June 15, 2024, 01:12:46 PM

Author Topic: $2.50 for a doubles!!!!!!!!  (Read 17764 times)

Offline breezers

• he who rise against poor ppl shal perish in d end
Re: $2.50 for a doubles!!!!!!!!
« Reply #60 on: March 20, 2006, 06:32:49 PM »
eat doubles
give thanks and praise
go make yuh think constructive and brave
because
it was found on kumar sanu's grave
he was the only doubles man in his days
me say
i'm serious
me nah make no joke
doh eat no dry doubles and choke
when yuh come to buy my doubles wash it down with ah coke
yes me serious me nah make joke

put in the bara
slap in the channa
then top it off with two scoop ah pepper
no mr doubles man me just say slight pepper
like this arsehole forget iz i come from mova

forget the rest

Puuulll Uppppppppppppp!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cross...Hangry....Miiisserrrable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ah big tune dat my youth!!
Soca Warriors, Holland And Barcelona,
BIG BIG TEAMS!!!!

« Reply #61 on: March 22, 2006, 02:18:39 PM »
eat doubles
give thanks and praise
go make yuh think constructive and brave
because
it was found on kumar sanu's grave
he was the only doubles man in his days
me say
i'm serious
me nah make no joke
doh eat no dry doubles and choke
when yuh come to buy my doubles wash it down with ah coke
yes me serious me nah make joke

put in the bara
slap in the channa
then top it off with two scoop ah pepper
no mr doubles man me just say slight pepper
like this arsehole forget iz i come from mova

forget the rest

thats some funny ish

Offline njp6000

« Reply #62 on: March 22, 2007, 03:42:54 AM »
dat musta been ah WEST ting
cause in dey EAST was ah red solo, ah cold mauby or these days ah sprite

actually it was a song!
Zan(before he was Zan) and Keron Boodoosingh sang it! it was kicks oui!
i forget the original song...they sang it to the beat of a real popular dub at the time.

Anybody has this tune.. or knows wah cd it on or someting so??? link me please thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) I'm talking about the remix with zan & keron.... not the original by dirtsman.....
« Last Edit: March 22, 2007, 03:47:00 AM by njp6000 »

« Reply #63 on: March 22, 2007, 05:06:28 AM »
true trini how much was for a juice?

so if u wanted 3 doubles dat was $60 tt !!!!!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>faints on  key board and subsequently types

"asdjfb[POFUBalfjbaLFJBA[foubafljabf;asljfb"

Dais some funny shit dey  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #64 on: March 22, 2007, 05:37:05 AM »
Why not $2.50?  The Doubles man has to live and feed his/her family.

Hello..Inflation.
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #65 on: March 22, 2007, 07:09:20 AM »
hahaha all yuh bring back ah thread from March 2006, all yuh good yes

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #66 on: March 22, 2007, 07:37:09 AM »
all of ah sudden i feeling reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeelly young..... ;D
thanks WestC, Capo and Pointman...please continue...girly feeling nice
wha happen you ent kno we are men of years

RESPECT sars  :beermug:.....ah still feeling like ah jus come out dey womb

now Cana if you feeling fresh out ah de womb...wha bout me? like i still waiting for my chromosomes to fuse! ;D i eh even know bout getting anything less that 2 dollars to go to school wit nah! and dis is in primary school!

When I start primary school, I remember getting a penny a day.  Who remember the big rong penny?  Ah used tuh get one ah dem and ah coulda buy bout 3 ting wid it.  Yeah....dat was back in 1867!!
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #67 on: March 22, 2007, 07:40:33 AM »
Alrighty here is dey deal

for anyone who sample at least 3 sets ah doubles throughtout Trinidad meaning east, west, north and south even central

What is you decision on the BEST doubles in Trinidad...
Now in Tobago, I only know know 1 doubles vendor by storebay.
If you reach dat far, well den include she.

One ANSWER only.

De doubles man by Piarco.  Me eh know how which one doh eh..if it have more dan one.  Meh brother-in-law take meh dey and it real good.  Apparently all de former BeeWee crue used tuh buy from he.  Doh know if de new Caribbean Airline followin suit!!
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

Offline noname

« Reply #68 on: March 22, 2007, 09:16:22 AM »

for anyone who sample at least 3 sets ah doubles throughtout Trinidad meaning east, west, north and south even central

One ANSWER only.

De doubles man by Piarco.  Me eh know how which one doh eh..if it have more dan one.  Meh brother-in-law take meh dey and it real good.  Apparently all de former BeeWee crue used tuh buy from he.  Doh know if de new Caribbean Airline followin suit!!

It have no better doubles than the doubles from the Debe doubles strip. Coconut chutney...and a red solo...
So i know this prob well established now in trini, but since when man putting chicken in doubles?

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #69 on: March 22, 2007, 09:22:48 AM »

One ANSWER only.

It have no better doubles than the doubles from the Debe doubles strip. Coconut chutney...and a red solo...
So i know this prob well established now in trini, but since when man putting chicken in doubles?

Coconut chutney?  Ah go have tuh try dat!  Ah not intuh de chicken doubles.  Dat is ah roti not doubles!!  >:(

« Reply #70 on: March 22, 2007, 01:19:34 PM »

One ANSWER only.

Coconut chutney?  Ah go have tuh try dat!  Ah not intuh de chicken doubles.  Dat is ah roti not doubles!!  >:(

:rotfl: ah chicken doubles, now ah hear everything!!!!  :rotfl:

« Reply #71 on: March 22, 2007, 03:23:20 PM »
Any doubles made north of Chaguanas is heresy. Talk done.

« Reply #72 on: March 23, 2007, 04:12:15 PM »
Any doubles made north of Chaguanas is heresy. Talk done.

That is ole talk.

The north have some real boss doubles. I can't say whet is the best but my fave is Sally from Independence Square. Apparently she is sauce and dem sister and she pulling that independence square beat for more than 20 years now.

She have it so good that she does only work a few days a week. It was real bliss back in Jan when I happen to see her.

Back in the day it was Sally and two brothers named Akie and Cleve who used to be holding it down before they build the promenade.

Offline john_public

« Reply #73 on: March 23, 2007, 06:45:44 PM »
de best is on chacon st, as u come out d exit of de mall there ( can`t remember de name), that is de best i come across.

i use to alwasy here about de debe but i try it and it eh really make me wanna move south, but they have some wicked saheena for sure  ;D ;D

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #74 on: March 24, 2007, 05:23:15 AM »
de best is on chacon st, as u come out d exit of de mall there ( can`t remember de name), that is de best i come across.

i use to alwasy here about de debe but i try it and it eh really make me wanna move south, but they have some wicked saheena for sure  ;D ;D

YES!!  Daise ah good one.  AH had dat one arready!!  It also have ah real good one in Woodbrook, actually two ah dem side by side, outside a rum shop on Roberts Street and ah cyar remember de cross street name.  It have some kinda bacchanal story bout how two ah dem end up side by side but ah cyar remember it now. 

« Reply #75 on: March 24, 2007, 01:13:46 PM »

De name Sauce come like a franchise oui.

I wonder if anybody ever write about this famed doubles franchise.....

Dey cud make money off de name alone   ;D

Offline noname

« Reply #76 on: March 25, 2007, 10:40:54 AM »

Sauce is all reputation...I eat there several times and it cyah hold no water to doubles elsewhere...Maybe they was good back in the day and I eat it too late but for all the reputation, waste of time and money.
Nevertheless, used to be one of the first place I stop for doubles when I coming back from Piarco.

« Reply #77 on: March 26, 2007, 07:36:42 AM »

Sauce is all reputation...I eat there several times and it cyah hold no water to doubles elsewhere...Maybe they was good back in the day and I eat it too late but for all the reputation, waste of time and money.
Nevertheless, used to be one of the first place I stop for doubles when I coming back from Piarco.

ah making it official....dey doubles man by Roundabout plaza aka Maritime Plaza aka before dey fly over hafta be dey best for me up to now...den again is long time me ain't taste ah doubles could be anyone coulda taste great at dat point.

steups....6 wid extra pepper and 3 apple j.
dey man was selling lime juice too and he have a little stand pipe tur wash ya hand and napkin.
well yes....

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #78 on: March 26, 2007, 07:49:17 AM »

ah making it official....dey doubles man by Roundabout plaza aka Maritime Plaza aka before dey fly over hafta be dey best for me up to now...den again is long time me ain't taste ah doubles could be anyone coulda taste great at dat point.

dey man was selling lime juice too and he have a little stand pipe tur wash ya hand and napkin.
well yes....

ah never eat doubles from dey....but dat Apple J songing good  ;D

« Reply #79 on: March 26, 2007, 11:48:10 PM »
Trinidad & Tobago Newsday
Monday, March 26 2007
What you can get for $1
LARA PICKFORD- GORDON

:
:

With money not going as far as it used to, and knowing that I will have to pay $1 more to get to and from home via taxi, I started wondering about prices and what can be purchased for $1. So I did a little survey in Port-of-Spain.

“Two celery for a dollar!” a vendor on Charlotte Street shouted. Her call was accurate. I asked a seller what I could get for one dollar. His response, “A piece of pumpkin.” The prices of the items he had on sale were as follows — potato 3lbs for $5, $3/lb for melongene, $3 a bag for onion, cucumber 2lbs/$3.

On Charlotte Street, 12 pimentos cost $2 as well as a bag of small sweet peppers.

In a grocery, finding items for a $1 was also not easy. Imagine a small pack of 10g black pepper was $1.40. Other seasonings were also above $1 and snacks were also above $1.

At a store specialising in snacks and sandwiches, I could purchase corn chips, cookies and chocolates, caramel pop corn for $1.

I did not even bother going into clothing, shoe, jewelry, food places to ask. The answer is obvious.

But I was boldfaced enough to approach the kiosk in a mall selling accessories for electronic items and was informed I could get a yard of soldering wire for $1.

At another kiosk selling cosmetics I could get a pack of hairpins. “That’s about it unfortunately,” the man behind the counter said.

I tested a few people with the question and got a range of responses — two 50 cents channa, two hops bread, a small lime, three mints, three ochros, and a “piper sandwich” — a pack of digestive biscuits.

One of my colleagues said wheat crisps. According to his reasoning the healthy fibre of the biscuits expands with fluid in the stomach so “for a $1 you can last just about a dollar and a half.”

When I told a man from Central that two pieces of celery were on sale for $1 he thought he should come to town. Of course all of this just reminds that a dollar does not go as far as it used to.

Decades ago, when there was no energy boom or many of the things that define our modern times, people actually were able to buy food items for cents.

A man in his 60s said in the late 1940s early 1950s you could buy a small piece of cheese for six cents, a tin of sardines for 19 cents, a quart of bread for 25 cents, beef cost 80 cents/lb, fish and shrimp was sold for two shillings.

Rice, peas and sugar were sold loose so people could purchase whatever they needed for less than $1.

I expect in the future when the dollar loses more buying power we will be lucky to get one stalk of celery. These days destitute people hardly beg for a dollar. Instead they ask passers by to purchase “something to eat” for them.

These days a five dollar bill is the equivalent of a dollar in terms of purchasing power. And even the $5 has limits in our booming economy. You could get two doubles but not a red Solo.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2007, 11:49:41 PM by dcs »

Offline noname

« Reply #80 on: March 27, 2007, 07:33:59 PM »

well yes....

Ahm....I go have to disagree with you on this one. IF is the same person we talking bout, that is probably the WORST I ever eat. But to each his/her own.