrey.htm)

Breds dat chuune could never get old yes...
Post by: Jumbie on October 18, 2008, 05:33:55 AM
Sando P.. can you confirm or break dong what exactly is parang? The reason I asking is because when man say parang I does tend to see ah lot ah soca-kinda-parang being listed. Mih great gran does roll in he grave when people speak about parang and name like scrunter, machel, crazy etc get mentioned. ah sure!
Post by: STEUPS!! on October 18, 2008, 08:48:41 AM
Sando P.. can you confirm or break dong what exactly is parang? The reason I asking is because when man say parang I does tend to see ah lot ah soca-kinda-parang being listed. Mih great gran does roll in he grave when people speak about parang and name like scrunter, machel, crazy etc get mentioned. ah sure!

well jumbie, it have soca parang an den it have d authentic parang. but yuh know we trinis does call any christmas music parang. some trinis obviously doh kno d difference.

any parang from La Familia de Rio Claro is my favorite. RIP Mr Granger.

bless!
Post by: Controversial on October 18, 2008, 09:35:26 AM
anything by san jose serrenaders
Post by: Sando prince on October 18, 2008, 09:45:38 AM

Jumbie i really meant parang from a general perspective..can be soca parang, authentic parang, kaiso style parang...
Post by: Sando prince on October 18, 2008, 09:54:54 AM
What you guys know bout the " The Lara Brothers "  8)  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=85Lny6ZjDro

http://www.youtube.com/v/85Lny6ZjDro
Post by: TriniCana on October 18, 2008, 10:18:16 AM
wid ah addition of:

Leon Celdero - Soca Chutney Parang
Preacher - Bring out dey ham
Parang night & day....Baron
Becket - Calypso Noel
Designer - I Love Christmas

AND
Anything sung by San Jose Serenaders and Gloria Alcazar (RIP Miss)

Post by: zuluwarrior on November 03, 2008, 08:58:52 PM
They want to kill may piggy for christmas ,hole year ah feeding meh piggy now that meh piggy looking goood them woman to kill may piggy.
Post by: Controversial on November 04, 2008, 09:42:37 AM
What you guys know bout the " The Lara Brothers "  8)  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=85Lny6ZjDro

http://www.youtube.com/v/85Lny6ZjDro

i know plenty, ah have one of their cds actually
Post by: Deeks on November 04, 2008, 10:08:23 AM
I like an instrumental called "Sangre Grande"
Post by: boss on November 08, 2008, 04:18:57 PM
(This is from memory so it may be wrong)

Flores de San Jose sang in Talparo
I comin here to tell you about the show.
Gimme rum, gimme whiskey gimme, someting to eat
And sing a Parang song lemme move meh feet
All the time you twistin ah bound to sing
I coulda tell yuh that was yuh was singing, gimme... ;D  :wavetowel:
Post by: Sando prince on November 21, 2008, 01:16:58 AM
I like an instrumental called "Sangre Grande"

Yeh..Dat one nice
Post by: zuluwarrior on November 28, 2008, 09:44:58 AM
Alyuh hear the one bout the stummerin santa ?

ah man come and knock my door dress up like santa,

wen ah open meh door he pull out ah gun and say this is ah ho,ho,ho,ho,hold up ah tell meh self tonight ah

ded ,ah sure ah wet meh pants because ah scared this stumerin santa come to distress me .

this is ah ho ,ho ,ho, ho,holdup .
Post by: Sando prince on December 14, 2008, 08:04:07 PM
This song came out not too long now and everybody i know loving it, very nice chuune from Nichole De Coteau

http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/parang/PARANG%202K8%20-%20(De%20Sweetest%20Christmas%20Riddim)%20Nichole%20De%20Coteau%20-%20Trini%20Christmas.htm
Post by: Quags on December 14, 2008, 09:18:37 PM
I looking for Beckets Chriistmas song since last year ,great great song classic.whats the name anyone
Post by: palos on December 15, 2008, 05:19:03 AM
I looking for Beckets Chriistmas song since last year ,great great song classic.whats the name anyone

Sing de Noel?
Post by: Quags on December 15, 2008, 09:05:48 AM
yeah palos daiz it ,cant find that song anywhere ,can anyone upload it for mr please .
Post by: Touches on December 15, 2008, 11:12:12 AM
Coro Coro...bess tune come out last year.

When yuh see d singer, no front teeth in he mouth

When yuh see d singer, is showers all about

Post by: Boodsy on December 15, 2008, 11:25:48 AM
Anita - Scrunter  (http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/parang/anita.htm)

Alegria - Daisy (http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/parang/alegria.htm)

it really ha too much but ah just name these 2...
Post by: Deeks on December 15, 2008, 04:30:59 PM
I used to live St. Joseph when ah was small, attended the RC school. I am very fimaliar with San Jose Serenders and some of the Flores people. I did not know them personally but remembered some of them. I also remembered 6:10 radio setting up in the RC school to broadcast live parang. That was great times.
Post by: Deeks on December 15, 2008, 04:35:08 PM
The tune by Nichole real cool.
Title: Cry Cry Cry: Parang Tune
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 20, 2008, 02:38:09 PM
Meh brederin jus send meh dis, ah love it, musbe mashin up TT

http://www.zshare.net/audio/52932589dfcbd811/
Title: Re: Cry Cry Cry: Parang Tune
Post by: Deeks on December 20, 2008, 07:51:42 PM
Real funny lyrics. Excellent.Trini imagination at work.
Title: Re: Cry Cry Cry: Parang Tune
Post by: Sando prince on December 20, 2008, 10:56:43 PM
nice chuune...
Post by: Sando prince on December 20, 2008, 10:57:53 PM
The tune by Nichole real cool.

Yeh..dais de best new soca parang chuune for me..
Post by: E-man on December 23, 2008, 11:54:05 AM
http://www.socatwins.com/download/mixes/SocaTwins_BlackCakeAndSorrel_Mix_08.mp3

free download from Soca Twins, over an hour's worth.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on December 24, 2008, 10:25:31 AM
http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/parang/rio_manzanares.htm (http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/parang/rio_manzanares.htm)

one of my favourites!
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on December 27, 2008, 07:50:01 AM
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :beermug: :rotfl:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=elnzBRsYqB4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=elnzBRsYqB4)

http://www.youtube.com/v/elnzBRsYqB4
Post by: Sando prince on December 27, 2008, 09:59:30 PM
:rotfl: :rotfl: :beermug: :rotfl:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=elnzBRsYqB4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=elnzBRsYqB4)

FUNNY!....Good post  :beermug:
Post by: WestCoast on January 02, 2009, 05:27:31 PM
Toronto peeps

Published on Trinidad Guardian (http://guardian.co.tt)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Trini parang heats up Toronto

Wearing the Santa hat at centre, Alicia Sealy and members of Toronto parang band Los Ketchos Assos.

Fri, 02/01/2009 5:06pm

(http://guardian.co.tt/files/imagecache/article_main_image_stretched/articles/images/Los+Ketchos+Assos.png)
Peter Ray Blood [1] | 5:26 pm
When Denyse Plummer called me from Toronto, on Sunday, the temperature was way below zero but a bunch of true true Trinis found a way to heat up the Canadian city. Including former beauty Alicia Sealy, the group, calling themselves Los Ketchos Assos, had a rollicking time playing parang music, even going from house-to-house, just like back home indoors; yes, in sub-zero temperatures.

Via e-mail, Alicia told me: “Just like North American Carollers, we sing for our supper. Los Ketchos Assos' repertoire comprises mostly traditional, Spanish parang songs, and we performed at four homes from noon to 11 pm on December 21. Boy, did we have fun. “I have to admit that, while performing, we all truly forgot that it was very cold and windy outside.” Also involved in the annual Caribana Festival, Alicia added: “Mark your calendars—the 2009 Scotiabank Caribana™ Parade will be on August 1, 2009.”

Related Articles: Music—the great healer [2]
Entertainment bloodnotes Peter Ray Blood
Copyright © 2008 TRINIDAD PUBLISHING COMPANY LTD

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Source URL (retrieved on 02/01/2009 - 7:24pm): http://guardian.co.tt/features/entertainment/2009/01/02/trini-parang-heats-toronto
Links:
[1] http://guardian.co.tt/byline-authors/peter-ray-blood
[2] http://guardian.co.tt/features/entertainment/2009/01/02/music-great-healer

Title: Thiefing Parang Band
Post by: Mose on September 16, 2009, 09:55:02 PM
Check it!

Title: Re: Thiefing Parang Band
Post by: Socapro on September 16, 2009, 11:45:24 PM

Nice one from Marcia, she has been very consistent with the Parang-soca hits over the years!
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 18, 2009, 01:13:08 AM
Classic Sprang

http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/parang/bring_drinks.htm
Post by: Brownsugar on September 20, 2009, 07:26:21 PM
Classic Sprang

http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/parang/bring_drinks.htm

13 years and still going strong....

In an interview some years ago, Sprang revealed that this song was made up on the spot in the studio to fill up some space on the CD he was making.....it really sounds like the kinda things Sprang would say off the top of his head when telling jokes....

Ah love it!!  (c) Andre Samuel....
Title: Tis the season
Post by: verycute1 on November 20, 2009, 05:26:49 PM
Is music time
In any gang
When you'll see
Man start to parang'
All the instruments
Does be in tune
But dey don't leave out
De bottle and spoon

(CHORUS)
See wi' bottle and spoon
Man does be ringin' out real tune
The drum and bass
Goh' fall in place
Your bottle half' with water
Bacchanal and manslaughter
Sweet music in de place

I heard it from
A steelband man
He name Bradshaw
He's a iron man'
Yes he told me plain
Dat very soon
Panmen goin' back
To bottle and spoon

(CHORUS)

Whiskey bottle
Or rum bottle
Does sound real nice,
When ah man rattle
So de Carnival
Dis year go' be hell
Is a bacchanal
Plenty spoon go' sell

(CHORUS)

If yuh bottle small
You mus' realize
Dat de spoon to use
Is a medium size
But if yuh spoon too large
Well den is manslaughter
Yuh bottle going to break
And throw way de water

(CHORUS)
Title: Mr. Santa Claus
Post by: Bourbon on November 29, 2009, 07:02:01 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/KrHEJiAXBWg
Post by: Boodsy on November 30, 2009, 11:15:51 AM
D Big Rich Pelau

http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/parang/PARANG%202K9%20-%20Parang%20Superstars%20-%20D%20Big%20Rich%20Pelau.htm

Post by: Tallman on December 01, 2009, 11:39:51 AM
They want to kill may piggy for christmas ,hole year ah feeding meh piggy now that meh piggy looking goood them woman to kill may piggy.

http://www.youtube.com/v/_Plo8HE9Mhk
Post by: Socapro on December 01, 2009, 06:46:17 PM
Moderators can we please lock this thread to the top . so we can all shear videos/MP3'S for the Xmas ..My contrubution soon come ..
war..

Okay done!
Post by: Grande on December 02, 2009, 12:31:25 AM
Bring Drinks - Sprangalang:
http://www.youtube.com/v/6Q2xsQn14u8
Post by: weary1969 on December 03, 2009, 02:17:31 PM
Moderators can we please lock this thread to the top . so we can all shear videos/MP3'S for the Xmas ..My contrubution soon come ..
war..

Okay done!

Yuh wukin
Post by: Tallman on December 05, 2009, 08:51:16 PM
Private Ryan Presents Trini Christmas Parang (Only The Best)
http://media.libsyn.com/media/djprivateryan/Private_Ryan_Presents_Trini_Christmas_Parang_Only_The_Best.mp3

Track listing
1. Eat Something – Scrunter
2. Gone Parang – Scrunter
3. Madamme Jeffery – Scrunter
4. Its Christmas – Baron
5. Come Go – Baron
6. Neighbour Neighbour – Rikki Jai
7. Grrt – Sprangalang
8. Ham and Pastelle – Da Mastamind
9. Black Cake and Sorrel – Da Mastamind
10. Drink a Rum – Kitchener
11. Si Yo Pudiera – Flores De San Jose
12. The Paint Brush – Kenny J
13. Santa Looking For A Wife – Bindley B
14. Indian Chick – Taxi
15. Homemade Wine – Scrunter
16. D Parang Now Start – Scrunter
17. We Come Out to Dance – Susan Maicoo
18. Santa Say – Bindley B
19. Play The Soca Parang – Bindley B
20. Hurray Hurray – Singing Francine
21. El caiman – Santa Rosa Serenaders
22. Bring Drinks – Sprangalang
23. Christmas Medley – Crazy
24. Soca Santa – Machel Montano
25. Mamacita – Sharlene Boodram
26. Drinking Anything – Scrunter
27. Anita – Scrunter
28. Gimmi Rum Gimmi Whiskey – Susan Maicoo
29. Trini Christmas is the Best –
30. Chinee Parang – D Joseph
31. So Intoxicated – Ataklan
32. Love for Christmas – Diamond Cut
33. Mr Santa Claus – Rembunction
34. This Christmas – H2oPlo
35. Esta Fiesta – Lil Bits
36. House to House – General Grant
37. Caroline – Ziggy Ranks
38. Tante Euleyne – Blazer
39. Yvonne - Crazy
Post by: FF on December 05, 2009, 10:01:45 PM
Thanks tallman!!
Post by: E-man on December 05, 2009, 11:12:12 PM
Around My Christmas Tree - Lennox Gray (http://www.mediafire.com/?uyvyhezyhmz)

Around My Christmas Tree - Karen Eccles (http://www.mediafire.com/?2lqwkm3mktj)

Amazing Caribbean Christmas - Horace Peterkin (http://www.mediafire.com/?wmgrowkgi42)

Black Cake Lover - Sugar Aloes (http://www.mediafire.com/?mymg0indnwn)

Christmas in the Caribbean - Jimmy Buffett (http://www.mediafire.com/?hjhikzzgzee)

Parang Medley - Guataka (http://www.mediafire.com/?dqjjegjymyq)

Christmas Island - Jimmy Buffett (http://www.mediafire.com/?lyndmmvmdmz)

Jingle Bells - Jimmy Buffett (http://www.mediafire.com/?lzwdy3mtynj)

Ho Ho Ho and a Bottle of Rum - Jimmy Buffett (http://www.mediafire.com/?lyndmmvmdmz)

Drink A Rum - Merrymen (http://www.mediafire.com/?lyndmmvmdmz)

Christmas Soca Party - Byron Lee (lost to us about a year ago, RIP) (http://www.mediafire.com/?mmzmnkqndmx)

more to come...
Post by: AB.Trini on December 06, 2009, 01:03:04 PM
If someone could compile these and post it for upload that would be boss:

One has to love the old parang classics......  here are some of the old time groups:

San Jose Seranaders

Rio Claro
Santa Theresa
Valencia National Handicraft
Rancho Quemado
San Juan Serenaders
Old Oak Serenaders
Universal

And the QUEEN: DAISY VOISIN

Ah blasting the oldies today......I eh know what they saying in some ah them songs but oh lawd they bring back memories fuh so: Just being  and hearing them  all over town or Arima in the maxi taxis and  just enjoying a warm fun loving xmas in the sun!!!! dreaming of a white xmas ....never!!!!! lawd when yuh hear these , yuh does just  feel like ...gosh ah getting ah Trini tabanca.

LAWD AH WANT TO COME HOME NOW If ah cyar do that ah have to stop listening to this record by
"Las Estrellas":

"Tucusito"

' La Pascualidad'-----This is a bomb classic!!!!! ah remember when this was unleashed in Trinidad. Man ah was litening to Holly Bet. on radio.. gosh this song mash up the house in the sixties!!!!

'Manzanare'

"Feliz Ano"

"La Colga"
later on we go take ah look at the lyrics from the soca parangs... put yuh best soca parang in the mix now nah.
Post by: Dutty on December 06, 2009, 02:47:25 PM
Thanks tallman!!
+1

blastin dis on ah chilly sunday afternoon...de bess
Post by: Organic on December 06, 2009, 08:18:37 PM
Private Ryan Presents Trini Christmas Parang (Only The Best)
http://media.libsyn.com/media/djprivateryan/Private_Ryan_Presents_Trini_Christmas_Parang_Only_The_Best.mp3

Track listing
1. Eat Something – Scrunter
2. Gone Parang – Scrunter
3. Madamme Jeffery – Scrunter
4. Its Christmas – Baron
5. Come Go – Baron
6. Neighbour Neighbour – Rikki Jai
7. Grrt – Sprangalang
8. Ham and Pastelle – Da Mastamind
9. Black Cake and Sorrel – Da Mastamind
10. Drink a Rum – Kitchener
11. Si Yo Pudiera – Flores De San Jose
12. The Paint Brush – Kenny J
13. Santa Looking For A Wife – Bindley B
14. Indian Chick – Taxi
15. Homemade Wine – Scrunter
16. D Parang Now Start – Scrunter
17. We Come Out to Dance – Susan Maicoo
18. Santa Say – Bindley B
19. Play The Soca Parang – Bindley B
20. Hurray Hurray – Singing Francine
21. El caiman – Santa Rosa Serenaders
22. Bring Drinks – Sprangalang
23. Christmas Medley – Crazy
24. Soca Santa – Machel Montano
25. Mamacita – Sharlene Boodram
26. Drinking Anything – Scrunter
27. Anita – Scrunter
28. Gimmi Rum Gimmi Whiskey – Susan Maicoo
29. Trini Christmas is the Best –
30. Chinee Parang – D Joseph
31. So Intoxicated – Ataklan
32. Love for Christmas – Diamond Cut
33. Mr Santa Claus – Rembunction
34. This Christmas – H2oPlo
35. Esta Fiesta – Lil Bits
36. House to House – General Grant
37. Caroline – Ziggy Ranks
38. Tante Euleyne – Blazer
39. Yvonne - Crazy
number 28 is sharlene flores and flores de san jose
Number 29 is susan maicoo
nice mix tallest.
Post by: E-man on December 09, 2009, 03:23:13 AM
Mighty Terror - Santa eh have no Wife

http://www.youtube.com/v/rV40LF2LYfA
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on December 09, 2009, 07:25:27 PM
war..

Okay done!

yuh lock this one up top and leave de parang below???

wha is Christmas without parang???... that sound like a tune right there
Post by: E-man on December 09, 2009, 11:31:04 PM

I think you're on to something.

Here's an old LP I converted to mp3

(http://img705.imageshack.us/img705/8804/sanjose.jpg)
San Jose Serenaders

Download: http://www.mediafire.com/?gmiwdmumozm

Track List:

01 - Viva
02 - Vamos Agosar
03 - Ola De La Mar
04 - Mi Negrito
05 - La Negra Juana
06 - Preludio
07 - Maria Antonia
08 - Cantemos Pastores
09 - Clara
10 - Guanaguanare
11 - Medley
Post by: Socapro on December 10, 2009, 12:20:39 PM

I think you're on to something.

Here's an old LP I converted to mp3

(http://img705.imageshack.us/img705/8804/sanjose.jpg)
San Jose Serenaders

Download: http://www.mediafire.com/?gmiwdmumozm

Track List:

01 - Viva
02 - Vamos Agosar
03 - Ola De La Mar
04 - Mi Negrito
05 - La Negra Juana
06 - Preludio
07 - Maria Antonia
08 - Cantemos Pastores
09 - Clara
10 - Guanaguanare
11 - Medley

Thanks E-man, I've got this very same album on vinyl and you just saved me having to convert it myself to mp3 format!  :thumbsup:
This is one of my all time favourite parang albums!
Title: Re: POST YUH FAVOURITE Parang/Christmas Chuune!!!
Post by: E-man on December 10, 2009, 02:23:22 PM
The old 'Bring out de Ham' video from 1992

http://www.youtube.com/v/r_-1wNRyCU8

edit: and more Marcia Miranda hits

Roast Fowl
http://www.youtube.com/v/WsPTmoNo2Vo

Gimme Luv Fuh Christmas
http://www.youtube.com/v/vIG9EH2bPb8
Post by: WestCoast on December 12, 2009, 01:28:00 AM
Kixxs Choon (http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/parang/PARANG%202K9%20-%20(Sponge%20Cake%20Riddim)%20-%20Last%20Brush.htm) ;D :devil:
Post by: warmonga on December 12, 2009, 04:45:06 PM
na man mi dey yah still is parang time..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FmysdTffqUU

http://www.youtube.com/v/FmysdTffqUU

Title: Christmas Music Downloads
Post by: grimm01 on December 12, 2009, 09:56:02 PM
Anyone know where ah could find Trini Christmas music to download? Ah doh mind getting songs individually, but the real deal would be to get some mixes that have the old to the new. Ah was home two weeks ago and meh mistake was not picking up some music and bringing it back.

If ah have to hear Dreaming of a White Christmas one more time...
Title: Re: Christmas Music Downloads
Post by: Quags on December 12, 2009, 10:07:18 PM
Grimm it have a sticky post ,Tall man have a nice little mix in there 2 nd page .rite above this tread
Post by: grimm01 on December 12, 2009, 10:12:17 PM
Grimm it have a sticky post ,Tall man have a nice little mix in there 2 nd page .rite above this tread

watch how that thread right in front meh face and ah miss it. Thanks.
Post by: Bakes on December 13, 2009, 12:50:11 AM
Anyone know where ah could find Trini Christmas music to download? Ah doh mind getting songs individually, but the real deal would be to get some mixes that have the old to the new. Ah was home two weeks ago and meh mistake was not picking up some music and bringing it back.

If ah have to hear Dreaming of a White Christmas one more time...

Courtesy mih boy Socaboy and the Close Connection crew

http://www.facebook.com/#/event.php?eid=174442271260&index=1

Some other nuggets on the page.  If yuh can't access it PM mih and I'll post the direct links to the files.
Post by: FF on December 15, 2009, 10:29:30 AM
anybody have Lets be Friends by Relator ?
Title: Help find a tune!!
Post by: Organic on December 20, 2009, 09:04:02 PM
Hey ah enlisting allyuh help. I just heard ah trini version of "Oh there is no place like home for the holiday" it sounded like it was sung by Nat king cole. He met ah man from" port of spain who was heading san fernando" etc and he even mentioned maracus.
Will appreciate it please and thank you.

It bloody cold!!
 :-X
Title: Re: Help find a tune!!
Post by: WestCoast on December 20, 2009, 09:12:23 PM
http://sensay.com/shopsite_sc/store/html/sparrowxmas.html

dat voice sweeter than Nat King Cole ;D
Post by: Organic on December 20, 2009, 09:25:20 PM
thanks..
i am also looking for no christmas on sesame street. sung by oscar!!
Post by: Jah Gol on December 20, 2009, 09:40:26 PM
Hey ah enlisting allyuh help. I just heard ah trini version of "Oh there is no place like home for the holiday" it sounded like it was sung by Nat king cole. He met ah man from" port of spain who was heading san fernando" etc and he even mentioned maracus.

It bloody cold!!
I find this

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=HNMXQ7M1 (http://www.megaupload.com/?d=HNMXQ7M1)
Post by: WestCoast on December 20, 2009, 09:45:40 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/JF6TsXJ-Xuc&feature=related
this is what it's ALL about
Post by: Quags on December 20, 2009, 10:00:35 PM
Is this it
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sp5lcBZnJho&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/v/sp5lcBZnJho
or what bout ,wrong season doh
http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/classics/lorraine.htm
Post by: Brownsugar on December 21, 2009, 12:44:31 PM

And Christmas on Sesame Street as well??....
Post by: E-man on December 21, 2009, 12:45:13 PM

It bloody cold!!

http://www.mediafire.com/?nwkj3zomcoz

Home Sweet Home/Kiss Me For Christmas  -- Can someone identify the singer though?

Post by: FF on December 21, 2009, 01:26:17 PM

It bloody cold!!

Home Sweet Home/Kiss Me For Christmas  -- Can someone identify the singer though?

I ent even listen... but ah guessing is Kelwyn Hutcheon...

also Eman... as you is de best internet detective... i looking for Lord Relator - Lets be friends for Christmas

EDIT: ha ha ha ah listen and is not even a man... lol... i ent know who it is
Post by: E-man on December 21, 2009, 01:58:10 PM

It bloody cold!!

I ent even listen... but ah guessing is Kelwyn Hutcheon...

also Eman... as you is de best internet detective... i looking for Lord Relator - Lets be friends for Christmas

EDIT: ha ha ha ah listen and is not even a man... lol... i ent know who it is

I only have his 'Bottle & Spoon' at the moment
Post by: Organic on December 21, 2009, 03:28:50 PM
thanks guys sparrow sung the original. i got it from a few people. now if only i can find that oscar x mas carol....that is real kicks. use to hear it alot in the 80's and 90's.
Post by: Bitter on December 21, 2009, 03:56:23 PM
I thought I had the answer, but I had to wait until after work to check it.

The tune "Home Sweet Home/Kiss Me For Christmas" is sung by Karen Eccles off of the album " Pelham Goddard Christmas Classics"
Post by: WestCoast on December 21, 2009, 05:34:44 PM
Oscar singing "I hate Christmas"
http://www.youtube.com/v/HHVcBSpQMjA
the script (http://www.members.tripod.com/Tiny_Dancer/hatexmas.html)
Post by: Bitter on December 21, 2009, 05:37:01 PM
If one of allyuh could get "Green Christmas" by Frankie Atwell, yuh good.
Post by: verycute1 on December 21, 2009, 08:51:43 PM
Anybody have Xmas coming by Signal Hill Alumni Choir? Is years now I looking for that one.
Post by: verycute1 on December 21, 2009, 09:03:44 PM
I set this up for another group last year it is a free account so there are daily download limits

http://www.trinichristmas.keepandshare.com

At Christmas – Arlene Bereaux

Around the Christmas Tree – Karen Eccles

Parang Medley – Candice Antoine

Bottle and Spoon – David Bereaux

What’s the Use of Getting Sober – Pelham Goddard, Neil Bernard, Audra Perez, Brandon George

The Christmas Waltz – Arlene Bereaux

Home Sweet Home/Kiss Me for Christmas – Karen Eccles

Father Christmas – David Bereaux

Mamacita – Karen Eccles, Candice Antoine

The Thirteen Days of Christmas – Pelham Goddard, Neil Bernard, Audra Perez, Brandon George

Anita by scrunter,
trini christmas,
indian parang chick,
muchacha by crazy,
aye maria by francine,
si lo puerdia by flores de san jose

there is also  this one  which is a direct link to Ribbons by Marilyn Williams, it was the most requested song so I gave it it's own link.

http://www.keepandshare.com/doc/view.php?id=973775&da=y
Post by: Dutty on December 21, 2009, 09:22:20 PM
Oscar singing "I hate Christmas"
http://www.youtube.com/v/HHVcBSpQMjA
the script (http://www.members.tripod.com/Tiny_Dancer/hatexmas.html)

...trouble is dis,,I never realize mr. hooper was jewish.....henson run de stereotype and give him de corner store to own too
Post by: Tallman on December 22, 2009, 09:50:28 AM
http://cid-96cbe6c12d8df3d7.skydrive.live.com/browse.aspx/Public
Post by: E-man on December 22, 2009, 01:50:04 PM
Nice collection there.

Still can't find those other Relator songs, but here's some more info

'Christmas on Sesame street' came out as a 7" record in 1975 with 'People to People' on the flipside. (Pan 3150 Arranged by Art DeCoteau)

in 1981 a 12 inch had 'Bottle & Spoon'/'Christmas is Yours Christmas is Mine' (RAPE RAPE 0001, Makossa MD9072 Arranged by Earl Rodney)

and 1983 had a 4 track LP called Friendship with 'Make a Friend for Christmas'

(http://web.archive.org/web/20040821101744/www.calypsoarchives.co.uk/maindirectory/images/relator-friendship.JPG)

RAPE RAPE 0004
Arranged by Pelham Goddard 
A-1 Make a Friend for Christmas 
A-2 Bottle and Spoon 
B-1 Make a Friend for Christmas (Instrumental) 
B-2 Christmas is Yours, Christmas is Mine

Title: 'Round my Christmas Tree
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on December 23, 2009, 08:16:54 AM
Somebody just sent me this...
beg pardon if it was posted already.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zfMvSVJA4JI&feature=email (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zfMvSVJA4JI&feature=email)
http://www.youtube.com/v/zfMvSVJA4JI
Title: Re: 'Round my Christmas Tree
Post by: Preacher on December 23, 2009, 12:53:42 PM
The greatest Christmas Song on the planet earth.  Merry Christmas
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on December 23, 2009, 01:59:52 PM
I vaguely remember it but it is nice, yes..
Merry Christmas dude!
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on December 23, 2009, 11:05:02 PM
This is probably in the thread so mea culpa.
it's my favourite:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y0cypBRp8jg (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y0cypBRp8jg)
http://www.youtube.com/v/y0cypBRp8jg
Post by: Bakes on December 24, 2009, 02:10:19 AM
Very, very nice memories... thanks for posting.

I must confess that I totally forgot about this song... has to be at least 20 yrs since I last heard it... yet instinctively I knew every word.  :beermug:
Post by: Quags on December 24, 2009, 02:16:01 AM
Wow .
Post by: Sando prince on December 24, 2009, 01:41:30 PM
Sorry if repost but this tune here is the best tune released for 2009 Christmas ..http://www.youtube.com/v/Br-cItrS5As
Post by: Tallman on December 24, 2009, 02:39:25 PM
http://soundcloud.com/shurlandgeorge-1/xmas-soca-parang
Title: Re: LosPajaros.ca and LOS AMIGOS! By De Empress Arlanna Parang/Christmas Chuunes
Post by: empressarlanna on December 24, 2009, 03:54:15 PM
Season's Greetings to awl ah we SocaWarriors.net Family !

ENJOY LISTENIN' TO DE PARANG CHUNES OF DE SEASON !!

Turn up de speaka volume !  Feliz Navidad !   Musically yours, De Empress !  "Mrs. Arlanna Alie"

LOS PAJAROS

click on link here:

http://www.youtube.com/v/0PauAF69K10

LOS AMIGOS

click on link here:

http://www.youtube.com/v/und_Y1-QGcs

THE ARLANNA TV NETWORK

www.youtube.com/arlannaTV

www.ARLANNA.com

Post by: E-man on December 24, 2009, 08:10:17 PM
The download is in the other  (2 versions)
Post by: Sando prince on December 24, 2009, 11:10:26 PM
New tunes released recently for 2009 Christmas

Spanish Woman (Baron)
http://www.youtube.com/v/7UCSOPV8Jko

Ah tasting (Ramie)
http://www.youtube.com/v/XB3VlSPxOKM

One for Tito (Crazy)
http://www.youtube.com/v/fkSGw_wfW0I

This Christmas (Rootsman)
http://www.youtube.com/v/YRId6oc7dYc

Hard Wine (Kenneth Salick)
http://www.youtube.com/v/Br-cItrS5As
Post by: big dawg on November 09, 2010, 07:26:33 AM
Thread Resurrection time... de season is upon us   :beermug:
Post by: AirMan on November 09, 2010, 11:58:47 PM
there are alot of new tunes already out fuh this season..check trinidadtunes.com
Post by: warmonga on November 25, 2010, 07:58:27 PM
here is a quick mix guys enjoy
http://www.zshare.net/download/8314300033255cf2/

Post by: warmonga on November 26, 2010, 06:35:50 PM
Hey guys does anyone have this riddim .. it call d wild meat riddim

http://www.youtube.com/v/blfUOHKICaw

Post by: Quags on November 27, 2010, 01:13:38 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ehnlZofv-L4&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/v/ehnlZofv-L4

spoiler

The Mighty Sparrow - Home for the holidays
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LmSaOpat0vM&playnext=1&list=PLE6FB
http://www.youtube.com/v/LmSaOpat0vM
Post by: AB.Trini on November 27, 2010, 09:07:34 PM
Now sorry eh...but I am a 'purist' ah favour the  old time classics. Growing up ah use to groups coming by from Moruga with Gosein one of the BEST mandolin players; my father's first cousin. Sitting at home when they came by and marveling at the music. So if any one know of links with the following tunes that would be appreciated:

One has to love the old parang classics......  here are some of the old time groups:

San Jose Seranaders

Rio Claro
Santa Theresa
Valencia National Handicraft
Rancho Quemado
San Juan Serenaders
Old Oak Serenaders
Universal

And the QUEEN: DAISY VOISIN

Las Estrellas":

"Tucusito"

' La Pascualidad'-----This is a bomb classic!!!!! ah remember when this was unleashed in Trinidad. Man ah was litening to Holly Bet. on radio.. gosh this song mash up the house in the sixties!!!!

'Manzanare'

"Feliz Ano"

"La Colga"
Post by: TriniCana on November 28, 2010, 12:10:39 PM
RemBunction - MACAFOUCHETTE (OFFICIAL VIDEO)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WZAnVZUys6g&feature=player_embedded
http://www.youtube.com/v/WZAnVZUys6g
Post by: AB.Trini on November 29, 2010, 06:17:17 PM
Enjoy the History of Parang :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zDn8hwJQrM8&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cyQj8ZmCoWE&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=odVXdjRXWJw&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NdkPqnhySUs&feature=related ;One of my favourites....listen to the accent of the man that introduces the group and then check him sitting and enjoying the song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nw8P3wDGtx8&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hkhjmirOpjs&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TgR9w61t5aU&feature=fvw

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X8p6IUGTCHA&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A7WHgT-wHJw&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zv759TjptUw ;celebrating the chinese

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PbRXtvpZzLE&feature=player_embedded : as you listen to this group , see how the diversity of the island is depicted in the  pictures of the people.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XBeBgY2UMCA&feature=player_embedded : This singer has passed away but was considered the 'Queen' of parang in Trinidad. She set the stage for this genre.

http://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=169285393099984&id=141527592542217
Post by: AirMan on November 29, 2010, 08:19:15 PM
there are alot of nice tunes for this season..search them on youtube
Post by: AB.Trini on November 30, 2010, 09:14:43 PM
Some more classics: pure parang none ah this jump up and soca thing; Keep the parang true to its form.

Sonny Christian is a visitor at my folks place. So good to see ah tribute here to him.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c2hpCA7bi3c&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Mij_fzVFDU&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A2qS-Ntsr9o&feature=related    trini  Sweetness YES!!!!! WITH PAN

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LsdJBFOcIpA&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1qcJ4vD0nbA&feature=related

Post by: Sando prince on December 02, 2010, 07:36:34 PM
NEW 2010 PARANG SOCA..

http://www.youtube.com/v/BS-hxngA4p0&feature=sub
Post by: Bakes on December 02, 2010, 08:45:56 PM
Not sure if this was posted before... Chinee Parang

http://www.youtube.com/v/R5pIwDxKMr8
Post by: Organic on December 03, 2010, 08:44:51 AM

One of my favs
El diablo Suerte by Daisy Voisin

http://www.youtube.com/v/ByhpVqXvjMY

Post by: Organic on December 03, 2010, 08:45:43 AM
Nice collection there.

'Christmas on Sesame street' came out as a 7" record in 1975 with 'People to People' on the flipside. (Pan 3150 Arranged by Art DeCoteau)

in 1981 a 12 inch had 'Bottle & Spoon'/'Christmas is Yours Christmas is Mine' (RAPE RAPE 0001, Makossa MD9072 Arranged by Earl Rodney)

(http://web.archive.org/web/20040821101744/www.calypsoarchives.co.uk/maindirectory/images/relator-friendship.JPG)

RAPE RAPE 0004
A-2 Bottle and Spoon 

Every yr i check for these songs on the internet and as yet...no luck!!!!!
Post by: Bitter on December 13, 2010, 07:40:19 PM
Myron B

My Wish
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YGnvwJWYlaQ&feature=related

One Man Parang
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hrvghRLdyaY&feature=related

Nap Hepburn - Tell Santa Claus
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LD4jKGkjZiw
Post by: warmonga on December 14, 2010, 01:13:23 PM
mi side thing always telling mi bout you is a indian yu eh eating no pork right?. I tell she you know what listen this chune and then come to mi wid eating pork..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VkneT2H7WC0
Post by: warmonga on December 14, 2010, 01:16:59 PM
I find this thing on a web site

Latin Caribbean Party Vol. 1-Various Artists
latin caribbean party vol 1
1.le anuncio by los alumnos de san juan
2.soreno soreno bylos tocadores
3.por primrea vez by la divina pastora
4.burbujas de amor by flores de san jose
5.galeron by rebuscar
6.la gaita by lara bros.
7.bolero instrumental by los buenos parranderos
8.cantando gloria by los alumnos de san juan
9.si yo pudiera by flores de san jose
10.el camino by los buenos parranderos
11.la historia trinitaria by la divina pastora
12.que vega by lara bros.
13.anda parrandero bylos tocadores
14.don alberto by rebuscar
15.bring back sweet parang by big b

http://hulkshare.com/sdoz9e9zp9tt

Strictly Parang Vol.2-Various Artists
STRICTLY PARANG VOL 2
1.PASEN PASEN-LARA BROS.
2.SABANEANDO-LOS PARANDEROS DE UWI
3.DAISY MEDLEY-LOS ALUMNOS DEN SAN JUAN
4.NACIMIENTO-LOS PASTORES
5.RIO MANZANARE-VIVA NUEVA
6.SINTIENDO LANAVIDADE-VOCES JOVENES
7.CANTEMOS PASTORES-SHARLENE FLORES
8.PASEO-SOTERO &DOMINGO GOMEZ
9.EL GUARAPO-LOS COLORES DE NAVIDAD
10.NOSOTROS NOS VAMOS-LOS PARANDEROS DE UWI
11.NACIDO-VIVA NEUVA
12.DA ME EL VINO-VOCES JOVENES
13.FRIO FRIO-SHARLENE FLORES
14.VAMOS VAMOS-LARA BROS.
15.LA GALLINA-PAPA GUHN & SOTERO GOMEZ

http://hulkshare.com/wrgfzs2xb9iu

Title: Christmas memories
Post by: dwolfman on December 16, 2010, 05:29:20 AM
This song brought back a lot of memories being a little boy around Christmas Time. How many of you had to perform this song with your classmates for Christmas concert?  ;D

http://www.youtube.com/v/zfMvSVJA4JI
Title: Re: Christmas memories
Post by: Dutty on December 16, 2010, 12:24:15 PM
pure nostalgia for me on that one :beermug:
Post by: ZANDOLIE on December 16, 2010, 01:28:31 PM
Absolute classic and a beautiful piece of music!   :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

And this one was nice too...

http://www.youtube.com/v/88Vdy-lgP78
Post by: Bitter on December 16, 2010, 07:59:30 PM

don't have the original, but found a pan version on youtube
http://www.youtube.com/v/olP6OZEAqYY
Post by: FF on December 17, 2010, 08:58:32 AM

don't have the original, but found a pan version on youtube
http://www.youtube.com/v/olP6OZEAqYY

ah go take it!!  ;D
Post by: Dutty on December 17, 2010, 09:45:08 AM
btw,,,does christmas reggae still exist?

when I was small, 'chrismus rockers' was as common as parang.....I doubt man like busy signal and movado go sing dat......it have anybody does still do it?
Post by: E-man on December 17, 2010, 02:34:54 PM
Nice collection there.

RAPE RAPE 0004
A-2 Bottle and Spoon 

well Zandolie just found the Sesame steet song :
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=32746.msg713501#msg713501
Post by: E-man on December 17, 2010, 10:02:39 PM

well Zandolie just found the Sesame steet song :
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=32746.msg713501#msg713501

Here is an mp3 version I extracted from the youtube video
http://www.mediafire.com/?qf22cwy1qwqkiyc
Title: Ah need help allyuh.
Post by: just cool on December 23, 2010, 01:35:01 AM
Fellow forumites, there is a christmas song that i used to here as a kid, but since i in foreign i never heard it play once, so i'm of the opinion that it's either caribbean or trini in origin. please help me to identify this song so i could aquirre it for my little nephews and neices, and of course the meh children, and don't forget mama.

the lyrics goes like this. " little children heard of mr santa, teddy bears and dollies saying maama, the fragrance of black fruit cake and red wine, lets toast to a special friend of mine, his name is jesus"

chorus. "come little children round my christmas tree, lets have ah very merry timeeee. lets sing dance and sway, to the break of new years day, we'll listen to the church bells chime."

if ah could get ah yutetube or audio sample would be ah plus, but will settle for the name of the song.

Mods please bare wid meh. ah know this topic don't belong here, but since this is ah regularly visited forum, i would most likely find what i'm looking for here.

thank you guys, and happy holidays.
Title: Re: Ah need help allyuh.
Post by: truetrini on December 23, 2010, 01:52:00 AM
That is Lennox Grey song called "Around the Christmas tree." or around my christmas tree.

One of my all time faves.
Post by: just cool on December 23, 2010, 02:13:34 AM
That is Lennox Grey song called "Around the Christmas tree." or around my christmas tree.

Well i'm shocked! :o today was really ah strange day, first the DADT repelled, latas still in charge, and now you an atheist having a favorite "CHRISTMAS" song. well ah day.

BTW TC, no kiddin, thanx for that, i was trying meh best tuh find that song for meh mother and the kids but to no avail. ah know it had to be a local song.                       much appreciated.
Post by: just cool on December 23, 2010, 02:16:23 AM
Dahs the damn ting self! thanx again TC. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k7og8aTLPtc  

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zfMvSVJA4JI&feature=related

Post by: FF on December 23, 2010, 08:24:06 AM
Dahs the damn ting self! thanx again TC. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k7og8aTLPtc  

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zfMvSVJA4JI&feature=related

jus cool... in de entertainment board have a thread with christmas and parang music... yuh will find several other oldies in there as well that you might enjoy
Post by: truetrini on December 23, 2010, 02:19:06 PM

Well i'm shocked! :o today was really ah strange day, first the DADT repelled, latas still in charge, and now you an atheist having a favorite "CHRISTMAS" song. well ah day.

BTW TC, no kiddin, thanx for that, i was trying meh best tuh find that song for meh mother and the kids but to no avail. ah know it had to be a local song.                       much appreciated.

Christamas has nutten to do with christainaity..it is a well known paga festival thatw as co-opted and shoved down allyuh throats!

Not to mention de christmas tree lol
Post by: Bakes on December 23, 2010, 03:54:02 PM
Christamas has nutten to do with christainaity..it is a well known paga festival thatw as co-opted and shoved down allyuh throats!

I dunno what "christainaity" is an whose throats it was forced down... or what "Christamas" is for that matter.  But Christmas the observance celebrated on December 25th has very much to do with Christianity.  Downright foolish to assert otherwise.
Post by: just cool on December 23, 2010, 07:37:05 PM

Yuh preachin to the chior breds. i well verse on the origins of christmas. tell it to the others who maybe in the dark about this, as ah matter of fact, fack it, i will tell it.

it's an old roman pagan tradition that derived from babylon centuries ago.

the romans used to celebrate the birth of mithra on the 25th of december before constantine christianized them, as we all know mithra was the pagan roman savior of the world before christ kicked him off the wagon and stole his birthday and his title becoming the new savior, hence christmas.  ;D
Title: Re: Christmas carols, parang, soca parang
Post by: just cool on December 23, 2010, 09:18:34 PM
Mitra was Babylonian ? I thought it was Set. So which civilization was older Babylon or Indian cause a google search saying Mitra was an Indian god .

I specifically used the word "DERIVED" not "ORIGINATED" in babylon. maybe it orignated in india, but as far as i know, mithrism was a babylonian concept that made it's way to the grecco roman empire and finally settling and rooted itself in roman culture.

i don't talk of the top off my head, and most things i post could be supported with facts. 
http://www.gto.org/Articles/Mithraism.htm
http://www.sullivan-county.com/bush/mithraism.htm
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20101020093107AAMrBmA
http://www.innvista.com/culture/religion/deities/mithra.htm
http://www.vexen.co.uk/religion/mithraism.html
Post by: Bakes on December 24, 2010, 12:21:59 AM

Yuh preachin to the chior breds. i well verse on the origins of christmas. tell it to the others who maybe in the dark about this, as ah matter of fact, fack it, i will tell it.

the romans used to celebrate the birth of mithra on the 25th of december before constantine christianized them, as we all know mithra was the pagan roman savior of the world before christ kicked him off the wagon and stole his birthday and his title becoming the new savior, hence christmas.  ;D

This is nonsense.

Christmas is it's own celebration, it was not derived from any pagan observations.  Christ was a historical person, meaning he actually existed and was not some myth.  Christmas is a celebration of his birth, which to Christians has special meaning given his divinity.  Non-Christians can question his divinity if they like but for believers there is ample reasons for it.  All that said, there are pagan traditions which have been incorporated into the Christmas celebration over the years.  Among these are Santa Claus (Saint Nicklaus), burning the yule log/yule tree (which was turned into placing lit candles on yule trees; which today is lighting Christmas trees), celebrating the birth of Sol Invictus the Sun God/observing the arrival of the Winter Solstice (December 21st; which became the modern day observation of December 25 thanks to the early Catholic Church)... to name a few.

Incorporating these traditions made it easier to convert pagans to Christianity, but by no means indicates that Christmas was derived from these traditions.  At one point "Discovery Day" was celebrated in Trinidad and Tobago on August 1st.  25 yrs ago it was decided that the observation would be replaced by "Emancipation Day" instead... also to be celebrated on August 1st, since slaves were emancipated in the British colonies on that day in 1834.  Two observances, celebrated on the same day, one replacing the other.  Was Emancipation Day derived from Discovery Day?  Anybody really want to try and make that argument?

Of course the analogy isn't perfect, Discovery Day and Emancipation Day are observed in drastically distinct ways, unlike Christmas and some of the earlier traditions/observances, where there is much similarity.  Nonetheless, the birth of Christ is no fable, nor is his Divinity, to Christians.  But it's a favorite heresy of atheists and other non-believers.
Post by: truetrini on December 24, 2010, 02:26:54 AM
Christmas' origin was hardly Christian.  In fct the earliest criticsm to Christmas came from Christians who said it was anything but christian.

Christmas was created to capture pagans into christianity and the Church (RomN catholic) allowed all the excesses of the old Staurnalia festivals.

No way..christmas is a lie.

I have to admit, it has morphed into something other than hat it was originally, and people are nicer etc.  but it is a lie.
Post by: just cool on December 24, 2010, 02:35:11 AM

This is nonsense.

Christmas is it's own celebration, it was not derived from any pagan observations.  Christ was a historical person, meaning he actually existed and was not some myth.  Christmas is a celebration of his birth, which to Christians has special meaning given his divinity.  Non-Christians can question his divinity if they like but for believers there is ample reasons for it.  All that said, there are pagan traditions which have been incorporated into the Christmas celebration over the years.  Among these are Santa Claus (Saint Nicklaus), burning the yule log/yule tree (which was turned into placing lit candles on yule trees; which today is lighting Christmas trees), celebrating the birth of Sol Invictus the Sun God/observing the arrival of the Winter Solstice (December 21st; which became the modern day observation of December 25 thanks to the early Catholic Church)... to name a few.

Incorporating these traditions made it easier to convert pagans to Christianity, but by no means indicates that Christmas was derived from these traditions.  At one point "Discovery Day" was celebrated in Trinidad and Tobago on August 1st.  25 yrs ago it was decided that the observation would be replaced by "Emancipation Day" instead... also to be celebrated on August 1st, since slaves were emancipated in the British colonies on that day in 1834.  Two observances, celebrated on the same day, one replacing the other.  Was Emancipation Day derived from Discovery Day?  Anybody really want to try and make that argument?

Of course the analogy isn't perfect, Discovery Day and Emancipation Day are observed in drastically distinct ways, unlike Christmas and some of the earlier traditions/observances, where there is much similarity.  Nonetheless, the birth of Christ is no fable, nor is his Divinity, to Christians.  But it's a favorite heresy of atheists and other non-believers.
Poppycock!!! first off, initially, there was nothing named christianity, and the fella who we all know today as "JESUS CHRIST" was a ah practicing jew. he never told the israelites to eat pork, do away with the sabbath and the law of moses, instead he instructed them on the purity of worship and the true precepts of god and was marely instructing them to return to the faith of moses with ah more merciful approach, in other words a reformer.

in the acts of the apostles, the beginning of the 3rd chapter "peter"/simeon and "john"/ yohan went up to the temple to worship, and that was after the death or disappearance of the christ, IMO that's a clear indication that they were still observing jewish law.

the christianity we all know and love is ah greek religion given to them by st paul and not jesus. hense the reason pual and barnabas (who was jesus's first cousin) went separate ways never to unite ever again, that's BC paul was talkin some shyte that jesus didn't teach them, and barnabas and mark bounced.

in 70 AD after the sacking of jerusalem by titus,the followers of christ for the most part retreated to deserts of egypt where they were known in those days as the nazerenes and the ebonites, and they stayed there for 100s of yrs, of which after they moved throughout the middles east.

jesus himself quoted in the gospel of mathew 5:17 that he didn't come to end the law but to observe, full fill, keep. i not doubting that the early pauline grecco christians did celebrate christ birthday, but the romans were the ones who made christmas what is is now, which was a pagan concept.

PS: i still love christmas and does still listen to meh carols but i don't get carried away with the significance BC it routed in paganism. but as andy williams said, "it's the most wonderful time of the year".  :devil:

BTW check out jeremiah chp 10: 1-4  some more facts about christmas and it's pagan origin.
Post by: Trinimassive on December 24, 2010, 06:47:00 AM
There's a right side and a wrong side on this topic.

Let's see who'll be wrong and strong on this one :thinking:
Post by: truetrini on December 24, 2010, 11:31:22 AM
http://news.yahoo.com/video/world-15749633/mystery-of-the-magi-23613928
Post by: truetrini on December 24, 2010, 11:38:45 AM
 Happy Festivus, end of Hannukah, Saturnalia, St Stephens Day, St Lucia, Winter Solstice, Navidad, Noel, Second day, Clock Day, Family Day, Kwanzaa, Goodwill Day, St Nicolas Day, Jinnah Day, Karen Day, and the Birthday of Horus...a festive season to all!!!!
Post by: Bakes on December 24, 2010, 03:13:45 PM
Christmas' origin was hardly Christian.  In fct the earliest criticsm to Christmas came from Christians who said it was anything but christian.

Christmas was created to capture pagans into christianity and the Church (RomN catholic) allowed all the excesses of the old Staurnalia festivals.

No way..christmas is a lie.

I have to admit, it has morphed into something other than hat it was originally, and people are nicer etc.  but it is a lie.

So please tell us then... what were the origins of Christmas?  Was Christ real or was he a myth... is his divinity a myth to Christians?
Post by: Quags on December 24, 2010, 03:25:43 PM
apparently no roman philosopher living at the time talks of jesus .apparently it all has to do with the ages .ie remember moses throw the bull statue ...well that was the age of Taurus .After Taurus was the age of Pisces ,the fishs Like Jesus.
We should receive another  savior at the age of Aquarius . 
Post by: truetrini on December 24, 2010, 03:28:27 PM
if Christ is real or a myth has no bearing on the festival.  His divinity was decided some 300 years after his death according to the Council Of Nicea.

To christians his divinity is real.  still trying to figure out what his divinity has to do with Christmas..seems more like Easter to me.

Post by: Bakes on December 24, 2010, 03:58:54 PM
Poppycock!!! first off, initially, there was nothing named christianity, and the fella who we all know today as "JESUS CHRIST" was a ah practicing jew. he never told the israelites to eat pork, do away with the sabbath and the law of moses, instead he instructed them on the purity of worship and the true precepts of god and was marely instructing them to return to the faith of moses with ah more merciful approach, in other words a reformer.

Of course initially there was nothing named Christianity... it must start at a certain point, and until that point that it originates then it's not in existence.  Initially there was nothing named Islam or Judaism either... I'm not sure what your point is supposed to be.  Christ never instructed the Jews to do away with the things you mentioned but he gave new meaning to them, he told them they could continue their observances, such as observing the Sabbath, circumcision, maintaining a kosher diet etc.  However Jews did these things in fulfillment of the promise made between God and Abraham, known as the 'covenant', which is a fancy way of say bond or agreement.  Christ told them that they no longer had to keep up these observances as part of their covenant with God.  He was the New Covenant and belief in and acceptance of him is now the only way to maintain that promise with God.  

It's hardly as simple as present it, it had little to do with that "more merciful" talk you suggesting... what Christ was proposing was very radical and very much a heresy in the eyes of the Jews... compounded by the fact that he claimed to be able to perform miracles, something reserved exclusively to God.

i
n the acts of the apostles, the beginning of the 3rd chapter "peter"/simeon and "john"/ yohan went up to the temple to worship, and that was after the death or disappearance of the christ, IMO that's a clear indication that they were still observing jewish law.

What exactly is this supposed to prove... because they were still observing certain aspects of Jewish faith that means that they weren't observing Christianity??  Christianity is not that different from Judaism that you won't see some of the old faith survive in the new... this isn't  Christianity and Islam we talking about.  Christianity is in line with Judaism on everything but the deity of Christ.  I guarantee you that Peter and John believed that Christ was the Son of God and that ascended into heaven and reunited with God following his death... something the Jews would never say.

the christianity we all know and love is ah greek religion given to them by st paul and not jesus. hense the reason pual and barnabas (who was jesus's first cousin) went separate ways never to unite ever again, that's BC paul was talkin some shyte that jesus didn't teach them, and barnabas and mark bounced.

This is beyond foolish... the central tenets of Christianity are traced directly to the works and writings of the 12 disciples of Christ, including the very same Peter and Mark you mention.  None of these disciples were Greek, nor was Paul himself.  Paul was a Roman citizen, but also a practicing Jew.  Christianity was already in existence by the time Paul was converted.. proof of this is in the fact that he was one of the chief Jewish leaders given responsibility for persecuting the blasphemous new Christians.  How then could Paul give a religion that was already in existence?

As for the ridiculous claim that Barnabas and Mark "bounced"  because Paul was teaching something not taught by Jesus... this is beyond silly.  Paul by the force of his personality, his inherent passion and the strength of his belief.. became an early leader of the new Christian sect.  I say "sect" because Christians very much still saw themselves as Jews, very much the say Sunnis and Shi'as see themselves as Muslims following the teachings of different imams.  Christ was a rabbi who brought new teachings to the Jewish faith.  The disciples embraced these teachings as 'gospel' and after the death and resurrection of Christ they undertook as their mission the publicaiton and dissemination of his teachings.   In order to reach as many people as possible it became necessary to disperse and go their separate ways... they didn't have no Praise The Lord ministries or 700 Club to spread their message so they had to travel in order to spread that Word.  This is why they went their separate ways.  There is nothing in the writings of Mark which indicates that he was at odds with Paul.  Mark's Gospel is 99.9% in sync with the other Gospels of Matthew, Luke and John.  None of these other Gospels indicate that there was anything 'off' or different or objectionable with the teachings of Paul.

in 70 AD after the sacking of jerusalem by titus,the followers of christ for the most part retreated to deserts of egypt where they were known in those days as the nazerenes and the ebonites, and they stayed there for 100s of yrs, of which after they moved throughout the middles east.

I have no idea what this has to do with anything... other than to say that Christians were spread about... this simple fact you reference has little bearings on the origins of Christianity.

jesus himself quoted in the gospel of mathew 5:17 that he didn't come to end the law but to observe, full fill, keep. i not doubting that the early pauline grecco christians did celebrate christ birthday, but the romans were the ones who made christmas what is is now, which was a pagan concept.

Of course he didn't come to end the law... but to fulfill it.  HE was fulfilment of the law of Moses.  Believe in him and accept him as the "way the truth and the life", that no one get to Heaven but thru him (John 14:6).  It is clear that this represents a radical departure from traditional Jewish teachings that the way to Heaven was thru the observances of the laws of Moses, the keeping of the Covenant.  Your suggestion is that Christ wasn't trying to take the religion in a new direction.  Well that is PRECISELY what he did.  He didn't call himself a Christian just like Martin Luther didn't call himself a Lutheran, John Calvin didn't call himself a Calvinist, and Siddartha Gautama didn't call himself a Buddhist.  That doesn't refute the fact that Christianity is the same core beliefs that were taught by Christ and handed down to and thru his disciples.

PS: i still love christmas and does still listen to meh carols but i don't get carried away with the significance BC it routed in paganism. but as andy williams said, "it's the most wonderful time of the year".  :devil:

BTW check out jeremiah chp 10: 1-4  some more facts about christmas and it's pagan origin.

Jeremiah 10:1-4 says nothing about pagan origins about Christmas... yuh might want to read it again.  It speaks about idol worship and the fact that some worshipped trees.  The only potential link with Christmas is the fact that we light Christmas trees today.  Of course it's silly to say that this practice originated with the worshipping of trees... but I'm sure that won't stop you from trying to make that argument.

------------------------

Trust me, is not now I having these discussions on Christianity and Christmas... there is hardly an argument that you can make that I haven't already heard.
Post by: Bakes on December 24, 2010, 04:06:16 PM
if Christ is real or a myth has no bearing on the festival.  His divinity was decided some 300 years after his death according to the Council Of Nicea.

To christians his divinity is real.  still trying to figure out what his divinity has to do with Christmas..seems more like Easter to me.

Whether he is real or not has everything to do with the festival, since YOU are one of the two here saying that the origins or Christmas were pagan.   Christians clearly tie the origins of the religion to his birth and the hope that his birth offered to believers, later fulfilled by his teachings during his lifetime.  Those teachings gave rise to the belief that he was the Son of God and that he ascended into Heaven to be reunited with God.

I myself have written extensively here about the Council of Nicea, so you not really telling me anything I don't know.  Maybe that is for others like Trini assive who following on the sidelines.  Following the Coucil of Nicea in 325 a.d. it was finally adopted as the official position of the Church that Christ was divine.  It's not that Christians didn't believe this before... a majority of Christians always believed that Christ was divine.  The Aryan Heresy however proved to be significant enough a threat to that unofficial belief that it became necessary for the Church to formalize the belief.

If you still trying to figure out what the divinity of christ has to do with Christmas then no wonder you making the types of arguments you making.
Post by: Brownsugar on December 24, 2010, 04:21:02 PM
All yuh probably have this in the list already but in an attempt to bring back de thread from impending hi-jack.....

Ah love dis chune!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hBAmaCE-ND0 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hBAmaCE-ND0)

Black Cake and Sorrel.....
Post by: che on December 24, 2010, 04:29:09 PM
All yuh probably have this in the list already but in an attempt to bring back de thread from impending hi-jack.....

Ah love dis chune!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hBAmaCE-ND0 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hBAmaCE-ND0)

Black Cake and Sorrel.....

Thanks BrownSweetSugar I real love this song. :beermug:
Post by: truetrini on December 24, 2010, 04:49:35 PM

Whether he is real or not has everything to do with the festival, since YOU are one of the two here saying that the origins or Christmas were pagan.   Christians clearly tie the origins of the religion to his birth and the hope that his birth offered to believers, later fulfilled by his teachings during his lifetime.  Those teachings gave rise to the belief that he was the Son of God and that he ascended into Heaven to be reunited with God.

I myself have written extensively here about the Council of Nicea, so you not really telling me anything I don't know.  Maybe that is for others like Trini assive who following on the sidelines.  Following the Coucil of Nicea in 325 a.d. it was finally adopted as the official position of the Church that Christ was divine.  It's not that Christians didn't believe this before... a majority of Christians always believed that Christ was divine.  The Aryan Heresy however proved to be significant enough a threat to that unofficial belief that it became necessary for the Church to formalize the belief.

If you still trying to figure out what the divinity of christ has to do with Christmas then no wonder you making the types of arguments you making.

I understand your position,.

Merry Christamas my brother.  Even though I don't beleive in the Divinity of Christ, or that there are any Gods out there. it is truly one of my favorite times of the year.

I like the vibe and the way people behave.

So Happy Holidays and enjoy to the max!
Post by: Quags on December 24, 2010, 04:56:51 PM
And on that note ,I beleive this great song should un hijack the tread
Merry Christmas
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LD4jKGkjZiw&playnext=1&list=PL2F3E1E5F33F07BFE&index=12
Post by: Bakes on December 24, 2010, 05:02:48 PM
I understand your position,.

Merry Christamas my brother.  Even though I don't beleive in the Divinity of Christ, or that there are any Gods out there. it is truly one of my favorite times of the year.

I like the vibe and the way people behave.

So Happy Holidays and enjoy to the max!

Yeah man, Happy Holidays to you and yours as well... and tell mih peoples I said hello. 
Post by: truetrini on December 24, 2010, 05:12:56 PM
(Click the link below for the ecard)

http://ak.imgag.com/imgag/product/preview/flash/bws8Shell_fps24.swf?ihost=http://ak.imgag.com/imgag&brandldrPath=/product/full/el/&cardNum=/product/full/ap/3166187/graphic1
Post by: just cool on December 24, 2010, 07:26:10 PM
Bake N shark you've spoken like ah true christian. the way yuh dispose of every one of my arguments like non of them were credable is just amazing and indicative of every christian i've said this to.

i won't take this any further though, since there's nothing in it for me, but there's one thing i must reply to. the fact that yuh tie up initial in ah knot to mean from the begining of it all as opposed to what i meant to say which was in the beginning of christ mission and there after his followers, is quite convenient.

but allow me to say it again, and i'm using the word initial as to say, "from the beginning of jesus's mission and his disciples carrying on there after". initially from the beginning to the end of his mission, christianity did not exist, not in name, not in practice, not in creed!!!

these guys were jews who followed a different brand of judism, they kept the sabbath, they worshiped yahweh only, and they followed the precepts of moses, nothing that the christians follow today or in the 4th century is comparable!

the early followers of jesus were not called christians, but rather nazerenes and ebonoites, that's the only reason i mentioned them. they also didn't believe in the cross or jesus being their savior, to them he was the good teacher/ prophet and nothing more.

this whole concept of savior, son of god, divinity of christ and trinity was never a concept during the life of jesus, his disciples nor the early followers of his message.

as for christianity and judism not being that different, back then or any other time, :o  this one i have tuh say was the one that lost me, and lead me to believe that you eh know what the hell yuh talking bout!! as ah matter of fact, the only similarities that christianity and judism have in common is the half ah book that they share, apart from that, apples oranges.

jews believe in one solitary deity, christians believe in the trinity for the most part except the unitarians. judaism follow the law of moses, christians don't, except for the adventist dem. judaism celebrate different holy day like rashanna, yaum kipor, channaka, shemini atzeret, passover and many more, christians don't! also christians celebrate holidays which have no correlation with judaism and the jews therefore don't follow them either.

as for the comment jesus made about not abolishing the law,but to fulfill it, he then went on to say, until heaven and earth pass away, not one "jot" (an iota) nor one "tittle" (a point or small sign used as a diacritical mark) shall in no wise pass from the law until all be fulfilled.

and this is self explanatory. fulfill has a few meanings, examples= (A) to bring to an end, (b) to put into effect, (C) to measure up too,(D) to covert into reality, ah wonder which one jesus was talkin bout? well ah know for sure he wasn't talking bout (A) BC he already said in the beginning of the statement, that he eh come to abolish the law, so it had to be either B,C or D., plus he said until heaven and earth pass away, not one jot of the law shall in no wise fail.

now in case i'm not dreaming i will pinch my self just tuh make sure, BC as far as i know, heaven and earth still here and has in no wise passed away! which means the law of moses according the christ is still in effect. but anyway ah know yuh will probably find ah way tuh annul every argument that was brought again.

BTW, i have the same disposition had TC, i love the vibes of christmas, but i don't believe it has shyte to do with christ, but rather an old roman pagan tradition that survive through the transition from pagan rome to papal rome.

merry christmas bro, don't drink too much.      positive. :beermug:

Post by: Bakes on December 24, 2010, 10:17:32 PM
(Click the link below for the ecard)

http://ak.imgag.com/imgag/product/preview/flash/bws8Shell_fps24.swf?ihost=http://ak.imgag.com/imgag&brandldrPath=/product/full/el/&cardNum=/product/full/ap/3166187/graphic1

Thanks pardna  :beermug:
Post by: Bakes on December 24, 2010, 10:23:10 PM
JC yuh right pardna, the early Christians didn't believe Christ was the savior... the conversation between Christ and Peter in the Garden of Gethsemane the night that he was betrayed... that never happened, or Peter was just mouthing the words, he never really believed that.  The Gospel authors only write the Gospel to show how crazy Jesus was, walking around talking about how he was the path to redemption.... they themselves never really believed any of that.  But as yuh said... I really dunno what the hell I talking about so leh we eh waste any more time on this.

Happy Holidays  :beermug:
Post by: just cool on December 25, 2010, 06:07:45 AM
JC yuh right pardna, the early Christians didn't believe Christ was the savior... the conversation between Christ and Peter in the Garden of Gethsemane the night that he was betrayed... that never happened, or Peter was just mouthing the words, he never really believed that.  The Gospel authors only write the Gospel to show how crazy Jesus was, walking around talking about how he was the path to redemption.... they themselves never really believed any of that.  But as yuh said... I really dunno what the hell I talking about so leh we eh waste any more time on this.

Happy Holidays  :beermug:
Nah sharks, doh take it like that. ah know this is ah christmas thread and ah hate tuh go on wid all this, but sometime i does get carried away with topics like this BC of a special interest of mine.

as for your statements i have bolded in red, there's also a flip side. there were @ least 20 gospels that never made it into the canonical library, forinstance, the gospel of barnabas, gospel of nicodemus, gospel of Q, gospel of thomas, egerton gospel, gospel of mary, gospel of the nazoreans, gospel of the ebonites, secret gospel of mark, dialogue of the savior, and much more, and most of these gospels support a whole different view of christ and his mission than what we have today in the new testament.

we all know that bishop irenaeus persecuted the judao "christians" (true followers of christ) and labeled them heretics, their accounts of christ mission never made it into the canonical books either,

that's BC their view of jesus didn't fit the story that was told by paul and others, so it's really hard to say what was christ mission since there are so many conflicting accounts.

i think you should do some more research, there ah wealth of information just waitin to be tapped into. i think you should start with the complete gospels by john dominic crossan, and the gnostic gospels by elaine pagels.

merry christmas bro and enjoy yuh day.   :beermug:
Post by: zuluwarrior on December 25, 2010, 10:54:02 AM
There is this other song that Lenox Gray sang it goes something like this sha la la la la have a happy day a merry christ day.
Post by: AirMan on December 25, 2010, 12:00:59 PM
My Christmas Anthem

http://www.youtube.com/v/bvMGoLN3dWE
Title: looking for a parang song
Post by: sammy on December 10, 2011, 10:44:13 PM
an OLLLLD parang kinda disco

it goes

Christmas time comes once a year
its the only time you ever seem to care
i've got music in my soul now
i dont need you any more....

anyone knows the name of the song and the singer and if it on youtube?
Title: Re: looking for a parang song
Post by: Bitter on December 10, 2011, 11:18:55 PM
Colleen Grant - Latin Parang

http://www.youtube.com/v/U2VTgObSpoA
Post by: elan on December 11, 2011, 10:56:01 AM
Sammy but yuh have rel taste boy.
Post by: che on December 12, 2011, 11:03:28 AM
I have this song on ah old tape that my Dad sent me in 1989 with some real nice classic Soca Parang from the 80's. I don't even have a cassette player anymore  :rotfl:
Post by: warmonga on December 12, 2011, 07:43:47 PM
here is anice link for di chune here ...

http://www.zshare.net/audio/97308483ea2e0d15/

Post by: sammy on December 12, 2011, 08:05:40 PM
thanks dread

this hadda be one of the baddest parang tunes ever....
Post by: sammy on December 12, 2011, 08:09:31 PM
how come allyuh doh have a parang thread?????

anyhow,

look another classic 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ID23l-o96fg

PS crazy is the true soca parang king!!
Post by: kicker on December 13, 2011, 12:10:33 PM

Because yuh now start it  ;D
Post by: FF on December 13, 2011, 12:45:35 PM
YESSSS

You know I had no idea what parang tune dat was till I take it in!!

Dat is ah classic!  :wavetowel:
Post by: warmonga on December 13, 2011, 02:44:30 PM

anyhow,

look another classic 

war eh get time to start it..lol

warmonga
Post by: FF on December 13, 2011, 03:38:22 PM

anyhow,

look another classic 

warmonga

giwee a mix when yuh get ah chance nah! 

please and thanks!  :beermug:
Post by: sammy on December 13, 2011, 08:02:44 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Je1XvKe8_Rw

look one before allyuh sleep
Post by: che on December 14, 2011, 08:26:07 PM
Look two real big songs  :wavetowel:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hBAmaCE-ND0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=svQdu1sR1OM&feature=related
Post by: warmonga on December 14, 2011, 09:30:04 PM

anyhow,

look another classic 

warmonga

giwee a mix when yuh get ah chance nah! 

please and thanks!  :beermug:

I have a lil mix I go send on soon .. sum ole school parang though..

Post by: warmonga on December 15, 2011, 10:16:22 AM
Here is a ole school parang mix .. jes a quick thing more like A COMPILATION 
Thing call is meat a want ...
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=NGZQ1KSW
enjoy

Post by: FF on December 15, 2011, 10:26:36 AM
Here is a ole school parang mix .. jes a quick thing more like A COMPILATION 
Thing call is meat a want ...
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=NGZQ1KSW
enjoy

Thanks war... old school is de best school
Post by: Bitter on December 15, 2011, 03:18:34 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/W6UDO91QDIQ
Post by: Bitter on December 15, 2011, 03:31:53 PM
The Sparkes- Message to Santa Claus

http://www.youtube.com/v/PJzYcLmmP98
Post by: Bitter on December 15, 2011, 03:50:45 PM
Karene Asche: Curfew Parang

http://www.youtube.com/v/CgxpkHIcbvQ
Post by: Bitter on December 15, 2011, 03:55:21 PM
Myron B: Barrel a Rum

http://www.youtube.com/v/zjwQdyDBZhQ
Post by: Bitter on December 15, 2011, 04:07:32 PM
Katrika: Soukous Paranda

http://www.youtube.com/v/mQjKtIfDYg0
Post by: Bitter on December 15, 2011, 04:10:57 PM
Like I say, I would pay to see Myron B.

Talking Parang

http://www.youtube.com/v/Zid_btbuKEQ
Post by: kicker on December 15, 2011, 05:07:11 PM
Colleen Grant - Latin Parang

http://www.youtube.com/v/U2VTgObSpoA

Very very large tune!!

Wow!
Post by: pecan on December 19, 2011, 03:14:35 PM
My son now living in Japan teaching English for the Japanese Government as part of the Japanese Exchange and Teaching (JET) programme.

One of the objective is to foster cultural exchange and the teachers are encouraged to integrate parts of their culture into the teaching plans. So for Christmas, he decided to introduce his students to parang.   Here is an email received from him today.

Email starts

Thanks to you, dad, there are just over 200 Japanese youths who have been exposed to parang and soca parang.  I think they got a real kick out of it. They weren't sure what to expect, but it wasn't that.
For the class I got them to listen to Piece ah Pork. I gave them the lines of the chorus out of order, and they had to listen to the song and put them in the correct order. Must students were able to do it, which surprised me, since the language level of these students is so low. Then we translated the chorus, and they got a laugh out of that.
One student said it sounded like summer music.
A couple students in each class started to dance in their seat.
One student sang the chorus for fun after the song had ended. It wasn't a task. He just felt like singing.
Later on in the lesson I played Christmas bingo. While doing that I played the rest of the parang you sent me.
So if some of the goals of the JET Program are cultural exchange, and for us Assistant Language Teachers to share our culture, I think these goals are being met.
Thanks for the help, dad.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 19, 2011, 09:58:32 PM
Pecan, yuh family running riot across Asia dis year :)
Post by: Preacher on December 20, 2011, 12:07:35 AM
There was a song that I remember

Gifts, toys, I never had those Christmas joys
Your Love, is my only Christmas Joy
We share, a kind of love that the world should know
It's real, so real
That's how all in love should free. 

They used to show it on Tv a lot but can't find it on youtube.
Post by: pecan on December 20, 2011, 07:43:05 AM

LOL .. for troot.  The next one just applied to JET. If she gets accepted, I'll have two of them in Japan next year. So that two off the payroll. One to go.
Post by: weary1969 on December 20, 2011, 10:48:03 AM

LOL .. for troot.  The next one just applied to JET. If she gets accepted, I'll have two of them in Japan next year. So that two off the payroll. One to go.

More money 2 come 2 TNT more often.
Post by: Preacher on December 21, 2011, 04:18:14 PM
Ah come across dese lyrics, but ah cyar remember de name of de chune

Laughing children, tug at Mr. Santa
Teddy bears, and dollies singing mama
The fragrance of black fruit cake and red wine,
We'll toast to a special friend of mine

His name is Jesus,
Come little children
Round my Christmas tree,
We'll sing dance and play
We'll listen to the church bell chime.

Christmas presents, come with seasons greetings
There will be such peaceful loving feelings
Such feelings should not come just once a year
To laugh to cherish and to share

There's a light that shines on every flower
And it shines every minute every hour
And it always guides me on my way
This light was born on Christmas day

His name is Jesus
Come little children
Round my Christmas tree
We'll sing dance an play
We'll listen to the church bells chime

This tune always sound a little like it was Count Dracula singing it.   ;D
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 21, 2011, 06:12:32 PM
Somebody post "going from house to house" fuh meh please!
Post by: Bitter on December 21, 2011, 06:28:50 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MJr2Lgz7ENM

look a remix here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wm9m8uJHkGI
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 21, 2011, 06:34:23 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MJr2Lgz7ENM

look a remix here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wm9m8uJHkGI

Bless Bitter!  We having a lil youtube parang session here lol
Post by: Socapro on December 21, 2011, 08:36:48 PM
Here are some new & old parang tunes/videos to put you all in the festive spirit over the next few days!!
Happy Christmas everybody!!   :chilling:

Scrunter - Daylight Parang (2011 Parang Soca)
https://www.youtube.com/v/UzpdpyHLGlY

Crazy - Keep It Holy (2011 Parang Soca)
https://www.youtube.com/v/hGoItW4DhLg

Lord Relator - Sip & Chat (2011 Christmas Calypso)
http://www.youtube.com/v/pCT7ZNX1OWA
Post by: Socapro on December 21, 2011, 08:38:15 PM
Marcia Miranda - Gimme Love Fuh Christmas
https://www.youtube.com/v/-ClN-PrUJF4

Marcia Miranda - Bring Out De Ham
https://www.youtube.com/v/gqDkkkK34wQ

Marcia Miranda - Roast Fowl
https://www.youtube.com/v/WsPTmoNo2Vo

Marcia Miranda - Thiefing Parang Band
https://www.youtube.com/v/JRpIIEkt8Iw
Post by: Socapro on December 21, 2011, 08:40:16 PM
RemBunction - Mr Santa Claus
https://www.youtube.com/v/KrHEJiAXBWg

RemBunction - Samantha Claus (I'm A Big Boy)
https://www.youtube.com/v/seLkgb5V8K8

RemBunction - Macafouchette
https://www.youtube.com/v/WZAnVZUys6g

Sheldon Blackman, Isaac Blackman & RemBunction - Home For Christmas
https://www.youtube.com/v/sp5lcBZnJho
Post by: Socapro on December 21, 2011, 08:41:35 PM
Joseph Adams - My Poor Piggy
https://www.youtube.com/v/z2Ic-FwvbqE

Ninja - Wrong House... (Story to be continued by Joseph Adams)
https://www.youtube.com/v/Doet6n7WJ1U
Post by: Socapro on December 21, 2011, 08:45:08 PM
Sweetest Christmas Riddum Medley Pt.1 - Various Artists:
(Baron, Ziggy Ranking, Lil Bits, Denise Belfon & Family)

https://www.youtube.com/v/YvhGLKsdzc8

Sweetest Christmas Riddum Medley Pt.2 - Various Artists:
(General Grant, H2O Phlo, Nicole DeCoteau, Olatunji & RemBunction)

https://www.youtube.com/v/GrO03NeNDa0

Christmas Riddim Medley - Various Artists: (Eddie Charles, Blazer Dan, Ziggy Ranking,
Lil Bits, Ginger, General Grant, Ghetto Flex, Denise Belfon & Family & H2O Phlo)

https://www.youtube.com/v/bvMGoLN3dWE
Post by: Socapro on December 21, 2011, 08:47:13 PM
Leon Coldero - Ron (Soca Parang)
https://www.youtube.com/v/uD4ty3KxJZ0

Third Bass - Par-Hang
https://www.youtube.com/v/0YDcBKpetlU

Eddie Charles - Ah Comin Dey (Parang Soca)
https://www.youtube.com/v/o_DakaEod0U

Daddy Chinee & Impulse - Christmas Stormers (Parang Soca)
https://www.youtube.com/v/eCUhOIUROfs

Da Spirits - "Ginger Beer Jam" (Instrumental)
https://www.youtube.com/v/JotxeEpCB1U
Post by: Socapro on December 21, 2011, 08:49:23 PM
Los Islanderos - Peachtree Parang
https://www.youtube.com/v/T3uxYXpvRw4

Super Rod - Ah Piece Ah Cat (2011 Soca Parang)
https://www.youtube.com/v/dNmPqEjob-M

The Incredible Myron B - Coming Down Tonight (Live)
https://www.youtube.com/v/b4ILRDic__o
Post by: Socapro on December 21, 2011, 08:56:00 PM
Live Parang Lime in Lopinot with Cruz De Mayo featuring Paul Hernandez
https://www.youtube.com/v/phgXXU91jtU

Symphony in G Parang - Robert Munro & Friends (Live in Paramin)
http://www.youtube.com/v/UR3c8E6ggj0

Robert Munro Friday Parang Lime (Live)
https://www.youtube.com/v/NQLJuIX5cbI
Post by: Quags on December 23, 2011, 08:17:42 AM
Sumting soyt chalkdust
http://www.youtube.com/v/7I53qvcEVkQ
Post by: Bitter on December 26, 2011, 08:52:44 AM
This one has been stuck in my head.

http://www.youtube.com/v/iT8536hne7E

Post by: STEUPS!! on December 27, 2011, 08:19:44 AM
Scrunter - In d Backyard

http://www.youtube.com/v/S9dvUddOaic

nice tune
Post by: Deeks on December 27, 2011, 07:09:30 PM
Mahn, It has been a while since I heard that Lennox Gray song. Bring back nice memories!!!
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on December 06, 2012, 08:28:02 AM
Had to bring this back up...was putting up my tree last night....coulda used this thread then
Merry Christmas!
Post by: sammy on December 06, 2012, 10:56:56 AM
stinkest parang ever.....  ;D :rotfl:

GRRRT

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vxkX-6xl5L4

(hope someone can embed it)

http://www.youtube.com/v/vxkX-6xl5L4
Post by: pecan on December 06, 2012, 04:16:28 PM

http://www.youtube.com/v/jj6Mpyws95c
Post by: Bitter on December 07, 2012, 10:02:06 AM
Ajamu - Ah Coming

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=acFwLUC6PSg
http://www.youtube.com/v/acFwLUC6PSg

Sometime in the last year or so these embedded youtube videos got slow.
Post by: Bitter on December 07, 2012, 01:56:40 PM
J Square - Christmas Chores (Sew the curtain)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6PXW2VgPuA0
http://www.youtube.com/v/6PXW2VgPuA0
Post by: Bitter on December 14, 2012, 01:35:13 PM
I love this song:

Lord Relator - Make A Friend For Christmas
http://www.youtube.com/v/5M8DI92WOog

(I not sure about the record label name though...)
Post by: Bitter on December 14, 2012, 01:56:12 PM
I think Megan Walrond is underrated.

Megan Walrond - Make Me Your Christmas

http://www.youtube.com/v/hIrFGLjhQxk
Post by: Socapro on October 20, 2013, 08:52:24 AM
Bump!!
Post by: Dutty on October 20, 2013, 03:42:10 PM
Bump!!

whey, you doh make joke... october eh done yet
Post by: Bitter on October 20, 2013, 04:08:05 PM
Bump!!

whey, you doh make joke... october eh done yet

Radio playing parang since September.
Post by: Bitter on October 20, 2013, 04:14:48 PM
Shandy Sorrel Riddim

http://www.youtube.com/v/MpZtINdWQOg

Like Baron say, from October, we parangin.
Post by: Bitter on October 20, 2013, 04:16:55 PM
The Incredible Myron B - Paramin Woman

http://www.youtube.com/v/ktZ4nIHm6II
Post by: Bitter on October 20, 2013, 04:34:04 PM
Cro Cro - Political Parang

http://www.youtube.com/v/dNxma3Sv8tk
Post by: Flex on October 21, 2013, 05:35:18 AM
She have no jack (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gRWA1LillPM)
http://www.youtube.com/v/gRWA1LillPM
Post by: Socapro on October 29, 2013, 05:24:24 PM
CHRISTMAS MANNERS PART 1
https://www.youtube.com/v/0FYrJS7EOJU
Post by: Bitter on October 29, 2013, 09:44:59 PM
Big B - Bring Back Parang

http://www.youtube.com/v/MdELO2QbAqU
Post by: Bitter on November 07, 2013, 05:44:32 PM
Explainer & Designer - Xmas Or Army

http://www.youtube.com/v/gsT0ax5c4E0
Post by: Tallman on November 08, 2013, 01:58:51 PM
Mayaro The Band - Christmas Is For Love

http://www.youtube.com/v/AHsZ1MObBzg
Post by: Bitter on December 09, 2013, 08:57:41 AM
Hide Everything - Kris & David Matthews

http://www.youtube.com/v/xcPEs2u71JM
Post by: Bitter on December 09, 2013, 09:02:39 AM
Calypso Rose - Caribbean Parang (Christmas Paranga)

http://www.youtube.com/v/WJng5UG2ztY
Post by: Bitter on December 11, 2013, 12:30:32 PM
Nice remix:

Ninja - Parang the wrong house.
http://www.youtube.com/v/JnjDKOpiVQo
Post by: Bitter on December 12, 2013, 10:27:29 AM
Singing Francine - A Child Christmas

http://www.youtube.com/v/VkHoXOhcqC4
Post by: Bitter on December 12, 2013, 11:04:32 AM
Lauren G. Lal - No Time Like Christmas

http://www.youtube.com/v/Cksw-J2B7Hs
Post by: Bitter on December 20, 2013, 08:38:52 AM
Kelwyn Hutcheon - Oh how I wish I were a child again

http://www.youtube.com/v/iWolrp6Dgc4
Post by: Socapro on December 25, 2013, 10:55:04 AM
TUCO CHRISTMAS message from Bro. Resistance
http://www.youtube.com/v/7YzqQ5WUhbc
Post by: Socapro on December 25, 2013, 11:46:08 AM
Wicked Soca Parang Mixtape!! Enjoying this one right now!  :chilling:  :party:

Soca Parang Updated Mix | 2013
http://www.youtube.com/v/qTvniUZoZIo
An Updated Soca Parang Mix | 2013
Download Link: https://www.dropbox.com/s/1g01vuu157ixbcq/SOCA%20PARANG%20OCT.%202k13.mp3 (https://www.dropbox.com/s/1g01vuu157ixbcq/SOCA%20PARANG%20OCT.%202k13.mp3)
Post by: Bitter on November 27, 2014, 07:55:30 AM
RemBunction - 2 Pull Pull

https://www.youtube.com/v/mE8CidVL7ec
Post by: Deeks on November 27, 2014, 04:17:00 PM
 :D
Post by: Tallman on November 27, 2014, 10:37:52 PM
Crazy - Merry Cherry

https://www.youtube.com/v/aRHxkVA-cd0
Post by: Bitter on December 03, 2014, 08:50:14 PM
Trinidad Rio feat Benjai- Wrong Man

https://www.youtube.com/v/E7zyMNiy9Pw
Post by: Bitter on December 03, 2014, 10:03:01 PM
King Of Hearts - Christmas Wish

https://www.youtube.com/v/OaE4-n6JC44
Post by: Bitter on December 05, 2014, 08:33:48 PM
Gary Jackson - So Shall Drinker

https://www.youtube.com/v/enw7hO7AtPU
Post by: Bitter on December 19, 2014, 08:13:16 PM
Penguin - Bouncing Christmas

https://www.youtube.com/v/igieE1VuTsg
Post by: Socapro on October 03, 2015, 04:53:08 PM
The only Caribbean Island (Trinidad & Tobago) that have there own original christmas music the Parangsoca or Soca Parang, how you want to call it - Started in 1978 by Edwin Crazy Ayoung.

"TIME TO CELEBRATE " 2015 Parangsoca by Crazy
https://www.youtube.com/v/-Jye854OSjs
Post by: Sando prince on October 10, 2015, 04:31:37 PM

Talk about Soca Parang vibez  :) :beermug:

This one is a classic

https://www.facebook.com/tntthrowbacks/videos/1650815645178458/ (https://www.facebook.com/tntthrowbacks/videos/1650815645178458/)
Post by: Sando prince on October 13, 2015, 02:21:33 AM

Talk about Soca Parang vibez  :) :beermug:

This one is a classic

https://www.facebook.com/tntthrowbacks/videos/1650815645178458/ (https://www.facebook.com/tntthrowbacks/videos/1650815645178458/)

Only right to follow this with ah original classic  :beermug: :beermug:

https://www.facebook.com/tntthrowbacks/videos/1650794005180622/?pnref=story (https://www.facebook.com/tntthrowbacks/videos/1650794005180622/?pnref=story)
Post by: Sando prince on October 30, 2015, 10:48:33 AM

https://www.youtube.com/v/VfGIQ_vIY9o
Post by: Sando prince on November 26, 2015, 09:56:48 AM

https://www.youtube.com/v/p_5jwTnxwtQ
Post by: Sando prince on December 11, 2015, 01:08:47 PM

Live Parang With The Lara Brothers

https://www.facebook.com/tntthrowbacks/videos/1667841240142565/ (https://www.facebook.com/tntthrowbacks/videos/1667841240142565/)
Post by: Sando prince on December 19, 2015, 01:18:18 PM

Trinidad Parang Soca Christmas Classics Video Mix

https://www.youtube.com/v/OrPWn-5_iDU
Post by: Sando prince on September 26, 2016, 11:11:25 AM
New Soca Parang

CRAZY - LOCAL FRUITS

https://www.youtube.com/v/faeqCLcYqp0
Post by: Deeks on September 26, 2016, 05:07:00 PM
 :beermug: :thumbsup:

Now are these fruits still around?
Post by: Sando prince on October 22, 2016, 05:45:52 PM
Here is a list of some new nice Parang Soca tunes released for 2017 Parang season  :beermug:

https://www.facebook.com/SocaTv/photos/a.1122023934539133.1073741828.1121948897879970/1178752908866235/?type=3&theater

Post by: boss on November 04, 2016, 06:42:15 AM
I heard a sweet parang this morning on Sweet 100fm, and I think the announcer said the name was Lisa Jaggernauth or something like that. Can't find anything on google or YouTube though. Does anyone know who that could be?  :beermug:

EDIT: It's actually Alicia Jaggasar and Los Alumnos de San Juan - they're fantastic!
Post by: Sando prince on November 05, 2016, 08:09:57 PM
I like this tune! A lot of young artists singing Parang Soca these days

NEW Trini Barbie - Ruction (Official Music Video) [Parang Soca 2017]

https://www.youtube.com/v/ZOrwVXKG6Ng&spfreload=10
Post by: Sando prince on November 14, 2016, 10:18:11 AM

Some more new Parang

OPTIMUS CHRISTMAS VIBES VOL 2 *OFFICIAL MELODY VIDEO* (SOCA PARANG 2016)

https://www.youtube.com/v/J9YV0R3ZLak&spfreload=10
Post by: Sando prince on November 19, 2016, 12:15:09 AM

Ah love this one  :D  :beermug:

Rome - Spanish Parang
https://www.facebook.com/SocaTv/posts/1215046758570183
Post by: Sando prince on November 28, 2016, 09:14:12 AM
Here is an updated list of NEW 2017 Soca Parang Christmas tunes

http://tinyurl.com/j3wyzbj

Post by: Sando prince on December 13, 2016, 01:13:31 PM

NEW Rembunction - Nada

https://www.youtube.com/v/Jo8OmgAyBqk
Post by: Sando prince on December 13, 2016, 01:14:08 PM
Here is an updated list of NEW 2017 Soca Parang Christmas tunes

http://tinyurl.com/j3wyzbj

Best new ones for this year season
Post by: Deeks on December 13, 2016, 01:32:45 PM
Drink Ah rum by Scrunter

I know this Scrunter tune old and is about drinking rum at Christmas. But the music sweet too bad.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a5ZScKxHoyc

Post by: Sando prince on December 19, 2017, 02:43:24 PM

2017 NEW SOCA PARANG SONGS PLAYLIST :beermug: :beermug:

https://www.facebook.com/SocaTv/photos/pb.1121948897879970.-2207520000.1513716228./1696031477138373/?type=3&theater
Post by: davyjenny1 on December 21, 2018, 10:38:11 PM
2018 PARANG LIME (Current Parang Hits) | "2018 Parang Soca Mix"

https://www.youtube.com/v/9OcKHgFz2eQ
Post by: Deeks on January 08, 2019, 05:15:54 PM
This is a bit late. But I heard this piece on National Public Radio in DC , about Parang in TT. I hope The podcast work for allyuh.

https://www.npr.org/2018/12/24/678289509/trinidad-and-tobago-remixes-caribbean-christmas-traditions

Trinidad And Tobago Remixes Caribbean Christmas Traditions

December 24, 20185:01 AM ET
Heard on Morning Edition

JOHN OTIS

The twin-island nation of Trinidad and Tobago is famous for calypso and soca, infectious music that takes center stage during the island's annual Carnival. But during the Christmas season another type of music dominates.

At a sound check for a band that plays old-time instruments, musicians play cuatro, a small, four-stringed acoustic guitar. There are also mandolins, maracas and a box bass, Trinidad's version of the washtub bass. These are some of the instruments that are used to make the religious folk music called parang.

During the months leading up to Christmas, parang can be heard just about everywhere in Trinidad. Most of the songs are about the birth of Christ. However, not everyone understands the lyrics. Parang was brought to Trinidad by migrant farm workers from nearby Venezuela. The songs are sung in Spanish even though the mother tongue on the island is English.

Some parang groups like Los Alumnos de San Juan pantomime to help audiences grasp the Spanish lyrics to songs. Alicia Jaggasar is the leader of Los Alumnos de San Juan and also heads the National Parang Association.

"Parang music is our way at Christmastime to tell the story but in a different language and in a different musical style," Jaggasar says. "So you wouldn't hear it as the normal 'Hark the herald angels sing, glory to the newborn king.' You will hear: 'Cantando gloria, gloria, gloria en el cielo. En un establo nació el Dios verdadero,'" which translates to "Singing glory, glory, glory in heaven. The true God was born in a stable."

Jaggasar's group is booked until Christmas Eve. On that night, parang bands go house to house until the wee hours in an exuberant form of Christmas caroling. But they must adhere to some elaborate musical etiquette to gain entry.

"You have to do a serenado from outside," Jaggasar says. "And in that song, you have to actually say who you are, and what you've come to do. And it's only when the host hears who you are, then the door is open. They don't just open it just like that."

But once inside, the party revs up.

"Christmas morning, I would hear the cuatros, the mandolins, as the groups went from house to house, " Michele Reis, a Trinidad academic, says. "There is lots of rum flowing, there is food that comes. ... And it's just a really festive time, you know?"

To keep this tradition alive, high schools and colleges in Trinidad hold parang contests. Still, musicians are always tinkering with parang in an effort to reach a wider audience. One result is soca-parang, which is sung in English so more people will understand, and fused with the frenetic rhythms of soca.

Purists complain that the lyrics often glorify girls rather than the gospel. But Jaggasar endorses the hybrid. "Because we are land of calypso, soca and steel band, we like to mix things, that is just our culture," Jaggasar says.