June 17, 2024, 08:43:33 AM

Author Topic: Topics of the day.  (Read 2316 times)

Topics of the day.
« on: November 17, 2006, 05:22:27 AM »
Five quick questions. The 4 best answers will be published on the SWO:[/color]

1. What will it take for us to qualify for the 2007 Gold Cup. Any ideas, plans, your team, things you feel we can do - etc etc. The 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup™ is scheduled to take place 6-24 June in cities across the USA with venues to be announced in November.

A:

2. What will it take for us to actually "win" the 2007 Gold Cup. Seeing that its an all CONCACAF team tournament now and most if not all of our foreign players are saying that want to take part. Give us your ideas on this or even a team you will like to see play at the Gold Cup in order to make this a reality. CONCACAF announced that the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup™ will consist of exclusively CONCACAF teams and no guest teams will be invited to participate in the event as in the past.

A:

3. What will it take for our Women team to at least qualify for the World Cup. Or is it to late. Can we slip pass Mexico and go onto to beat or even a tie vs USA and onto ASIA for the playoffs. What could have been or should be done to help our beloved ladies. The Champion team and the runner-up will automatically qualify to the 2007 FIFA Women’s World Cup in China. The third-place finisher in the CONCACAF event will face Japan (from the Asian Football Confederation) in a home-and-away playoff for the final berth in the FIFA tournament. T&T is one of only two teams to have taken part in all CONCACAF Women's Championships (the other being Canada), the islanders played five games in order to qualify for the 2006 Gold Cup, posting a 100 per cent record.

A:

4. What will it take for our under 16/17 team to qualify for the under 17 youth world cup. Knowing that 5 CONCACAF teams will go through to the finals. The 2007 CONCACAF U-17 Final Round is set for April 2007 and will have total of nine countries competing in two groups, with groups to be hosted by Honduras (Group A – four teams) and Jamaica (Group B – five teams). Joining the host nations in the CONCACAF U-17 Final Round are Canada, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Haiti, Mexico, Trinidad & Tobago and USA, with the draw to determine the teams in each of the groups (A & B) scheduled for early November.

A:

5. What will it take for our under 20 team to qualify for the under 20 youth world cup finals. Can Brian Williams take us there. Does he have the right players for the job, can we get by the Reggae Boyz - etc etc. The 2007 CONCACAF U-20 Final Round will have eight countries competing in two groups, with groups to be hosted by Panama (Group A: 17-21 January) and Mexico (Group B: 21-25 February). Joining the host nations in the CONCACAF U-20 Final Round are Costa Rica, Haiti, Guatemala, St. Kitts & Nevis, USA and another Caribbean team (Jamaica or Trinidad & Tobago), with the draw to determine the teams in each of the groups scheduled for late November.

A:

PS: Please make your replies a bit short, not to to short, but I do not expect you to write a book long and, constructive as well. Also, make sure your replies are edited for mistakes etc. Anyone failing to comply will not get published.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2006, 10:38:57 AM by Flex »

Re: Topics of the day.
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2006, 05:46:00 AM »
take it away TI, ah know yuh could win this contest  ;D

« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2006, 11:33:49 AM »
take it away TI, ah know yuh could win this contest  ;D

heaven forbid

« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2006, 12:13:38 PM »
1. What will it take for us to qualify for the 2007 Gold Cup. Any ideas, plans, your team, things you feel we can do - etc etc. The 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup™ is scheduled to take place 6-24 June in cities across the USA with venues to be announced in November.A: We have to play total football the way Benie had us playing before the World Cup, the team for the digicel cup should be training now we can’t afford to underestimate any team in this competition everyone is gunning for us. 

2. What will it take for us to actually "win" the 2007 Gold Cup. Seeing that its an all CONCACAF team tournament now and most if not all of our foreign players are saying that want to take part. Give us your ideas on this or even a team you will like to see play at the Gold Cup in order to make this a reality. CONCACAF announced that the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup™ will consist of exclusively CONCACAF teams and no guest teams will be invited to participate in the event as in the past.
A: We actually need most of our foreign base to help us win this tournament I really believe  that we could of won this tournament after the World Cup but it seems the new coach does not have the players mind like Benie football is 40% physical and 60% mental if you have a player's head with basic skills he or she can become a very good international player remember the international  game is completely different from regular club game you have scrap  fight and concentrate this is the biggest part of the game concentration on your task  we seem to lack this we can’t afford to make silly mistake as we can see our last game prove this I remember a lot of our football pundits saying that we should play our game of football which is attacking football well we see what happens when you attack quick counters will kill us total football is one where the whole team defend, attack this only works when the whole team is on the same page they should know if the ball is in the air who will attack and who will position himself  for the rebound so and so on you get my point.    . It seems like the new breed of players have no heart what about players like Leslie Fitzpatrick, Anton Pierre, Julius James, Abu Bakar, Brent Sancho, Avery John and Kevon Neaves we have some young English born players that show interest for playing for us  some played well and some did not enough time,  and all of a sudden we stop calling them so if they go to a big club then we will try to bring them back when its to late   

3. What will it take for our Women team to at least qualify for the World Cup. Or is it to late. Can we slip pass Mexico and go onto to beat or even a tie vs USA and onto ASIA for the playoffs. What could have been or should be done to help our beloved ladies. The Champion team and the runner-up will automatically qualify to the 2007 FIFA Women’s World Cup in China. The third-place finisher in the CONCACAF event will face Japan (from the Asian Football Confederation) in a home-and-away playoff for the final berth in the FIFA tournament. T&T is one of only two teams to have taken part in all CONCACAF Women's Championships (the other being Canada), the islanders played five games in order to qualify for the 2006 Gold Cup, posting a 100 per cent record.
A: I so  sorry for these women they try very hard to repersent our country TTFA  have no desire to help these women I think its to late for them to qualify not impossible, we can not continue at the rate we are going in football we all know that, but what can we do as mere supporters we can not let what happen this year World Cup go unnoticed we should  build from the World Cup experience, the women team should have a decent training  camp but its too late now I hope courage and passion can bring them trough.

4. What will it take for our under 16/17 team to qualify for the under 17 youth world cup. Knowing that 5 CONCACAF teams will go through to the finals. The 2007 CONCACAF U-17 Final Round is set for April 2007 and will have total of nine countries competing in two groups, with groups to be hosted by Honduras (Group A – four teams) and Jamaica (Group B – five teams). Joining the host nations in the CONCACAF U-17 Final Round are Canada, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Haiti, Mexico, Trinidad & Tobago and USA, with the draw to determine the teams in each of the groups (A & B) scheduled for early November.
A: This a tough group to qualify our players should not only be train together but we should play more international games we have to expose our players to tougher opposition and like I said we just can’t pick a team and train two weeks before a tournament and expect good results in this day and age every one is coming strong what we really need is an academy so our player could play ball and also study for there exam because we just can’t take them out off school and have them train all day. I wish guys like Yorke and latapy would put up there own money and open an academy for gifted young footballers but that another topic

5. What will it take for our under 20 team to qualify for the under 20 youth world cup finals. Can Brian Williams take us there. Does he have the right players for the job, can we get by the Reggae Boyz - etc etc. The 2007 CONCACAF U-20 Final Round will have eight countries competing in two groups, with groups to be hosted by Panama (Group A: 17-21 January) and Mexico (Group B: 21-25 February). Joining the host nations in the CONCACAF U-20 Final Round are Costa Rica, Haiti, Guatemala, St. Kitts & Nevis, USA and another Caribbean team (Jamaica or Trinidad & Tobago), with the draw to determine the teams in each of the groups scheduled for late November.
A:The under 20 TEAM under Brain Williams has fallen short because off lack of preparations we all know that they had plans but no money its seem like the federation have motives on any thing they do I really believe they looking for excesses to fire the coach and other members of the staff think about it they never deliver on what the TD our coaches ask, when Things go bad TTFA use that as an example to fire the coach. Yes we need good coaches but if we don’t have a good talent pool and the required funds  the best coach in the world can’t help us our lack of preparation will continue to plague our football until a serious stand take place no more talking action that what we need we all the talk  but not action typical Trini style while we talking everybody else moving forward pretty soon we’ll see  two three World Cup qualifiers pass by and all we go hair is remember when we qualify in 2005.  This team should eating and sleeping football  another thing I notice wasn’t the assistant coaches they broth in was to help out with the youth teams what happen there I smell a rat.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2006, 02:07:03 PM by Bally »

« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2006, 03:13:15 PM »
1. What will it take for us to qualify for the 2007 Gold Cup. Any ideas, plans, your team, things you feel we can do - etc etc. The 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup™ is scheduled to take place 6-24 June in cities across the USA with venues to be announced in November.

Well, my first plan of action would be to assemble a north american based team including a local based team from Trinidad and Tobago and the uk/europe based squad. All teams are seperate until the final selection is made after the initial tournament. They would play together for three weeks which would help them defensively and offensively, then evidently they would come together at a neutral venue where they will face off in a triangular tournament. This allows the coach to view all players that can represent Trinidad and Tobago, it will also get them accustomed to playing against and with one another. After the final 22 to 25 players have been selected, they will embark on a series of training camps for another 2 weeks prior to the gold cup qualifying. Additionally all players should be training 120 minutes of football to fight the the tired syndrome. The players who cannot make all Gold Cup games should make this known to the coach and thew federation prior to qualifying and the tournament, chopping and adding players continuously will throw off the balance and also the cohesiveness of the team. We will then embark with these players to play two warm-ups games against world class opposition, preferrably from the south american continent. We should only tour with the national players who have made themselves available for all games, full commitment and dedication is required at all times in order for us to take our football to the next level.

It will take heart, commitment and desire from the players and the TTFF. Unwanted distractions like the impending player dispute with the ttff, must be resolved if we are to have a focused team that stands a chance of taking home some silverware. Also in order for us to win we must have a team which has gelled and has been playing together for a few weeks and knowone another well enough, notwitstanding  the coach must also know what he has and how he can come up with the best possible line-up according to the team we are playing. However, the most important element aside from the aforementioned listed is having a team together for a extended period of time training and gelling, without chopping and changing.
The best team possible for Trinidad and Tobago footbal at the moment in my opinion is: Marvin phillips, Clayton Ince, Brent Sancho, Nigel Daniel, Dennis Lawrence, Cyd Gray, Clyde Leon, Carlos Edwards, Chris Birchall,Kendall Jagdeosingh, Andre Touissant, Kerry Baptiste, Kerwyn "Hardest" Jemmott, Colin Samuel, Aurthis Whitley, Densil Theobald aka "Bleeder", Keon Daniel, Hayden Tinto, Andrei Pacheco, Stephan David, Dwight Yorke, Stern John, Jason Scotland, Kenwyn Jones, Cornell Glen and lastly Jerrol Jorbes.

I think they still have a chance to qualify, nothing is impossible, I feel the TTFF needs to pay more attention to our women's football and also greater investment is needed for further warm-ups and training sessions. Including a world class coach should also be employed to help the womens team, or at least Wim our current national Sr. team coach for the Soca Warriors in his off time in tt could at least give some advice for the ladies; maybe conduct practises and drills with them to help out the program, but like our men's program we need the TTFF administration to be visionaries, right now we are lacking that insight and foresight for better football.

It will take alot of heart and practise, better planning and also more players must be scouted for a better team. I think the players we currently have playing is not the best mix of players to take us forward. I also feel that the dutch coaches currently coaching in Trinidad and Tobago should be helping in terms of strategy, it is time to implement the systems of our senior team with our youth teams for continuity and preparation so the transition and workload is easier when these youths step up to the next level. In order for us to qualify we need a plan and also a team who plays together and stays together, right now in this off time the youth team should be doing fitness exercises to get their fitness levels to international standards, hence up to par. They should also be working with national coaches Van Diesen Wim to improve on areas of their game that need working on, with coaches who have coached and trained european professionals and the experience to guide these youths in the right direction. Most importantly, the youths have to want it as much as the supporters, they have to learn how to play smarter football in order to beat world class teams.

I think Brian Williams can take us there but with the right help and support, not all players are great coaches, I think he also needs to scout more players and have the side more competitive, they need to play against their seniors and better opponents more than once every few months. I think we can get by the reggae boyz, simply because traditionally we have always played smarter football than JA and they have always played more agressive football but with the right attitude, training and mindset we could beat any team in the caribbean on any given day because we have talent on the team already but we are missing components in the areas of defense and the striker position which could be filled with an open camp for over 3 weeks where the players can get it right and Williams could solidify a winning team.

God is de BOSS....
« Last Edit: November 18, 2006, 11:33:31 AM by TrinInfinite »

Offline Salim02

« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2006, 10:43:00 PM »
Let me know when that camp is. I'll be there.

Offline Baygo Boy

« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2006, 02:27:19 AM »

A: I will assemble the best local based, and US based players during the entire PFL/MLS/A-League off season (with a Xmas break) for full time training (hopefully without over-training). I will schedule 5 games (1 each month starting January) with national teams from Venezuela, Bolivia, USA, and for pace Egypt and Finland. I will then add the UK based as necessary ( for instance, if an assembled squad member is not handling his position with consistency the UK based in a like position with get the nod). Having any team training together for 4-6 months will greatly improve our chances of doing well. Also, my plan is to get us to the 2010 WC, and if we win a few tournaments along the way - then great. Forget all the excuses about our players being too slow - I will hire a full time US speed and conditioning expert.

A: See answer #1. I am not as familiar as I should be with most of our local based players.

A: To beat Mexico we have to utilize a 4-3-3 formation, (Mexico defenders are not as great as some may believe). Our defenders cannot use the flat system - they also have to be very physical against the kid early in the game. I will not start Tasha up top with Kennya - I will start her in midfield - that will keep Maribel in midfield and not up top to support the Kid. I will also assign Nadia  the job to pay attention to Monica Vergara, Vergara is a quality defensive midfielder, and if she is on her game will slow our attacks.  If we do get by Mexico - the USA will most likely beat us, just on fitness and pace. . In that case our only shot will be to beat Mexico, and get that 3rd place position (we can beat Panama, Jamiaca even Canada), and then beat the Japanese.
Apart from the above - I will hire me as the national woman's program director  ;). However, I am confident that our ladies will become one of the top 2 teams in CONCACAF by the time the next WC comes around.

A: Like my answer in #1 - I will keep them in training full time (the SSFL is ending soon) and will have them play against our top PFL teams, and senior pro teams from the region including South America. I will also consider having a few games against senior national teams from CFU.. I will also work agressively on overall team  speed, fitness and strength - using proven experts in those areas. You will be surprised how much improvement you can get in those areas in a few months.

A: A miracle, but I believe Brian can help the U-20's in the long term. I will give up on our U-20 WC campaign, and use them for our Olympic campaign. However, for the sake of the players - I will go through the motions. I don't believe our U-20 will beat JA. With Bora coaching JA's seniors - I am certain that their U-20 players are inspired with a lot to prove, and will be motivated, and a motivated JA team can beat ANY Concacaf team. However, I will continue to support our junior warriors.
« Last Edit: November 19, 2006, 11:01:22 AM by Flex »