April 18, 2024, 11:03:47 PM

Author Topic: Build that rail.  (Read 52417 times)

Re: Rapid Rail may go underground
« Reply #120 on: September 12, 2009, 12:14:40 AM »
dem cya get a good boat to float to tobago dey guh build a underground tunnel? dais a f**kin dream.. ley manning govenrment keep dreaming..

« Reply #121 on: September 12, 2009, 08:53:29 AM »
This could work and all of the rail does not have to be underground, but this is where the firm that is hired along w/a reputable local engineering board needs to do proper planning.  1st off though, the significant drainage issues we have would have to be addressed, w/o this it's a disaster in the making.  Grandiose ideas w/o proper planning and execution only worsens the current transportation woes we face as a nation

« Reply #122 on: September 12, 2009, 10:10:15 AM »
puerto rico have a combination of above and undergound...they might have to do someting like dat...i could see one set of bobol in this project tho

« Reply #123 on: September 12, 2009, 10:19:41 AM »
It could never work underground...

Because POS is reclaimed land right up to barataria

The twin towers and Nicolas tower go collapse in 10-15 years.

There are underground streams passing through the foundation and they have pumps to suck out the water which doh work on a regular basis.

Right now the foundation of the twin towers gettin rotten and the basment does flood out regular.

Everything in TT is a pipe dream.

« Reply #124 on: September 12, 2009, 06:58:36 PM »

According to what I get from the Finance Minister's post budget forum was that they are going to proceed with the costing and then depending on the economic situation at that time they will decide if to proceed or not.
That was just a few days ago so unless there is some new development rapid rail continuing unless the economy take a turn for the worse.

« Reply #125 on: September 12, 2009, 08:48:40 PM »

According to what I get from the Finance Minister's post budget forum was that they are going to proceed with the costing and then depending on the economic situation at that time they will decide if to proceed or not.
That was just a few days ago so unless there is some new development rapid rail continuing unless the economy take a turn for the worse.

EXACTLYYYYYYYY

« Reply #126 on: January 26, 2010, 10:03:19 PM »
TnT needs to put in a system like this in Tokyo called Yurikamome
Bus on elevated tracks
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/r52DGuXXHP4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/r52DGuXXHP4</a>
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #127 on: January 27, 2010, 01:57:04 AM »

Agreed the Yurikamome (Tokyo Monorail) maybe the way to go...having using used it several times I would say it is definately convenient  and being a country that floods...there is no way a underground subway will work in a place like TNT.  IMPOSSIBLE..the word is called wear and tear

Another one to compete with the Tokyo Monorail is the Skytrain in Vancouver and its cheaper that the Yurikamome. I like the idea that its all computerized and requires no drivers.

Rapid Rail talks derailed.
« Reply #128 on: April 07, 2010, 05:31:49 AM »
Rapid Rail talks derailed
By LEISELLE MARAJ (NEWSDAY).

Attempts to hold a public consultation on the Rapid Rail project yesterday were rapidly derailed by angry residents of Central Trinidad who will be displaced if the proposed pathway of the train is accepted. It took two hours for the TriniTrain consortium to address concerns of the general public who attended what is the first of three consultations on the Rapid Rail project at City Hall, Port-of-Spain.

Executive of the consortium, made up of foreign engineering companies, Alstom Transport SA, Bouygues Travaux Publics SA and RATP Développement SA faced a barrage of complaints and accusations from the residents some of whom displayed placards.

UNC Caroni East MP Dr Tim Gopeesingh and deputy leader of the National Joint Action Committee (NJAC) Nyahuma Obika joined the protest at which accusations of corruption were levelled and also the fear that the National Infrastructure Development Company (NIDCO), which oversees the project, could become “another Udecott”.

TriniTrain Project Manager, Gilbert Salvi opened the consultation with some remarks but even before reaching the technical aspect of his presentation, on findings from a feasibility study which represents Phase One of the project, members of the audience began firing questions to members of the panel.

Obika said the consultations were an insult to the residents who will be most affected by the project. Gopeesingh focussed on allegations of corruption levelled against the UK operations of Alstom. He questioned the decision to grant the project to the consortium which Alstom is a party of, before Alstom attempts to clear its name of the corruption allegations in its Euro operations.

Salvi said while TriniTrain is preparing a statement on the Alstom matter, he assured that no member of the group was involved in any corrupt practice. “We are not corrupted. The procurement process which began in 2006 was an international one and it was quite clean,” he said.

Goopeesingh also attempted to clarify costs of the project which he said Works and Transport Minister, Colm Imbert, quoted in Parliament. He said Imbert converted costs in three currencies, TT$55 million, 16 million Euros and US$37.79 million which would mean an inaccurate conversion to TT dollars. Alstom’s RSG Manager, Jean Pierre Verguel said however these figures were accurate.

Salvi took the opportunity to apologise for the lack of communication between residents and the company since many pointed out that the first phase of the project, which includes all public consultations, is expected to end this month. He said while he could not speak for government, he was willing to go through the work done by the consortium so far. After making calls to cancel the project, persons in the audience indicated they were willing to sit and listen to the presentations at 7 pm — two hours after the 5 pm start time of the consultation.

Re: Rapid Rail talks derailed.
« Reply #129 on: April 07, 2010, 05:52:10 AM »
Rapid Rail talks derailed
By LEISELLE MARAJ (NEWSDAY).

Obika said the consultations were an insult to the residents who will be most affected by the project.

Agreed... the usually declaration by fiat without any public consultation works so much better.

« Reply #130 on: January 07, 2011, 07:00:41 AM »
PTSC head knocks rapid rail idea
By Yvonne Webb (T&T Guardian)

Public Transport Service Corporation (PTSC) chairman Devant Maharaj says the success of its response on Wednesday to the maxi taxi drivers’ strike, proves that this country does not need a rapid rail transport system. Some 200 buses were deployed to bridge the gap caused by the withdrawal of the 2600 maxi taxis from various routes, in protest over the Minister of Works, Jack Warner’s recommendation to regularise PH drivers. Maharaj said while the strategies employed could not meet the shortfall created by the withdrawal of the maxi-taxi services, their depleted fleet did diminish in significant parts,  the discomfort of commuters.
He said if they are up to full strength they will be able to provide an efficient and reliable public transport service. “It shows we really don’t need a rapid rail in T&T. We need to create a rapid bus transit system,” Maharaj said in an interview.

He added, “had the PTSC received the $77 to $80 million spent on a feasibility study for the rapid rail, we would have been able to buy at least 100 buses and create a significant rapid bus transit system that would have addressed the need of the commuting public very easily.” Maharaj said in the circumstances PTSC would step up its repair/maintenance programme. “We have seen the engineering department at PTSC can fix 50 buses in ten days, illustrating that the people we have possess the skills and the ability to navigate the variety of buses we have here.”

There are 16 different models of buses, from Brazil, Germany and China, posing a challenge to engineers. The waiting time for parts, three to six months, especially from China, he said, is too long. The 50 buses which were down for a considerable period were repaired in record time to circumvent any suffering of commuters due to the strike. Maharaj said this demonstrated how efficient the PTSC could be if given the tools to work with. Now that the engineers have demonstrated this ability, Maharaj said, the intention is to have 100 other buses that are down, up and running in the shortest possible time to bring the fleet of 400 buses on the road.

Re: Build that rail.
« Reply #131 on: January 07, 2011, 07:19:57 AM »
^ buses does get stuck in traffic tooo.....so it cant be as reliable as a rail system.

« Reply #132 on: January 07, 2011, 08:26:01 AM »
PTSC head knocks rapid rail idea
By Yvonne Webb (T&T Guardian)

Public Transport Service Corporation (PTSC) chairman Devant Maharaj says the success of its response on Wednesday to the maxi taxi drivers’ strike, proves that this country does not need a rapid rail transport system. Some 200 buses were deployed to bridge the gap caused by the withdrawal of the 2600 maxi taxis from various routes, in protest over the Minister of Works, Jack Warner’s recommendation to regularise PH drivers. Maharaj said while the strategies employed could not meet the shortfall created by the withdrawal of the maxi-taxi services, their depleted fleet did diminish in significant parts,  the discomfort of commuters.
He said if they are up to full strength they will be able to provide an efficient and reliable public transport service. “It shows we really don’t need a rapid rail in T&T. We need to create a rapid bus transit system,” Maharaj said in an interview.

He added, “had the PTSC received the $77 to $80 million spent on a feasibility study for the rapid rail, we would have been able to buy at least 100 buses and create a significant rapid bus transit system that would have addressed the need of the commuting public very easily.” Maharaj said in the circumstances PTSC would step up its repair/maintenance programme. “We have seen the engineering department at PTSC can fix 50 buses in ten days, illustrating that the people we have possess the skills and the ability to navigate the variety of buses we have here.”

There are 16 different models of buses, from Brazil, Germany and China, posing a challenge to engineers. The waiting time for parts, three to six months, especially from China, he said, is too long. The 50 buses which were down for a considerable period were repaired in record time to circumvent any suffering of commuters due to the strike. Maharaj said this demonstrated how efficient the PTSC could be if given the tools to work with. Now that the engineers have demonstrated this ability, Maharaj said, the intention is to have 100 other buses that are down, up and running in the shortest possible time to bring the fleet of 400 buses on the road.

What is being used to judge the success or failure of the maxi taxi strike? I was curious since both sides claimed success. Also, why does the rapid rail project have to be at the expense of improving the already existing bus service? Couldn’t an efficient public transport system include both? I would imagine that there is room for both a RR and buses.

That’s part of my problem with the way we approach problems. The rapid rail should be part of an overall project to improve the transportation system in T&T. If people can trust the PTSC to provide adequate, timely and affordable service the need for PH or even H vehicles would be reduce. Our roads are busy with people who cannot rely on the PTSC to get us anywhere we need to be when we need to be there so they either own their own vehicles or rely on others to provide reliable transport.

« Reply #133 on: January 07, 2011, 09:30:02 AM »

Agreed the Yurikamome (Tokyo Monorail) maybe the way to go...having using used it several times I would say it is definately convenient  and being a country that floods...there is no way a underground subway will work in a place like TNT.  IMPOSSIBLE..the word is called wear and tear

Another one to compete with the Tokyo Monorail is the Skytrain in Vancouver and its cheaper that the Yurikamome. I like the idea that its all computerized and requires no drivers.

de vancouver skytrain is very good. of note, it's run by a private body spun off of a formerly public entity. comparing de fortunes of toronto public transit (ttc) with vancouver over the last decade is like night and day. toronto stagnating while vancouver put in 2 new lines and working on more.

« Reply #134 on: January 07, 2011, 04:41:46 PM »
I still think the elevated rapid rail or bus is the way to go.

« Reply #135 on: January 08, 2011, 10:15:22 PM »
I still think the elevated rapid rail or bus is the way to go.

Nah we have PH WE GOOD.

Re: Contract for billion-dollar rail system by September.
« Reply #136 on: September 06, 2013, 04:44:02 AM »
Rapid Rail project Proposed in 2009. Here is one of 6 videos that was produced for TriniTrain.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/S9KECyunSuU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/S9KECyunSuU</a>

« Reply #137 on: September 06, 2013, 06:47:06 AM »
This made too much sense. But to be honest, Imbert and PNM derailed this project for not being honest about cost, etc. I think transparency was a big factor in the opposition to this. The survey by some French company cost 1/2 billion or something like. But I think is still a good idea.

« Reply #138 on: September 06, 2013, 12:17:12 PM »
Beautiful... still not too late.

« Reply #139 on: September 09, 2013, 06:49:08 AM »
dey could use dat Brian Lara stadium money tuh do that...steups!

« Reply #140 on: September 09, 2013, 08:55:16 AM »
I real sad this project didnt come to pass.

Yes men woulda eat a food and the normal levels of corruption woulda happen, but the population would have been better off in a big way.

They could even just start it in phases and just do westmooring/deigo to san juan and add a stop further east every few months, working out the kinks in the system.

Never know the next party might reintroduce it.

« Reply #141 on: September 09, 2013, 10:06:36 AM »
I real sad this project didnt come to pass.

Yes men woulda eat a food and the normal levels of corruption woulda happen, but the population would have been better off in a big way.

They could even just start it in phases and just do westmooring/deigo to san juan and add a stop further east every few months, working out the kinks in the system.

Never know the next party might reintroduce it.

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN

Offline Trini1

« Reply #142 on: September 09, 2013, 06:31:26 PM »
This was a great idea. Like touches said even if they had to downscale the project they should have gone forward with it. The east-west corridor needs an alternative mode of transport. North-South has the water taxi so east west needs something too.

« Reply #143 on: September 09, 2013, 08:48:43 PM »
puerto rico have one and they just a tad bigger than us...when i first went there in 2000 i see this thing building up and i say no way dat go be a subway...when i gone back in 2008 and ride the thing i was impressed...my puerto rican wife herself could not believe that her lil island had a metro...some of it underground but iirc they have a fair few above ground stops as well. 

« Reply #144 on: September 09, 2013, 09:05:35 PM »
puerto rico have one and they just a tad bigger than us...when i first went there in 2000 i see this thing building up and i say no way dat go be a subway...when i gone back in 2008 and ride the thing i was impressed...my puerto rican wife herself could not believe that her lil island had a metro...some of it underground but iirc they have a fair few above ground stops as well. 

As much as I don't like to compare PR because of their US affiliation, I have heard that the metro is pretty good from friends who went there. DR has one also. I don't see why we can't have a rail service to ease the congestion on the  narrow EW corridor. Like some suggested, do it piece by piece. Build from the terminal to Malabar. Then to Chaguanas. Let us see how it performs and then build the rest latter on. It is a lot money to build.  But TT will not have any underground. It will be strictly surface and above ground.

« Reply #145 on: September 10, 2013, 03:49:05 AM »

As much as I don't like to compare PR because of their US affiliation, I have heard that the metro is pretty good from friends who went there. DR has one also. I don't see why we can't have a rail service to ease the congestion on the  narrow EW corridor. Like some suggested, do it piece by piece. Build from the terminal to Malabar. Then to Chaguanas. Let us see how it performs and then build the rest latter on. It is a lot money to build.  But TT will not have any underground. It will be strictly surface and above ground.

Above ground is more practical, less effort and can be incredibly efficient whilst not using up a lot of space or effort.

I took the sky rails in Bangkok and Delhi and was impressed.

I always think of this project from time to time. It's heart breaking that it never got off the ground. It would've have made getting around TT and circumventing traffic a breeze.

Offline mal jeux

« Reply #146 on: September 10, 2013, 11:23:17 AM »
could we have maintained this? police cars, buses, ferry, stadiums, hospitals/health centers the list is very long. we never seem to have a plan to maintain.
"How many times do I have to flush before you go away?"

« Reply #147 on: September 10, 2013, 12:32:20 PM »
could we have maintained this? police cars, buses, ferry, stadiums, hospitals/health centers the list is very long. we never seem to have a plan to maintain.

we could have hired a private company to run it.

« Reply #148 on: September 10, 2013, 02:08:44 PM »

well oh gorm is now yuh go see Jack and Junior sammy suddenly in de rail industry......

I want to know ah go happen to de train when it in mid-run and current gorne

« Reply #149 on: September 10, 2013, 06:18:13 PM »

well oh gorm is now yuh go see Jack and Junior sammy suddenly in de rail industry......

I want to know ah go happen to de train when it in mid-run and current gorne