June 03, 2024, 08:21:50 PM

Author Topic: Rip Mighty Conqueror  (Read 1515 times)

Rip Mighty Conqueror
« on: January 28, 2011, 10:12:06 AM »
I was hearing the mighty Conqueror was hit by a car last night near the Review Tent  from what they are saying he is dead  RIP breds.

Re: Rip Mighty Conqueror
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2011, 11:19:27 AM »
trini drivers are insane .

Veteran calypsonian killed
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2011, 12:24:01 PM »
Veteran calypsonian killed
CMC

Veteran calypsonian, Mighty Conqueror (Leroy Paul) was killed last  night, a few yards away from the calypso tent he was due to appear in as part of the 2011 calypso season which opens here on Friday.

Paul, 71, was hit by a car as he tried to cross the highway near the Calypso Revue Tent that features popular calypsonians such as Sugar Aloes, (Michael Osuna) and Crazy (Edwin Ayoung) Might Chalkdust (Dr. Hollis Liverpool) and Baron (Timothy Watkins Junior).

Colleagues said that Paul, whose popular tunes include “Trinidad Dictionary” and “Fresh Water Yankee”, was on his way to rehearsal when the accident occurred.

The calypso season opens here on Friday night as Trinidadians get ready for the annual Carnival celebrations that end on March 8.

« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2011, 05:39:28 PM »
Wow, sad, jus de odder day was watchin calypso dreams and was remarkin at how many ah dem fellas gone ahready, now conqueror pass, RIP maestro

« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2011, 06:00:54 PM »
Wow, sad, jus de odder day was watchin calypso dreams and was remarkin at how many ah dem fellas gone ahready, now conqueror pass, RIP maestro

That! what yuh mention dey sure has a double meaning.

I have met him (conqueror) several times whenever I visit Home.
Condolences to his relatives. R.I.P Leroy
« Last Edit: January 28, 2011, 06:03:30 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2011, 11:27:37 PM »
RIP. Geez. This is similar to what happened to Maestro.

« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2011, 12:12:40 PM »
RIP. Trinidad dictionary was a classic
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2011, 09:34:22 AM »
<a href="http://www.kaltura.com/index.php/kwidget/wid/1_kw9miwbr/uiconf_id/1892491" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.kaltura.com/index.php/kwidget/wid/1_kw9miwbr/uiconf_id/1892491</a>