April 28, 2024, 06:05:11 PM

Author Topic: Group B Friendlies so far  (Read 9490 times)

Group B Friendlies so far
« on: January 10, 2006, 10:19:55 AM »
So here are the warm ups so far. I'll try to edit as things change or results come in.

DATE  GMT   TEAM            VENUE              RESULT

Trinidad (for Full Schedule click here)

28 Feb 20:00  Iceland           Loftus Road, London   2-0(1-0)
25 Apr 19:00  Grenada           Larry Gomes Stadium   4-1(2-0)
27 Apr 19:00  Grenada           Manny Ramjohn Stadium 4-0
10 May 18:30  Peru              Port of Spain         1-1(0-1)
27 May 18:15  Wales             UPC Arena, Graz, AT   1-2(1-1)
31 May 20:45  Slovenia          Celje, Slovenia       1-3(1-2)
03 Jun 16:00  Czech Rep. (E)    Prague

Sweden

18 Jan 17:00  Saudi Arabia (H)  Riyadh                1-1(1-0)
23 Jan 17:00  Jordan            Abu Dhabi             0-0(0-0)       
01 Mar 19:30  Ireland           Dublin                0-3(0-1)
25 May        Finland           Göteborg              0-0(0-0)
02 Jun        Chile             Solna

England

01 Mar 20:05  Uruguay           Anfield               2-1(0-1)
25 May 20:00 (B) v Belarus      Reading               1-2(1-0)
30 May        Hungary           Old Trafford          3-1(0-0)
03 Jun 14.00  Jamaica           Old Trafford

Paraguay

01 Mar 20.00  Wales             Cardiff               0-0(0-0)
29 Mar        Mexico (D)        Chicago               1-2(1-1)
24 May        Norway            Oslo                  2-2(0-1)
27 May        Denmark           Aarhus, DK            1-1(1-0)
31 May        Georgia           Salzburg              1-0(1-0)

« Last Edit: June 01, 2006, 05:57:12 PM by e-man »

Re: Group B Friendlies so far
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2006, 10:39:34 AM »
Looking at these friendlies we not too bad as far as teams we playing that could give a good game. We need more games but then when you look at it we on the same schedule as England because of the England based players.

Sweden playing Saudi, Jordan ??? and Ireland....their competition isnt the mother of all games by a long shot.

England playing Uraguay good,  Hungary waste ah time really and Jamaica even more of a waste ah time...no offense but that game is ah waste when put in perspective even more so than any game we could play unless we playing Tobago United to prepare.

Paraguay playing Wales and Mexico....Mexico is a good game but who they using Mexico to prepare for...no one in the group play like Mexico.

So all in all we ok we just need some more games.

« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2006, 05:02:55 PM »
Sweden playing Saudi Arabia and Jordan because they playing that tournament we was cutting style on I believe. Ireland is a decent opponent and good preparation for anyone who playing England...

I get the impression that England make a conscious decision not to play any big sides. Don't forget that outside of qualifying they already play Ukraine, Spain, Holland, Denmark and Argentina  in friendlies last year. they either overconfident or tired...

Paraguay are using Mexico to prepare themselves against more technically gifted players, i think...

« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2006, 05:36:20 PM »
Looking at these friendlies we not too bad as far as teams we playing that could give a good game. We need more games but then when you look at it we on the same schedule as England because of the England based players.

Sweden playing Saudi, Jordan ??? and Ireland....their competition isnt the mother of all games by a long shot.

England playing Uraguay good,  Hungary waste ah time really and Jamaica even more of a waste ah time...no offense but that game is ah waste when put in perspective even more so than any game we could play unless we playing Tobago United to prepare.

Paraguay playing Wales and Mexico....Mexico is a good game but who they using Mexico to prepare for...no one in the group play like Mexico.

Mexico is tops in CONCACAF....they playing the 4th placed CONCACAF team in the finals.....so do the math, Mexico is good measure of what they will come up against vs T&T. Teams nowadays chnage their style ofplay to adapt to their opponents strngths. That basically renders the "play teams that play to a similar style as your opponents" point useless ro some extent.

« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2006, 06:29:26 PM »

Mexico is tops in CONCACAF....they playing the 4th placed CONCACAF team in the finals.....so do the math, Mexico is good measure of what they will come up against vs T&T. Teams nowadays chnage their style ofplay to adapt to their opponents strngths. That basically renders the "play teams that play to a similar style as your opponents" point useless ro some extent.

That also renders England's match against Jamaica useless to every extent.  Jamaica is currently the 8th best team in Concacaf and they are a very poor measure of what to expect from a World Cup side like T&T as Australia can attest.  England should have at least scheduled one of the top 6 teams like Guatemala or Panama.

« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2006, 12:37:34 PM »
According to this article Paraguay is playing Austria and Serbia twice each? I'm trying to verify. Does anyone know the term for "friendly" in Spanish?

Paraguay soccer team will play 5 friendlies ahead of World Cup
www.chinaview.cn 2006-01-14 08:18:18

BUENOS AIRES, Jan. 13 (Xinhuanet) -- Paraguay's national soccer team will play five friendly games ahead of the 2006 Germany World Cup, against Mexico and four European teams, the Paraguayan Football Association said on Friday.

The country's first friendly will be on March 1 in Cardiff, against the Wales.

Paraguay's national team is led by manager Anibal Ruiz. It played its last friendly game against Catalonia United: a 1-1 draw.

"January and February is the stage where we observe the players: the months when players will be in the middle of a cup competition," said Hugo Fernandez Camperchioli, a member of Paraguay's selectors.

In recent days, Ruiz and his assistant, Raul Amarilla, met players who are in the Cerro Porteno, Libertad and 3 de Febrero teams. They will visit other Paraguay league teams in coming weeks.

The rest of the games are as follows: against Mexico, in the US on March 29; against Austria on May 23 and May 27; and against Serbia and Montenegro on June 1 and June 2. One more date remains to be decided. Enditem
« Last Edit: January 17, 2006, 12:43:47 PM by e-man »

« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2006, 12:41:36 PM »
Added May 25th Swedish friendly vs. Finland to the list.

« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2006, 01:09:32 PM »
According to this article Paraguay is playing Austria and Serbia twice each? I'm trying to verify. Does anyone know the term for "friendly" in Spanish?

Dey usually say "amistoso"

or partido amistoso

« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2006, 03:45:38 PM »

Dey usually say "amistoso"

or partido amistoso

Thanks, after searching spanish news one article says they play Austria and Serbia, but a 3rd European team is still to be announced. Possibilites are Denmark and Croatia. Another article says it will be Norway.

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2006, 10:09:12 PM »
So here are the warm ups so far. I'll try to edit as things change or results come in.

Trinidad

date  time    team              venue              result
28 Feb          Iceland             Loftus Road, London
10 May          Peru                Port of Spain

Sweden

18 Jan          Saudi Arabia (H)    Riyadh
23 Jan          Jordan           
01 Mar          Ireland             Dublin
25 May          Finland

England

01 Mar  7.45pm  Uruguay             Anfield
30 May          Hungary             Wembley
03 Jun  2.00pm  Jamaica             Wembley

Paraguay

01 Mar          Wales               Cardiff
29 Mar          Mexico (D)          Los Angeles, CA
23 May          Austria
28 May          Serbia & Montenegro

So far only Paraguay and Sweden are playing other WC qualifiers. England is staying at home.

4 f**king matches for Sweden and Paraguay, 3 for England and we only get 2 f**king friendlies? what the f**k TTFF DOIN!!??

« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2006, 10:12:11 PM »
we doh need friendly we go wing it like we do with bahrain

« Reply #11 on: January 17, 2006, 10:14:57 PM »
4 f**king matches for Sweden and Paraguay, 3 for England and we only get 2 f**king friendlies? what the f**k TTFF DOIN!!??

One of England's matches is against Jamaica so in essence they really only have two

« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2006, 10:23:01 PM »
Do you think the quality or the quanity of the friendlies will dictate the results? ah mean if that was the case, we should have done much better in the Gold Cup? look how many games we had prior to that? and in addition after the Gold Cup we should have blasted all oppositions look how many games we had in the Gold Cup  prior to our next opposition?

I think good menatl and physical preparation together with soem game  readiness should put us where we use to..... yuh know ah hurry up thing here and there as usual why cahnge the mode of operation now TTFF?  ah mean dat friendly aganist The Atlanta team was really helpful; we get a royal cutarse after just tuh show we we cyary just walk in  dey and play de game. Have we learn any lessons yet?
« Last Edit: January 17, 2006, 10:26:53 PM by AlbertaTrini »

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #13 on: January 17, 2006, 10:25:42 PM »

Trinidad

date  time    team              venue              result
28 Feb          Iceland             Loftus Road, London
10 May          Peru                Port of Spain

Sweden

I really think we should have at least 3 warm up matches...Dem boyz in play together since Nov...

18 Jan          Saudi Arabia (H)    Riyadh
23 Jan          Jordan            
01 Mar          Ireland             Dublin
25 May          Finland

England

01 Mar  7.45pm  Uruguay             Anfield
30 May          Hungary             Wembley
03 Jun  2.00pm  Jamaica             Wembley

Paraguay

01 Mar          Wales               Cardiff
29 Mar          Mexico (D)          Los Angeles, CA
23 May          Austria
28 May          Serbia & Montenegro

So far only Paraguay and Sweden are playing other WC qualifiers. England is staying at home.

« Reply #14 on: January 17, 2006, 10:34:22 PM »

In essence you could count the Barhain games as preperatory games since they were an additional playoff that most other qualifiers didn't play, but then you'd have to count England's friendly with Argentina played the same month.

But really when yuh think Jack is a FIFA VP that he can't line anything else up.... well I won't get into it now.

« Reply #15 on: January 17, 2006, 10:48:47 PM »
Well leh we see wha dog could do against the likes of Nolberto Solano.

« Reply #16 on: January 17, 2006, 11:16:56 PM »
Well leh we see wha dog could do against the likes of Nolberto Solano.

Dog play against better opposition arready man.  And Solano is the playmaker, Peru have Pizarro and Farfan up in front.

« Reply #17 on: January 17, 2006, 11:41:36 PM »
Here's Sweden's lineup at today's group B friendly: Sweden-Saudi Arabia

18 January, 20.00 (local time - 18.00 Sweden time - 17:00 GMT)
Prince Faisal Bin Fahad Stadium, Riyadh

starters: 1 Eddie Gustafsson - 2 Christoffer Andersson, 3 Karl Svensson, 4 Teddy Lucic, 5 Max von Schlebrügge - 6 Martin Ericsson - 7 Niclas Alexandersson, 8 Anders Svensson, 9 Tobias Hysén - 10 Fredrik Berglund, 11 Mattias Jonson.

bench: 12 Johan Alvbåge - 13 Mattias Concha, 14 Andreas Granqvist, 15 Olof Persson, 16 Dusan Djuric, 17 Stefan Ishizaki, 18 Stefan Selakovic, 19 Jeffrey Aubynn, 20 Yksel Osmanovski.

« Reply #18 on: January 17, 2006, 11:43:37 PM »

One of England's matches is against Jamaica so in essence they really only have two

ARROW, YUH REAL WICKED BOY..JEEZAN AGES.  LOL

« Reply #19 on: January 18, 2006, 01:19:31 PM »
Sweden Saudi game ends 1-1

« Reply #20 on: January 18, 2006, 02:11:33 PM »
All right I putting this out there but we could hold Sweden to a draw or win

Offline trinidre

« Reply #21 on: January 18, 2006, 02:29:14 PM »
well the teams we playing aint to bad but I think we coulda use one more friendly to fully prepare for the world cup especially when all them other countries who have been there more times than us playing more games to prepare.....we need to use that as an example and we should better prepared if we are going to make a good showing which brings me to really wonder what is the real deal with jack especially since he's fifa VP :thinking:

« Reply #22 on: January 18, 2006, 02:33:22 PM »
well the teams we playing aint to bad but I think we coulda use one more friendly to fully prepare for the world cup especially when all them other countries who have been there more times than us playing more games to prepare.....we need to use that as an example and we should better prepared if we are going to make a good showing which brings me to really wonder what is the real deal with jack especially since he's fifa VP :thinking:

These is just de confirmed games!!!! .... there will be more games before the World Cup!!!

Quality of opposition remains to be seen

Offline trinidre

« Reply #23 on: January 18, 2006, 02:41:16 PM »
ok but ah just hope that they will be teams of decent quality because ah still wondering how we lose out on some of them friendlies we were suppose to play.........if I'm not mistaken wasnt we suppose to play the czech republic, wales and hungary?......whatever happen to that?

« Reply #24 on: January 18, 2006, 04:37:26 PM »
czech republic and hungary were mentioned for the training camp in Austria just before the world cup.  Today Beenie confirmed that we are scheduled to play 3 international friendlies (plus a club side) during that camp but he didn't say who and none of the reporters bothered to ask

« Reply #25 on: January 18, 2006, 04:51:56 PM »
and none of the reporters bothered to ask

Only in Trinidad  :rotfl:  :rotfl:   :'(

« Reply #26 on: January 23, 2006, 03:37:53 PM »
Jordan holds Sweden to 0-0 today. We could take them at this rate. This is the squad they played:

Played: 1 John Alvbåge - 2 Matias Concha, 3 Olof Persson (14 Andreas Granqvist 54'), 4 Teddy Lucic, 5 Max von Schleebrügge (13 Christoffer Andersson 46') - 6 Stefan Ishizaki  - 7 Niclas Alexandersson (K), 8 Dusan Djuric, 9 Jeffrey Aubynn (18 Anders Svensson 58') - 10 Mattias Jonson (19 Fredrik Berglund 74'), 11 Stefan Selakovic (17 Tobias Hysén 58').

Bench: 12 Eddie Gustafsson - 15 Karl Svensson, 16 Martin Ericsson, 20 Yksel Osmanovski.

edit: Here's a short match report:

Jordan holds Sweden to a 0-0 tie
Associated Press

ABU DHABI, United Arab Emirates - Jordan held World Cup qualifier Sweden to a 0-0 tie in an exhibition game Monday.
Sweden goalkeeper John Alvbage blocked a close-range shot from Mahmoud Shellaieh in the 52nd minute and near the end of the game parried a hard shot from substitute Amjad Al Shuaibi, who was set up inside the penalty area by Badran Shagran on a counterattack.
Sweden, which is using only Scandinavian based players on this tour, was held to a 1-1 tie last week by fellow World Cup qualifier Saudi Arabia. Sweden plays England, Paraguay and Trinidad and Tobago at the World Cup.

edit 2: another match report:

Jordan hold Sweden in friendly
By Amith Passela
25 January 2006

ABU DHABI — The 2006 World Cup qualifiers Sweden were held to a scoreless result by Jordan in a friendly football international here at Al Nahyan stadium on Monday.

The Swedes were unimpressive and got nearly beaten by the Jordanian side, who were more creative and enjoyed a boost in the build-up to their opening 2007 Asian Cup Group C qualifier over Pakistan on February 22 and an away clash against Oman on March 1.

Mahmoud Al Gohary’s side proved to be the more creative side in their match against an unimpressive Sweden side consisting only of Scandinavian-based players. However, the Jordanians were denied victory by Swedish goalkeeper John Alvbage, who was in excellent form.

Alvbage blocked a close range shot from Mahmoud Shelbaieh in the 52nd minute and near the end of the game, he parried a rocket from substitute Amjad Al Shuaibi, who had been set up by Badran Al Shagran on a counter attack.

The Swedes were confined to the midfield for almost the entire first half and though they made some inroads into the Jordanian goal on resumption, they offered few real threats. Their only scoring opportunity occurred in the 57th minute when following a fumble by Jordan ‘keeper Amer Sabbah in his goalmouth, substitute Tobias Hysin fired wide with his first touch of the ball.

It was the second consecutive draw for the Swedes following their 1-1 draw with Saudi Arabia last weekend.

Sweden in group B of the 2006 World Cup in Germany open their campaign with a clash over debutants Trinidad and Tobago on June 10 followed by fixtures against Paraguay and England.

« Last Edit: January 25, 2006, 09:00:43 AM by e-man »

« Reply #27 on: January 23, 2006, 04:30:28 PM »
WE ARE ALSO PLAYIN CZECH REPUBLIC ON THE 3RD OF JUNE.

http://fifa.com/en/mens/fixtures/index/0,3721,4-ALL-ALL,00.html

« Reply #28 on: January 23, 2006, 04:33:56 PM »
yeah boy i rel hype up for da match oui

« Reply #29 on: January 23, 2006, 04:37:56 PM »
WE ARE ALSO PLAYIN CZECH REPUBLIC ON THE 3RD OF JUNE.

http://fifa.com/en/mens/fixtures/index/0,3721,4-ALL-ALL,00.html
dat will be the "FRIENDLY" of the year!!!!
but is ONLY when whistle blow and ball kickoff, den I go believe it

Apparently the Czechs will also play Paraguay on May 27, which could help us guage them.