June 05, 2024, 05:41:16 AM

Author Topic: Canada's coach is Rene Simoes...  (Read 8308 times)

Re: Canada's new coach is........
« Reply #30 on: March 23, 2007, 10:57:01 AM »
is Hart a foreign coach or a Canadian coach..... ;D

« Reply #31 on: March 23, 2007, 11:00:27 AM »
        Hart is a Trini who Coaches the Canadian U17 national team and is also the interim Coach for their Snr national. 

« Reply #32 on: March 23, 2007, 11:02:48 AM »
Hart is a Trini who Coaches the Canadian U17 national team and is also the interim Coach for their Snr national.

so he foreign den? ;D

« Reply #33 on: March 23, 2007, 11:40:43 AM »

so he foreign den? ;D
      Yes we can say so.I just want to through this question out here,would it ever be possible for any local Coach to make the money those foreign Coaches make regardless of their ability/experience/qualifications,what a local have to do to be respected,as far as some people are concerned that will never happen is T&T you talking about,we never good enough. 

« Reply #34 on: March 23, 2007, 12:27:40 PM »
OK..a little off-topic and pLaying Devil's advocate: Why do people seem to think Stephen Hart is such a great candidate for T&T senior coach? He has very little experience and senior level and a great youth coach sometimes makes an ordinary or even poor senior coach. They require different managerial skills and abilities. Very few make the transition successfully. Not saying he wouldn't be good, and not saying he does not deserve a chance but I've seen quite a few posts where people seem to think he is definitely the man for the job. Not picking on you Coops, you just reminded me of a very popular sentiment and I am curious as to where it comes from.

Also, seems his heart is really with Canada right now. Or at the very least, Canada is the country that is willing to grant him opportunities. Don't think he'll get this one tho'. He's already the interim coach and if they were offering it to him they would come out and say it and not be so cryptic. Anyone knows if he would even be remotely interested in helping T&T football? I know he's been interviewed many times..does he even hint that T&T is an option?

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #35 on: March 23, 2007, 01:04:01 PM »

To answer and remark on some of the comments made:

Stephen Hart has stated publicly that he wants to coach Canada's senior World Cup team.

Canada is Hart's home.  He is a Canadian citizen, has lived here for many years, and raised his family in Canada.  So no, he is not considered one of the 2 foreign applicants. 

And no, I do not think that Hart will get the job.  I simply do not think he has the qualifications, compared to someone like Rene Simoes.  He is a capable coach that has achieved mixed results.  But that does not compare to someone like RS, who took Jamaica to the promised land, and has
coached (with success) at the top professional level (Portuguese First Division).

« Reply #36 on: March 23, 2007, 01:37:15 PM »
when ah man have a job, and a bigger job is offered, he doh just apply for the other job and is given it or takes it, because it means more money.
One has to look at Security, especially where family is involved, ability to achieve results etc..
No sense taking it, and one is not given the right tools, what yuh think go happen, not fire yuh tail, and then yuh have no job...

An interview is a 2 way process, the Employers find out what you can bring to the job, and the Employee find out what they expect, and what tools would be provided, as well as the compensation involved...

At present the CSA is trying to put their house in order and get things organized (doh even talk bout TTFF ). Now any candidate who have a job has a choice, has a choice wheter he could be a part of that process and accomplish the mandate involved, the salary involved, the commute etc..etc or wheter he can't....On the other hand if yuh have no job, then you don't have no choice but to accept whatever is offered....

SH have a job... a good one at that...he know it well and has excelled at it.....if he refuse, maybe he don't need the additional problems or his quality of life might be adversely affected...if his request for the job is refused, yuh really feel he go dig ?

on the TTFF issue, who know the stories really go take that job, unless yuh ready to accept whatever shit is dumped in yuh lap......
However when yuh have no wuk, initially yuh might consider taking anything...sometimes even if is free...hoping Jack decide to pay yuh down the road....yet, some ppl wouldn't even take that

Offline Coach

Canada coach perfect example of thinking foreign is better.
« Reply #37 on: March 23, 2007, 10:12:55 PM »
They appoint SH as interim coach, the man has done a decent job with the team, now they want to bring a coach from outside and pay him 10 times more that what SH is making, but SH has not failed with the National team, so why they don't just let SH stay as the coach.

If SH stays as the coach, you will save a lot of dough, then you can take the extra cash and invest it into the youths.

Canada appointed SH as interim because they think that he can do the job, so far the man has not fail, so why not just let SH stay on as the coach.

It is not easy to find a local coach in a country like Canada that can handle a National team, when you do find someone he must be given the opportunity to fail, this will be rewarding towards the development of the game for all locals who is involve with the game, it will help motivate all local players and coaches.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2007, 10:16:07 PM by Coach »

Re: Canada's coach is Rene Simoes...
« Reply #38 on: March 24, 2007, 04:42:05 AM »
They appoint SH as interim coach, the man has done a decent job with the team, now they want to bring a coach from outside and pay him 10 times more that what SH is making, but SH has not failed with the National team, so why they don't just let SH stay as the coach.

If SH stays as the coach, you will save a lot of dough, then you can take the extra cash and invest it into the youths.

Canada appointed SH as interim because they think that he can do the job, so far the man has not fail, so why not just let SH stay on as the coach.

It is not easy to find a local coach in a country like Canada that can handle a National team, when you do find someone he must be given the opportunity to fail, this will be rewarding towards the development of the game for all locals who is involve with the game, it will help motivate all local players and coaches.
Just playing devil's advocate Coach but it may be more than just SH.

What if they have a history of using locally developed or locally based coaches and have had no success?

What if they have the money to spend and so that is not an issue, do you choose someone with a lot of experience or someone with a lot of potential?

What if they know that they have SH in the fold and they can always go to him but Simoes is a take it or lose it?

« Reply #39 on: March 24, 2007, 05:25:42 AM »
Sorry to see Stephan Hart go as senior head coach, he is a good coach.

Re: Canada coach perfect example of thinking foreign is better.
« Reply #40 on: March 24, 2007, 07:36:34 AM »

SH was appointed as interim coach as to take charge until  Canadian federation found /appointed a full time coach ....

« Reply #41 on: March 24, 2007, 12:37:52 PM »
Are we letting SH's realtionship with TT affect our feeling toward his coaching ability or is he really as ggod a coach as some profess?

I have not been following Canada's football. Can someone please list his accomplishments.
« Last Edit: March 24, 2007, 12:40:46 PM by rippin »

Offline Coach

Canada coach perfect example of thinking foreign is better.
« Reply #42 on: March 24, 2007, 05:25:37 PM »

It is not easy to find a local coach in a country like Canada that can handle a National team, when you do find someone he must be given the opportunity to fail, this will be rewarding towards the development of the game for all locals who is involve with the game, it will help motivate all local players and coaches

« Reply #43 on: March 24, 2007, 07:05:33 PM »

It is not easy to find a local coach in a country like Canada that can handle a National team, when you do find someone he must be given the opportunity to fail, this will be rewarding towards the development of the game for all locals who is involve with the game, it will help motivate all local players and coaches

You are getting way too emotional here. Stephen Hart was serving as Interim coach of Canada, he was never oficially appointed full time head coach. Besides, Rene Simoes might very well be a better candidate for the job.  I doubt you would even give Hart the Nod over Rijzbergen for the T&T job.

Offline Coach

« Reply #44 on: March 24, 2007, 08:56:58 PM »
Yes he was appointed interim, but he is a coach who was given the opportunity to coach the senior team, with no previous experience at this level, the man has step up and so far has done a decent job. Who its to say that SH would not do better with the team.

I know, lets see, he comes from a country which is not a power house, so he will not be a able to be successful at this level.

You don't make decisions on assumtions.

« Last Edit: March 24, 2007, 09:24:52 PM by Coach »

« Reply #45 on: March 24, 2007, 11:10:03 PM »
Yes he was appointed interim, but he is a coach who was given the opportunity to coach the senior team, with no previous experience at this level, the man has step up and so far has done a decent job. Who its to say that SH would not do better with the team.

I know, lets see, he comes from a country which is not a power house, so he will not be a able to be successful at this level.

You don't make decisions on assumtions.

I get the feeling you are basing your opinion on a lot of assumptions

What is your definition of Stephen Hart doing a decent job? Why assume that the Canadian FA thinks he did a decent job? Maybe during the interview process it became clear that SH didn't want the job as much as some of the other candidates and that he was very happy developing Canadian youth football. Maybe they are looking for someone with WC experience. It's a job..and like any oher job, sometimes you need a certain amount of experience to get it. Does that mean SH is not the best man for the job? Not necessarily...but he wasn't quite what they were looking for. Of course some assumptions have to be made in these decisions...No matter how experienced and successful a coach is, you never really know if he will do a great job for you. But sometimes it is worth the gamble. Canada is taking a gamble on a coach that has already taken an underdog to the WC...Just like Poland is taking a gamble on Beenhaker for the exact same reason, Portugal took a gamble on Scolari..etc. Now perhaps you are right..maybe they do think foreign is better. Or maybe the coach with the most experince and the best success rate just happened to be foreign. Frankly, I believe if SH was not born and raised in T&T...we wouldn't even care. We would only be studying how they got a decent Brazilian coach...(or maybe that was too much of an assumption on my part  ;))

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
« Reply #46 on: March 25, 2007, 08:45:05 AM »
jamaica and canada invest they money and will reap benefits only trinidad want a free ride to the top
football in meh veins football in meh blood

Offline Coach

« Reply #47 on: June 12, 2007, 05:40:06 AM »

Offline Coach

« Reply #48 on: June 12, 2007, 05:59:39 AM »
They give the job to a local guy, SH should have been the choice.

Those who know SH will tell you that the man grew playing with some of the best local T&T football players, and when he played in that era, the man was a very good play maker and you know those kind of players usually turn out to be good coaches.

I still think that our local fooball administration should try an get SH on board. Don't tell me that I am only saying this now because of his performance at Gold Cup, read the post from March, SH was not able to work with this team much and look at his performance.

« Reply #49 on: June 12, 2007, 06:08:47 AM »

It could only happen to ah trini,short & sweet.............