June 03, 2024, 06:19:58 PM

Author Topic: Amateur striker’s [Stewart Roach] World Cup call dream  (Read 5153 times)

Amateur striker’s [Stewart Roach] World Cup call dream
« on: March 01, 2006, 12:58:10 PM »
Amateur striker’s World Cup call dream
by KEITH PEEL (pinkun.com)

Amateur footballer Stewart Roach is dreaming of playing alongside Dwight Yorke in the World Cup finals.

The former Manchester United star, now playing in Australia, will spearhead Trinidad & Tobago's attack this summer in Germany, where England are among their Group B opponents.

And Ridgeons League leading scorer Roach believes he would make a potent strike partner.

“I've been e-mailing the Trinidad football authorities since Christmas,” revealed 27-year-old Roach, who is eligible to play for the small Caribbean island because his father, Claudius, was born there.

“I haven't heard back as yet, but I've asked them to come and give me a look and I'm expecting a reply in the next couple of weeks. I feel I'm on top of my form right now. I'm scoring goals all the time and I know I could do a job for them.

“With all due respect, there are players from all over the world getting a chance to prove themselves with the Trinidad team and I would like my chance.”

Former Yarmouth Town, Lowestoft Town and King's Lynn hit-man Roach, now with Leiston, admits it would be a dream come true if he were to get a call from the Soca Warriors.

“That would be magnificent,” he said. “I remember sitting and watching the draw and, when Trinidad came out alongside England, I couldn't believe it. I'm not getting any younger and I would love a chance.”

Roach, a fitness instructor at Caldecott Hall, near Fritton, joined Leiston from Lowestoft this season and has already scored 24 goals.

“I'm really loving it at Leiston,” he said. “I wasn't getting the games at Lowestoft, with a rotation system in operation. Leiston has proved to be a great move, the lads have a good team spirit and Glen Driver is a very good manager.”

Leiston chairman Andy Crisp said: “As far as the club is concerned, Stewart does exactly what it says on the tin. He puts the ball in the net - and he does it well.

“We are delighted to have him at the club and if we can help raise his profile to play at a higher level, then so be it.

“As regards the Trinidad connection, I think he would be capable of a squad place. Imagine it? A Leiston player playing against England in the World Cup finals.

“There are a couple of guys who play Ryman League level who are being considered for the Trinidad team from what I have heard, and that isn't a huge step up to what Stewart is capable of playing.”

Trinidad & Tobago Football Federation special advisor Jack Warner, who correctly predicted the country would draw England in the World Cup group phase, is now tipping the Soca Warriors to beat England in Group B.

Warner has labelled the match between the nations in Nuremberg on June 15 as Trinidad & Tobago's “World Cup final”.

Warner made his boast at a gala dinner attended by Franz Beckenbauer, the president of the World Cup organising committee.

“I told you to keep the faith when we were three matches down with one point (in the CONCACAF qualifying zone). I kept saying we would qualify,” Warner said.

He continued: “I said we would find a good coach - we found one (Leo Beenhakker). I told you we would qualify - we have qualified. I tell you now - we shall beat England!”

Beckenbauer was more diplomatic, saying: “Football is 90 minutes and in 90 minutes, anything is possible.”

Sweden and Paraguay have also been drawn in Group B.

Re: Amateur striker’s [Stewart Roach] World Cup call dream
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2006, 01:02:46 PM »
I am not feeling this roach guy...jus my opinion....we good..maybe for 2010 he can make himself avail for qualifiers..

« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2006, 01:05:34 PM »
This fella is akinda a$$ or what.. We have men playing at much higher levels and he playing amatuer ball and want Beenie and dem to fly out and look at him ??? After Christamas when we done qualify ??? :rotfl: :rotfl:I leading my team in scoring in the over 30 indoor league ah wonder if Beenie will take a look at me to....

« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2006, 01:08:11 PM »
I am sure Leo said in a recent statement that he is not going to look at any further new players at this stage?!

Can anyone confirm if this Roach should face reality and set his dreams on helping T&T qualify for WC 2010?

« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2006, 01:11:57 PM »
LOL. that league is low very loooowwwwww. lower than the confence north & south. Its nice he has dreams but where was he years ago?  :-\ It still wouldnt of made sense back then because hes still playing in a swag league but at least it would of shown he cared, he only come knocking when TNT qualify.

Offline trinidre

« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2006, 01:19:55 PM »
this man is just another waggonist talking bout he dream of playing up front with yorke  :rotfl: do let stern hear yuh say that nah  ;D

« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2006, 01:27:29 PM »
Read this people he has some history to himself he missed the grade narrowly it seems.

Stewart Roach    
Norwich Career: Youth (1995-1997)  
Current Club: Leiston (Ridgeons League)
Date of Birth: 15/09/1978
Nationality:  English

A youth team player, Stewart was released in March 1997. He had impressed Mike Sutton whilst with Yarmouth High School scoring over 40 goals a season but his spell at Norwich's Centre of Excellence was blighted by injury. He had 2 knee operations and one on his Achilles tendon. With Mike Walker and John Faulkner adopting an Ajax style attack throughout all Norwich teams where only one central striker was deployed, Stewart's chances were limited with rivalry from Drewe Broughton, Chris Llewellyn and Adrian Coote. Even Craig Bellamy wasn't deployed as a central striker. In the Youth team that won the South East Counties League in 1996/97, Stewart only managed 16 starts and scored 9 goals. He departed the club in March 1997 after a disagreement.

Stewart had a trial with Cambridge United; a popular destination for Norwich apprentices who never made the first team at Carrow Road (see Phil Chapple, Dion Dublin). However he was disillusioned with football and thought about quitting the game. Instead he joined Great Yarmouth Town in the Jewson Eastern Counties League scoring on a regular basis and had passed the 40 goal tally in March 1998. He states that he is happy playing at this level and doesn't wish to become a professional  :o ::). Only time will tell if this happens or not.

Stewart went on the transfer list in March 2000 wishing to try something new after a season marred by injury and a goal drought. Yarmouth have agreed to let him go and Wroxham have already shown an interest in obtaining his services but offered less than the £3000 than Yarmouth expected. Diss and Gorleston were also said to be interested. Greg Downs arranged a trial for Stewart at league side Oldham in February 2001 but Latics manager Andy Ritchie opted not to take his interest any further. According to the Non League Paper website, Stewart moved to nearby rivals Lowestoft in mid March 2001.

In June 2005, Cambridge United caretaker manager Rob Newman announced that he would give Roach a pre-season trial following Roach's forty-five goals for Lowestoft Town in 2004/5. Newman remembered Roach from their days together at Carrow Road. Stewart played for Cambridge against Mildenhall on 9th July 2005 and against Ipswich a few days later. He was then returned to Lowestoft but trialled for Kings Lynn on Saturday 30th July 2005 in a 2-1 defeat against a Millwall XI. Stewart signed for Kings Lynn at the beginning of August 2005 but is expected to initially play for their reserves in the Ridgeons League so to gain match fitness and get to know his teammates. He scored twice on his debut in a 5-0 victory over Clacton Town on 13th August 2005.

Stewart returned to Lowestoft a few weeks later but at the end of November 2005, submitted a transfer request. Many clubs were interested but Stewart eventually signed for Leiston who were rumoured to have paid £7000 for him. Roach repaid the investment by scoring ten goals in his first nine games.

Video which he features in:
http://leistonfc.co.uk/CAMBRIDGE%20CITY%20RESERVES.wmv

http://www.cambridge-united.premiumtv.co.uk/page/News/BreakingNewsDetail/0,,10423~683317,00.html
Scored in his trial of cambridge which was mentioned.

« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2006, 01:33:02 PM »
lol everybody have a dream.

« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2006, 01:35:43 PM »
Waggonist or not. Hes a cocky so & so with his celebrations.lol

« Reply #9 on: March 01, 2006, 01:37:05 PM »
dat sound like it had 'bout 29 people in the stands ;D :devil:

« Reply #10 on: March 01, 2006, 01:38:19 PM »
lol everybody have a dream.
LOL. For real but I bet almost of us would declare elability for Our Nation(s) of origin in his position(expect most of us would do it A.S.A.P not when the nation quals of the WC)

I bet he had a seat at tuesday game and slip a couple of tapes in the physio bag or Mr.B's coat

« Reply #11 on: March 01, 2006, 01:38:58 PM »
dat sound like it had 'bout 29 people in the stands ;D :devil:
I think that number 25 too many  ;D

« Reply #12 on: March 01, 2006, 01:46:48 PM »
Dis soca warriors ting is like when somebody win BIG BIG money in de lotto/sweepstakes oui

ALL kinda cousin and  tantie yuh never hear bout does start tuh come out de woodwork tuh make fren and want ah share

Offline trinidre

« Reply #13 on: March 01, 2006, 01:55:02 PM »
Dis soca warriors ting is like when somebody win BIG BIG money in de lotto/sweepstakes oui

ALL kinda cousin and  tantie yuh never hear bout does start tuh come out de woodwork tuh make fren and want ah share

that is the best way to descibe this thing......people who dont even know where Trinidad located on a map claiming they have Trini in they blood :rotfl:

« Reply #14 on: March 01, 2006, 02:12:25 PM »
I nominate this for most eccentric post of the year...because this man is mad.  Next thing man who playing fete match will want a call up because they score a hattrick against a former national goalkeeper who is 75 years old.

« Reply #15 on: March 01, 2006, 03:22:35 PM »
this man on kicks? 27 yo amateur league
yeah it really shocking that he has received no response. ;)

if he get a call up i lacing it up 1 more time.  That would be something the man get a run then mash up, take stern sot, go WC score 6 goal take we to the quarters  then get sign by bayern munich. All things are possible to those who believe.

« Reply #16 on: March 01, 2006, 03:26:54 PM »
I nominate this for most eccentric post of the year...because this man is mad.  Next thing man who playing fete match will want a call up because they score a hattrick against a former national goalkeeper who is 75 years old.

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: oh looooorrrrddd!!!! ah rolling with laughter here. Dat was boss!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #17 on: March 01, 2006, 05:30:19 PM »
This man real jokey.  He feel is ah fete match team we trying to take to Germany.  Talking bout he want ah look. They good yes. :rotfl:

« Reply #18 on: March 01, 2006, 05:44:04 PM »
ah feel this is ah " ROACH" tuh smoke..........i emailing de federation since christmas too breddar....god bless though...tntntntntntntntntnt

Offline R45

« Reply #19 on: March 01, 2006, 05:51:00 PM »
Comedy gold

Offline SOBRIQUET

• Intercol Champion 94' w/ Princes Town
« Reply #20 on: March 01, 2006, 05:55:53 PM »
This man is Hardest Brother or wha?  What kinda ass go be playin amateur football and want a call up to a world cup squad? What these men feel it is?
...with Blacksmith, Dogfoot, Jurawan and dem

« Reply #21 on: March 01, 2006, 08:18:28 PM »
i say give him a trial and see what happens,  then again as soon as T&T reach de world cup all these unknown trinis are coming outta nowhere.  ???

« Reply #22 on: March 01, 2006, 09:51:45 PM »
what I like bout dem fellas is how media savvy they are.......but if beenie want fete a match specialist ...I'll be the first to sign up....provided he have quality beer.

Offline pufftrini

« Reply #23 on: March 01, 2006, 10:33:14 PM »
some of dem fellas feel is 'anybody' could play for TnT or wha steeeeeeeups
every man has the right to an opinion but that does not give him the right to be a jackass

Offline croc

« Reply #24 on: March 02, 2006, 04:15:55 AM »
Forget  "smoke ah Roach"" maybe it should be "Cockroach" give me ah break. :rotfl: