June 16, 2024, 01:30:24 PM

Author Topic: This is what is missing from our program A Trinidad Focus  (Read 1448 times)

This is what is missing from our program A Trinidad Focus
« on: December 20, 2005, 03:18:36 PM »
We just want to sit around and wait for FIFA window to play 3 games leading up to the world cup and have a 1  month camp before it start.

Why not play some games in the mean time with the local based to big up some football hype in the nation itself.

We cannot get the foreign based well fine

But what about all the other second 11 players why not work with them

Donovan, Johnson head 30-man training camp roster that includes Adu

December 20, 2005

CHICAGO (AP) -- Landon Donovan and Eddie Johnson head a 30-man roster announced Tuesday for the U.S. soccer team's first training camp of 2006, and 16-year-old Freddy Adu was invited to practice with the group for the first time.

Donovan led the Americans with six goals this year. Johnson scored eight goals in his first eight games with the national team but missed much of the year because of an injured toe.

ADVERTISEMENT

Adu also is eligible to play for Ghana, a first-round opponent of the United States at the World Cup, but has said repeatedly he intends to remain in the U.S. program.

Only one European-based player was picked, defender Heath Pearce of Denmark's FC Nordsjaelland. He made his national team debut last month in a 1-1 tie at Scotland.

Players will start practice Jan. 4 at Carson, Calif., as many try to earn spots on U.S. coach Bruce Arena's 23-man World Cup roster. The United States has exhibition games against Canada on Jan. 22 at San Diego, Norway on Jan. 29 at Carson, Calif., and Japan on Feb. 10 at San Francisco. Another game might be scheduled for Feb. 19 in the Dallas area.

"We view this camp and the games in January and February as critical toward our preparation for Germany," Arena said.

The U.S. team will have its Europe-based players for a game there March 1 against an opponent yet to be determined. The Americans also play at Germany on March 22.

At the World Cup, the United States plays the Czech Republic, Italy and Ghana in the first round.

The full roster:

Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan (Chivas USA), Kevin Hartman (Los Angeles), Matt Reis (New England), Jonny Walker (Columbus).

Defenders: Chris Albright (Los Angeles), Jimmy Conrad (Kansas City), Todd Dunivant (Los Angeles), Frankie Hejduk (Columbus), Ugo Ihemelu (Los Angeles), Chad Marshall (Columbus), Heath Pearce (FC Nordsjaelland, Denmark), Eddie Pope (Salt Lake).

Midfielders: Freddy Adu (D.C.), Brian Carroll (D.C.), Ricardo Clark (Houston), Clint Dempsey (New England), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles), Justin Mapp (Chicago), Kyle Martino (Columbus), Pablo Mastroeni (Colorado), Pat Noonan (New England), Ben Olsen (D.C.), Santino Quaranta (D.C.), Steve Ralston (New England).

Forwards: Brian Ching (Houston), Nate Jaqua (Chicago), Eddie Johnson (Dallas), Chris Rolfe (Chicago), Taylor Twellman (New England), Josh Wolff (Kansas City).

Re: This is what is missing from our program A Trinidad & TOBAGO Focus
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2005, 07:50:19 PM »

Breds how could yuh forget to mention Tobago?
what ah say?

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=9487.0

Re: This is what is missing from our program A Trinidad Focus
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2005, 10:15:22 PM »
I agree with what you saying. One question though: How large is our pool of local based players that are being considered for the World Cup squad? I feel like the U.S. has more home based players who are part of their team while we only have a few (Whitley, Gray, Theobald etc.) Whereas they trying to fine tune, it seems like we are in a stage where we are still trying to uncover talent. Working with the same fringe players that Beenhakker has already seen and assessed (Eve, A.Pierre, Wolfe, Charles etc.) might not be the right step if they have already been seen as surplus to requirements.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2005, 10:25:51 PM by dwn »