June 04, 2024, 09:08:18 AM

Author Topic: Kevaughn Connell on trial with Partick Thistle.  (Read 2997 times)

Kevaughn Connell on trial with Partick Thistle.
« on: July 29, 2008, 05:28:18 AM »
T&T star ready to prove his worth.
By: Bert Mitchell (The Evening Times).

Kevaughn Connell has pleaded with Partick Thistle boss Ian McCall to hand him in a deal. The Trinidad and Tobago internationalist was given an extension to his Firhill trial period.

The 25-year-old had a run out against Burnley last Monday and impressed for 30 minutes before tiring. But McCall decided to extend the trial on the basis of that promising display. The front man has been called up for international duty this week and hopes that doesn't dent his chances.

Connell said: "I think Thistle are a decent club and very professional."

"But I have an international against Haiti. And, although it is a friendly, it is vital for me as it will go along way to deciding if I play in the World Cup qualifier against Cuba in August. So the timing is not great."

Connell also featured for T&T against England in June when he came on as a second-half sub in Fabio Capello's side's 3-0 victory in Port of Spain. But he has had his hopes of making it in British football blighted by a summer injury.

The towering striker, who has played in France most recently, admitted: "The last time I played was in a friendly a month back for Trinidad, and I picked up an ankle injury and I have not been able to train or do anything until I played against Burnley last week.

"The first 25 minutes were good but after that I tired. I am hungry to play for Thistle. I am fast and strong, I score goals and I am also strong in the air."
« Last Edit: July 29, 2008, 06:04:08 AM by Flex »

Re: Kevaughn Connell on trial with Partick Thistle
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2008, 05:37:09 AM »
you will make it.

Re: Kevaughn Connell on trial with Partick Thistle
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2008, 05:55:40 AM »
Apparently Josh Johnson was on trial and played in that game as well.

Re: Kevaughn Connell on trial with Partick Thistle.
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2008, 06:06:10 AM »
hope they get through both of em

« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2008, 06:32:57 AM »

Kevaughn karma going to change soon...very soon

« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2008, 06:38:43 AM »
Ummm...Connell have a EC passport or something? Work permit laws doh apply to him?

« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2008, 07:31:50 AM »
Go get dem Kevaughn..Big Tingz in de horizon!

« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2008, 07:47:00 AM »
I like the look of Connell he impressed me...very mobile and good touch.

The last game he got injured he was losing the ball doing some unnecessary flick but he have quality.

« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2008, 07:56:46 AM »
Good luck brudder

« Reply #9 on: July 29, 2008, 08:52:21 AM »
I like the look of Connell he impressed me...very mobile and good touch.

The last game he got injured he was losing the ball doing some unnecessary flick but he have quality.

Touches, flick and touch could never be unnecessary to a Trini baller, daz like telling ronaldinho spanner is a waste of time  :devil:

« Reply #10 on: July 29, 2008, 08:57:58 AM »
"and I have not been able to train or do anything until I played against Burnley last week."

Kevaughn boy yuh does make me laugh

« Reply #11 on: July 29, 2008, 09:03:05 AM »
Ummm...Connell have a EC passport or something? Work permit laws doh apply to him?
Well he been in France fuh de last two years, so maybe he have dat sorted out.

« Reply #12 on: July 29, 2008, 09:05:24 AM »
Eat yuh food eh, but I eh sure that wildman Scottish brand is for Kevaughn...

« Reply #13 on: July 29, 2008, 10:00:41 AM »
T&T star ready to prove his worth.
By: Bert Mitchell (The Evening Times).

Kevaughn Connell has pleaded with Partick Thistle boss Ian McCall to hand him in a deal. The Trinidad and Tobago internationalist was given an extension to his Firhill trial period.

The 25-year-old had a run out against Burnley last Monday and impressed for 30 minutes before tiring. But McCall decided to extend the trial on the basis of that promising display. The front man has been called up for international duty this week and hopes that doesn't dent his chances.

Connell said: "I think Thistle are a decent club and very professional."

"But I have an international against Haiti. And, although it is a friendly, it is vital for me as it will go along way to deciding if I play in the World Cup qualifier against Cuba in August. So the timing is not great."

Connell also featured for T&T against England in June when he came on as a second-half sub in Fabio Capello's side's 3-0 victory in Port of Spain. But he has had his hopes of making it in British football blighted by a summer injury.

The towering striker, who has played in France most recently, admitted: "The last time I played was in a friendly a month back for Trinidad, and I picked up an ankle injury and I have not been able to train or do anything until I played against Burnley last week.

"The first 25 minutes were good but after that I tired. I am hungry to play for Thistle. I am fast and strong, I score goals and I am also strong in the air."

If i was connell i would have turned down the haiti game

« Reply #14 on: July 29, 2008, 10:07:02 AM »

Nope...they don't have the same laws as England regarding transfers of foreigners. In fact, everywhere on the continent easier than the UK.
The two years is not enough to qualify either...minimium is three and that is in Belgium or Poland and those places, not France. He get married or something?

Fli - What is thetake on the work permit scene..?

« Reply #15 on: July 29, 2008, 01:10:39 PM »
"and I have not been able to train or do anything until I played against Burnley last week."

Kevaughn boy yuh does make me laugh

« Reply #16 on: July 29, 2008, 05:11:29 PM »
guess he missing the game wednesday

« Reply #17 on: July 30, 2008, 04:26:20 PM »

Nope...they don't have the same laws as England regarding transfers of foreigners. In fact, everywhere on the continent easier than the UK.
The two years is not enough to qualify either...minimium is three and that is in Belgium or Poland and those places, not France. He get married or something?

Fli - What is thetake on the work permit scene..?

the man sorted...we go leave it at that   ;D

« Reply #18 on: July 30, 2008, 09:26:04 PM »
Consider it left  ;D

He look decent today,man.

« Reply #19 on: July 31, 2008, 01:31:15 PM »
Consider it left  ;D

He look decent today,man.

If them two runs at the defence constitutes a decent performance then i really dont know what to say.

He real set up avery john on de left today!

« Reply #20 on: July 31, 2008, 03:38:23 PM »
Decent is just below good in my books. So he wasn't good, but he wasn't bad...imo. Especially compared to everybody else who we have had on the left since 2002 probably?

« Reply #21 on: July 31, 2008, 04:02:31 PM »
i want to give him the benefit of the doubt and say it was the injury but he wasn't tracking back on that left wing at all, at all and the haitian right back was in he glee..

and when he get the ball he was lookin nervous so just giving it back to avery or passing it to the midfielder..

2nd half yuh could see like he get bouf at half time because he started trying to run at the defence and was getting kick down at will but he was earning free kicks which was positive.

I wouldn't be so quick to write him off, yuh could clearly see he have something to offer when running with the ball and at full fitness he could be a good asset on the left wing.

« Reply #22 on: July 31, 2008, 07:44:52 PM »
As u mention left wng when d goin and bring back Samuel