October 31, 2024, 06:13:33 PM

Author Topic: Van Bommel and Van Nistelroy reject Van Basten  (Read 4632 times)

Van Bommel and Van Nistelroy reject Van Basten
« on: October 02, 2006, 11:17:42 AM »
I know the Holland fans on the forum real split over Van Basten and how he runs the Dutch national team. Van Nistelroy and Van Bommel have stated they will never play for Holland again, under V Basten. What do you think? Is Van Bommel wrong to reject this latest call up? Is the national team bigger than personal differences? What is the future for Van Basten and does anyone still insist his selection policies are racist...(Van Bommel and Van Nistelroy are white in case some of you didn't know  ;))

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2006/soccer/10/01/bc.eu.spt.soc.netherlands.van.ap/index.html

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
Re: Van Bommel and Van Nistelroy reject Van Basten
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2006, 11:36:28 AM »
It's sad, First of all, I believe that if a player dont wont to play for his country, that his business. Anyone who knows dutch football, will see this as the normal. I dont agree with van basen policy but I wouldn't lose any night sleep over it. Hope they get their sh#t together. I already make plans to go Euro 2008 to see Holland and France.
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2006, 11:37:44 AM »
vbom and vnis eh wrong.

they is big man. they cyah let nobody diss them so and then let them use them at their will?

how they know they would even get sweat? vnis get a call to probably ride pine.

« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2006, 11:43:42 AM »
van Basten is trying to help Holland by cutting ties with the old and going with a younger squad. That is his choice and results so far has been acceptable.

if I was the coach men like seedorf, klivert and Van Nisterooy would be on the squad even if it is mixed with the young players.

I think he is building for 2010 because with those youths he will not win now but maybe in 4 years with experience they will be a hot squad.

As long as the Dutch FA support him it does not matter what the players think.

It is amazing that he play van persie before Van Nistorooy in that game versus portugal,

Is Like brazil picking Fred infront of Ronaldo, That will never happen in a competitive match because is like apples and oranges.

yes Fred is a great player, but there is only one Ronaldo!

« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2006, 12:22:48 PM »
van Basten is trying to help Holland by cutting ties with the old and going with a younger squad. That is his choice and results so far has been acceptable.

if I was the coach men like seedorf, kluivert and van nistleroy would be on the squad even if it is mixed with the young players.

I think he is building for 2010 because with those youths he will not win now but maybe in 4 years with experience they will be a hot squad.

As long as the Dutch FA support him it does not matter what the players think.

It is amazing that he play van persie before Van Nistorooy in that game versus portugal,

Is Like brazil picking Fred infront of Ronaldo, That will never happen in a competitive match because is like apples and oranges.

I think van Basten has been a little arrogant so far to have expected results from the dutch team while dissin' the "two" players you mentioned there.  He went to Germany without Seedorf and got absolutely nothing from his midfield.  I don't think he is going to make a good coach, and the two vans doh want he to be their driver at all!!  The Dutch FA need to hire Frank Rijkaard.....when he's done acclomplishing what he has set out to do with Barca.

« Reply #5 on: October 02, 2006, 12:39:55 PM »
dsi ruud........   van basten is a jackass coach........

Ruud Van Nistelrooy  Living Legend!

150 in 214 at Utd.........     5 in 7 at Madrid and counting
[/color]

« Reply #6 on: October 02, 2006, 12:46:07 PM »
As an uninformed Holland fan I don't know all to really comment. However I do know that Hollands BIGGEST problems the past 10 years is discipline and teamwork. No matter who in charge there always seems to be drama. Van B in charge and he seems to be getting his bosses support so look for more controvesy out of that camp.

« Reply #7 on: October 02, 2006, 01:30:52 PM »
I don't really follow de developments of the Holland squad and I am not a fan of Van Nistelrooy but any objective-thinking person will realize it is a mistake to omit him from the squad. That is Holland's loss.

Van Persie - talent for days - have nothing on Clarence Seedorf yet. It would be good to see them play together but won't happen...I feel Seedorf realize dat and come to terms with it long time now

« Reply #8 on: October 02, 2006, 01:31:02 PM »
My questions:  Is Ruud disruptive to the rezst of the squad with any sort of antics when he doesn't start?  How does he react when Van Basten speaks to him in practice.  Does Van Basten see Ruud as a threat to his legacy?  Man is human, so there could be some salient ego thing going on between the two.  Dutch football always seems to be lacking in humility. That, to me, is the biggest deterrent to them winning the World Cup.

Offline Swima

« Reply #9 on: October 02, 2006, 02:10:17 PM »
People on this board are talking about players such as Seedorf and Kuivert playing for Holland again. I find it hard to believe that anyone who has seen these fellas in an orange jersey can say that they should still be on the National Team. Seedorf still plays at a very high level for Milan. I have always loved him as a club player but have been forced to cuss him everytime he puts on an Orange jersey. Calling for Seedorf is like saying he should call Hasselbaink back as well. Kluivert has been a lot more positive for Holland than Seedorf, but has not really been in the best form recently.

To be more on the topic though, I have to say that van Basten is a risk taker who obviously gets the best out of a team for one-off games. In World Cup qualifying the Dutch were Juggernauts in their group and have started Euro qualifying in similar fashion. It's when they get to a tournament that their character gets tested. Overall, I do not think that this crop of Dutch players is as talented as the groups from the late 80's through to the late 90's. It is therefore best for the coach to find chemistry among a group of players who respect him and respect each other. Players such as van Persie, Robben, Huntelaar, Kuyt and Maduro are special players and will  be the ones who lead the Dutch in 2008 and beyond. Whether or not they show up as big players in the tournaments remains to be seen. The World Cup provided no confidence thus far. (Granted Huntelaar was not picked)
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2006, 03:27:27 PM »
Van Persie - talent for days - have nothing on Clarence Seedorf yet. It would be good to see them play together but won't happen...I feel Seedorf realize dat and come to terms with it long time now

Van Persie and Seedorf don't really play the same position. Van Persie is a forward who can play on the wing as a 3rd forward. In the WC Holland played with Van Persie and Robben flanking a central striker (Van Nistelroy or Kuyt). Seedorf competed directly with Sneijder and Van Der Vaart.

I think you mean Dirk Kuyt. Van Persie started every game on the wing even when Van Nistelroy started. It was Kuyt who came in for Van the Man.

vbom and vnis eh wrong.

they is big man. they cyah let nobody diss them so and then let them use them at their will?

But it is a team...no? Shouldn't everyone be prepared to ride the bench or not get picked? Kluivert did not play a single minute of Euro 2004 but publicly stated that the team came first and he was proud to help his country prepare as a squad member...In Copa America 1989, Careca was Brazil's biggest striker but knew he had to ride the bench because Romario and Bebeto were on fire. He eventually won back his starting spot for WC 1990. Why should Van Nistelroy and van Bommel have too big an ego to sit on the bench? Isn't it an honor to be on the national squad no matter what your role? What sort of message is that to younger players? Even if Van Basten left, certain players will probably dislike V Nistelroy and V Bommel who are essentially saying that these players have no right playing before them. If they get recalled at a later date, by a different coach, they may have already started another round of diisent in the Holland camp by disrespecting the current crop of players....even if they were correct and should have been starters
« Last Edit: October 02, 2006, 03:29:44 PM by Filho »

« Reply #11 on: October 02, 2006, 07:20:33 PM »

Van Persie and Seedorf don't really play the same position. Van Persie is a forward who can play on the wing as a 3rd forward. In the WC Holland played with Van Persie and Robben flanking a central striker (Van Nistelroy or Kuyt). Seedorf competed directly with Sneijder and Van Der Vaart.

I think you mean Dirk Kuyt. Van Persie started every game on the wing even when Van Nistelroy started. It was Kuyt who came in for Van the Man.

vbom and vnis eh wrong.

But it is a team...no? Shouldn't everyone be prepared to ride the bench or not get picked? Kluivert did not play a single minute of Euro 2004 but publicly stated that the team came first and he was proud to help his country prepare as a squad member...In Copa America 1989, Careca was Brazil's biggest striker but knew he had to ride the bench because Romario and Bebeto were on fire. He eventually won back his starting spot for WC 1990. Why should Van Nistelroy and van Bommel have too big an ego to sit on the bench? Isn't it an honor to be on the national squad no matter what your role? What sort of message is that to younger players? Even if Van Basten left, certain players will probably dislike V Nistelroy and V Bommel who are essentially saying that these players have no right playing before them. If they get recalled at a later date, by a different coach, they may have already started another round of diisent in the Holland camp by disrespecting the current crop of players....even if they were correct and should have been starters

I would like to insert an opinion that requires some research.  How significant of a contribution was Van Nistleroy's during Holland's qualifying run to the world cup? I really wasn't paying attention to European qualifying.  I could see the current crop of players maybe having the resentment you are talking about towards van Bommel more so  than towards van Nistleroy.

« Reply #12 on: October 02, 2006, 07:30:26 PM »
People on this board are talking about players such as Seedorf and Kuivert playing for Holland again. I find it hard to believe that anyone who has seen these fellas in an orange jersey can say that they should still be on the National Team. Seedorf still plays at a very high level for Milan. I have always loved him as a club player but have been forced to cuss him everytime he puts on an Orange jersey. Calling for Seedorf is like saying he should call Hasselbaink back as well. Kluivert has been a lot more positive for Holland than Seedorf, but has not really been in the best form recently.

To be more on the topic though, I have to say that van Basten is a risk taker who obviously gets the best out of a team for one-off games. In World Cup qualifying the Dutch were Juggernauts in their group and have started Euro qualifying in similar fashion. It's when they get to a tournament that their character gets tested. Overall, I do not think that this crop of Dutch players is as talented as the groups from the late 80's through to the late 90's. It is therefore best for the coach to find chemistry among a group of players who respect him and respect each other. Players such as van Persie, Robben, Huntelaar, Kuyt and Maduro are special players and will  be the ones who lead the Dutch in 2008 and beyond. Whether or not they show up as big players in the tournaments remains to be seen. The World Cup provided no confidence thus far. (Granted Huntelaar was not picked)

ok now comment on the 6 goals (Fatima) we drop in allyuh (CIC) tail this afternoon.....ah know iz the wrong thread but ah tuh catch yuh somewhere.... :D
« Last Edit: October 02, 2006, 07:34:52 PM by kicker »

« Reply #13 on: October 03, 2006, 04:03:52 AM »
There always seems to be something grating about not playing for one's national team when called, but Ruud may be thinking why travel, go to all that trouble, maybe ride the bench and have to live with all that tension in the locker room.

I don't need that. Better to stay focused on my present task and deal with the club thing.

In any event, these things are best resolved without a whole lot of media involvement from the player. Managers always win. Ruud's best bet is to focus on career mgmt. Representing Holland on big stages will resolve itself through performance and back door diplomacy.

Offline Swima

« Reply #14 on: October 03, 2006, 06:05:48 AM »

ok now comment on the 6 goals (Fatima) we drop in allyuh (CIC) tail this afternoon.....ah know iz the wrong thread but ah tuh catch yuh somewhere.... :D

Have a time, like yuhself... it's truly rare times for allyuh to be on top of us so enjoy it while it lasts!  :beermug:  8)
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #15 on: October 03, 2006, 11:02:18 AM »
Kicker that doh require no setta comment nah.  Thrashin CIC is the norm these days, it eh no big ting.