April 28, 2024, 03:24:23 PM

Author Topic: Who will win the World Cup in Germany?  (Read 12187 times)

Offline dutchman

Re: World Cup Winner???
« Reply #30 on: December 06, 2005, 06:41:33 PM »
I think.

Brazil
..the rest.
Australia might surpize us & reach far, not pretty football but great sportsman & coach.
Argentina too ( I can see the word MESSI over the entire 1st page of  Italian newspapers )
It all depends a bit a the draws.
An african country is a dark horse too.

Atmosphere will be really good in the dutch team, with lot of luck could also reach the final but then if it meets Brazil with Robben probably  injured.... The dutch would get licks. Biggest problem for any small nation is to have enough good players that can be used in the Final, if they would ever get that far. There are just so little days between semi & final it really plays well for the large nations with the best players on the bench ( Brazil,Brazil Brazil)

Also how come they made sure that Brazil is not going to meet Germany until last 8 ? or 16 ?
Is that the new development, just like in CL  bigger nations with more TV viewers will receive more money better lottery conditions etc etc ?

Best coach to follow & see interviews from ''van Basten" thats for sure
He will be fun & relaxed to watch.
Rumor has it that every other thing you read or hear is just a rumor.

« Reply #31 on: December 06, 2005, 07:16:41 PM »
for me its brazil all the way, but on paper i like argentina, holland and germany

to me england doesnt really put up a good fight in the world cup and on paper they have a great team.

but all i know is soca warriors deya so i goin germany!!!!!

« Reply #32 on: December 06, 2005, 07:31:34 PM »
While optimism is good......We cyar even beat USA in a world cup qualifier and yuh feel we could win a World Cup.

Yuh does hadda creep before yuh walk.

Lets not get carried away.

Brazil,Argentina and Holland are the three sides to win it.

« Reply #33 on: December 06, 2005, 10:38:15 PM »
I always back Brazil and then France. The French although they obeah Ronaldo in 1998 paid for their sins in 2002 and did not score a goal so I forgive them.

I never back Germany after the incident in 1982 when Schmaccer foul Battista and was not sent of. I vow from that day never to back Germany.

Offline Wanniebooboo

Imagine!!
« Reply #34 on: December 09, 2005, 06:52:34 PM »
 The semifinals!! The Netherlands, South-Korea, Australia an Trinidad & Tobago!! Make a bet right now!!

Re: Imagine!!
« Reply #35 on: December 09, 2005, 06:54:59 PM »
The semifinals!! The Netherlands, South-Korea, Australia an Trinidad & Tobago!! Make a bet right now!!

ok ah taking dat bet and ah giving yuh odds.

pm meh so we could set it up.

ok? ::) ::)

« Reply #36 on: December 09, 2005, 07:01:57 PM »
Yea boy as much as we would all love to see TNT(while we still believe they can do it too, even Australia in particular) go through to the SEMI-FINALS lets not clutter d BOARD wit TOO much  :bs:  :rotfl:

Offline doh_stick

« Reply #37 on: December 09, 2005, 07:46:20 PM »
Doh sleep on holland dis rounds
England will do well but brazil has the firepower to take it home...

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #38 on: December 09, 2005, 08:07:31 PM »
As far as I see it, like what most of the world seem to believe, Brazil appear to have the best chance of winning it all.  However, there're alot of dark horses out there, like Mexico, Croatia, the Czechs, or maybe even Ghana.

I for one supporting the Soca Warriors 100%, win, lose or draw.  Realistically, though, between now and the next 6 months, we need to improve tremendously when it comes to truly playing as a cohesive unit.  And we need to do something that has eluded us in a VERY long time --- go on a winning streak...

Food for thought.

Warrior 4 Life.  :afro: 
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #39 on: December 09, 2005, 08:34:33 PM »
 T&T have my support 100% but Brazil and Holland have the more Equipped teams to win the world cup

Offline dutchman

« Reply #40 on: December 10, 2005, 11:06:00 AM »
I think now after the draw:

Brazil is even more favorite now.
changes for Germany gone up ( a little)
Australia can really become runner up in 2th group.
USA I think will get licks.

Everyone talkng about Brazil, but Argentina allways grows into these tournaments.
Spain should be the least tired of them all ( playing tunesia and the saudi's last)
Also Germany & Brazil should be in perfect shape in the next round
C group ... every match counts outcome can be any team but the good news is if they are groupwinner they will meet Brazil (most likely) only in Berlin. ( if they both keep winning of course) So in that light changes has to go up a little for Holland & Argentina and down for France & Spain.

Rumor has it that every other thing you read or hear is just a rumor.

Who will win in Germany ?
« Reply #41 on: January 05, 2006, 09:32:42 AM »
I am backng Trinidad until we get knocked out. I love my country but this is football and even I know our limitatons..... if was ah pan competition or ah soca playoff yes I would hold on to the flag but beyond national pride there is itltle else to hold on to for that prize.
I cant see anyone disputing the fact that Brazil are deserving favourites but I am pluggng for their ach rivals and South american neighbours Argentina. Brazil for me will suffer from sameness and tiredness...to much football,  as all their stars will be involved in tough competition until the very end, a situation which saw Greece winning the Euro Cup not because they were the best team but because they were the best rested tem.
The blue and whites or albicilestes as they are known can play with the best. ths year look out for Riquelme,the conductor of the band, Mascherano, Messi and Gonzalo Rodriguez.
These are all young players with Messi beng crowned best young player of the year by the Italian press but havng to share the title with a young 17 year old who is deemed ...what do you expect....the next Maradona.
This guy Sergio Aguero is hot ! He has already played a season and a half in Agentina for Independente and scored 9 goals in the opening tournament( Apertura )
Pekerman now has the same decision Menotti had to make in 1986...to choose between the young star Argero or the experience of Figueroa.
Menoti chose experience opting for Kempes instead of the young Maradona and the rest is history.
I dont believe the group is beyond Argentina and is not any group of death. If Agentina cant get out of this group ...then I may have to eat all the grass in the queen's Park savannah !
Jai john

Re: Who will win in Germany ?
« Reply #42 on: January 05, 2006, 09:37:10 AM »
ah like yuh prediction.my money on argentina too.but ah woudnt count out brazil though.

« Reply #43 on: January 05, 2006, 09:46:39 AM »
A safe bet would be Argentina or Brazil, preferably Argentina, but so far in the qualifying stages, we have seen a number of 'firsts', so I will go out on a limb and say that a country who have never won before will do so in '06. Spain always seems to choke so my outsider to win will have to be the boy from the 'low lands'
 :beermug:    cheers T&T in the 2nd round

« Reply #44 on: January 05, 2006, 09:52:02 AM »
Anything is possible in this life,have faith,believe. it could turn out that T&T might be closer to the cup than a lot of us think.There's always a first time for everything:janelle,crawfie,ato,giselle,wendy all defied the odds an prevail when no one believed.    

« Reply #45 on: January 05, 2006, 09:55:28 AM »
brazil is probably the best.

many other teams can cause damage and potentially win:
argentina
france
england
holland
italy
germany
czech rep

« Reply #46 on: January 05, 2006, 10:01:06 AM »
Anything is possible in this life,have faith,believe. it could turn out that T&T might be closer to the cup than a lot of us think.There's always a first time for everything:janelle,crawfie,ato,giselle,wendy all defied the odds an prevail when no one believed.    
saga boy try not to talk shit nah.it have no way tnt could win de world cup.this eh no beauty show or 10 second race.

Offline Lazie

« Reply #47 on: January 05, 2006, 10:03:17 AM »
There is no question who will win!  BRAZIL ... too hot to handle, too cold to hold.

If I had to mek another pick, England.  Yes Palos, its because of those ManU players ;D

Offline gtokyo

« Reply #48 on: January 05, 2006, 10:05:48 AM »
Germany will win...FIFA has a funny way of creating belief in all of us ;)..  Do you think its coincidence that Beechenbauer is being touted to be the UEFA President over Platini. .Afterall it is being staged in Europe but I hope its not against my team HOLLAND...thats the sad part.

« Reply #49 on: January 05, 2006, 10:08:16 AM »
You will realse that a Europen team mst be in the final ....momey, money, money !!! Argentina and brazil wont meet in a final because of that . they must meet before. My bet is therfore an Argentina vs England final if they dont meet before.
jai john

« Reply #50 on: January 05, 2006, 10:08:52 AM »
Looking at the group stage Argentina and Holland in te group of death.
the next group that should prove interesting is the Italy group.
Other than that the usual suspects should advance comfortably

« Reply #51 on: January 05, 2006, 10:12:54 AM »
Who I want to win who I backing and who is real contenders is 3 different questions.

I would like T&T to win and I backing them 100%

Realistically I backing England and I also like Germany or Czech Rep to win.(In that Order)

Real Contenders:Not in any order
Germany
Brazil
Argentina
Italy
England
Czech Rep

Re: Who will win the World Cup in Germany?
« Reply #52 on: January 05, 2006, 10:18:18 AM »
Argentina is my team they will win
if not them then Holland finally does it.

Brazil havve a loaded squad though.

Offline santacruz

• This year is the Dutch year!
« Reply #53 on: January 05, 2006, 12:38:43 PM »
Clarke,
You nearly kill mih with dat post...on ah serious note..Brazil seems on course to win but as someone said the other 31 teams going to win although deep down some of them know they don't stand a chance.
I expect Argentina, England and Holland to be the major challengers.  Germany as host could be in the mix.

Personally I think England is sh#t but I have ah funny feeling they will surprise a lot of people.  the final 8 could be Brazil, germany,argentina,holland,england,mexico,japan and ivory coast.

that final 8 type wrong dey eh real madness, ivory coast,holland and argentina are in the same group!

Holland all the way!
Fatima old boy graduate in '95 from Form 5, '97 from Form 6, lived in Santa Cruz.

« Reply #54 on: January 05, 2006, 01:14:12 PM »
Watch out for MEXICO!! el tri have experience playing in germany in the summer with basically the same squad from the confed cup. They have a decent draw too. Time for a concacaf team to start making some serious noise in a worldcup.

« Reply #55 on: January 05, 2006, 01:41:35 PM »
england      brazil will falter due to pressure  i love brazil  buh i love england also    i piking england

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #56 on: January 05, 2006, 02:00:25 PM »
Brazil Chech Republic Germany member that! ;)
All American

« Reply #57 on: January 05, 2006, 02:15:45 PM »
my soul with tnt.....but germany winng the world cup

« Reply #58 on: January 05, 2006, 02:53:59 PM »
my soul with tnt.....but germany winng the world cup

Amen, a repeat of the '02 final. This time Germany will prevail, just like in 86-90 v. Argentina. They gotta catch back up to Brasil in wins. They both been there equal times.

1950 Brasil - Uruguay         1954 Germany - Hungary
1958 Brasil - Sweden          1966 Germany - England
1962 Brasil - Czeckoslovakia  1974 Germany - Holland
1970 Brasil - Italy           1982 Germany - Italy
1994 Brasil - Italy           1986 Germany - Argentina
1998 Brasil - France          1990 Germany - Argentina

2002 Brasil - Germany
          2006 Germany!!! - Brasil
« Last Edit: February 19, 2006, 09:02:43 PM by e-man »

MickeyRat

« Reply #59 on: January 05, 2006, 02:59:16 PM »
I fancy Germany. 

Germany 2  Trinidad & Tobago 1