June 03, 2024, 05:05:26 PM

Author Topic: Man United unveil AIG as new sponsors  (Read 2319 times)

Man United unveil AIG as new sponsors
« on: April 06, 2006, 02:29:44 PM »

Manchester United have agreed a British record £56.5million shirt sponsorship deal with US finance giant American International Group (AIG).

United chief executive David Gill confirmed the four-year deal, which dwarfs the £10million-a-season contract Premiership champions Chelsea have with Samsung, at Old Trafford this lunchtime.

Although the figure is less than Gibraltar-based gaming company Mansion were prepared to pay, there were widespread concerns within club circles about being linked so heavily with a gambling organisation.

It means AIG will be only the third company to have their name on the famous red shirt, following on from Sharp and Vodafone.

While sum is slightly less than the world record £15million-a-year Juventus receive from Libyan oil company Tamoil, it still represents a major coup for Gill and his negotiation team, who have confounded the predictions of many pundits who felt they would struggle to match the £9million-a-year deal Vodafone decided to terminate two years early.

'Let's be clear,' said Gill.

'We passed up the opportunity to do the world's biggest shirt deal to do the right shirt deal, one that is right for Manchester United and one that underlines our position as the world's leading club.

'AIG's global operations complement our great fanbase and we are excited about the global prospects this relationship brings.

'This is a blue chip deal for a blue chip club.'

Today's announcement had been widely anticipated following Mansion's public accusations of 'double-dealing' on Monday when they confirmed United's commercial director Andy Anson had terminated discussions with the company on Sunday evening.

Anson has been widely criticised by some vocal sections of the United support for his failure to secure a replacement more swiftly but he was extensively involved in talks over a new deal, along with Gill and Bryan Glazer.

Red Devils officials have been angered at frequent suggestions that the much-cherished 'United' brand had been badly tarnished by the Malcolm Glazer takeover and the figures involved in the AIG deal provide proof the American's controversial £790million buy-out has had no impact on the club's standing in the commercial world.

Neither, it appears, has the recent relative lack of success affected the club's popularity and the club are likely to set a new ground attendance record for a league game at Old Trafford this Sunday when Champions League semi-finalists Arsenal visit.

Gill added: 'On and off the pitch, Manchester United always seeks to be both the first and the best.

'We do things differently to others. Whether it's our faith in our Academy over the years, or our approach to sponsors - we are unique.

'The Manchester United shirt is the most iconic image in world sport and the chance for companies to appear on it is very rare.

'This deal re-establishes the club firmly among the most valuable names in world sport.'

Isaachunt

Re: Man United unveil AIG as new sponsors
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2006, 03:44:23 PM »
 tell the pope

« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2006, 04:16:48 PM »
tell de pope what???     that youisahc#nt??  i am sure he will bless you

Offline JayTheWrecker

« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2006, 04:29:20 PM »

as a general rule i never comment when i read a personal attack against someone

but your reply had me laughing so hard i spilt coffee onto my keyboard  :rotfl:
Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2006, 05:23:40 PM »
yuh juss jelous yuh team doe have class.................. 60 mil poyunds    gud enuff to dell d pope

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2006, 06:28:47 PM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2006, 06:32:03 PM »
tell the pope

Really... get off the site nuh...

There is not a soul here that wants your negative vibes...

« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2006, 06:56:51 PM »
A clip of manchestor new jersey. If you ask me the last one look better

the kit
« Last Edit: April 06, 2006, 07:00:57 PM by skins »

« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2006, 07:02:23 PM »
i think it looks normal        hoo cares if its ugly  it's worth 60 mil pounds

« Reply #9 on: April 06, 2006, 07:04:47 PM »
i think it looks normal hoo cares if its ugly it's worth 60 mil pounds

I know it worth alot but i just find they could have come up with a better way to display AIG. I not a designer but they could have done a little better.

« Reply #10 on: April 06, 2006, 07:05:12 PM »
i think it looks normal        hoo cares if its ugly  it's worth 60 mil pounds

please tell me that spelling 'who' that way is just the cool way kids are spelling it these days.

« Reply #11 on: April 06, 2006, 07:07:44 PM »
yeh    msn language   when i typing das just how is come out lol