Sports => Football => Topic started by: Blue on December 19, 2005, 10:18:58 AM

Title: T&T will not be playing Wales on March 1, 2006
Post by: Blue on December 19, 2005, 10:18:58 AM
According to www.faw.org.uk (the Welsh FA), Wales are playing Paraguay on March 1.....anyone know who we'll be playing?
Title: Re: Who we playing on March 1?...
Post by: real-warrior on December 19, 2005, 10:20:02 AM
We supposed to be playin Wales on dat date :-\
Post by: andre samuel on December 19, 2005, 11:27:08 AM
the plot thickens!!

Latest News

Wales v Paraguay - 1st March 2006

The Football Association of Wales today confirmed that an International Challenge Match will be played between Wales and Paraguay at the Millennium Stadium, Cardiff on Wednesday March 1st 2006.

The kick off time and admission prices have yet to be confirmed.

Further details will be announced early in the New Year.

source:www.faw.org.uk

Post by: Jefferz on December 19, 2005, 12:13:41 PM
f**k dem all nuh stewps... dem go regret not ahvin a match wit us when we advance adhead of paraguay. Bastards
Post by: g on December 19, 2005, 12:18:09 PM
If we eh getting wales we should try to get Rep of Ireland if they available. They just missed out on qualifying and would still give a good test
Post by: cm103 on December 19, 2005, 12:20:47 PM
Rep. of Ireland or Scotland mightn't be bad choices...I wasn't too keen on Wales from d get-go. Ent we in demand now? Time to cash in on dat.
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 19, 2005, 12:27:41 PM
I actually think Ireland would be a better warm-up than Wales.  They are definitely a stronger team which would allow us to better measure up against England.  We would have to be real prepared though, cause they're far from being pushovers.   In my opionion, they were given an unfortunate grouping, and were in with a chance of qualifying going into the last day of play.
Post by: Blue on December 19, 2005, 12:46:34 PM
Rep. of Ireland or Scotland mightn't be bad choices...I wasn't too keen on Wales from d get-go. Ent we in demand now? Time to cash in on dat.

Ireland are playing Sweden on March 1, Scotland are playing Switzerland.
Post by: Trinimassive on December 19, 2005, 12:54:04 PM

Everybody playin somebody on March 1 so we better not end up losin out and playin the ass instead.

Come Jack clear up this
Post by: cm103 on December 19, 2005, 12:55:06 PM

Well that sour  >:(
Post by: DeSoWa on December 19, 2005, 01:00:50 PM
I just see all this as TTFF being very disorganised!..look like they doh even know who we playing on march 1st..IF we playing at all! and they still blanking pple like Saudi and Argentina..steupssss.
Post by: behind-de-bridge on December 19, 2005, 01:10:46 PM
Take care we eh end up playing St. Vincent and de Grenadines!!
Post by: Wilson on December 19, 2005, 01:17:37 PM
I have a good friend who is at the very top of a TV station in Wales. I'll ask whether they know, as they show all the Welsh international games.
Post by: Teflon Don on December 19, 2005, 01:18:39 PM
Allyuh realise dat if dis is true Jamaica go end up playing better games dan us and they not evenin d world cup :rotfl:
Post by: Blue on December 19, 2005, 01:23:43 PM
I have a good friend who is at the very top of a TV station in Wales. I'll ask whether they know, as they show all the Welsh international games.

Any1 livin in d UK go know dat Wales was never coming to London to play against us when dey have d best stadium in d UK right dere in Cardiff. Daz like Trinidad goin to play a friendly against a European team in on a nex island - it wudnt make no sense.

Wales aside, d question is who we go be playing on March 1, given dat every1 else dun organise deyself for dat date?
Post by: Saltanfresh on December 19, 2005, 01:52:16 PM
If not Wales, Ireland, or Scotland, why not Norway?
Post by: arrow on December 19, 2005, 02:07:09 PM
I hear Beenie ask for a rematch with North East Stars instead.  He don't want us going into a World Cup with a losing record against PFL teams
Post by: Trini Madness on December 19, 2005, 02:51:13 PM
belgium? or what about finland? i think those countries are way better than wales.
Post by: supporter on December 19, 2005, 03:29:52 PM
the real question is why are we NOT playing wales on march 1st if ttff reported this in several articles?
Title: Re: T&T is not playing Wales on March 1, 2006
Post by: Tallman on December 19, 2005, 05:18:10 PM
Wales arrange Paraguay friendly
BBC Sport

Wales will play England's World Cup opponents Paraguay in a friendly at Cardiff's Millennium Stadium on Wednesday, 1 March.

Trinidad & Tobago, who will also face Sven-Goran Eriksson's men in Germany next summer had wanted to play Wales on that date in London. But Wales have opted for a tougher test against the South Americans, who are ranked 30th in the Fifa rankings.

John Toshack's side have risen one place to 71st in this month's rankings.

Wales have often been the team of choice for country's preparing to face England in World Cup finals. They played Tunisia before France 98, losing 4-0 away, and drew 1-1 with Argentina in Cardiff before the last World Cup.
Title: Re: T&T will not be playing Wales on March 1, 2006
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 19, 2005, 05:22:00 PM
 a tougher test against Paraguay meh eh like that you know they cutting style on we now
Post by: truetrini on December 19, 2005, 05:24:04 PM
allyuh turning down invitation in saudi arabia and making shite excuse..now we lorse out against wales and Brazil

Jack getting de Trinity Cross
Post by: Socaman on December 19, 2005, 07:47:39 PM
So wait nah..Are we playing anybody on March 1st?...
Post by: Peong on December 19, 2005, 08:02:33 PM
Wales cuttin real style for a NON-WC team.  I hope Paraguay give dem 6.

I really want to see wat TTFF have planned and confirmed.
Post by: Trinimassive on December 19, 2005, 08:19:13 PM
If we doh move fast we might end up playing ah EPL team (if we lucky) which wouldn't be bad if it's the top 6 teams...problem is most ah dem have ah bunch ah internationals that will be on international duty.

Yuh cyah blame that TTFF if they confirm the match with Wales then Wales decide to go with we opponent.

They need to move fast though
Post by: truetrini on December 19, 2005, 08:41:00 PM
I hear Beenie ask for a rematch with North East Stars instead.  He don't want us going into a World Cup with a losing record against PFL teams

Beenie busy scouting German based players..steups

de man doing big wuk ::)
Post by: real-warrior on December 19, 2005, 09:12:52 PM
Why don't we play a good side to see how we progress??
Post by: Preacher on December 19, 2005, 09:25:44 PM
WHY? WHY? WHY? Why we always embarrasing we self soooo!!!! I just come back in town to hear this comess......We ent have no organisation at alllll......I real concern yes.  After the world cup I want to hold my head high....but like the signs I seeing here...it look like trouble... >:(
Post by: truetrini on December 19, 2005, 09:33:26 PM
Why don't we play a good side to see how we progress??

because we eke we way into de world cup and dey feel we reach..typical TTFF fcuckeriesssssssss
Post by: Trinimassive on December 19, 2005, 09:45:15 PM
WHY? WHY? WHY? Why we always embarrasing we self soooo!!!! I just come back in town to hear this comess......We ent have no organisation at alllll......I real concern yes.  After the world cup I want to hold my head high....but like the signs I seeing here...it look like trouble... >:(

How did we embarrass ourselves ???

We are viewed as the weakest link at the World Cup. Odds of 1000 to 1. It is not easy getting European teams to play a team that is viewed so poorly. We are not viewed as serious competition.  We are trying to make strides and gain respect in the world and the World Cup will provide that opportunity...
Most of our players play in the lower divisions in Europe, we probably wouldn't want to play ourselves. Would you want to play Sri Lanka in football ???

That is how they view us.
We organize games on days FIFA approved, we announce it early as to who we playing (keeping the public informed), we have ah place to stay in Germany that was announced. How is that not being organized.

When they deserve blame then blame them (TTFF). How are we embarrassing ourselves, we did the right thing.

If is anything is Wales who have absolutely no Couth.

We need to be more objective and not always look to beat up ourselves.

By de way preach....say ah prayer fuh me nah....nothin personal
Post by: truetrini on December 19, 2005, 09:54:11 PM

How did we embarrass ourselves ???

We are viewed as the weakest link at the World Cup. Odds of 1000 to 1. It is not easy getting European teams to play a team that is viewed so poorly. We are not viewed as serious competition.  We are trying to make strides and gain respect in the world and the World Cup will provide that opportunity...
Most of our players play in the lower divisions in Europe, we probably wouldn't want to play ourselves. Would you want to play Sri Lanka in football ???

That is how they view us.
We organize games on days FIFA approved, we announce it early as to who we playing (keeping the public informed), we have ah place to stay in Germany that was announced. How is that not being organized.

When they deserve blame then blame them (TTFF). How are we embarrassing ourselves, we did the right thing.

If is anything is Wales who have absolutely no Couth.

We need to be more objective and not always look to beat up ourselves.

ent according to de TTFF Brazil wanted to play we?

And did we not jes get invited to play in Suadi Arabia..and dem make de WC more times dan we?

Is typical TTFF bullshit,
Post by: arrow on December 19, 2005, 09:56:20 PM

Did we ever have a signed contract to play Wales on March 1?  Clearly not.  All the TTFF is doing is keeping the public uninformed.  This is about the 5th friendly that was announced and subsequently cancelled during the past year.
Post by: truetrini on December 19, 2005, 10:00:38 PM

Did we ever have a signed contract to play Wales on March 1?  Clearly not.  All the TTFF is doing is keeping the public uninformed.  This is about the 5th friendly that was announced and subsequently cancelled during the past year.

and yuh surprised?

I still wondering wey de f**king budget and what we getting fuh TV rights..and if FIFA paying fuh travel and accomodatoion why dat being included in jack SPEAK?

Steups.

De Mafia alive and well oui.

We may jes end up playing Sri Lanka

Hey arrow,,yuh know how I could tell when somebody from de TTFF lying?

Dey lips does be moving
Post by: Trinimassive on December 19, 2005, 10:06:23 PM
T&T has to blank Saudi invitation.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

But Leo not worried about the build up.
Trinidad and Tobago has been forced to withdraw from yet another pair of international warm up matches because of the reshuffled schedule of preparations leading up to the 2006 World Cup in June.
This time, head coach Leo Beenhakker, because of having already outlined his schedule of warm up matches, after having to shift to a match against Wales on March 1 after FIFA switched the international dates before the tournament, has had to turn down an offer to participate in the 2006 Cup in Saudi Arabia with the host team and Korea Republic.

It clearly states that Leo turn down the invitation....what that have to do with the TTFF. I eh gettin paid by them to defend them but clearly Leo is in charge and the decisions being made is made by him.

Arrow ah know yuh know what Couth is and a verbal agreement. Leo wanted Wales...we get Wales then Wales decide they want to play we opponent. Couth is Couth is either yuh have it or yuh don't.
Post by: dcs on December 19, 2005, 10:07:17 PM
JW need to stop talking PERIOD.

Always jumping the gun and talking out of turn.

How much time he putting words in Beenie mouth.
How much time he announcing thing he know not signed and sealed.
But did he actually say the friendlies were confirmed or he say they "lined up".

I remain skeptical of ALL the supposed teams we playing until some credible source shows us playing some one.
I doh believe that Brazil Argentina talk neither....ALL LIES.  A setta bluffing.  Yuh realise if he know Fifa was going and cancel a day on the match calendar he cud go and talk talk talk bout big match coming all for hype.

Why de hell we had to qualify with elections coming up.
I think the tide going and turn against him....all the praises done come thru...now he gone and muck things up he going and get real pong....it damn good.  STOP TALKING!!!

STEUPSE   >:(
Post by: truetrini on December 19, 2005, 10:12:21 PM
T&T has to blank Saudi invitation.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

But Leo not worried about the build up.
Trinidad and Tobago has been forced to withdraw from yet another pair of international warm up matches because of the reshuffled schedule of preparations leading up to the 2006 World Cup in June.
This time, head coach Leo Beenhakker, because of having already outlined his schedule of warm up matches, after having to shift to a match against Wales on March 1 after FIFA switched the international dates before the tournament, has had to turn down an offer to participate in the 2006 Cup in Saudi Arabia with the host team and Korea Republic.

It clearly states that Leo turn down the invitation....what that have to do with the TTFF. I eh gettin paid by them to defend them but clearly Leo is in charge and the decisions being made is made by him.

Arrow ah know yuh know what Couth is and a verbal agreement. Leo wanted Wales...we get Wales then Wales decide they want to play we opponent. Couth is Couth is either yuh have it or yuh don't.

Yes we get turned down..dem people ask we to play.  yuh was saying dat we eh getting invited..I show yuh dat yuh wrong..and it ahd no damn good reason to turn down that tourney in Suadi we should ahve fielded a second string team and play fuh de money and to scout/give experience to fringe players.

Yuh feel dem fringe players go get ah chance to impress when de full squad come back?

steups.

And dat same saudi team send ah sub-par squad in de aian games to scout etc.

we full ah shit
Post by: Trinimassive on December 19, 2005, 10:19:26 PM
I like to be objective and I feel all who takin shots at the TTFF just using this opportunity.

Is Leo making all the decisions that is totally clear. No TTFF turn down no tournament is Leo.

Is Leo wanted Wales.

Is Leo want all the foreign players who qualify.

Is Leo scouting players in England, Germany, and around the world.

All decisions are being made by Leo.

PERIOD
Post by: truetrini on December 19, 2005, 10:22:49 PM
I like to be objective and I feel all who takin shots at the TTFF just using this opportunity.

Is Leo making all the decisions that is totally clear. No TTFF turn down no tournament is Leo.

Is Leo wanted Wales.

Is Leo want all the foreign players who qualify.

Is Leo scouting players in England, Germany, and around the world.

All decisions are being made by Leo.

PERIOD

You dos tell yuh boss when yuh working and who yuh working with?

steups.

I understand dat Leo ahve some say..but jes like how he get rid ah one dutch coach to hire Anton...he needed to take dat team Saudi arabia

me eh care who feel he bigger dan we football ..dat is shit.

when Leo gorn we still go be T&T Soca Warriors.
Post by: arrow on December 19, 2005, 10:26:45 PM

Jack Warner of all people shouldn't be relying on any verbal agreement because nobody can understand a damn thing he says.  Everything should be put in wiriting when he's involved.

From the way I see it, Wales never announced publicly they were playing us.  TTFF announced we were playing them in Feb and Brazil on March 29.  When the FIFA callendar was changed, Brazil pulled out of our match and we just ASSUMED that we could push the Wales match back to March 1 but we had no firm contract for that date!   So why is it that Wales have no couth - they've done nothing that Brazil didn't do.  The fact is there is only one Fifa date between now and June so its understandable that both Brazil and Wales will want to get the best match they can on that date!
Post by: Trinimassive on December 19, 2005, 10:38:00 PM

Jack Warner of all people shouldn't be relying on any verbal agreement because nobody can understand a damn thing he says.  Everything should be put in wiriting when he's involved.

From the way I see it, Wales never announced publicly they were playing us.  TTFF announced we were playing them in Feb and Brazil on March 29.  When the FIFA callendar was changed, Brazil pulled out of our match and TTFF just ASSUMED that we could push the Wales match forward to March 1 but we had no firm contract for that date!   So why is it that Wales have no couth - they've done nothing that Brazil didn't do.  The fact is there is only one Fifa date between now and June so its understandable that both Brazil and Wales will want to get the best match they can on that date!

Yuh sure it eh you assuming ???

Everything I say is fact and could be traced back to Leo.

I eh on no assuming. Ah also eh gettin paid by the TTFF or Leo so they go have to handle dey stories cause ah see people smell blood. And my blood pressure is within normal limits and ah like it like dat so unless they fork over some change my way...ah feel ah have tuh leh allyuh fellas who gunnin fuh dem to fire away.

I just being objective as ah say.

Fire away fellas
Post by: truetrini on December 19, 2005, 10:46:35 PM

From the way I see it, Wales never announced publicly they were playing us.  TTFF announced we were playing them in Feb and Brazil on March 29.  When the FIFA callendar was changed, Brazil pulled out of our match and TTFF just ASSUMED that we could push the Wales match forward to March 1 but we had no firm contract for that date!   So why is it that Wales have no couth - they've done nothing that Brazil didn't do.  The fact is there is only one Fifa date between now and June so its understandable that both Brazil and Wales will want to get the best match they can on that date!

Yuh sure it eh you assuming ???

Everything I say is fact and could be traced back to Leo.

I eh on no assuming. Ah also eh gettin paid by the TTFF or Leo so they go have to handle dey stories cause ah see people smell blood. And my blood pressure is within normal limits and ah like it like dat so unless they fork over some change my way...ah feel ah have tuh leh allyuh fellas who gunnin fuh dem to fire away.

I just being objective as ah say.

Fire away fellas

objective?

how so?

How often have you heard beenie make any statement concerning our opponents?

it is all jack and dem talking and saying he say so.
Post by: Jefferz on December 19, 2005, 10:51:31 PM

yea boy i hope dem big head bitches geh pounded. STEWPS. Dey wont regret not playin us becuase they would have been slaughtered.
Post by: Trinimassive on December 19, 2005, 11:05:50 PM

objective?

how so?

Leo has made no bones about the fact that he doesn't like talking to the media....he is well known for not giving a flyin f&*k about the media so doh expect him to be making too many announcements.

Jack and the TTFF just ah set ah glad men...they too damn excited and quick to run dey mouth but who wouldn't after all we want the juice...that is why we does ask Patriot, Andre Samuel, Touches etc what going on when we eh get no news. Now what we make World Cup Jack just jumpy and runnin he mouth.

But yuh really think Leo woulda sit back and have them make up stuff about him. From day one when Leo show up he say I making all the decisions or I ridin out. So say so done....he making all the decisions. If he say tomorrow forget Zamora and Lloyd they goose cook.

Leo is fully in charge.

When Shaun was givin we news that older than the Sphinx in Egypt man use to cuss he ass including me...now he givin up to the minute news and man complaining that it he bussin the mark too quick.

If Jack and the TTFF was dickin around Leo...Leo woulda ride out....he still dey cause they doin what he want them to do.
Post by: StoreBayLimer on December 19, 2005, 11:25:21 PM
the real question is why are we NOT playing wales on march 1st if ttff reported this in several articles?

Post by: dcs on December 20, 2005, 12:08:45 AM

I now studying what has Leo Beenhakker actually said on these friendlies.
I'd be surprised if we find many direct quotes.
Post by: gtokyo on December 20, 2005, 01:02:48 AM
Well at least we know the teams that most likely our three opponents will be playing against. 

Sweden vs Ireland
Jamaica vs England
Paraguay vs Wales

So now Mr.Beenhakker will we be facing Ajax, PSV or Feynoord ???

Post by: Themanfriday on December 20, 2005, 01:54:56 AM
I am so pissed about it I have no words..................................................................................................................................................................
Post by: Ned on December 20, 2005, 04:19:27 AM
Does it have to be a European team ?

(some) European teams not playing on March 1st ::

Spain (ranked) 8
Portugal 9
Greece 18
Poland 23
Romania 28
Bulgaria  46
Belgium  49

none of which would give you a test of England or Sweden's style of play but Poland , Belgium or Bulgaria might offer a game under 'similar' conditions to Germany - Poland ran England hard in the qualifiers !

Post by: Themanfriday on December 20, 2005, 04:30:59 AM
imagine Wales ranked 71  :rotfl:  :rotfl: and refusing to play we :rotfl: and we rank 50 as of yesterday. Higher than dem. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: now aint that some funny shit?
Post by: Ned on December 20, 2005, 05:13:16 AM
Paraguay are ranked 30 - Wales went for the 'harder' game .

may I also add - It's hard to judge teams from different regions based on Fifa's rankings . I don't believe Japan are better than Germany or Iran are better than The Republic of Ireland for instance .
Post by: ß!aCkÒuT on December 20, 2005, 05:49:40 AM
stueps why dey cyah jus make up dey fuh who we playin
Post by: Sigma on December 20, 2005, 05:55:11 AM
Bah tough luck for T&T.

Hopefully your FA can still arrange a friendly for that date.
Post by: andre samuel on December 20, 2005, 06:09:54 AM
imagine Wales ranked 71  :rotfl:  :rotfl: and refusing to play we :rotfl: and we rank 50 as of yesterday. Higher than dem. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: now aint that some funny shit?

those rankings are a farce and everyone knows that.  Only FIFA uses those rankings for anything.

We getting wat we deserve!  We should have played in the tourny in korea.  We blanking side, and side blanking we!

I starting to get worried about our lack of preparation.

(some) European teams not playing on March 1st ::

Spain (ranked) 8
Portugal 9
Greece 18
Poland 23
Romania 28
Bulgaria 46
Belgium 49

none of which would give you a test of England or Sweden's style of play but Poland , Belgium or Bulgaria might offer a game under 'similar' conditions to Germany - Poland ran England hard in the qualifiers !

the question is, would these teams want to play us?

Ah sure bertile would have had real friendlies line up....lol, against st kitts, bermuda and barbados...lol, and when we beat them, he woulda say dat we ready for the world cup!! lol

Post by: marcovbasten on December 20, 2005, 06:19:14 AM

i bet tnt is playing proper training games
leo is not a looser or something
he wants a good performance as well as alll of us
i bet leo is going to surprise us all,just as allways

doesn't he deserve a little bit of trust?

Post by: injunchile on December 20, 2005, 06:47:15 AM
T&T vs Portvale- March ist. The way things are going this look like we best sweat.
Post by: Themanfriday on December 20, 2005, 07:02:17 AM
My piont was that it doesn't do them (Wales) any good who they play they are not in the WC. There for saying that they went for the harder game is of no profit yto them.
Post by: arrow on December 20, 2005, 07:05:00 AM
The closest thing we getting to Wales is to play Wrexham
Post by: skins on December 20, 2005, 07:32:51 AM
If you know how vex i get this morning when i read the papers and i see we not playing Wales. I angry but that wouldn't solve anything. I hope we get a team that will allows us to prepare for the wc.
Post by: Filho on December 20, 2005, 07:48:15 AM
Yuh cyah blame that TTFF if they confirm the match with Wales then Wales decide to go with we opponent.

wake up...dat means the match was never confirmed. it was only a setta talk. until pen get put to paper you have nothing and obviously no contract was signed. you doh just shake hands and agree we go play on such and such a date. this is the reality...noone actually wants to play us.....we are considered pretty shitty so noone thinks they will actually benefit form playing us. Whales would rather play Jamaica before us....because......and nobody want to hear this....a) worldwide JA is still considered a better squad than us..b) JA would pull more of a crowd.

the only teams that will play us either have nothing better to do, or want to practice their tactics and get a morale boosting huge win against a weak opponent. before people get vex at me...let me make it clear that I am not expressing MY opinion. I just believe that this is the world view. And deep down...ah feel most of us know that
Post by: Filho on December 20, 2005, 07:55:47 AM
My piont was that it doesn't do them (Wales) any good who they play they are not in the WC. There for saying that they went for the harder game is of no profit yto them.

are you serious? you think everyone does engage in Trini last minute planning. It's called vision..Of course they want the tougher game. It is better for the development of Welch football. They are already looking forward to the European Cup and WC 2010. Only a dumba$$ FA would pass up what they consider the better competition. If TnT were not in the WC and they had a chance to play England or Cyprus...would you say we should just play Cyprus because it is of no benefit to us if we play the weaker team.
Post by: JDB on December 20, 2005, 07:57:24 AM
The TTFF is like local political parties, a GRANDCHARGE organization. In politics is one set of talk about proof f corruption and wrongdoings on the hustings and nobody getting arested.

The TTFF is the same thing they always trying to dangle some carrot about some big news or big deal that they don't want to reveal as yet.

We get the announcement of the Wales game from them, why we can't get nothing from them now that the  game cancel?

Biggest game in the History of TnT in March,..... "who boy Brazil, France?"

"Sorry fellas game cancelled, but it was Brazil though"

Allyuh really feel that that game was confirmed? Yuh hear Brazil say anything about the game? Yuh hear them say that they had to cancel the game?

Yuh hear Wales say that they had to CANCEL the TnT game to play Paraguay? or did they just announce that they are playing Paaguay?

Why not make an announcement AFTER a deal is finalozed and stop trying to bobolize people head with a set of pie in the sky bullshit.
Post by: cm103 on December 20, 2005, 10:00:37 AM
The Wales vs. TnT fixture was on FIFA's site from d earlies...it still there in fact. The Wales page had us on there but changed it recently to Paraguay.

http://www.fifa.com/en/organisation/confederations/associationdetails/0,1483,TRI,00.html?countrycode=TRI
Title: Wales Match Cancelled
Post by: KND2 on December 20, 2005, 10:24:15 AM
  Now T&T lose Wales friendly

Tuesday, December 20th 2005

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Leo Beenhakker spent the weekend in England continuing his scouting of players for National team selection, this time taking a look at former Bolton Wanderers forward Ricky Shakes as he ran out for Swindon Town.

But while making his way around on the job for T&T, the Dutch-born coach also found himself in search of a new opposition for T&T's warm-up international on March 1. Originally, intentions were to play against Wales but that country has now opted to play T&T's other Group B opponents Paraguay on the same day at Cardiff's Millennium Stadium. The "Soca Warriors" should know in the next few days who else they will now be facing.

TTFF Special Advisor Jack Warner and Beenhakker have been trying to finalise the list of internationals before the World Cup. And Warner is adamant that T&T will not be left behind in the build-up to Germany 2006.

Swindon deputy chairman Mark Devlin confirmed that Beenhakker was at the venue on the weekend after he had requested tickets to the match. But Devlin only knew he was present after a friend pointed out that the T&T head coach was in the stands. Shakes did not start in the 0-0 draw with Blackpool but eventually came on in the 61st minute.

"We have our eyes open and of course we also need to keep informed as to what the other teams are doing and what our players are doing. This is the World Cup and of course there's every reason to enjoy what's happening but you also have to ensure that you know what you are doing and how you must prepare for it," Beenhakker told TTFF Media.

Post by: dcs on December 20, 2005, 11:26:11 AM
The Wales vs. TnT fixture was on FIFA's site from d earlies...it still there in fact. The Wales page had us on there but changed it recently to Paraguay.

http://www.fifa.com/en/organisation/confederations/associationdetails/0,1483,TRI,00.html?countrycode=TRI

hmmmm

Like these friendlies doh have no contract ting nah.
Steupse.....I hope we get Rep of Ireland....they better anyway.  How much money we hadda shell out to guarantee a game boy.
UAE get Brazil and must be pay serious $$$

Too bad that tournament with Ghana, Nigeria and Jamaica never got going again.
Post by: Ned on December 20, 2005, 11:55:45 AM
I hope we get Rep of Ireland....they better anyway.

The Republic are playing Sweden on the first of March , they are better though  ;)
Post by: Trinimassive on December 20, 2005, 11:59:36 AM

hmmmm

Like these friendlies doh have no contract ting nah.Steupse.....I hope we get Rep of Ireland....they better anyway.  How much money we hadda shell out to guarantee a game boy.
UAE get Brazil and must be pay serious $$$

Too bad that tournament with Ghana, Nigeria and Jamaica never got going again.

Story change now eh

STEUPS

Like ah say it eh have nuttin to do with the TTFF......ah was being objective plain and simple

STEUPS
Post by: blaidd cymraeg on December 20, 2005, 12:45:04 PM
shame but i did say we wouldnt play in a foreign country on our patron saints day.
from what i have heard you wanted more money  than paraquay and wanted to play in london.

all the best and hope you do england  :beermug:
Title: T&T vs. Who?
Post by: Sentinel on December 21, 2005, 12:19:43 AM
Just reported on FSC...as we already know....we will no longer be playing Wales. 

Report furter stated that Warner says he is looking into us playing either Scotland, Norway or N. Ireland on March 01.

Luv U T&T
Title: Re: T&T vs. Who?
Post by: Blue on December 21, 2005, 12:37:48 AM
Just reported on FSC...as we already know....we will no longer be playing Wales. 

Report furter stated that Warner says he is looking into us playing either Scotland, Norway or N. Ireland on March 01.

Luv U T&T

Interesting.....since they've all those teams have got games on the day (Scotland/Swiss, N Ireland/Estonia, Norway/Senegal).....wonder if Jack's checked the fixture list....
Post by: Ned on December 21, 2005, 03:12:44 AM
get yourselves over to Falkirk , we'll play you (with Latas in blue of course  ;) ) it's been a while since we saw a home win at The Falkirk Stadium  :P

from the 'available' nations I posted yesterday I reckon Poland would be your best bet - Spain and Portugal are also free if you want a tougher test .
Post by: sjahrain on December 21, 2005, 05:11:59 AM
What about that warm up game warner was promised against a top German club if he voted for Germany to hold the W C instead of South Africa

I think he had asked for that game based on T&T qualifying for the W C
Post by: spideybuff on December 21, 2005, 06:26:36 AM
What about that warm up game warner was promised against a top German club if he voted for Germany to hold the W C instead of South Africa

That would not work on an international weekend because any decent club will have all their international players missing...so it will be a waste for us. Conversely, if a club is at full strength our team will not be since our players will be at their clubs. So basically, international teams do not play club teams (anymore) unless is in the off season
Post by: Swomp on December 23, 2005, 01:06:01 AM
men stressin deyself, come march 1st , we gon get a good team to play against..
Post by: Themanfriday on December 23, 2005, 01:18:05 AM
I really do hope so >:(
Title: Friendly in London
Post by: snfuller on December 28, 2005, 09:26:50 AM
Hi,

I might have missed it on an earlier pots, but is the friendly in London on March 1st likely to be at Upton Park ?