April 30, 2024, 12:18:06 AM

Author Topic: pele,jordan or ali.  (Read 1900 times)

pele,jordan or ali.
« on: January 07, 2006, 02:29:24 PM »
a good friend and myself had ah lil argument last nite about the greatest sportsman ever.obviously is three different sports,so we took a global approach.we discussed thier impact on thier sport,accomplishments and life after thier careers came to an end.his greatest is ali,mine is pele.and like i always say there will never be another of the three again.they were the best of all time.

Re: pele,jordan or ali.
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2006, 02:40:45 PM »
I had this very same debate about 18 yrs ago with an American partner of mine. He said Ali, I said Pele.  Both men had major impacts in argueably the only two truely international sports, football and boxing. One can make a valid arguement for both men.

I just think that Pele's stats is what sets him apart from most other athletes. Most other ballers  don't even come close to having the numbers Pele has. On the other hand, just based on stats, other boxers (maybe not heavy weights...correct me if I'm wrong) have done similar things like Ali. Ali's impact on the American political landscape, among other things,  is often what sets him apart from others of his era.

« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2006, 02:49:38 PM »
why i picked pele too is de fact dat the man is also a good businessman.he owns a good few banks and wat not.i doh exactly know wat is ali's financial situation,ah guess de disease will take up most of his money if he still have.plus pele in better shape than most fellas on this site.the man is ah true professional.on and off the field.

« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2006, 02:50:53 PM »
doh forget lara

« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2006, 02:54:49 PM »
doh forget lara
FOR REAL.HE COME UP IN DE DISSCUSSION TOO.

« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2006, 03:02:50 PM »
doh forget lara

unfortunately cricket doh have de same international appeal as de other sports(football and boxing)

« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2006, 03:36:42 PM »
Jordan:

people could argue over who was the greatest boxer of all time......or the greatest footballer of all time......

The greatest basketball player of all time, is not up for argument

« Last Edit: January 07, 2006, 03:38:18 PM by kicker »

« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2006, 03:49:31 PM »
Jordan:

people could argue over who was the greatest boxer of all time......or the greatest footballer of all time......

maybe not yet...although one could that Bill Russell ,who won more championships than MJ, has a shot at that title.

Offline benedicts bwoy

« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2006, 04:22:36 PM »
Jordan:

maybe not yet...although one could that Bill Russell ,who won more championships than MJ, has a shot at that title.
When people start sayin dat dat move was Russellesque...................come talk to mih  ;D ;D

« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2006, 06:06:52 PM »
Jordan:

When people start sayin dat dat move was Russellesque...................come talk to mih  ;D ;D

good point...I think ;D

Offline scarface

• ultra del vicchia signora
« Reply #10 on: January 07, 2006, 08:53:59 PM »
doh forget lara

unfortunately cricket doh have de same international appeal as de other sports(football and boxing)

whether or not it does have an international appeal... he still had an impact & is that not d criteria u were using for ur arguement? the only thing is that his carrer isn't finshed yet

:applause: :applause: :applause: morvantman for pointing out the oversight
« Last Edit: January 07, 2006, 08:56:19 PM by scarface »

« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2006, 09:13:36 PM »
hard to say....how many of us have followed all of their careers  in the same level of detail and love all 3 sports in equal measure. I going with Ali simply because his achievements are his alone...the other 2 you could argue have achieved personal glory that is partly due to their teammates