April 28, 2024, 02:45:48 PM

Author Topic: Boynes assures Warriors of reward  (Read 1090 times)

Boynes assures Warriors of reward
« on: January 11, 2006, 10:03:04 PM »
NO PROBLEM

Boynes assures Warriors of reward.
T&T Express Reports.

Minister of Sport Roger Boynes yesterday responded to calls by the Soca Warriors national football team for his government to deliver on promised World Cup qualification rewards. He said that government would deliver as promised.
"I want to give the national community and the Soca Warriors the assurance that the government's commitment to honour them will in fact take place."
In a radio interview yesterday, Boynes added that, "the Prime Minister will be speaking with Mr (Dwight) Yorke very shortly and all commitments will be honoured and in fact, they will be discussing the manner in which the team is to be honoured."
The minister's assurances came after T&T striker Stern John voiced his concern on Tuesday over the Patrick Manning administration's silence on the matter since the prime minister's November 17 announcement that the Soca Warriors were to be rewarded for qualifying for the World Cup in Germany this June.
John was quoted by Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation Media (TTFF media) as saying: "You told us to deliver before the Bahrain game...we delivered, the Federation and Mr (Jack) Warner delivered. .Now it's your turn as the Government to give something for our achievement."
Yesterday, in further responding to John's call, Boynes added: "Consultation is best. We need to find out exactly what they want. The Prime Minister will be talking to the team captain (Yorke) and he will get a sense as to what the players are looking at and we will keep our promise to the team, to the nation. Stern and the boys have absolutely nothing to worry about."
In related news, TTFF special advisor Jack Warner yesterday confirmed at a media conference at which it was announced that the FIFA World Cup would be displayed in T&T on February 17 at the Centre of Excellence, that the local Federation had received the ticket allocation they had requested.
"We have not been given the exact figures," Warner said. "But all we have asked for we have gotten."
The TTFF had requested the eight percent of the tickets for the Warriors' matches to which they were entitled. That is expected to be in the region of 10,000 tickets.
Parents first, as Warriors enquire about family tickets.
By: Nigel Simon (Guardian).

National Football ambassador Austin Jack Warner yesterday said that parents of members of the Soca Warriors will be given priority to purchase tickets for the World Cup Finals in Germany.
Warner said that while in England over the weekend, he met with the players, who asked if their parents would be able to get tickets for the World Cup matches.
He said that he assured the players that all parents of members of the team who wanted tickets would be facilitated.
“That’s all the guys asked for during the meeting and I must commend them for their level of professionalism in dealing with our matters,” said Warner, who was speaking at a media briefing at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, to announce the arrival date of the World Cup trophy, via the Fifa World Cup Trophy Tour.
Warner also confirmed that the Football Federation would be granted its full quota of eight per cent of the tickets for the three matches involving the Soca Warriors at the World Cup Finals, to be played in Germany from June 9 to July 9.
Asked if Fifa had given any response to the T&TFF’s request, Warner said: “Yes, we have been informed by Fifa that what we have asked for, we will be getting.”
The Concacaf president could not give an exact figure.
Guardian checks last week revealed that the full quota of tickets to T&T, based on the Purchasable Ticket Capacity (PTC) of the venues, means that T&T will be receiving a total of 10,101 tickets for the three matches.
T&T will receive 4,061 tickets for the match against Sweden on June 10.
The number of tickets decrease to 3,074 for the June 15 match against England, while 2,966 tickets are available for the match versus Paraguay on June 20.
Warner said the T&TFF had not tabulated the final number of requested tickets because requests are still coming in.
“We are expecting to get the tickets in a few days and we are hoping to work out how we will distribute them.”
Warner also warned persons who were solely interested in getting match tickets to secure their air-line tickets to Germany: “I can tell you there will come a time when there will be World Cup tickets available for matches and no seats available on air-lines.”
Warner also made it clear that the political side of his life had no bearing on what he achieves or does for sport. “There is nothing that politics can give to me that I don’t already have.”
When making the request to Fifa for tickets, it was stated by the T&TFF president that they had requested three categories of tickets that were available from four, for the Group B matches.
The three categories carry prices of 100, 60 and 45 Euros or T&T$758, T&T$455 and T&T$341 per match, respectively.
Warriors anxious to return for unveiling of Fifa trophy.
By: Nigel Simon (Guardian).

Some members of the T&T Soca Warriors are anxious to participate in the Real Fifa World Cup Trophy Tour by Coca Cola which will see the World Cup trophy being displayed in T&T on February 17 at the Dr Joao Havelange, Centre of Excellence from 3 pm to 9 pm.
This was revealed by special advisor Jack Warner at the unveiling of the first ever Real Fifa World Cup Trophy Tour by Coca Cola at the VIP Lounge, Hasely Crawford Stadium, yesterday.
Warner said that while in England over the weekend he met with members of the team who informed him of their willingness to be part of the tour.
Warner was also high in praise for Coca Cola which he said began its relationship with Fifa some 56 years ago in 1950.
According to Anissa Taitt, marketing manager of Caribbean Service Company, the unveiling of the trophy which costs close to US$20 million and weighs four pounds is free to the public.
However, tickets are required to view the event.
She explained: “These tickets are available to the general public via a Coca Cola text to Coke promotion whereby consumers are encouraged to text the code found under the caps of a Coca Cola 20 oz bottle to COKE (2635) in order to win a ticket.”
Warner said his friend and former Fifa president Dr Joao Havelange played a key role in initiating programmes sponsored by Coca Cola for Fifa in 1974 hence the reason for the unveiling will be held at the Macoya venue.
Warner noted that the local federation has already launched its programme for the 2010 World Cup in South Africa with Coca Cola as the first sponsor.
He warned potential sponsors: “When we qualify in 2009, please don’t say we did not open the doors to you. Don’t wait until we qualify.
“As a deputy chairman of the Finance Committee in FIFA, I can tell you that Coca Cola has already signed for the 2010 and 2014 World Cup tournaments. They did that with no delay and no debate.”
Warner said the Coca Cola tour “will be the closest most of you will come to the trophy in your life and if your are lucky some of you all may even get a chance to hold it.”
German great Franz Beckenbauer will also be present while BBC has made a request and has been given the permission to broadcast the tour live.
“All of this is being done at no cost and expenses to the government or any other sponsor, Warner stated.
The Fifa official noted that Tobagonians will not be left out and will be accommodated at the same venue.
“The scheduling of the tour makes it impossible to carry the trophy to Tobago but we will be arranging transportation to get those in Tobago to come to T&T.”
In his brief address, Derek Waddell noted that the Coca Cola tour began on January 7 in Ghana and will conclude in Italy on April 10.
Waddell added that over the coming months, the public will also be hearing more about the barrier-breaking Fifa World Cup platform for Coca Cola called “We All Speak Football.”
This new global marketing platform brings to life the optimistic vision of brand Coca Cola to draw people together and set aside their differences.
Another fan programme to be launched includes the Fifa World Cup International Flag Bearers Youth Programme.
This programme will allow three teenagers from T&T between the ages of 12-16 a chance to go to Germany as official national flag bearers.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2006, 03:34:17 AM by Flex »

Re: Boynes assures Warriors of reward
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2006, 10:10:33 PM »
In related news, TTFF special advisor Jack Warner yesterday confirmed at a media conference at which it was announced that the FIFA World Cup would be displayed in T&T on February 17 at the Centre of Excellence, that the local Federation had received the ticket allocation they had requested.
"We have not been given the exact figures," Warner said. "But all we have asked for we have gotten."
The TTFF had requested the eight percent of the tickets for the Warriors' matches to which they were entitled. That is expected to be in the region of 10,000 tickets.

How does Jack know we got all the tickets we asked for if he doesn't know the exact figure
Hmmm I wonder why he ducking from telling the public exactly how many tickets we got from Fifa  ::)

« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2006, 01:04:12 AM »

How does Jack know we got all the tickets we asked for if he doesn't know the exact figure
Hmmm I wonder why he ducking from telling the public exactly how many tickets we got from Fifa  ::)

I jes ask dat same question in annoder thread...steups,,

Offline vibetrini

« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2006, 08:56:48 AM »
Dem men only asking for reward reward... i say if they reach d knockout phase then they get more reward... wha dem whant everything now, and then go make a mockery of TnT on the playing field in June? Nah man, u qualify and u done get bonus, look to do something in the Cup and then ask for something else!