Which package was the better for government to sponsor

Don Leo
12 (92.3%)
Rene Simoes
1 (7.7%)
Neither
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 13

Author Topic: Don Leo vs Rene Simoes..........which package deal you prefer to pay for  (Read 1935 times)

Lincoln Phillips is our current TD and the question has nothing to do with him.

Considering the government has decided to use taxpayers money to pay for a National Coach NOT JUST FOR THE WORLD CUP but for two years after (in principle) I ask the question; which opportunity would you have preferred the government supported given the circumstances of each?

Hindsight is 20/20...unless yuh head up yuh ass    ;)
« Last Edit: January 08, 2006, 08:12:15 PM by dcs »

Re: Don Leo vs Rene Simoes..........which package deal you prefer to pay
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2006, 09:09:09 PM »
I was just thinking today simoes goh be a good hire after the wc.  eo is a magician, but he jus way out of we price range for the long  term.  is like hiring phil jackson for t&t's men's basketball team.

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2006, 10:04:44 PM »
I was just thinking today simoes goh be a good hire after the wc.  eo is a magician, but he jus way out of we price range for the long  term.  is like hiring phil jackson for t&t's men's basketball team.

Rene Simoes was costing us US $60,000 a month.  Leo costing us TT$800,000
I will try to find some concrete figures.

Flex Interview with Rene Simoes

Some interesting highlights (this was in 2002)

fleX. Do you think TnT has a chance to qualify for the 2006 World Cup finals in Germany? Please explain.
Rene Simoes. In my opinion, the basic step for a team that wishes to qualify for a World Cup is to hire a Technical Director that will put a serious project in place that will plan for the needs of the present and the future. If the TTFF chooses a good Technical Director then the chances are very good.   (well we make it so Lincoln must be good  ;D)

fleX. If you where the owner/technical director of a famous club in Brazil, for instance Flamingo, and you had a choice of choosing any T&T player(s) to tryout or sign with your club who would you choose and why?
Rene Simoes. The first player would be Arnold Dawrika. The second would be Jabloteh's goalkeeper Kelvin Jack. The third would be Collin Samuel from San Juan Jabloteh. I also could not forget striker Andre Toussaint who plays for Joe Public.

fleX. Do you still plan to keep in touch with the players in T&T?
Rene Simoes. Certainly, I will follow the TnT players and football.

That ship has sailed but I hope he keep in touch with the players and hook them up with more opportunities in Brazil.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2006, 10:18:32 PM by dcs »

Offline Trini_fan

Re: Don Leo vs Rene Simoes..........which package deal you prefer to pay for
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2006, 10:17:58 PM »
Beenie got us to the world cup..Simoes did not

Beenie has instilled discipline in the team...Simeos could not

Allyuh really think Simoes could do now what he couldn't do then.

The choice is clear

It amazing how no one had a problem with Beenie's price tag when Jack was paying. Only Trinis yes.

« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2006, 10:25:42 PM »

The choice is clear

It amazing how no one had a problem with Beenie's price tag when Jack was paying. Only Trinis yes.

Leo is a coach for the National Team...and that is all as far as we know.

Simoes was Technical Director and responsible for ALL National Teams.

Nobody calling for Simoes to come back.
Nobody discounting what Leo has accomplished.
The poll is simply asking which one u would prefer the government had chip in on.

JW can spend his money as he pleases.
Tax payer money is a different story and people have a right to debate how they want their money spent....at least ideally.

Offline Trini_fan

« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2006, 10:29:40 PM »

The choice is clear

Leo is a coach for the National Team...and that is all as far as we know.

Simoes was Technical Director and responsible for ALL National Teams.

Nobody calling for Simoes to come back.
Nobody discounting what Leo has accomplished.
The poll is simply asking which one u would prefer the government had chip in on.

JW can spend his money as he pleases.
Tax payer money is a different story and people have a right to debate how they want their money spent....at least ideally.

No need to get so defensive...I was just answering your question.

Maybe if you did not  want dissenting opinions you shouldn't have asked the question. ::)

« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2006, 10:32:46 PM »
I just making it clear before people call for meh head.
Hadda be careful with this lazy  :-X Leo topic  ;D

Offline Trini_fan

« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2006, 10:36:22 PM »
BTW maybe your poll should have the 'Both' option as well.  ;D

« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2006, 10:42:08 PM »

The choice is clear

In all fairness when simoes did drop latas and Yorke jack make him re-instate dem.

so de man was great with disclipine is de atmosphere at de time.

Offline Trini_fan

« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2006, 10:56:51 PM »

The choice is clear

In all fairness when simoes did drop latas and Yorke jack make him re-instate dem.

so de man was great with disclipine is de atmosphere at de time.

And what did he do when Jack took his stand??????

BTW Yorke and latapy were not the only ones doing as they please at the time. There were many other players on that team who were in Nuts every Thursday and Base every Friday before a game. I don't see how that is instilling discipline.

« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2006, 02:46:53 AM »

The choice is clear

I could understand first world cup ever...pay de man for a year...aright.
but what is the price limit on making it to the 2nd world cup to you?
How about a $2M a month and we hire Sven after Eng do SH!t in the  WC?

and true with the tax payer comment dcs.  We goh go and buil a house for trinifan, and only when it starting to look nice, buss the real price on him.
If I remember correctly in the earlies, beenie say he doh want his personal salary out in the open.  IS only in the end when Jack want to big up heself he buss the mark.