June 11, 2024, 11:01:22 PM

Author Topic: Fireman and daughters evicted  (Read 1566 times)

Fireman and daughters evicted
« on: March 06, 2009, 07:01:02 PM »
Fireman and daughters evicted
By STACY MOORE Friday, March 6 2009

click on pic to zoom inEVICTED: Fire Sub-Station Officer (FSSO) Ronald Mason, right, and his daughter, Ria Mason, sit outside their home at Annabelle Street, Point Lisas, C...A SENIOR Fire officer who claimed to be paying his monthly rental at an HDC apartment in Couva for the past 24 years, was evicted yesterday.

Now, Fire officer Sgt Roland Mason and his three daughters say they have nowhere to go.

All their belongings, except for his six Fire Service uniforms, were placed on the roadside at Anabelle Street, exposed to the elements.

According to neighbours, workers reportedly attached to the Housing Development Corporation (HDC) were accompanied by uniformed police officers. The officer also claimed that six of his uniforms including his serge and denim pants, 2 shirts and one pair of boots were bagged and taken away by the eviction team.

Mason, 51, currently works at the Savonetta Fire Station.

As he sat on the ground next to his belongings Mason cried: “How could they do this to me and my family. What did we do to deserve this. I have been living here for the past 24 years , paying my rent every month and to be thrown out.” the officer said emotionally.

Mason told Newsday that he could not begin to explain the embarrassment and frustration he felt.”You know what it is not to be home and get a phone call from your neighbours that people putting out everything out of your house.” he said.

The fire officer said when he arrived at home he saw his beds, stove, couch set, refrigerator and clothes outside his apartment in the rain. But Mason said that everything else except his uniforms were placed outside in the rain. “They even bagged some small items but they left my bed, stove, couch in the rain.” he added.

Mason said he went to the Couva (HDC) and was told they were not aware of what had happened. “They said that they did not know who the men were. And Couva police station did not know who the officers were either.” he contended.

Mason recalled receiving an eviction notice two weeks ago and sought clarification, but was told that he was an illegal tenant. “For the past 24 years they take money out of my salary and now I am an illegal tenant.” he said.

When contacted HDC communications specialist, Annabelle Brasnell, advised that Mason visit the HDC’s rental department with his supporting documents so that the matter could be investigated.

This iz fakupness in every way i know this brother and he doh mix matters .

Re: Fireman and daughters evicted
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2009, 07:11:00 PM »
just so
nah man
hope he can get things worked out soon
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2009, 07:12:04 PM »
that is real stress.

« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2009, 07:20:13 PM »
Knowing this brother he not going to take it like that ,paying for his house for the past 24 yrs and know this ah hope he make HDC pay for they mixup .

« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2009, 07:21:33 PM »
Knowing this brother he not going to take it like that ,paying for his house for the past 24 yrs and know this ah hope he make HDC pay for they mixup .
so Zulu, they will let him move back in for now then??
or else he fartin stars to find a place for all his stuff
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2009, 07:27:53 PM »
Mason said he went to the Couva (HDC) and was told they were not aware of what had happened. “They said that they did not know who the men were. And Couva police station did not know who the officers were either.” he contended.

Mason recalled receiving an eviction notice two weeks ago and sought clarification, but was told that he was an illegal tenant. “For the past 24 years they take money out of my salary and now I am an illegal tenant.” he said.

this is what i trying to understand how can they be taking the man money and then send him a letter saying that he is a squatter .

« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2009, 07:53:28 PM »
This story eh making any sense.....unless there is some mix up between NHA and its newer version HDC and proper records were not kept, a mortgagor would not throw you out on the street just so....this action is usually a last resort after all else fails.......

« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2009, 10:17:56 PM »
Erica wants to move
Saturday, March 7 2009

ERICA John wants the Housing Development Cor-poration to relocate her from the ground floor apartment she occupies at Building 1, Trou Macaque, Laventille, because of broken window panes which are not being repaired.

John said she lives in fear, especially since she lives in an area considered dangerous.

She said the windows to her bedroom, living room and toilet were broken on July 3, last year, and no one from the HDC has contacted her, although she has made several reports to the corporation’s rental department.

Even the wire meshing at the kitchen window has ripped apart and in order to keep her apartment secure, John has to prop chairs against the curtains so that no one can come in.

She said she would prefer to be relocated because of the area she lives in.

John said she has already fallen victim to thieves.

She also said the back door of the apartment was rotted and she has also made a complaint about it.

“I made a report about the door that is rotting and they said they don’t have any doors in stock. I pray a lot and I know I have God by my side and that’s what has me standing strong. I would like the HDC to relocate me because my grandchildren and friends don’t visit me with all the incidents taking place in the area.”

John said she has been a tenant at the apartment for the past 39 years, mainly because she can easily access the city. She was quick to add that she is up to date with her rent.

John said, “There are 16 apartments in the four storey building and two others have also been broken into.

“I really would like the HDC to do something about this problem,” she added.

Newsday spoke to Annabelle Brasnell, director of corporate communications at the Ministry of Planning, Housing, and the Environment who said the matter will be investigated and John will be contacted.

« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2009, 07:58:54 AM »
Firemen is real heroes dread.......

I hope they cud sort out the man business fast yes

« Reply #9 on: March 07, 2009, 12:00:41 PM »
Firemen is real heroes dread.......

I hope they cud sort out the man business fast yes
only in usa them boy is hero,in trini them eh give afuk about anyting other than carneeval.