June 04, 2024, 04:20:14 AM

Author Topic: Narrow 1-0 victory for T&T over Antigua.  (Read 3202 times)

Narrow 1-0 victory for T&T over Antigua.
« on: September 20, 2010, 05:25:57 AM »
Warriors beat Antigua.
Narrow 1-0 victory for T&T
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express).

Left-footed Defence Force striker Devon Jorsling got the only goal as a scrappy Trinidad and Tobago senior national football team continued to struggle under coach Russell Latapy.

Yesterday, Jorsling converted a 70th minute tap-in to give the Soca Warriors a 1-0 victory in their friendly international against Antigua & Barbuda, at the Antigua Recreation Ground. Preparing for the Digicel Caribbean Cup, the Soca Warriors face St Lucia tomorrow. 

Latapy's 20-man T&T squad was without key players, goalie Marvin Phillip, Kerry Baptiste, Carlyle Mitchell, Makan Hislop, Trent Noel and Hayden Tinto, after Joe Public FC requested that their players be excluded because of the Concacaf Champions League match against Guatemala club, Municipal on Thursday.

Antigua & Barbuda could have gone ahead in yesterday's friendly. They won a 57th minute penalty when defender Kern Cupid handled in the penalty area. However, Randolph Burton kicked straight down the centre of the penalty area and had his shot saved by T&T goalie Jan Michael Williams, who dived to the right and saved with his feet.

Following the penalty miss, T&T went close to scoring through midfielder Houghton Hector. Clyde Leon then made his return to the T&T team when coming on for right-winger Kevon Carter in the 68th minute.

T&T had goalie Williams to thank for the win. He twice stopped Antigua striker Peter Byers.

Re: Narrow 1-0 victory for T&T over Antigua.
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2010, 07:09:43 AM »
LINEUP
1. Jan-Michael Williams
5. Kern Cupid
19. Daneil Cyrus
14. Joevin Jones
6. Keston Williams
7. Hughtun Hector
11. Kevon Carter (2. Clyde Leon 67')
8. Jamal Clarence (13. Jason Marcano 46')
9. Devon Jorsling (17. Jamal Gay 70')
15. Lester Peltier (4. Ataullah Guerra 62')
10. Anthony Wolfe

UNUSED SUBS
3. Aklie Edwards
12. Keron Cummings
18. Densill Theobald
21. Kevin Graham,
16. Jesse Stewart

« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2010, 07:47:30 AM »
Tings lookin up I  like d 1st name in d unused subs. I know kiffy wife have 2 comfort him 4 d 3rd name.

« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2010, 08:37:28 AM »
Tings lookin up I  like d 1st name in d unused subs. I know kiffy wife have 2 comfort him 4 d 3rd name.
look when yuh at the bottom of the barrel ...you have no choice but to look up

« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2010, 08:47:58 AM »
look when yuh at the bottom of the barrel ...you have no choice but to look up

Not convince we reach ROCK BOTTOM YET. We still on a free fall.

Offline lil damo

« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2010, 08:58:35 AM »
We wanted Latapy to try other players and it seemed like he did. Did any of the new players do better than the ones they replaced>> Did we have any outstanding performances last night>> 

« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2010, 09:01:17 AM »
We wanted Latapy to try other players and it seemed like he did. Did any of the new players do better than the ones they replaced>> Did we have any outstanding performances last night>> 

WE WINNNNNNNN

« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2010, 09:10:02 AM »

WE WINNNNNNNN

No disrespect meant to Antigua......but we supposed to beat them

« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2010, 09:27:22 AM »

WE WINNNNNNNN

No disrespect meant to Antigua......but we supposed to beat them

Where dat written

« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2010, 10:01:04 AM »
JORSLING'S GOAL GIVES T&T 1-0 WIN OVER ANTIGUA
Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

Trinidad and Tobago’ s Men Senior team broke their three-match winless streak with a slim 1-0 victory over Antigua/Barbuda at the Antigua Recreation Ground on Sunday.

A Devorn Jorsling 70th minute goal gave the Russell Latapy coached team the victory as they continue their build up to the Digicel Caribbean Cup later this year.
T&T needed a win to shake off a series of less than convincing performances in their last three matches which included defeats to Jamaica and Panama and a 0-0 draw with Belize.

Latapy had several new starters in his team including National Under 23 striker Juma Clarence who made his senior international debut while Lester Peltier and Anthony Wolfe also made their returns.

The lone goal came when Ataulla Guerra made a surging run down the flank before crossing for Hughtun Hector. His effort deflected into the path of Jorsling who made no mistake from close up.Goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams saved a 57th minute penalty from Randolph Burton after Kern Cupid handled inside the box.

Latapy had Defence Force’s Ross Russell as his assistant coach.

“Overall I think we deserved the victory but we should have won more convincingly. I’ happy for the win but we need to win by a bigger margin. The main focus is getting ready for the Digicel Cup and hopefully we can put in an even better performance against St Lucia in the next match,” Jorsling told TTFF Media after the win.
T&T faces St Lucia on Tuesday at the same venue. The team will also travel to Guyana to play their senior team on September 26 and Jamaica in Kingston on  October 10.

T&T line up
Jan Michael Williams (1)
Keston Williams (6)
Kern Cupid (5)
Jovin Jones (14)
Daneil Cyrus (19)
Lester Peltier (15)/Ataulla Guerra (4)- 62nd
Hughtun Hector (7)
Kevon Carter (11)/Clyde Leon (2) - 67th
Anthony Wolfe (10)
Devorn Jorsling (9)/ Jamal Gay (17)- 70th
Juma Clarence (8)/ Jason Marcano (13) - 46th

Substitutes not used

Kevin Graham (21), Jesse Stewart (16), Aklie Edwards (3), Keron Cummings (12), Densill Theobald (18)

« Reply #10 on: September 20, 2010, 10:05:19 AM »
poor result... this might be the nail in the coffin for latas, sorry to say, he needs to take a rest and go back to educating himself and building experience outside of tt football

« Reply #11 on: September 20, 2010, 10:50:52 AM »
Why yuh feel dey look scrappy?.... No comment

Offline Arazi

« Reply #12 on: September 20, 2010, 12:00:58 PM »
Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

T&T line up
Jan Michael Williams (1)
Keston Williams (6)
Kern Cupid (5)
Jovin Jones (14)
Daneil Cyrus (19)
Hughtun Hector (7)
Anthony Wolfe (10)

Substitutes not used

Kevin Graham (21), Jesse Stewart (16), Aklie Edwards (3), Keron Cummings (12), Densill Theobald (18)

Amazing this line up looks like one of the better local teams Latapy put out...including some names ppl have been clamouring for...Akile bench and all and we still eh look good? things that make yuh go hmmm ent?

« Reply #13 on: September 20, 2010, 12:58:32 PM »
LOL WE WIN ???:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #14 on: September 20, 2010, 01:14:57 PM »

Subs not used: - 21.Kevin Graham, 16.Jesse Stewart, 3.Aklie Edwards, 12.Keron Cummings, 18.Densill Theobald.

# 3 and # 18 please!

« Reply #15 on: September 20, 2010, 01:24:48 PM »
poor result... this might be the nail in the coffin for latas, sorry to say, he needs to take a rest and go back to educating himself and building experience outside of tt football
Shouldn't there be a Amen or Ameen or Selah or something at the end of that pray. Phew boy.. yuh gettin quite predictable.

« Reply #16 on: September 20, 2010, 01:28:00 PM »

:whistling: :whistling:

Substitutes not used

Densill Theobald (18)

;D ;D

« Reply #17 on: September 20, 2010, 01:38:06 PM »
Looks like the days when we used to give teams like Antigua at least 3 in their own yard and about 6 when they visited ours are now ancient history! 

Ah wonder if Russell remember them days? :-\
And that was also with a local coach!!  ;)

« Reply #18 on: September 20, 2010, 04:57:52 PM »

Bleeder would have made de difference.. right Kiffys ?    :D

« Reply #19 on: September 20, 2010, 05:12:18 PM »
Last few weeks looks like Jovin Jones and Daneil Cyrus have done particularly well, hopefully  RL could blend them een with the overseas pros when the time come.

« Reply #20 on: September 20, 2010, 05:37:08 PM »
Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

Things that make you go "Hmm"

When did his appointment happen?

« Reply #21 on: September 20, 2010, 05:39:47 PM »
Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

Does not matter too much as change is coming!  ;)

« Reply #22 on: September 20, 2010, 06:24:56 PM »
Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

T&T line up
Jan Michael Williams (1)
Keston Williams (6)
Kern Cupid (5)
Jovin Jones (14)
Daneil Cyrus (19)
Hughtun Hector (7)
Anthony Wolfe (10)

Substitutes not used

Amazing this line up looks like one of the better local teams Latapy put out...including some names ppl have been clamouring for...Akile bench and all and we still eh look good? things that make yuh go hmmm ent?

hmmm and its some of these guys first time with the national team under latapy Anthony Wolfe has been out of the loop Lester peltier Clarence and Jamal gay first call last minute ...

Offline Jay10

« Reply #23 on: September 20, 2010, 08:19:46 PM »
Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

Does not matter too much as change is coming!  ;)

He was on d bench in d Panama game also...

‘Porridge’: Antigua & Barbuda gave good account
« Reply #24 on: September 21, 2010, 07:06:53 AM »
‘Porridge’: Antigua & Barbuda gave good account
By Neto Baptiste (Antigua Observer)

Head coach of the senior national football team, Rowan “Porridge” Benjamin, said that Antigua & Barbuda gave a good account of themselves when they took on one of the Caribbean’s football giants, Trinidad & Tobago in a friendly match on Sunday.

Antigua & Barbuda lost by a one-nil margin to the visitors when they played in the opening match of a double-header at Antigua Recreation Grounds (ARG).

The lone strike came from the boot of Devon Jorsling in minute 79 after Antigua & Barbuda’s Randolph “Etty” Burton wasted an opportunity earlier in the half to put his team ahead from the penalty spot.

“I think that the guys gave it their best shot and I look at it as a reasonable performance and it was disturbing to see that opportunity (penalty) not scored and I think that we have identified the problem and that it’s just a matter of going back to training and working with it,” he said.

“The team moved the ball around well, especially in the first half, but t we over-played it a bit in the second half, especially in our defensive third of the field when we should be pushing up more and playing more forward passes.”

Trinidad and Tobago seemed the more settled team and capitalised on the many Antigua & Barbuda mistakes to create more open looks throughout the contest.

Coach Russell Latapy said a number of factors hindered his team from playing to its full potential, but added they were a young team and, in time, will come into their own.

“This is a young team; we are in the process of rebuilding in Trinidad and Tobago football so we have to give young players the opportunity to come out and play international matches. The match was a hard-fought one. Antigua came out, playing at home, fought well and made it really difficult for us,” said the T&T coach.

“The playing surface is not really conducive to the way that we want to play which is to get the ball down and pass it around and it was really the best of conditions, but the players showed a lot of character and a lot of guts so I am quite happy with the victory,” Latapy said.

Trinidad and Tobago will take on St Lucia today in what is a tri-nation friendly arrangement between the three countries as they prepare for next month’s Digicel Caribbean Cup. The contest will be played at ARG and will start at 6:30 pm.