June 15, 2024, 04:42:44 PM

Author Topic: Chris Birchall fancies a recall.  (Read 7834 times)

Chris Birchall fancies a recall.
« on: February 18, 2008, 04:57:55 AM »
Chris Birchall fancies a recall.

Coventry City midfielder Chris Birchall is refusing to take his sights off a recall to the Trinidad and Tobago  National Senior Team as it continues preparations for the start of its 2010 World Cup qualification drive in June.

Birchall, back from a hamstring injury, made a 75th minute appearance but with his team down to ten men and already trailing 3-0, there was little the 2006 World Cup team player could do to prevent the 5-0 whipping from West Brom before 28,163 fans on Saturday.

Birchall’s return to action will come as welcome news for T&T head coach Francisco Maturana who begins training with a newly selected squad this morning at the Ato Boldon Stadium and has indicated his willingness to have some of the old names in his preparations.

Midfielder Aurtis Whitley has been recalled and a call up for defender Cyd Gray is on the cards and Marvin Andrews (who contrary to other reports, never announced his retirement from international football) is also being looked at.

Maturana also inquired about Birchall soon after he joined the staff in Puerto Rico but at the time the player was nursing a hamstring problem. Birchall definitely wants to be involved.

“It’s good to be back playing but I don’t want to be left disappointed for not making the Trinidad team again. I will work for that recall and hopefully by keeping injury free and getting good minutes at Coventry will help me,” Birchall told TTFF Media.

“I don’t think I have to prove myself to be considered. Trinidad knows what I can do and they know I always give it my best once I’m representing the country that carried me to a World Cup. The important thing for me now is to keep playing and hopefully I can get that recall. I am one hundred percent dedicated,” Birchall added.

“The last couple months have been tough for me because in Scotland I felt I had achieved what I wanted to in terms of fitness and playing time at St Mirren but then the injury messed things up. But now I’m getting back to where I want to be and I’m feeling better,” the ex-Port Vale winger said.
« Last Edit: February 18, 2008, 05:33:24 AM by Flex »

Re: Chris Birchall fancies a recall.
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2008, 05:02:16 AM »
"Maturana also inquired about Birchall soon after he joined the staff in Puerto Rico but at the time the player was nursing a hamstring problem............ But now I’m getting back to where I want to be and I’m feeling better.”
Good to hear this news "Me Mum"
and from listening to some on here, that Maturana would not be interested.
is papa and baby Corneal we have to worries bout :(
« Last Edit: February 18, 2008, 08:39:28 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2008, 05:59:32 AM »
Go Me Mum....Go...

« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2008, 07:20:58 AM »
nice.. all we need is Avery and Sancho and we have back a great defense..  I wish Lawrence could get a call up as well..

btw any news on how Lawrence scan went?

« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2008, 08:35:37 AM »
Sorry Chris.  As long as papa Corneal callin de shots, you eh gettin call up to no T&T national football team.

Concentrate on yuh club career and savor all dem memories.  Doh waste yuh time hopin fuh any recall.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2008, 08:54:33 AM »
nice.. all we need is Avery and Sancho and we have back a great defense..  I wish Lawrence could get a call up as well..

Send fi more Brits! Send fi more Brits!  :rotfl: :rotfl:
jjbrown

« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2008, 10:27:39 AM »

Oh please....ssstteeeuuppss!!!... ::)

« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2008, 11:06:36 AM »

Beforewriting yuh shite check yuh facts. Birchall is a trini by birth.

« Reply #8 on: February 18, 2008, 11:09:56 AM »
tell dem pass(10trini)  ;D

yeah, in little TrinBago in Strattford, Eng   ;)
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #9 on: February 18, 2008, 12:08:05 PM »

:rotfl: nah breds, chris born stafford england  ;D he mother born home, small ting, thats only one of we players, at least we not callin back 10 of dem from england.. :devil:

God is de BOSS...

« Reply #10 on: February 18, 2008, 12:23:28 PM »
So wait if my kid turn pro ,and I want him play for trini ,2099 go be talking trash ,but aa .Cause chris said ,he grew up with he moms ,talking non stop about trini ,and she always wanted him to play for us .So he let ppl know his mom was trini .
Is not like we have hundreds of britz ,lining up to don the red white and black .

Offline TRUwarrior

« Reply #11 on: February 18, 2008, 02:41:31 PM »
i fancy a $1,000,000 but.... :rotfl:

« Reply #12 on: February 18, 2008, 03:04:52 PM »

Wrong...yuh musse mean Trini by boat.

As much as Jamaica2099 is a troll, turn-about is fair play.

leroy

« Reply #13 on: February 18, 2008, 03:14:41 PM »

« Reply #14 on: February 18, 2008, 03:17:29 PM »

Wrong...yuh musse mean Trini by boat.

As much as Jamaica2099 is a troll, turn-about is fair play.
Sorry life not fair ,so screw them .Cause we doh go on them board and harass them ,all ah them is c**ts .

« Reply #15 on: February 18, 2008, 04:19:36 PM »
Go Chris Go!!!

« Reply #16 on: February 18, 2008, 04:39:52 PM »
Last night I was watching the first round game against Bahrain in T&T.....no one really give Birchall props for keeping we in the race for WC. That was a cracker of a volley.  :applause:

« Reply #17 on: February 18, 2008, 05:15:51 PM »
Stop letting dis black green and gold asshole hijack the people thread and focus on the essential.

All of those who were doubting Me Mum's commitment, look at it staring you in your face. Now all we need is somebody to speak to Maturana AND/OR knock out Corneal...

ps: speak for yourself on that one elan.

It had two men on dat team back then who wasn't afraid to shoot. Me Mum and Whitley, and Whitley use to show up to play when he feel like it. When you in a tight tense game like that one was, long range is always the answer, and after the Honduras match, Birchall was always the full stop.

Nuff respect to Me Mum. Good luck with getting some sweat with the sky blues under the new coach
« Last Edit: February 18, 2008, 05:59:31 PM by Midknight »

« Reply #18 on: February 18, 2008, 05:48:51 PM »
The man still want to play for T&T after Jack shit we up. Its great to hear of his unfailing commitment to our football.   

« Reply #19 on: February 18, 2008, 06:19:58 PM »
LIVE IN HOPE ME MUM LIVE IN HOPE

« Reply #20 on: February 18, 2008, 07:27:53 PM »
Did someone say

TRINI TO THE BONE

Respect due to Chris,keep your head up,you have more fan than can be imagined
All the while the Special Adviser,trying to squeeze grown man and hold them to ransom,all because he wants to hold on to thirty pieces of dirty Babylon silver

Spank Jack.......Jah before its to late. we want our football back

Jah please remedy jack speech impediment and just maybe he would not be so dam badmind

« Reply #21 on: February 18, 2008, 08:37:32 PM »
ask dem Yardies cacahole and dem if them Britz does give interviews ???

« Reply #22 on: February 18, 2008, 09:33:11 PM »

Don't be an .....  with the exception of irchall, these are all born and bred, trained and grown in Trinidad and Tobago.  Almost all of their parents abrothers and sisters still live in TT.   They have Trinidad wives and none have British accents.  So don't try that bit of mess.

« Reply #23 on: February 18, 2008, 09:42:19 PM »
No doubt he can't be ignored too much longer.

« Reply #24 on: February 18, 2008, 09:43:15 PM »
Y all yuh bottering with dat yard fowl who keep jumpin in oui buziness