June 15, 2024, 03:34:42 PM

Author Topic: We didn't notice $175,000  (Read 1201 times)

We didn't notice $175,000
« on: January 14, 2009, 12:43:27 PM »
Couple: We didn't notice $175,000 bank error
Cops arrest pair who allegedly bought home when cash appeared in account

BLOOMSBURG, Pa. - A Pennsylvania couple is behind bars after police say they failed to call the bank when a glitch put an extra $175,000 in their account.

Authorities say 50-year-old Randy Pratt and 36-year-old Melissa Pratt instead withdrew the money, quit their jobs and moved to Florida.

They were buying a house in the Orlando area when the mistake was traced.

The two were arraigned Tuesday on theft and other charges and jailed in lieu of $100,000 bail. A public defender was being assigned.

A $1,772.50 deposit showed up in their FNB Bank account last summer as $177,250.
Police say Melissa Pratt said her husband, a roofing installer, often got large checks and she wasn't aware of any error.

Re: We didn't notice $175,000
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2009, 01:41:22 PM »
Yeah right....

« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2009, 02:11:11 PM »
for dem to say that they didn't know it was a mistake is silly.  how come they never quit their jobs, move to florida and buy house any of the other times they receive large checks?

what I find it interesting is that you could be in contravention of the law for spending cash that the bank made available to you.  I guess that's what does be in the fine print of whatever you sign when you open the account.

« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2009, 03:14:02 PM »
they quit their jobs over $175K??? they must live a meager lifestyle.

« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2009, 07:36:17 PM »
 ??? how dumb move 2 somewhere dat eh have no extradition reaty. Dat eh include Florida.

« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2009, 07:51:34 PM »

i find that is garbage.
money in the account some people doh even check for years.
since when u responsible for checking deposits....anybody could deposit money into an account anonymously.

who does get jail when the bank deposit $177.25 instead and it never detected?

steupse

I wonder if they could sue since they make all decisions based on wrong information the bank give dem

« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2009, 11:30:55 AM »
The only way they could be legit is if they already had that kinda money in the account before they made the withdrawal.