May 23, 2024, 02:33:52 AM

Author Topic: England have theirs...What is Ours ?????  (Read 4194 times)

England have theirs...What is Ours ?????
« on: April 21, 2006, 01:49:35 PM »
England World Cup anthem hits airwaves

LONDON, April 21 (Reuters) - England's official World Cup song, a laid-back, guitar-based anthem with no guest vocals by any of the players, hit the airwaves on Friday.

"World At Your Feet", by Yorkshire-based indie band Embrace, was played on radio stations for the first time.

"It's all about the England team doing well, you know, and there's a line in there 'it can be done'," said lead singer Danny McNamara.

ADVERTISEMENT

Asked if he thought the team would like it, McNamara told the BBC: "We did it wholeheartedly so I hope they like it".

"With the world at your feet, there's no one you can't beat," the song goes. "With the world at your feet, there's no height you can't reach".

England's first World Cup match is against Paraguay in Frankfurt on June 10.

Updated on Friday, Apr 21, 2006 6:13 am EDT

Re: England have theirs...What is Ours ?????
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2006, 01:54:58 PM »
Maximus ha someting fuh dem laid back guitar bizness

« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2006, 01:57:47 PM »
We have we own... since World Cup was a dream.

FIGHTER!

All the waggonist songs cyar come round.

« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2006, 01:59:10 PM »
By far  fighter does raise pores, instill  a courage and bring out a  desire to play all out

Dat song is boss. AH eh play ah do all kinda renditions tuh dat song!!!

« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2006, 02:00:22 PM »
I am a SOOOOOOOOOOCA WARRIOR !!!!!

Heard it plenty times up here  but the first time I hear dat tune in a dance in Trini was over the Christmas holidays.........instant goosebumps....

I eh think any other country could top that tune......
« Last Edit: April 21, 2006, 02:04:21 PM by kicker »

« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2006, 03:29:27 PM »
Our anthem is Maximus Dan's- Fighter.
Talk done
Any others....buss out
And Imagine dat in World Cup 2006 de game.......oh lawd i need 30 US
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2006, 03:36:15 PM »
Like this man jus crawl from under a rock to be asking what is WE song.

Lawd ....... Fighter ...all the way  :beermug:

« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2006, 04:00:55 PM »
England World Cup song:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/4927990.stm

cyar touch Fighter atall atall  :beermug:

Offline scarface

• ultra del vicchia signora
« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2006, 04:28:10 PM »
ah find AWATT sticking man!!! ticket supposed to done be issued

ah making a citizen's arrest!!

« Reply #10 on: April 21, 2006, 04:41:12 PM »
England World Cup song:

Did you check the link where they send in their own songs?
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/funny_old_game/4923464.stm

My favorite:

GOING HOME

You're going home, you're going home, you're going home after the group games.

Your team is over-rated, and in the media they will be slated. Sven will take you home, will take you home, will take you home after the group games.
(Graeme Duncan).

Offline john_public

« Reply #11 on: April 21, 2006, 05:03:11 PM »
yeah man fighter is de tune

i have dat as meh ring tone, and when i get a call nuff man does be askin me to send it to dem.

i consider it our new nation pledge

Offline 1989

« Reply #12 on: April 21, 2006, 05:18:07 PM »
England World Cup song:

Did you check the link where they send in their own songs?
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/funny_old_game/4923464.stm

My favorite:

GOING HOME

Your team is over-rated, and in the media they will be slated. Sven will take you home, will take you home, will take you home after the group games.
(Graeme Duncan).

;D I like that one.  Obviously not written by an England fan.
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

« Reply #13 on: April 22, 2006, 01:39:16 PM »
World at Your Feet? Verdict: It Stinks
(soccerblog.com)

You're the first in my life
To make me think
That we might just go all the way
And I, want you to know we're all hanging on

They'll come and yes they'll try
To break us down
But we know that we'll never lose
If we keep moving forward and don't look back

Is this is the best we can do in England?

Lame, lame, lame- and it's not just the lyrics that suck. Listen here.

The Soca Warriors leave us in the dust.

What a farce. Let's hope we're better on the field than in the studio!

and from the Times:

"For the next three months, everyone will be humming it, whether or not they want to. But the moment England is eliminated, it will vanish, the tune and sentiments as fleeting and evanescent as a Wayne Rooney thought. This is disposable music, intended to be howled in the moment of exhilaration and then immediately forgotten."

and from International News Service

Embrace's Effort Should Ensure England Remain Rock-Bottom

"... It is called "World At Your Feet", it is by Huddersfield band Embrace and it is rubbish. England do not perform well if their World Cup song is rubbish. ... "

« Last Edit: April 22, 2006, 06:13:47 PM by e-man »

« Reply #14 on: April 22, 2006, 03:16:40 PM »
yeah man fighter is de tune

i have dat as meh ring tone, and when i get a call nuff man does be askin me to send it to dem.

i consider it our new nation pledge

Thought it was me alone....had that since last year !!!

Offline 1989

« Reply #15 on: April 22, 2006, 06:48:53 PM »
World at Your Feet? Verdict: It Stinks
(soccerblog.com)

You're the first in my life
To make me think
That we might just go all the way
And I, want you to know we're all hanging on

They'll come and yes they'll try
To break us down
But we know that we'll never lose
If we keep moving forward and don't look back

Is this is the best we can do in England?

Lame, lame, lame- and it's not just the lyrics that suck. Listen here.

The Soca Warriors leave us in the dust.

What a farce. Let's hope we're better on the field than in the studio!

and from the Times:

"For the next three months, everyone will be humming it, whether or not they want to. But the moment England is eliminated, it will vanish, the tune and sentiments as fleeting and evanescent as a Wayne Rooney thought. This is disposable music, intended to be howled in the moment of exhilaration and then immediately forgotten."

and from International News Service

Embrace's Effort Should Ensure England Remain Rock-Bottom

"... It is called "World At Your Feet", it is by Huddersfield band Embrace and it is rubbish. England do not perform well if their World Cup song is rubbish. ... "

This is good news... :)
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

« Reply #16 on: April 22, 2006, 11:32:21 PM »
Scarface and Cowen shut yuh tail.......off course ah know Maximus Dan ..fighter, Am ah Socawarrior etc ......did anybody make it official ????. Even on this post here everybody pickin something else..... is 2-ah allyuh that should get ah ticket just fuh dat !!

« Reply #17 on: April 22, 2006, 11:50:25 PM »
Scarface and Cowen shut yuh tail.......off course ah know Maximus Dan ..fighter, Am ah Socawarrior etc ......did anybody make it official ????. Even on this post here everybody pickin something else..... is 2-ah allyuh that should get ah ticket just fuh dat !!

Fighter is not official in the sense that TTFF commissioned Maximus to write it (actually it's written by Edghill Thomas, produce by Samuel Jack), or bought the rights to it, but it is used on the splash page of the official site.

If you check the link killer posted above you will see a couple of Brit's claiming they contacted the "TTFA" to do an official song "because no one else had done one", but I've never seen any confirmation from Shawn Fuentes or anyone else at TTFF acknowledging it.

See this thread, too
http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=12700.0
« Last Edit: April 22, 2006, 11:54:03 PM by e-man »

« Reply #18 on: April 23, 2006, 12:56:32 AM »

Fighter is not official in the sense that TTFF commissioned Maximus to write it (actually it's written by Edghill Thomas, produce by Samuel Jack), or bought the rights to it, but it is used on the splash page of the official site.

If you check the link killer posted above you will see a couple of Brit's claiming they contacted the "TTFA" to do an official song "because no one else had done one", but I've never seen any confirmation from Shawn Fuentes or anyone else at TTFF acknowledging it.

See this thread, too

Just my point !!

« Reply #19 on: April 23, 2006, 09:47:00 PM »
Quote from: e-man link=topic=13956.msg141308#msg141308

[b
GOING HOME [/b]

(Graeme Duncan).

Like this man is Iwer in disguise boy  :devil:

« Reply #20 on: April 23, 2006, 10:18:24 PM »
I've never seen any confirmation from Shawn Fuentes or anyone else at TTFF acknowledging it.

See this thread, too

thats cause our ManJack cant get he fingers on the MONEY

Well yeah, I guess nothing becomes official until JW pockets half the money first.