October 31, 2024, 06:00:04 PM

Author Topic: How did you end up playing US college ball?  (Read 3882 times)

How did you end up playing US college ball?
« on: September 10, 2012, 01:54:07 PM »
I'm interested in getting feedback on people's experiences with being recruited to play collegiate soccer. Although iz mostly men on here, it would be insightful to get feedback from women also.

How were you recruited? Were you recruited? Unpleasant vibes? Things that made a difference etc.

I would also like to hear from people who were recruited in the US or Canada or elsewhere.

Yeah!

Offline diamondtrim

Re: How did you end up playing US college ball?
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2012, 06:53:06 PM »
At the end of my fifth form year I had done my SAT's and was actively pursuing education options abroad (never liked UWI). I sent out maybe 15 or 20 applications to a variety of colleges and believe it or not, got a response from every one. Of course, not all were acceptance letters. I had included recommendations from my football coaches and got some interest from a few colleges as well. However, they wanted more than just recommendations, they asked for video. My SAT score was good enough for two college coaches to indicate that they would recommend I get a partial academic schol for the first year and if I was good enough they would give me a full athletic schol for the next three years.

Anyway, young love and the necessary success at CXC convinced me to do my A'Levels before going further with my search for an overseas education. By the end of lower six I had received 3 solid offers (academic schols) and had decided on which college I would have attended.

As fate would have it, TTT had aired one of my school's SSFL games live on tv and I had a beast of a game. Can't say who exactly saw it but I got a call from Quincy University in Chicago who indicated they had someone in Trinidad who would organise a scrimmage and report back to them. Their guy?: Hannibal Najjar.

At the scrimmage I met Ruskin Mark who was a sports anchor at TTT at the time and he said he remembered me from the game that was aired. We chatted for a few weeks after and I got confirmed offers from Quincy, St Mary's University in Texas and Concordia College, Alabama. Ruskin's contact was at Concordia.

Quincy offered half schol for the first year and full for the next 3. I couldn't accept because the half my parents would have been responsible for was almost 13k usd. St Mary's offered a full ride, including a stipend, but Texas was reeling from a hate crime where a black dude was dragged from the back of a truck, so I had no desire to go anywhere near there. I chose Concordia literally a week before I left Trinidad.

Concordia had just started their soccer programme and were in the NAIA. We were treated like kings. We were included in a parade through the streets of Selma and we even signed autographs. Mia Hamm was part of the parade as well. The school didn't have a confirmed schedule but we played against schools like University of Mobile, Auburn University, Middle Tennessee State etc. The attraction of being a part of the beginning of the soccer programme was a big part of me choosing there. Its good to know that Concordia is doing quite well now.

I left after semester, and received an offer from St Francis College in NY. St Francis was the NCAA div 1 North East Conference Champions at the time. I was recruited personally by their coach. Just phone calls and school programme info. Nothing like being asked to join the conference champs and playing with guys from Serbia, Albania, Africa, etc. It was a great cultural experience.

There's a big difference between NCAA divisions. Division 1 programmes get more money and coverage and are very stringent with their rules. Imagine we were allowed to practice for only 2 weeks prior to the season. NAIA didn't even have age limits. At Concordia there was a 29 year old dude on the team.

The thing with ST Francis was that the school didn't have dorms so ALL students had to have their own housing arrangement. Not a bad deal for trinis who always have some relative in NY.

Eventually I left and finished at St Johns U. Recruited by a fellow Trini who simply said that the coach was looking for players.

I always had fellow Trinis around so my experience wasn't bad at all. The only negative was the weather. Winter is a stinking bitch....but makes the ladies quite horny. I always had to slow down when talking in class as the professors barely understood me. So i began to understand why alot of Trinis develop accents after a while abroad. Once I was asked if I'm speaking spanish. But my favorite part was that Americans didn't understand what 'hull yuh mudda c..." meant....I loved yelling it at them. They would just smile.

« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2012, 10:06:09 PM »
Trim what year did u enter SFC?

Offline amwood

« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2012, 10:21:59 PM »
Knowing the right person makes all the difference in this process, choosing the right school determines what type of opportunities a student athlete may have at the at the end of his collegiate career (football or otherwise). There are many universities that are now offering academic scholarships to foreign students, for a long time it was difficult to secure these at top division 1 schools. These athletic scholarships can also be combined with academic scholarship money as well - coaches are becoming very savvy in the way they offer financial packages. For players who have great football potential, it is critical to be at certain schools if an opportunity in the MLS is something that is being considered. MLS coaches believe that players are more prepared for the demands of professional football if they have spent time at certain programs - they feel like the players will have a better chance of succeeding. Of-course, there are always exceptions to that rule. At the end of the day, you must have the necessary academic criteria.....for the big division one programs, many coaches may actually send a player to a junior college and then have them transfer in - it is now becoming an avenue that many players are opting for who may fall short of the academic profile needed to enter certain universities...at the end of the day, choosing the right school could determine everything about your experience in the States....
« Last Edit: September 10, 2012, 10:23:43 PM by amwood »

« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2012, 06:20:17 AM »
Believe it or not, there are a lot of contacts right there in T&T.... Lots of players who played in the US and are now back home have those contacts.  Mine was Mike Grayson, my coach at Arima at the time, now coach of St. Augustine.  He actually played at Davis & Elkins with my college coach so there was an easy connection. 

I would say this though, if men looking for a football scholarship, the first thing yuh must have is the "ability to play football"..... Men must understand the dynamics of college soccer in the US.  Most D1 men's teams only have 8-10 scholarships and coaches does cut up and dissect them all how.  Therefore, they are not going to waste a scholarship on an average player.  I've had people contact me because I know quite a few D1 coaches but until I see you play, there is no way I'm putting my name on the line. 
So yes, as someone said previously, you better have some kinda video or something to show your worth.

All this to say, it's about networking.  Locate guys in trini that played and have the contacts in the US.  Most of the coaches now played college soccer so yes, link up with fellow trinis who were former players both locally and abroad.  Sending in videos to different schools puts you in the same boat as most US kids so you're further down the line.  Not saying it won't work but networking and referrals are always best. 

Offline diamondtrim

« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2012, 06:21:57 AM »
Trim what year did u enter SFC?

Jan 2000

Offline Trevor

« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2012, 08:29:30 AM »

If anyone knows of good female players who are admittable to a university, please let me know.

« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2012, 10:27:00 AM »
nice history diamondtrim.

what happen to yuh football life after university? u ever consider a pro career or is a pro now?

Offline diamondtrim

« Reply #8 on: September 11, 2012, 11:31:13 AM »

what happen to yuh football life after university? u ever consider a pro career or is a pro now?

I like to consider myself a realist....was told by a couple of coaches that I could have made it as a pro, but I never bought into the hype. I was a lazy player...never liked training, can't remember ever being truly fit, hated gym work, only learnt to properly use my left foot in college, fell in love with crown/kennedy fried chicken and 2.99 chinese food (all NY men would know what I'm talking about) and frankly used my football talent to get a proper education. To be honest, I just didn't have the discipline required. And besides, I always felt myself to be more of an academic than an athlete.

SSFL spoils players on so many levels and its only when we get exposed to a higher level we realise. In school in Trinidad I was allowed so many indulgences that when I recount them I can't help but laugh. I was allowed to juggle the ball and practice free kicks while the rest of the team ran laps. I was allowed great input in team selection. Even my girlfriend was allowed to leave school lunch time with the football team when we had an away game. I remember going to her class one morning at around 11 and saying "Miss, we leavin in lil while, Kim hadda organise". Miss response was 'Ok'. On weekend games she would come in the maxi and a player would either have to find his way to the ground or get a drop from a teacher or something. Please bear in mind that all these allowed indulgences were at a school that had a piss poor football team.

I went abroad with the same big player attitude, only to discover that my small size put me at an immediate disadvantage, technique, strength and fitness were more important than skill, and big player attitude was something you could only earn after your junior year perhaps.

I got married to the same girl that used to leave school early, had kids and settled down. I play the occasional minor league and fete match games, and I'm good with that. Now there's nothing better than my son's teacher who was an old classmate, telling my son that his daddy was a big player............

« Reply #9 on: September 12, 2012, 07:21:21 PM »
Knowing the right person makes all the difference in this process, choosing the right school determines what type of opportunities a student athlete may have at the at the end of his collegiate career (football or otherwise). There are many universities that are now offering academic scholarships to foreign students, for a long time it was difficult to secure these at top division 1 schools. These athletic scholarships can also be combined with academic scholarship money as well - coaches are becoming very savvy in the way they offer financial packages. For players who have great football potential, it is critical to be at certain schools if an opportunity in the MLS is something that is being considered. MLS coaches believe that players are more prepared for the demands of professional football if they have spent time at certain programs - they feel like the players will have a better chance of succeeding. Of-course, there are always exceptions to that rule. At the end of the day, you must have the necessary academic criteria.....for the big division one programs, many coaches may actually send a player to a junior college and then have them transfer in - it is now becoming an avenue that many players are opting for who may fall short of the academic profile needed to enter certain universities...at the end of the day, choosing the right school could determine everything about your experience in the States....

Share your story, nah.

« Reply #10 on: September 13, 2012, 09:09:13 AM »

I like to consider myself a realist....was told by a couple of coaches that I could have made it as a pro, but I never bought into the hype. I was a lazy player...never liked training, can't remember ever being truly fit, hated gym work, only learnt to properly use my left foot in college, fell in love with crown/kennedy fried chicken and 2.99 chinese food (all NY men would know what I'm talking about) and frankly used my football talent to get a proper education. To be honest, I just didn't have the discipline required. And besides, I always felt myself to be more of an academic than an athlete.

SSFL spoils players on so many levels and its only when we get exposed to a higher level we realise. In school in Trinidad I was allowed so many indulgences that when I recount them I can't help but laugh. I was allowed to juggle the ball and practice free kicks while the rest of the team ran laps. I was allowed great input in team selection. Even my girlfriend was allowed to leave school lunch time with the football team when we had an away game. I remember going to her class one morning at around 11 and saying "Miss, we leavin in lil while, Kim hadda organise". Miss response was 'Ok'. On weekend games she would come in the maxi and a player would either have to find his way to the ground or get a drop from a teacher or something. Please bear in mind that all these allowed indulgences were at a school that had a piss poor football team.

I went abroad with the same big player attitude, only to discover that my small size put me at an immediate disadvantage, technique, strength and fitness were more important than skill, and big player attitude was something you could only earn after your junior year perhaps.

I got married to the same girl that used to leave school early, had kids and settled down. I play the occasional minor league and fete match games, and I'm good with that. Now there's nothing better than my son's teacher who was an old classmate, telling my son that his daddy was a big player............

Nice story dey Trim I believe we met d lady last yr did not realize she have all that belly 2 put up wit u since high school.

« Reply #11 on: September 13, 2012, 09:27:52 AM »

Nice story dey Trim I believe we met d lady last yr did not realize she have all that belly 2 put up wit u since high school.

Yu wicked :laugh:

Offline diamondtrim

« Reply #12 on: September 13, 2012, 11:34:12 AM »

Yes u did meet her last year..

Belly?...Every day she does get up and sing how lucky she is......Jus dis mornin she tellin mih how she want to put mih up on a billboard by macoya  ;D

« Reply #13 on: September 13, 2012, 12:08:31 PM »

Yes u did meet her last year..

Belly?...Every day she does get up and sing how lucky she is......Jus dis mornin she tellin mih how she want to put mih up on a billboard by macoya  ;D
Yu sure is not by yu toe she want to put yu on de billboard from.......Jus checking :beermug:

« Reply #14 on: September 14, 2012, 11:07:42 AM »
this is a great topic...cheers

« Reply #15 on: September 14, 2012, 11:30:45 AM »
woman like big belly as man with dem less likely to be able to pull or bull a deputy.