June 16, 2024, 03:12:18 AM

Which of these positions receives more scrutiny?

the midfield
8 (20.5%)
the defense
15 (38.5%)
the forwards
3 (7.7%)
the coach
7 (17.9%)
the entire team
6 (15.4%)

Total Members Voted: 39

Author Topic: Who have the harder job?  (Read 3213 times)

Who have the harder job?
« on: December 06, 2005, 07:15:18 AM »
I was wondering what you forumites think about this one,knowing from time to time blame is laid on some part of the organization,the question is who gets the worst of it. 

Re: Who have the harder job?
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2005, 07:18:40 AM »
 the defense of course...If we lose, most times it does be a defensive blunder

« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2005, 08:14:17 AM »
I wud have to say strikers probably have the most scrutinized job...but defenders have the least glorious..much of what they do goes unrecognized.

« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2005, 09:41:03 AM »
Forwards get the most attention and are under the most pressure to score.........but their mistakes are forgiven easily when they do....

Goalkeepers mistakes and defensive blunders aren't easily forgiven......but goalkeepers and defenders are excused for not playing with any imagination

Midfielders are expected to defend, to be creative, to score at times and not to give up the ball.........so all in all they are supposed to have the most complete (and probably the least flawed game)....but are excused if they are not great at any one thing..... and just decent at everything.....

A coach's team must yield results.....and sometimes even if they do yield results, the coach gets hit for unconvincing or "un-entertaining" performances......when the team wins, the players get the most love.....when the team loses the coach gets the most hate............Most coaches don't get the respect they deserve until winning a huge tournament or after years and years of consistent success..........

End of the day, I think the coach is under the most pressure...but it depends on what angle you look at it from...

« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2005, 09:42:47 AM »
Don't talk your though and doh vote......

Offline Girl Warrior

« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2005, 09:56:07 AM »
I think that the strikers are most blamed and you guys are definitley right about them being under the most pressure, ah mean with a name like Stern "bound to score" John, he can't give nothing less than his best... yuh undersatand?
The revolution is not an apple that falls when it is ripe. You have to make it fall... Che Guevara

« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2005, 10:01:55 AM »
i ent know bout harder but i know dog mistrapping the ball in the back does make me more nervous than if yorke mistrap it in the 18 yard box.

Offline Israel

« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2005, 10:25:56 AM »
Defenders does get d worse criticsm. If Dog did mistrap a ball in box and a Bahraini did boss d net he woulda feel d wrath of the fans as oppose to Latas throw away (hittin d crossbar). Men say we draw d game on d 12th cuz Lawrence leave d man unmarked but if Stern did score d fro d one - two pass he did with Yorke we woulda win d game too.
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #8 on: December 06, 2005, 10:28:59 AM »
my 2 cents

the defense have the hardest wok
simple fact defense wins games something Real eh learn yet
4 years ago they were letting in 2 but scoring 3 so it didn't matter
now they letting in 3 and socring none

a defender could have ah real good game for 89 minutes and one lapse of concentration in the 90th and a goal score and he will be labelled ah goat everybody go cry him down

on the flip side to that Stern John go miss ah million chance and be absent for the whole game (as usual) and score one in the last moment and he is ah hero and getting ah trinity cross

« Reply #9 on: December 06, 2005, 10:30:54 AM »
Horse why yuh hate Stern so dred
I feel you and him have some kinda beef

« Reply #10 on: December 06, 2005, 10:37:21 AM »
cause all ya does give the man more credit than he deserve

« Reply #11 on: December 06, 2005, 10:44:18 AM »
I cyah understand why ppl vex... de man name is Disgruntled!!!

Even when de man post ah happy post... it does have some kinda sourness in it....

Now if he name was Happy_Trini... ah woulda understand de vexation

« Reply #12 on: December 06, 2005, 10:53:52 AM »
The hardest job in Football is being a Coach,after a game a player can go home and relax but a coach job is never done,he is blamed for every mistake being made in a Football game,Defence,Midfield,Forward is the coach responsible for that,if the players have no skills is the Coach,when team lose is Coach but when team wins is players.(look at headlines)  

« Reply #13 on: December 06, 2005, 11:13:45 AM »
players win games and coaches lose it

Offline Gladman

« Reply #14 on: December 06, 2005, 11:16:42 AM »
The defense and the keeper always get the blame when the team looses
Life Is Like Sugar Cane,It Hard But Sweet

« Reply #15 on: December 06, 2005, 11:19:12 AM »
The defense and the keeper always get the blame when the team looses

ent
but when the striker missing every game and laying off the ball right through he jes going through ah bad patch and they does form committee to help him

« Reply #16 on: December 06, 2005, 11:22:13 AM »
VICE PRESIDENT OF STERN FOR GOALS COMMITTEE

« Reply #17 on: December 06, 2005, 11:28:30 AM »
VICE PRESIDENT OF STERN FOR GOALS COMMITTEE

sigh

« Reply #18 on: December 06, 2005, 02:13:38 PM »
disgruntled i understand yuh impatience with stern but lemme explain something...
they have certain men on the field, strikers in particular, that the ball just seems to follow
Inzaghi, Trezeguet etc...
these aren't the best ballers but they finish and score alot because they always seem to be "in the right place at the right time"
I think Stern is one of these guys
He gets a lot of opportunities that just don't seem to fall to other players (i agree he does throw way a lot)
I dunno if this is luck or skill, but it is one of the main reasons for his success and why i think he is important to our team
so while he misses at a greater rate than he scores,
i think we need him

Offline TriniItalian

• Never Wait to Procrastinate!
« Reply #19 on: December 06, 2005, 04:50:03 PM »
disgruntled i understand yuh impatience with stern but lemme explain something...
they have certain men on the field, strikers in particular, that the ball just seems to follow
Inzaghi, Trezeguet etc...
these aren't the best ballers but they finish and score alot because they always seem to be "in the right place at the right time"
I think Stern is one of these guys
He gets a lot of opportunities that just don't seem to fall to other players (i agree he does throw way a lot)
I dunno if this is luck or skill, but it is one of the main reasons for his success and why i think he is important to our team
so while he misses at a greater rate than he scores,
i think we need him
I agree all them name you call is shithounds but like them men does get A's in physics and does real study video footage cuz them study if a ball float at (X) speed over (Y) defender bounce off (Z) keeper it will land at spot (A) in 30secs at  2km/h so if I (subject Q) stand up in spot B with one hand in the air tilted at 75degrees with mi left boot stick out at a 45 degree angle it would skid off into the net. Ladies & Gentlemen, I present to you... Stern John
A.W.A.T.T. INFORMANT

« Reply #20 on: December 06, 2005, 04:55:16 PM »
I think it'll depend the formation we use in the WC. if we usin d same 4-5-1 i'd think stern would be under rel pressure, then again he seems to work well under pressure. But no matter what i think our defence is our week spot and for that they'll always be under considerable pressure.  :-\

« Reply #21 on: December 06, 2005, 06:00:20 PM »
de coach

even a good coach does get fired when it is his players at fault

« Reply #22 on: December 06, 2005, 07:13:03 PM »

strikers, cuz goals win matches not misses...

Offline Teflon Don

« Reply #23 on: December 06, 2005, 07:15:50 PM »
i agree with who ever say coach...bcuz look ronald shitttin down heself whole season by his normal standards and dey fire luxemborgo....d other reason i say coach is bcuz coaches are easier to dispose of

« Reply #24 on: December 07, 2005, 02:45:55 AM »
But really in TT who man does blame when team loss ?
All the posts here make good football sense but this TT, like allyuh spend to much time outside or watching too much foreign ball.
In TT it does go like this.

An dis go be famous TT excuses.

De defense to blame,
De midfield play shit,
De forwards have two walking foot,
De coach ent know what he doing.
De ground was too wet or dry,
Dey should ah kick up in de first half instead ah down (or vice versa)
De other side play men from ah next team,
De breeze change direction all of ah sudden,
De sun was in mih eye,
De party last night was too good , we shoulda leave earlier,
An (jus fuh true trini) it was Jack fault.
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Offline Teflon Don

« Reply #25 on: December 07, 2005, 05:49:39 AM »
All the posts here make good football sense but this TT, like allyuh spend to much time outside or watching too much foreign ball.

De defense to blame,
De midfield play shit,
De sun was in mih eye,
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

if yuh notcie daz only happen in Trinidad everywhere else is d coach dat gets d pressure

« Reply #26 on: December 07, 2005, 06:36:37 AM »

De defense to blame,
De midfield play shit,
De sun was in mih eye,
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

if yuh notcie daz only happen in Trinidad everywhere else is d coach dat gets d pressure

Boy Our coaches Does get REAL Pressure, Worse yet if is a local coach... they get put over HOT COALS, and roasted before the national Community... Tres embarassing...

The Coaches with change, and the team stays de same ... (Until VERY recently under Don).. Wha dat tell yuh?