June 13, 2024, 03:44:55 AM

Author Topic: Make way for Chinese weekly newspaper  (Read 2422 times)

Offline Michael-j

Make way for Chinese weekly newspaper
« on: March 22, 2010, 11:59:28 AM »
Make way for Chinese weekly newspaper
Yvonne Webb
Published: 22 Mar 2010
http://guardian.co.tt/features/life/2010/03/22/make-way-chinese-weekly-newspaper

With a growing Chinese population in T&T, a group of Chinese businessmen are moving to create history by establishing a local Chinese newspaper to cater to their needs. Information Minister Neil Parsanlal will launch the paper, T&T Chinese Weekly News, on Thursday at Dim Sum King Restaurant, Southland Mall, San Fernando. One of the main men behind the publication is well known businessman and entertainer Johnny Kwok Keung Chow. Chow will serve as editor in chief of the newspaper, while his partner Joe Chan will perform the role of associate editor. In an interview at the newspaper’s office at Southland Mall last Friday, Chow, a native of Hong Kong who migrated to T&T in 1974, said during his travels around the world he has observed that in most countries where there is a considerable Chinese population, there is a tendency to have their own publication.

In T&T, there are close to 20,000 Chinese nationals, exclusive of the construction workers, who are employed on various UDeCoTT projects, but there are no newspapers catering to this community, Chow said. “I have been longing to see a Chinese publication company in T&T, but somehow or the other, it has never happened,” he explained. Chow, the popular chef on the local programme Chin Chow’s Kitchen, which was aired on the now defunct TTT during the 1980’s and 1990’s, said their breakthrough came last year while they were awaiting the arrival of the present Chinese Ambassador Yang You Ming at the Piarco International Airport. “Joe and I met Mr Chiu, who is our chairman, and he suggested that we do something, such as produce a paper, as a contribution to the Chinese population here. Joe and I were obliged to make it happen and we did the planning, we produced a dummy or a prototype and on March 25 we will be launching it at a Curtain Pulling ceremony,” Chow said.

The 32-page tabloid, which will be written in Chinese, will be distributed once per week, on a Wednesday, in areas where there is a strong Chinese presence. He said the newspaper will have its share of local news, international news, news on China, sports, as well as entertainment, business and finance and features related to food and beverages, new trends in fashion, automobiles, new gadgets and movie reviews. The first edition will be distributed for free on the day of the launch. Chow said with advertising support from the Chinese business community and from local entrepreneurs as well, they are hoping to increase the number of pages to 40 in the not-too distant future. He said there are also plans in the pipeline to produce two magazines, one in English and the other in Chinese, by year’s end. He said if the products prove to be feasible, then they will establish their own press to print their products.

Chan said, “the main purpose of this launch is that we want to connect with the Chinese society, business-wise, family-wise. To share the good news, bad news, anything that comes out, either locally or internationally, from China, Hong Kong, Taiwan. Anything happens, we want to let them know. If they have any problems, we can tell them where to go, who to speak to, without encountering any problems or have people take advantage of them because of the language barrier.”

Re: Make way for Chinese weekly newspaper
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2010, 07:14:47 PM »
谁人士称,1马克嗯想学英语的一些强有力的女孩男孩马克来赚钱??

不,卫生署想回家去,在华人公会石灰和游戏卡?!?!

葡萄酒和谁回家说 oui!!!

*steups*

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2010, 11:03:41 AM »

葡萄酒和谁回家说 oui!!!

*steups*
Way Dutty
give meh a translation breddah
I guess it is like Toronto Metro and 24 hour
paid for by advertisers

« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2010, 11:31:19 AM »
I look forward to reading this. The Chinese in T&T are a bit of an enigma to me.

« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2010, 11:55:25 AM »
I look forward to reading this. The Chinese in T&T are a bit of an enigma to me.

Jah Gol I eh know yuh could read Chinese....

The 32-page tabloid, which will be written in Chinese, will be distributed once per week, on a Wednesday, in areas where there is a strong Chinese presence.

« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2010, 12:29:16 PM »
Why they doh go back to China?
Plenty newspapers there for them to read.

« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2010, 12:30:06 PM »

yeah but they're all censored over there.

« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2010, 12:38:43 PM »

Chinese Sunday Punch   :o   :rotfl:

« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2010, 12:50:11 PM »

Chinese Sunday Punch   :o   :rotfl:

I all for a lil female asian skin.... but dutty obviously you uses a simplified chinese to english translator to post yuh point.... some of the characters are a little off but I get it doh..

« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2010, 12:50:58 PM »
I now read it properly. No even an English section .

« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2010, 01:01:05 PM »

Way Dutty
paid for by advertisers

Boy me eh know what dat mean, I see it tatooed on a stripper in de spearmint rhino...so ah post it

« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2010, 03:33:53 PM »

Way Dutty
paid for by advertisers

Boy me eh know what dat mean, I see it tatooed on a stripper in de spearmint rhino...so ah post it

lawd have mercy :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #12 on: March 23, 2010, 04:54:53 PM »
real kicks :rotfl:

« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2010, 05:40:10 PM »

Why you don't go back to T&T some may ask

Everyone living in somebody else country.

If the locals don't want to work, then give the work away to someone who willing...

« Reply #14 on: March 26, 2010, 08:14:15 PM »

葡萄酒和谁回家说 oui!!!

*steups*
:rotfl: :rotfl:  watch how they go be cussing we and thing in we own country and aint even knowing it.

« Reply #15 on: March 27, 2010, 06:49:29 AM »

葡萄酒和谁回家说 oui!!!

*steups*
:rotfl: :rotfl:  watch how they go be cussing we and thing in we own country and aint even knowing it.

They do it here in the US.... who is TnT....!

« Reply #16 on: March 27, 2010, 10:32:05 AM »
Its about time.