June 08, 2024, 05:21:41 AM

Author Topic: 'New signing' Carlos  (Read 2085 times)

'New signing' Carlos
« on: May 19, 2008, 08:11:55 AM »
www.sunderlandecho.com

Carlos Edwards goes into the close season break hoping he can come back as one of Roy Keane's 'new signings'.

The Sunderland manager is looking to spend anywhere up to £50m in the transfer market this summer in a bid to turn the club into an established top-flight force.

But the right-winger is keeping his fingers crossed that next season is the moment where he really bursts on to the Premier League stage.

Keane expected the Trinidad & Tobago international to be a key figure in Sunderland's campaign last season – the pacy winger having been voted as one of the Championship's players of the year as the Black Cats won promotion.

He was also the division's leading midfield player in the Actim Index contributing crosses and goals to both Luton Town and then Sunderland.

But his pre-season was ruined by a groin strain and his first Premiership campaign wrecked by a serious hamstring tear in the first week of the campaign followed by a broken leg.

The 29-year-old said: "It is great that the club has stayed up but it was not, for me, the season I would have liked.

"I was very excited about the Premier League and I wanted to go up and really make my mark but I spent a lot of time injured and it was very hard to regain my best form.

"Now I am targeting next season and I would love to show what I can do with a proper pre-season behind me and a good run of games in the side. I am confident I can do well in the Premier League and hopefully next season will be my best."

Sunderland struggled to replace Edwards – the club's only out-and-out right winger. He made only 13 appearances all season and was a shadow of the player who terrorised Championship defences.

Edwards is hoping that the T&T trio of himself, Kenwyne Jones and Dwight Yorke can make a significant contribution nexct season – although he admits that he has no idea whether Yorke will be back at the club next season.

He is keeping his fingers crossed that Yorke comes out of international retirement to play in his country's friendly against England on June 1 and then enjoys a final season in the top flight on Wearside.

He said: "I haven't spoken to him about the England games – he is pretty secretive about these things! But it would be fantastic if Dwight plays against England. It would be a fitting way to end his international career.

"He retired from international football the other year but it would be great if he comes out of retirement to play in this game against one of the best countries in the world – and against the country in which he has played so much of his football.

"He is a great player who has done well for Sunderland this season and is still good enough to play in the Premiership next year."

Offline Diambars

Re: 'New signing' Carlos
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2008, 10:12:06 AM »
York should return to Australia, that will be the best move for him at his age!

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2008, 12:11:01 PM »

Why do you think Australia is the best move for Dwight? Did he say that?  Even at Dwight's age he seems to be more fit and better adapted to the English premiership than many of the younger players on the team.  I would like to see him play another year in the premiership, but if he decides to play in Australia then thats cool too.   At the end of the day only Dwight Yorke truly knows the best move for Dwight Yorke.

« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2008, 01:53:26 PM »
Carlos better work hard during the off season ...he cant enjoy his last season. the off season work influences your season and often decides between bench and field. Carlos is a top class player and has showed that .... injury howeve, is no respector of persons.

« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2008, 08:22:20 PM »
[/quote

If Yorke get an opoprtunity to stay at Sunderland, how will going to Australia be a better move?  I ent get that one!

« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2008, 09:24:22 PM »

all yuh aint ketch it yet? he talking about York not we Yorke  :devil:

« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2008, 02:12:36 AM »

At what age ? Steupsssssss go and check out Maldini's age, his last few games he played for Milan dis season and read de reports about his performances. There are other players (de French defender at Barca) dat are still giving excellent performances week in, week out. Family, read a lil bit more nah, spend some more time wid de computer and pull up some constructive sites, dat will educate yuh on football and leave de porn sites alone. HIGHLY BLESSED.
« Last Edit: May 21, 2008, 01:19:06 AM by SUPA »