June 09, 2024, 07:09:31 AM

Author Topic: US-born returns to join TT Under-20s.  (Read 3411 times)

US-born returns to join TT Under-20s.
« on: December 27, 2008, 08:30:30 AM »
US-born returns to join TT Under-20s
T&T Newsday Reports.

Isaiah Ferguson, an American-born midfielder, is due to return home tomorrow to join the national Under-20 football team.

The Trinidad and Tobago youth team is currently preparing for the CONCACAF Final Round Under-20 Qualifiers in March, which will take place here in TT.

Ferguson played a few matches for the national team during their successful triumph in the 2008 Bmobile National Super League.

He also represented a few teams in his native United States, including New York Red Bull Academy, Schulz Academy and the Florida Nike Rush.

Re: US-born returns to join TT Under-20s.
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2008, 10:40:14 AM »
Yuh happy now Triniman?  :-X :devil:

« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2008, 03:39:03 PM »

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2008, 04:05:03 PM »
This U-20 tournament will the strongest ever. I expect USA and Mexico to come out strong as usual but the caribbean teams are getting more serious about these youth competitions, it seems.

What other big names will be in the TnT team?

Haitian midfielder Peterson Joseph joined the Portuguese club S.C. Braga. It's unlikely that Peterson will play the remaining rounds with Haiti. However, other players like Vorbe and Exantus will try to send Haiti to the next U-20 WC.
« Last Edit: December 27, 2008, 04:06:35 PM by Toussaint »
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2008, 04:40:14 PM »
This U-20 tournament will the strongest ever. I expect USA and Mexico to come out strong as usual but the caribbean teams are getting more serious about these youth competitions, it seems.

What other big names will be in the TnT team?
Haitian midfielder Peterson Joseph joined the Portuguese club S.C. Braga. It's unlikely that Peterson will play the remaining rounds with Haiti. However, other players like Vorbe and Exantus will try to send Haiti to the next U-20 WC.

We biggest claim to fame is a fella that rest a semi-spanner on Steven Gerrard....and he eh even get a call up yet.

One of the problems in T&T is that unlike football in Haiti, most  "professional" teams save San Juan Jabloteh don't give the most talented youths much playing time. And on top of that that the more mediocre players with connectons to the establishment  are often chosen for national duty over the more talented ones.

But overall we are accumulating a larger pool of players than in the past and the team will be strengthened considerably in defence and have a better forward line.

Some payers who were "big names" before like Leston Paul and Stephen Knox might see a diminshed role in the team due to the arrival of more effective players.

« Last Edit: December 27, 2008, 05:09:41 PM by ZANDOLIE »

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2008, 08:37:04 PM »
Thanks, Zando.

The problem of mediocre players with connections also exist in Haiti but not quite at youth level.
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #6 on: December 27, 2008, 10:05:14 PM »
Hmmm..I remember Ferguson was part of the last U-17 team that qualified for the World Cup...

« Reply #7 on: December 27, 2008, 10:13:16 PM »
Well we win some we lose some, I guess!

« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2008, 10:37:18 AM »
That's only temporary,like all the others who eventually choose the u.s.a.

« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2008, 09:19:46 PM »

Mostly true, but this kid truly wants to play for T&T.  I know him and his dad personally and he expressed the interest in playing for trini.

« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2008, 10:30:07 AM »
Dat is until we throw him under d bus.

« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2008, 11:01:28 AM »

Mostly true, but this kid truly wants to play for T&T.  I know him and his dad personally and he expressed the interest in playing for trini.

Where is he most comfortable in the midfield? Just wondering if he could take up Maund's role on the left wing as we may be missing some depth on that side

« Reply #12 on: December 29, 2008, 11:12:16 AM »
Nah we eh go miss Maud u eh hear it have nuff players he rob in makin d team.

« Reply #13 on: December 29, 2008, 11:45:19 AM »

Yuh done see Triniman cuss me and yuh want to start ting again ;D

But wait....ent this youth doing the same thing as Maun?What yuh say TM; ban him from the team?  8)

« Reply #14 on: December 29, 2008, 12:31:00 PM »

yeah weary and they being underemployed to ent

« Reply #15 on: December 29, 2008, 02:08:47 PM »

Where is he most comfortable in the midfield? Just wondering if he could take up Maund's role on the left wing as we may be missing some depth on that side

He is a attacking midfielder/foward, and from my understanding, Maud was a defensive midfielder and playing stopper for Notre Dame.  Remember, Isiah did not make the WC team, he was on the CONCACAF squad that qualified for the WC but did not actually make the WC team for whatever reasons.

« Reply #16 on: December 29, 2008, 06:42:00 PM »
Nah d players he rob unemploy.

« Reply #17 on: December 29, 2008, 10:29:53 PM »

He is a attacking midfielder/foward, and from my understanding, Maud was a defensive midfielder and playing stopper for Notre Dame.  Remember, Isiah did not make the WC team, he was on the CONCACAF squad that qualified for the WC but did not actually make the WC team for whatever reasons.

Thanks for the info :beermug:

Maund played left wing/outside mid in WC and he and Micah Lewis on the right wing we our most effective players there, IMHO. With Maund gone if Ferguson could fill an attacking wide left role in front of Akeem Adams he might occupy a more permanent position, all things considered equal.

« Reply #18 on: January 02, 2009, 03:23:32 PM »
dane roberts can play on the left

Offline truehaitian

« Reply #19 on: January 03, 2009, 06:43:54 PM »
Is there a friendly game scheduled this week between Trinidad and Haiti? did you year any thing..? I heard this from some haitian fans?

« Reply #20 on: January 03, 2009, 07:11:06 PM »
Is there a friendly game scheduled this week between Trinidad and Haiti? did you year any thing..? I heard this from some haitian fans?

Dat would b gr8 we have not heard anyting since d Vincey outing and nutten bout d Brazil trip.