June 15, 2024, 06:57:57 PM

Author Topic: 28 short-listed for U-16 selection.  (Read 7560 times)

28 short-listed for U-16 selection.
« on: August 02, 2006, 02:36:41 AM »
T&T Footballers in Tokyo.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

A Trinidad and Tobago team, minus captain Dwight Yorke and midfielder Aurtis Whitley, had its first outfield training session in warm conditions in Tokyo on Monday morning in preparation for Wednesday’s friendly international against the Japan national team which kicks off at 7:20 pm (6:20 am TT time).
The previous day, the team, a less experienced one than that which played at the 2006 World Cup arrived at the Rihga Royal Hotel in Tokyo and had a light stretch within the compound in the evening following some twenty one hours flying time via London.
Head coach Wim Rijsbergen will also go into the game with 17 players after an MRI scan on Yorke back at Sydney FC revealed that he suffered a slight stain in his left groin tendon and has been advised to rest for a few days. He is expected to visit a groin specialist this week. Whitley meantime also withdrew from the trip last minute due to personal family commitments and his place has been taken by Jabloteh’s Kerry Baptiste.
Yorke, who had committed to joining the young team last month following the invitation from Rijsbergen, was disappointed with not making the trip, particularly as it would be the first outing for the “Soca Warriors” following their World Cup showing.
“I’m disappointed. I came back from the World Cup and worked very hard to get fit and I was really starting to feel sharp again. I was looking forward to getting out on the pitch but this has set me back a little. I will now make sure I get things right because the start of the A-League is only three weeks away,” Yorke said on the Sunday.
Rjsbergen will conduct a second session on Monday evening at the match venue- the National Stadim and one on Tuesday at a nearby training pitch.
Meantime, new Japan coach Ivica Osim will have only four World Cup players in his 23-man squad for the game.
He bumped the squad up to 18 with the inclusion of uncapped Nagoya Grampus Eight midfielder Naoshi Nakamura and Yokohama F Marinos striker Daisuke Sakata. Sakata's club teammates defender Yuzo Kurihara and Koji Yamase were also picked for national team duty for the first time as was Urawa Reds midfielder Keita Suzuki, who failed to make the cut for Japan's Athens Olympic squad two years ago.
His other 13 players are all home-based with only goalkeeper Yoshikatsu Kawaguchi and defenders Alex, Keisuke Tsuboi and Yuichi Komano having appeared in Germany.
Japan take on Yemen at home in an Asian Cup qualifier on Aug. 16 in Osim's first competitive game.
"I will probably have around 20 players in the final squad," Osim told reporters. "There are some surprises but I will keep to the same group of players for the Yemen game."
Players from Gamba Osaka, Kashima Antlers and Osim's former club JEF United Chiba were left out as the teams are involved in Asian club competitions.
Osim was less than pleased at the timing of Wednesday's friendly but opted for the path of least resistance in naming his provisional squad.
"There are a lot of players I would like to pick but I can't," he said. "I've only just taken this job so I'm not going to start trying to change the schedule or making demands."
Osim, who led Yugoslavia to the quarter-finals of the 1990 World Cup, became Japan coach last month following a tug-of-war with JEF United.
News from the 05th of August 2006.

Birchall goes to Coventry.

While some of his teammates were heading off to Japan for next week’s friendly, midfielder Chris Birchall was completing a new move to English Championship club Coventry City.
Birchall signed the new deal on Friday afternoon and becomes the third T&T World Cup player to sign with a new club after Shaka Hislop and Kelvin Jack. Birchall agreed to a three-year deal with City in a Division one higher than his ex club Port Vale.
“It’s a massive move for me,” Birchall told TTFF Media on Friday. “I only just signed a couple hours ago and first up I want to thank everyone back in Trinidad and Tobago who have believed in me and supported me since I started playing for the country. Everyone who has been there with me through the entire journey from the players to the coaching staff and Mr Warner and the rest at the Federation. It was a big decision to take up the offer from Trinidad because I didn’t know what to expect but I came through it.
“Playing for T&T has made me a better player and a better person and I’m just really looking forward to playing for the country for many years again.”
He added that he had his sighs set on moving  a step up after the World Cup.
“Going back to Port Vale which is a club I will always admire was on the cards but I also felt that after what I thought was a half decent performance at the World Cup for me that maybe I could head to the Championship Division. Coventry made the offer and I’m really pleased to be going there because they have a decent history and the club has good ambitions. Going there to join Stern is a also a plus because he’s made me feel welcomed from day one and it’s always great to have someone like him in your club. I can’t wait to be teaming up with him now and the rest of the set up at Coventry, “Birchall added.
And local midfielder Josh Johnson was on the same BWIA flight the T&T team on Friday but on a different mission as he obtained his work permit on Thursday and heading off to begin a two-year deal with English club Wrexham.
He will now join national team defender Dennis Lawrence at the League Two club. Johnson signed the deal last month but was unable to start playing without the work permit but the efforts of agent Mike Berry worked out well for the former Under 20 player who last appeared for the T&T Senior team in 2002.
News from the 04th of August 2006.

Head coach Wim makes ‘Soca Warriors’ debut.

National senior team head coach Wim Rijsbergen officially began his duties since his recent appointment on Thursday as he conducted his first training session with the “Soca Warriors” at the Larry Gomes Stadium on the eve of the squad’s departure for Tokyo for next week’s friendly international against Japan.
Rijsbergen, after viewing a training match involving the national under 16 team at UWI Grounds St Augustine with assistants Anton Corneal and Jan Van Deinsen, headed off to Larry Gomes where he met with the players for the first time since taking over from Leo Beenhakker and put them through his paces with Van Deinsen while Corneal stayed back with the Under 16s who are preparing for the upcoming Caribbean Football Union Youth Cup which kicks off on August 14 here with the hosts meeting Aruba.
The session was the first of what many expects to be a successful aftermath of the country’s commendable first time showing at the 2006 World Cup in Germany and Rijsbergen is firm on his belief that there must be a form of continuity and the only way of achieving such would be by working at full length with the necessary parties involved from administrative to coaching staff, corporate sector to government.
The former Dutch World Cup defender held talks in the company of TTFF Special Advisor Jack Warner and General Secretary Richard Groden with the various coaches and managers attached the local Pro League teams at the Clico Corporate Suite, Queen’s Park Oval on Thursday afternoon. His intentions was to have the PFL teams more involved in the preparation of the national teams from youth to senior where training schedules and release of players are concerned. From all looks it appeared that there was a form of understanding between Rijsbergen from the TTFF’s side and the Pro League which also had CEO Dexter Skeene present at the meeting.
Fifteen of the 18 players selected on the squad to go to Japan are attached to Pro League teams with only Sydney FC’s Dwight Yorke, German-based winger Evans Wise and Avery John of New England Revolution based outside.Several of the other regular players were unavailable due to club commitments and the fact that the game is being played on a non-FIFA date.
And as a result of that too, the likes of Kendall Jagdeosingh, midfielder Stephan David, W Connection’s Andre Pacheco, Starworld’s goalkeeper Marvin Phillip and defender Clyde Leon will be lining up in T&T colours for the first time in a senior international fixture.
“It’s important that we have the best possible relationship with all the parties involved because it makes the hard part easier in some ways,” Rijsbergen told TTFF Media.
“We need the Pro League players as you can see for this match and it’s a great chance for them to get the exposure at the international level and the players and clubs can all benefit. We will be looking at them and monitoring and trying to form a good base of players so that we can never be caught off guard. This will help us to be ready at all times and while the success in Germany was wonderful, the big part is for us to now ensure that we can build on it and it starts here,” Rijsbergen added. The team departs Piarco on Friday afternoon with part going through Miami and another batch going through London.
News from the 03rd August 2006.

Yorke to lead new look T&T for Japan friendly.

National team captain Dwight Yorke will join a Trinidad and Tobago senior team which includes only seven players who were part of the squad at the 2006 World Cup, for an international friendly against Japan in Tokyo on August 9.
Yorke, currently in preseason training with Sydney FC made himself available following a request from recently appointed head coach Wim Rijsbergen who will be in charge of the team for the first time for this encounter which according to the Japan FA, will be played in front of a full house as they are preparing for the Asian Cup.
Due to the current state of the majority of the “Soca Warriors” who are currently engaged in club activity with the start of the English season carded for this weekend and the Scottish season already in progress, Rijsbergen will not have a full quota but he has taken the opportunity to have a look at some of the talent coming out of the local T&T Pro League.
Yorke will join fellow World Cup squad members Avery John, Evans Wise, Cyd Gray, Aurtis Whitley, Anthony Wolfe and Atiba Charles in the squad for the upcoming friendly.
Some of new faces, who have in fact had action with national teams in the past include Starworld Strikers and former Under 17 goalkeeper Marvin Phillip, Caledonia AIA’s Stephan David, San Juan Jabloteh defender Ian Gray, Keyeno Thomas and left sided midfielder Andre Pacheco as well as Clyde Leon and Kendall Jagdeosingh, a former under 20 national.
Rijsbergen stressed that while it was not the easiest way for him to begin his tenure as head coach, he was looking forward to working with the some of the new talent at his disposal which includes several players he has observed at the Pro League level.
“We are using the match to give some of the new local based players a chance at the international level,” Rijsbergen told TTFF Media on Wednesday.
“This will of course be part of the future set of players from which we will build on. This is part of the new generation and it’s a plus as well to have them train and play with some of the experienced ones who were at the World Cup.
“We hopefully will have some international games and this will assist in us developing the players and we will continue to observe them and compile a list of the younger ones for the Olympic team as well. We need to give them that chance because it’s also part of developing the new generation,” he added.
With the presence of Yorke and others who were in Germany, Rijsbergen believes while the match will be a testing one away from home, it will provide a perfect chance for the “Soca Warriors” to begin the preparations towards the upcoming Digicel Caribbean Cup and CONCACAF Gold Cup in 2007.
“Dwight will come over from Australia and having him there with the other players who were in Germany will be a boost. Hopefully the selection of this team will send a message to the young ones that we have our eyes on them. It’s a tough start because we will play in front of a pack stadium but we will make the most of this experience,” Rijsbergen added. He, along with assistant Jan Van Deinsen will conduct a session with the home-based pros at the Larry Gomes Stadium on Thursday evening.

T&T Squad for Japan.

Goalkeepers
Marvin Phillips (Starworld Strikers), Jan Michael Williams (W Connection).

Defenders
Keyeno Thomas (San Juan Jabloteh), Atiba Charles (W Connection), Ian Gray (San Juan Jabloteh), Avery John (New England Revolution), Cyd Gray (San Juan Jabloteh), Glenton Wolfe (San Juan Jabloteh).

Midfielders.
Aurtis Whitley (San Juan Jabloteh), Andre Pacheco (W Connection), Trent Noel (San Juan Jabloteh), Stephan David (Caledonia AIA Fire), Clyde Leon (W Connection), Evans Wise (Un-Attached), Dwight Yorke (Sydney FC).

Forward.
Gary Glasgow (Joe Public), Anthony Wolfe (San Juan Jabloteh), Kendall Jagdeosingh (Caledonia AIA Fire).
News from the 02nd of August 2006.

28 short-listed for U-16 selection.

National Under 16 coach Anton Corneal has short-listed a squad of 28 players to prepare for next month’s Caribbean Football Union Under 16 Youth Cup to be played in this country.
Corneal has overseen the scouting of local players throughout the country and has since combined players selected from those sessions with members of the previous Under 15 squad to continue preparations for the tournament which T&T opens on August 14 versus Aruba at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.
And for the last few days, Corneal has had national senior team head coach Wim Rijsbergen also being part of the team’s training and following his arrival in the country on Monday, fellow Dutchman Jim Van Deinsen, recently appointed as a senior team assistant coach was also part of Tuesday’s training session with the Under 16s at the UWI Grounds, St Augustine.
Among the players involved in training now is former national under 15 goalkeeper and captain Jesse Fullerton who was named the TTFF’s Youth player of the year for 2005. And among others who excited during last year’ CFU Under 15 Cup current gearing towards the 2006 tournament are Superstar Rangers duo Chad De Freitas and Sean De Silva as well as a quota from San Juan Jabloteh Sheldon Bateau, Stephan Chang and Franz Husbands. Defence Force’s midfield pair of  Brenton Balbosa and Leston Paul are also back in the fray again.
Corneal also has US-born goalkeeper Stefan Berkeley as well as Joe Public duo Jean Luc Rochford and Kyle Campbell in the squad vying for final spots.
The squad will be cut to twenty-two players on Saturday and will then go into a live-in training camp at Petrotrin compound, Point-a-Pierre next week.
“We expect that the training will increase the competition for places now because the boys have been going hard at it and that’s always a plus,” Corneal told TTFF Media when asked about the latest developments in the team’s preparations.
“Fortunately for us we have national coaches Wim (Rijsbergen) and assistant coach Jan Van Deinsen. They have been an asset in preparation. Right now we are finalising team positions and trying to make sure there is technical fitness.
“You will see players who have developed and who are eager to keep on developing and hopefully the crowds can recognize that and give the boys all the support at this level. Our aim is to get the results that will take us through to the next phase of the tournament and beyond so obviously everything has to be taken into consideration and we will prepare for that,” he added.
T&T will also come up against Grenada and Dominican Republic with the Group winner advancing to the other round of the tournament. The Tournament winners will then represent the CFU along with Jamaica in the final CONCACAF round of eight teams from which five will then advance to the FIFA Under 17 World Championship in Korea next year.

Under 16 Squad.[/u]

Goalkeepers.
Jesse Fullerton (Queens Royal Colege), Glenroy Samuel (San Juan Jabloteh), Christopher Coker (Defence Force), Wesley Douglas (Starworld Strikers), Kern Caesar (Defence Force), Stefan Berkeley (Un-Attached).

Defenders.
Akeen Adams (W Connection), Aubrey David (Starworld Strikers), Mark Rivers (Starworld Strikers), Ryan O'Neil (Defence Force), Sheldon Bateau (San Juan Jabloteh), Stephan Chang (San Juan Jabloteh), Robert Primus (San Juan Jabloteh).

Midfielders.
Ethan Gordon (Defence Force), Chad DeFreitas (Superstar Rangers), Sean DeSilva (Superstar Rangers), Brenton Balbosa (Defence Force), Kevin Molino (San Juan Jabloteh), Nkosi Simon (United Petrotrin), Jean Luc Rochford (Joe Public), Leston Paul (Defence Force), Chike Sullivan (San Juan Jabloteh).

Forwards.
Franz Husbands (San Juan Jabloteh), Daniel Joseph (San Juan Jabloteh), Stephen Knox (San Juan Jabloteh), Daniel Cyrus (Stokley Vale FC), Marcus Joseph (United Petrotrin), Kaejay Ramdoo (Harvard FC).
Corneal says U-16s need local support.
By: Jovan Ravello (Guardian).

The 2006 Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Under-16 Youth Cup is 13 days away and all indications are that the players, who are expected to form the nucleus of this country’s future football teams, are on schedule in terms of their development. Twenty eight (28) nations will compete from August 14, in 50 matches at seven venues, with the final being played on August 26 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo.
The winner will advance to the Concacaf Final Round of qualification for the Fifa Under-17 World Championship 2007 in Korea. There will also be four guest teams—Mexico, Canada, Guatemala and Panama.
Following an early morning training session on the main field at the University of the West Indies, St Augustine Campus yesterday, Under-16 and senior national assistant coach Anton Corneal said he will be looking to cut the group from its present 25 to 20 players by the end of the week.
“Fortunately for us we have national coaches Wim (Rijsbergen) and assistant coach Jan (Van Deinsen). They have been an asset in preparation. Right now we are finalising team positions and trying to make sure there is technical fitness. We’re doing small side matches to help the speed of play and by next week, we’ll be ready to shape the team better as a unit.”
Asked to give an estimate of where the players might be, ahead of their first match in Group E against Aruba on the tournament’s opening day, Corneal said: “They’re on schedule,” noting that unity was the team’s main strength.
“Continuity is important to the programme and next week will be the key week.”
The team continues training twice a day this week at the same venue and will go into camp from next week.
“We urge the public to come and see the players and play their role in the team’s success,” Corneal said.
Since last year’s inaugural Youth Cup, the team has stayed together. After the Christmas break, they began training for the Dallas Cup in April.
The team maintained a disciplined training pattern and all indications are that the players have matured.
The recent nationwide supplemental screening programme allowed some players, who were on the borderline, a second chance at making it into the squad and was in keeping with the T&T Football Federation’s drive to keep screening going throughout the year.
As a result of all the new policies instituted following the World Cup in June, T&TFF officials have expressed a belief that the final 20-man unit will be representative of what T&T’s youth football has to offer.
If the team winning the tournament is any of the guest teams (Mexico, Panama, Canada, Guatemala, El Salvador) or Jamaica, who will host one of the two final groups, then the runner-up Caribbean team will advance as the CFU champions into the final phase.
From that Final Round, in which eight teams will contest in two groups, five will advance to the 2007 Fifa Under-17 Championship. The team trains twice today at 9.30 am - 11 am and 2.30 pm - 4 pm.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2006, 07:56:25 AM by Flex »

Re: 28 short-listed for U-16 selection.
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2006, 07:33:22 AM »
No elton john?

« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2006, 07:38:32 AM »
I wonder if Lester Peltier, Shastri Spencer, Kyle McIvor, Michael Brown and Carlon Hughes to old for this under 17 team ? If so wel they might come in good for the under 20s with Silas Spann and Javed Mohammed too...

SSFL boys 2005 Players of the year.

Machel James (Fatima).
Elton John (St Augustine SC).
Emmanuel Joseph (Fatima).
Makesi Lewis (Fatima).
Akil De Freitas (St Anthony’s).

2005 boys SSFL All-Star Team.

Goalkeepers:
Adrian Foncette (Fatima).
Leston Shade (Naparima).

Defenders:
Machel James (Fatima).
Kevin De Verteuil (Naparima).
Corneal Thomas (Mucurapo).
Sean Bateau (Fatima).
Dwayne James (St Anthony’s).

Midfielders:
Keston Henry (El Dorado SC).
Javed Mohammed (Naparima).
Richard Roy (Mucurapo SC).

Forwards:
Elijah Manners (San Juan SC).
Makesi Lewis (Fatima).
Adisa Connell (Naparima).
Shastri Spencer (St Augustine SC).

Flex Link with that stats.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2006, 07:42:09 AM by Flex »

« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2006, 07:49:56 AM »

Goalkeepers.
Jesse Fullerton (Queens Royal Colege), Glenroy Samuel (San Juan Jabloteh), Christopher Coker (Defence Force), Wesley Douglas (Starworld Strikers), Kern Caesar (Defence Force), Stefan Berkeley (Un-Attached).

Never heard of a squad with 6 goalkeepers, hope our boys will do us proud.

« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2006, 08:21:18 AM »
Quote from: Flex on Today at 04:36:41 AM

Goalkeepers.

Never heard of a squad with 6 goalkeepers, hope our boys will do us proud.

They may cut three goalkeepers and three field players. They probably know exactly who they want but pick all those keepers to make frills.

« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2006, 08:49:25 AM »
I wonder if Lester Peltier, Shastri Spencer, Kyle McIvor, Michael Brown and Carlon Hughes to old for this under 17 team ? If so wel they might come in good for the under 20s with Silas Spann and Javed Mohammed too...

SSFL boys 2005 Players of the year.

Machel James (Fatima).
Makesi Lewis (Fatima).

2005 boys SSFL All-Star Team.

Goalkeepers:
Adrian Foncette (Fatima).
Leston Shade (Naparima).

Defenders:
Machel James (Fatima).
Kevin De Verteuil (Naparima).
Corneal Thomas (Mucurapo).
Sean Bateau (Fatima).
Dwayne James (St Anthony’s).

Midfielders:
Keston Henry (El Dorado SC).
Javed Mohammed (Naparima).
Richard Roy (Mucurapo SC).

Forwards:
Elijah Manners (San Juan SC).
Makesi Lewis (Fatima).
Adisa Connell (Naparima).
Shastri Spencer (St Augustine SC).

Flex Link with that stats.

elton john was on the team to the dallas cup i think
« Last Edit: August 02, 2006, 08:55:09 AM by triniman »

« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2006, 10:07:30 AM »
Hope people payin attenton because in my opinion...the trend I seein is an excellent one.

Ah see ONE PLAYER AND ONE PLAYER ONLY with a colleges league team.

De ress is with the Pro League clubs, Superstar Rangers, a Harvard club etc.

This is excellent in my opinion because Colleges League is NOT de proper place to DEVELOP young footballers.  Colleges League is primarily fuh bragging rights and some serious fun.

The development of our young players needs to be happening with the CLUBS where training HOPEFULLY is more than a 2 month season.

Offline marcpurcell

« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2006, 10:15:01 AM »
Hope people payin attenton because in my opinion...the trend I seein is an excellent one.

Ah see ONE PLAYER AND ONE PLAYER ONLY with a colleges league team.

De ress is with the Pro League clubs, Superstar Rangers, a Harvard club etc.

This is excellent in my opinion because Colleges League is NOT de proper place to DEVELOP young footballers.  Colleges League is primarily fuh bragging rights and some serious fun.

The development of our young players needs to be happening with the CLUBS where training HOPEFULLY is more than a 2 month season.

I was just saying that exact thinng. Most of there players at at the club level which speaks volumes for the PFL.

Born in Montreal
Living in Toronto
But still a Barataria boy at heart

« Reply #8 on: August 02, 2006, 10:24:38 AM »
nice to see meh cuz get d call... good luck

« Reply #9 on: August 02, 2006, 10:33:28 AM »

well somebody in de family hah tuh have the football talents...ENT!....  ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #10 on: August 02, 2006, 11:38:32 AM »

well somebody in de family hah tuh have the football talents...ENT!....  ;D ;D ;D

Why yuh so wutless hahahah.

on a serious note this is excellent for the team. Good preparation, living together over an extended period, competition for places. I like it! Well done.

« Reply #11 on: August 02, 2006, 01:38:51 PM »
jah boy that side ait sound like it pick evenly but hat ah go say
only about 4 clubs reppin

Offline john_public

« Reply #13 on: August 02, 2006, 06:34:24 PM »
well i for one eh like it, much, i eh sayin that de fellars de pick eh good, but i know off some youthes that ere called to try out with the bunch, and a few padners went to see it, and befor de man call de team, dem done tell me who gettin pick, u coulda see  plain who was gettin call, ( i remember going to to de under 15 comp. amd wasn`t really impressed witht he levell dats suppsoed to be national youths, de youth man dat was suppose to be on de team, but had to pull out becasue he was havin problems with the sun givin him migranes he got  that problem solved and wasn`t even give a call to try out.

but it eh matter casue once is tnt i givin full support  ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #14 on: August 02, 2006, 08:07:01 PM »
excuse meh ignorancce, buh dem fellahs that have defence force in parentheses next to dey name......the army have ah youth team dat does play dem other pro league teams or what? doh fire meh up ah really eh know.....

« Reply #15 on: August 02, 2006, 08:17:19 PM »
excuse meh ignorancce, buh dem fellahs that have defence force in parentheses next to dey name......the army have ah youth team dat does play dem other pro league teams or what? doh fire meh up ah really eh know.....

Yes, de Defence Force have youth teams. In addition to their senior team, a Pro League club is required to have U-18, U-16 and U-14 teams.

« Reply #16 on: August 02, 2006, 08:29:34 PM »
TI,
Wha' happen to yuh boy Heston? He eh show up or he wasn't good enough ???

« Reply #17 on: August 02, 2006, 10:02:43 PM »
The Pro League teams imput should make the SSFL more interesting. The fact that all PFL needs to have youth teams should only make the SSFL better although I eh see it yet. I live in hope.

« Reply #18 on: August 02, 2006, 10:38:08 PM »

Ah ent know ah single man on dat team. :o :o :o :o

Offline legal alien

« Reply #19 on: August 03, 2006, 12:25:23 AM »
somebody please remind me which one is the white boy who attends cic that you all did an interview with within the last year?i think he said birchall is his favorite player.

« Reply #20 on: August 03, 2006, 12:37:14 AM »
somebody please remind me which one is the white boy who attends cic that you all did an interview with within the last year?i think he said birchall is his favorite player.

Sean de Silva (midfield)

« Reply #21 on: August 03, 2006, 05:15:40 AM »
Yorke struck down by groin injury.
ABC News.

Sydney FC captain Dwight Yorke is in doubt for Sunday's A-League preseason cup match against Perth Glory in Wollongong after he injured his groin at training this morning. Yorke was due to undergo scans this afternoon to determine the full extent of the injury. The Trinidad & Tobago World Cup captain is yet to play a match for the A-League champions during the preseason tournament.

« Reply #22 on: August 03, 2006, 05:25:12 AM »
TI,
Wha' happen to yuh boy Heston? He eh show up or he wasn't good enough ???

Accodring to Ti he eh taking football serious

Offline john_public

« Reply #23 on: August 03, 2006, 07:07:01 PM »
hard luck fellars, but de youth man i was talkin about on de team, ah call he brother and ask and he dere i didn`t notice it befor my bad. i still feel it have other youths dat shouda been dere also

i hope sean get a lil stronger, de youth have real skilll so with a lil power he go be real trouble

« Reply #24 on: August 04, 2006, 10:12:06 AM »
Japan team for T&T.[/u]

Goalkeepers:
Yoshikatsu KAWAGUCHI (Jubilo Iwata), Norihiro YAMAGISHI (Urawa Reds).

Defenders:
SANTOS Alessandro (Urawa Reds), Keisuke TSUBOI (Urawa Reds), Marcus Tulio TANAKA (Urawa Reds), Yuichi KOMANO (Sanfrecce Hiroshima).

Midfielders:
Hayuma TANAKA (Yokohama F Marinos), Yasuyuki KONNO (FC Tokyo), Daigo KOBAYASHI (Omiya Ardija), Makoto HASEBE (Urawa Reds).

Forwards:
Kazuki GANAHA (Kawasaki Frontale), Hisato SATO (Sanfrecce,Hiroshima), Tatsuya TANAKA (Urawa Reds).

Note.

Yamagishi, Marcus Tulio Tanaka, Hayuma Tanaka, Kobayashi and Ganaha are
newcomers to the national team. Kawaguchi, Santos, Tsuboi and Komano were squad members for FIFA World Cup in Germany.