May 23, 2024, 09:47:57 AM

Author Topic: English FA Cup quarterfinal draw.......much in store for Swansea  (Read 2967 times)

English FA Cup quarterfinal draw.......much in store for Swansea
« on: February 15, 2009, 04:41:36 PM »
www.skysports.com

Manchester United's reward for beating Derby County is a quarter-final away tie at either Swansea City or Fulham, while Everton will play either West Ham or Middlesbrough at Goodison Park following their impressive win over Aston Villa earlier on Sunday.

Everton were highly impressive as they claimed a 3-1 victory over Villa and while David Moyes has played down talk of cup glory, a home tie in the quarter-final will surely encourage the Scot.

United always had too much for Derby at Pride Park and a 4-1 victory will only boost growing confidence at Old Trafford, as Sir Alex Ferguson's side continue to chase five trophies.

A day of stalemates on Saturday saw only Chelsea book safe passage to the competition's last eight, via a 3-1 win at Watford, and Guus Hiddink's side will now play away from Stamford Bridge against either Blackburn or Coventry, who drew 2-2.

The Sky Blues were just moments away from winning at Ewood Park but Christopher Samba's injury-time goal saw Rovers claim a 2-2 draw.

Chelsea beat Blackburn in the semi-final en route to their cup triumph two years ago with Michael Ballack scoring the winner in extra-time.

Arsenal play a fourth round replay against Cardiff City at Emirates Stadium on Monday, and should they win through Burnley await in the fifth round.

The winner of that tie will play either Sheffield United or Hull City, who could not be separated at Bramall Lane on Saturday, at the quarter-final stage.

FA Cup quarter-final draw:

Blackburn or Coventry v Chelsea

Swansea or Fulham v Manchester United

Cardiff/Arsenal or Burnley v Sheffield United or Hull City

Everton v West Ham or Middlesbrough

Ties to be played on the weekend of March 7-8.

Re: English FA Cup quarterfinal draw.......much in store for Swansea
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2009, 04:51:21 PM »
I've been waiting for this draw all day.
Swansea will crush Fulham and then embarass Man U.

Scotland will become the toast of England.
William Wallace who?

« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2009, 04:54:46 PM »

William Wallace who?

boy, how one minute u does seem so sensible and then all of a sudden u go post something like that?

;)

« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2009, 04:56:24 PM »

William Wallace who?

boy, how one minute u does seem so sensible and then all of a sudden u go post something like that?

;)

my turn will come when Swansea meet Chelsea in the FA Cup Finals.

« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2009, 04:59:46 PM »

William Wallace who?

:devil: :D

« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2009, 05:00:06 PM »

William Wallace who?

;)

yeah but that would be something too see.....................no, ah mean even as a Man U fan, who jus happen to be trini.............all jokes aside, come on now? :devil:

« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2009, 05:54:43 PM »
steups...Hard lucks Scotty...prepare for the toughest night of your life

Utd 3-0  Swansea are good...but we should be too much to handle....their defense kind of suspect and our defense kind of awesome so

« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2009, 06:59:59 PM »

William Wallace who?
take it ez mel  ;D

« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2009, 07:01:52 PM »
wait nah like swnasea play fulham yesterday and win ::)

« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2009, 07:27:00 PM »
wait nah like swnasea play fulham yesterday and win ::)

Cosign checkin eggs in fowl bottom

« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2009, 08:02:23 PM »
ManU is my team but if they play against Swansea I will have to support the swans.

« Reply #11 on: February 15, 2009, 08:18:32 PM »
ManU is my team but if they play against Swansea I will have to support the swans.

y?

« Reply #12 on: February 15, 2009, 08:28:12 PM »
got to b kiddin.

« Reply #13 on: February 15, 2009, 08:35:19 PM »
got to b kiddin.

If any team with ah Trini on it plays against ManU I will support that team for the day.

« Reply #14 on: February 15, 2009, 08:37:11 PM »
got to b kiddin.

If any team with ah Trini on it plays against ManU I will support that team for the day.

wait til KJ go Chelsea next year.  :D

« Reply #15 on: February 15, 2009, 08:46:08 PM »
so seriously, no one is the least bit interested in seeing if scotty can give a top flight Prem defense some hell, ah mean seriously ??? ??? ??? if dey get past fulham, that is, but still.....................

« Reply #16 on: February 15, 2009, 08:53:28 PM »
Fulham going to collect a sound cutarse from Swansea in the replay. Swansea playing the same brand all season - big side or small side. Scotty catch fire and playing like a beast. If Gower finishing was more precise, we wouldve been salivating over a Swansea vs Man U matchup since this afternoon. Soon though.

« Reply #17 on: February 15, 2009, 08:55:53 PM »
swansea shoulda take the opportunity to kill that fulham side when they had the chance..

now they have to play the return leg away from home where fulham are stingy in defence and will know what they up against..

that said, i would love to see scotty take on man utd in the cup.

« Reply #18 on: February 16, 2009, 07:29:29 AM »
Man it look like for the first time in 28 years I go have to ditch the Red Devils...

Fergie forgive me for I am about to sin.....

Ah hope scotty do that move he did this weekend on ferdinand and neville in one smooth motion and put it past Van DeSar

« Reply #19 on: February 16, 2009, 08:22:44 AM »
Man it look like for the first time in 28 years I go have to ditch the Red Devils...

Fergie forgive me for I am about to sin.....

Ah hope scotty do that move he did this weekend on ferdinand and neville in one smooth motion and put it past Van DeSar

Right now I just hope that they beat Fulham.

« Reply #20 on: February 16, 2009, 09:00:57 AM »
steups...real utd fans boy

Hard lucks Scotty... but on March 7th your just another opponent for me... i hope you score 1 but once we win

The only way i will not support man utd is if they play the tnt national team

« Reply #21 on: February 16, 2009, 09:44:37 AM »
steups...real utd fans boy

Hard lucks Scotty... but on March 7th your just another opponent for me... i hope you score 1 but once we win

The only way i will not support man utd is if they play the tnt national team

Right on Mags!

« Reply #22 on: February 16, 2009, 03:47:12 PM »

William Wallace who?

Fulham have been atrocious on the road this season, in terms of away form they rank in the bottom 3 HOWEVER only ManU, Liverpoool and Man City have been better than them at home.

If you're expecting an easy win for Swansea in the replay you're sadly mistaken.

Home and away league form here: http://www.4thegame.com/football-statistics/premiership/tables/ha_form.html