October 31, 2024, 05:09:19 PM

Author Topic: U-17 footballers unaffected by swine flu  (Read 2151 times)

U-17 footballers unaffected by swine flu
« on: April 25, 2009, 08:50:31 PM »
U-17 footballers unaffected by swine flu
By Ian Prescott and Aabida Allaham (T&T Express)

Trinidad and Tobago's National Under-17 footballers are safe and unaffected by the swine flu break-out sweeping Mexico and parts of the United States. The footballers are in Tijuana, in Northern Mexico, involved in the CONCACAF Under-17 Championships.

In a telephone interview, National Under-17 assistant coach Michael McComie said that swine flu does not appear to have affected the Tijuana region of Mexico where the tournament is being played. McComie said that the team was safe, except for a bout of "normal" flu.

"We heard of it (swine flu break-out). But we are not affected, and as far as we know, neither are any of the teams competing in this tournament," McComie said. "Just about three players and myself had a bit of the 'ordinary' flu symptoms. As a result, Luke (Hernandez) was not able to play last night against Costa Rica. But we have a doctor (Dr Mario John) here with us and he was able to take care of us all."

McComie also reported that large crowds have turned out to the matches, a far cry from Mexico City where it is reported that football matches have had to be postponed for fear of spreading the disease.

Locally, medical teams to screen visitors coming into Trinidad and Tobago have been set up at Piarco and Crowne Point airports and at the ports in Port of Spain, Chaguaramas and Scarborough, following the World Health Oganisation's warning that an outbreak of swine flu in Mexico has "pandemic potential".

Ministry of Health communications director Theomary Karamanis and County Medical Officer in Tobago Mentor Melville both confirmed yesterday that the medical-screening teams were put in place at the ports of entry.

But president of the Trinidad and Tobago Medical Association Dr Solaiman Juman is calling on the Health Ministry to do more than just surveillance.

He said the Under-17 football team, currently in Mexico, needs to be carefully watched, and people here need to be educated on what they can do to prevent contraction of the deadly flu-like virus.

"This whole thing is like a slow-moving hurricane. It started out with the SARS virus, then the bird flu, however, they managed to control that. But until they identify what is the true genetic make-up of this virus, people need to be careful.

"Wash their hands regularly and be careful around people who are sneezing and coughing," he insisted.

Associated Press reports yesterday gave the number of deaths in Mexico City, the area that seems most badly affected as of yesterday, as 68 while hundreds more are sick. Officials in the United States have confirmed that at least ten people have been infected.

Re: U-17 footballers unaffected by swine flu
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2009, 08:56:02 PM »
4get dem in Mexico oui and d flu story

« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2009, 09:06:39 PM »
"We heard of it (swine flu break-out). But we are not affected, and as far as we know, neither are any of the teams competing in this tournament," McComie said. "Just about three players and myself had a bit of the 'ordinary' flu symptoms. As a result, Luke (Hernandez) was not able to play last night against Costa Rica. But we have a doctor (Dr Mario John) here with us and he was able to take care of us all."

:-\

Jus asking....how de swine flu symptoms different from normal flu? When yuh sneeze yuh more likely to snort? Cuz from wha i hear...it passing from human to human. Even though thankfully it not in that region....in dis day and age anything could happen.

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2009, 07:24:55 AM »
they are safe from the swine flu, can't say the same for the ttff infection.

« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2009, 07:31:30 AM »
good to hear

no tablet fa dat ???
« Last Edit: April 26, 2009, 07:33:04 AM by Werklmann »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2009, 07:55:14 AM »
good to hear

no tablet fa dat ???

TTFF is 2 football as  is Kryptonite is 2 Superman

« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2009, 08:02:30 AM »
good to hear

no tablet fa dat ???

what has always amazed me is that AJW has the smarts to move up and command respect within FIFA, yet he cant transfer some of those smarts over to running a football federation's team
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2009, 08:04:42 AM »
good to hear

no tablet fa dat ???

Is what he transfer how 2 b more corrupt
what has always amazed me is that AJW has the smarts to move up and command respect within FIFA, yet he cant transfer some of those smarts over to running a football federation's team

« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2009, 08:09:03 AM »

:-\

Jus asking....how de swine flu symptoms different from normal flu? When yuh sneeze yuh more likely to snort? Cuz from wha i hear...it passing from human to human. Even though thankfully it not in that region....in dis day and age anything could happen.

Swine influenza

« Reply #9 on: April 26, 2009, 08:40:38 AM »
I completely forgot the U-17's are still in Mexico!!....in my mind dey done reach back home already.... :devil:
I hope dey play today and den get out fast, fast.....

« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2009, 09:42:51 AM »
I completely forgot the U-17's are still in Mexico!!....in my mind dey done reach back home already.... :devil:
I hope dey play today and den get out fast, fast.....

Cosign