June 16, 2024, 04:53:43 PM

Recent Posts

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 10
Football / Re: 2026 World Cup Thread
« Last post by madness on June 11, 2024, 04:08:58 AM »
@Fyzoman
I respect you and your opinion of Muckette. Once Spicer and Eve start recruiting talented players from major leagues, he may no longer be on the team unless a club outside Trinidad signs him. I can see him remaining on the TNT squad. I know some players who play in Germany, and he will be another Dantaye Gilbert, who plays football in Holland. Hence, I watched him play in the TTPFL, and they lost to Defence Force in the finals. Here's a YouTube link to the game: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bBlLfVl5U2s. Watching Poon-Angeron, it's clear why he's headed to the CPL; it's likely the same reason the El Salvadoran club signed him. :laugh: :)
« Last post by gawd on pitch on June 10, 2024, 06:27:12 PM »
Good to know Deeks. When we played them on our grounds, we do better. They always had the edge on opponents on their turf.
Football / Re: Fire Angus Eve Thread
« Last post by Deeks on June 10, 2024, 03:45:45 PM »
The World Cup is the stick all national teams are measured by. Not the Nations League. Not the Gold Cup.

Trini, that is quite true. But We will take both Nations league and GC Cup any time also.
New York Grand Prix yesterday Sunday June 9th.

https://results.usatf.org/NYCGrandPrix24/

Jareem had a hard time with Kirani, Van Niekerk, Bailey. But he looking good still.
« Last post by Deeks on June 10, 2024, 02:10:41 PM »
We always lose to them on that shitty turf they have in San Jose. I believe they don't use that turf anymore. We can beat them. We won't leave San Jose empty handed. The surface is natural grass. The other stadium Sarprissa used to be astro turf. It is now natural grass.

« Last post by Fyzoman on June 10, 2024, 11:51:27 AM »
My defense of Muckette is tied to the small fight down he gets, all the while peeps eh saying peep about Hackshaw and other men.

I know he's no Modric, but at the same, he's no scrub...I'm fine if he's used as a 2nd half sub to bring something different for teams to deal with, or, just start him to make Rampy, Yeates, Shaw, Reon and  Hodge them happy.

And may I sacrilegiously point out...he's just like Rodri for The Man. City, we doh lorse or draw whenever he plays, at least that's what our irrefutable recent record reflects.

The moral of the story is, just play him for ten minutes every game and we guaranteed to qualify for WC 2026 :)

Allright, ah fire de wuk, enough about Duaney.
« Last post by maxg on June 10, 2024, 10:01:53 AM »
“Ah want allyuh go out and score plenty goals, cause dem beat we last time. All the men who play on the turf hands up.” I might bet was the extent of tactical instructions.

No sir, the score not shineing in meh eye, as to what is required going forward.
« Last post by Tallman on June 10, 2024, 09:35:04 AM »
Eve pleased with Warriors’ performance...rout of Bahamas a big improvement on showing vs Grenada
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

Senior men’s football team head coach Angus Eve is pleased with both the result and performance as Trinidad and Tobago recorded the biggest winning margin in CONCACAF Zone 2026 FIFA World Cup Qualifying to date, after they thrashed Bahamas 7-1 on Saturday in Basseterre, St Kitts.

“The result was the most important thing for us,” noted Eve. “We wanted to win the game. We wanted to get three points.” He felt the showing was a big improvement by T&T compared to its 2-2 draw against Grenada last Wednesday, when the Soca Warriors rallied after trailing by two early goals.

“I thought we were a little bit flat in the first game (against Grenada) and we never got going until the second half. We wanted to right that wrong, and I think we did it,” said Eve. “The passing was much better...the fluency of the team.”

Eve does not think it mattered than they played Bahamas, a team less aggressive and probably of lower quality than Grenada. Last World Cup cycle, the Bahamians grabbed a crucial 0-0 draw against T&T-- then coached by Englishman Terry Fenwick-- thus ending the Soca Warriors’ run during 2022 World Cup qualifying.

“It doesn’t matter who we played. This team (Bahamas) threw us out of the World Cup last time around. I don’t think we could have scored on them (in June 2021),” assesed Eve. “It shows improvement, for us beating them by seven.”

He was also pleased the Soca Warriors did not rest on their laurels after establishing an early advantage, having gone two-nil up in the first quarter-hour. “As the game went along, we believed we could have gotten more (goals),” intimated Eve. “We pushed for more, and it has taken us up to four points, which is most important.”

The coach made seven changes to his starting team that played Grenada, bringing in Malcolm Shaw and Duane Muckette, both scoring a double, as well as Andre Rampersad, Alvin Jones, Steffen Yeates, Triston Hodge and Josiah Trimmingham.

Yeates was making his national team debut, along with Dantaye Gilbert, the Holland-based teenager, while striker Kevon “Showtime” Woodley, 37, was playing his first World Cup qualifier, coming on as a second-half substitute.

“I just wanted to freshen up the team,” Eve explained. “I have confidence in all of the guys that we brought here,” adding, “We believe that we could kind of change up the squad somewhat and get the desired result.”

Yeates, 24, who was born in Canada and plays for Pacific FC, made a favourable impression in the midfield.

“I thought they did very well,” Eve assessed. “Yeates, as I said, since last October, we were looking at him. He is an intelligent footballer. He plays the ball well.”

Having come into the camp with a minor injury, Eve thought it best to restrict Gilbert’s playing time. “We kind of saved him a little bit from the first match and gave him the opportunity to play in this match. It’s always good to give a young player debut, and tonight we give two players debuts, and I think they did well.”

Eve mentioned that playmaker Muckette also delivered, netting a brace and setting up another. Striker Shaw also scored a double. “Duane has been doing good in the local League; Malcolm is playing more consistently in the Canada league,” noted Eve. “We believe in all the players that we bring here, and we have no fear to change up the team.”

T&T continue their 2026 World Cup Qualifying series next June, when hosting St Kitts/Nevis, before ending the series away to Costa Rica. The top two teams in each of six groups will advance to the final stage of CONCACAF qualifying.
« Last post by gawd on pitch on June 10, 2024, 09:11:46 AM »
CR is not as mighty as they were. They are beatable. They did not look too impressive yesterday. Theyre not as physical as us. They also lack speed. But their passing is good as always.

We always lose to them on that shitty turf they have in San Jose. I believe they don't use that turf anymore. We can beat them. We won't leave San Jose empty handed.
« Last post by gawd on pitch on June 10, 2024, 08:54:15 AM »
Muckette has the potential, no doubt. But I don't see him as a huge contributor at the moment. BUT, get him into the CPL, he will grow and develop there. He's plateaued in the TTPFL, if he can get a good agent and get into the CPL, he will be a better player.
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 10