May 28, 2024, 09:06:26 PM

Author Topic: Philippine surgeons cheer after removing object from patient's rectum  (Read 2122 times)

YouTube surgery video spells trouble for docs
Philippine surgeons cheer after removing object from patient's rectum

updated 9:38 a.m. ET, Wed., April. 16, 2008
MANILA, Philippines - A video posted on YouTube showing Philippine doctors laughing while removing an object from a patient may lead to charges against the surgeons and cost them their medical licenses, officials said Wednesday.

The unauthorized nearly 3-minute video of a noisy operating room shows doctors and nurses laughing, giggling and cheering.

At one point, a hand appears with a cell phone camera taking a close-up picture of the surgery.

As a doctor gingerly pulls out the 6-inch long canister from the male patient's rectum, someone shouts, "Baby out!" amid loud cheers.

The doctor then removes the canister cap and sprays the contents toward the crowd of nurses and doctors viewing the procedure.

It remains unclear who shot the video and who posted it on YouTube, but the person who posted it removed it from the Web site Wednesday.

The video has angered the unidentified patient who plans to press charges, his lawyer Guiller Ceniza said Wednesday.

The government-run Vicente Sotto Memorial Medical Center in the central city of Cebu, where the surgery took place, is conducting an investigation, a spokesman said Wednesday.

Dr. Emmanuel Gines said more than 10 people were involved — including staff and medical and nursing students from a nearby operating room.

He said the hospital takes videos of surgeries of peculiar cases, but only with the consent of the patient.

Investigation possible
Dr. Jose Sabili, president of the Philippine Medical Association, told The Associated Press on Wednesday the group will conduct an investigation if a formal complaint is filed and doctors found violating medical ethics could be suspended or expelled from the association, which would result in the suspension or termination of their state health insurance accreditation.

The results of the investigation could also be used by the Professional Regulations Commission to suspend or revoke their licenses, Sabili said.

"I believe what they did was very blatant," he said.

Health Undersecretary Alexander Padilla said the Health Department will conduct a separate investigation.

The 39-year-old patient received surgery on Jan. 3, three days after a New Year's drinking spree and a "one-night stand" with a male partner, Ceniza, the lawyer, told the AP.

He said his client was too drunk to remember how the body spray canister ended up in his body.

Ceniza said the man was determined to file charges but will wait for the results of the hospital's investigation, expected later in the week.

Re: Philippine surgeons cheer after removing object from patient's rectum
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2008, 03:04:46 PM »
de man just wanted he farts to smell like right guard

« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2008, 03:18:56 PM »

Nah, maybe it was secret and not right guard ... Strong enough for a man. But made for a woman.

« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2008, 03:21:16 PM »

Every time he raise he ass he wanted to be Sure...

....or maybe it was ah new brand of Odorhomo

« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2008, 03:34:24 PM »

what de ass?

« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2008, 03:46:54 PM »
dey did send ah gerbil up dey first...the gerbil name was Phil

last name Mc Craken

Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2008, 04:09:19 PM »
de male lover says
doh "axe" me anyting
I just want to give you de "speed stick"
and he answered, I dont give a "f**k", just be a "Brut" wid me today
« Last Edit: April 16, 2008, 04:18:02 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2008, 04:59:11 PM »
de male lover says
doh "axe" me anyting

:applause:

« Reply #10 on: April 16, 2008, 05:13:37 PM »
de male lover says
doh "axe" me anyting

I eh know Dutty .. but de hole ting smelling funny.  It begs de question: "what do you think of the rectum as a whole?"

« Reply #11 on: April 16, 2008, 07:34:27 PM »
de male lover says
doh "axe" me anyting

I eh know Dutty .. but de hole ting smelling funny.  It begs de question: "what do you think of the rectum as a whole?"
rectum?
gosh darn nearly killedum
« Last Edit: April 16, 2008, 07:53:22 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #12 on: April 16, 2008, 08:27:28 PM »
Reminds me of a joke I heard long ago

Two doctors opened an office in a small town and put up a sign reading: "Dr. Smith and Dr. Jones, "Hysterias and Posteriors."

The town council was not happy with the sign, so the doctors changed it to read, "Schizoids and Hemorrhoids."

This was not acceptable either, so in an effort to satisfy the council, they changed the sign to "Catatonics and High Colonics."

No go. Next, they tried "Manic Depressives and Anal Retentives."

Thumbs down again. Then came "Minds and Behinds."

Still no good. Another attempt resulted in "Lost Souls and Butt Holes."

Unacceptable again. So they tried "Analysis and Anal Cysts."

No way. ; "Nuts and Butts?"

No way. "Freaks and Cheeks?"

Still no go. "Loons and Moons?"

Forget it. Almost at their wit's end, the doctors finally came up with: "Dr. Smith and Dr. Jones, Odds and Ends."

The town loved it.

« Reply #13 on: April 16, 2008, 09:15:56 PM »
instead ah pullin it out they shoulda sew up he asshole.

« Reply #14 on: April 17, 2008, 09:21:54 AM »
He vex because they laugh at him for pushing a can of spray whatever up his backside. And after they save his nasty ass life too .Some people just worthless to society. He lucky he eh Jamaican.

« Reply #15 on: April 17, 2008, 11:45:05 AM »
He vex because they laugh at him for pushing a can of spray whatever up his backside. And after they save his nasty ass life too .Some people just worthless to society. He lucky he eh Jamaican.

de man wanted a sweet smelling bamsee and yuh calling de man nasty...lol

On ah serious note, de doctors and dem mad no arse.  tuh put dat about on de net...dey full ah shit, ah mean why play de backside like dat?

« Reply #16 on: April 17, 2008, 01:49:54 PM »

de man wanted a sweet smelling bamsee and yuh calling de man nasty...lol

On ah serious note, de doctors and dem mad no arse.  tuh put dat about on de net...dey full ah shit, ah mean why play de backside like dat?

I doubt they would put that on the net. Probably some jackass with a vindictive nature and nothiong to lose put it up there. Yeah they should have thought about what the consequences of their actions. But this thing is such a regular occurence now doctors and nurses are beginning to treat it like a damn joke.

Whoever put that on youtube should be sued. If it was indeed a health professional then they too should be fired.
But what doctor or nurse so f*cking stupid as to post this to have some sick little twit make them loose their job.