April 28, 2024, 10:17:24 PM

Author Topic: DJ's anti-Trini comments anger NY's Caribbean immigrants  (Read 6706 times)

DJ's anti-Trini comments anger NY's Caribbean immigrants
« on: January 08, 2006, 03:43:32 PM »
DJ's anti-Trini comments anger NY's Caribbean immigrants
Trinidad Newsday

A COMMENT made by an African-American radio DJ about Roger Toussaint, the Trinidad-born president of New York's Transit Workers' Union Local 100, sparked a controversy that has pitted Caribbean immigrants against African-Americans in New York.

Tarsha Jones, morning host on WQHT/Hot 97 FM, reportedly lashed out at Toussaint on her programme two weeks ago, calling him a "dumb coconut who probably don't have a green card". She and her crew also enacted a skit where Toussaint was being carried away to a boat headed for Trinidad for being an illegal immigrant while calling the striking workers "uneducated and overpaid losers who made the wrong choices in high school".

Activists within New York's Caribbean community have been clamouring for Jones' dismissal for her tirade against Toussaint, as well as an apology from Emmis Communications, owners of the station. However, neither Jones, nor her employers have responded to several requests for an apology made by Caribbean-American politicians.Among those demanding an apology for the controversial comments is the head of the Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID), Rickford Burke, who has sent a letter to Barry Mayo, senior vice president of Emmis and general manager of the station, demanding serious disciplinary action against Jones.

Burke called Jones' comments and conduct "wholly contemptuous of all Caribbean immigrants" and said the fact that Hot 97 has failed or refused to apologise or to institute disciplinary action against her "is profoundly unsettling". "This obdurate attitude demonstrates management's willingness to allow Ms. Jones' vilification of Toussaint and all Caribbean immigrants may ultimately be to the detriment and financial peril of Hot 97," he stated.

"CGID calls on Hot 97 to take serious disciplinary action against Ms. Jones, failing which, the Institute will join with other organisations to mobilise the Caribbean-American community and New Yorkers on a whole, to withdraw financial support from Hot 97 FM Radio."

Burke, along with Chuck Mohan of the Guyanese-American Workers United, State Senator John Sampson and New York City Council members Yvette Clarke and Kendall Stewart, cited Jones' "history of immigrant bashing" as was evidenced by her taunts early last year of the Asian tsunami victims.

He added that Jones' reference to Toussaint as "dumb coconut who probably don't even have a green card" implies to her audience that Caribbean-Americans are 'illegal' immigrants who should be repatriated like criminals. "Her diatribe constitutes an uncivilised assault on the approximately two million Caribbean immigrants domiciled in New York," Burke stated. "Her depiction of Caribbean-Americans as being 'illegal aliens' and 'coconuts' is a demonstration of her congenital bigotry and derision for New York's immigrant population. In a diverse society like New York, there is no place for a closet zealot like Ms. Jones whose hateful rhetoric rivals that of the Ku Klux Klan."
« Last Edit: April 16, 2007, 02:59:28 PM by Tallman »

Re: DJ’s anti-Trini comments anger NY’s Caribbean immigrants
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2006, 05:07:20 PM »
hull miss jones MC

i sending emails now >:(

Offline Strip

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2006, 07:26:38 PM »
this is disgusting - tallman any idea where we can send some complaints?

« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2006, 07:50:42 PM »

You can try emailing the Miss Jones in the Morning show at morningshow@hot97.com. The general e-mail fuh Hot 97 is hot97@hot97.com.

is this her?
http://www.hot97.com/airstaff/morningshow.aspx

Yes

« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2006, 09:43:22 PM »
this thread need a lil time in the socawarriors category, just to get the light of day, i going and emial everyone in my inbox bout this shit.
they damn well need to make a public apology to the man and all west indians.
is times like this when the celebs with island roots need to step up and say something, Nas, JayZ, Busta Rhymes, Wyclef
and all of us too

« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2006, 06:38:32 AM »
Flex, Tallman, and Palos...I find you did move this Topic TOOOOO fast to the General Discussion
as  MC says, it needs to stay in the socawarriors category.
This topic was never moved, it was originally posted in the General Discussion category.

« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2006, 10:25:05 AM »
eh all the NY-based - is this radio station (hot97) any big station or they just looking for attention or what?

why give them any press or attention? going through the FCC to fine the station might be more effective, give them less press and result in trasha jones hauling she mudda so and so.

:busshead:

Offline JayTheWrecker

Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2006, 03:23:31 PM »
is this her?

go ahead and HIT IT...next thing she gone on radio talking about your 'CO CO NUTing" and embrass ya ass  :rotfl:
Go Go Go brave

Offline firebun

« Reply #9 on: January 09, 2006, 04:38:32 PM »

You can try emailing the Miss Jones in the Morning show at morningshow@hot97.com. The general e-mail fuh Hot 97 is hot97@hot97.com.

is this her?

Yes

weeeeeeeyyyy!
Tallman u is an internet guru or what? dey have anything u don't know???!!??

Ah have one fuh yuh, if yuh get this one out, you deserve the Trinity Cross.....

Where can I get free airfare, accomodation and tickets to see we boys in Germany in June? ;D

Peace man!

Offline cm103

« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2006, 05:31:21 PM »

is this her?

Yes

weeeeeeeyyyy!
Tallman u is an internet guru or what? dey have anything u don't know???!!??

Ah have one fuh yuh, if yuh get this one out, you deserve the Trinity Cross.....

Where can I get free airfare, accomodation and tickets to see we boys in Germany in June? ;D

Peace man!

Better yet...what mark bussin in Play Whe tomorrow at noon?

Tallman...if yuh get dis one ah go cut yuh in...doh frighten

Oh...and about dis woman...she mudda c**t...like she figure d pilgrims find she family here when dey land? Everybody come here in boat or plane...she need to study she book and stop trying to be d next Howard Stern

« Reply #11 on: January 09, 2006, 06:59:40 PM »
eh all the NY-based - is this radio station (hot97) any big station or they just looking for attention or what?

why give them any press or attention? going through the FCC to fine the station might be more effective, give them less press and result in trasha jones hauling she mudda so and so.

:busshead:

this is a big if not the biggest hip hop station in NY.

« Reply #12 on: January 10, 2006, 09:27:31 AM »
She have a history of dis chupidness:

New York Daily News - Jan 3, 2006

Tarsha Nicole Jones, aka Miss Jones, morning radio host on Hot 97, doesn't get it. Last year, she was suspended for two weeks after airing an offensive song parody about victims of the Asian tsunami that killed more than 200,000. That stunt led to protests outside Hot 97's offices and caused many advertisers to pull their business.

Now, Jones has attacked a new group with her bigoted ravings: Caribbean-Americans. As writer and community activist Playthell Benjamin noted in a Daily News guest piece, Jones took to the airwaves during the transit strike to call union President Roger Toussaint "a dumb coconut who probably don't [sic] even have a green card."

Brooklyn Councilwoman Yvette Clarke, for one, was not amused. "Tarsha Jones has a long history of foot-in-mouth disease and has demonstrated her unique talent for spewing garbage," Clarke said in a press release. "I believe the time has come for Hot 97 and Emmis Communications to suspend the 'Miss Jones In The Morning' show permanently from the airwaves."

Clarke's strong words are right on target. In 1996, The News joined New Yorkers in bidding good riddance to Bob Grant, a race-baiting radio host who called welfare mothers "maggots" and former Mayor David Dinkins "the men's room attendant" and finally got fired after joking about ex-Commerce Secretary Ron Brown's death.

Grant was white, and Jones is black, but the principle remains the same: The public airwaves are no place for the kind of divisive ethnic baiting and insults that Jones seems to consider humorous. Hot 97 ought to start looking for a new morning host.

« Reply #13 on: January 11, 2006, 06:06:03 AM »
Lawd.. This yound lady is a Sweeet Backside... Just too too back.. she spoil it.. She is the kind of girl we used to enjoy making cry back in the day in school.. LIL bitch ..

She look tight.. But she iz ah backside.!

« Reply #14 on: January 11, 2006, 09:27:27 AM »
fuh real

« Reply #15 on: January 11, 2006, 03:07:49 PM »
since when nas and jay-z have caribbean roots?

dis woman is an ass, dey really doh want tuh upset de caribbean community in new york, we could handle we business, dey know dat, revolutions come from we in the islands, not de african americans

« Reply #16 on: January 11, 2006, 10:04:37 PM »
 Miss Jones obviously knows nothing about the Caribbean and our history. Her "dumb coconut" comment reveals her ignorance.

« Reply #17 on: January 17, 2006, 05:21:25 PM »
Wheeeeyyy!! I couldn't believe it was a black woman talking this kinda rubbish...anyway fire she ass same way!!

« Reply #18 on: March 09, 2007, 08:13:24 PM »

sweet tooo too  badddd  i forgive she man.

« Reply #19 on: March 11, 2007, 09:56:01 AM »
Hug realy do love mud dont care how far away yuh take dem from the mud they will  alwayz find it. What ah thing

« Reply #20 on: March 11, 2007, 10:55:55 AM »
Whey she real sweet boy ,she could f**kup my coconuts any day .

« Reply #21 on: March 11, 2007, 11:26:11 AM »
Den she go have somtin to talk about ,every word cum out she mouth woh coco-nuts, WI coco-nuts they sweet.

« Reply #22 on: March 11, 2007, 12:34:54 PM »
Den she go have somtin to talk about ,every word cum out she mouth woh coco-nuts, WI coco-nuts they sweet.
Let she talk ,she have ah dirty mouth ,have to wash it out with some coconut water fer she .She go straighten out after .

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #23 on: March 11, 2007, 08:26:43 PM »
like she offend people b4

http://www.undercover.com.au/news/2005/jan05/20050127_missjones.html

she aint lookin too sweet in di pic in the link

Offline d1onlysexysugar

« Reply #24 on: April 16, 2007, 02:57:27 PM »
like she offend people b4

http://www.undercover.com.au/news/2005/jan05/20050127_missjones.html

she aint lookin too sweet in di pic in the link

my God ...  fellars ... u c wah makeup can do ???
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: d devil wife  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
ADM