0 (0%)
Tottenham
0 (0%)
Shakhtar Donetsk
0 (0%)
Valencia
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 18

Author Topic: UEFA Champions League Thread  (Read 300948 times)

Re: Real Madrid vs Tottenham QF 1st Leg
« Reply #570 on: April 05, 2011, 02:31:07 PM »
Inter getting blaze  :'(

at least Real doing de ting

It look as though Inter eh recover from de cutarse dey get from Milan over de weekend....is 8 goal dey collect in 2 games, heads go roll...

Inter vs Schalke
« Reply #571 on: April 05, 2011, 02:32:56 PM »
Wow! Inter getting sampat!

« Reply #572 on: April 05, 2011, 02:47:39 PM »
What part of Crouch's sending off was harsh?????

Kicker you like to be too much of a diplomat sometimes, yes.

« Reply #573 on: April 05, 2011, 02:53:40 PM »

15 mins in is harsh, especially when he didn't really make contact with either of the tackles...It was reckless and by the rule book, the red was fair, but I personally think red cards are too cheap- been saying it for a long time...

That aside, Madrid knock a nice brand today, and they took the game to Spurs from the 1st minute, and they kept searching for a goal til the 90th - Text book, lethal, open & positive football - was really nice to watch. 

Re: Inter vs Schalke
« Reply #574 on: April 05, 2011, 03:13:13 PM »
Hardluck for Inter supporters like me... but this goal alone was probably worth the price of admission.

What a strike by Stankovic, after 30 secs... from midfield!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Xyobvv-HbHI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Xyobvv-HbHI</a>
« Last Edit: April 05, 2011, 03:20:02 PM by Bakes »

« Reply #575 on: April 05, 2011, 03:14:56 PM »
Hardluck for Inter supporters like me... but this goal alone was probably worth the price of admission.

What a strike by Stankovic, after 30 secs... from midfield!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Qkzf4uRmCeI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Qkzf4uRmCeI</a>
wtf !

« Reply #576 on: April 05, 2011, 03:40:52 PM »
That was awesome

Football!!

« Reply #577 on: April 05, 2011, 04:07:30 PM »
Inter's 1st goal was pure Stank!

Offline sinned

« Reply #578 on: April 05, 2011, 04:58:25 PM »
Stankovic is the master of this

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/22aXZQt14SA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/22aXZQt14SA</a>

« Reply #579 on: April 05, 2011, 05:55:19 PM »
My brethrin who is an inter fan have as he facebook status:

Dis hadda be the feeling you get when yuh son tell yuh he's a macomeman

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #580 on: April 06, 2011, 03:03:01 AM »

15 mins in is harsh, especially when he didn't really make contact with either of the tackles...It was reckless and by the rule book, the red was fair, but I personally think red cards are too cheap- been saying it for a long time...

kicker, yuh cannot "didn't really" make contact yuh know...is either yuh make contact or yu didn't and I eh know if the highlights was different from the actual game, but the first tackle, from what I see, crouch did make contact and coulda break de man foot.  The second one is kinda hard to tell if there was actual contact but, according to "sir" alex, "...you could see the intent..." but BOTH challenges were easy yellows.  You have been saying that red cards are going to cheap for a long time and a long time ago I asked a question that still remains unanswered: if you find that 15 mins in the game is "harsh" for two yellows on them two tackles, then at what point should the referee really start applying the laws of the game and to which team or player?  I mean, if Marcello had made a similar tackle to crouch second one at 20 minutes (after yuh spare crouch a second yellow and allow him to remain on the pitch) do you look at your clock and say "ok, it's time.  Marcello, you gettin' a yellow now."...or do you wait another 5 mintes for the next man to make a bad tackle?   The game starts and the rules apply from the time the referee blow his whistle to start the game up to the point that he blows it to end it....as a matter of fact, men could even get penalized for infractions committed on either side of them whistles, too, all in the tunnel.  PLAYERS are responsible for their play and conduct on the field.  The referee is there to see that the rules are followed and apply the laws when they are not.  The referee is not a bail bondsman.
« Last Edit: April 06, 2011, 03:15:42 AM by Mango Chow! »

Re: 1/4 UCL 1st Leg • FC Barcelona v Shakhtar Donetsk • 6 April 2011
« Reply #581 on: April 06, 2011, 08:48:22 AM »
Sometimes I feel sw.net and soccernet.com cut from the same cloth, one set ah phoqing bias garbage about ManU and the EPL. I had to dig up on soccernet to find anything about Barcelona, it's like they are not even playing today.

Nothing about Stankovic's goal, or the fact that the beloved EPL's Cinderlla team Spurs, had their ass handed to them yesterday.

Instead on the homepage them have a story about cussbud Rooney and other EPL drivel.

Anyhow, back to the business of good football.

Barca v Shakhtar at 2:30 today.

Some pick of the last training session for the Barca fans.

SW.NET and SOCCERNET.COM have been given:

Re: Champions League quarter-finals Thread.
« Reply #582 on: April 06, 2011, 09:51:45 AM »
Mango- My first post on the topic said that by the laws of the game the red was "fair"  - which is exactly what you're saying.

I think though that the punishment of playing a man down for 75 mins is alot more severe than the actual infraction committed.  Ultimately no one was hurt.  The first 15-20 mins of such a high stakes game is always a frantic affair, adrenaline pumpin', bamsee twitchin, legs fresh, man now come out of the dressing room rah rah, man blood hot etc... dem tings go happen- unless the ref was convinced that Crouch went out to intentionally damage the man...or unless he actually did cause some serious harm, I think the ref coulda let one of them slide...possibly just issue a warning on the first one understanding that Crouch was just a little too eager- but that's just me.  Maybe from the ref's vantage point it looked like Crouch was tryin' tuh break Marcelo foot...from the replays it look like he was just clumsy and late in trying to needlessly lunge in at a "loose" ball.

I eh tellin' FIFA to change the rules- just an opinion.  Ricardo Carvalho in a post match interview expressed the same sentiment (in a lot less words)...He's a respected, seasoned veteran in the game so I eh feel like I being that unreasonable in my assessment of the situation. 

« Reply #583 on: April 06, 2011, 12:23:26 PM »
Barcelona line-up (official): Valdes - Alves Busquets Pique Adriano - Xavi Mascherano Keita - Iniesta Messi Villa

No Pedro.

« Reply #584 on: April 06, 2011, 12:49:15 PM »
Looks like Barca is on the board already - Iniesta 2nd minute

« Reply #585 on: April 06, 2011, 01:11:29 PM »
So how this shit game goin? :)
I takin in the EPL game.

« Reply #586 on: April 06, 2011, 01:29:34 PM »
2-0 now

« Reply #587 on: April 06, 2011, 04:27:50 PM »
Spurs collected 4 from Real and Crouch got sent off!  :D

I think we should make that chap who exaggerated his dive from that 2nd foul Crouch committed against him just to ensure Crouch got sent off for a 2nd yellow, an honorary Trini!

What goes around Mr Crouch comes around, learn that!
Wonder what Crouch had to say to his teammates on the Tottenham bus back? ;D

Offline Dansteel - The Iceman

« Reply #588 on: April 06, 2011, 05:05:33 PM »
I think we should make that chap who exaggerated his dive from that 2nd foul Crouch committed against him just to ensure Crouch got sent off for a 2nd yellow, an honorary Trini!
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Victoria concordia crescit

« Reply #589 on: April 06, 2011, 05:33:32 PM »
My brethrin who is an inter fan have as he facebook status:

Dis hadda be the feeling you get when yuh son tell yuh he's a macomeman

« Reply #590 on: April 06, 2011, 05:42:40 PM »
allyuh still on that Peter crouch WC stupidness?

« Reply #591 on: April 06, 2011, 06:21:45 PM »
allyuh still on that Peter crouch WC stupidness?

Who here is talking bout World Cup? You are the only one going off topic!

We are talking hear about Champions league quarter-finals and specifically about Crouch’s beautiful sending off!
Didn't you enjoy it?  :)

If not then you must be a Spurs fan in which case I can understand your annoyance but what goes around comes around! ;)
« Last Edit: April 07, 2011, 07:32:39 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #592 on: April 07, 2011, 10:10:39 AM »
So how this shit game goin? :)
I takin in the EPL game.

How that went down. I took in the highlights last night, took al of 15 secs. Seemed like end to end action.

Fulltime

FC Barcelona 5-1 Shakhtar
1-0 : Iniesta 2'
2-0 : Alves 34'
3-0 : Piqué 53'
3-1 : Rakitskiy 59'
4-1 : Keita 60'
5-1 : Xavi 86'

Second leg in Donetsk on Tuesday 12 April.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/w6uZlA6_Z4Y" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/w6uZlA6_Z4Y</a>

« Reply #593 on: April 12, 2011, 01:43:57 PM »
Starting Lineup

Mascherano playing centre back.

1-0 Barca (Messi) at the half.

Messi scores his 48th goal for his club this season, a record in Spanish football.

« Reply #594 on: April 12, 2011, 01:48:10 PM »
Dat Uniform real distracting but what messi have on he feet that ball does stick on it so... he's football's Jerry Rice yes..

« Reply #595 on: April 12, 2011, 01:57:54 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/dYVlscv7frs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/dYVlscv7frs</a>

4.5°C and them bareback normal.

« Reply #596 on: April 13, 2011, 03:18:36 AM »
Dat Uniform real distracting but what messi have on he feet that ball does stick on it so... he's football's Jerry Rice yes..

I find Shakhtar uniforms is worse.  Maybe ah jes used to Barca's kit but Shakhtar uniform does hit yuh eyes, too, like salt water.

« Reply #597 on: April 13, 2011, 01:11:21 PM »
any links fur the spurs game

Re: UEFA Champions League Thread 2010-2011
« Reply #598 on: May 01, 2011, 03:17:05 PM »
Allyuh notice every Champions League team lost this weakend.

Real, Barca, ManU ans Schalke lost in their respective leagues  ???

Re: UEFA Champions League Thread 2010-2011
« Reply #599 on: May 01, 2011, 04:26:32 PM »
Allyuh notice every Champions League team lost this weakend.

Real, Barca, ManU ans Schalke lost in their respective leagues  ???

On de real, ah know dem men is professionals, but dais real football around dis time ah de season, league, cup, CL, wow, hard to maintain focus, zest, and fitness through all dat football, even when yuh have a deep bench.  Tip meh hat to dem fellas, not easy to do