June 01, 2024, 09:10:43 AM

Author Topic: Suggestion ... T&T needs excuses for other international tournaments  (Read 1846 times)

The just concluded Spain vs Germany game in Austria had me thinking.  :thinking:

Say for example, leh we jess invent an 8 country tourney every year or every 2 years of the good, but less elite Concacaf teams (minus USA, Mexico ad Costa Rica) on the premise that we will each reap benefits, and time it to have our teams better ready for Gold Cup and World Cup. We could maybe alternate venues from Caribbean locations to Central American locations for each tournament.

Include 4 from the caribbean:        T&T, Jamaica, Cuba and Haiti
Include 4 from Central America:      Panama, El Salvador, Honduras and Guatemala

Panama and El Salvador for example I am sure are tired of being ignored internationally and not making it big and will not feel they are too uppity to diss the caribbean teams that they realize have caught up with them anyway.

Let Jackula volunteer to host de first game  ;D
Hunt can offer the stadia at a fairly cheap price and offer to co-organize with TTFF with the financial books accessible to BOTH. TV rights to be shared by BOTH. Benefits and returns to be shared among development programs, player performance  fees, FPATT and TTFF budget needs. Budget to be presented for ALL to see.

Wha allyuh say? Everybody go be happy? We could play more of the local palyers with less at stake, at least at the beginning if it falls outside the FIFA calendar.
« Last Edit: June 30, 2008, 04:37:10 AM by dreamer »

Re: Suggestion ... T&T needs excuses for other international tournaments
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2008, 11:04:41 PM »
Digicel might be willing to fund this.
Not a bad idea.

« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2008, 05:39:49 AM »
Great idea mate!but does anyone listen to good ideas these days.

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2008, 05:59:55 AM »
Good idea, Dreamer.

But why isn't Costa Rica included? They would make it quite interesting.

A rotating yearly tournament will be lovely, specially for football fans.
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2008, 09:06:27 AM »
        Are we trying to create a tournament that T&T sure they going to win or do we want a tournament that gives us some kind of status when we win?what kind of crowd a tournament with countries like these attracting,if you want to have any decent tournament in this region you can't leave out the top teams,is this just for bragging rights to say T&T is the best?if we have to be the best lets play the best only then we can know who is the best.

« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2008, 10:30:43 AM »
I kinda agree with coops.  we already have digicel and gold cup, we should be getting more out of those tournaments (instead of just expecting to play 3 games and out).  one more suggestion would be if we could get into lining ourselves up to invite teams who preparing for copa america to t'dad or vice versa  cuz they looking for warmups...even 2nd string teams who looking to gel...and that tournament that wim take the boys to in central america to play friendlies after digicel.  the one with the famous wim video.  I sure we could lobby to actually be IN that tournament.  I think that right up our alley.

« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2008, 11:33:26 AM »
Don't forget they ran a 4 team tournament last year: Digicel Shield which included T&T, Haiti, Cuba, and Mexico U-23.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=27659

They could run that again, expanding it to a few more teams. But might as well get the most from existing tournaments as well.

« Reply #7 on: June 30, 2008, 03:14:45 PM »
Any opportunity 2 c d team in action will b nice. Dat 4 team competition was not bad at all. I mean we end up wit d Mexico under 23 but dat is d TTFF dat is 2 b expoected

« Reply #8 on: June 30, 2008, 05:50:31 PM »
        Are we trying to create a tournament that T&T sure they going to win or do we want a tournament that gives us some kind of status when we win?what kind of crowd a tournament with countries like these attracting,if you want to have any decent tournament in this region you can't leave out the top teams,is this just for bragging rights to say T&T is the best?if we have to be the best lets play the best only then we can know who is the best.

Not bad, but the fact of the matter is whatever is done cannot be seen as competing with either the Gold Cup or the Caribbean Cup.

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #9 on: June 30, 2008, 06:13:16 PM »
Bring back the continental cup and start with those 12 teams: TnT, Jam, Cub, Hai, Can, USA, Mex, C-R, Hon, Gua, ES, Pan.
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.