June 09, 2024, 05:05:14 AM

Author Topic: Komodo dragons maul fruit-picker to death  (Read 3073 times)

Komodo dragons maul fruit-picker to death
« on: March 24, 2009, 07:31:56 AM »
2 Komodo dragons maul fruit-picker to death
Indonesian set upon after falling from tree; attacks have increased lately
JAKARTA, Indonesia - Two Komodo dragons mauled a fruit-picker to death in eastern Indonesia, police and witnesses said Tuesday, the latest in a string of attacks on humans by the world's largest lizard species.

Police Sgt. Kosmas Jalang said 31-year-old Muhamad Anwar was attacked on Komodo, one of four islands where the giant reptile is found in the wild, minutes after he fell out of a sugar-apple tree on Monday.

He was bleeding badly from bites to his hands, body, legs and neck after two lizards, waiting below, attacked him, according to a neighbor, Theresia Tawa. He died at a clinic on the neighboring island of Flores soon after.

Attacks have increased
Attacks on humans by Komodo dragons — said to number at less than 4,000 in the wild — are rare, but seem to have increased in recent years.

An 8-year-old boy was killed in 2007 — the first recorded deadly attack on a human by one of the endangered lizards in three decades. A park ranger narrowly survived after one of the animals entered his hut last month and started biting his hands and legs.

There have been several other attacks in recent months, according to Metro TV.

The reptiles, which can grow up to 10 feet long and weigh as much as 150 pounds, have shark-like serrated teeth and a bite that can be deadly. Its saliva contains roughly 50 different known bacteria strains, so infection is a risk.

Komodos can be found in the wild on the Indonesian islands of Komodo, Padar and Rinca. Tiny numbers also can be found on Flores.

Re: Komodo dragons maul fruit-picker to death
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2009, 07:32:24 AM »
over grown iguana,they should start eatin them.

« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2009, 08:04:16 AM »

u want to tackle them beast  :-[

« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2009, 08:11:54 AM »

u want to tackle them beast  :-[
shoot them first   :D

« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2009, 08:41:49 AM »

boss dem ting spit could f**k u up, u do tink it have odder part dat could do it too

« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2009, 10:48:01 AM »
Imagine trying to kill dat   :o

« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2009, 11:15:05 AM »
wow, that is some serious isht.   and just today one of my students was telling me how a husky bite him this weekend on his legs... he ent rile it up , he say he ws just standing there.   he say the SAME dog bite him on his butt three years ago :o      fortunately the family getting rid of it this week.   the only reason i feel his parents ent sue is cause the ppl are friends.

« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2009, 11:33:57 AM »
remember ah time 2 ah dem ting take ah turn in Steve Irwin ass..

had him cowering up in ah tree.

« Reply #8 on: March 24, 2009, 11:53:05 AM »

One nick from its lethal jaw and the bacteria in it's saliva, poisons your blood. They are also voracious eaters.... you don't stand a chance against a group of them.

I would be the first man in that tree.

« Reply #9 on: March 24, 2009, 12:09:09 PM »

One nick from its lethal jaw and the bacteria in it's saliva, poisons your blood. They are also voracious eaters.... you don't stand a chance against a group of them.

How fast they is?

Yuh ent feel yuh could take dem in ah steel toe boots?

« Reply #10 on: March 24, 2009, 12:38:00 PM »

How fast they is?

hahaha u want to dead today  :devil:

« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2009, 12:48:15 PM »

How fast they is?

Fooled by Nature - Komodo Dragon Teeth

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/W_xvByX2bkc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/W_xvByX2bkc</a>
« Last Edit: March 24, 2009, 12:50:59 PM by Die.Hard.Warrior »

« Reply #12 on: March 24, 2009, 01:10:16 PM »

How fast they is?

hahaha u want to dead today  :devil:

two boots to face man and den some heavy stamp lol

« Reply #13 on: March 24, 2009, 02:19:26 PM »

and

Offline Bamboo Prince

« Reply #14 on: March 25, 2009, 01:23:26 PM »

dread, when dey go introduce dat in trinidad boy? dem schupid dog an dem ah have dey lapsin, dey lettin one set a piper clean out all de lil julie an lime ah have dey year in, year out.

once he get he shots, he should be good to go, right?  8)

« Reply #15 on: March 25, 2009, 02:12:33 PM »
I real respect them things boy. Big, strong powerful and poisonous too.

How fast they is?

I don't know how fast they are but gators are only about 10 mph over short distances. The komodo should be a better runner over longer distances. The problem with gators is that they does hit top speed almost instantaneously so once yuh withing lunging distance yuh have no chance to turn and dust it.

If yuh fit and have a good headstart yuh should be able to run far enough that a gator gets fed-up.

I just read a site that put the speed at 15 mph. At that speed yuh ave to be a pro runner to have a decent chance.

The scary thing about that story is that they waiting there for the man to come down. they clearly mark him as prey. Normally yuh does hear that if yuh don't trouble them thing yuh alright.

« Reply #16 on: March 25, 2009, 03:13:23 PM »
I always thought those lizards were peaceful- damn...what a terrible way to go. 

« Reply #17 on: March 25, 2009, 04:05:17 PM »
Kicker and JDB like allyuh never see dem thing in action before or what, lol.  Not only are they deceptively fast... but yeah Kicker... anything but peaceful.  In fact they are very stealthy hunters... and they move in packs, though not sure if they are as intelligent organized as typical packs.

« Reply #18 on: March 25, 2009, 06:49:20 PM »
watch it eat ah pig...dem thing like snake with legs

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/yrx-ohT9r1s" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/yrx-ohT9r1s</a>

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #19 on: March 25, 2009, 08:52:44 PM »
The Komodo dragon prefers hot and dry places, and typically lives in dry open grassland, savanna, and tropical forest at low elevations. As an ectotherm, it is most active in the day, although it exhibits some nocturnal activity. Komodo dragons are largely solitary, coming together only to breed and eat. They are capable of running rapidly in brief sprints up to 20 kilometres per hour (12.4 mph), diving up to 4.5 metres (15 ft), and climbing trees proficiently when young through use of their strong claws. To catch prey that is out of reach, the Komodo dragon may stand on its hind legs and use its tail as a support. As the Komodo dragon matures, its claws are used primarily as weapons, as its great size makes climbing impractical.

So if they young enough they coming after you on the tree. If you head for the water, they coming after you because they could dive. And if you try to run, they right there behind you.
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

« Reply #20 on: March 25, 2009, 09:25:07 PM »
... but yeah Kicker... anything but peaceful. 

Yeah boy....clearly not LOL...damn!!

« Reply #21 on: May 07, 2009, 04:34:59 PM »

dread, when dey go introduce dat in trinidad boy? dem schupid dog an dem ah have dey lapsin, dey lettin one set a piper clean out all de lil julie an lime ah have dey year in, year out.
once he get he shots, he should be good to go, right?  8)

« Reply #22 on: May 07, 2009, 04:39:34 PM »
like ah hadda walk with meh lightsaber when ah go Indonesia on vacation boy.lol.