Congrats Stern.... De man is just a goal machine...
Curious to know people's opinion..
If KJ stayed with Sthampton, do you think he would have scored as many or more goals, and vice versa, if Stern stayed with Sunlun???
Personally I do not think KJ would have scored as much....As for Stern in EPL... undecided
Well, considering that KJ hit 15 last year, there's a chance he would have scored as much if he had stayed. However, thing is, Southampton seems to be a much weaker team this time around, so who knows how he would have been able to deal with the reduced service, assuming we all subscribe to the theory that Stern is much more of a "poacher, fox in the box player" and is likely to get more goals with half chances, defensive errors and the like.
KJ this season has scored 7 goals, 8 if you count his first one while still with Southampton. In absolute figures, that is not an exceptionally high amount when you consider it have about 23 men score more than that and 17 who already pass 10.
However, everybody recognises that Sunderland's setup is not the most encouraging one, and that he has done exceedingly well considering this is his first EPL season (I doh count the two cobo he get with Southampton back in the day) and when you factor in the number of assists he has.
However there is a strong chance Stern would not have done as well simply because he probably would not have been given a decent chance by Keane until after Christmas when Keane realised the poverty in his front line (remember KJ not there).
Given a fair shake I would have given him chances of having a more or less similar performance goal wise, but a less strong impact on the game i.e. less assists.
By the way, for the record anybody have an idea how many of Kenwyne's goals have been from outside of the box (free kick against Peru excepted)?