May 31, 2024, 10:57:19 PM

Author Topic: Smith survives Toronto FC tryouts  (Read 3462 times)

Smith survives Toronto FC tryouts
« on: January 01, 2007, 11:21:34 AM »
Smith survives Toronto FC tryouts
By Mike Ulmer / TorontoFC.ca 

Toronto FC have invited defender Jamaal Smith to participate in preseason training camp. (Toronto FC)
Jamaal Smith is one-in-a-thousand.

Those are the odds he overcame in becoming the only survivor of the Toronto open tryouts, which were held all week at an indoor venue in Toronto.

Friday was the final cut day and after sorting through just over 1,000 prospects from all over North American and Europe, FC coach Mo Johnston had found his prospect.

Smith is an 18-year-old defender who plays for York University and the Mississauga Classics. He will now attend the Toronto FC training camp in Florida in February.

Smith was approached and urged to attend the camp by York coach Paul James.

"I didn't say yes or no. I was worried about my exams for university but right now I'd have to say I'm glad I came," Smith said.

The Mississauga native never saw a roster spot as his goal.

"I came to gain some exposure and maybe catch the eye of someone on staff. This is definitely a bonus."

Smith's selection made him an immediate target for the media, anxious to document his ascension from 'wannabe' to invited player. Asked if he knew how to deal with the sudden media crush, Smith laughed and said, "Can't say that I do."

He will learn, of course, about surviving media interest and about building on his game.

"I know that I have lots of stuff to work on. I'm just glad to be getting the chance."

Re: Smith survives Toronto FC tryouts
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2007, 01:52:54 PM »
triniman,what's de connection to Trinidad ?

« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2007, 02:38:42 PM »

gosh royal is football related.

how come when man talking about ronaldinho and others all yuh doh say de same thing?  :beermug:

« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2007, 02:45:35 PM »
I agree with Royal.

« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2007, 02:51:22 PM »
I agree with Royal.

breds, triniman always posting about jamaica and canada, he does almost never post about tt, unless its negative.. plus hes from grenadian parentage lol :devil: ;D

is new years day so take ah win :beermug:  oh and remember yuh granny and late grandpa eh born in trinidad  :devil: so dont tease me

« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2007, 02:53:51 PM »

from now on only respond to topics relating to Trinidad football yuh hear royal

« Reply #6 on: January 01, 2007, 03:13:38 PM »

triniman take it easy.I did'nt know dis was a problem.I was just inquiring.All yuh had to do  was answer de question and leave it there.let it rest.But yuh had to go somewhere else.

« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2007, 03:15:13 PM »

triniman take it easy.I did'nt know dis was a problem.I was just inquiring.All yuh had to do  was answer de question and leave it there.let it rest.But yuh had to go somewhere else.

ok royal i was think that yuh was on meh case  cause it eh trini related .. but to answer yuh question i dont know his links.

« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2007, 03:18:58 PM »

ok royal i was think that yuh was on meh case  cause it eh trini related .. but to answer yuh question i dont know his links.

cheers :beermug:

« Reply #9 on: January 01, 2007, 04:23:42 PM »
I agree with Royal.
breds, triniman always posting about jamaica and canada, he does almost never post about tt, unless its negative.. plus hes from grenadian parentage lol :devil: ;D

AND
he does say "Steeps" instead of "Seuuuups" 
and he is de only person who knows JB's music  :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
Happy New Year, Triniman....take ah steeeeeps fa dat ;) ;D
« Last Edit: January 01, 2007, 04:26:50 PM by RedHowler »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline biga84

« Reply #10 on: January 01, 2007, 04:28:47 PM »

His Mothers from Guyana and his Father is from Jamaica..If I'm not mistaken

Offline Teflon Don

« Reply #11 on: January 01, 2007, 07:47:47 PM »
plz ppl tings like dis leh we only hear bout it if it benefiting TNT nah plz...no disrespect to ne other country but this is a socawarriors msg board....i mean is one thing if u posting about maybe a world class player changing clubs or a caribbean player going to like mmmmmm one of the big  clubs in europe....but d regular sh!t cud stay off d board thanx

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #12 on: January 01, 2007, 08:15:51 PM »

Your posts are more than welcome at the Voyageurs triniman:

http://www.canadian-soccer.com/forum/default.asp

« Reply #13 on: January 01, 2007, 08:22:02 PM »

His Mothers from Guyana and his Father is from Jamaica..If I'm not mistaken

so he have more Guyanese in him dan Jamaican?!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;D